Book Now: Koh Mook Charlie Beach Resort

Koh Mook Charlie Beach Resort Reviews

Very good
From 515 reviewsSee what guests said
7.3
/
10

Reviews of Koh Mook Charlie Beach Resort Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (515)Booking.com Reviews (47)
7.3
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.4
Facilities6.4
Location8.9
Room comfort and quality6.6
Service6.9
Value for money6.9
All languages
All guests (515)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 455 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
John from United States
Solo traveler
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017

Beautiful location but many small children”

This hotel is located on a stunningly beautiful bay. Wide, clean beach, sandy bottom sea, great for swimming, great for lounging. Plenty of shade trees as well. Awesome pool overlooks the beach and surrounding hills. Coconut trees everywhere. There is a small mini mart on site selling snacks, water, beer. The staff were all friendly, great job. They have a good combination of aircon concrete bungalows and fan cooled bamboo huts. Concrete rooms look at a garden area, while the front row of bamboo huts looks at the beach. I rented hut #7 for 2 nights. Certainly very small and basic but adequate - a mattress on the floor with 2 feet of walkway on three sides. Mosquito net. One small table and mini fridge. Veranda with pillows for lounging. Bathroom at the back had a sink, toilet and cool shower. Not having hot water when staying in a fan cooled room wasn't a problem at all, it's hot here. Breakfast was very good. Omelette station, fried eggs, meats, tasty Thai curry, fruit, yogurt, cereal. Dinners were excellent, Thai food anyway, did not try the Western dishes. Wish I would have eaten more meals here (see below). This is an important point - the hotel is well suited for families with small children, and unfortunately for me I am not a family with small children. Perhaps the concrete rooms had walls thick enough to muffle the sound of a toddler tantrum, but the bamboo huts certainly did not. And after the first delicious dinner at the hotel, during which I could not find a table more than 20 feet from a squawking or crying toddler, decided to take the rest of my meals at the restaurant on the hill located at the south end of the beach. I do not hold this situation against the hotel, I just write this for the sake of others like myself who are not enamored with the cuteness of little children. In summary, perhaps on paper this hotel is not the greatest value for your traveling dollar, but the amazing location and friendly staff make it worthwhile.

Reviewed March 11, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Colin from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013

Clean and tidy resort on the beach”

On the beach; good rooms; decent, but rather pricey food

Stayed here in low season, very quiet with few customers. Place is quite a way from the boat pier - get a motor-bike taxi. Not much to do at resort, reasonably priced trips to other islands, Emerald cave, snorkelling, etc available from village/boat pier depending on sea state (big waves = no trips). Cheap food from Hilltop Restaurant a tatty place about 10 minutes uphill walk away. Beer at resort more than twice the price from the village shop - stock up before you arrive !

Reviewed July 25, 2013
7.2
Very good
Cathrine from Norway
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

Good location, overpriced for what you get ”

The location is great.its at the beach. The Bungalow is nice with a big double bed, hot shower, fridge and even two beach mats. The negative is small, black ants everywhere!! In the shower, on the wall send they even seemed to fall out of the Ac. The breakfast is really bad. Just the normal things you get in Asia and I did expect a bit more for the price you pay. You can't use the swimming pool, it's closed and I understand why. The water is dirty and not really tempting. In general I would say overpriced for what you get! If the breakfast and swimming pool were okay, it would be worth it!

Reviewed February 21, 2018
5.2
Julia from United Kingdom
Group
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018

Above average”

Pro: excellent location right on the beach. You can watch the sunset from your porch. Breakfast is decent and you have an amazing view from the restaurant. Con: bad value for money, if you are a 5mins walk away you pay 3-4 times less for a better bungalow. the 'cheap' bungalow was in a sorry state, e.g. the loo didn't work and couldn't be fixed, tap couldn't be turned off. The bed is on the floor and small, I would only recommend for couples, not friends. There is virtually no space to put your luggage, for some reason they out in a fridge instead.

Reviewed January 25, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Carolyn from Canada
Solo traveler
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017

Best location on the Island”

I stayed in one of the fan bamboo huts, and you can't beat the location overlooking a palm grove to the beach. This hotel is on a beautiful sunset beach, so it's a great place to end the day. Ko Mok is charming, still quite local. The hut was very basic -- I was a bit squeamish about the mattress on the floor, but it was fine. I think two people would have trouble fitting under the mosquito net. The hut was cleaned every day, which was was nice. The safety deposit box in the room isn't ideal as it's operated by lock and key rather than a code, but at least it's nailed to the floor. It's worth noting that the hotel is currently not fully operational. They told me they are renovating through January. Half the aircon bungalows looked closed, and the big restaurant was closed (breakfast was served on the beach restaurant, so no complaints, although it was a set breakfast (with choice) rather than a buffet breakfast, without unlimited coffee). The location is perfect. I'd stay again.

