Book Now: Koh Tao Cabana Hotel

Excellent
From 2034 reviewsSee what guests said
8.4
/
10
Recommended by 88% of guests

Reviews of Koh Tao Cabana Hotel Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (2034)Booking.com Reviews (199)
8.4
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.5
Facilities8.1
Location8.8
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.5
Value for money8.0
All languages
All guests (2034)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 1859 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Manuel
Solo traveler
Cottage Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Amazing location and incredible views”

When I was shown to my cottage I was blown away by the setting in the views ahead. Really amazing. Great hotel for the money. I’m glad I spent the extra few dollars a night to get an ocean view. Well worth it. Pros: location, setting, tranquility, charming bungalow, fairly attentive staff. Cons: although I love my cottage in the fuse I had, it was more than a five minute walk uphill and heat and humidity to get to it so prepare for that. I only ate in the restaurant for breakfast, which was mediocre at best.

Reviewed May 22, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Jonathan from United States
Couple
Sunset Cottage with Breakfast
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Absolutely beautiful hotel with villas that sit right on the edge of the water!”

Pros: The villas were amazing, great location on Sairee beach, staff was friendly, and the tropical feel of the place felt one with nature. Cons: shower and toilet were more situated outside so going to the bathroom at night could get a little dicey with whatever creepy crawly might find it’s way in there (never saw anything really though) and depending what villa you asked for might depend on how long and high you have to hike to get there or leave from there.

Reviewed March 04, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Nora from Netherlands
Couple
Sunset Cottage with Breakfast
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Everything was great, exept from the noise....”

This resort is perfect. Ok, you pay a lot of money for it, but everything that is in their control, they do right. The room was stunning. View breathtaking. Outside bathroom even a bit over the top. But..... The noise from the beach was really loud. It seriously disrupted our sleep. Again, nothing the resort can do about that, but since you are paying a lot of money to stay here, I do wanted to share this review. The only reason I would not recommend this resort is because of the noise disturbance. Ps - and yes, there are a lot of mosquitos. But nothing a good repellent won’t fix.

Reviewed February 14, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Nicolas from United States
Couple
Deluxe Cottage Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Paradise: Achieved”

When I think of paradise and staying somewhere that is quite memorable, I think of Koh Tao Cabana Hotel.

Reviewed April 25, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Kornkanok from Thailand
Couple
Cottage Honeymoon Villa with Pool
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Unexpectedly Amazing ”

Quite relaxing, value of money and up to standard. Although not that clean 100%, room is simply spacious pleasant comfy size island style stay with clean-line decor. Breakfast is acceptable, a bit disgusting torn and humid cushion seats, hope hotel change them soon. Anyway will come back again.

Reviewed August 25, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
t from Malaysia
Couple
Cottage Honeymoon Villa with Pool
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

Private and peaceful resort ”

We stayed at Honeymoon Cottage. We requested for the perfect seaview and we got it. The view from the bed just WOW. Pool is actually larger than photo, depths of pool estimated 1.5m. Pool was clean & warm. Cottage overall in good condition. dim at night around dressing area. May be to add on few lightings around the cottage, pool area. Private resort, peaceful, quiet. Friendly staff, very attentive, nice. We had lunch and dinner at the restaurant. Food was good. Their mojito is the best mojito i had by far. Breakfast was good. Hotel is surrounded by greens so expect mosquitos by evening. Hotel do provide mosq. repellent spray but recommended to bring cream/spray of your own. Love to come back.

Reviewed July 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jodie from United Kingdom
Couple
Cottage Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

3 night stay in cottage ocean view ”

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my partner in the cottage ocean view room, it said partial view when i booked but literally could see the ocean from every window fantastic! I cant fault this hotel at all, the staff are incredible friendly always wear a smile on their face and cant do enough for you :) Our room was superb, i felt like i was in the ‘real’ thailand. It was very romantic and everything we wanted. The facilities were brilliant and plenty of beach bars along sairee beach Lotus bar is a must , the fire dancers are amazing there The fizz bar is also great and The mexican/thai restaurant next door but one to that was also great! We had a great time in koh tao and if/when we come back we will definitely be staying at Hotel Cabana resort !

Reviewed January 13, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Sofie from Sweden
Family with young children
Deluxe Cottage Ocean View
Stayed 4 nights in January 2019

Exceptional”

We stayed in a ocean view deluxe cottage which was absolutely great place to stay. Nice and clean room with a great view over the ocean. Personal were very friendly and service minded all the time. Great breakfast and dinner place. I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend this resort. Perfect beach for small kids (ours were 3 and 5).

Reviewed January 12, 2019
6.4
Good
Anthony from Thailand
Family with teens
Cottage Treetop
Stayed 5 nights in January 2019

Cabana”

2 good points...very good location and restaurant. The staff in the restaurant were first class. Now the bad....room very small with insufficient wardrobe and plug points; we had a power outage; WiFi terrible, I had 3 different passwords in 3 days; the hand basin had only cold water; doors very difficult to open and close. we arrived 2 days late due to tropical storms and tried to get satisfactory compensation to no avail.

