Book Now: Lacasa Hotel

Good
From 171 reviewsSee what guests said
6.9

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (171)Booking.com Reviews (21)
6.9
Good
From 171 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.4
Facilities5.0
Location7.5
Room comfort and quality7.3
Service6.7
Value for money7.2
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Tiếng Việt
Français
ภาษาไทย
more
Room type
Triple
Standard With Breakfast
Superior
Superior Triple
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 169 verified guest comments
6.7
Good
Jason from Australia
Couple
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Great value for money. Central location”
Great value for money. Central location.
After catching the overnight train from Hanoi our room was available immediately with a complimentary room upgrade. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was clean but quite dated. The hot water generally only lasted for about 5 minutes; however heated up again within 10 minutes. The breakfast was average. The hotel was in a great location with quick access to the markets and restaurants. After check out our bags were secured in storage and we were given the option to have a shower prior to catching the overnight train to Hanoi. Overall great value
Reviewed April 21, 2013
6.0
Tam from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Cold but clean & good breakfast”
Price, breakfast, friendly staff
Reviewed April 17, 2013
7.0
Very good
Yasemin from Germany
Couple
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
ok for the price but not the best.”
only the location, the staff is friendly
We booked a mountain view room, but we dont get. At the description they say, that there is a daily fresh fruit basket and fresh coffee and tea plus cooking facilities at the room. But we get nothing. Even the free hairdryer was not at the room. I had to pick it up at the reception. I asked, why we dont get the free things, at the reception but they say only that they dont offer it anymore. I mean I booked this hotel after comparing. There are a lot of hotels for the same price, but we choose it because of the free extras.
Reviewed April 16, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Peter from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in April 2013
A good cheap hotel - would stay again”
Comfortable bed, attentive staff, large room
Stayed with my Grand-daughter and did local tours and trekking through Sapa O'Chau around the corner. Used this hotel as a base camp. Room was large and comfortable. The sink in the bathroom block up and a maintenance man came within five minutes of me reporting it to clear the block. Nice competitively priced souvenir and trekking supplies shop on the ground floor. Because the hotel is located on the side of the hill, coming home from the restaurants is a daunting climb on a full belly.
Reviewed April 14, 2013
5.7
Patricia from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Balcony with nice view of countyside”
Really nice old building-balconies-breakfast included
Reviewed April 04, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Neville from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Great location, helpful staff, large room -balcony”
Good breakfast and extremely helpful staff and manager, organized great tour and private vehicle to see Love & Silver waterfalls..
very good value & with great location, balcony over looking mountains and downtown sapa which is about 100m away. breakfast was substantial, so only need nibbles until dinner.
Reviewed March 06, 2013
5.7
ANDY from Canada
Couple
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Great location but that's about it”
Good location near the main square and market
It is nice that breakfast is included with hotel stays, but when we saw one of the cooks smell and question the noodle freshness, our breakfast was finished at that point. As mentioned with other reviews, it can get cold depending on what season you stay. The rooms are not equipped with heaters. There is also a bar/karaoke place downstairs near the reception area. Bring earplugs because the music and bad singing does not stop for a while. If you like to watch TV, be prepared to flip through six channels of Vietnamese programs. An unplugged mini fridge consisted of two bottles of water (not complimentary) and a can of 7-Up. Reception staff seem eager to sell you tours with a "smile". Shop around. Plenty of tour companies that offer the exact same thing for a lower cost. Consider hiring a local guide to show you around or trekking. Showers have okay pressure and hot water. Shop around for hotels. There are many in Sapa.
Reviewed February 06, 2013
5.3
Mitchell
Couple
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Good breakfast is the saving grace of this hotel”
Breakfast
This hotel is cold, dark, dingy, out of the way. Views are ok, but you can do far better. No heater in the room unless you rent for, lighting is poor making any reading in the room difficult. I'm sure the building is historic, and the price is reasonable, so if that's what you're after it could be for you. It certainly wasn't for us. Breakfast was also very good, with good variety and selection.
Reviewed February 06, 2013
5.7
Khanh from Vietnam
Couple
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Friendly staffs but old room”
Staffs are very nice and helpful
Even though we arrived early, they still let us in. They were willing to show us the direction to go the market. There is nothing to complain about the staffs there. However, the room is old and super cold. It was quite scary when living there. The hall is long and dark; the window in the bathroom can't be closed; the door opened by itself due to the old lock; the light turned on-off by itself. We decided to move after one night staying in the hotel.
Reviewed January 26, 2013
6.7
Good
greg from New Zealand
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Friendly hotel”
Large rooms
adequate older hotel suitable for our needs, shower not water tight so water seeping into walls leaving a musty smell. staff very helpful.
