Book Now: Koh Chang Resort

Good
From 511 reviewsSee what guests said
6.2

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (511)Booking.com Reviews (277)
6.2
Good
From 511 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness5.8
Facilities6.2
Location7.7
Room comfort and quality5.4
Service6.1
Value for money5.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
ภาษาไทย
English
Svenska
Русский
more
Room type
Standard Building Hillside
Superior Building
Deluxe Jacuzzi
Beach Front Bungalow
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 402 verified guest comments
2.8
bankim from India
Family with young children
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Very rude Lady Boy Customer Service Awful Place, Not recommend to Enemy”
1. Hotel is not on Beach although it shows on google, totally falsified data. 2. They have lady boy & fat old ladies customer service and reception, very rude and ugly look. 3. I don't see any booking in peak season, but they say it is fully booked. Lonely. 4. They will not allow an extra hour for check out, they charge you extra and will abuse you in Thai Language on extra time. 5. Rooms are stinky, smells like used socks, if you complain they will come and spray, after 1 hour same filthy smell. 6. Expensive food with very bad taste. 7. Swimming pool far from beach and highly chlorinated, don't use it, take care of your skin & hairs.
Reviewed December 28, 2017
8.4
Excellent
justin from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Building
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Great value for money , super neach and location”
As above
Reviewed December 27, 2017
6.0
Rui from China
Family with young children
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
geckos”
good,price is less,normal service.bad,there are three geocks in our room(hill side),smells not good,but the staff has changed a room,then fine.
Reviewed November 12, 2017
6.4
Good
Patanan from Thailand
Couple
Superior Building
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Dated rooms”
Wifi Internet very poor
Reviewed November 12, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Peter from Czech Republic
Couple
Deluxe Jacuzzi
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Exceptional”
Nice clean resorts. Nice beach. Helpfully staff. Good food on breakfast. Ya I will go there again.
Reviewed September 18, 2017
Thanks for staying with us ฿ We appreciate your feedback. awaiting your visit again.
Responded November 03, 2017
Koh Chang Resort
8.0
Excellent
PURIT from Thailand
Family with young children
Beach Front Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
The hotel has a very nice location, nice staff.”
The hotel has a very nice location, nice staff, value for money
Reviewed August 16, 2017
We appreciate your nice feedback. Thank you for staying with us. Your feedback make my team cheerful.
Responded November 03, 2017
Koh Chang Resort
7.2
Very good
Fettih from Netherlands
Couple
Superior Building
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
nice for a couple of days ”
It's quite. The sand beach is nice. You need a motorbike. It's some dated but we got a nice deal.
Reviewed March 04, 2017
6.4
Good
Tamas from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Jacuzzi
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Jacuzzi room”
We buy room with juccuzi but the picture absolult dofferent like a room.Anything old and jaccuzi terrible half bath and the water dark yellow and black not possible used.I m very upset this no good for standard room and I pay deluxe with jaccuzi.
Reviewed February 09, 2017
8.0
Excellent
NAHIM from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Lovely hotel, ideal for a wedding.”
Booked to go to a wedding here and the scenery was beautiful, nice food staff very nice
Reviewed February 02, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Kristen from United States
Couple
Superior Building
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
great location on the beach, nice staff, good food,peaceful”
ocean and beach location are beautiful
Reviewed February 01, 2017
Dear Kristen, Thanks for staying with us, Hopefully we will have another chance to serve you. We strive to keep our guests happy.
Responded November 03, 2017
Koh Chang Resort
8.0
Excellent
glen from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Building
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
location ”
yes! location is the be and end all of this hotel, if you want to chill out. If you want to walk out for night life, then you will have a big walk!. nothing really around it. Bart buses on main road though. if you want the main hotel with a little walk down to the beach, book a superior room. Other wise your across the road in the hill side. breakfast ok, eating right next to the sea. rooms old but ok clean. remember your next to the beach, so your gonna have sand in your room!.
