Book Now: Koh Mak Resort

Excellent
From 548 reviewsSee what guests said
8.1
/
10
Recommended by 94% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (548)Booking.com Reviews (202)
8.1
/
10
Excellent
From 548 reviews
Cleanliness7.8
Facilities7.6
Location9.2
Room comfort and quality8.1
Service8.1
Value for money8.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (548)
All room types
Showing 467 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
SUPHAT from Thailand
Family with young children
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018
my friend's family love to stay here.”
I booked this hotel for my friend's family. They said it's very good location and nice beach. staffs are very nice and friendly
Reviewed December 20, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Katie from Australia
Solo traveler
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Beautiful location and friendly staff”
Location was perfect and as I stayed during low season, there were no other people staying at the resort. The staff were so helpful and kind, even using some special Thai techniques to get some coral out of a friends foot. The food was great and breakfast was one of the best on the island. Also, has the best sunset on Koh Mak!
Reviewed September 21, 2017
9.7
Exceptional
Sirima from Thailand
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Reasonable place”
Nice pool, quiet beach, natural
This is a lovely place. Everything reasonable, check in and check out time very fair. The room is front to the beach and like panorama view. Very peaceful! Also nice swimming pool. Food also nice with a nice view next to the pier. Long beach front, shade with many three. If go back again, this would be a good choice to stay and relax and would recommend anyone would like to go should try more than 2 days! Then you can spend sometime at Koh Kham which Island located in front. Dispoint, we missed it!
Reviewed April 21, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Wasitta from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Wonderful location”
Quite, great location, lovely beach
Wow. This resort is situated in a very very nice and beautiful beach. It was very quite. We enjoyed spending a quiet time here without a lot of night life. The room were a little basic but the best point of this place is the location. We had a very relaxing stay here. We were there in a low season so there weren't many things going on. We just stayed in a resort and rented a motorbike to go around the island. The restaurants here are pretty good. You don't need to go anywhere for food.
Reviewed December 12, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Keith from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Fantastic location for total relaxation”
Fantastic location, just perfect for beach and pool, paradise
Third stay at this resort in 3 months, love it. Wide range of rooms to suit all tastes and budgets. Rooms all along the Beach facing the sea Lovely infinity swimming pool Super restaurant Nice Bar All located ( as are the rooms ) close to and facing the lovely beach. Can cross over the clear water to the private island of Koh Kham. Fantastic white powder sand and stunning clear water to snorkel. You can actually hire a Kayak and paddle there if you dont want to take the Resort motor boat. For me this resort is just perfect for total relaxation and stunning scenery.
Reviewed April 03, 2013
8.0
Excellent
HU from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Good location”
Nice beach
The location is Great. The beach is long and lonely,great for relaxing. The room is excellent! You have a great view of the sea from the room. It is also possible to open the glass doors and just walk straight out on to the beach.
Reviewed February 22, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Nussara from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Good place”
Very nice and relax beach
The location is Great. The beach is long and lonely,great for relaxing. The room is excellent! You have a great view of the sea from the room. It is also possible to open the glass doors and just walk straight out on to the beach. Good service and good food. Price are not over charge. Good place for relax.
Reviewed February 16, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Nussara from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013
Good location”
Nice beach
The resort is very good, guide, nice beach, private, clean, everything is perfect for relax with family and friends. The room is clean and nice. Food was good and not over charge. We want to be there more if we can. It was good time there. Just two things we don't like we're staffs ... They look so tried and no smile. And ABF are so boring ... Never change for 6 days ...
Reviewed February 16, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Nussara from Thailand
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013
Great location”
Nice beach
The location is Great. The beach is long and lonely,great for relaxing. The room is excellent! You have a great view of the sea from the room. It is also possible to open the glass doors and just walk straight out on to the beach. Good service and good food. Price are not over charge. Good place for relax.
Reviewed February 16, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Keith from United Kingdom
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Superb Resort”
Second to none for peace relaxation and super surroundings
My second time at Koh Maak Resort in a short period of time, I find this an absolutely super resort. Last time I stayed in a basic 'fan room' this time a nice 'air con' room. They were both very good value for money. The resort is super, beautiful beach, beautiful infinity pool, beautiful restaurant and super bar. The whole place is just great to stay at. Nothing much to see or do in the interior of the island so its important to have a good resort and Koh Mak Resort is a top resort. Very beautiful and relaxing.
Reviewed February 12, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Keith from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Great Resort....Loved it, just booked again !”
