Book Now: La Place Guesthouse

Very good
From 252 reviewsSee what guests said
7.0

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (252)Booking.com Reviews (21)
7.0
Very good
From 252 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.0
Facilities6.2
Location6.9
Room comfort and quality7.0
Service7.6
Value for money7.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
한국어
Deutsch
more
Room type
Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
Twin with Shared Bathroom
Deluxe - Non-Smoking
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 230 verified guest comments
2.4
David from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe - Non-Smoking
Stayed 17 nights in September 2016
The worst thing that ever happened ....”
Stay far away from that place, that is the best advice I can give ! We have booked a deluxe non smoker room : surprise... that room does not even exists. In the so called deluxe room, plenty of ashtrays were present.... how to call it "a non smoking" room then ???? There was no management, only a helper, who was friendly, but could not explain or give any information. After visiting the room, which was so dirty that we do not even dear to sit on the bed..... we decided not to unpack and leave this "rat place" for what it is, although I had paid all on forehand. Lucky, we have found some other nice places in the area, with clean rooms, even with a swimming pool for less expensive. Helper told the manager was Dutch, well Dutch people have a reputation of being clean and honest, so probably the exception confirmes the rule.
Reviewed September 26, 2016
7.6
Very good
JASON from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
A comfortable budget inn at Maribago, Mactan, Cebu ”
This budget traveller's Inn is a 30min taxi ride from the airport. It's conveniently near with some resorts in the island. If you just need a place to sleep because your primary purpose is to go out in the water, this inn is just worth your budget. I've booked the room with its own bathroom. I'm satisfied with the basic amenities and the staff is very helpful. I arrived in the place in the afternoon so I was able to see the place right away. Landmark is just it's across maribago grill and the gate and wall is made of bamboo poles. The grounds become a bar in the evening. I think visitors arriving in the evening can detect it if they arrive when the bar is still open as the lights are on displaying the name of the place.
Reviewed September 18, 2016
2.4
YA-CHIH from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Low c/p value”
Same price wroth staying at a better place. It doesn't look like a guesthouse or hostel, it's a bar! Local people also know it as a bar. Staffs are not good at English.
Reviewed August 31, 2016
7.6
Very good
Dennis from Philippines
Group
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Helpful staff”
breakfast was nice...would be better if there were clothes hangers around
Reviewed August 12, 2016
4.8
Hans from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Needs a lot of improvement. Nice staff.”
Everything looks old and dirty. The shared bathroom didn't have hot water. Hardly any water come out anyway (no pressure). The toilets didn't flush. One corner of our room was used as storage space covered with old curtains. No wifi in the room. Reality is much different as on the site. Very disapointing. Many things on the menu not available. Bar and staff are nice.
Reviewed July 04, 2016
5.2
Benjamin from United Kingdom
Couple
Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Not a bad hotel”
Didnt have great start here the aircon leaked onto the bed so had to move to a worse room but next day problem was resolved staff helpfull but at night the bar turns into a bit of a sleezy one.. Not a bad hotel but not near anything
Reviewed May 20, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
yingki from Hong Kong
Group
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Nice staff”
Although there is no hot water provided for shower, the staff is nice and big room
Reviewed May 10, 2016
5.6
Steven from Canada
Couple
Deluxe - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
hostel wantabee”
Noisy air conditioning. Little or no water pressure. Smell of surfur. Friendly staff.
Reviewed April 02, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Warren from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016
Handy to Mactan Island dive sites”
The staff are very helpful with any queries about local transport. The location is very good for using the local dive shops and dive sites. There is a good range of services / restaurants within easy walking distance or by catching a jeepney.
Reviewed February 16, 2016
6.3
Good
Mark from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Don't judged the book by it's cover”
Cleanliness, staff hospitality
At first we we're worried about the place because it doesn't look like a hostel. The ground floor is a bar with pool table on one side and a table and chairs on the other side. The toilet is clean and organized. The only drawback that I could think off is the place is very far from the airport and there is no TV in the room.