Reviewed January 10, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Viktoria from Germany
Family with young children
Whitesand TreeTop
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

perfect hotel to relax and enjoy”

this hotel is amzingly beautiful, clean, the terrain is like a magical garden and the villas are breathtaking. we were in love with everything here- the perfect waterfall pool, the fantastic restaurant and breakfast buffett, the super kind staff, the beach perfect for snorkelling, the proximity to sairee center where tons of shops, restaurants, bars etc can be found. Honestly one of the greatest Hotels weve been at so far in thailand. were travelling with a baby and were so sad when the vacation was over and we had to leave. will definitely come back. Also, the hotel spa offers an INCREDIBLE massage. very expensive for thailand but truly much better than at other massage-places. thanks and hopefully see you soon cabana hotel!

Reviewed May 03, 2018

Thank you very much for staying with us and many thanks for your nice review about the hotel. We really happy to know you have a nice experience during your stay, we always work hard to make the perfect holiday for the guests. We appreciate your feedback and looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Responded May 09, 2018
Koh Tao Cabana Hotel
8.0
Excellent
Hitomi from Thailand
Couple
Cottage Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018

only notice about music noise”

Very good location! Pls take care that some cottages need to wake up and if your legs some trouble, it would be better to cotact this hotel at first. Then,'at the siree beach,some restaurants make noisy. Probabuly 7pm to 12pm, then if you neec worry about the sound, it would be better to bring your earpods or use the hotel's one. We could really enjoyed this hotel even though such as matter.

Reviewed April 17, 2018

Thank you very much for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again for your next trip to Koh Tao.

Responded April 18, 2018
Koh Tao Cabana Hotel
9.6
Exceptional
Jordan from United Kingdom
Couple
Cottage Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018

The perfect resort getaway! ”

We arrived at the resort during high season but were still able to take advantage of all the facilities on offer. A great pool, beautiful beachfront loungers and crystal clear waters! Had a resident water spider in our shower but this didn’t really bother us much. An impeccable resort. We will be back!

Reviewed January 07, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Patrick from United States
Couple
White Sand Sala
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017

Everything was impeccable”

Although we planned diving courses, it had rained every day so we stayed in the resort more than planned, but the staff was amazing. Facilities were excellent. The food was incredible - the free breakfast option is the best I've ever had at a hotel/resort, so definitely choose that. The location was perfect - it's at the north end of Sairee Beach and quite secluded, private and secure, but still just a 10 minute walk along the beach to the town area. We loved this place so much that when we come back for diving again (and hopefully with better weather), we're definitely staying with Koh Tao Cabana.

Reviewed January 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
katie from United States
Couple
Cottage Treetop
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017

Amazing hotel and staff”

Wow, this hotel blew me away. Amazing bungalows each with nice a/c, great shower, and amenities. The pool was five stars. the location was perfect. We got to enjoy the beach a few steps away from our room. The hotel restaurant was fabulous with free buffet breakfast. All the staff treaded you so kindly and made you feel very welcomed. I would have stayed longer if I could. I definitely recommend this place especially if you like the beach/ jungle style bungalows. You can also walk down the beach to find all the good restaurants and some nightlife.

Reviewed December 14, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Craig from United Kingdom
Couple
Sunset Cottage with Breakfast
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017

One of the most beautiful settings you could stay.”

The bungalow was incredible. The staff were average on the front desk but amazing in the restaurant. The breakfast was also very average and would benefit from basics such as juice and real coffee. It is very close to a small village with shops, dive centres and restaurants. Overall, a memorable stay.

Reviewed October 28, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
marco from Italy
Couple
Deluxe Cottage Ocean View
Stayed 5 nights in December 2016

amazing...”

deluxe cottage with sea view and access from the cliff to the sea....just perfect.friendly staff, relaxing place....10 mins walking from the bar on the beach....but noise in the night time due to the parties on the beach. i would recommend it anyway

Reviewed January 03, 2017
9.7
Exceptional
Sasikate from Thailand
Couple
Cottage Treetop
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016

Great snorkeling right in front of the hotel !”

Snorkeling Spot , Relaxing place , Great Service

We are really love this place and we will definitely go back again. You can snorkling right in front of the hotel. It is great for snorkling. On the other hand , you guys should watch out you step if the tide is low (watch out sea urchin). The service here is really great ( hotel & restaurant ). We stayed at Cottage Treetop (No.21), yeah we had to walk up the hill every day but not too bad. We could see sea view from our room. Really like it!

Reviewed February 18, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Lizette from Netherlands
Family with teens
Whitesand TreeTop
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015

great location, very friendly staff”

location, terrain/rooms, staff

We had a very nice stay at the Koh Tao Cabanas. The location was perfect for us: not amidst the partying students, but still a short stroll away from the village. All staf we met, from the gardeners to the receptionist and waiters, were extremely friendly. We also liked the design of the cabans and terrain very much: original and well maintained.

