Book Now: Kingston Lodge

Very good
From 244 reviewsSee what guests said
7.7
/
10

Reviews of Kingston Lodge Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (244)
7.7
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.6
Facilities7.6
Location7.2
Room comfort and quality8.0
Service8.1
Value for money8.1
All languages
All guests (244)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 212 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Robert from United States
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

A Peaceful Place to Stay ...”

I was only able to spend 1 night this trip but as remembered, a very peaceful and pleasant stay. The facilities have changed a lot since my previous (4 1/2 months) stay in 2009 but I enjoyed my time there non the less. Should the opportunity and/or need arise, I'd happily stay again. Thank you Kingston for a pleasant stay

Reviewed May 02, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

A Great place, Secluded and Quiet in a large city ”

Decent location, accessible to all, Outstanding restaurant Great employees, Very Helpful and accommodating and friendly.. Would definitely return, The owner a great guy.!!! That property is run like a fine tuned Car.... Thank You..

Reviewed February 16, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
JEORGE from Philippines
Family with young children
Pool View
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

Highly recommended”

The staff were so accomodating, courteous and efficient from the manager named edward to the female front desk staff who received us late that night. This lodge is teeming with foreign guests. Indeed, the downside is saturday nights unless you are for a live band weekend party. They also have internet in the lobby and rooms nearby.. They have two small pools. For a filipino family we found privacy among the foreigners. Highly recommended!

Reviewed November 30, 2016
8.0
Excellent
jamal from Jordan
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015

Nice vacation in CDO”

affordable, swimming pools, and helpful staff

I wanted to try Kingston Lodge, inspite of some negative reviews. I enjoyed my stay, the room was of good space and the bathroom was adequate, although there was always a bad smell coming there. The staff were very helpful and responded to requests quickly. There was a restaurant that served nice Filippino and European food, good quality little overpriced. There were 2 swimming pools and I enjoyed swimming there. The pools were clean and cool especially in the morning. Every Saturday a music band performed in the restaurant and it was nice. The Lodge is a walking distance around 15 min from SM mall, there was a nearby 7/11 store too. In general I will come back to Kingston Lodge, it is a nice place to relax and enjoy one's vacation.

Reviewed December 24, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Lyle from United States
Solo traveler
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013

Good, new and clean hotel.”

2 Swimming pool. Close to the airport. arge meeting area.L

I had a room facing the pool. It's nice except Thur, Fri and Sat nite. They have a loud band in the meeting/dining area across the swimming pool. So no sleep until 11 or 11:30pm because of the loud music. Friendly and helpful staff and good aircon rooms.

Reviewed May 16, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
david from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 5 nights in September 2012

lovely hotel”

atmosphere

i liked the area and the staff would recommend to any one was there last march went back again in september took friend from australia and he really enjoyrd would recommend to any one rooms small but clean staff very friendly and helpfulljust a wonderful place just loved it looking forward to going back again

Reviewed October 09, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
stephen from United Kingdom
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

Nice hotel out of theway of the busy city”

Nice pool and gardens and good food

if we go back to cdo we will certainly stay here again. the gardens were very nice including two pool areas. overlooking this was a restaurant where we ate almost all our meals. the mango shakes were particularly good!!! the only thing is that it is out of the city should you wish to travel there but if its rafting you are looking for then they will pick you up right outside since the office is very close by. there is even a european convenience store right next door. i would recomend this place highly.

Reviewed July 17, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
ronald from United States
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012

nice place, good service”

really nice restaurant, served good food, both local and foreign dishes

Location, nothing really w/i walking distance. But great place to stay if you kind of look at it as a self contained, stay on premise type visit. Good restaurant. Staff are very pleasant and quite helpful.

Reviewed May 03, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
david from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 5 nights in March 2012

lovely hotel”

friendly people

i liked the Kingston very much the rooms were small but was very clean and the service was very good.the staff was very friendly,and the food was good as you had a good choice,of western food and fillipino food,swimming pool very good and clean,would reconmend to anyone

Reviewed March 25, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Darren from Australia
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012

Excellent hotel Perfect for Expats”

Close to Lumbia Airport, Food is excellent

This hotel was originally run by a British guy who also happens to be a baker, he sold the hotel to an Australian guy, so you get the best of both worlds, as the bakery is open nearly 24 hours a day, and the Hotel has an extensive menu and feel about it, being perfect for ex-pats, with a full range of drinks. The host was very approachable and gave his best in the form of great customer service. SM Mall is close to the hotel and is a 5 minute taxi ride away for all of your shopping needs, there is also a Range of ATM's on the outside of the mall for 24 hour convenience .

