Book Now: Kinugawa Onsen Hotel

Excellent
From 269 reviewsSee what guests said
8.5
Recommended by 92% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (269)Booking.com Reviews (430)
8.5
Excellent
From 269 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.8
Facilities8.5
Location7.6
Room comfort and quality8.7
Service9.1
Value for money8.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
繁體中文 (台灣)
ภาษาไทย
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Yunomachi Japanese Western Style Room - Non-Smoking
Yuraku Japanese Style Room with 12 Tatami - Non-Smoking
Yuraku Japanese Style Room with 12 Tatami - Smoking
Yunomachi Japanese Style Room with 8 Tatami - Smoking
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 183 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
yiingjen from Taiwan
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Great service”
I lost my back bag on the train way to hotel which has my passport and some money in it. The hotel staff help me give call to check with railway company and finally found my bag. Fortunately my passport still in bag although money is lost. I want to give the hotel staff my sincerely thank for their help.
Reviewed December 14, 2016
6.4
Good
Autchawee from Thailand
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Good food”
Buffet and Dinner so nice
Reviewed November 01, 2016
7.2
Very good
Takuma from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Good Value Onsen Hotel”
The room furnishing was a bit out dated but the room was clean and comfortable. The Onsen facility was very good. The best value was in the dinner and breakfast buffet service. Great selection and never really crowded. Hotel is about 30 minutes by train from Nikko. There is nothing around hotel, so it seemed most guests stayed here for Onsen and probably day trip to Nikko.
Reviewed September 02, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Elsa from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
What a wonderful experience”
It's a long way from station to hotel and the bus is only run at the limited time. But still it's a wonderful trip. Nice staff and warm welcoming. Special Japan style dinner at room. Nice Japanese lady to prepare the meal. Good Breakfast. Cannot stay late after check out time because no bus service. Overall it's a wonderful trip
Reviewed June 22, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
SAKCHAI from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Fantastic place”
Great hospitality and very good of food offering
Reviewed June 20, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Lay from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Nice hotel”
Hotel is nice abs buffet dinner and breakfast have a very good spread. Room is fantastic. Only downside is hotel is not quite walkable from train station.
Reviewed May 17, 2016
6.8
Good
Ace from Canada
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Location, Nice Staff”
Location is great, staff is nice. Parking needs a bit of patient when you want to get back your car in the following morning as they parked the car somewhere not close to the hotel, they provided shuttle bus taking you to the second parking lot, very good services, as the shuttle stops exactly in front of your car, no need to walk at all, very thoughtful.
Reviewed May 16, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Suphattra from United States
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Great buffet and hot spring ”
The buffet and hot spring were great. There was no crib available for our one year old son, he also was charged ¥1600 per day to stay.
Reviewed April 13, 2016
6.0
KRISNA from Thailand
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
GOOD AND EASY TO ACCESS”
GOOD AND EASY TO ACCESS
Reviewed February 10, 2016
6.4
Good
James from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Hotel in Kinugawa onsen area”
Buffet restaurant service and food quality are good. Booking via Agoda website was not given Kaiseki dinner service to room as local Japanese booked direct with hotel. Onsen facility experience not to expectation.
Reviewed January 24, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Kamil from Poland
Couple
Yuraku Japanese Style Room with 12 Tatami - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Nice place!”
onsen, food, room
Reviewed December 18, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Pinadda from Thailand
Family with teens
Yunomachi Japanese Western Style Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Great stay”
Onsen Food perfect
Reviewed November 08, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Patipan from Thailand
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Good and nice stuffs and good onsen ”
Good and very nice staffs, next to natural river running, half board buffet is impressive
It was very good time for my family to stay here with just only 1 night with private onsen experiencing.
Reviewed October 24, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
CHINAPAT from Thailand
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Superb river view, Fair foods”
River view, Nice room, Good service/staff
River-view room is superb, Share onsen is good, Very helpful staff. With this price, just expected a little better on dining and breakfast.
Reviewed October 24, 2015
7.3
Very good
Swee from Singapore
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Traditional Japanese Onsen Hotel”
Great view, great food, traditional onsen communcal hot spring
This hotel is a very traditional japanese onsen hotel located just besides the Kinugawa River. Our room has a great view overseeing the river and mountain. Rooms are equipped with Tatami beds and Japanese Rayon Robes are provided for adults and children. Communal onsen hot spring bath facilities are located at 4th level (separate facilities for men and women). This hotel provides great traditional Japanese buffet breakfast and dinner for half-board visitors. Most of the food are sourced from fresh local produce. The spring egg and the Japanese rice from Tochigi Prefecture are a must try. Overall, this is great place for those looking for a zen retreat. However, they charged the meals separatedly for my 2 daughters even though both of them are below 4 years. Hotel staffs speak very little English.