Paradise location
Just perfect, only had a standard fan room and needn't have worried it was fine. Resort is super location, super all round, nice infinity pool and nice bar and restaurant. No nightlife but you dont go here for that. I have just booked again !
Reviewed December 28, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Benoit from France
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012
Charming, quiet, relaxing.”
Amazing beach, good rooms.
A great pleasure. Koh Mak resort got his own huge and wild beach, right in front you can join a small island with a kayak. Lovely bungalow, lovely staff, good food at the restaurant. If you need a rest, forget everything for few days, be in peace and stay in a quiet place, this hotel is perfect. Perfect for couples or family.
Reviewed December 24, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
zoe from New Zealand
Family with young children
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in April 2012
Fantastic resort, superb location”
The location is unbeatable. Easy to get to but still wonderfully quiet unlike other islands in Thailand. Great beach bungalows , fantastic beach for teh family
Part of me doesnt want to write this review as I dont really want to let others know of our secret gem of a destination. Koh mak resort is a magic hide away be it that you are a single person wanting peace and quiet, a family wanting to relax or a couple . Its truley magic. The sea was so clear and so full of fish. We swam every day, in both the pool and the sea, drank wonderful Banana shakes, had amazing Thai massages and watched some brilliant sun sets. The resort beach is so long with so many accomodation options to suit everyone. The luxury Beach front bungalows are perfect for us with one child. There is plenty of room and air-con, a clean bathroom and two very comfortable beds.e had 5 days . It felt like we'd been on holiday for ever. This was our second trip to Koh Mak resort and we will be going back again.
Reviewed April 24, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Waranya from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
Quiet hotel on a nice beach”
beach
room is quite spacious. staffs are friendly and are willing to help you with any requests you have got. breakfast is not so creative. it is typical breakfast that you can have in many hotels. food is pretty nice and it's worth your money. however, the opened space of the bathroom is kind of scary during the night especially when you are there alone.
Reviewed September 06, 2011
8.3
Excellent
david from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011
Great Value for money for beachside room”
Amazing location
super beach - midweek stay low season and the resort was very quiet. nice food in the restaurant - large servings and very tasty. staff - especially - was very helpful, especially in assisting in a wifi problem. only downside - some of the fan rooms did not have hot water showers. not a deal breaker, but would have been an added bonus.
Reviewed August 24, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Matthew from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in August 2011
Great resort on the best beach”
clean rooms, amazing beach, best location, friendly staff
stayed during the low season/rainy season and had great weather for the majority of the time. the room was clean and so was the bathroom. breakfast was simple but very good each morning. food at the restaurant was good. the beach is really nice and the resort has free kayaks and snorkel gear. the beach is literally just steps from the room. i can't wait to go back and stay there again.
Reviewed August 17, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
CLAIRE from United Kingdom
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in November 2017
Couldn't fault it ”
Right on the beach, you can use the facilities of the seavana next door. All boat trips leave from the pier infront of the hotel. Koh kham was worth a day trip. If you want a taxi to anywhere else on the island it's 50 bht per person, minimum charge 100bht( if only 1 person). Taxi stop is at the back of reception. Staff were very friendly and do not do more to help.
Reviewed December 03, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Chris from United Kingdom
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Gorgeous Island, friendly & helpful staff”
Our bungalow had a few slight external issues; which did not effect us, and are to be expected for somewhere right in the seafront. The staff were friendly, good humoured and very happy to help. We felt “looked after” on their island. The location is quiet, in terms of nightlife. The bar was deserted by 9pm. It’s mostly for families and couples wanting a bit of peace and quiet in serene and beautiful setting
Reviewed November 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Diane from United States
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
A touch of paradise!”
Koh Mak Resort was a perfect quiet place to stay. We booked for 2 nights but ended up staying 5! The staff was friendly but not intrusive, rooms were clean and right on the beach. Food was tasty and lots of variety. Seafood was fresh. The beach was great for swimming, snorkeling, and kayaking. All in all a perfect holiday.