Reviewed October 05, 2015
8.0
Excellent
JOHN from Philippines
Group
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
A blessed stay @ La Place”
Very accommodating and facilitative staff; Clean Room and beside a very good restaurant
At first, upon entering the hotel we were frustrated! I personally want to look for another hotel, but since hotels were fully booked we opted to stay. But because of very accommodating, friendly and facilitative staff, the frustration turned into a blessing! La Place is not a "beautiful" hotel compare to other hotels, but its rooms and bathrooms were clean. It's beside Maribago Restaurant and near Mactan Shrine. All I can say "BEST HOTEL STAFF EVER!!!"
Reviewed September 27, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Arlette from United States
Couple
Deluxe - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Good Place to stay”
location, cleanliness, staff
Located close to the resorts so you can use their facilities. Also, close to all the water sport activities and island hopping opportunities. Great restaurant across the hotel called Maribago Grill--you should go! Place is clean. staff is very helpful! Close to the supermarket and money exchange. Overall, good value for the price. I recommend it!
Reviewed August 30, 2015
2.0
Zil from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Gross and Flithy”
La Place Guesthouse
shower and bathroom are extremely dirty. yucks.
Reviewed August 21, 2015
6.0
Narindhon from Thailand
Solo traveler
Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
It's cheap but the AC didn't work!”
Friendly staff; clean
Reviewed August 07, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Matthew from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Nice and affordable place to stay”
staff, rooms, convenience
Reviewed July 26, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
NIANFANG from Taiwan
Group
Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
The "La Place" is very wonderful 2 stay and enjoy”
Nice garden / staffs / quiet
Wonderful landscape and the staff seems like family also have resto bar.
Reviewed July 23, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Remy from France
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Perfect place for budget travellers”
Room size - Location - Price
Probably the best value for money in Maribago. Not know by all locals so you might ask for Maribago Grill when asking for your way. The Hotel is just across the street. To clarify on some previous comments : Aircon was more than enough. Beer in the bar was cheep. Staff was very kind and helpful. Very near many dive shops and large resorts. Night out tip : when you exit La Place turn right and stay on the same sidewalk. Walk up the road for about 2 minutes and you will find a bar named RoadStar. There is a very nice Filipino band playing live music everyday (except Wednesday). You will have a real Filipino experience there.
Reviewed July 19, 2015
2.0
Edward from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 5 nights in July 2015
What a dump”
I can't believe how bad it was there, granted we were only there for 1 day (Paid for 5), The restaurant across the street was horrible. I could not understand how agonda would rate this hotel graciously. It was quite pricey even for US standards. I will not trust agonda's rating anymore, since this guest house was quite dated.
Reviewed July 13, 2015
7.0
Very good
Dewa from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Deluxe - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Place for Sanctuary”
Friendly Staff, Best Locations, Affordable Price
I have great time stayed at La Place Guest House. The quite guest house with No Television and hustle traffic. The friendly staff is what really give me a big smile. They are very funny, polite and helpful. They don't mind to help and share every information they have. Tough you still have to go to find the beach near to the hotel. They are Karancho (cost you 100 peso) and Maribago public beach (free) which can be reach by walk.
Reviewed June 25, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Martin from France
Solo traveler
Deluxe - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Good value”
Friendly staff, fun bar
Booked a deluxe room for a weekend I mostly spent diving near Mactan. The room was basic, but definitely did the trick. The "weak aircon" problem mentioned in other reviews wasn't that much of an issue (the room would go down to 25 when it was 32 outside). The wifi worked in the bar, but not in the room. The staff was really helping. Good place for the money, a the end ! Food tip : Try Maribago grill (facing La Place) and Gold Mango (local food in a confy setting, further down the road).