Reviewed January 17, 2013
6.3
Good
Zsofia from Hungary
Couple
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
cold hotel...”
clean
we stayed here in december, and it was so cold. rented a heater for 5$ per day, but it was still cold. clean but cold. at summer it is probably better.
Reviewed January 09, 2013
6.0
Tam from Hong Kong
Group
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
good location”
reasonable price
This is my second time staying in this hotel. The room they give me this time is on the other side which is very very cold. No heater is provided unless you pay them $5us for a day.The washroom is very old and the door is broken. However, the hot water is all right
Reviewed January 09, 2013
6.0
Nicholas from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Hotel room did the job but staff not very helpful”
Goo location
Hotel was situated in a good location close to everything we needed. Staff were not very helpful when we were checkin out trying to overcharge us for items we had already paid for which left us with not a very good lasting impression of the hotel.
Reviewed January 07, 2013
8.0
Excellent
NEO from Singapore
Family with young children
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Big room with friendly staffs!”
Great breakfast.
staffs was friendly and helpfull. It is still very cold even with warmer added...
Reviewed January 03, 2013
6.0
stephen from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Alright hotel”
Not much?
How this is the top rated hotel in Sapa i don't know. Don't get me wrong its nice enough, but the raptures that some have gone into are.... just.... odd. Rooms- nice enough (buuuuuuut if you want a heater thats an extra $5 a day. Breakfast- alright Service- Friendly
Reviewed December 26, 2012
7.3
Very good
Ewa from Poland
Group
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Beautiful buiding and nice staff but cold room”
good food
The hotel was ok - situated 5 minutes walk from the centre. Building itself looks stylish and it is situated on the hill so there is a view from the tarrase. The staff was very nice - even though we haven't informed them about arriving early thay lat us in without problems. Room was very big with balcony, but it was very very cold, there has been no heating and Sapa is a cold place, so we were slipping under two duvets. Bathroom wasn't also so so, but more less clean.
Reviewed December 26, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Jelle from Netherlands
Couple
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Great location”
Location
Good hotel. Location is super. Don't buy the tours in the hotel, but walk to the centre of the city. Near the square there are a lot of woman who can give you tours. We've did a 6 hour tour including lunch in the house of the woman for 10 dollar.
Reviewed December 18, 2012
6.3
Good
Hoe from Singapore
Couple
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Nice Hotel”
Everything was nie, except no Wifi in the room.
Overall the staff is good. except the last day before check out, I run out of VND and try to pay my dinner by USD, the counter staff not wiling to help. But the restaurant staff is very helpful. Thank you for her helps.
Reviewed December 06, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Richard from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Good location, beautiful room”
Centrally located, large rooms, good breakfast included with room, left luggage service, friendly helpful staff
Arrived early in the morning to trek. Staff readily agreed to store my large pack until I returned. The room was great- large with a balcony. Totally satisfied with this place. Great value, great location
Reviewed December 02, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Richard from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Wonderful view”
Clean, quiet, central.
This hotel has a great location with wonderful views, yet is within easy walking distance of the town,just a matter of about 100-200 meters . The tourist info centre is also very near and opposite is a place which handles various bus bookings, including for me to Dien Bien Phu. There is a book exchange opposite, which is handy if you have read your books and want some more, including guidebooks.
Reviewed December 01, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Komarov from Czech Republic
Business traveler
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Cheap and cool”
atmosphere of the old mansion
Very cheap. There is a shop with warm clothing near the lobby, you can buy souvenirs and all for your trekking. Travel agency is near. Located in the heart of the city
Reviewed November 15, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
sharon from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Beautiful views,,open windows fresh clean air”
beautiful,,views,,valleys and mountains
the room was very clean and the views of the valley and the mountains and fresh mountain air,,,were spectactular,,,,i loved the fact the windows were open and the fresh air so nice after travelling.,,,the room was big and clean and the shower was the best i had in months,,nice hot water,,,,i really liked this place and i would stay again,,,and not hesitate to recomend others stay here,,,
Reviewed November 07, 2012
7.0
Very good
greg from New Zealand
Family with teens
Triple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Older style hotel”
good size rooms
found the location to be good and a short walk to the town centre.Rooms a little tired and smelt musty/damp due to shower water running into walls. But the staff are very helpful and friendly , and also allowed us to shower afterwe had checked out befor we travelled back to get the night train to Hanoi.