Reviewed August 04, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
solene from France
Family with young children
Jig Lae Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014

Lovely stay with the whole family”

Lovely room, beach and stff

We spent a great week at this hotel. Since we were 4 adults and 2 young kids traveling together we booked the two bedroom suite and then, as a treat, the 2 bedroom swimming pool villa which is simply stunning. The staff was very nice. I would not recommend booking the older wooden villas, even if they have a nice view as they looked quite old from the outside but the newer white villas looked great.

Reviewed July 14, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Piyapas from Thailand
Group
White Sand Sala
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013

Cozy hotel which right next to the big ocean”

Hugh space. Close to beach. Friendly staff.

I stayed there for 3 night. The room size is huge and can see the garden and sun. You got to walk up to the mountain much. And there's a big size of "Took kae" in every room, be prepare! However the hotel is nice and the beach area is so quiet. The restaurant got the best view of sairee beach, which is 360 of ocean. Staff is friendly and nice. I would come back.

Reviewed September 07, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Mei from Malaysia
Couple
Cottage Treetop
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013

Relaxing trip, back to nature.”

Clean Room, Nice view from restaurant & Nice beach

The hotel is located at the end of Sairee beach. Nice beach with great view and there are a lot of beach benches available on the beach. The room that I stayed is at under the cottage tree top and it take approx 5~8 minutes to reach the room by waling distance. The view from the restaurant is marvellous. We took our own sweet time to enjoy our breakfast and in the same time enjoy the great sea view. Breakfast served is good. The swimming pool is dirty and seems like not being maintained well.

Reviewed August 07, 2013
8.0
Excellent
yanjun from China
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in July 2013

a resort designed with heart”

uncivilized design, ocean view, friendly staff

We stay in Cottage ocean view, we were surprised with the surrounding when going to our cottage from lobby. we were even shocked by the amazing ocean view while entering our room. This Resort is the best one if you plan to stay at Sairee Beach, it's closed to Sairee center where you can find bars, retaurants, dive centers and more. With the uncivilized concept, very part of the resort is designed by heart, I think. But there is something need to improved, such as fresh water, the resort only provide 2 small bottle and if you need additional you must pay for it. But the water from tap is not fresh water but desalted sea water,and coffee and tea bag are also charged for money. Be Aware that even if you are away from the crowds you will almost certainly here and feel the bass from the Clubs at the beach every night. So if you want to spend a quiet Family holiday and do not need the bars/clubs/restaurants infrastucture - avoid Sairee Beach!

Reviewed July 23, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Larry from United States
Couple
Cottage Ocean View
Stayed 4 nights in May 2013

Loved it, Hated it.”

Beach, Restaurant, Spa.

If you took this hotel and moved it closer to Sairee Village and improved the internet you would have a real gem here. The hotel is at the end of Sairee Beach, a ten minute walk to the village at low tide and a fifteen walk at high tide. Beach, restaurant and spa great. Pool and internet one step above useless. Great views but a torturous climb to the rooms. Staff is accommodating if not overly friendly. Sairee village very similar to Phi Phi village. Good food, good massage, good diving and snorkeling. Lar

Reviewed June 06, 2013
8.7
Excellent
sunita from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013

Beautiful but quite adventure bathroom ”

Nice room with beautiful beach and awesome pool

We have stayed in beachfront cottage. Very nice room with balcony. Having the outdoor bathroom very beautiful nature wild, but but but... Very adventure too as it has many gecko so it's quite scary sometimes. Bathing with gecko. At night they shown out at the balcony too!!! But all over the hotel was awesome. Might go again to chill at the hotel but not for staying for sure, lol.

Reviewed May 17, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Amit from United States
Couple
White Sand Sala
Stayed 4 nights in April 2013

Great hotel for some people”

large room, nice bed, good beach

Overall my stay was great at this hotel. Breakfast good with a few good choices. Rooms were large and very well appointed. It was also on the quite side of the beach, the north end, away from all the loud parties at night. But close enough that you can walk down there and enjoy the night life. But far enough not to be disturbed. For being at this hotel and in general in this area its best to rent a scooter to get around. The villas can be a far walk from the hotel lobby, with many steps to climb and hills to climb. This hotel would not be good for some one who has walking disabilities, or out of shape. Other than that it has a great beach and quite.

Reviewed April 26, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Ying from China
Family with teens
Whitesand TreeTop
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

evything is so perfect”

service,cleaning

The treetop room is so wonderful,the beach view is gorgeous as well.so good for honeymoon trip,The decoration and the facilities r well-designed. The pick-up bus to the dock is like 10 mins ,very convenient.