Reviewed January 28, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Mark from United Kingdom
Group
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 5 nights in January 2017
Felt deceived by hotel ”
Booked for me and friends because of location price and proximity to the beach, the hotel looked great for the money then when we arrived we told we were not in main hotel but a 5 storey one star block 350 yards across a main road, this was not cool and although the room was clean and had ac the shower had a mind of its own in every room, boiling hot then cold fast then trickle great ! The good points are lovely beach great staff please make sure you know where your room is as I feel I could have got similar closer to beach for half the money
Reviewed January 21, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Ants from Estonia
Couple
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Good location”
Nice. Place furniture is old
Reviewed January 15, 2017
5.6
Valeriia from Thailand
Couple
Superior Building
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Kingdom of filth in a great location”
We stayed at the hotel over the New Year. Pros: 1) Awesome location just in the middle of Klong Prao beach, next to a very good Flora-i-Talay restaurant, 2) Room have all the necessities: hot/cold water, air conditioner, stallite TV, mini fridge, wardrobe with hangers) haird-dryer etc., 3) rooms are being cleaned every day, shampoos replaced every day etc., 4) IMPORTANT: surprisingly this hotel offers beach towels. Cons: 1) VERY old hotel. No cleaning can help here, absolutely no - only full renovation. This place made me feel like I'm thrown back in time 2 times further than the year i was born, everything looks like in US in 1950s! You can feel the smell of 'old ladies' in the room, if you know what I mean. 2) Beach of this hotel is not wide enough and doesn't offer enough sunbeds and umbrellas for all of the clients, so we had to go to territory of other hotels. 3) As mentioned several times before - too many Russians. They rush to the beach early in the morning to 'book' all of the sunbeds with beach towels. We also saw one men stealing water from room-maids cart. Water costs 10 THB.... Anyways, I think that it's still decent value for money because of this awesome location, nevertheless, we saw one more hotel on the same beach for the same price but the amenities looked better. I would not come back there again, but I think it's a proper place to stay if you need to save money. Thanks anyways ))))
Reviewed January 09, 2017
4.4
iddo from Israel
Couple
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
bad facilities ”
looks like the place had better days. good place if you want to be only at the beach, the city is a 10 minutes taxI drive.
Reviewed January 05, 2017
5.2
Callum from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Food poisoning from breakfast buffet”
My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and we liked the hotel for the price we paid. However on the day we checked out we both had severe vomiting in the evening that lasted the entire night and the only thing we ate that day was the hotel breakfast buffet in the morning. We are certain it was food poisoning from this hotel so beware of their breakfast. Also one of their staff gave us false information about a tour package they sold to us.
Reviewed January 03, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Harutai from Thailand
Family with young children
Superior Building
Stayed 10 nights in December 2016
WONDERFUL BEACH AND SEA VIEW.”
The hotel has a great location, beautiful beaches, clear water, but what I do not want a friend to stay here cause is. Foreign guests who come to stay. Some people was very good (just a few). Mostly bad habits rude people. No presumptuous people around who stay together. Sit on the beach all day smoking. People who want some fresh air from the sea will never get it. Although sleep time, people who smoke also have a smoking in front of their room, making the smoke floated into the room. This cause our family especially our children were coughing heavily throughout the stay. If possible, hotel should plant more big tree for shade larger than this. Tks.
Reviewed January 03, 2017
5.2
Craig from Philippines
Family with young children
Beach Front Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in December 2016
Resort was ok but it is definitely not 4 star. I would say at most a 2 and a half to 3 star.”
Don't recommend the beachfront rooms if your children need to sleep early. Music from restaurant is loud. Also 4 out of 5 of us had a tummy bug. It may have been the brown water in the toilet we found on our last day in our room which made us check out 1 day early. On a good note the New Years party was fun until the Russian guest got up on stage and took over with inappropriate dancing in front of the children. Restaurant staff where nice. Reception staff need to learn a bit of politeness. Wouldn't stay here again.
Reviewed January 03, 2017
7.6
Very good
Jatin from Thailand
Family with young children
Superior Building
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Resort is good but not 4 star furniture is old but it is clean beach is good in front of resort”
I think hotel should change old furniture because resort is on very good location
Reviewed January 03, 2017
7.2
Very good
Christopher from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
I would not stay here again”
The only reason I would not stay here again was there was too much work going on as it is low season. the staff were good / Location was good, but too muck work was going on during the day. I would not recommend the Standard wing I found the room dark, next time I would book another room.
Reviewed October 17, 2016
3.2
Stewart from Canada
Couple
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
...nice location - but an absolutely terrible hotel !!!”
I have been going to Koh Chang for years and could not book at my regular hotel so I unfortunately booked this Hotel o for three nights and If I had known what we were in for I wouldn't have stayed for no more than three minutes !!! Upon our arriva me and my wife had to clean our own room ( just after staff had cleaned it ?) Our feet were covered in dirt after just walking through the room ?! so we went down by the pool and grabbed some towels and used them to clean the floors of our room as best that we could, the room still had a terrible moldy sort of smell the whole time we were there , as well out on the roof there was a balcony area with a table that had some empty drinks and a full ash tray that just got fuller over my three day stay with more butts and bottles and food , etc. - just gross. The breakfast was one of the worst buffet breakfasts I ever saw in Thailand so we just had a coffee every morning and then went down the beach to eat breakfastsomewhere else . The main clientele of this Hotel is definately Russians - and they all seemed pretty much in a foul mood always- probably because they were stuck in this place for their entire vacation ! The staff are indifferent to any of the customers , I believe that after the management let the Hotel slide into it's present decay and horrible state the staff have lost any pride in working there and don't seem to care about doing a good job any more - so sad ! All in all I would advise against even coming to this hotel for a drink let alone to stay the night !!! ...in short the Koh Chang Resort and Spa sucks !!!