Reviewed October 25, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Lauren from Philippines
Family with young children
Family Deluxe Beachfront
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Just how i liked it”
I was looking for a place to really just relax and chill minus the crowds, water sports and all the touristy beaches. This was an awesome place to feature all that i didnt like. It was quiet, just a few guests while we were there, food was delicious on all 3 restaurants (the resort itself and 2 neighboring restaurants), beach was spotless clean, staff were really helpful, efficient and genuinely nice, all that with a very reasonable and affordable price. Our accommodation was well suited with toiletries and whatever we needed. My only complaint is the bedbugs. We went home with a couple of bites and red spots. They should really attend to this matter. Overall it was a stay my family and friends really enjoyed :)
Reviewed April 21, 2016
6.8
Good
Pichchapha from Thailand
Family with teens
Family Standard
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Good locations and facilities”
Overall quite good nice locations cause very close with Koh Kham and food also good, value for money and love beach bar but beach not clear too many seaweeds and breakfast not fresh we found some breads already expired and we told this issue with someone who like leader of staff he told us that will be investigate they said they serve only fresh good imposible to expired and finally they just let staff to give us the new one so we felt disappointed with their management just say sorry and accept their mistake we will be feel good
Reviewed April 15, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Mircea from Romania
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Good location, quiet and private enough”
Quite a good resort overall. Rooms/bungalows are quite clean and without any bugs/insects, which added to the comfort. The location is right on the beach and I give 5 stars for this. Food is reasonable and the restaurant staff (serving staff only) is very polite - this is rarely found.
Reviewed March 29, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Nikolaj from Denmark
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
ovarall good only restaurant should improve.”
Reception, Cleaning and bar staff are excellent. Walters and kitchen lack experience and knowledge about timing and service, however they are friendly and do their best. Food is ok. For some strange reason restaurant i closed from 10-11 AM and 15-17 PM. expect long waiting and meals served inconstantly.
Reviewed February 25, 2016
7.7
Very good
William from United States
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Great remodeled bungalows on the sea”
1) right on the beach 2) modern bungalows 3) beautiful view
If you understand that Koh Mak is an isolated island (not easy to get to)I was surprised that the bungalows were so nice. They have been updated inside with decent AC,wi-fi, and satellite TV. Very clean inside. Not a 5 star hotel resort, but the rooms were clean and the bungalows are spaced apart so you have privacy. It is on the best beach on the island. Downside: restaurant and eating area a bit drab looking. Need to update this area. Nice staff. Good sea view. True, the flies are a nuisance.
Reviewed July 31, 2015
7.7
Very good
danny from Israel
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Nice resort, good location, great beach”
location right on the pier from Koh Chang, Great white sand beach with less rocks then others, all you need is there
Generally very pleasant and recommended , rooms may be not the best but quite enough. location right on the pier from Koh Chang, Great white sand beach with less rocks then others, all you need is there
Reviewed April 27, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Karl from Sweden
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Great resort, but not our favorite”
Restaurant, Rooms, Staff
Wonderful stay at the Koh Mak Resort. However, the beach wasn't as nice as one the other side of the Island (Ocean Sky Resort) and had a lot of sand flies. But, if you rent a scooter you can go anywhere you like and come back to great dining, great accommodation and fantastic staff. Just not as bohemic as other places.
Reviewed December 02, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
David from South Africa
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Real Island Paradise”
Location, staff, value
We visited Koh Chang, Koh Kood and Koh Mak on a 10 day holiday.Koh Mak was our favourite and mainly due to the Koh Mak Resort and the manner in which the manager, Nick, handles his customers. He provides an excellent service in a friendly, relaxed and flexible manner. He also arranges all tours and ferries personally and with experience. We even came back to Koh Mak resort for two days after cutting short our time on Koh Kood where we were not as satisfied. For anyone who wants a true island experience Koh Mak is it.
Reviewed November 29, 2014
7.7
Very good
raymond from Canada
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Great beach best on the island”
Little villas right on the beach
The resort is on the best beach n koh mak ,we rented a moto 300 baht a day, and rode the whole island,looked at all the beaches ,and ours was by far the top ,but a very harsh warning DO. NOT. FORGET. Mosquito repellent .I for got one night, sat outside mildly drunk at 3 am got eatin alive by the biggest bugs I've ever seen . The beach was great ,there is a good restaurant down on the pier .cheers have fun .gotta go put cream on my bites now.