Reviewed June 12, 2015
7.7
Very good
JENNIFER from Malaysia
Group
Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Basic but Positively Comfortable (**amended)”
Helpful staff, Free drinking water, aircond room
(Review submitted earlier but with minor correction). Basic room but very spacious. Body soap and towels provided. Toilets and Shower Rooms area was very clean but with only one hook to hang your towel/clothes. Thankfully, the music from the RestoBar **was not a disturbance. We had no trouble sleeping. The owner and her family/staff were very helpful. They gave us road directions, information on nearby places, and even helped to flag a taxi when we checked out. They correctly informed us the metered fare we would be paying, and informed the driver our destination. The beach is within walking distance (10 minutes slow walk). Wifi almost none in room but strong in RestoBar area (downstairs).
Reviewed June 10, 2015
8.3
Excellent
JENNIFER from Malaysia
Group
Twin with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Basic but Positively Comfortable”
helpful staff, free water, aircond room
Basic room but very spacious. The owner provided soap and towels. Toilet and Shower Rooms area was very clean but with only one hook to hang your towel/clothes. Thankfully, the music from the RestoBar was a disturbance. The owners were very helpful. They gave us road directions, information on nearby places, and even helped to flag a taxi when we checked out. They correctly informed us the metered fare we would be paying, and informed the driver our destination. The beach is within walking distance (10 minutes slow walk).
Reviewed June 10, 2015
7.0
Very good
Erik from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
La Place a good value”
Close to dive center(kontiki), close to Maribago grill, friendly staff
It was pleasant. But I think the air conditioning was too weak. But that would be my only complaint.
Reviewed April 21, 2015
7.3
Very good
Joseph from United States
Couple
Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
LaPlace Mactan Island Lapu Lapu”
Food was good, got the room with a huge bathroom/shower, service was good.
Nice small budget hotel. Signage not too obvious along the road. Likely a family run hotel adding one room at a time as they can afford. Most rooms have a community bath/shower area in excellant shape. No TV in my room but a large bathroom. About 10-15 minutes from the airport depending on traffic. I did like all of the food I ordered. Two dinners and two breakfasts.
Reviewed March 11, 2015
6.0
Richard from Thailand
Couple
Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Clean, cheap and affordable for backpackers”
Close to airport and beach
Reviewed February 25, 2015
6.3
Good
Richard from Thailand
Couple
Twin with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Clean and affordable for backpackers”
Upgraded us to a deluxe room for free
Reviewed February 25, 2015
4.7
suci from Indonesia
Group
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Not recommended ”
The staff are nice
The room were stink and creepy.
Reviewed February 25, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Sigve from Norway
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
good value”
friendly staff. spacious rooms. cozy garden and bar
Great manager and helpful staff. They try give u best advice. Though most access to sea and beaches is private u can explore and find some entrance. Here is close to boat hire for island hopping and snorkling. Many scuba dive companies. Stay away from people who want sell agressively (say no) or beggers local children who want let u alone while eat at at street or local diner. La Place is nicely situated for young people who dont want to only stay in big overpriced resorts. Here u can go many directions. Marigondon and Gaisano grand mall. Or Hilton and Agasil port and take boat (15p+5) to Olango. Savemore is in walking distance and at Shangs metro is big nice grocery and shops. And 3 atm wich unfortunately is often offline. There is told to be a couple more but then if u go Gaisano there is one there and one at intersection and shop where u take off the highway toward Gaisano. At intersection is also 2 bakery shops and atm is close.
Reviewed February 24, 2015
4.0
Eng-Kee from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Not Recommended”
Can't think of any to recommend
Beliw expectation
Reviewed February 23, 2015
6.7
Good
VANESSA from Switzerland
Couple
Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Good for one night ”
Airport not too far
We stay for one night, not to fare from the airport, spacious room !
Reviewed February 04, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
ryan from United States
Couple
Twin with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
Couldn't make it.”
No idea couldn't make it so I had to eat the cost.