Reviewed December 04, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Denis from Russia
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Mediocre bungalow in a nice hotel”

We booked this bungalow for 2 reasons: - price was rather low - it is located close to Emerald cave Bungalow experience was disappointing for my partner: there was no hot water, the bed was a mattress on the floor covered by a bednet that had a few cigarette burnt holes in it. There were gaps in the wooden floor that easily allowed insects in and out. Big gecko was waiting in the middle of the night in the bathroom. Wi-Fi connection in bungalow was poor. The hotel itself was nice - it had a swimming pool, good buffet breakfast was included in the room price. Charlie resort is located away from the town but you can get there by tuk-tuk (local taxi) for 50 THB. We walked both ways and took nice pictures on the beach close to the pier and in the local village. We also did some snorkeling from the beach - saw some fish but the water was not crystal clear. Overall it was a great experience for 1 night that we stayed on Koh Muk.

Reviewed April 12, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Michaela from Czech Republic
Group
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017

Exceptional”

Amazing resort on the main beach of Koh Mook island,nice staff,cool pool with a bar and flawless view from it on beach and nature around. Cottages are small, but really nice,clean and cosy, located by beach with a terrace to hang out.Few restaurants and bars straight on the beach,really good food and drinks everywhere,could only recommend!

Reviewed March 25, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Pamela from United Kingdom
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017

Lovely setting!! Relaxing stay :)”

Initially a little worried when told our bamboo chalet had a cold shower and no towels however wasn't a problem. Cotton cloths provided that were adequate and the cold showers were refreshing. Our bamboo hut overlooked the beach and sea and was an ideal setting. Daily maid service kept us supplied and our hut clean. Friendly staff, varied uptions at breakfast t

Reviewed January 17, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
sophie
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

just perfect”

We stayed in a bamboo hut , so low price. but everything you needed was there. Beach perfect, nice breakfast, nice staff, very clean hut, taxi service 2min walk, 50 bht a person 1 way to the village. You have other options to eat outside the hotel, nice and cheap. The emerald cave 20min by kayak, beautiful! Try to avoid the police guys otherwise you need to pay national park fee, or find a very good excuse ;-). For all the other trips try to share a boat, that will keep the price very low. Koh Mook is paradise, lot's of locals so very low profile atmosphere.

Reviewed December 13, 2016
3.6
kessirirak from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Beach Front
Stayed 1 night in September 2016

not recommend for low season at all even it's opened for the guest”

no internet,no tv, no electricity during day time, no food only easy breakfast and the resort needed to set the green net to prevent resort from the sand that might come with the strong wind so we had the worst view. we could not swim in the sea when the pool was closed. i was very disappointed.

Reviewed October 17, 2016
7.6
Very good
IVAN from Serbia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2016

Nice resort”

Resort is quite nice, good location, beautiful and wide beach. The truth is that not all the staff are friendly, but again without any big issues. Bad thing is that few dogs are walking around, not only through resort, but in the restaurant as well, nobody from the staff does anything regarding that.

Reviewed June 08, 2016
6.0
Muiz from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

We got scam by the hotel”

Location and good restaurant nearby Hadfarang Restaurant

We stayed for 2 nights in Koh Mook Charlie Beach Resort, we purchase Ferry boat to Trang Bus Station THB 350, however when we arrived at Trang town the driver just drop us at Train Station and refuse to sent us to Bus Station as per ticket agreement. The driver just left us although I argue with him. We forced to take tuk tuk cost THB 80 and we feel cheated by the hotel.

Reviewed March 21, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Nils from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016

Great place to relax”

Charlie beach is absolutely gorgeous. Fine white sand, clear water etc. The resort has clearly aged a bit over time. The bungalows are very small but clean and everything inside worked. However the value for money is not too great considering the comfort you get. The "resort lifestyle" was a little bit too pronounced, lots of families.

Reviewed March 09, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Scott from United States
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016

Beautiful beachfront, not so comfy”

Beach view, near Emerald Cave, good breakfast

The Ko Mook Charlie, boasts delicious food, friendly staff, and beautiful views. Unfortunately, that is where my praise ends. The free wifi,never worked while I was there, and the room was very small and uncomfortable. We had a fan room on the beach. Unfortunately that also meant no water heater for the shower. The small double bed took up much of the room, that had very little furniture. I found the bed uncomfortable. We also had a small frog who came to visit us in the shower. That was fun, except for his habit of pooping on the bathroom floor. Easy enough to clean up with the shower sprayer.

