Book Now: Kurumba Maldives

Excellent
From 1110 reviewsSee what guests said
8.9
/
10
Recommended by 94% of guests

Reviews of Kurumba Maldives Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (1110)Booking.com Reviews (1546)
8.9
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness9.2
Facilities9.2
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality9.1
Service9.2
Value for money8.4
All languages
All guests (1110)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 955 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
YIN from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 7 nights in May 2019

Relax tour”

The island is very beautiful, we are most relaxed during our stay. All the staff are kind and friendly,

Reviewed May 22, 2019

Dear Guest, We all enjoyed reading about your overall positive experience. We are certainly glad you had a great vacation in Kurumba Maldives and enjoyed the facilities provided. Your feedback is very valuable to us and of course one of the best reasons to keep up our work and motivation. Please rest assured that your feedback will be passed onto the team. Looking forward to welcome you again in our little patch of Paradise. Sunny Regards, Kurumba Maldives

Responded June 08, 2019
Kurumba Maldives
10.0
Exceptional
Nurliza from Singapore
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Best Resort I’ve ever stayed in”

Location was fantastic as it’s only 15mins speedboat from Male. Beach was right in front of our villa so ideal for our kids. Food selection was superb! They had kids menu available at every meal and different types of cuisine every night. I would highly recommend this resort especially if you’re traveling with young kids. There was always something for them to do at the kids club. Will definitely go back!!

Reviewed March 24, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
paul from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in August 2018

Salty Food”

My only criticism is that some of the food was overly salty and I raised the issue with the hotel. Otherwise - highly recommended because of its proximity to the airport and the fact it has a choice of restaurants unlike many resorts.

Reviewed December 27, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Al from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Maldives first impression ”

Although it's situated 12mins away from the airport (making it the closest resort), Kurumba is charming and has colourful and probably the best marine life. Don't be dishearted that one side of the island is facing Male city, the other side of Kurumba (facing away) is absolute beauty. The ineternational staffs are polite and always helpful. Our first visit won't be our last. We will be back. We miss you already Kurumba!

Reviewed December 11, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Helen
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Beautiful island close to the airport island”

The speed boat ride you may arrange through email with the hotel staff at kurumba. It was a nice short ride! 5 minutes and I was there! The island is beautiful! The homes I had stayed in were clean and spacious! Beautiful outdoor/ indoor garden setting which was so relaxing! I love the Maldives!

Reviewed December 06, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Joe from Philippines
Family with teens
Beachfront Deluxe Bungalows
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Excellent Service”

I like how the customer service greeted us. Even for the smallest requests like having a birthday cake for my son, they granted it. They are also accommodating even when we already checked out, they gave you place to stay and still enjoy the comfort and amenities that are available. The room was superb and very clean and romantic! I like the view of the surroundings and the restaurants which offered a variety of food!

Reviewed September 19, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Nadiah from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

Beautiful, clean, well maintained resort ”

I had a nice short vacay at Kurumba with my family (with small children and also the elderly). Kurumba offers variety of activities, you can refer to Kurumba Journal in their website to plan your day ahead. As my mother had arthritis and can't walk for a long distance, we brought her own wheelchair to the resort, and we were glad because most of places around the resort are wheelchair-accessible...most of the staff in the resort were warm, helpful and friendly which we appreciated very much.. It is convenience to book via Agoda because they included the tax in the overall price, except for transfer fees which you hv to pay directly at the resort...you can email the resort for transfer arrangement.. I've booked 3 superior rooms with full board and requested for connecting rooms..however at the resort, we were so grateful to be upgraded to beachfront deluxe bungalows that located next to each other..yeay!. Overall, we were happy with our stay at Kurumba and hope to stay there again!

Reviewed August 29, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Asia from United Arab Emirates
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

Loved it, but had a little issue ..... ”

We have booked an all inclusive room through agoda.com ... The hotel however told us that they received a booking confirmation from booking.com which states that we are not entightled for beverages which was a shock to us. We approached the staff in the reception for clarification and to check but a supervisor named Zainab didn’t assist us. In fact she asked us to call internationally to booking.com and check with them. Her behavior with us was totally mean. I didn’t expect this attitude knowing that I had came to the resort years ago. To make story short, staff named Morsi was so helpful that he called the reservation department and booking.com to clarify. We totally can’t be thankful enough for him. Also I would like to give credit to Mr. Ibrahim & Abdullah wo ractified this and put responsovitlity on theirselves and granted us the all inclusive package. Not only that. They made us feel real generosity of Maldives people. Me & my husband will definitely come back here to see them

Reviewed July 20, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Aaron from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in June 2018

Wonderful. Paradise. Romantic”

Close to airport, 15 minute boat transfer. Thr staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and I love the room layout. The bathroom is open and the large powerful fan in bathroom helps combat stuffiness from outside. There are two showers and his and hers sinks and a tub right in the center. The water pressure was strong and tempature easily controlled. The WiFi is strong enough to stream YouTube which is really really great. Be prepared to pay for drinks and meals. The live music was nice and relaxing.