Reviewed March 24, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Gary from United States
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in November 2011

Great Hotel on the Edge of CDO.”

Nice room with appliances to allow yourself to cook a few light meals. Close to SM Mall, excellent food at the open air restaraunt.

Very clean and neat rooms, friendly staff, great food. Sunday afternoon bar-b-que and live music was a pleasant bonus. As was the laundry service offered by the cleaning staff. Professional service all the way. Only negative was a pretty rough road leading up to the complex, and noisey children running through the restraunt area during dinner, but that was more the fault of the parents not the hotel.

Reviewed November 30, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Eugene from United States
Solo traveler
Pool View
Stayed 1 night in July 2011

Great hotel and comfort at a reasonable price”

Great hotel with free internet

Great clean comfortable stay with free internet. Call taxi when you tell the owner. Guest friendly when you bring a friend. Extremely near the airport and SM Cagayan mall but far from downtown. Kind staff.

Reviewed July 28, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
John from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

American friendly location ”

Safe location good food swimming pool pool table food service and comfortable for the price

Reviewed May 06, 2019
7.2
Very good
Rowena from Philippines
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Basic need”

Toiletries like shampoo and toothbrush with toothpaste is more appreciated if included as free Mineral water is also more appreciated if free Juices can also be an option as an inclusion to breakfast meal Staffs are nice

Reviewed November 12, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Rudi from Netherlands
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018

Nice and clean”

Very good facilities and great food... They have a nice bar where you can enjoy a drink... The beds sleep well and have clean sheets... The staff is friendly and helpful For that price...I wonder if there's a better one in the area...but probably I'll go back to the Kingston again next time

Reviewed October 17, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
David from United States
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 1 night in October 2017

Well liked by expats and Filipinos”

We always stay here when our water system is being repaired in the subdivision. The guard will go get a taxi when needed. The food is good and the shower is excellent. There are no negatives if one likes a quiet atmosphere and friendly staff. I had the best pork chop here with real mashed potatoes for around US$ 5.00. In Washington DC it would cost $50.00 if one could find it. There is a children's pool and an adult pool. Also a pool table in good repair.

Reviewed July 13, 2018
4.4
Leo from Malaysia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

THINK TWICE”

The location is in upper cagayan n to go downtown will cost you 200peso taxi manipulate the meters our room got flooded w the toilet water because drainage improper

Reviewed March 02, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Dennis from Philippines
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Awesome place to stay ”

Great place to relax, goid is delicious, staff is friendly and professional, rooms are clean hot water n cold Ac

Reviewed February 20, 2019
7.6
Very good
Haugh from Philippines
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

It was a fun experience!! ”

I had to stay at the hotel because my testing venue for my exam is just a block away. I would definitely recommend this hotel;when, especially u have important matter to attend to around the area. The staffs were all tactful and accomodating. I appreciate the smiles and eagerness to help especially when u have to ask about something. Thank you Kingston hotel for taking care of us while we were around.

Reviewed January 07, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Charles from United States
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 8 nights in April 2018

Great Time”

Kingston Lodge was great with a few small things. The water faucet in the CR leaked terribly bad, and as a foreign traveler it was odd not to have wash clothes provided. Another thing the traveler needs to be prepared for is the late night (11 - 12) loud music. Regardless of these small things, I will stay at Kingston Lodge again while construction of our house is being completed, and would recommend Kingston Lodge to friends. Oh - and remember your are in the Philippines is about as poor as it get or is non-existent. Great food as well. Love the lechon kawali! Look forward to seeing Edward again.

Reviewed May 17, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Alain from France
Family with young children
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

Nice cheap hotel with restaurant and swimming pool”

Restaurant with a good food quality and free access to the swimming pool for those who eats there. The hotel provides also big space for events. Attention, the rooms at the back if the hotel doesn't have wifi.

Reviewed March 09, 2018
8.8
Excellent
CHRIS from Australia
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 15 nights in August 2017

NEED TO GET SOME DRY WHITE WINES BEHIND THE BAR”

Nice friendly staff and clean rooms, facilities are good and menus are good with weekly specials available. All in all a good place to stay while your in Cagayan. I have stayed there before and will stay there again.