Reviewed September 17, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Warit from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Great place for relaxation.”
Hot spring, staff, room
Reviewed September 04, 2015
7.0
Very good
Choi from Portugal
Couple
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Hot Spring Hotel”
Nice Hot Spring, friendly staff, buffet
Nice Hot Spring, friendly staff, buffet
Reviewed July 07, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Wai from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Good Hotel ”
Onsen, Breakfast and convenience
We travel from Tokyo take around 2hrs to reach the hotel, so tired lucky the room is big, transport convenience as public bus will stop at the hotel. Dinner and breakfast was good, we stay for two night we thought the food will be same, which is not a few dishes was different and yummy! We book a private Onsen and tried public also very good. The public bus will going around tourist sport so just follow the time back to hotel.
Reviewed June 30, 2015
7.7
Very good
Wendell from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Nice getaway from Tokyo”
Helpful staff, good buffet selection, private bath (separate charge)
My partner and I had a very relaxing stay. The futon were quite comfortable and they gave me an extra long futon and yukata, which was a nice surprise. The private bath was well-attended, stocked with essentials and the perfect chance to relax without the noise of the public bath. I must say, there were far too many children running around unsupervised but that isn't a problem of the hotel but bad parenting. For us, 2 days in Nikko was plenty, but the hotel made it a relaxing getaway.
Reviewed May 21, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Buranee from Thailand
Group
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
love this onsen”
onsen, fooda, room
good hotel with good onsen
Reviewed May 19, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Franklin from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Onsen bathing experience a must!”
The bathing facilities were excellent. The Japanese tatami room was unique. The Viking meals were varied, high quality and plentiful.
Very good.
Reviewed April 07, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Sutat from Thailand
Group
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Good room and good food”
Room, Food
Reviewed March 31, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Pannaluck from Thailand
Family with teens
Yunomachi Japanese Western Style Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
NIce hotel Great food and helpful staffs”
NIce hotel GReat food and helpful staffs
IT was great staying. The buffet was great with the variety of foods. Over all is a very good hotel. Highly recommmend.
Reviewed March 18, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Haruphat from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Goodhotel”
Onsen food nice
Allgood
Reviewed February 13, 2015
8.0
Excellent
TSE from China
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
comfortable hotspring”
nice onsen, nice staff, beatufil view
I was stay in this hotel for 2days. The view outside is so beautiful ! the onsen pool is very great too. the dining is buffet, it has lots of choice also
Reviewed February 10, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Rong from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Fantastic Ryokan”
Excellent service, room cleanliness, wonderful onsen
The stay was great - no complaints whatsoever. Although English-speaking travelers interested in the ryokan may wish to note that the staff can only converse in Japanese.
Reviewed February 02, 2015
5.0
Siraperada from Thailand
Couple
Yunomachi Japanese Western Style Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Fine to spend a few days ”
beautiful autumn leaves, convenient onsen, game room
Good for stay not more than a few days. If you want to get up late, there will be no cleaning service. Check-in time is 3 pm. But check-out time is 11 am. If you check-out 30 mintue last, you will be charged for half day. Moreover if you put your food in the fridge, it will be locked after the check-out time. Not fair for customer.
Reviewed December 25, 2014
8.0
Excellent
WING from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Yuraku Japanese Style Room with 12 Tatami - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
A very relaxing onsen ”
room
great
Reviewed December 12, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Buranee from Thailand
Group
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Nice hotel”
view, location, foods
Good onsen very relaxing
Reviewed October 31, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Nattapol from Thailand
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Nice Japanese Room with In-room Dinner”
Room, Onsen, and Dinner
It was good to stay here. Eventhough the English language of staff is not strong but they try to help. Onsen is great. In-room dinning is great. The staff who provide the dinner is nice.
Reviewed October 29, 2014
8.3
Excellent
December from Hong Kong
Couple
Yunomachi Japanese Western Style Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Expensive but worth”
good good good for everythings
very enjoy and hope we will go again
Reviewed October 24, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Phasvan from Thailand
Couple
Yuraku Japanese Style Room with 12 Tatami - Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Nice hotel ”
Good location, nice buffet , nice onsen
Impressive
Reviewed October 06, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Sau from Canada
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Will be back :)”
The staff was very helpful, The breakfast buffet and dinner buffet were many choices and tasty
Reviewed September 10, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Taveenan from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
The room is nice but not the view.”