Reviewed June 25, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Omar from Oman
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

Thanks to Mr. Siba & Advise for those “Phobia from Lizard” please stay at home. ”

Professional customer satisfaction by Mr. Siba. Staffs are kind and helpful. Nice view and entertainment. Gentle temperature to do outdoor activities. For those “Phobia from Lizard” please stay at home. I liked the resort so much. Again thanks Mr. Siba for everything. Cheers.

Reviewed June 19, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Pradeep from India
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017

WoW what a place!”

If you really want to stay away from the busy work life, this is one of the places to go!! My wife & kids enjoyed it to the full & we love the beaches & water sports within the island. Bit expensive stay & food. Luckily we had free nice & good breakfast! Good friendly staffs & nice facilities especially for kids!!

Reviewed June 14, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
William from Singapore
Group
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018

Amazing, Relaxing and An experience to Remember at Kurumba”

Maldives has a lot of islands and with it resorts inc Male. But each islands have unique features including that one of Kurumba’s. If you prefer a long stretch of perfect powdery white sand beach, near the airport which is just 15 mins away by speedboat, luxurious accomodation, facilities and service, hospitable and friendly staff and an atmosphere of serenity plus a wide variety of restaurants then Kurumba is the place to be. They even offer free cocktail nights and have guests who have come back to this hotel several times. I will definitely come back for more. Thanks Kurumba for an excellent service.

Reviewed May 29, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Garima from India
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Very good”

Kurumba is a nice resort especially for kids. Loved this place.

Reviewed May 15, 2019

Dear Garima, Thank you for sharing your feedback! It was a pleasure to learn how much you enjoyed your holiday experience at Kurumba Maldives. As a resort, we do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. Thank you for your feedback on activities at the resort, we aim to deliver full and diverse experiences to our guests. We are all very much looking forward to having you again as a guest in our resort. Sunny regards, Kurumba Maldives

Responded June 07, 2019
Kurumba Maldives
9.2
Exceptional
Adam from Canada
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in December 2018

Awesome vacation!”

We stayed here for 6 nights over New Year's Eve and had a wonderful time. We stayed in a Superior Room, which was nice but for our next trip we will definitely book one of the bungalows. The beach was pristine and the water was great. Our young child loved playing on the beach and having access to a playground was a bonus. The food was amazing with a huge variety at each meal, I definitely recommend getting the all inclusive package. Every single staff member was friendly and helpful, one of the gardeners made a small bird out of leaves which our son carried around for the rest of the day. We will definitely be returning to Kurumba Maldives.

Reviewed January 03, 2019
7.2
Very good
IAN from Oman
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018

Standard Maldives island”

Its nice enough but its far too close to Male. There were events going on in Male and the noise was very loud. Also the cost of the 5-10 minute speedboat trip was extortionate even by Maldives standards. Its perfectly okay although the snorkelling was a disappointment, Nice staff, friendly and helpful. We love Maldives but would probably stay somewhere else next time. Don't want to put anyone off though, Kurumba is okay.

Reviewed January 02, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Tunku from Malaysia
Family with teens
Beachfront Deluxe Bungalows
Stayed 5 nights in December 2018

A great place for family time”

A lovely resort with so many things to do. Spa was fantastic. A perfect place to relax. The staff are really friendly and helpful in every way. The only downside - wish it was a little away from the city.

Reviewed December 27, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Turki from Saudi Arabia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in December 2018

Excellent”

It was a great fantastic trip to KURUMBA. The food, services, and staffs were amazing. However, they charged me initially for whiskeys which I did not use!! so be sure and counter check your bill twice or more added to that they told me upon check in that all fees for transfer been taken and again charged me upon check out which was shock and unfair !!!! quite abuse....

Reviewed December 24, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Diane from United Kingdom
Couple
Beachfront Deluxe Bungalows
Stayed 5 nights in November 2018

Excellent facilities, excellent staff”

We stayed at Kurumba for 5 nights. Arriving after a 10hour flight, the service from the airport to check in was fantastic and smooth. So smooth, I failed to notice that we had been given the wrong type of room. We'd booked a beach front bungalow but had been given a superior room. When I realised the next day, I spoke to reception they mmediately swapped our rooms and to make up for the error, we were moved to a fantastic bungalow, beachfront, separate living room and a personal pool, an upgrade above what we originally booked, as an apology. The staff are always friendly. The food excellent, the beach beautiful (if you're not facing Male) and shallow for less confident swimmers like me. I used the fully equipped gym once and the equipment available is state of the art. The only minor con is that being 15 mins from the airport means that on one side of the island oil tankers and the city is within sight and not particularly pretty. Ask for a room facing the other direction.