Reviewed August 25, 2017
6.0
mathias from Germany
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 7 nights in May 2017

Above average”

cockroach in bathroom of the huge type like my small finger. I requested other room since usually if one shows a nest is there and need desinfect. They unwilling send a worker took fifteen minutes then unwilling more gave other room. The pool is ok but unfriendly poolworker and total strict only permitted swimwear . The directions to breakfast are non existent. Outside we waqlked by and on and on there was only the answer this way you see but we see nothing . They put it in a side house how does one find it? specially walk in rain . And the buffett has all in plastic and moody cook. accecisble only by taxi or u walk and drivers maybe kill you cause walkers are considered poor or crazy so they really drive dangerous close. however taxi prices are ok

Reviewed July 15, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Janice from Philippines
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017

Great value for your money”

It's our second time to stay here. Simple place, simple room but the staff takes care of you. If you need to rent a car or driver to take you around CDO, they can assist you. The restaurant is the best. Not overpriced but good food. Request for a room that's not beside the pool if you don't want happy, yelling kids waking you up early in the morning. Maybe that's why the rooms are cheap. But I really like the place. There's also a nice deli beside them.

Reviewed April 10, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
dwight from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

Run very well and a very good value. ”

Kingston used to be outside of town in 2013 but now mall is done and the world has moved in around them. The rooms are cooled by the modern split a/cs, the bathrooms are kept clean and actually have hot water, rare here. The pictures don't show they have a good breakfast and dinner restaurant and two swimming pools with easy access for older adults and a small kiddie area in one pool. It is enclosed nicely with a guard at the gate all the time so more safe than most places. I have stayed there since 2013 and enjoy each trip. Very seldom do I write a review this complimentary.

Reviewed March 02, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Maila from Philippines
Family with teens
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016

Very good with one downside”

We got the pool view room. The room is clean. Aircon works well. They have a table and two chairs. There's a mini fridge stocked with drinks. They gave soap but no shampoo. There's a hot and cold shower. TV works well. There's a heater for drinking water. They have internet in the common area, slower connection in the room. We were satisfied with the hotel and its amenities. The one downside is that they have a live band on Saturday night that played until midnight. We couldn't sleep until they were done,

Reviewed September 01, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Rodney from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015

Short stay in CDO”

Value for money, friendly service and good meals

I enjoyed my stay there. I had a standard room, very quiet, away from the pool area. The staff was very friendly, service good and very helpful.I would certainly stay there again and recommend it to any budget traveller.

Reviewed October 12, 2015
5.7
KARL from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2015

Nice pools, country surroundings distant from city”

clean, helpful, pools

Internet did not work at all in room and really weak or not at all in common area. The reception closes sometime at night, not sure when, but everything shuts down, so not a good hotel to come to if you arrive late. Pleasant country-side surroundings away from the pollution of the city. Sunday so there was no noise from a band or other entertainment, as it may be the case on a Friday or Sat. night. I would recommend this hotel only if you want privacy and are with your girl for romance & want to be away from the city. 1 can take a jeepney or taxi to the city for more food or entertainment options. Mall is not far either, but must get a ride from a Jeepney. There is a long driveway off the main road to get to this hotel so time needs to be alotted to get to the airport if you do not have a taxi coming right to the hotel reception area. Taxi drivers going to airport should charge 450 to 500 php, but may ask for much more. The meter read 474;we paid 500. 1 taxi driver said 500, then demanded 600 when he came to the hotel to pick us up at the last minute at the hotel to get to airport. We declined since his dishonesty could be a reflection of bigger problems to come. This taxi driver also had his whole driver side doors of his car smashed in. The staff at this hotel got this driver for us, so I question their ability to know the reputations of the people they call. Food at the hotel is too pricey for us to pay. Better to go to the city and eat at one of the sit down venders or restaurants. I think Cagayan de Oro is just to meet people already known who live there, not a worthwhile entertainment area, as it is dirty and crowded. The country-side is much more pleasant, as where this hotel was. This hotel is very far from the airport. I would not stay at this hotel again due to its distance from the airport and the city and having almost no internet.

Reviewed February 13, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Timothy from United States
Solo traveler
Pool View
Stayed 9 nights in January 2015

Kingston was perfect stay for me”

Proximity to person I came to Philippines to meet, Location was away from 'downtown,' Very relaxed atmoshere and friend staff

The room and staff at Kingston were exemplary. It was a great location for me as well, close to the person I was there to meet. I would recommend Kingston and will stay there again if I ever have the opportunity to travel to Cagayan de Oro again.

Reviewed January 26, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Rejie from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014

Enjoyed the place”

The price is great and location is quiet and clean perfect for vacation. Food is tasty and fresh

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days. The place has a welcoming environment. Staff were very nice. The food is excellently tasty and fresh. They also have a full bar. My nephew and his friends enjoyed the pool. There's not that much amenities but it is quiet and near to SM Mall. And on Saturday they have a live band.