Reviewed April 10, 2014
6.3
Good
Keith from United Kingdom
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Great Resort BUT”
Super location, facing the sea, lovely island
I have stayed at Koh Mak Resort a number of times, I have always been highly complimentary. However there has been a major change, the resort has split into two, the far end now being called 'Seavana Resort'. You can still use the Daybeds restaurant ( and pay ) but sadly the management of Koh Mak Resort has taken a nosedive. The restaurant ( near the bar ) is a shambles, for breakfast they just cannot cope and were constantly running out of everything, plates, bowls, knives forks, bread, bread rolls, milk etc etc and the quality of the cooking is not good anymore. Many customers gave up on the included breakfast and went to 'Daybeads' and paid for a breakfast there. Due to customers moving away from the Restaurant now very few use the bar which is such a shame. One of the boys working the restaurant speaks no Thai and no English ( he is Cambodian ) so that is difficult. The whole 'feeling' is different. The rooms and the location are the same, but the place has lost a huge amount.
Reviewed December 24, 2013
7.3
Very good
Wasitta from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Amazing settings”
Stunning area, Good food, Nice Beach
This resort is situated in an outstanding beach area. It is so beautiful. The resort is quite. It has nice restaurant and nice pool. Most of the rooms are ocean view which is amazing. Though the fan room was a little expensive but overall we enjoyed our stay here and will definitely come back.
Reviewed May 20, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Nita from Australia
Family with young children
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
peaceful, beautiful surroundings”
ocean view, good restaurant, nice pool
We're a family and really enjoyed our short stay here for a couple of nights. We normally explore the island we are on but this time we stayed at the resort the whole time and found that it had pretty much everything that you needed: minimart, bar, good restaurant, hiring kayaks, organising trips etc. The best bit was hiring the kayaks from very helpful french man who runs the hire shop - you can paddle over to Koh Kham - spectacular white sand island about 15-20 minutes away. Spend the day snorkelling among the volcanic rocks or sunbathing. it is a private island so you have to pay a landing fee of 100 baht per person (not kids) but this gives you a free drink and use of the toilet etc. Its a family friendly hotel - parents sat at bar having happy hour drinks while kids all jumped off the pier and played on the swings on beach in front of bar. Would definitely go again. If you use Panan speedboats they drop you direct at the resort. Leelawadee take you to another hotel but man at inofrmation there rang Koh Mak resort and they picked us up in 5 minhutes.
Reviewed April 17, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Gordon from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Simple, relaxed and enjoyable.”
(they are made up of differnt standards of bungalows) Hassle free, good value and great location.
More relaxed than expected,all needs met without any drama..motorbike,canoe,etc...all staff and people kind. Breakfast standard very high, good value...meals could be eaten in informal restaurant or taken back to bungalows. Crossing from mainland to KOH MAK by boat easy swift and on time. All in all...first class stay.
Reviewed April 16, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Martin from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in January 2013
Just relax”
Location, surroundings, nature, bungalow/rooms
The location is superb. The beach is long and lonely,great for relaxing. The room is excellent! You have a great view of the sea from the room. It is also possible to open the glass doors and just walk straight out on to the beach. Pick-up service is great, we arrived at a different pier but they were waiting for us at the pier. Transported our luggage from the boat to our rooms.
Reviewed January 09, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
tairo from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Heaven on earth”
Rooms on the beach, great restaurant, amazing sunset, serenity and natural environment
think all the times I day dreamt about an exotic getaway to a tranquil island, I was in fact thinking of Koh Mak Resort. The rooms are located ON the beach, which means you will fall asleep to the sound of the waves in rhythmic harmony with the sound of nighttime nature, and awake to the most blissful sun and pristine ocean right outside your window. The restaurant serves magnificent meals ranging from asian to western, and the breakfast is full and hearty. After a whole day of complete and utter relaxation, having a few cocktails or beer at happy hour while watching, undoubtly, one of the most magnificent sunsets I have ever seen in the world will undoubtly make this trip worth every minute, and every penny. The price you pay will never outmatch the value you get at Koh Mak Resort, quite possibly the closest thing to heaven on earth. (-Tairo)
Reviewed December 17, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Simon from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in April 2012
Lovely hotel with great location”
The view from the rooms
The Koh Mak Resort was in a beautiful location right on the beach front and the first resort as you step off the pier. The rooms were small but clean and comfy with a small veranda to sit on which was nice as so close to the beach The breakfast that was included was adequate and the food available from the restaurant was nice. The pool was also a bonus.
Reviewed August 25, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Pavel from Uzbekistan
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Amazing hotel with the best beach on the island”
private beach, restaurant with great seafood, service
Koh Mak Resort is a hotel on the northern part of the island with a long and very clean private beach. We were picked up by Koh Mak Resort staff at another hotel on Koh Mak island so there was no problem finding it (also they pick up/drop off guests from pier). Hotel staff is very helpful and attitude is very positive. For example, the boat trip back to mainland was arranged without us asking for it. Restaurant (Day Beds) offers wide selection of food. Seafood was delicious (ordered both deep fried snapper and steam snapper). Swimming pool is large and located near the shore. Also noticed Thai Massage sign, although haven't used the service. Kayaking boats were offered free of charge to hotel guests.