Reviewed November 30, 2018
8.8
Excellent
suneel from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in February 2019

Amazing place”

Great place to go ! So close to Male ! Would recommend to anyone who wants a taste of the Maldives but I think you need to go further islands to see the true beauty of the Maldives 😎😎😎

Reviewed March 01, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Abdulelah from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018

رحلة ممتعة”

تجربة جميلة جدا بعيدا عن صخب الحياة العملية للاستمتاع بالشاطئ الخلاب والسهر وتجربة العصيرات المالديفية اللذيذه انصح بان يكون الحجز شامل كليا الافطار والغداء والعشاء لذيذ الاجواء والبرامج ممتازه تجربة الدايفنق ومشاهدة الاسماك وعمل النشاطات ممتعة جدا الافضل تكون الغرفة مقابلة للشاطئ لتسمع انغام الامواج وهي تعزف نغمات الحب

Reviewed May 05, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Vipin from India
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017

Amazing Resort”

This is one of the best Resort to be in Maldives. Their hospitality and the staff is just super amazing. Celebrated my First Anniversary there and it was a memorable trip, the one we will not forget for a very long time. Thank you Team Kurumba for making this trip a memorable one.

Reviewed December 11, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
ip from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in September 2017

Magnificent , no complaint at all... good location save travel time n money. ”

Food is very very good ...must take all inclusive which u can enjoy drinks in every location. House reef is spectacular ... eyes wide open under water , many fishes , baby sharks or sting fish ....must come again, thanks to all friendly staff especially to Maah .....

Reviewed September 21, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Simo from Germany
Couple
Beachfront Deluxe Bungalows
Stayed 4 nights in August 2017

Great get away”

We live in Kuala Lumpur and it was amazing 4 days of get-away. Nice and very helpful staff. Relaxed beach and environment. Did some water sports (wake boarding, snorkelling) and the rest just relax on the beach and have the great food. Booked AI package which made it worry less for the drinks and eating. It's close to Male which makes the arriving very easy. Small downside, from the restaurants you see the male island and some harbour traffic, but on the other side the open and beautiful beach scene. Would always recommend the place again.

Reviewed August 27, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Dr.Azan from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 7 nights in July 2017

Exceptional”

Its was the best place i visit . I was happy and enjoyed the time . I recommended to put some activities book inside the room for the visiter because they can know what kind of activities can see and do everyday. Lastly was amazing place.

Reviewed July 24, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Jacqueline from Singapore
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016

Perfect getaway with the kids”

Location was great for travelling with young kids as the boat ride was only 5-10min. Would not recommend the resort for couples who would prefer a more secluded and quieter location. Staff were friendly and food was great. The beaches are perfect for young kids with shallow waters. Lots of facilities for kids - babysitting, playground, activity center for kids. Perfect for travelling as a family!

Reviewed November 19, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Izumi from Japan
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

Resort Close to Airport”

Transportation from Airport, facility overall, Safety

Old good resort hotel regret that all round the Island surrounded by the PC Concrete artificial structure, so we can't expect beautiful horizon but sea water is clear and fishes are many. Good for family use and not very good for romantic couple even though room and facilities are kept in quite a high cleanness and well maintained. Speed boat carries Visitors in 10 min from Airport, close and good for the morning flight returners.

Reviewed December 22, 2015
8.3
Excellent
RYOSUKE from Japan
Family with young children
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015

Reasonably priced resort for Maldives.”

cost, location, staff

Kurumba is the oldest resort in the Maldives, but its facilities seem to have been maintained/renovated well and kept clean. Cost is relatively moderate for an island resort in the Maldives. Its proximity (10 minutes by speedboat) from Male airport is a plus when you have young children or don't want to use too much time transferring. All restaurants cater good food but are pricey (easily exceeds 40USD/person). One thing I liked is they clean the rooms twice a day; in the morning and in the evening. The house reef within the 'walls' are mostly dead corals, though some places in the northern edge does house man-planted reefs, which does attract some good range of fish. Most staff are kind and helpful.

Reviewed October 11, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Azizi from Malaysia
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015

Excellent resort, close to airport”

Location, white sandy beach and free wifi

We stayed at this resort for three nights in the seaside bungalows. We were greeted at the airport by the resort staff and were transfered to the resort by a huge speed boat just for the five of us. The bungalows were large and very well furnished. The bathroom was as big as the bedroom. The resort facilities were excellent with gym, game rooms, water sports scuba and tennis. I would advice to choose the half board or full board options as there was no other food outlets nearby. Breakfast spread was excellent with western and local food. Wifi was free in the rooms. The only minus point about the resort was the occasional noise from the aircrafts as it is very near to the airport. We went for a game fishing and caught a yellow fin tuna. The chef cooked the tuna to our choice for free.That was our best dinner at the resort, with tuna sashimi, battered tuna and maldevian curry tuna. It was the highlight of our holiday at Kurumba.

Reviewed July 23, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Yorkee from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015

nice but not the best”

close to airport but not good beach area

good: 8mins boat to resort, save a lot of time waiting at airport, room rate not that expensive compared to other resorts in north male atoll, room quite modern and bed super comfortable by slumberland, breakfast acceptable., nice staff, low 5 star resort overall Bad: some rooms, villa especially those close to boat pier has poor and.limited beach assess and not able to swim right in front of so called beach front villa.and president villa, so do not book president villa, you cannot swim right in front of villa. Overall beach area is not large and only little live coral under the water and few fishes. Too close to male city and other islands, no good view. Also under the flight path, can be noisy when u sit at the beach.