Reviewed April 11, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Yee from Malaysia
Couple
Cottage Honeymoon Villa with Pool
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013

Loved our honeymoon room”

The view

Loved our honeymoon room with pool , even though the view is obstructed by trees but it's still beautiful in it's own way .. the view from our honeymoon room is breathtaking . Do use the mosquito repellent they provide in room before going out every time to prevent bitten by mosquito ! there're lot's of bar along sairee beach and it's very happening at night , about 10-15minute walk along the beach from hotel Hotel's breakfast selection is very limited there's less then 6 selection for you to choose in the menu ..

Reviewed March 02, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Tom from United Kingdom
Family with young children
White Sand Sala
Stayed 6 nights in February 2013

Lovely hotel and great rooms...”

love hotel room decorations, lights and restaurant .

Very nice room and clean room, friendly staff, nice foods, very quiet and nice hotel. Although the swimming pool need to be clean properly, need to something with mosquito's problem even in the bedroom, and the sun lounger/bed in the beach need to be replace or fix, plus the noises from the villa constructions next to our villa was very noisy and they started very early in the morning. We enjoyed having sunset drinks and food with family in the restaurant. This hotel are created for honeymoon couples and family with older children, not for younger children...not many activity or toys for them to amused themselves when they are bored playing in the beach. Need selections of children channels and news channels in English. In general, we like the hotel...and would love to go back to this hotel again someday with family.

Reviewed February 22, 2013
8.3
Excellent
dorin from Romania
Couple
Cottage Honeymoon Villa with Pool
Stayed 4 nights in January 2013

wauuuuuu best place to be on earth”

location,quiet

the cottage honeymoon villa is a very nice place to be,you have a very lovely view on the beach and a small swimming pool with jacuzzi.you have to climb a few stairs to get to your villa but it worths!breakfast is good but unfortunatelly you have to pay extra in need you want an expresso or capuchino.staff is nice.

Reviewed January 24, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Gordon from Australia
Couple
Whitesand TreeTop
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012

Great location in a secluded location”

great location, friendly and efficient staff and big clean rooms

An excellent location at the end of Sairee beach which felt secluded but also only 10 mins walk into town. Staff were super friendly, efficient and helpful with any questions or details. Included breakfast was absolutely fantastic - both the food and the view of the beach. We couldn't really fault this hotel at all except for being a little pricey but certainly worth it.

Reviewed September 11, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Andrew from Australia
Couple
Cottage Honeymoon Villa with Pool
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012

Great view and lovely room.”

The private pool.

we stayed 4 nights at this hotel and were very happy with the room. the private pool was great tone able to relax in and the villa had an awesome view looking straight down sairee beach. the beauty of the location is that it's away from the noisy, nightclubs and beachfront bars ( about a 10min walk straight down the beach) to enable a good night's sleep, but close enough to indulge if you wish.

Reviewed July 06, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Chung from Hong Kong
Group
Cottage Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012

Nice Hotel away from noise”

beautiful, nice breakfast and special rooms

Just 15 minutes walk to center of Sairee Beach. Not really very close. But we found its good as it will be very noisy if you stay close to the center. Cause the bar on the beach will have party till very late and the music so loud. From lobby to rooms, have many steps. But the room just like in the jungle. Not very luxury, but natural and beautiful and comfortable. The breakfast is good especially the thai congee.

Reviewed June 19, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Emma from United Kingdom
Family with teens
260 Degree
Stayed 3 nights in February 2012

Great hotel and perfect location”

Plenty of comfy sunbeds, good service, value for money

I have used this hotel before as i live on Samui but i didn't realise how much it has changed in 2 years. It's not what i expected and was very pleasantly surprised. The pool are, just being finished when we were there, no beach area and restaurant. My family were over from Europe and i took a friend. We stayed in the 260 Cottage which had its own pool and amazing sunset every night. Very private too so we weren't overlooked. The small trek up to the cottage was worth it every time. We walked on the beach most of the time rather than taking taxi's when we wanted to go into Sairee. Reception were helpful too on recommending restaurants off the beaten track. The spa treatments and spa rooms are superb, however there was some work going on so the odd bang while having a massage wasn't great. Would definitely recommend this hotel though and will be going back once they have finished all the bits they are doing now.

Reviewed March 05, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Ruud from Netherlands
Couple
Cottage Treetop
Stayed 1 night in October 2011

Very nice environment and excellent rooms”

Next to the beach, but also on a mountain, very nice location

we were positively impressed by this resort. our small house was nicely designed and very private. the food in the restaurant was good, only some of the staff were a bit difficult to understand, no big issue. it's a bit of a walk to the room, but the added privacy compensates for this. we would definitely go here again.

Reviewed November 03, 2011
6.0
Martin
Couple
Sky Villas
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Nice hotel facilities but not the best location and staff not always friendly”

Positive was the room itself, very clean and good standard Also the breakfast buffet was good Negative was the loud noise from beach party until 2 pm and the loud noise of cicades all day and early morning. Personell at the Beach and the restaurant not always friendly and sometimes not professional enough for a hotel in this price category. In addition the breakfast times are not very long and no lunch packages are provided at the same day.