Reviewed February 13, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Anna from Denmark
Solo traveler
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016

Excellent”

Stayed in the bamboo bungalow. And despite it not having the plastered walls on the pictures and could need some fixing here and there, I truly enjoyed it. The fan wasn't even needed at night but was indispensable at other times. Beach is fantastic. Only downside is the poor wifi, but it seemed like they were building something that could be an antenna, so who knows...

Reviewed January 25, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Lorraine from Australia
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

bungalow by the beach”

near beach, rustic, quaint

We enjoyed our stay at the resort in the fan bungalows. Considering your accommodation options, this is the best accommodation on this side of the island right next to the beach. Other accommodation were behind in dense vegetation. The resort had a very good buffet breakfast. If you want to get away from work then the resort had poor wifi which was nonexistent aka never worked while we were there. Our rooms were cleaned everyday. Bring your mosquito repellent or place the fan on you at full setting to ward off the mosquitoes. The resort is well located for a quick visit to Ko Kradan which also had beautiful idyllic beaches. The resort had their own minimart and restaurant with grilled and made to order food at lunch and night time. Very relaxing stay.

Reviewed January 03, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Avon from New Zealand
Couple
Superior Fan
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015

Located on the best beach, clean rooms, good staff”

Charlie's has the best beach on the island, clean rooms and good value for money

We loved our stay at Charlie's it's located on the best beach of the island and rooms were well serviced. We didn't eat here to keep our costs down there are a couple of other places just out the gate from Charlie's with great food and a nice thai family experience. We loved the fact that we could hire a kayak and go exploring to emerald cave however the hire was quite expensive. You can get it for cheaper at other places near by. However we would recommend Charlie's and stay there again!

Reviewed October 30, 2015
5.3
Emlyn from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015

Poor staff attitude. Rip off tour/transfer prices”

Pretty resort. Lovely Beach. Ok breakfast

To eat...a MUST is a short walk to The Hilltop restaurant, run by very charming family. Food was to die for! DO NOT purchase any day tours/boat transfers from here. You will be ripped off! There's a lovely lady next door who will offer far better rates, for exactly the same booking! (Small resort, just to the right, once on the beach from this resort). Did not like the abundance of dogs around the dining area every time. Staff laughed at the screams of some guests, during breakfast one morning. Overall, a lovely beach, nice resort, but staff could do with a lot of training on dealing with customers.

Reviewed April 29, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Michele from Italy
Family with young children
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 7 nights in February 2015

amazing plays”

locations, beautiful see, nice swimming pool

My stay in charlies beach resort was amazing, i wanna complaint about the staff some the are nice but 90% of them are so rude no smile at all ( this land is smile land) so improve please...for the next year i will definitely come back!!!

Reviewed February 22, 2015
6.0
claude from France
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

not good value for the money”

location and staff

The location (best side of the island) and the staff are very nice. But a bambou room 110 euros (50 on Agoda Website), it's overprices : no TV, no cold water, no A/C (only fan for this price) And the worst : no bath towel, they give an half of bed sheet!!! I've never seen that... For the same accommodations, I have never pay more than 35euros (1000 bath) on the others islands, wich are more beautiful (ko lanta, ko lipe, ko, ko Adang, Ko Kradan, Ko Ngai....).

Reviewed January 29, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Isabella from Denmark
Family with young children
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 7 nights in January 2015

Perfect Island to relax and do nothing”

Location, location, location. Koh Mook is lovely and quiet. The Beach is idyllic and Charlies is right on the Beach. Great breakfast buffet - large variety.

We stayed in a basic bamboo hut w/fan with our 1-year old son. It was basic and tiny, but once we got settled in, we loved it. Only wifi in the lobby, but that makes it easier to really disconnect. No playground or kids activities, but who needs it when you have the entire beach as your sand pit, the sea and pool to swim in and monkeys Nearby. Several other places to eat nearby and it is possible to go the village - tuk tuk 50 baht pr person. We Can highly recommend Charlies and Koh Mook.

Reviewed January 14, 2015
5.7
Justin from Canada
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

Nice beach and restaurant.”

The location, breakfast buffet

The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a lot of staff, so it seemed like a lot of them were just standing around. The price for the room we thought was overpriced. It was essentially a shed with a fan and a bathroom attached off the back. There were no screens on the windows and large gaps between the walls and roof, therefore lots a mosquitos. We are used to roughing it, camping, pack backing, so we are not used to all inclusive resorts. If the price was more appropriate for the small room it may have gotten a better rating. The location of the shed was not very nice either. You looked at the back side (the bathroom) of the cabin in front of you and behind us was the staff quarters that got up at 6AM and starting talking loud and hammering and sorting glass bottles.