Reviewed September 08, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Shawn from United States
Solo traveler
Pool View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014

I will be back here again”

The food, The fast service. The friendly people who were also there.

My wife and I went to stay for the weekend and we ended up staying for two weeks. If you want GREAT food at a low price this is the place. Saturday was our favorite night. They have a B-B-Q. I am from Kansas City and know good B-B-Q. The kitchen was great. All you have to do is spend a little time around the dinning area and you will make many friends. The staff is fast and friendly. It has peace and quiet rooms. The beer is the coldest in the Philippines!!!! I will be coming back in 5 months and I will be booking another room here. Thanks Danny and ED.

Reviewed May 04, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Bastiaan from Netherlands
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

Relaxing stay in CDO”

Food, staff, super fast check-in/out

After studying all the options that Agoda presented me in CDO, Kingston seemed to be the only reasonable choice. We weren't disappointed! The rooms are simple but large enough and comfy. Wifi reception is good (in the poolside rooms and the common areas). There are two nice pools and a very cozy restaurant/ bar area with fantastic food and ice cold drinks for reasonable rates. The hotel is a meeting place for expats that live in or near the Kingston Lodge. They can be a bit noisy, but you might as well join them for some San Miguels.

Reviewed April 28, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Richard from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014

A very pleasant experience. ”

Food, staff, rooms and a feeling of relaxation

My stay was excellent. The rooms are quite large and all face the pool. Great internet connection and lots of places to relax - by the pool, the bar, play pool, just chat with visitors (mostly expats). Very helpful front desk and office staff.

Reviewed March 15, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Harold from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2014

Great Place”

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

I stayed overnight before my flight leaving to come back to the States. The rooms were nice and clean, the staff was very helpful and the A/C was fantastic. The food was good and they catered to American interests. The breakfast was outstanding, eggs, ham, hash browns and good coffee. The pools were small but had salt water which was nice. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Reviewed March 03, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Ludovic from France
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2014

A good choice for a quiet place”

super food, quiet, nice staff

Well, the rooms are not perfect but big enough and silent aircon. It's a quiet place for the city, perfect to stay, not far from mall and just 1 ride of jeepney from the town center. The taxi from the pier 140 to 160 php ( dont go with the 300 php eheh ) . The top in this place is the restaurant, excellent food, breakfast and fair price. If i have to go again in cod, i'll go there again. To recommend.

Reviewed February 21, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
William from United States
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 6 nights in January 2014

Kingston Lodge is simply superb for the price... ”

Great staff, beautiful pools, nice lounge/bar areas.

It was wonderful. For the price it is the best value hotel for everything they offer there and the overall setting of the hotel. I stayed at 4 different hotels while there and from now on Kingston Lodge will be my only hotel I stay at in/near Cagayan de Oro/

Reviewed January 29, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Bernard from Australia
Family with teens
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013

Away from pollution of city”

Pool for kids, nice open restaurant, friendly staff

We traveled from Butuan through very busy Christmas traffic and a polluted city and Kingston Lodge was the haven awaiting our arrival. We had two pool view rooms booked, one for my wife and myself and one for our three teenage children. We had twenty of my wife's family over that Saturday night to eat in the restaurant and watch the band. There was a BBQ on and everything was perfect as far as I was concerned. Very friendly staff and the owner Danny is very helpful. Last time we stayed we did the white water rafting and this time we visited Kampo Juan adventure park. Great Anicycle ride (check it out on YouTube) and fantastic sustainable building designs. Next trip we'll do a trip over to Camiguin Island. Will stay at Kingston again next time we're in Cagayan De Oro.

Reviewed December 26, 2013
7.7
Very good
Hans from Germany
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 1 night in December 2013

good value for money, excellent cocktails”

good and affordable coktails, good greakfast and lunch ( fresh fish )

the first room had a bad odour/smell from the drain of the CR/toilett, but we got immediately a new room ( appartement ) as compensation, pool is small but but breakfast is good ( only the hush brown have a taste of old/used oil ), lunch is delicious and for an affordable price ( I had a fresh lapulapu...and asked for a special cremy white souce..and they dd t..perfect

Reviewed December 17, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Thomas from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013

Comfortable medium range hotel”

1) The staff service 2) the restaurant food 3) clean comfortable rooms

First I would like to evaluate this survey instrument. I would rate this questionnaire as poor because it asks leading questions which appear to be aimed at providing the hotel good advertising. If you want to ask what one liked "best" about the hotel, you need to balance that with other questions that ask what one liked worst about the hotel. If this is a legitimate survey and not a marketing tool, then you need to inquire about both the pros and cons of the customer experience. As for the hotel itself, I was satisfied with my stay there. However it is not conveniently located to the beach, the downtown or even the airport. On this latter point, all flights to and from Cagayan de Oro have been shifted to a new airport which is many miles away from the hotel.