Reviewed March 13, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
gawynvaz from Thailand
Group
260 Degree
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Great and would come back again”

We stay in 260' room for 3 nights. The room is super spacious and the view just breath taking. If you have 4-5 people, book this room and you will never want to leave. I love how the staffs are very helpful. Would definitely come back!!!

Reviewed November 21, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Julie from Netherlands
Couple
Cottage Ocean View
Stayed 7 nights in October 2018

Excellent”

Overall we had a great week in Cabana and we revommend it. Best resort in Sairee. Well located as you feel like you are in the middle of the jungle while the life of the Sairee village (restaurants, bars, activities) are accesible just by walking. Location on beachfront looks stunning, thought the water quality is discussable (plastics probably due to the boats but they clean the beach/water every morning). Villa was very comfortable and clean with lots of amenities. Restaurant has plenty of choices, though breakfast quality could be improved. Also wifi didnt work properly when we were jn our villa.

Reviewed October 27, 2018
7.6
Very good
Judika from Germany
Family with teens
Ma-Kham
Stayed 5 nights in September 2018

great location, beautiful place, but..”

it is a really beautiful place, although it could use some more maintenance, concerning the very wide garden, there is construction work badly hidden on the territory which gives a touch lostness, some staff seems to be more occupied with their mobile telephones than with their duties, however other staff members are very friendly and service oriented, they were nice in the restaurant, but there was a toilet smell in the air, which nobody was really able to eliminate, there was the impression of leaking tubes somwhere that caused this smell, that you don't want to have while eating, thus we could not sit outside, also the staff for the maitresses at the beach was sometimes hard to find, a pitty if you regard the price you pay which ok when the service works....

Reviewed September 11, 2018
5.2
yaari from Israel
Family with teens
Deluxe Cottage Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

Stay away - terrible service - do not know how to deal with malfunctions !!!”

There was a hitch in the hot water, and for 3 hours we solved the problem and had to shower in cold water. The next day again the problem returned! The manager of the hotel stood on the side and was unable to provide a solution, I suggest that he return his mandate! I brought the thing to the attention of agoda site in response to the hotel sent a collection of lies and took no responsibility! The location of the hotel is good, the room is in good condition but as a problem the hotel was unable to solve it! In such cases a guest expects the hotel to help him so, with all the advantages of offering you to stay away from this hotel! I assume that the hotel will respond and say that I am not telling the truth and have been upgraded and given an option to cancel, but when a guest comes to the hotel he expects everything to be all right and if there is a problem that it will be fixed or a solution is found. For me, this hotel is outside the hotels I can recommend!

Reviewed September 05, 2018

Thank you very much for staying with us recently. We appreciate your feedback and your comments are very valued for us to improve our service. Regarding the review, on the next day after arrival, we try to offer free dinner to compensate for the hot water issue on the first night instead of a room upgrade, due to no higher room type for the first night, but the offered was ignored even we ask to accept another kind of compensation. On the second day, we changed the hot water system of the room in order to solve the problem and it worked well after the test. Unfortunately, we were informed that the hot water didn't work as we had promised, therefore, we offered the upgrade to Beach Pool Villa for the rest of stay for compensation.

Show more
Koh Tao Cabana Hotel
4.4
Ekaterina from Thailand
Couple
Cottage Treetop
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Never again”

Very bad customers service. Difficult and far walk to many rooms. 1 of 2 pools didn't work. Beach dirty. Staff smoke around guest in pool area. Breakfast ok. Normally this hotel not bad, rooms are beautiful and good equipment, but all management rude, I think they don't understand for what kind of business they work. We will never comeback, sure.

Reviewed August 28, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Traci from Australia
Couple
Whitesand TreeTop
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

Excellent”

The staff here are amazing. So friendly and professional. I was surprised how large the room was. Excellent facilities and very well appointed Clean and a wonderful comfortable bed. The rooms are well spaced, so you have utmost privacy. It feels like a village rather than a resort The pool is lovely and clean. Restaurant good with views uninterrupted. I really loved my stay here.

Reviewed August 28, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Benvolio from Italy
Couple
Sunset Cottage with Breakfast
Stayed 5 nights in July 2018

I don't get the bad reviews...”

I booked this place based solely on the pictures. We stayed in a "Sunset" room (number 28). It's all the way at the end, so it's a literal 5 minute walk down the path to come and go, but we loved it every time and miss that walk now that we left yesterday...! Private, spacious, outstanding views (I'm told there are even better views from rooms 14, 15, 16, and the "260 degree view" family suite, but we really liked ours), and far fewer bugs than I would have expected being situated in a jungle! We had a couple of spiders (literally 2 in 5 nights) that took shelter from the brief rains scattered throughout the week, but they were no big deal. There are screen doors and windows, so we kept everything "open" during the day and night and had the ceiling fan going at night a couple of times. Otherwise, it was so nice to sleep to the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks below. Other reviews have dinged this place because the wifi is spotty (true, but they fix it quick).