Reviewed January 12, 2015
5.3
Hans from United States
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014

Good location but poor facilities during low seaso”

Quiet beach

Unfortunately, Koh Mook Charlie Beach Resort did not live up to my expectations. We went in early May, and already many of the facilities were closed for "low season". Beachside massage, beachside bar, poolside bar, beachside restaurant were all closed. The room was reasonably clean, however there were significant issues at the restaurant where we were constantly surrounded by flies. The breakfast buffet was also constantly attacked by flies. The pool could use some cleaning as the water was quite cloudy. What I did like about the resort was the location next to Emerald Cave made it very easy to take a boat expedition there, and to nearby islands. Well worth it to visit the Emerald Cave and recommend anyone going to visit.

Reviewed May 19, 2014
2.7
Stephanie from United States
Group
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

absolutely awful. dishonest and bad”

breakfast nothing nothing

first off, the advertised wifi does not work whatsoever. i was on a workaway holiday, where i needed to access emails. could not. after discussing with the front desk, as internet access was a necessity, i agreed to check out (before 11am the checkout time) with one day left on my booking and was told to contact agoda about refund. food at the restaurant was awful, staff rude slow and dishonest. after a year and a half living in thailand - there are much better places!

Reviewed May 14, 2014
6.0
Eduard from United States
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014

A lot of potential with some simple fixes”

The location next to the beach is fabulous, the overall layout of the resort is nice

This resort is a number of bungalows right on the beach. The beach (farang beach) is really nice, and this resort has the best location for this particular beach. The bungalows are quaint and nice, except for what I note below. I would've rated the resort about 4 stars overall, except for three things that really bring the rating down to the 2-3 star level: 1. The flies at the restaurant. They were overwhelming to the point where you didn't want to eat your food or even be there. Yes, it is open air, but lots of restaurants in Thailand are open air and don't have the severity of this problem. The staff shows ZERO concern for this. They don't cover the food well, or try at all to abate the number of flies. 2. Mosquitos in the bungalows. The bungalows are overall quite nice, except for a major design flaw. There are major openings to the outside that allow in whatever bugs from the outside. These are large gaps in the floor (you can see the ground below) and openings at the A line of the roof. You are never going to be able to make a bungalow bug proof, but with a little effort they could at least make the obvious openings closed. Instead you have to sleep with a mosquito net, which is hot and mostly ineffective if you are not perfectly careful. 3. Very poor wifi (no cell phone 3g signal either). I understand it is on an island, but the other side of the island has a very strong signal. That side is closer to the shore, so perhaps there just isn't the infrastructure on the side with this resort. I need the Internet to check in for work, and I had to go across to the other side of the island often to get a good signal. The first two items are easy to fix and are definitely the resort's fault. The last item may not be the fault of the resort.

Reviewed April 20, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Per from Denmark
Family with teens
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013

calm and peacefull”

friendly, helpfull in coordination of trips out of the hotel, calmfull

We had some very nice days at Koh Mook. We enjoyed the pool, the beach, the lunch bar at the beach and the nice restaurant sitting with your feet in the sand. Emerald cave was a fasinating nature adventure.

Reviewed January 12, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Sean from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013

Comfortable, inexpensive, & great location”

Location, dinner, & pool

My wife and I had a great time at CHarlie Beach Resort. Excellent dinner right on the beach, wonderful location to see the sunset, and only a 30 minute kayak from Emerald Cave...perfect location at the right price. Would reccommend this place to any couples or backpackers.

Reviewed January 02, 2014
7.7
Very good
Yangkai from China
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013

Beach resort but the beach was poor”

Location garden view and privacy

Going to koh mook is not really a good idea, all the facilities were poor and beaches were not really nice. The resort has its own beach but quite poor , anyway we had a lot of fun at the pool since there were six of us:-)

Reviewed August 12, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Beatrice from Sweden
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013

Beautiful place!”

Location, beach & great swimming pool!

We stayed in the fan beach hut, which was comfortable and had an ocean view! Not too hot at all with the breeze and fan. The breakfast buffet was better than in a lot of other Thai resorts, it was also much more relaxing - been to some places where at breakfast time people go a bit nuts if there's a buffet. There was bacon, beans, toast, egg & omelette. And some curries, rice and noodles. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, doghnuts and more. The location is amazing, the beach is great and so is the pool, which has a bar you can sit in the pool and have a drink. Another tip if you need to go to Krabi, just book the transfer to Trang bus station (can be done in hotel) and grab a minibus from there (they will drop you right at the station). Right up the road, 5-10 minutes is Hilltop restaurant, a must! And also the beach bar to the right (facing the sea), Koh Muk is amazing and if we go back we will stay in Charlie's again!