Reviewed August 18, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Dwight from United States
Solo traveler
Pool View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013

Great Value for the money with poolside view ”

Pool outside door, restaurant with great food good price, Cheers style bar with interesting people

I booked 3 days on Agoda and was going to leave but liked the hotel so well I booked three more and stayed longer. In tropical settings here it is hard to find a reasonably prices safe hotel or motel with no creatures in room and good service. It is near the SM Mall so there was plenty to do. It does take a few minutes to get a cab as they have to walk to road and flag one down for you and the cabs here are a little more expensive than in Cebu where I am living. I get a Thai massage everyday and had to travel further into town as the ones nearby were booked full all the time but that was minor. I was pleasantly surprised at all the activities one can do here. I came in by ferry boat which I recommend as the cost is $25 US from Cebu and $25 back instead of $300 round trip by plane. Left me more money to spend when I got here. Thanks for letting me say a few good things about them.

Reviewed July 08, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Dwight from United States
Solo traveler
Pool View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013

I liked it so well I booked extra three days. ”

Food. Service. CLeanliness

It was relaxing and clean which I have had difficulty finding. Pool outside door if you want midnight dip. Bed was comfortable for me and I use a CPAP machine so finding a plug next to the bed is always a bonus. I was just going to stay 3 days and find another place but I liked it so well I booked an extra three days. Hotel is close to main updated mall in area.

Reviewed June 16, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Andrew from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

Really nice, inexpensive place.”

Close to airport, inexpensive, clean, new, broad menu restaurant, full bar and pool table.

I thought this place was really great. We were making our 2nd attempt into Cagayan De Oro so price was more important this time around. This place was a lot nicer than I was expecting. The rooms were very clean and odorless. Having wifi in the room was only an additional 100 PHP ($2-$3 USD). The service was fantastic, everyone was more than nice. Apparently the entire restaurant side was completely re-done in the Fall of 2012, so it was all pretty brand new looking. The food was awesome, having a good mix of Filipino, American, Italian, other Asian dishes and Australian steaks. A small, but nice bar, a good conditioned pool table and dart board as well. A very welcoming and chill atmosphere. The hotel is located near the airport as well. Maybe a 5-7 min. taxi ride. Couldn't say enough good things. Great place.

Reviewed March 05, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
andrew from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Pool View
Stayed 7 nights in December 2012

Budget Hotel with 5 star srvice”

Excellent Service, very good value for money and food as good as i have had in CDO

The hotel represents excellent value for money. You would have to go a long way to beat the friendly welcoming service here. Because i was travelling by myself, the staff invited me to celebrate christmas eve with them, which was a fantastic gesture, much appreciated. If you need any advice about places to go, activities, etc. in CDO,then you can consult "Sir Edward" at the front desk who is a mine of useful information and the local "Mr Fix-it" The food here is also as good as you will find in any CDO hotel. It is mostly western but has a selection of national Philippine dishes. Even if you do not stay here, i would recommend eating here at least once, especially you are feeling a little homesick. The only negative is that the rooms can be a little noisy from aircraft landing at the airport and sometimes noise from the bar.If you are a light sleeper, maybe earplugs are a solution (or maybe go to the bar and have a drink!!!!). However i have stayed in some hotels in downtown CDO where the noise from the street was worse than anything you would get here. No problem with the rooms, they are small but comfortable,clean and contain everything you need for your stay. If you plan to stay longer than 1 month, then they have well appointed appartments available for rent. The location is close to the airport and a 15 minute taxi ride to downtown Cagayan De Oro. Also has a large SM mall nearby and a White water rafting company 3 minutes walk away but this can be ordered from reception.

Reviewed December 28, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
terry from Australia
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in September 2012

great hotel”

freidly staff

though my stay was short i enjoyed it very much the food was excellent as was the service i would recomend this hotel anyone but especilly to australians english expats because the hotel is owned by a aussie who is also a chef and quite a nice guy.