Reviewed October 14, 2016
6.4
Good
tony from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Jacuzzi
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Const. Work going on very noisy”
Did not inform us of const. Works room not cleaned till we rang at 3.oo pm only a few people staying there
Reviewed September 16, 2016
5.3
Chanida from Thailand
Family with young children
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 6 nights in February 2016
Not be 4 star rated, liar...”
Maybe its only nice location can find it easily
Reviewed March 30, 2016
7.6
Very good
Konstantin from Russia
Solo traveler
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 16 nights in February 2016
great beach & location”
old & not clean
Reviewed February 27, 2016
7.2
Very good
Konstantin from Russia
Solo traveler
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 21 nights in November 2015
not bad”
great beach
Reviewed February 27, 2016
6.4
Good
Knut from Norway
Couple
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Nice hotel by the beach”
This is an older hotel located near the beach. It is full of Russians, but if you can stand them it is okay to stay here.
Reviewed February 15, 2016
6.7
Good
William from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Hotel by the beach”
Location
Its on the beach. thats why i took it. Its seen better days, but it suited my needs. I like that i can have breakfast on the beach. Staff were polite but i wouldnt say friendly. My rooms were fine. for the price, i think its a pretty good deal
Reviewed January 13, 2016
2.3
Rita from United Kingdom
Group
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 5 nights in January 2016
Awful place and should not be 4 star rated.”
We checked in on 1st January for 5 nights and when we saw the hotel and our room we didn't even want to stay for one night. We then spent the next 4 hours trying to find somewhere else to stay, including going into every hotel in Whie Sands. Unfortunately everything was fully booked but we did find a hotel who had a twin room available which was of a really much higher standard. We therefore checked out of this hotel on 2nd January. The hotel was very dirty and unkempt and the staff that dealt with us had no customer service or interpersonal skills whatsoever. We have been travelling in Thailand and Cambodia for nearly three weeks and this is the only hotel we have been disappointed in and wouldn't stay in or recommend to others. I would be interested to know how often you check the quality and standards of the hotels you partner with as this clearly is not even a two star hotel.
Reviewed January 07, 2016
8.3
Excellent
chadi from Lebanon
Family with young children
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
nice hotel”
location staff performance and room nice
our stay was very comfortable, i stayed with my wife and 1 child and 1 infant in a small room but very clean and nice. the only thing negative about this hotel is their TV inside room is small and not so many channel but that was not a big issue cause we not intended to stay inside room, we just stayed for rest and for sleep and i really recommend it to everyone as it is nice and cheap and first i was hesitant after i read few bad comments but once we were there we saw it was completely different from few people's comment. Maybe some had a bad stay due to certain things but we had a great one and i will stay there again if i ever go back to KOH CHANG
Reviewed January 04, 2016
6.0
Rebecca from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Building
Stayed 7 nights in December 2015
Disappointing”
On-beach location, air con worked, hot water worked in shower
Room was adequate for the discounted price I paid. Photos of property were misleading, and there is no way this is 4 stars. Property is very tired/dated and the overall atmosphere is poor. On beach, but guests regularly "claim" all the beach loungers very early in the morning so it is not really a benefit to anyone else. Staff at the restaurant/bar could not have been more uninterested in selling food and drink - a missed opportunity for a property that clearly could benefit from additional revenues. Dining areas are not inviting spaces, breakfast was disappointing (for example,could not even recognize the fruit juices as they were so watered down). Wifi only in lobby, if you are lucky.
Reviewed January 04, 2016
6.0
Benjamin from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Great location, swimming pool and on the beach.”
Beach, swimming pool and location
Fantastic location on the beach, nice swimming pool. Road traffic meant there was some noise in bedroom, bathroom was dated. Nice balcony
Reviewed January 04, 2016
6.7
Good
shannen from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Beach Front Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Good Value”
On the beach, Nice beach and sea, Easy
Cant understand some of the bad reviews, I think some peoples expectations are placed too high for a hotel in this price bracket. Travelling with a group of 9 including children and stayed in the beachfront bungalows, great experience that wouldn't be afforded in other '4 star' hotels. The swimming pool was small,unattractive, poorly located,in the shade for most of the day and hence wasn't much used by anyone. The bigger hotel next door had a massive pool ;-). Klong Prao is really nice but quiet - would split a week between the busier white sand beach area.