Reviewed April 25, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Stephanie from Canada
Group
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013

The best beach location on Koh Mook”

Location, Swimming pool, decent prices

We arrived by ferry and were happy that our resort was a few steps away, Charlie Beach has the best location on the beach, a large restaurant with a good variety of Thai/Western dishes at Island prices but not too expensive. There is a great pool, a travel desk that we easily booked excursions and ferry tickets with. There are cheaper places, but this is the best place. Chill out Divers had a better beach bar.

Reviewed April 15, 2013
8.7
Excellent
ishbel from United States
Solo traveler
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013

Best Beach and Clean Room”

Location

I loved Koh Mook, away from the hustle and bustle of cities and the party vibe of other islands. It was very peaceful here. The island is small and there are no cars. It is a bit expensive to eat and for accomodations. Remember to bring plenty of cash! No ATM on the island. Charlie Beach is a bit of an upper class crowd - many sail boats anchor off the beach and eat here. I was a solo backpacker and while I didn't interact much with other visitors I really enjoyed my time. Comfortable bed in a clean bungalow right on the beach.

Reviewed March 08, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Rodney from Australia
Solo traveler
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

island paradise”

back to basics in the fan chalet. gorgeous scenery and serenity

after having spent the previous 8 days in bangkok and phuket charlies beach resort came as the perfect get away. peaceful and relaxing are the best way to describe this resort. absolutely beautiful private beach, there are sightseeing trips you can do from the island if you want or you can just kick back and relax. no huge nightlife but we still enjoyed our time immensely and cant wait to get back there.

Reviewed February 24, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Kwanjai from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2013

Nice and clean with beautiful beach infront”

The room was clean and big bath room ( no bath tub ) water is good 24 hr power supply

I was in the a Deluxe Air con cottage in second a row from the lovely beach even though I also had sea view from my windows . There s absolutely perfect for me only one thing I could say for negative just the food it was under seasoning , never mind beacuse the seafood was fresh and reasonable price.

Reviewed February 14, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Catherine from South Korea
Solo traveler
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

Awesome location, nice place”

Beautiful beach front, clean, comfortable bungalows, nice staff. There is nothing that is unlikeable about this place.

Reviewed February 24, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
phubordee from Thailand
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

The position closed beach, ”

In my opinion,this hotel it not necessary for booking front beach because you can walk aorund 2-5min. Go to the beach. And the front beach rooms it have a type same the other room

Reviewed February 27, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Lisa
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

WE LOVED THIS PLACE..BEST BEACH AND SUNSET ”

We stayed in a bamboo hut which had direct views to sea. The beach was lovely and quiet most of the time..fabulous sunsets too. Food was good..bbq on the Beach was really nice

Reviewed December 15, 2016
8.0
Excellent
KIM from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

Good in all aspect”

-clean room -friendly staff -nice private beach -good food -near to attraction

Reviewed December 05, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Lubomir from Czech Republic
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015

Verry good hotel”

Nice place and beach
Reviewed March 28, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Mingkwan from Thailand
Family with teens
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014

Location”

Service location facilities

Impression

Reviewed December 13, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Annika from Sweden
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014

very very good. looks like a postcard. nice pool. ”

the sea pool and the room

Perfect balcony. Coffee and fridge on the room. Cleaning and new towels every day.

Reviewed February 12, 2014
7.6
Very good
Clay from China
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 12 nights in February 2018

Very good”

Resort wonderfully quiet and peaceful--not jet skis and other loud motor type entertainments. Bungalows were okay on second row, first row would be better with beach view. Transport to and from Trang Airport by private van to boat to island to resort for 2300 baht one way per couple was worth it. Food was okay--best restaurant is Kahlang Resort up the path from Charlie on the left, about 5 minute walk. Wifi didn't work for hours at a time for our 12 days there, so if you're on a working holiday as I was, don't assume "wifi" means access. Still, a peaceful and beautiful beach with nice staff.

Reviewed February 25, 2018
4.0
Darren from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

Operating illegally ”

After my first night all guests in the bamboo bungalows were told we had too leave. From what I could make out, the locals were running the Charlie beach resort with park rangers knowing. The pool was green water stagnant.... part of the roof to the RESTAURANT ( if you could call it that ) was collapsed. I was moved from my BEACH FRONT BUNGALOW too a bungalow that was in the middle of the island, that was FLORESCENT GREEN..... and the water pump would bang lousy non stop Day and night.... I'm wanting a full refund for my stay!

