Book Now: Lake Lodge

Excellent
From 893 reviewsSee what guests said
8.6
/
10
Recommended by 100% of guests

Reviews of Lake Lodge Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (893)Booking.com Reviews (434)
8.6
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness9.2
Facilities8.4
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality8.6
Service8.9
Value for money8.4
All languages
All guests (893)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 857 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Sejal from United Kingdom
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Great location & staff”

Lake Lodge is ideally located between most sites. Taking a Tuk Tuk is cheap with a few within walking distance. The staff are very attentive and professional making the stay well worthwhile. They are willing to make reservations for dinner on your behalf. Breakfast is great, keeps you full until lunchtime. We loved it here and will definitely come back.

Reviewed April 20, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
David from United States
Couple
First Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Very Nice Hotel”

We spent two nights here. Hotel quiet & very conveniently located. Great room! Extremely comfortable & clean, large. Staff helpful & friendly, Breakfast very good. Opt for Sri Lankan breakfast in advance. Would stay again if returning to Colombo. Highly recommend!

Reviewed April 15, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Georges from Canada
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Beautiful boutique hotel well located”

We really enjoyed our two stays at this modern, nice and comfy boutique hotel. We were there to start our sejour in Sri Lanka and again at the end of our excursion before returning home. Its location is perfect in a calm environment near a nice lake. Staff is cordial and competent. A special thank to its GM Mr Hareez Rizwan for his kindness.

Reviewed April 22, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Izumi from Japan
Family with young children
Garden Suite
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016

Wonderful Stay”

We stayed at the Suite room at the Lake Lodge for two nights. We really like the atmosphere of the room. We had breakfasts and dinner there, and all were delicious. We highly recommend to try Sri Lanka breakfast. The staff was attentive and friendly. We really had a great stay.

Reviewed August 04, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
vikhram from India
Couple
First Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2014

One of Asia's best kept secret”

Beach, Breakfast, Pool

The room was cozy enough.. We stayed in the ground floor which comes with two entrances.. the back entrances leads us to the beach.. special thanks to guest realtions officer if you reading this.. Thanks a lot for the surprise cake for the honeymoon.. We wanted to personally thank you, but we could not reach you when we left. Its always advissable to order in room dining its much cheaper than eating in their restaurant or eating outside.. To tell you the truth i am not a beach fan.. I prefer the mountains more Until i came to this hotel. i actually did learn how to surf the beach is relatively untouched- One of Asia's best kept secret.. i could walk like 50 metres into the beach the water would be just until my chest.. and the waves are pretty awesome.. the scenery is just amazing.. most of the times I would think should i be in the pool? or in the beach? or should i be taking the pictures.. This has a semi private beach. they wont allow you to play after 6 for safety reasons.. so go to the pool.. Amazing all over again.. btw.. the restaurant is pricey.. but the breakfast is JUSt amazing.have a wonderful mix of western, organic, srilankan, Indian, and healthy food.. Wow the first time i tried a bitterguard juice..

Reviewed September 11, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
E from Malaysia
Business traveler
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014

High Quality Service with medium price range”

Central location, friendly staff and quiet surroundings

the location is very convenient yet it is located in a quiet spot. price is suitable for those who doesn't want to spend on high budget with colombo 5 stars hotel but still getting quality service. rooms are perfect and breakfast was good.

Reviewed June 19, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
MICHAEL from Australia
Solo traveler
First Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

A must-go Hotel”

Service, comfort, food.

Beautifully designed, lovely bed and room, great staff [attentive, respectful] and fabulous food. Also well-positioned for main sights in Colombo {Not a great City, but worth a night, or two - if you're recovering from a flight]. I am on the road with one of their recommended driver/guides, Asoka, who you can book via Hotel [ask for Alistair Stanwell who organises drivers - a superb service] I can't fault Lake Lodge - loved it.

Reviewed April 26, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Jason from Australia
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

Fantastic hotel, great location”

The room, the service, the location

Very impressed with the Lake Lodge. Very comfortable room, very clean. The service was excellent and the food was very good. The location is great. Short tuk tuk ride into the city. Not much to see though as the shopping is poor. The temples and lake nearby are very nice. Recommend going up to the Skybar of the Legend Hotel for drinks in the city if you stay here.