Reviewed November 14, 2012
4.7
Vineet from Philippines
Family with young children
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012

Fair priced hotel, but had extensive fire damage ”

Great food

The Kingston Lodge was a fair priced hotel, albeit with small rooms and requiring some long needed updation/renovation (TVs in room were obsolete, bathrooms were in need of some repair {toilet seat was broken, water flow in washbasin was too slow to be able to use}). Rooms had been freshly painted though, so the walls etc were pretty decent. When we arrived, we were informed that a major part of the kitchen etc had been in a major fire and was being rebuilt. The manager was kind in offering us a refund for the rooms, but since we were a family with an infant, we didnt want to risk having to look for a hotel in a city new and unfamiliar to us and chose to stay. There was no bell or phone in the rooms either so to have small issues addressed, orders to be placed etc, a short walk was required, which was mildly inconvenient. The hotel was also quite far from the city, so getting there and back was quite a trip.

Reviewed August 30, 2012
6.7
Good
Guillaume from France
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 1 night in July 2012

Nice Hotel - Service and Smile”

Large rooms

Nice hotel, little bit far from the center of Cagayan de Oro, but close to the ariport. Very good accomodations, and the hotel is on the road of some main and great activities close to Cagayan, like caves or Rafting. Hotel staff know very well rafting team, so easy to oraganize. Unfortunatly kitchen burnt before our arrival, so we had to eat outside. Small swimmming pool, but enough to refresh. Probably due to the burn, was not quite clean.

Reviewed August 07, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Paul from Philippines
Group
Pool View
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

2nd Time Never Fails to Disappoint”

Service, Food, and Cleanliness

it happens to be our second time to stay at kingston lodge and like how i entitled this review - second time never fails to disappoint. kingston lodge, is in the epicenter which is the perfect spot for going to the nearby sm and airport. they serve a good selection of food, mostly to the taste of expats and foreigner who miss home but also showcases a sample of filipino cuisine. and the servings are unforgettable, that will leave the tummy smiling. our accommodation was well taken care of by edward, who act likes the manager-in-charge, from security detail, to checking on our rooms that is well, to helping us getting a van to go to the agora bus terminal that we need going to camiguin. he also helped double checked the computations on a wrong computed bill, which he apologized for the inconvenience it has caused us. our room was larger to the one we previously stayed but same type of rooms we've always been reserving, my issue was the shower though was something that needs to be worked on since the water flow is quite weak, but nonetheless bearable for that needed bath moments. wifi is quite good, quick. in sum, the kingston lodge is a perfect stay for the family on the go to camiguin, service is good, and cleanliness is always a priority. should i come back to cdo, i will definite have kingston lodge come first priority once again.

Reviewed July 01, 2012
7.7
Very good
EMERIC from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Nice overnight hotel”

location

this hotel is 5 minutes from the airport. it is easy to find a ride, you can take a cab, the hotel's van for 80 pesos or jeepney to go the airport or sm mall. i got a simple room, spacious, clean and with cable tv. you pay additional 150 pesos for wifi rooms. overall, good value for money and convenient for those staying overnight and has a morning flight to catch.

Reviewed June 25, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Ruth from United States
Family with teens
Pool View
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Lovely rooms with great service”

People are really helpful and prompt

We liked this hotel...the staff are nice, they went out of their way to help us. We needed information on getting to our next destination...transportation to terminal and ferry times and fares, they got it all ready for us and with options for us to choose. The rooms are roomy, even with an extra bed...clean, though not very modern. Is only a jeepney ride to their mall, though going back it rained and if the jeepney did not take us all the way to the hotel, we would have been soaked because it is still about a block walk from the main road.

Reviewed June 17, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Elena from Philippines
Solo traveler
Pool View
Stayed 4 nights in May 2012

Excellent location and very friendly staff”

The hotel is conveniently located since it is near the airport,the shopping mall (SM), and restaurants.

I had a very comfortable stay at the Kingston Lodge because of the great service extended by the staff/personnel and clean room. The pool view room was excellent due to the strong WiFi signal. The hotel is also conveniently located along the main highway, but the short the entry road is not paved/concrete and could be muddy during the rains.

Reviewed May 16, 2012
7.3
Very good
Matthew from United States
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 1 night in January 2012

Nice enough”

bed and linens were nice and clean

our stay at kingston was nothing special. the location is not that great, but the room was nice and clean. bed was soft. linens were clean. air conditioning worked well. the staff was friendly and helpful. for the price paid, it was well worth it. only spent one night here on our way to camigiun island.

Reviewed May 05, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Allan from Philippines
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 1 night in April 2012

A beautiful hotel that is so hard to locate!”