Reviewed June 19, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Justin from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015

Good location, attentive staff, great facilities”

Location, staff, facilities

The overall experience was fantastic. We went there to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. The best thing that happened was the surprise upgrade from a superior room to a deluxe bungalow. Thank you Kurumba! The resort is located near Male and the transfer was a breeze. Every minor details were taken care of, starting from the cool towels provided during the transfer to the attentive staffs who remembered our names. Food was great, albeit expensive. Lots of dining options from Japanese to Italian. Be prepared to pay at least $30 for a main. Soft drinks are $4 and others are easily $8-$10. We didn't go for the half or full board. Facilities are well maintained and excursions are plenty to keep the bored entertained. Highly recommend the complimentary house reef tour and the $70 dolphin sunset cruise. Excellent house reef with turtles, puffer fish and black tip sharks. Dolphins are almost guaranteed during the cruise with plenty of cute baby dolphins in the waters. The $55 snorkel safari is worth going too, though I feel that the house reef is sufficient for most. It was a pity that we didn't enjoy the promotional package for the snorkel safari and dolphin sunset cruise because it wasn't communicated on the activity brochure that was provided. We spent a total of $50 more because of that. Spa was good. We went for the $200 50 min couple massage. The ambience was relaxing and comfortable. The masseurs are professional and attentive to our needs. Highly recommend that you go for a longer session to fully enjoy the experience. We hired an external photographer for a photo shoot and I must say that there are several locations that are picture worthy. Took lots of wonderful pictures without leaving the resort. Best memories are now kept. :)

Reviewed June 13, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Jed from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014

Pampered in Paradise ”

Comfort. Luxury. Refreshing.

Luxury at its finest. Days where you have nothing but comfort and relaxation. Pricey for those will come to my country, but still worth it. Big room, nice utilities and amenities. A lot of options and excursions to choose from. All in package.

Reviewed November 02, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Wissam from Lebanon
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014

Beautiful small island with great snorkeling ”

Comfortable rooms, Great snorkeling sites, Good service

We had a very comfortable stay at Kurumba. The island is small but with many activities to do during the day such as tennis, snorkeling and other activities offered by the hotel through out the day. The staff is helpful and service minded and the restaurants have a great selection on food. It's a quiet and romantic place.

Reviewed October 29, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Peter from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Beachfront Deluxe Bungalows
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014

Amazing amazing holiday”

Great food, snorkeling, proximity to airport

The stay was really amazing. This was my third trip to the maldives and to start it was a welcome relief to only be a short boat ride from the airport which worked well since we arrived at 10 in the evening. Food was first class, also with champagne every breakfast and an excellent choice of reat restaurants. The staff were excellent. Although it was our 10th anniversary, we travelled with our children ages 6 and 8. They also enjoyed and it's great to have a kids club to drop them off for an hour or two, and we also had a child minder one evening. We're forever thankful that they upgraded us to a pool villa the last day, and then the next day gave us a late check out until 6pm (perfect for our trip late in the evening). All the rooms are really nice but the deluxe pool villa amazing. If it wasnt for the late check out, I wouldn't have had the very special experience of snorkeling at the drop off hand in hand with my children the last afternoon (there is no need to dive when the snorkeling is this good). Although the weather was mixed it didn't matter as there was sunshine every day, the last evening ending with a great sunset. Special note should be made that as the Maldives go, prices weren't that expensive, but compatible with Australia, HK or Japan (beer usd8, cocktail usd12-15, pizza from usd20+). Overall we highly recommend the resort and will definately be back.

Reviewed October 26, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Keith from Singapore
Group
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in May 2014

Value for money”

Service, Close to airport, value

Kurumba was a value for money resort. It is situated close to the airport which means you can take a ferry instead of a seaplane. The service there is excellent. We had quite a lot of freebies. They provide you 1 free excursion per pax (I chose fishing which would have cost 90usd). There was also an open bar from 5-7pm every night so you don't have to take the full board option. The snorkelling was alright. Yes there was a house reef and we saw plenty of fishes. Turtles, sharkes, manta rays, etc but the corals are all dying. You won't see much colour in them. I heard that the other resorts are the same, even those that you take a seaplane to. Not sure how true that is but if that is so, its just sad. The resort provides free snorkel rental. Food wise, it is very affordable. As it is situated close to the main island of male, food supplies are cheap to transport, hence, bringing down the consumer prices. You can get a burger meal at the café for about 18usd. A lamb chop at the restaurant would be about 30usd and a teppenyanki at the jap restaurant is about 70usd per pax. Rooms are luxurious enough to be compared to the more expensive resorts. Kurumba just underwent a major renovation hence, everything is new! Stay in the superior rooms as they are value for money. Avoid the rooms nearer to the jetty as you can hear incoming boat noises. Do take note that you will be the occasional plane noises as the island is along a fly route.. the noise is minimal but if you are sensitive, it will affect you. Overall, Kurumba is highly recommended if you are on a budget.