Reviewed April 07, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Jasper from United Kingdom
Couple
First Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2013

Relaxed, well-run & peaceful - an oasis in Colombo”

Great service, dining, relaxing ambience

Overall we had a great stay. The hotel is modern and well managed, with nice attention to detail everywhere you look, though I think they could improve on the blanket concrete-grey effect in the rooms. Menu and bar options were well priced and of a high standard, and service was excellent. The location is superb, situated between a lovely lake and the beachfront, and central Colombo is walkable - though it can be a little tricky to find, especially in the dark with lots of winding alleyways nearby to get lost in! Just a few quibbles - water was only lukewarm at times, and ceiling fan didn`t work. Flushing could be a mission too on the `classic style` WCs. I would recommend checking these things out before taking a room.

Reviewed September 17, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
florencia
Solo traveler
First Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2013

Cozy, small boutique hotel in the middle of city”

Attentive staff, good breakfast, location

Went to Srilanka with a good friend and stayed at Lake Lodge for our final night in Colombo. Had a superb time. Friendly, attentive staff, excellent breakfast food, central location (close to attractions such as Galle Fort and Old Dutch Hospital shopping area). Room was clean and cozy. Value for money!

Reviewed September 16, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Isaac from Singapore
Solo traveler
First Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2013

Beautifully designed hotel. Great quiet stay.”

Quiet, contemporary design, great location

Driving up the alley into the hotel, you would think the hotel is a basic stay but it is anything but that. As the transport pulls into the hotel, I was floored by the minimalist and contemporary design. The hotel is right by the lake and it is very quiet and peaceful. A Bawa designed temple sits on the lake and is a must visit.

Reviewed June 24, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Timothy from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2013

Chic, friendly and value for money”

Nice design, delicious menu, generous inclusive breakfast

Lake Lodge was our last stay after 2 weeks in Sri Lanka and it was without a doubt the most thought through and well designed venue. The staff were kind and helpful, breakfast was delicious, the roof is lovely to have a drink/dinner. The rooms are comfy with nice clean large bathrooms, with powerful hot showers - although you are not encouraged to open the curtains as there is little view to speak of so I felt slightly that I was in a cave (but I actually quite liked the effect!).

Reviewed April 22, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
David from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

Friendly staff & classy boutique hotel”

Walking distance to many nearby attractions & sites

My second visit to Sri Lanka & unlike the 1st visit this hotel was on top of my expected late arrival from the international airport in the early hours after midnight. A room was ready & my arrvial expected & with little fuss & paperwork I was off to bed after a long travel day. Excellent breakfast options & service from the staff was right on the money. Front desk team were helpful with local information & guidance when assistance was requested. Free of charge WIFI was a bonus. My room was modern & appointed with everything I needed, especially an adaptor for charging of various electronic devices.

Reviewed February 23, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Aziera from Singapore
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2012

Cosy rooms”

A walking distance to nearby malls/attractions.

The room we stayed at was really nice and comfortable. The malls, lake and restaurants are within a walking distance so be careful not to get ripped off by the tuk-tuks. The hotel also provides free wi-fi and it works just fine.

Reviewed September 29, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Sara from Australia
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2012

Great modern little hotel, great breakfast”

good location in colombo

We were reasonably impressed with this hotel, although the room we initially checked into had a stench of smoking, but they immediately moved us to another room. Good location and a really nicely made breakfast.

Reviewed September 25, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Charlotte from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2012

Nice hotel in quiet location”

Great breakfast and dinner!

A lovely hotel where I had a great rest after a long flight. Great food for dinner and airport pick-up was a definite plus. I would definitely recommend organising this before you arrive so you don't have to queue up in the long taxi line. Staff were friendly and there were no problems during my stay.

Reviewed September 10, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Eddy from France
Family with young children
First Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2012

great central location and nice clean rooms”

location, rooms, quiet

first time I book this hotel and this hotel has great value for money. it is centrally located in Colombo, near the Cinnamon grand, Galle face hotel and the beira lake. however it is quiet and away from the main roads so one can sleep well. service was good and staff agreeable despite a late arrival.

Reviewed September 02, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Eddy from France
Family with young children
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2012

very good location, nice clean rooms, quiet”

good service, comfortable rooms at this price

I enjoyed staying at the lake lodge which I would recommend having tried other and pricier hotels in colombo. Colombo has good boutique hotels and lake lodge is one of them. do not expect a spa or a leisurely retreat it is more of a business hotel in a quiet and convenient location at good value for money. will definitely stay there again if I need to spend a few nights in Colombo.