Reviewed January 30, 2018
4.4
Heidi from Denmark
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018

Great location, worst hotel ”

The view was amazing. But it was also the only good thing. The personale was grumpy. The room filled with mosqitos. And the breakfast boring. The worst thing is the hotel is illegal! While we where there the hotel closed down for two days, so all guests had to leave for other hotels. This because the government came to check if the hotel was closed as it should. The worst hotel ever! Never book this hotel!

Reviewed January 27, 2018
7.6
Very good
Toke from Germany
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017

Best Place on the Island ”

A very nice Beachfront resort. Beach is rather long and clean, with good swimming. The staff is very nice and helpful, the little bungalows not luxurious, but clean and good. The only downside really is the food, which ranges between bad and plain awful.

Reviewed January 14, 2017
7.6
Very good
Jette from Luxembourg
Solo traveler
Deluxe Beach Front
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016

Perfect beach and location”

Ok breakfast. Good Cottages with wifi, fridge and a Nice porch. Absolutely best location on the Island. Considerable better than Sivalai where the beach is eroding and all the garbage is floating from the nearby local village

Reviewed November 27, 2016
6.4
Good
Tanja from Finland
Solo traveler
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 5 nights in October 2016

Nice beach and staff”

Really nice hotel by the beach. I stayed in low season so was the only customer for few nights. Because of the low season no massage or other extra on the resort. Really nice staff and good food. Beach is quite windy on low season.

Reviewed October 11, 2016
6.0
R from Netherlands
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016

OK”

Good location at beach. View from bungalow to sea. Good breakfast. Staff at reception is ok, but other staff not always ok. Open bungalows, Gecko in bathroom. All paths on the resort are of soft dirty sand. Taxi to other side of island costs 50 bath pp.

Reviewed May 02, 2016
4.8
Naiyana from Sweden
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016

Disappointing, not worth the money!”

Stayed for three nights and had low season service or standard if you prefer.. For the same cost as for high season! We had expected more for the 3000 Bht/ night and they didn't even had a massage place open or a simple mango shake!!

Reviewed April 30, 2016
4.8
Naiyana from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016

Disappointing and not worth the money..”

We arrived day after Sonkran and we're looking forward to some nice and relaxing time. The place/location was perfect and the bungalows was nice and clean..but not worth the money at all if u sum up all the disapointments that was coming along the way.. We had to pay high season rates when service and facilities was at low season standards. No massage available..the restaurant and bar was out of stuff..might be small but very important for travelers to have that information before hand so you don't get disapointed while staying. We couldn't get any mango or coconuts because they said it was low season??!..we just came from Koh Lanta and it was no problem to find there.. Also in the restaurant while dining they had two dogs hanging around and begging for food..would been ok if only they were clean and healthy but these dogs was in such a bad condition that u didn't even wanna touch them!

Reviewed April 30, 2016
6.7
Good
Lars from Sweden
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in December 2015

Once perhaps good”

Location is good, nice Beach, restaurang food ok.

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The beach at the hotel is nice and if you don't like the beach the hotel has a pool that is ok. The hotel was perhaps good once but there is a trend to not fix broken things. The same situation goes for the beach. Beer bottles and other litter is not taken care of. The personal don't care even if you inform them about a problem. The AC in my bungalow was very noisy and difficult to control but was working. Bathroom was very good. The hotel is ok but definitely not value for money.

Reviewed December 14, 2015
7.7
Very good
Yotsawan from Thailand
Group
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

Great value for money”

Location, price, helpful staff

Perfect location for watching the sunset and very very close to the emerald cave. The staff was friendly and helpful but the bamboo chalet rooms we stayed at were quite small for 2 people (especially if you brought a lot of bags) but overall we had a great time.

Reviewed November 27, 2015
7.0
Very good
Mayra from United States
Family with teens
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015

Vacation Mom”

Beach, awesome sunset, easy access to other islands

Beach is beautiful but you must deal with stray dogs from the area. Staff does nothing to keep them away even when they are disturbing the guests. Stayed in cheapest bungalow which was okay for its value but you must not leave any food around - rats get in easily.

Reviewed November 18, 2015
3.3
Jia from China
Solo traveler
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

The house is not good”

When u go to the room nobody will help u with your luggage, and there's sand road u have to pick up your heavy luggage by yourself. The food there is cheap but less. The room is dirty and small, and u don't have quilt which may make u feel cold at night.