Reviewed August 07, 2012
8.3
Excellent
David from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Nice hotel on a great island near-ish Bangkok”
Relaxed island, not over-developed
It takes about 4 to 5 hours to drive to Trat province from Bangkok. From there you take a speedboat ride for about 50 minutes to Koh Mak. Hotel picked us up from the wharf, no dramas. The island itself is very small and whilst there are many hotels there, it is not overly developed (compared to Phuket or the other islands closer to Bangkok) and has a very sleepy relaxed feel with no high-rise buildings, and has bumpy potholed roads and animals roaming around to give it some character. The Koh Mak Resort itself is probably the largest and best on the island. Not much to do other than swim, kayak, ride motor scooters, eat and relax. If you're looking for an island with lots of bars and party/nightlife, do not go to Koh Mak but the absence of these is why I loved it. Hotel staff were friendly and it's a located on a beautiful beach. The Thai food at the hotel restaurant was also especially good.
Reviewed July 14, 2012
8.0
Excellent
agatha from Netherlands
Group
Family Deluxe Beachfront
Stayed 10 nights in June 2012
great location, hate the sandflies”
beautifull location, very quiet (low season), friendly staff, good swimmingpool
the location is great, good food, friendly staff,but the sandflies really spoil your holiday. we were all stung all over our bodies and went crazy with itching. price was a bit high, the rooms and bathrooms need a maintenaince job. beautiful oceanvieuw, bungalows right on the beach.
Reviewed June 17, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Elizabeth from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in April 2012
Beautiful hotel and island- paradise”
The beach in front of the hotel is lovely with fantastic views
The highlight of our holiday by far was our stay at Koh Mak resort. We stayed in a superior beachfront suite which opened out onto the beach. The room was lovely, very clean and well designed, although the only slight issue we had was with the bathroom. The bathroom is semi-outdoor, which is supposed to be a design point and has very luxurious fixtures and fittings, but being outdoor meant that it became very hot and stuffy during the day and in the night mosquitoes were a big problem as they would congregate around the pools of water in the bottom on the sink and shower. Our bathroom was also home to several small lizards, a very large (30cm?) long lizard with a yellow stripe and a huge toad also with a yellowish stripe.I love seeing wildlife but not necessarily in the middle of the night in the bathroom! The pool was also fantastic and the restaurant was good, mainly selling Thai food and catering for vegetarians. They need a few new tables and chairs though as some are a bit old and dirty. I would recommend Koh Mak resort, what a fantastic time we had.
Reviewed April 20, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Pattariya from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
great room great view great beach!”
Fan Room, Yes No need AC, its already perfect !
We had a great time with Koh Mak Resort, the room is perfect even its a fan room, but the beach is right in front of the room, The staff are very nice, good service, good food, nice bar and many beach activities to do there. Its worth it going there, we definitely going to go there AGAIN!
Reviewed March 15, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
neel from Denmark
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
great bungalows right on the best beach on Koh Mak”
The beach is just wonderful, even during low tides. The staff extremely friendly and helpful.
We were 2 couples - one with the luxury bungalow and one with the standard fan. Both bungalows were right on the beach - and what a beach. The little trash that is washed ashore is being picked up every morning. Breakfast was sumptious - thai and european, eggs prepared upon request. Internet available at the main areas - the bungalows are spread out, understandable none in room. The manager, Mr. Nick very helpful - and the popcorn during happy hour very delicious. Will definitely return.
Reviewed March 10, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Sharmila from Germany
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in February 2012
Nicest Resort on the Island”
clean beach, very quiet, good cook
the resort was definitely the nicest on the island. my wife and i were on our honeymoon there, and it was well worth it. for 300 baht per day, we rented a motorcycle and drove around the entire island over a couple of days. we checked out different places and beachfronts and decided we had made the right choice staying at the koh mak resort. the bungalows were nice, right at the beachfront, but the outdoor bathroom was full of mosquitoes and they made their way into our room as well. the beach is pretty full of sand fleas, and that is kind of a bother, since those bites take a while longer to heal than mosquito bites. other than that, the food was great, but only in the day beds restaurant of the resort. the other place was not as good, maybe a different cook, but the day bed had excellent food, and after 14 years of living in thailand, i know what i'm talking about. very clear water, nice for kayaking, snorkeling, and even scubadiving.