Reviewed September 02, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Brian from United States
Couple
Garden Suite
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012

An Island of Serenity in a Sea of Chaos”

Location, location, location

I found this gem in the new Lonely Planet which rates it one of 2 "top choices" for Colombo. A small, immaculate, inn in a hidden corner right near the center. The Lake Suite includes your own private garden. We loved the place.

Reviewed August 27, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Lukas from Australia
Solo traveler
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Lovely boutique hotel secret”

Modern styled rooms and welcoming staff

This is was a nice surprise down by the lake in Colombo 3. Small hotel, which almost feels like a modern airy family home, with sleek and cleverly-styled rooms. Don't be deceived by the pictures on the site - these rooms are bright, clean and new. Modern decor and design with clever traditional design element. I felt like I was home when I cam here.

Reviewed June 12, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
CHOY from Singapore
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012

Boutique hotel with modern decor”

Very good value for money

hotel is located in a residential area away from the crowd. attractions are within a 4-km range from the hotel. we walked everywhere to/from hotel. tuk-tuks are always available just outside the hotel gate. good sized rooms, very modern decor with new furnishing. very clean and has adequate facilities. choice of breakfast (a selection of 3 types) was good. cable tv with good selection of english programmes are available in-room. hotel is bungalow style with 12 standard rooms on 2 floors and 1 private garden suite. we stayed on the ground floor and next to the staff service room. as the place is small, there is no avoiding this. so you can hear the frequent opening and closing of the staff service room door and this can be quite early in the morning. aside from that, we are very happy with the hotel.

Reviewed March 10, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Thi from United Kingdom
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

Great value modern boutique hotel in quiet area”

Modern decor, good location by lake and near presidential residence

we arrived at the hotel on our last night in sri lanka around half 7 pm after a long drive from dabulla and we left early in the morning to catch our flight back home so it was a shame that we did not get to sample the hotel more and also colombo. the room was nicely decked out, no hairdryer, and i was disappointed with the toiletries available to use. no hairdryer. we changed our check out time from 6 to 5.45am and asked for a packed breakfast. the hotel manager didnt register this and asked us to wait a further 5 minutes, we were already late and when i said we couldnt wait as our driver wanted to leave, he seemed to be quite offended.. i thought it wasa bit unneccesary!

Reviewed March 04, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Elisa from Indonesia
Couple
First Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011

Quaint hotel, a gem hidden in Colombo”

Location, ambience & service

did not expect that the hotel will be so beautiful. it is slightly hidden, but most taxi drivers have been there because the hotel has been there since the 1970s, renovated 2 years ago. glad i didnt spend the money to stay in chain hotels. staff are very friendly but discreet. would highly recommend this to anyone staying in colombo. nice breakfast too. a generous platter of fruits, yogurt, toast and jam, coffee or tea and fresh juice is included in your hotel fee. add us for eggs.

Reviewed October 17, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Arthur from Malaysia
Group
First Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011

opened the room door and said "wow!"”

The shower!

my first stay at the hotel i booked for a standard room. it was overbooked so they upgraded me to a triple and it was elegant and spacious! although the design concept is cheap and simple (concrete floors/furniture) it looked great. breakfast was simple though - a plate of fruits (3 - pineapple, papaya, banana), some toast, butter, a cup of yoghurt, and a pot of tea/coffee.

Reviewed September 21, 2011
9.6
Exceptional
Siobhan from United Kingdom
Couple
First Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

Great place for quick stay in Colombo”

Stayed one night here and was perfect for a short stay. Room was modern, clean and well-appointed and the location is a 10 to 15 minutes walk to Galle Face and a short tuk tuk ride away to the main city sites. Staff were lovely and the breakfast was great. Good value for money and would definitely recommend.

Reviewed July 11, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Richard from United States
Business traveler
First Floor Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

Lovely place!”

The Lake Lodge was in a great location, the facility was nice, and breakfast excellent. Staff were helpful. Had a lovely environment

Reviewed July 10, 2018
6.0
Orion from United States
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018

Disappointed”