Reviewed July 14, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Vincent from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014

great, enjoyable, happy”

beach, location, staff

This island is very close to the airport. I had a wonderful 2-night stay here at this hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable, semi-open-air bathroom with bathtub. free rental of snorkelling equipment. Everything was good, and would be better if the hotel could organize more events and performances for the guests. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

Reviewed July 01, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Yvonne from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014

AWESOME! Just like the paradise you imagined!”

Design/concept of rooms (love the therapy inspired outdoor shower!), Serenity and surrounding atmosphere, Impeccable service from staff

Airport transfer: your paradise experience starts when you disembark, friendly staffs, posh yacht, refreshments on board. Check in: was a breeze with a "lounge" for a comprehensive briefing by the staff (and that to die for coconut ice cream!) Room: we stayed superior in rooms 130 which was really up to expectations! We were still in awe with the rooms up till the day we left! Just 20 steps away from the beach, you can literally wake up on your bed and see the waters (': Dining: we went ala carte. Tried buffet dinner at the main restaurant and it fell below expectations. Would recommend to skip it and try their speciality restaurants (better and not necessarily more expensive!). Hamakaze was my favourite (coming from singapore we get tons of jap restaurants here but the chefs were professional, seafood was fresh, ambience was exceptional! We tried la cucina (good food but portion slightly smaller for the price) and al qasr (good! Try their hummus) too. Actually the kurumba cafe serves better food in my opinion than the main restaurant, and much more value for money than the main restaurant too :) Veil spa: nothing to complain :) should try for the experience Service/Staff: every one of them deserve commendation! They NEVER failed to smile and greet us around the resort any time of the day. It really put a smile on ours faces that many times they smile at us. They're attentive and efficient too! Because ocean grill was under going renovations, we were given complimentary red wine and an excursion of choice. That's simply outstanding! The renovations aren't even bothersome (especially if you come from the city where renovations there are a million times noisier). These little gestures make a stay at kurumba to die for! In general, beach was CLEAN! Waters blue and clear, like paradise. I could almost cry on the day we had to depart. Thanks for the memorable experience!!

Reviewed June 24, 2014
8.3
Excellent
HAN from Malaysia
Couple
Beachfront Deluxe Bungalows
Stayed 1 night in April 2014

Relax, enjoy and luxury stay”

Private beaches, clean and nice room, friendly staff

The resort is within 15 minutes by speedboat from either Male or the airport. It's one of the nice resort within the north atoll. The staff are attentive and personally attend to all your needs. There are difference restaurants choices available and the evening bar is wonderful. We stay at Beach front villa with the beaches right in front of our rooms, with a nice view of sunset. It's wonderful stay in Kurumba and i would recommend this to my friends.

Reviewed April 26, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Kamini from Singapore
Couple
Beachfront Deluxe Bungalows
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014

An amazing Kurumba experience”

Great customer service, friendly staffs and spacious rooms

We were here for 3 nights and it was a great stay. Kurumba resort is just 10 minutes away from the airport. We were staying in a beach front bungalow which is just 5 metres away from the sea. The room was spacious and the restaurants we went to provided great service. There is a variety of food you could get here. From indian to Chinese to italaian to western food. They have different sorts of activities each day for everyone to get yourself occupied in that island. Definitely will want to go back to this place when I decide to visit Maldives again. I love Maldives for it clear waters and endless stretch of beach in Kurumba. An awesome experience and I would say no regrets having chosen Kurumba!

Reviewed March 04, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Lee from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in February 2014

Fantastic Beach resort Stay”

Location (Pristine beach at your doorstep), Short ferry ride from the airport, Attentive service and staff

All rooms have easy access to the beach and are cleaned twice daily. Free snorkelling equipment inclu life jackets are provided... which is great as the surrounding pristine beach are ideal spots for snorkelling, with corals, fishes and even small sharks. Excursions and a list of daily activities (both complimentary and chargeable) are provided by the hotel. Going for the excursions like sandbank picnic, Maldives island visit etc. will make your trip more enjoyable. Do note that some restaurants esp Hamazake (Jap teppanyaki) is rather popular and bookings need to be made or be prepared to wait like we did. But the wait was worthwhile as the seafood was very fresh.

Reviewed February 27, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
RAYMOND from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014

Superb service and experience”

Close proximity to airport, 5 star service, friendly staff

Our greatest beach resort experience. Staff were very helpful in attending to our needs and requests. The guests were mostly from Russia and European, very few Asians. Complimentary drinking water (3.0 litre) was provided. High speed wifi coverage almost everywhere and it is open without password. Sandbank picnic is a must go for couple, great experience. We did not take the meal inclusive as we are free to eat at any restaurants and prices were not very high. There are 6 different themes of restaurants aside from the main resort restaurant. Great snorkelling spot around the island, you can easily spot baby sharks swimming around.