My girl hurt her foot so I booked another place that was more convenient. Heard from another guy it is pretty good though which is why I booked it. You can get long term discounts if you book for a month.
Reviewed January 30, 2015
2.3
Deniz from Turkey
Solo traveler
Twin with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
A bad experience”
İt was an unpleasant stay. The windows were very small unlike in the photo of the hotel. The shared shower and bathroom were very dirty. We had coffee in the restaurant but the mugs were terribly dirty.
Reviewed January 21, 2015
7.3
Very good
Kendra from United States
Couple
Twin with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Has a lot of potential”
spacious, quiet and comfortble
The place has the potential to become a really cute/boutique Hostel but has a bit of work to do. Nicely decorated but is in need of some serious cleaning. The shower constantly smelled like urine and had lots of mildew, and the floors were dirty, etc. Still, for the area, its one of the cheapest options.
Reviewed January 12, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Naszry from Singapore
Solo traveler
Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 6 nights in December 2014
Great place to stay!!”
The people, the food and the amenities
It was such a memorable and enjoyable experience staying at La Place. I recommend this place and will definitely come back if i had the chance to.
Reviewed December 19, 2014
7.0
Very good
Laricevs from Latvia
Solo traveler
Deluxe - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
Good for Budget travelers only”
Satisfied with low price, very quite atmosphere and helpful staff.
Reviewed November 24, 2014
7.3
Very good
Roselle from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Accommodating Staff”
Staff, Location, Quiet
La Place Guesthouse is a guesthouse with bar/lounge, but it is surprisingly quiet, despite the location which is very near the highway. It is not beachfront but only a few minutes by walking to nearby white sand beaches in Maribago. Unfortunately, most of the beaches in Maribago is privately owned, so one needs to pay entrance fee to get to the beach. The only public beach is Karancho, but you still need to pay entrance fee to get in. The downside are the mosquitos, but the highlight is the friendliness of the staff. Very accommodating. The check-out time is 2pm but they allowed me to stay until 5pm as my flight to Manila departs at 8pm only. Although, most of the staff are resting during the day (because the bar is open until 2am) they are more than willing to wake up for you when you need to arrange for an early meal or island hopping tour. All in all, the place could use some aesthetic improvements, could do something about the mosquitos, but the friendly and accommodating staff balances all the disadvantages.
Reviewed June 26, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
HIDEO from Japan
Group
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
reasonable guesthouse”
location staff rate
This is a reasonable guesthouse near Mactan Beach. The room is spacios and clean. The staffs are kind and friendly.
Reviewed June 06, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
HIDEO from Japan
Business traveler
Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
good hotel”
staff, location and room
This is a small guesthouse in a good location in Maribago. The manager and the staffs are kind and accomodate for everything and the rooms are clean. I can reccomend this to anyone.
Reviewed May 26, 2014
5.3
marseille from Philippines
Group
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
It was fun it place is close to local restaurants”
Near to a local restaurant,highway,near to imperial palace
I
Reviewed April 29, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
SUNG from South Korea
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
It is crean rooms with nice budget in Mactan.”
Crean, budget, comfotable
This is already several times I used to stay here. This hotel have great crean rooms compare with other accommodatations around this area. There are two rooms with owned CR and shower rooms. If you are couple traveler must choose one of the rooms. By the way there is no public beach in Mactan, it means you should have plan where you go for water activities.
Reviewed April 17, 2014
6.3
Good
Manimaran from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Unique n affordable hotel but rather bad location.”
Unique, affordable and quiet.
It was hard to find this hotel. When finally arrived, no one was there. Called the number given but it was the wrong number. Cleaner lady gave the correct number and within 5 mins staff(owner perhaps) arrive to check us in. Rooms feels like a typical filipino home. Very cosy and comfortable. In house bar opens in the evening but never saw any customers. Lapu lapu is pretty much a dead town. Better stay in Cebu city and head to lapu lapu for the day trip.