Hotel review Visited for my 40th birthday (which they didn't take note of, despite making me provide my precise birthday upon the check-in form). Great location - very convenient and pretty quiet for a Colombo hotel. Brushed concrete rooms with nice art. A bit dark (small windows). Relatively clean, though walls, rugs and upholstery need a little love. I had to kill about 8 mosquitos in my room. (No mosquito net over bed.) Upon 6pm check-in, I asked for a small bag of laundry to be done. Was told it couldn't be done before my 11am check out. I asked for advice on where/how to have it done off-property. Hotel could not help; they suggested I take it to another hotel (in the rain). After much moaning on my part, they finally agreed to do my laundry on-property (so it was not impossible after all). The laundry charge was relatively expensive - 250 per small piece. The manager who checked us in made a huge to-do about having to pre-order the Sri Lankan breakfast the night before, warning that even with this pre-ordering, it wouldn't be ready until 830. We ordered that night and hungrily counted down minutes in the morning, went to breakfast, and were informed that they lost/forgot our order - we would have to have eggs instead. After 20 more minutes of apologies and toing and froing, they said they could make a modified Sri Lankan breakfast in 40 more minutes. We gave up and ate the underwhelming Western breakfast - so much for flying around the world for a unique 40th birthday. Waiter was very nice - handled the manager's mistakes as graciously as possible. Bad cappuccinos, but comped due to breakfast mistake. Nobody offered an umbrella from taxi to entrance or from lobby to reception during the rain. Overall, pretty disappointing service standards for where this hotel is trying to position itself.

Reviewed January 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Carl from Canada
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

10 OUT OF 10 For staff & service!!”

From the minute you arrive and are greeted with cold clothes and a homemade frozen popsicle the service and staff are wonderful! The rooms are clean and modern with good linens comfy bed and two pillows each some English tv good rain shower quiet for sleeping yet a short block away from a walk around the lake and easy tuk tuk ride to all the main sights. The breakfast was excellent as were both our dinners. The staff were outstanding in their politeness and uniforms and were most helpful With some special requests. They do everything with a smile! We highly recommend this small boutique hotel for such excellent service. I wish the staff had name tags so I would have known all their names.

Reviewed November 25, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Alexander from United Kingdom
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Lovely lovely place to stay”

We stayed here on our first night in Sir Lanka and it was a great start. The staff were so welcoming and the food was fantastic - best single dish we had in Sri Lanka was here. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

Reviewed April 16, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Caitlin from United Arab Emirates
Couple
First Floor Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016

Tranquility in the city center”

I cannot say enough good things about the lake lodge. We had an excellent stay and will come back for sure! The staff are wonderful, the rooms are spotless, beds are comfy and the breakfast is delicious!

Reviewed September 14, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
dutton from United Kingdom
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2016

a real gem!”

Loved this special hotel from the moment we recieved a welcome lime, ginger and mint ice pop, really nice touch! Our room was beautifully designed, if in an odd basement location opposite dinning tables and staff cleaning facilities but that didnt matter to us. Staff service was excellent and food in restaurant super!! If you are looking for something special in Colombo this is the place...

Reviewed August 08, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
George from United Kingdom
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016

Great Sri Lanka starting point ”

We had a great two nights at lake lodge before we started the rest of our holiday around Sri Lanka. All the staff were very helpful and Raj, the manager, was particularly useful in sorting airport transfer and advising us on the rest of our trip. The room was clean, comfortable and tidy and the food was delicious!

Reviewed July 22, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Sam from Australia
Couple
First Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

Great comfortable base”

This was a fantastic place to start our Sri Lankan adventure. short tuk tuk ride from the bus or train station although we mainly walked about 30-35mins. Staff really helpful and rooms were spot on, clean and extremely comfortable!

Reviewed July 16, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Ken from Australia
Couple
First Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016

Great ”

We had a wonderful stay at Lake Lodge. The staff were very helpful in all thing related to Colombo. The meals were just what you needed after a days cycling into Colombo from Ratnapura. We had Sri Lanka breakfast for the first 2 days & it was perfect. Early breakfast before the flight back home & they were very helpful in assisting with this. Couldn't recommend a better place to stay.

Reviewed July 15, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Ken from Australia
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

Relaxed atmosphere”

This is a great place to relax and unwind after a day of traveling on the train. We arrived on our bicycles from the Fort Railway Station where we arrived from the centre of Sri Lanka. The staff were very welcoming & helpful. We have booked a nights stay when we return to Colombo from Galle & beyond.

Reviewed July 01, 2016
4.4
Lee from Malaysia
Business traveler
First Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2016

Not worth for money .”

Paradise Tintagel is still the best . Lake lodge 's room is too small . Staff isn't informative to inform us sri lankan breakfast has to make a day in advance and they took 30mins to prepare us wetsren breakfast . Facilities is poor .