Reviewed February 21, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Roy from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in January 2014

Great place to relax”

Beach (reef), food selection and staff

We stayed here for 5 night and really enjoyed it. The island is fairly close to the airport so you do hear some planes and you see lots of boat traffic, depending on which side of the island you're on. We knew this when we booked so it didn't bother us, if you're looking for that island in the middle of nowhere you'll need to go further out. The staff were great, very accommodating. There's a large selection of places to eat in the evening. We had breakfast included but there are different packages you can get full board or all inclusive (includes your drinks). Breakfast was your typical hotel buffet, it was good. The island reef is as good as any that we went on excursions to see. Lots of different kids of fish a short swim away. The fact that they have wave breaks around the island give a nice calm area for kids and those who are not confident swimmers. We really enjoyed it and have already recommended the island.

Reviewed February 16, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Valentina from Russia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in February 2014

Relax on the beautiful beach ”

sea, sand and sand bar

Kurumba is a great hotel for quite and relax beach vacation. Many delux rooms and bungalos are just on the beach, actually you can hear indian ocean at nignt. Hotel is very quite and look more as a village then hotel, every room have personal beach chairs in front of the room ( if you stay in delux room, or beach villa). Also amazing bath tube open air. Rooms are very clean and they have room service twice a day. I would also recommend spa and yoga classes. Individual yoga class you can have on the beach in front of your room during the sunset.

Reviewed February 10, 2014
8.3
Excellent
corvina from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013

Helpful Staff”

Helpful staff, great view and great room

We were sick during our stay in Kurumba due to the hot weather and stayed in most of the time. Mr. Emmanuel greeted us when we were having late lunch at one of the cafes and we told him we were sick. He was very attentive and showed genuine concern and we were really grateful for that. He even went the extra miles to look for vitamin C and some panadols for us when the clinic was closed. His service was impeccable. One of the chefs in the breakfast restaurant was friendly. He always has his smiles on his face and it really brighten up the day. The room service is efficient and minimum waiting time. We were also given a complimentary late check out as our departure time for flight to abu dhabi was at night. One minor flaw is that we found a dead cockroach on the open shower's floor. It was there until the day we left. Perhaps a more detailed clean up would be better. Overall, we had a great stay at the Kurumba and hope to be back again soon.

Reviewed October 07, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
mosfiq from Bangladesh
Family with young children
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013

A perfect vacation spot!”

Beach,Great Views,Loads of Activities

Comfortable,luxurious rooms.nice views from room.beautiful place,friendly staffs,loads of water activities like skiing,snorkeling,canoeing etc.Kids club and indoor activities are there too.A perfect hotel for a perfect vacation.

Reviewed August 16, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Claire from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013

Fantastic Place”

Location, facilities, staff

Absolutely fantastic. This hotel has a very organised system arranged. It begins when you arrive at Male and finishes when you return to the airport. Staff are very fruendly, helpful and create a very relaxed atmosphere. Diving and snorkelling are excellent. I was travelling by myself but did not feel at all uncomfortable. Would love to return here.

Reviewed June 29, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Chutisant from Thailand
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013

Excellent but can still improve something though”

View, location

Excellent but can still improve something though. Basically, everything is positively great. Location is perfect, view is very beautiful, service is just alright though. Greeting service was great, but I should complain slightly about the pick-up service from clubhouse to our room. I called three times, waiting 40 mins. Yes that happened only one time though, the rest was alright. I hope my comments and suggestions are constructive, and will let your hotel to be more perfect. Because overall (except what I suggested), your hotel is impressive indeed.

Reviewed May 28, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Ahmad from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in May 2012

Simply stunning!”

Wonderful wonderful wonderful resort!

My stay in Kurumba is the best ever experience in my life. Our honeymoon is completed with the sstay in Kurumba. The beach, the food, the room, everthing is extraordinaries. They even provide us free candlelight dinner!

Reviewed April 14, 2013
8.3
Excellent
AZHARUDDIN from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 7 nights in September 2012

Lovely place for romance & rest”

Beautiful Beach & good services

pro: very nice location of the room located. clean & efficient services. friendly staff. 4 different varieties of restaurants (indian, chinese, arab, western). con : food average but expensive. will be coming back to kurumba in our next trip to maldive.

Reviewed February 08, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Anzele from Canada
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012

Nice resort”

Gorgeous beach

Easy to get to from Male Airport, boat transfer kiosk very helpful, whole island is the resort, rooms are spacious, bathroom is outdoors, comfy bed, decent porch, breakfast buffet was excellent, restaurants pricy, Italian restaurant is a pass, the cocktail bar had yummy hors d'oeuvres, and the beach is gorgeous.

Reviewed February 02, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
khalil from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012

Lovely Resort, for honeymooners”

Honeymooners Resort

This hotel is not so far from the airport. It's one of the hotels that had good offer on the month of October. The place is well organized and the staff helped us to enjoy our honeymoon in an amazing way. The food was good. we enjoyed swimming in their pool

Reviewed October 21, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Harpreet from India
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in August 2012

Lovely resort with excellent service”

service, food from across the world, spa

We stayed at Kurumba Maldives resort for 5 nights. It was a totally rejuvenating experience. Prices are on the steeper side, but then its the case with every luxury island resort. Everything from the food, service, spa, sports center, water sports..was great. Location can be a bit of a problem to those wanting to stay far far away from civilization since this resort is very close to Hulhule Island ( where the airport is located) and Male.We'll definitely stay there again!