Reviewed April 15, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Joergen from Denmark
Couple
Deluxe - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Extremely good value for Money”
good bar, quiet surrondings, attentive staff
Reviewed March 20, 2014
5.3
SYLVIE from France
Couple
Deluxe - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
not the best. Strong smell in the room”
just near the Maribago Grill (one of the best restaurant in Mactan), big shower and air-con
It was not easy to find. The taxi has difficulty to find it. It was at night and the name of the hotel is not appearing outside (not visible from the street). Breakfast too expensive for what it is. The tap was not clean. Very big window that make the room very hot, air-con (noisy) to be used all the time. A lot of mosquito outside. Hotel OK for 1 or 2 nights
Reviewed February 24, 2014
6.0
Febbie from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
It's alright.”
The only thing I liked was the bed because it was comfortable for me.
I got so annoyed when I arrived because there was no bellboy or even a male staff to get my luggage. I need to rely on the taxi driver to get my bags from the trunk to the main entrance. I noticed all female staff was there and I did not feel safe at all especially that I am a single-lady traveler. Beside the stairs going up to the rooms was a creepy-looking garden. However, if you're looking for hotel with less rate you can go for this one and just endure the room without WiFi.
Reviewed February 03, 2014
5.0
Jose from Philippines
Couple
Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
good for short stay if you're on a budget”
price, friendly staff, accessible to public transport
The room given to us had private toilet and bath, but other shared common bathrooms. The place had only 8 rooms at that time (Jan. 9, 2014) but there seem to be plan to expand upwards as there were stairs leading to a 3rd floor, which was unfinished. The steel bars for the posts were protruding from the ground of the 3rd floor, which made an irritating sound when the wind blew them against each other. If you're a light sleeper, you'll have a hard time sleeping well. Bed was soft enough though. And although they offered free wifi, unfortunately for us, they informed me they were having problems so I couldn't use the wifi. Also, the place is hard to spot since they had a tiny vertical sign which seem faded. And on the outside, it looked like it wasn't operating. you have to enter through the bar/resto's gate. The staff aren't around in the morning (up to about 10am). They probably sleep when the bar closes in the wee hours of the morning.
Reviewed January 14, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
JUNSIK from South Korea
Couple
Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
comfortable”
nice and kind and understandable staffs
it was great time due to staffs in the inn.good, nice, kind staffs helped us to enjoy our holiday in mactan island.
Reviewed January 03, 2014
4.7
Angela from Philippines
Couple
Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
If you can find another place, do so”
Frindly staff
We arrived the airport at midnight and no taxi would want to take us to this hotel, they were saying they didn't know were it is. We already asked the airport guard to help us out to convince driver to take us as we had somewhat a language barrier and finally one agreed. We got lost while looking for the ppace as there was no street indicated in the printout. I tried calling the contact number indicated but it cannot be reached. The taxi driver was already irate as we already took several u-turns and the people in the area didn't know the place as well. Finally while we were going around i got lucky and saw the sign. VERY hard to find.
Reviewed November 26, 2013
4.7
Taichiro from Japan
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
Just a budget hotel in maribago”
Location in maribago, accicessibily to resort hotels and easiness to catch taxi or jeepneys
we stayed at this budget hotel just one night before going back to manila after we spent a vacation at olango island. We chose this hotel mainly beacause of its location and actually we could get to maribago blue water for swimming and dinner in five minutes. But quality of hotel is just for backpackers. Hotel room has only beds and we had to use outside shower and bath rooms with other visitors. It also very noisy all night because it faces main road and was so messy..
Reviewed October 27, 2013
3.7
Neil from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe - Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in July 2013
Just Basic”
Cheap, good location, accessible
Reviewed October 14, 2013
8.3
Excellent
KUNIHARU from Japan
Group
Deluxe - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
nice and neat”
very friendly bar at the garden quiet
good for diver very close to some of diving shops chat at the bar at nice with staff make us relax and feel we are in resort place
Reviewed September 15, 2013