Nice traditional room with good onsen
The room is quite nice and big. But the river view room that i booked, cant call river view because i cant see the river. But the onsen is good. The hotel itself is in a very good location.
Reviewed July 30, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
cassidy from United States
Couple
Yunomachi Japanese Western Style Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Very relaxing”
The scenery, the onsen, the peacefulness
The hotel was very nice and clean. The area is very quiet. It is easy to get to Nikko, but you have to be willing to walk to the train station and be aware that the trains are much less frequent than in other parts of Japan (once per hour). It is most convenient if you bring your own car. They had a nice buffet with a wide variety of food and there was always evening entertainment in the lobby. The private onsens are excellent. We would stay there again if we went to the area.
Reviewed June 15, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
AMER from Greece
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Great couples hotel... LOVED the Private Onsen!”
My beautiful girlfriend, the private Onsen & the Onigiri Station!
Reviewed June 08, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Katha from Thailand
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Best onsen hotel near the Station”
Very near to Kingawa Onsen station, taxi is only 750 Yen
We stayed 1 night, buffet is very luxury
Reviewed May 27, 2014
7.0
Very good
khonkoon from Malaysia
Couple
Yunomachi Japanese Western Style Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
It was really a relaxing place to stay”
Nice , comfort and spacious room Relaxing onsen with variety of pools The staff was great!
Overall I am satisfied but it was bit noisy and crowded during the peak season
Reviewed May 22, 2014
8.0
Excellent
ROBERTO from Brazil
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
we think to stay again when we return to Japan”
quiet,great spa ,good dinner and breakfast
excellent
Reviewed May 18, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Jiming from China
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
It's a trip I'd remember for ever.”
Service, meal
Good service, comfortable, nice view, and memorable Onsen
Reviewed April 23, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Rattapol from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Excellent”
Good atmosphare
Reviewed April 23, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Charawee from Thailand
Group
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Nice onsen experience”
Onsen, Buffet, Room
Everything was perfect. Nothing to complain. Really recommend to those who look for an onsen hotel with reasonable price. I love onsen here. Also don't forget to ask for a room with river view.
Reviewed April 21, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Charawee from Thailand
Group
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Memorable experience”
Onsen, Buffet, room
Nothing to complain. Everything was great. Our group really enjoyed our stay here.
Reviewed April 21, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Supalak from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Good food, nice view and friendly staff”
Good food, nice view and friendly staff
Half buffet is very special for us. Friendly hotel and nice view. We have a great time there.
Reviewed April 18, 2014
5.3
Mahmoud from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Not a place to stay for tourists ”
food, quiet, private onsen (for a fee)
Very Disappointing. We went there to see some historic sites but didn't realize the onsen was over an hours train ride to get there. Wanted to take a tour there but the hotel staff was unable to help. The area was deserted and run down, nothing to see, no restaurants were opened in the area. The staff was very nice but being that they didn't speak much english they were not very helpful in telling us what was available in the area. No brochures in english. This is definitely a hotel for local families. They are not equiped to handle foreign visitors. The rooms were large and clean but the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. The public onsen was very busy, fortunately we were able to reserve a private onsen for a fee.
Reviewed April 18, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Anita from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
Worth every dollar I spent.”
nice indoor and outdoor hotsprings, nice ambience and great food.
It was lovely and I had the best memory ever. I never thought I would love staying in onsen hotel, after this I think I will experience more in the future. The view of our room is the flowing river with traditional japanese room. First time wearing Yukata and first time experience onsen with other guests. Great experience. Will definitely recommend to my friends and relatives.
Reviewed December 03, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Jaroongsri from Thailand
Family with young children
Yunomachi Japanese Western Style Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Good hotel with big onsen”
Large onsen, good dinner, big bathroom
Good hotel with large onsen, good place for relaxation. But breakfast time is too short, 6-9 am, and have to check out early at 10 am, too short for vacation people. Hotel staff cannot speak English.
Reviewed November 19, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Carol from United States
Couple
Yunomachi Japanese Western Style Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
refreshing interlude ”
hot springs, meals, attentive staff
Relaxing, refreshing stay in a great hotel. Excellent buffet meals-high quality with remarkable array of choices both Asian and Western. Attentive staff. Final plus: we forgot a Toyokuni print in the room at check-out.They not only sent it promptly, they did so gratis despite our expressed willingness to pay for shipping.
Reviewed November 04, 2013
7.3
Very good
Kiengkwan from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Nice onsen and unique private”
Private onsen, beautiful sightseeing and nice Japanese room
Reviewed November 03, 2013
7.3
Very good
Xiao from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Comfortable stay, rather authentic feel. ”
The onsen, the hospitality of the staff
Reviewed September 06, 2013