The lodge is located near the airport and Cagayan de Oro's largest mall SM City.

although the lodge is very near the airport, we were having a hard time locating it. there is a small signage and locals are not familiar about the lodge. if you will be riding a cab from the airport, tell the driver that the lodge is only located across xavier estates. the legal address of the lodge is in upper canituan but locals might acknowledge the area as barangay carmen. very excellent customer service but there were limited food choices. the rooms were clean too.

Reviewed April 10, 2012
8.0
Excellent
David from Portugal
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in March 2012

Good hotel between town and airport. ”

convenient transport to the airport

stayed in this hotel because it was cheap and close to the airport. would recommend it for anyone who is getting an early flight. it is not convenient if you want to explore town. rooms were clean and everything worked. basic cheap and cheerful.

Reviewed March 30, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Tony from United Kingdom
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012

Great staff”

bottom rooms are best

For sure the very best thing about this place is the staff. Nothing is to much trouble for them. They are totally up there with the best. The food is good generally and again if there is anything special required you just ask them. Great place and location. Wednesdays are ex pat days so thats a hoot so be up for a party or your in the wrong place. tony ross

Reviewed March 07, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Matthue from New Zealand
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

Good hotel especially for westerners”

Room, food, westerner theme, value for money.

We stayed at this hotel twice when visiting the Philippines. Its quite popular with westerners dating filipinas as most of the couples (or potential couples!) were older guys dating much younger filipinas. I was one of the youngest there at 40 (hehheh). Stayed in room 3 which was a good room and close to the swimming pool (never did have a swim what a shame!). The staff were very helpful and polite and never had any issues with any of the service there. The nice girls take care of you. The manager was happy to see us for a second time and remembered us from a few weeks ago. The layout is good and the tables are close to the reception. Lots of western style food there if you happen to miss it you can order lots of english style meals. Its a good expat hotel with lots of reminiders from other countries such as the rugby shirts on the top wall above the reception. The aircon inside was really good, the bathroom was of medium size but very clean and the toilet worked well. This hotel is good for a night or longer but you may get bored if you stayed here for a long time and you didnt leave the hotel much. The TV had some cable channels but not very many, there is the fridge that you need to remember to plug in when you arrive otherwise your drinks wont be cold for later. The TV was on a nice table which you could put your things on which was good if you were only there for a short stay. There was a wardrobe for your clothes and the bed was very comfortable to sleep in. This is just a very good hotel to stay at and this is the reason why we rebooked a second time to go back because we knew what we were going to get going back there and were happy with what we got for the price which when converted into NZ dollars was very cheap indeed. We ordered a taxi at 4:30am in the morning and was greeted by the taxi on time and the security guard who were happy to help. The cost of the meals were also very reasonable. Would stay there again!

Reviewed February 22, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
LAWRENCE from United States
Solo traveler
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012

best kept secret”

quite, excelent service, excelent food !!!

danny and his wonderful staff was the best of the best , the grounds around the pools and grounds was clean the rooms are simple but very clean , at times sounds from other rooms could be heard but over all a very enjoyable stay , i look forward to going back this was my second stay,,,,,,,,,,,,

Reviewed February 19, 2012
6.7
Good
Jason from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in January 2012

Fair hotel close to airport”

Proximity to airport

An OK hotel with basic facilities and a small pool. Arriving on a Sunday evening, there had been the weekly live music and drinks party, and all the empty beer bottles were still on the tables the next morning...and nobody was there at 6:30 when breakfast supposedly began. When staff did appear, they were friendly and helpful, but this is certainly a 'transit',not a 'destination' hotel!

Reviewed January 20, 2012
8.0
Excellent
TUUNANEN from Finland
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011

great service”

great stuff

i have been there now twice, and all the the i can devolopment happend. they are renovating it to better all the time. i cant thank enough for the stuff.girls and ed are just so remarkable persons, i just believe that they have born to do that work. even if my behavior is not always nice, they still take care of all my problems, and what belongs to me. so thanks a lot guys

Reviewed January 01, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Merlin from Netherlands
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in November 2011

We had a great time ! ”

Nice restaurant with very friendly staff

Very relaxing place. The room was very spacious and the food was good. Every 3rd Wednesday of the month the Kingston organise a party with barbeque and live band. very nice ! Also want to thank the barman Edward.! We had a great time together in Pulse ! ( the disco in the city centre) I will come back in the future !

Reviewed December 22, 2011
7.7
Very good
Roger from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in November 2011

great value for the money”

location...near to the s m mall..and airport....wi fi in public areas

it was exactly as promised...simple....over night..basic....and nice people who work there... the food was good....and it simply served the purpose....one night waiting to board a flight the next day from the airport.. i would glad recommend this hotel..for one night or two....no other....