Reviewed October 30, 2012
5.0
David from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Cheap room”
Nice staff
I can't recommend this hotel. The room was so-so, location could have been better, and they completely screwed-up my train reservation. Paid for a private rail car back to Hanoi, was put in a 6-bed berth on the government car. Try a place down towards the Hill Station Cafe, you'll be much happier.
Reviewed October 20, 2012
7.3
Very good
Anthony from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
nice colonial style hotel”
large rooms friendly staff
Good hotel for the money . Alot of the walking tours meet here. Rooms large with air con. Bathrooms lack finesse but are large. The downside of this hotel is because the coridors are so big the sound travels round them and can be heard in rooms
Reviewed October 17, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Craig from United States
Couple
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
Very nice hotel with views of mountains”
Great staff. Very helpful and nice buffet breakfast.
This hotel is in a great location. Coffee shop near by. Great views from windows. Great breakfast buffet and super friendly and helpful staff.
Reviewed October 17, 2012
7.7
Very good
Julius from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Nice hotel with nice service”
Spacious room, good breakfast
Love this hotel. I stay two night, and enjoy my stay. My Check in is early since I'm arrive by night train, but they prepare my room quickly that I can get in my room as soon as I'm done with the registration. They clean my room and change the towel each day. Breakfast is buffet, and quite complete for this price. There is a bath tub, but too bad it is broken in my room. But it's no problem, since the shower still okay.
Reviewed October 15, 2012
7.0
Very good
Ray from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Not ideal but criticisms accepted, ”
View- but never saw it because of clouds
Pick up from station meant waiting in a minibus for the next train- almost an hour. Had to make a fuss to be checked in on arrival. Breakfast really bad- cold greasy fried eggs. One day the hot water was off for repairs.
Reviewed October 10, 2012
8.0
Excellent
almohalla from Spain
Couple
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Good location. Clean.”
Location
Nice staff. Good location. Clean. Comfortable rooms
Reviewed October 07, 2012
7.0
Very good
Matt from New Zealand
Couple
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Niceish Hotel, good location ”
Helpful staff, nice views
Good stay, I made a error with booking dates which was fixed with no issues, they also arranged our onward transport which was good.
Reviewed October 06, 2012
5.7
low from Malaysia
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
Big hotel but no good maintain”
Good location
We stayed 1 night in this old hotel. We arrived at 6.40am and had an early check in. The room was big but quite old & scary.The staff is no so polite & helpful.
Reviewed October 02, 2012
7.7
Very good
Hoang from Vietnam
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
nice room”
restaurant is remarkable
nice room with great view. the restaurant is remarkable.breakfast buffet was very good you should try banana pie :) . already recommend for friend
Reviewed September 20, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Christine from United States
Couple
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Good value, exceptional views in Sapa!”
Nice views
After looking at a couple other places in person before we booked though Agoda, we feel we found good value. The room was basic, but comfortable - although I believe we could feel the springs through the bed. The breakfast was quite a spread. Wifi in the lobby, but only certain areas like at the reception counter where they've got some stools set up.
Reviewed August 23, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Richard from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Nice Hotel in Sapa”
location, buffet breakfast, rooms are huge
I stayed for 1 night in Hoang Ha hotel in Sapa. I arrived at around 7am and had an early check-in (plus points!). They gave me a room with no view of the mountains but it was okay for me since you could see the view from outside. The room was quite old and quite scary at times. There were also big mosquitoes so bring a mosquito repellent when you stay here. But overall, I was satisfied with my stay here. It's great value for money!
Reviewed August 21, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Ng from Singapore
Group
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Lovely Hotel”
Sightseeing of the Mountain View
Like ther service of the staffs, location & the food. Satisfeid with the transport arrangement to go to Lao Cai. Hope to come back again.
Reviewed August 20, 2012
6.0
Tien from Vietnam
Couple
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
big hotel with helpful staff”
you can ask anything and be advised wisely by staff there
I think hotel need better decoration and equipments inside: fridge (mini bar) or air-condition (despite cool weather there) At the reception area, some more chairs needed for customers waiting (despite there is also a waiting room)
Reviewed August 07, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Riccardo from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Very nice hotel”
Excellent location, spacious room.
My stay at the hotel was good, I liked the room which was big and comfortable. The staff was nice and helpful. The breakfast is also good with many different choices.
Reviewed July 20, 2012
7.3
Very good
nguyen from Vietnam
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
An unexoected change of hotel. ”
view!