Reviewed June 23, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Ariadne from Sri Lanka
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016

Wind-down in Colombo ”

At the end of our Sri Lankan adventure we needed to treat ourselves and found the Lake Lodge by Taru. And man, were we treated! From the moment of arrival to the moment of departure were we kindly, attentively yet never intrusively tended to. The staff did everything possible to make us feel welcomed, and what we could gather from any kind of interactions, honored their guests. Food was delicious and clean despite being a bit pricey. Choices were limited still sufficient. The staff rightfully adorn themselves with service excellence. The ground floor rooms are quite dark and the proximity to the kitchen and therefore early morning activity does get a little noisy, so do the doors of the other rooms when being slammed by other unaware guests. Sound-proofing or insulation would definitely help with that. The rooms are well-equipped and carefully designed, although a better mattress would def upgrade the sleep experience at Lake Lodge by Taru. All in all, we spent two lovely days and nights there. Thank you!

Reviewed May 21, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Jerker from Finland
Business traveler
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016

Simply excellent”

This is the perfect place for those who want a small hotel run with great attention to detail. Nice facilities, spotlessly clean, friendly and helpful staff, and the Sri Lankan food cooked on site is fantastic.

Reviewed May 09, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Ka from Singapore
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2016

Nice little charming boutique hotel”

We spent one night over in Colombo and Lake Lodge was perfect for us. It's a little boutique property off the main road with plenty of privacy away from the crowd but yet still within the city in Colombo. Don't expect full facilities though, but if you want the experience of spending a night at a homely and cosy place without paying through your nose, this is a place to consider.

Reviewed May 08, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Stephen from Australia
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016

Perfect in every way.”

Lake Lodge is perfect. The rooms are beautifully designed, as is the whole complex. Every staff member is attentive to your needs. They could not be better. The breakfasts were also delicious. I will be back to stay. It is one of the best places I have stayed.

Reviewed April 07, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Xin from India
Solo traveler
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2016

Great design, smell in the room, bad sound-prove, woke up by noise in living room and kitchen.”

I like location, and design of this place. I stayed on the ground floor. The smell in the room kept me awake, and early in the morning I was woke up by all sorts of noise from the kitchen and common space, which was unpleasant.

Reviewed April 04, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Kathleen from Canada
Couple
First Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

Quiet Location in the Centre of Colombo”

Modern design & decor, location -able to walk to many attractions close by, friendly staff

Very pleasant three days/two nights there. Convenient to have dinner on outside patios. Loved the "Welcome" frozen popicles. A couple of minor issues: very noisy AC, toilet flushing - hit and miss, some communication issues when ordering from menus.

Reviewed March 23, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Ingrid from United States
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016

Great hotel great staff”

Location, service, cleanliness

The hotel was lovely. We arrived in the middle of the night and there was someone to check us in. The staff was extremely helpful in every way. They helped us with our travel arrangements to our next destination. The food was delicious. The hotel is very convenient to all the sights in Colombo.

Reviewed February 03, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Stephen from Ireland
Group
First Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

Very comfortable and cute hotel”

We had a few days here and relaxed in the lounge and on rooftop with their tasty Sri Lankan breakfast! Very clean and tasteful rooms. A nice oasis to hang out in when you return from wandering around the busy streets of Colombo!

Reviewed February 01, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Monique from Australia
Group
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

Welcoming, peaceful oasis with great staff”

Helpful staff, comfort of rooms, close to everything

We had a wonderful time at Lake Lodge - staying for 6 nights at the start of our trip as well and returning for our final night before flying home. The staff were welcoming and ensured we were looked after well - in one instance they went out of our way to open the kitchen late one night when we had been caught up in wedding preparations most of the day and didn't have time to eat. We are particularly grateful for Ceela, Ravi and Raj's helpfulness and warmth during our entire stay.

Reviewed January 06, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Max from United Kingdom
Couple
First Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

Brilliant hotel”

The food, in particular a genuinely excellent pumpkin ravioli. The design: the hotel is beautifully designed, minimalist but warm and inviting. The service was also excellent.

I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone spending any time in Colombo. We were there for a single night but wished we had longer. Our disorganisation meant we weren't able to reserve any of our preferred restaurants, so ended up eating at the hotel. This was a stroke of luck - we ate a candlelit dinner outside in a beautiful setting and had the best meal of our holiday. Leave room for dessert.

Reviewed January 04, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Tingyurn from Malaysia
Family with young children
First Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

Hidden Paradise in Colombo”

The Staff are responsive, food serve are comparable faster than ordinary restaurant.

This is the last Hotel we stay on our trip to Sri Lanka, with no regret, this is one of the most comfortable hotel with newly renovation. but still got room to improve, such as no multi-purpose plug point, no water kettle, no toothbrush set.