Reviewed February 18, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Molly from United States
Solo traveler
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
Great location with wonderful beach”
Pool and great beach
The staff at Koh Mak Resort were wonderful and the accomodations were nice. They have some swings set up along the beachfront, which was great for the kids traveling with their families. The resort area is very peaceful and relaxing. Overall, it was a great stay. I do feel like I paid a bit too much for the room I stayed in, but it was still a nice visit and I'd go back again.
Reviewed January 30, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Alan from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Family Deluxe Beachfront
Stayed 5 nights in January 2012
Best resort on Koh Mak”
Excellent accommodation, friendly staff, clean beach and excellent food.
The resort is bigger than some, but after touring the Island it is definately the best. Whilst the Family Deluxe Beachfront are pricy - in our opinion they are great value. Being 2 storeys and relatively new, there are great views into the bay. The beach is swept every morning, and fumigated 3 times a week, so there are no sand flies - a problem elsewhere on the island. The cherry on the cake was the food which was outstanding. Given the crustal clear water and friendy service, we would definately come back
Reviewed January 28, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Reija from Finland
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in December 2011
Nice beach front resort”
Amazing staff, always ready to exceed your expectations...
what an amazing staff this resort have, many thanks to nick at the reception and ladies at the mini-mart, and everyone in both restaurants and beach bar and housekeeping ladies and taxi driver... they wouldn't have been able to do more to make us feel like home. we highly recommend this place for everyone! we stayed in standard beach front bungalow and it was perfect choice for us. beach was not too busy and it felt as we had our own private beach in front of our bungalow. just perfect, thank you koh mak resort, you surely made our holiday run so smoothly!
Reviewed January 06, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
sirithida from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
Fantastic resort”
Nice beach, convenient, facilities, many room options
Very good location. Beautiful beach. It's convenient to take the boat from-to Trad directly. Got lots of activities to do, massage, swimming in an infinity-edged pool by the sunset time, chilling at night bar by the the sea, etc. They got many options of room. I find the beachfront room with fan is not bad. It's only 5 steps to the sea. Very reasonable. Worth it!
Reviewed December 29, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2011
Perfect stay! We will be back again.”
Beautiful sandy beach, Helpful staffs, Nice bungalow on great location.
we have very happy time at koh mak resort. everyone very friendly and helpful. the best thing is we have plenty of space on their beautiful beach also don't miss romantic sun set in the evening. the restaurant was good and reasonable price. we've try many thai food there. breakfast was basic but we like it. we'll be back again for sure!
Reviewed December 18, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Matti from Sweden
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in November 2011
Peace and tranquility!”
Seaside bungalow, great food
we had an excellent stay at the koh mak resort! just imagine waking up each morning to the sound of the ocean, just feet away from your bungalow! the staff was great, the rooms were clean and beautiful and if you are looking for some quiet time away from the crowds, koh mak is the place for you... i would definitely come back here again!
Reviewed November 18, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Kodchakorn from Thailand
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
nice qiet place with great beach”
beach and peace
koh mak resort is a nice and romantic place. dont go there if you re looking for night life etc.. there's not much to do at night but the food is good and some lovely sights of the stars at night! the rooms are nice and clean, and will be taken care of everyday. the staff is really relaxed and friendly and most other places on the island can be reached walking (if you can stand the heat) or by rented motor for baht a day. the beaches are nice and great to walk. it's dogfriendly so you can bring your dog and it will love the beach! the hotel can book you trips to other island by speed boat or sightseeing/diving all at reasonable prices. I loved staying there and will be bacjk
Reviewed November 03, 2011
6.3
Good
Mr. from Thailand
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011
a beautiful resort and friendly.”
swimmingpool and beach.
This resort have no lobby , the room are very light of glssaes,but bugalow are on the beach front and all a long to the beach which full of panorama view. it's very beautiful and present,but the day we stay are rain,so we have no impress to be on the seaside at all.
Reviewed September 09, 2011
7.7
Very good
Joshua from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2011
Great View but less than ideal amenities”
Beach was great, but the restaurant could have been better. Service was great though
The beach had a great view, in general it was an awesome island resort. The restaurant could have been better though, it had too little variety. The staff had great service, the people on the island are really friendly
Reviewed September 02, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Natsuwat from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in July 2011
Great hotel on the great place”
-
this hotel give me a very friendly service and care in everything that you need. the hotel is on greate place on the island and there is a quiet and beautiful place but have a lot of things that you can do e.g. kayuking, diving etc. the restauant give me a greate experience in fresh and delicious food in every meal.