Reviewed November 17, 2011
5.3
Tak from United Kingdom
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011

Kingston Lodge”

Near airport

Expensive meals when compared with the average in the city. Rough road 80m linking hotel with main road. virtually, seldom any customers used the small pool (one other small pool remain either closed or under renovation)

Reviewed October 27, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Richard from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in September 2011

Very Nice hotel... at a very affordable price”

Close to the airport - near SM Mall

This hotel is owned by a fellow aussie. The meals here are fantastic The staff always ready to please and help Room are clean, working, and bed is comfortable NOTE: If your a westerner with a fillipana wife you will love it hear, as every Wednesday is a Ex Pats day, where all the husbands get together and drink, laugh, and just have a good old time. The wives also do their own thing.... I would stay here again..

Reviewed September 26, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
richard from Ireland
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in August 2011

quaint homely hotel. great staff ”

close to the airport, clean, friendly accomadating staff, good for local knoledge while planning or during your trip

nice place to stay . communication no problems staff all speak good english and always found ex path australians and westerns with good local knowledge and tips. in all happy with our stay here and will book again .

Reviewed August 30, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
ching-wen from Taiwan
Business traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in August 2011

It is a small but chammy.”

Fast internet, safety locaiton

this hotel looks like a small size of villa. it provides fast and stable wifi. location is in a safety area which surrounded with beautiful subdivision. food in this hotel is reasonable and tasty, especially for dinners. personally, i think the night chief has better cooking skill. the room i lived did not come with a telephone, but the front desk? or manager? will go to your door and give you all the information from the call. the front desk? or the manager? notices details of personal behavior about guests. he often asked my friend if she wants a beer when she stayed in pool area. she drinks, but i am not. overall, we appreciated this hotel in cdo, i felt cozy and safe there.

Reviewed August 18, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Wayne from Australia
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011

Lovely hotel and service with a smile”

Pool was great. Service was excellent. Beautiful orchids everywhere

top notch. the beautiful orchids really set the garden off. the staff were freindly and the hotel was quiet at night. everything was clean and well maintained. the room was big and comfortable.they have a well stocked bar from where you can watch your favourite sports on the big screen.

Reviewed August 16, 2011
7.7
Very good
William from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2011

Close to the airport, friendly hotel”

Nice pool, very close to the airport.

Great place for a base to discover Cagayan de Oro. Very close to the airport. I arrived on Wednesday and was invited to join the weekly drinks party (every Wednesday and Saturday for expats). Had good fun. The hotel is reasonable, good food, and well recommended.

Reviewed July 18, 2011
6.3
Good
Greg from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in July 2011

An Australian run caucasian males retreat mostly”

clean room and excellent service from pilipina staff.

The hotel is located far from town but close to the Lumpia airport and SM mall. everything worked and the pools were fairly well maintained. A lot of boisterous drinking gatherings of aging men for football and other games from home... if thats your liking.

Reviewed July 16, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Gary from United States
Group
Pool View
Stayed 26 nights in April 2011

Great stay! Beautiful for wallet great service”

Great food! ate there almost every day

Very great place to stay! Resonable prices and awesome food! Saved so much by staying here 26 days I bought a motorcycle to play on. Very good staff! I would tell anyone if you travel here anywhere with in 80 KM stay here it is worth it!

Reviewed May 20, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Oscar from Philippines
Business traveler
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2011

Lovely hotel and service with a smile”

Friendly hotel staff and great location

a great hotel to stay with. very near the domestic airport and commercial stablishment. safe surrounding very roomy place to stay and the price wow you get the value for your money. food is delicious with large servings. the pool - wow great

Reviewed May 11, 2011
4.8
Rhodo from Philippines
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

RIGHT LOCATION BUT WRONG FACILITIES”

We attended a seminar on Cagayan de Oro. We booked this hotel since this is the nearest and cheapest hotel on the seminar's venue. Actually the place is just right for the money we have paid, however, the facilities really sucks. We requested for an extra bed and they gave us a DIRTY bed and blankets with stains. I looks like a 30 year old bed and blanket that has never been washed before. There was a free soap included but it is actually a USED SOAP. We have seen hairs on the soap. Then the hotel's security is not just safe since there were a lot of foreigners there and it has no security guards. Late at night, we were about to sleep then someone just knocked our door. It was really an awful experience with that hotel.

Reviewed June 23, 2018