Reviewed July 25, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Marianti from Switzerland
Family with teens
Whitesand TreeTop
Stayed 5 nights in July 2018

Sehr schöner Aufenthalt”

Es war alles sehr schön, die with sand Bungalow waren sehr sauber und schön eingerichtet. Leider war es zum baden im Meer nicht gut. Es war immer Ebbe. Ich denke es liegt an der Jahreszeit....Wir mussten immer an einen andere Strand fahren. Ansonsten das Frühstück war sehr gut und das Personal sehr freundlich und aufmerksam.

Reviewed July 22, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Karen from Thailand
Family with teens
Cottage Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018

Idyllic tarzan huts, tucked away at the far end of Sairee beach”

This is paradise. We loved our ocean view cottages. They are the Tarzan huts of your childhood dreams, with everything made from ingenious uses of drift wood and raw materials (but there is air con and a fridge too )They were a bit of a trek (up stairs) from the restaurant and reception. However this position gave the best views of the whole bay, breezes and privacy. We were with our older teenage children and wanted them to be close to all the bars and action on Sairee. However most people come here to snorkel or dive and unlike some other beaches, Sairee has little to see in the way of fish & coral. We did day trips to the other bays for that. The breakfast was good. Don't expect big American style buffet, although the fresh eggs and bacon are excellent and the wasabi wrap was great . The selection of unusual flower juices (personal favourite - butterfly pea juice) and huge selection of homemade jams were something a bit different . My kids liked the selection of dried fruits.

Reviewed June 13, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Haley from United States
Couple
Cottage Honeymoon Villa with Pool
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018

Honeymoon villa for 4 nights”

My boyfriend and I stayed in the honeymoon villa for 4 nights. It was amazing! The private pool was a lot larger than the pictures made it appear and was really convenient to have. The villa’s air conditioning worked perfectly which was great because it can get hot on the island. The restaurant had a decent breakfast with a lot of options and had really good pizza.

Reviewed May 30, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Joe from Canada
Solo traveler
Cottage Treetop
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018

Very nice but”

Nice rooms Amazing pool and beach Breakfast was very good. Mosquitos because of the jungle Long hike to rooms A little overpriced I think.

Reviewed September 24, 2018
3.6
Hyunchae from Australia
Family with young children
Terra Patio Villa
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

Bad experience ever”

We stayed in the terra patio villa for 2 nights. It was really beautiful and good interior. Room was okay. We choose this resort for the swimming pool because our young child. But the swimming pool was on the maintain even didn’t mention on the agoda. We are really upset and complained. The manager provide us swimming of pool villa(just swimming pool) but it was really dirty seems like nobody use for while. Finally they open just kids swimming pool without cleaning. We couldn’t use main pool with waterfall. Also the worst thing is they have a MOUSE in the bathroom. The bathroom was out side with all cover. It looks like couldn’t come any mosquitoes and MOUSE inside!!! Early in the morning when I went bathroom I found the mouse!!! It made me so scared. I really understand outside(many mosquitoes, geckos, squirrels and else) but it was inside!!!! During the stay I couldn’t go to bathroom without my husband. We complained but they didn’t give us any benefit at all.

Reviewed May 22, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Mauro from Brazil
Couple
Cottage Treetop
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018

Exceptional”

The hotel is amazing. Integrated to nature. Loved the open air toilet and shower. There's a nice hammock with views to the mountain, trees and ocean. Staff is very good. There are lots of stairs to get to the rooms though. Not so bad since the path is nice and beautiful. Walking distance to the main area of the island. 15min through the beach.

Reviewed April 05, 2018

Thank you very much for taking a time to review our hotel and thanks for staying with us recently. We appreciate your feedback. Your comment has encouraged our team to work more hard to maximize the guest satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the next visit to Koh Tao.

Responded April 18, 2018
Koh Tao Cabana Hotel
9.6
Exceptional
philip from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Patio Villa
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018

Exceptional”

The staff were excellent. Very attentive! I would definitely recommend this place we stayed in a bungalow which was amazing. Felt like we was in the middle of nowhere but worth everything at your door step. We had the addition of a lizard in our room. So just be aware, but you have to accept that really in Thailand

Reviewed April 02, 2018

Thank you very much for staying with us recently. We appreciate your feedback. We happy to know that you enjoy our hospitality during your stay and we will share this to all staffs. Looking forward to having you to stay with us again soon in the future trip to Koh Tao.

Responded May 09, 2018
Koh Tao Cabana Hotel
8.8
Excellent
Ben from United Kingdom
Couple
Cottage Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

Oh,so beautiful!”