Reviewed January 03, 2016
4.7
Sukhbir from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe Jacuzzi
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Bad Breakfast, Service and Dirty Rooms”
Horrible Breakfast, Careless Attitude Staff and Dirty Rooms
This is the worst hotel after 5 trips to this island
Reviewed October 27, 2015
4.7
Sukhbir from Thailand
Family with teens
Superior Building
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Bad Breakfast, Careless Attitude Staff, Dirty Room”
My mother mother with an accident in front of the hotel where motorcycle just banged her shoulder while there was no security or staff presence despite the location of the hotel is centrally located. Later on I told the staff about the incidence but nobody even bothered to ask her condition or even offer to take her to hospital. I wonder who gave this hotel 4 start rating!!!!!
Reviewed October 27, 2015
4.7
Sukhbir from Thailand
Family with teens
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Bad Breakfast and Careless Staff Attitude”
The worst after 5 visits. I got hurt while swimming as tiles were broken and my left foot was cut and got stitches. The staff never bothered to offer me assistance and luckily I had insurance and got treatment by myself. I left the message for the GM (owner) to contact me back as it was during the holidays but never received any call or contact despite having written details and deposit with the reception.
Reviewed October 27, 2015
4.7
Sukhbir from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe Jacuzzi
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Bad Breakfast and Careless Attitude Staff”
The worst after 5 visits to this island
Reviewed October 27, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Colin from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Jacuzzi
Stayed 5 nights in October 2015
Pleasant quiet stay”
Beach front location. Friendly staff. Nice room.
We stayed out of season and in the week days we had the resort to ourselves it was busier at the weekend but not too busy. The beach was good and in the evening we could walk along it in either direction to find a restaurant for dinner. We enjoyed our stay.
Reviewed October 18, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Nattha from Thailand
Couple
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Good service, swiming pool”
Service, swiming pool, closed beach
Relax
Reviewed September 29, 2015
4.3
Biswa from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe Jacuzzi
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Worst breakfast ever, worst maintained room ever”
Location (beach)
Room/bath room was untidy. Bathtub had a coating of dust when we checked in. Campus is themed garden but looks like a jungle due to lack of maintenance, full of mosquitos. Pool is very small and water was dirty. Staffs at the front office was felt not welcoming. But, at the restaurant, staffs were ok. No phone, no minibar in room. No parking space. Location - middle of the khong prao beach... is the only best thing.
Reviewed April 14, 2015
6.0
jean from Canada
Couple
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Fair”
Location, Location, Location,
Old hotel, but OK. The location and the beach are excellent
Reviewed January 15, 2015
5.0
Riccardo from Italy
Couple
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Koh Chang Resort And Spa”
position, really old, bad staff
Reviewed January 10, 2015
2.7
Tsai from Taiwan
Couple
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Bad room”
the beach is good
the room is very bad, i won't live here again.It is not the same with picture, if you want to live here, think it about and compare with others.
Reviewed January 05, 2015
6.7
Good
Jenny from Sweden
Solo traveler
Superior Building
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
nice hotel”
nice rooms!
my and my friends staying here was good. the rooms were really nice and the ac as well, hehe. enjoyed it!
Reviewed November 07, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Alfred from United States
Family with young children
Beach Front Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
nice hotel”
beach, cheap rates, pleasant staff
stayed for a few nights. did not feel like a 4 star hotel. beach was very clean and really close. stayed in a bungalow right on the beach. room was nice, a little bit on the small side. hotel was a lot older and needed renovations. hotel breakfast was included but was not very big compared to other hotels we have stayed in the Koh Chang area.
Reviewed September 29, 2014
3.3
Shonnicha from Thailand
Business traveler
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Hotels is old and not clean ”
Maybe its only nice location can find it easily
Reviewed May 30, 2014
7.0
Very good
THOP from Thailand
Couple
Superior Building
Stayed 5 nights in November 2013
Spa / relaxation hotel”
nice hotel good area , in the city
relaxation hotel leisure hotel Family fun honeymoon hotel
Reviewed March 07, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Pornpat from Thailand
Group
Beach Front Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
great location good relax”
clean convenience comfortable
this is my first time at koh Chang and i kinda like it this hotel is good location right on the beach good view and clean room but i don't like the car parking. the restaurant is very good many choices and delicious
Reviewed February 26, 2014
2.3
Michael from United Kingdom
Group
Superior Building
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
Rubbish hotel”
Sea sand beach
The was very run down. I would not recommend ,this hotel after one night checked out.
Reviewed February 21, 2014
2.3
Michael from United Kingdom
Group
Standard Building Hillside
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
Dirty old hotel”
Sea beach leaving
The hotel need's pulling down .and starting again .the rooms are red ,dark very dirty and not clean .checked out the next day.
Reviewed February 20, 2014
3.3
Loc from Vietnam
Couple
Superior Building
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Big disappointment for hotel”
Only beach front is a positive point
The beach is nice and the food along the beach was good. Hotel has very low quality room. It's terribly smelly. Water was erupted in the bathtub. The lights are not working as well. Hotel must have frequent maintenance.
Reviewed February 02, 2014