Reviewed August 09, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Andrea from Australia
Group
Stayed 3 nights in July 2011
Will be back again”
standard beachfront were amazing, buffet breakfast tops the cake!
Spent 3 nights here over a long w.e. Even though it was a long w.e( in low season) the resort wasnt packed with people. Was a great relaxing time. Stayed in a standard beachfront which was 5 steps away from sand. If sand doesn't tickle your fancy then there is always the infinity pool! Was shocked at how great value this resort was! Expect to pay anywhere from for dinner but food is also pretty good so didnt have an issue with regular prices. Be aware that there is no 7/11 or really even a general store so bring snacks if your a snacker!
Reviewed July 22, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
SUREEPHOL from Thailand
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in July 2011
Wonderful moment!!”
Just few steps to the beach ,everything simple but perfect.
We stayed in short period and really want to be back again! Everything is simple but perfect. Bungalow was cleaned and provided with basic things that i really use ; cutton bud, soap , shampoo , drinking water .. small body lotion and sun bed. Mostly, i spend time on the beach . Beach is very very long and private. Food is ok with a reasonable price. Also they are friendly staffs.
Reviewed July 18, 2011
8.0
Excellent
mark from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in April 2011
lovely location, really friendly staff”
the beach is beautiful and tranquil
When we first arrived off the pier a man came straight up to us from the resort already knowing our names, checked us in, even drove us and our bags to our room which is a little walk but not much down the beach...very very friendly, the room was standard with fan...we found we couldnt cope without aircon so we up graded to a much nicer room with discount, beach is lovely, pool is stylish and big, the whole resort is lovely and big, the breakfast was basic but nice, the restaurant menu was a little limited but the food was nice, and the bar by the pier had a lovely atmosphere. a lovely and enjoyable stay all round
Reviewed May 08, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Riikka from Finland
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2011
Lovely Jacuzzi Villa and great service”
Jacuzzi, location, service
Island Koh Mak is very beautiful and peaceful place to have a relaxing holiday. Good for honeymooners ;-) Villa with jacuzzi was great choice also. Is there any better way to spent yur evening with your love one than jacuzzi in the sun set. Service was good and we will absolutely come back again!
Reviewed May 05, 2011
4.4
Laura from Denmark
Family with young children
Family Deluxe Beachfront
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Amazing location, terrible service & run down room.”
The Koh Mak Resort is right on the best beach of the island, so the location could not be better. But the place is run-down, the service non-existent and cleanliness questionable (we stayed two nights and our room was not cleaned). Go next door to the Seavana - it is the most amazing place, with the same location, best breakfast in Thailand and friendliest staff! Strange to think that these two places are owned by the same family, they could not be more different. Oh, we also had a giant spider in our room and two cockroaches in the bathroom, yikes! The staff was helpful enough with removing the spider, but we still didn’t sleep well after that..
Reviewed February 02, 2018
7.6
Very good
Kittawit from Thailand
Family with teens
Family Deluxe Beachfront
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Good location close to the beach”
Here is the first accommodation in Koh Mak. The room is clean and look very good but any facilities is old and not work properly. Sample is air conditioner is so loud and smell.
Reviewed May 27, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Guqiao from China
Solo traveler
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
wonderful”
the beach is amazing though the food still needs to be improved
Reviewed August 02, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Lubomir from Czech Republic
Family with young children
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Nice bungalow on the clean beach.”
Very good services.
Reviewed April 23, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
marcello from Italy
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
the best place on the best beach”
location, bungalows, service
all bungalows are right by the beach. we had a great stay!
Reviewed December 10, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Brian from United Kingdom
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
nice staff... good food”
location... staff... beach
Very good stay... would go back again
Reviewed April 13, 2015
6.4
Good
Piyada from Thailand
Group
Family Deluxe Beachfront
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Serene getaway”
The place is located on the tranquil beach where you could see Koh Kam at your sight. The place would be perfect for traveler who seeks for the quiet time. The I-Talay bar was what we liked the most during our stay. The staff mostly were friendly and helpful especially at the kitchen. The bad sides are there were lots of flies during our meals which were so annoying. In addition, our family beachfront was rundown. No room service. The television downstairs was located in the open-spaced living room outside the bedroom. The shower on the first floor needs renovation. Internet was provided in the public area.