As we arrived around 7 AM, the staff apologized us that they were too crowded the previous night so they need some more time to prepared the room. We wait until 10:30 (using internet and play billiard in the lobby, dislike the music!). A nice guy came and told us that it was a heavy rain last night and our room on the 3 flour was fully wet, they could not fix it, they were sorry and arranged us a room in the opposite hotel which has a very nice view and quite spacy and clean. Althought i am not particularly fond of the bathroom interior and the hot water is limited and it ran slowly. The bed room is rather nice with an amazing view from the balcony (foggy mountains, so beautiful and peaceful village, sometimes, fog came in the room too, which is soo cool!. hotel staff was very helpful.
Reviewed July 18, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Jarek from Poland
Solo traveler
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
excellent location”
location
good location, quick access to the center, nice view of the hils from the room. Choose higher floor, if you have the option to choose....
Reviewed July 16, 2012
7.3
Very good
valeria from Italy
Couple
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Very big room!”
Room and breakfast very good!
The staff is no so polite and they speak a poor english. You have to check the docket from the bar because they add money! It's a big hotel but no good maintened! Our room was very big with window and balcony in front of the mountain....
Reviewed July 13, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Chatsiri from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Good service with proper price”
the room size is ok
- we arrived at hotel early morning so we couldn't check in coz the room was not ready. by the way staff offered us to use another room that has just checked out to take a bath and change clothes. then left the luggages, went out and came back again to check in around 11 am. we so appreciated about that. - hot shower sometimes not working or have to wait for warm up.
Reviewed July 04, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Amalina from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Lovely hotel at the foothill”
Location is just walking distance to town centre
great service, great view-make sure you ask for 3rd floor, otherwise your view will blocked by starlight hotel, great facilities, best food i had so far in vietnam-breakfast, dinner and lunch. the hotel also cater for vietnamese, so their foods are cheap.....but, very delicious. the staffs are very helpful. i like how they make the room- opened windows and door to the balcony, so everyday you will be greet by wind breeze from the valley. downside, no internet in the room. free wi-fi only in common room, which is on first floor.....but, with great treat of sapa valley's view and breeze, it's good to forget the world for awhile.
Reviewed July 02, 2012
6.3
Good
Alison from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Very helpful staff”
Spacious bedrooms
The hotel is in need of some repair, the bathrooms definitely need remodeling. however, it still has the charm that the photos imply. The hotel staff were very helpful with at least one person on reception who had adequate English skills at all times. The breakfast was included but was not up to standard. However, friends who stayed elsewhere had difficulty finding anywhere in Sapa able to provide as decent breakfast.
Reviewed July 02, 2012
7.3
Very good
Lara from United States
Solo traveler
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
A little old, but nice”
big room, hot water, nice breakfast
fine room, a bit dingy. nice breakfast. good, hot water.
Reviewed June 25, 2012
7.3
Very good
Zarni from Myanmar
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Great location...large but old rooms”
10 minutes walk from the town area
The hotel is nice overall. The rooms are big but a bit old. Breakfast was good... But the next day we went down 30 minutes before the closing time and there were no food left. We had to ask for coffee, bread and noodle soup. The hotel is good for the price.
Reviewed June 22, 2012
5.7
Louise from Australia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Large rooms but very tired looking”
nothing much
The hotel was probably once very nice. It looks ok from outside but inside but inside the rooms are pretty sad. Lots of mozzies in our room. The chinese tourists there wake you up around 5ish
Reviewed June 20, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Jeremy from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Need better rooms”
Good location and staff
the staff were very helpful and the location of the hotel was quite near the town central, just a short 5 min walk to the markets. the rooms weren't so perfect. the toilet floor was flooding and the hangers for clothes were rusting. view was decent though. lot's of tour groups uses this hotel for mass booking, so if you want some peace and quiet you'd probably want something else.
Reviewed June 15, 2012
6.7
Good
Matthew from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Great Location”
Nice & Big, plenty of room to spread out
this hotel must have been a splender in its day. sits on the hill just up the road from main street. a wonderful cake shop opposite, the hotel has a lovely alfresco area with pool table and internet. the rooms are good, with hot water and all the trimmings. breakfast is ok. with a bit more tender loving care this hotel could be the best in town.
Reviewed June 09, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Kelly from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
Large, comfortable room with a great breakfast”
Spacious rooms with a very comfortable bed
Great hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Hotel is a 10 minute walk from the town centre but worth the walk as the hotel is very quite.
Reviewed May 24, 2012
7.7
Very good
Justin from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard With Breakfast
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
good service and clean”
nice clean room. great view of the town since it is located on a high ground overlooking the town.
overall a good experience and value for money. sapa o'chau is a cafe just down the road from this hotel which offers great treks and home stays in the nearby villages. guides are local hmong girls with a good command of english. very informative and friendly. it's run by hmong people in support of a school for the village children. best way to see the beautiful landscape.
Reviewed May 12, 2012