The staff and location of this hotel make this place a real paradise. Sadly the "music" kind of ruins the peace of the night. But the garden and buildings are quite magical and the restaurant is a great spot for breakfast. The view from bed.... Just amazing 😀

Reviewed March 07, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Ryan from United States
Couple
Cottage Honeymoon Villa with Pool
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018

Lovely place”

We stayed in the cottage honeymoon villa here for two nights. It was breathtaking, it made it hard to leave the room. This resort is very quiet and you don’t see many people here. We had breakfast included and it was phenomenal. Maybe the best breakfast that I’ve ever had. The staff was so so accommodating and kind. The pool area is gorgeous though we didn’t get a chance to enjoy it. We are backpackers and like to party but wanted to really go all out for two nights so we chose this place. My only complaint is the lack of social aspect but that’s what you can expect from a pricy resort.

Reviewed February 07, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
jasmine from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe Patio Villa
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

Perfect escape ”

This is the third time we have stayed, one of the best on the island, great service, friendly staff, private beach. We stayed in a deluxe patio terrace it was stunning only downfall was the rooms can be a bit of a walk up hill with young children so not ideal however my friends managed to get the last family room which was near the front of the resort so great for kids

Reviewed January 08, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Ivanka from United Kingdom
Couple
Whitesand TreeTop
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017

Resort amazing, the restaurant has the slowest service ”

The resort is perfectly located at the end of Sairee beach, so it makes it feel exclusive from the craziness of the rest of the beach. We stayed at a White Sand Tree Top villa that is beautiful and spacious, you can’t fault the standard of the accommodation and the swimming pool. The turn around on laundry was unbelievably fast . The attached restaurant with stunning views is inset in the rocks and has so much potential. Unfortunately the service lets it down massively - orders took for ever to turn up if at all, then cold, so we didn’t even try an evening meal.

Reviewed January 04, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Pamela from Switzerland
Couple
Deluxe Patio Villa
Stayed 9 nights in December 2017

Very nice hotel ”

We were very pleased with our stay. The hotel is very nice and well located far enough from the noisy bars and not too far from many restaurants and supermarkets and its beach is very nice as well. I highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed January 04, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Alevtina from Spain
Couple
Deluxe Patio Villa
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017

Paradise ”

My favorite resort among all I’ve been to all over the world, I come back here every couple of years and would do it even more often if not the long distance from Europe. Everything is perfect, just couple of things fro improvement: - some stuff is not speaking/understanding well English, and doesn’t know well the facilities - we had the most ridiculous case of fighting witj reception about the kettle that was hidden in the room all that time, so that even the personnel couldn’t find it. There were couple of more issues of this kind but less dramatic - the extra 3% that they take for the payment with the card is below the level of this hotel - at least some nice celebration of New Years, even calm but beautiful and memorable could have been organised We loved everuthing else, that is published and described well in the hotelsiteand here. Thank you for the memorable stay!

Reviewed January 04, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Clare from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in September 2017

The hotel and island were perfect a piece of heaven I just loved the treetop cottage just excellent”

The service from the hotel was excellent collected us from ferry our cottage was perfect and the views and beach was sublime a piece af heaven the cost was reasonable and the food there was so cheap loved every minute of my time there we went snorkelling had massages perfect just perfect

Reviewed September 27, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Alva from Sweden
Solo traveler
Terra Patio Villa
Stayed 4 nights in August 2017

The best hotel we have ever stayed in!”

We are very pleased with our stay at Cabana. The location was great, Cabana is situated at the most beautiful end of Sairee beach. The view is everything. Does not take a long time to walk to the restaurants and the local markets. Cabana's own restaurant Rhim Lae had a lot to offer. Staff was very friendly and they always had a smile on their face. Room was very clean and we loved our terrace. The front desk is very helpful. They fix a shuttle from the pier for u. We will definitely come back to Cabana when visiting Koh Tao. Could definitely stay more days!!

Reviewed August 25, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
isabelle from France
Family with teens
White Sand Sala
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017

Great Hotel, very a lot of caracter.”

We had a great time. My 2 daughters and I (17 and 20) spent 3 nights at the Ko Tao Cabana. We rented a Sala Villa, very spacious, very clean and nicely decorated.The restaurant is delicious. The staff and the hotel manager, Hazid, were very helpfull and friendly. The cabana has a perfect location:quiet area on a nice beach and also 5 min walk from a lively little town with restaurant and bar. I recommand this hotel.

Reviewed August 07, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Shannon from United States
Solo traveler
Cottage Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017

Exceptional Resort”

I stayed in a spacious cliff side cabana with a stunning ocean view. The resort is amazing. Friendly and helpful staff, great amenities, beautiful grounds, easy access to beach, and top notch restaurant. Free shuttle service to and from pier. This resort deserves five stars and I wish I could have stayed longer.