Reviewed September 13, 2015
5.0
Manda from United States
Couple
Deluxe Beach Front
Stayed 7 nights in July 2015

Good enough”

location beach view

Bungalows outdated but functional. Beach and view were beautiful, but a lot of garbage on the beach. Rainy season with high waves, but during low tide, the least they could do was pick up the glass and sharp plastics on the beach. Saw people picking up leaves from the trees, but not the garbage. Food overpriced compared to restaurants next door without adequate substance. Expected, but still surprising, during low season how much was not available at the resort. They need to at least have some booze available to pass the time by, only Chang beer available but expensive. Overall, if the price is right, might be worth it because the beach is extraordinary.

Reviewed July 21, 2015
5.0
Pin from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe Beach Front
Stayed 1 night in May 2015

No peace and quiet at this resort”

hard to say, none is probably the best to describe it

We checked into our 2 bungalows, for both we paid premium price as it was supposed to be beach front. Well, it wasn't, it was reception and restaurant view, and right beside the kitchen with all its banging of pots, pans, shouting etc. outrageous ! Then in the evening -and until well after 10pm when I went there- an open air karaoke was ongoing in the restaurant. I told them we had been travelling since 5 a.m. and what time it would finish. The receptionist just shrugged her shoulders. When I looked inside the restaurant, there was a karaoke maniac screaming off-key, and only about 4 others. If you stay in a typical Thai affair like this, this is what you get. Next morning breakfasdt buffet was ravaged by the group, and we were told that for any egg dishes to wait for about an hours. We moved the same day to Sivalai Resort and stayed for another 2 nights, nice, quiet, polite, great service, great location, great beach, lots of little restaurants.

Reviewed May 07, 2015
6.7
Good
Simon from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 7 nights in March 2015

Mixed feelings”

Location, room and beach

Breakfast area a nightmare. In and out as quickly as possible. Dogs running between feet, flies all over uncovered food, and smokers not segregated . Also being charged for deck chairs on the beach seemed unreasonable. Wi Fi reception poor.....non existent....had to go to other side of the island. The only reason for returning is the lovely walk across the island and the delicious restaurants out the back of the hotel.

Reviewed March 21, 2015
6.7
Good
Kiia from Finland
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

Nice bungalows at the beach”

Great location at the beach and cleanliness

Charlie Beach Resort's bungalows are quite expensive compared to other nearby bungalows probably because of its beach front location. The wifi wasn't working at all. Food and the breakfast at Charlie's weren't that good either. An ok 3* stay, but we'll go further for cheaper and nicer ones next time.

Reviewed January 19, 2015
6.3
Good
Richard from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014

Perfect location but in need of TLC”

Beach location ; island itself; comfortable bedroom

Brilliant beach. Brilliant location. Resort in need of some basic investment as appears tired and in need of some attention. Swimming pool nice but swim up barstool completely broken with staff uninterested. No visible sign of management with staff dawdling about and paying little or no attention to guests. Beach bar staff extremely rude when drink order charge differed to advertised prices. Asked for local spirit and apparently given branded one and accused of 'should know the difference' when in fact they'd run out at that bar (it was available at the other bars). Signage around resort broken and information posters so faded couldn't read them apart from A Valentine's meal. Last day there staff appeared to have been given a pep talk as different urgency and jobs around resort being done. Such a shame as this is a beautiful island (just walk up the road to Hilltop restaurant to see how customer service really wirks) and this resort has the best location.

Reviewed December 04, 2014
4.3
Sam from United Kingdom
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014

Not value for money, but great location ”

Beach, peaceful, swimming pool

Charlie Beach is beautiful and it is easy to book day trips to other islands from this resort. The hotel's prices for trip, however, are too high and it would be better to buy your tickets from other places on the beach. Our time at the resort was relaxing, but we felt it wasn't value for money because the room was dingy and the restaurant food was expensive and plain. There was no fresh fish nor crab and the beer was far too expensive. Other restaurants on the beach were better, but not much better. Swimming pool was good.

Reviewed October 16, 2014
4.0
Henri from France
Couple
Deluxe Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

Very disappointed by the maintenance of the hotel.”

Good location. Just on the beach, nature environment but poor maintenance.

The whole island is dirty, no recircle system, trashes every where, no infrastructure done by local authorities, no decend shops, no good restaurant, every place try to ask expensive price from the tourist. Only two tourist hotels but over priced with poor amentities and simple structures bungalows with no safty regulation in the permises and poor service. Very disappointing.