Reviewed May 31, 2016
5.6
Teemu from Finland
Family with young children
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Beach ”
Villas need quick renovation. Lots of ants and mosquitos inside. No mosquito nets in villa. Rock hard beds as usual. Breakfast disappointing. View was fantastic and the beach virtually empty. Location is not always worth the money. Luckily we stayed only for one night.
Reviewed March 10, 2016
7.3
Very good
Jennafer from Canada
Family with young children
Family Deluxe Beachfront
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Very private, beautiful beach, quiet retreat”
Big rooms accommodating family of 5. Great location on the beach with lovely views.
Great size family bungalow steps from the beach. It was private, although the children's room could not be accessed internally. They had their own door with locks, which is a bit of a concern at night with younger kids. The downstairs room was very musty, which also was a concern. It was almost hard to breathe, so we wouldn't want them exposed to that for longer than 2 nights. We didn't want to leave the windows open at night even with the beautiful breeze, for safety reasons as we were not in the same room. The upstairs was great. Miami style with the bed in the centre and loads of windows for a fantastic breeze. At night all you could hear were waves and animal sounds.The size of the place was perfect for a big family, with the mustiness being the only issue we had. As in most beach bungalows, there are ants, and geckos, but no cockroaches! Nice garden, lawn area and beach. We went during Christmas break, and the wind was VERY strong making the ocean unbearably cold. We are told it is normally not as rough and chilly. Sadly because of the wind, the kids didn't spend long playing in the water. The pool was under renovation so we used the pool in the resort next door which was lovely, but also cold due to the time of year. Wouldn't advise visiting Koh Mak in December. Getting to and from the island was very difficult for the speed boat because of the wild white caps. If you get seasick, it is not advised! I would imagine April would be perfect. It was very quiet and peaceful and the island is fun to explore on foot or by bike or motorbike. It is not a" happening place", it is a retreat from the busy life. So if you're looking for a disco, try Patong Beach in Phuket.
Reviewed December 27, 2013
6.0
Yee from China
Family with teens
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Quiet, beach resort”
Quiet, close to the beach, zero disturbance
Quiet, close to the beach, zero disturbance. One comment about the air-conditioning. The swing blew wind directly on those sleeping there; made us feel uncomfortable. Sooner or later, the furniture may need to be replaced; they are old, ragged and out-of-style. There was a night when strong wind blew with big rain, water cam in through the window.
Reviewed September 04, 2013
6.7
Good
Chitiphat from Thailand
Couple
Comfort Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Peaceful ”
Peace quiet friendly
One of the most peaceful place i have ever stayed in, the room is very affordable, they are heavily renovation a new area, once complete would be one pretty looking resort. So all in all i would say it is value for money and if you are after a quiet one you won't be disappointing. The island is small and you can hop around resort with your scooter or golf club car which you can rent for a little adventure
Reviewed August 19, 2013
7.3
Very good
Lengkoung from Cambodia
Family with young children
Family Deluxe Beachfront
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Peaceful and Quiet”
Private beach, Quiet, Peaceful
Went with a family of 6. Stayed at the family room. Quite spacious. The beach was nice and quiet and very private. Outside of our room there's a net for volleyball. The hotel has kayak available for rent, which we did to a nearby island. This I recommend as the nearby island is a good spot for snorkeling. The food was just ok. There're other restaurants away from the resort but must take 'songtaew'. But during my stay I didn't find any restaurant I find noteworthy. But overall I would recommend this resort. It was a pleasant stay with good atmosphere. The the staff was really helpful
Reviewed June 28, 2013
7.7
Very good
Kingkan from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Nice view like you are in the paradise”
Nice view, Great decorated room and long beach
I loved to rest on the cozily king bed to see super nice view like we are in the paradise if only i can have a wifi to share something great for friends and keep that for long time easily this resorot will we the great one on this island.
Reviewed April 17, 2013
6.7
Good
Aasa from Sweden
Family with teens
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Excellent location”
Location, big pool
We stayed in the Standard Beach front bungalow which was very basic but with the best location right at the beach. No aircon, but none needed, the fan worked great. Would have been perfect with a fridge. Restaurant ok. The whole resort had a modern, but worn down aproach. Not THAT clean surroundings. Except from that, a very good stay! Recommendable!
Reviewed January 05, 2013