Reviewed June 17, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Nicole from South Africa
Couple
Cottage Ocean View
Stayed 5 nights in May 2017

A Tropical dream”

We loved this hotel and our rustic but well equipped cottage with a beautiful sea view. It's really a special place set in probably the best position on the island if you still want to be fairly close to the town. The restaurant is beautiful and we loved the Asian breakfast buffet. We only had one complaint that the bed was very hard, and the pillows a bit lumpy and the king bed was 2 singles pushed together otherwise one of our favorite hotels we have been to. Staff was also lovely and helpful. Nikki from Cape Town

Reviewed June 16, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Marta from Italy
Couple
Cottage Treetop
Stayed 9 nights in May 2016

amazing location and place”

I strongly suggest to stay at cabana hotel. I am very satisfy of my choice, the location is very good, the hotel is clean, personnel is always available and breakfast and food at the restaurant are top

Reviewed March 07, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Saba from United States
Family with teens
White Sand Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017

Highly recommend!”

My parents and I loved this beautiful hotel. Lovely views, friendly staff, delicious food, excellent massage. Couldn't have asked for a better Koh Tao spot! We even left to go to a second hotel and liked Koh Tao Cabana so much that we ended up leaving the other one to come BACK to KTC for the remainder of our stay. Amazing spot!!!

Reviewed March 07, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
HyeYoung from South Korea
Couple
Terra Patio Villa
Stayed 5 nights in February 2017

Perfect place for refreshement”

If you seek to a place that keep you away from the city life, it is a perfect place. It was very nature-friendly. You can always hear the chirping sound of different birds and enjoy the greenery and the sun in the swimming pool and the private beach. They rent you the life jacket, fins and snorkling equipment, so you can snorkle whenever you want. It may sounds strange, but I especially like the bathroom outside in my room.(The toilet and shower is inside your room, but at the same time, it's outside!) It's a little away from the crowded beach so if you want to enjoy the night life, you have to take a walk along the beach for 10 minutes. The staffs were kind and the restaurant was not that bad. I think it is one of the best resorts in Koh tao.

Reviewed February 25, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Ann from United Kingdom
Couple
Whitesand TreeTop
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017

Stayed here 2 years ago so this time it felt like coming home.”

The pool is looking a bit tired and could do with some TLC as the waterfall did not appear to be working even though it is still signposted as a feature. Otherwise the resort accommodation in Whitesands Treetops was brilliant, comfortable and clean. All the staff were smiley and helpful. The restaurant food was very good too, and we loved the breakfast.

Reviewed February 23, 2017
6.8
Good
Philippe from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Cottage Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Terra house numer 39”

Our friend who is traveling with us got upgraded from a standard cabana to a Tara house number 39. Excellent house no noise and is very calm. A lot of room in this house in the garden. You can sleep in this Terra house without having the problems of the music off the beach.

Reviewed February 20, 2017
6.8
Good
Philippe from Switzerland
Couple
Cottage Treetop
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017

Hotel in a beautiful setting but beware”

This hotel is in a beautiful setting on the end of Sarai beach. During the day the setting is just breathtaking. On the other hand in the night it becomes a true nightmare if you have the sunset cabana with the loud music coming from the bars off the beach. The music ends at 2 AM and sometimes even 3 AM. Sounds like the nightclub is inside your Cabanna that's how loud the music is. When I come back here I will choose another hotel where you can sleep at night. Our cabana was number 28.

Reviewed February 20, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Mario from Austria
Couple
Cottage Honeymoon Villa with Pool
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016

best hotel on island”

We had the suite with private pool. It was the best pool we ever had with a great view over the whole beach. A lot of corals directly at the beach. When I come back to Koh Tao I will stay in this hotel again

Reviewed February 07, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Emily from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Patio Villa
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

Incredibly luxurious and a real treat!”

We booked this hotel for Christmas as a treat midway through our backpacking trip as it certainly was a treat!! The grounds are beautiful with a lovely pool which was pretty much empty the entire time we were there. We stayed in the garden patio villa and it was incredible! Absolutely huge with a gorgeous bathroom, living room area and massive bed. Breakfast was in the restaurant overlooking the beach and you could order from a wide range of choices from then menu as well as help yourself to the buffet section where there was a huge amount of choice. Overall this was an incredible stay and our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer!

Reviewed January 02, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Andrew from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Cottage Ocean View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

Fantastic resort very friendly staff”

I would definitely recommend this result stayed in the deluxe Cottage Seaview which was really nice and very spacious a staff are fantastic very friendly plus the resort has an excellent restaurant highly recommended definitely would visit again

Reviewed December 13, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Dirk from Thailand
Couple
Terra Patio Villa
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016

Great escape on Koh Tao”

Outside, but still on walking distance of the busy part of Koh Tao. We had a Patio Villa, which was great in detail an comfort, much bigger than I expected. We were picked up by the hotel for free at the pier. Personnel was willing to help at any time. only the restaurant is not clear on the free breakfast and the additionals you need to pay for. for the rest we had a great stay (booked two days more even).

Reviewed November 19, 2016