Reviewed April 06, 2014
6.3
Good
Michael from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2014

Standard Beach Resort Hotel at a Great Location”

Beach, equipment hire(canoe, snorkeling etc.) Lots of boat tours

It was what was expected based on reading the reviews. The hotel like's to charge for everything, examples are additional towels (the swimming pool towels run out early before 10 am), pay for deck chairs on the beach. The snorkeling at the beach was not very good as all the coral is dead or dying. However, the Chill Out Divers set up next door looked really good, but we had young kids so another time!. The Hill Stop Restaurant is so popular that the food service is so slow, it took over 50 mins to get served and then one dish at a time, the quality of food was great but service louzy.

Reviewed February 24, 2014
7.7
Very good
Thomas from Sweden
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014

Very nice beach and hotel”

The beach, the food and the coziness.

Our stay was very good, the cheapest bungalows facing the beach was very simple and small, we had to put on clothes during the night. It was nevertheless a nice experience. The restaurant was very good with international food. Good personnel.

Reviewed February 15, 2014
7.0
Very good
Ilpo from Finland
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014

Sunbathing and kayaking”

Breakfast, beach and peace

We only stayed few nights, bungalow was nice, but really small. Blanket was not warm enough it was cold at night. There was a lot of mosquitos, remember to bring repellant. Island is small and quiet with few bars and restaurants. You can rent a kayak, or go to trips around the island or to the nearby islands.

Reviewed February 11, 2014
5.0
Kent from Norway
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014

Lovely nature, good beach, poor service, expensive”

Beach, Location

Poor internet (Even 2 meters from reception), no charm, several people were food posioned (we from hilltop restaurant), received little help and service from staff during this. Better and more affordable accomodation on the beach

Reviewed January 29, 2014
6.3
Good
Tobias from Sweden
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014

Nice hotel right on the beach”

Close to the beach, great island, nice rooms

Overall the hotel is very nice with a calm and great location right on the beach. However the staff at this hotel is very rude and not very friendly (We don't normally complain about this, but this was something extra...) The internet they claim to have is non existent, it doesn't work 99% of the time o don't expect it to do. Its very bad that one cannot order food at the hotel after 9.30 PM, everything at the hotel closes at 10 PM and by then you don't have anything to do since the island is not very habited.

Reviewed January 27, 2014
6.7
Good
Lenka from Czech Republic
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014

perfect bamboo bungalows”

nice surrounding, quiet place, good swimming pool

We stayed at bamboo bungallow for 3nights,and it was perfect. Nice bungalows in nice garden. no bugs or spider at all. good bathroom but only cold water. good breakfast in the morning. only thing that the bamboo was little bit small, no space for our luggage, but it was only one negative thing.

Reviewed January 20, 2014
7.0
Very good
Tobias from Sweden
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in January 2014

Really nice location right on the beach”

Fresh and clean bungalow, Beautiful beach, Great calm island

Overall the hotel is very nice with a calm and great location right on the beach. However the staff at this hotel is very rude and not very friendly (We don't normally complain about this, but this was something extra...) The internet they claim to have is non existent, it doesn't work 99% of the time o don't expect it to do. Its very bad that one cannot order food at the hotel after 9.30 PM, everything at the hotel closes at 10 PM and by then you don't have anything to do since the island is not very habited.

Reviewed January 17, 2014
7.3
Very good
Fredrik from Sweden
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013

Good hotel although a bit run down bungalows,Beach”

Beach, good food, quite

Relaxing, quite place. Travelled with 5 and 7 year olds. Spent three days at the pool but the hotel is right on the beach and with christmas a few days awat the beach was more or less empty. Looking for quite place go here.

Reviewed December 25, 2013
5.0
Duncan from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 1 night in December 2013

great location beautiful beach - but overpriced”

location by the beach and nice spacious design of gardens

on this beautiful beach, this is the place to stay and its location can't be beaten. but the tiny chalets have poor facilities and are more like backpacker huts, not worth the cost at all. they are clean and well maintained but with no wireless in the rooms, no bedside tables, bedside lights, just living on the floor, should be paying much more like this. but the worst thing in my opinion was the attitude of some of the staff - seem to have lost the lovely thai-smile culture and not willing to be flexible, friendly or do anything that doesn't get those baht out of your pocket. my advice - use this beach but stay elsewhere,several similar resorts near by

Reviewed December 18, 2013
7.3
Very good
Elin from Sweden
Couple
Bamboo Chalet Fan
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013

Off season really quite which was perfect. ”

Beach beach beach

Nice and quite. Lovely sandy beach safe for swimming and with excellent waves. Fantastic sunsets. Bungalows small but right on the beach. Beds have mosquito nets which are well needed. Staff friendly. Food not bad and included free breakfast

Reviewed August 12, 2013