Reviewed October 09, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Yustinus from Singapore
Solo traveler
garden pool villa
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012

Great hotel with great location”

Proximity to airport is very near

this is a great hotel, with extensive facilities, excellent waters and very near to the airport as well. the list of excursions that you can do complements well with the facilities they have there. the waters are excellent

Reviewed September 25, 2012
8.0
Excellent
SAM from Macau
Group
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012

Heaven”

Ten minutes from Male airport by speedboat and you arrive at Kurumba, a heavenly resort. And it's true, the water is crystal clear, the sky is azure blue and I am convinced they iron the sand (or rather coral sand).

Reviewed August 20, 2012
8.0
Excellent
HUI from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012

Lovely hotel and service with a smile”

Spacious room, privacy, clean,child-friendly

just like other reviews, kurumba maldives is a great place for those who doesnt want to spend much on hotel transfer (eg: seaplane).it is much more affordable compared to the rest of hotel. the rooms is clean and spacious. the staff are friendy . the food are above average too.must try their jap teppan seafood .but the hainanese chicken rice and laksa is nono...

Reviewed July 24, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
ASHISH from India
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012

Fabulous!!!”

Wonderful ambience, excellent room, good service, healthy and tasty food

Its excellent in one word. A must go place for couples. Wonderful blue sea all around- good for swimming, snokeling, divign or just sitting at beach and relaxing. We took the sunset cruise and it was a pleasure, got to see some dolphins in real natural envirnment. We will surely go again there!!

Reviewed July 06, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Yustinus from Singapore
Solo traveler
Beach Villa
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Good Resort With Good Pricing”

Very Competitive Pricing and Very Friendly Staff

I've been to Kurumba Maldives 3 times now, and apart from the proximity that's very close to Airport, it saves your time and transportation cost, this 1st resort in Maldives had reasonable nice rooms with reasonable price compared to other resorts in Maldives of the same class, and the rooms/villas are well maintained and cozy. Staff are very friendly, the facilities are good and quite extensive with good itineraries/programmes of activities for adult and kids, and not to mention that the price for beverages and food is reasonable.

Reviewed June 25, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
ali from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012

Nice restaurants and smily staff”

pleasant views , delecious food, and good activities

Kurumba Maldivies is one of the greatest resort which is close to Male airport (10 minutes )by speadboat and the price is resonable compared to other 5 stars resorts. I got upgraded also from Superior to Garden View villa which was really big and nice and near by the beach.

Reviewed June 07, 2012
8.7
Excellent
WONG from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012

Great service”

The staff, Sarah, welcomed us with a Kurumba ice-cream and she allowed us to check in early due to bad weather

i was glad we were given a good room, 143, that is exactly like the beachfront deluxe bungalow! right in front of our doorstep is the beach! super cool. the water is really clear and we enjoyed playing in the water near the artificial corals where there were many colourful fishes. though the air-con broke down on the first night with water leaking, we were compensated with a late check out. much appreciation went to the front desk manager, judit. by the way, you might want to try diving with eurodive centre. the people there are friendly. i had a good dive eventhough the visibily was not as clear as the water in front of our bungalow. nonetheless, it was one of the best beach experiences i had.

Reviewed May 29, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Alvin from Philippines
Couple
garden pool villa
Stayed 5 nights in April 2012

great honeymoon”

snorkling, friendly staff

We were on a honeymoon, and we had a lovely time at kurumba. The room was very spacious and we enjoyed the outdoor bathroom specially the jacuzzi. We loved there shampoo and soap. The only negative thing was the tv which was located at the living room. But thats very minor. The resort has the most amazing snorkling area. We saw so many fishes including stingray and shark! baby ones i would assume. The staff at the resort are mostly very friendly. Glenn, the head at sportscenter was very accomodating. The one who guided us at jet ski safari was very very helpful and friendly. Housekeeping was very respectful. We were walking one afternoon and a staff was getting coconuts. they gave us one without us asking. The front desk staff needs soem improvement though. Food at kurumba was very good. Overall, i would love to go back there. And would recomend it.

Reviewed April 12, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Kok from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012

Great Hotel And Wonderful Staff”

Friendly and helpful staff

Went there for our 10th wedding anniversary. Happy moment starts when we touched down at Male airport. The staff that pick us up was friendly and going to the resort by their speed boat was so fast and easy. Checking in was easy too. The room was clean and cosy, the staffs there are all so friendly. It just make your stay over the resort so comfortable. We enojoy all the sea sport activities and all the food there, although the food may not be the best. Overall, we really had a good time there!!!

Reviewed April 10, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
ali from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Deluxe Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012

Lovely hotel and service with a smile”

Good variaty of resturants serving delicious food

we really enjoyed our honeymoon in kurumba maldives resort. the location is very close to the airport 15 minutes by speed boat,the staff were smilly and so kind , we were greeted with fresh coconut juice and fresh fruit basket in our villa,the bed was arranged twice with flowers wisshing us (happy honeymoon), we got upgrade to garden villa for the last three nights as a compensation for one problem happened to me with housekeeping. i recommend you to try it and you will be satisfied for sure because it's cheaper than other 5* resorts.

Reviewed April 07, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Ellen from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012

Perfect Honeymoon”

food !

we are so happy during stay at kurumba, we went there for our honeymoon, 4 days 3 nights, the food is delicious, the place is quiet.. its so perfect for honeymooners.. but still awesome if go there with a family, full of activities you can do at kurumba.. city tour, fishing, snorkeling, diving, and kurumba also have a sport center, you can play tennis, you can gym, ..our room is facing the sea, just a step to sun-bathing at the beach.. enjoying the sunset.. :) overall, kurumba is a great hotel.. for the price we paid, is well-worth.. :) thanks kurumba ! :)

Reviewed January 27, 2012
8.7
Excellent
deming from China
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in December 2011

nice hotel for families”

the service was great, facility was high quality, and food was ok. The circle of cements might block the view a little bit in the beginning, but it provide a safety that parents never need to worry as long as the children stay within

We went there for four days, and stayed in a deluxe bungolow, the island provide snorkeling gears, and many other sports facilities. Service was high standard. But food, especially the seafood like tuna and shrimp, are not as good as we expected. We took a snorkeling safari, but the spot turns out to be less beautiful than the shore of Kurumba. Some of my friends went for sunset dolphin trip, but feel the trip doesn't worth the money as well.

Reviewed December 29, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Mohammed from Pakistan
Couple
garden pool villa
Stayed 6 nights in December 2011

A very nice resort and experience overall”

Food, Recreational Facilities and Environment

We had a wonderful experience overall. From the spacious villas to the exquisite food, we liked everything. The buffet in the main restaurant even though a little expensive was very nice. Because of the wide variety of dishes (different dishes everyday) and exquisite quality of food, I didn't mind paying the extra cost. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. When we checked in we found out that our locker wasn't working. It was fixed immediately and the management assured us that we can keep our things with a peace of mind and nothing will be taken away. And that was the case. We ended up not keeping our things under lock and nothing went missing at the end of 6 days. Though Kurumba was a small resort, it was very well equipped. The recreational facilities were very nice. The staff was very friendly and cooperative. I would say the only negative about maldives in general is that it is an expensive place to spend your vacation if you are staying in a good resort. But if you don't mind the extra cost and enjoy water sports, it is a very beautiful and peaceful place to spend your time away from your busy life. Had a wonderful experience.

Reviewed December 29, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Ivonne from Indonesia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in October 2011

My dream come true!!!”

the room just nice , can see sunrise and sunset.

We have just returned from celebrating our 4th Wedding Anniversary and our honeymoon at Kurumba.The room just nice, early morning you can see the sunrise and in the afternoon you can see the sunset.It was perfect.The food in the main restaurant is excellent. Special thanks to Jason and Vinay for all his help, they gave a special touch in our bedroom too. Everything so special :)

Reviewed October 28, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Yenny from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011

Perfect stay”

many facilities and activities to do, great food

We really enjoyed our stay in Kurumba. It is a beautiful resort with many facilities and activities to keep the guests entertained all times. The food was a bit pricy but worth the money as it is high standard and absolutely delicious.

Reviewed October 18, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Elisa from Indonesia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011

true paradise in maldives”

variety of restaurants in one resort

nothing i can fault in this hotel. truly memorable experience. best thing i can say about kurumba is the variety of restaurants. they have it all from arabic, italian, japanese, chinese, seafood, etc. and they are truly arabic cuisines in arabic restaurant, etc. food is cooked amazingly well. you can expect proper italian food at la cucina, proper arabic in al qasr and so on. kudos to the chefs.

Reviewed October 17, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Yu from Malaysia
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in May 2011

Great location lovely beach”

lovely sandy beach. spacious and tastefully furnish room

food quite pricey at the restaurants - lots of variety. we loved to order room service. eating (at our chosen time & donning our beach wear) at the patio enjoying the sea and breeze is just fantastic. best of all price is reasonable. foc guided snorkeling trip is good to get a feel of the island and to know the best spots.

Reviewed August 11, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Muhammad
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2011

Dream Resort”

Spa , Resturants

it was lovely all along . me and my girl have the best time of our life . it was a large resort and u will never get bore for how much they have to offer . the long list of restaurants spa awesome Jacuzzi for u and ur mate only in spa free snorkeling lessons and free yoga i wish they also have a night club to make this place perfect.

Reviewed July 17, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
BOON from Malaysia
Group
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in June 2011

Beautiful hotel with good food!”

Beautiful beach,many restaurant to choose from,thoughfulness staff

Good arrangement of speedboat transfer from Male. Our room is upgraded upon checked-in. Room is big enough for us with a boy. The food is excellent at Kurumba! Different cuisines to choose from,Ocean Grill is doing its best to serve super fresh seafood.We like the Idian food and Arabian food too!

Reviewed June 21, 2011