Reviewed January 04, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Sven from Denmark
Couple
Garden Suite
Stayed 1 night in December 2015

Friendy impeccable design boutique hotel”

design, staff, location

Wonderful stay from the first moment. we got our room already at 8 am. very modern decor, a true design hotel. excellent service, room was impeccable, breakfast very good (but not typical Sri Lankan food unless you order the night before) with fresh juices. they play chillout music, the llace is actually quite funky. raj the manager and his staff looked after us very well at all times and he organised us a very good tuktuk driver to explore the city. place is centrally located yet very quiet. our room had both aircon and fan.

Reviewed December 23, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Iulia from Romania
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

Stylish boutique hotel in the heart of Colombo”

Tasteful, stylish, courteous staff

I absolutely loved the simple and stylish decor, the concrete floors and walls, the superb bar upstairs, the location, hidden away from main roads. Quiet and small, it felt more like a private residence than a hotel. The staff were friendly and courteous, the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. I would definitely return to Lake Lodge if I'm ever in Colombo again!

Reviewed December 22, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Jonas from Germany
Couple
Garden Suite
Stayed 1 night in October 2015

Pure Excellence”

Service, Beds, Garden-Suite

Amazing place to stay. While the food is a little pricey, everything else exceeded our expectations. The staff are terribly helpful and forthcoming. Definitely the place of choice if and when we go back to Sri Lanka.

Reviewed October 16, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Laura from United Kingdom
Group
Garden Suite
Stayed 1 night in September 2015

Beautiful place and excellent service!”

Food, service, rooms.

We had a brilliant time. The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for you. Food was delicious, cocktails in the bar were lovely, and our room was beautiful. Would definitely return. We all thought it should be more than a 3 star!

Reviewed September 28, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Katharine from United Kingdom
Couple
Garden Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

Perfect for what we needed”

Staff, location and atmosphere

We booked through Agoda and paid a small fee for a room upgrade to the Garden Suite. Room was nice and spacious with a terrace and private entrance. Bed was comfy and bathroom was huge! Slightly damp unpleasant smell to the room but we were only there for one night. Delicious breakfast served on our terrace. Staff polite and good service. Not too far from centre of town. Would recommend to others as it is a nice boutique hotel and convenient. Nice atmosphere and decor. Competitively priced compared to some of the larger Colombo hotels.

Reviewed September 21, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Holly from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Garden Suite
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015

Best Hotel in Colombo”

The staff go above and beyond, in particilar Raj. It is an incredibly tranquil place with beautiful decor. And the rooms are lovely and spacious.

The most relaxing stay, a joy to come here. A faultless stay, made exceptional by the staff and their love and dedication to the comfort of their guests. An absolute pleasure, I will certainly come back here many times!

Reviewed September 04, 2015
8.7
Excellent
James from India
Solo traveler
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015

a labour of love”

style, staff and central location

I stayed at the lake lodge for two days. The food was great, staff were wonderful and helpful and the room was furnished in good taste. What struck me about the lodge was the fact that its design seemed to be a labour of love with attention given to every minute detail. I had an early flight and had to leave at 2:30am and to be given a breakfast bag apparently packed the previous evening, is one of those small things that goes a long way in me not only recommending the lodge but also staying there if I should find myself in Colombo again. Thank you for taking such good care of us.

Reviewed August 24, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Naveed from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2015

Nice hotel”

Very friendly staff, extremely clean, good location

Very easy and simple stay. It's a small boutique hotel so they pay close attention to your needs. I ordered a traditional Sri Lankan breakfast which is included and I would definitely recommend. It's close to local restaurants so is convenient in that regard. All amenities are available that are required. They didn't have a spare iron to lend me so they ironed my shirt for me instead. Lovely hotel surroundings. Not cheap but not too expensive either.

Reviewed July 07, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Tobias from Germany
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015

Nice little gem in the center. ”

Very friendly staff took good care of us.

Lake Lodge is a small villa in the center of Colombo. 5 min walk to all you need. 5 min tuk tuk to the temple, galle face green or the Dutch hospital. Perfect for a short stay in Colombo before you go on tour in Sti Lanka.

Reviewed May 21, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Tomoko from Japan
Couple
Garden Suite
Stayed 1 night in May 2015

loates the heart of the city of Colombo”

modern architecture, spacious, quiet

we stayed there one night. The location is very convenient but was not easy to find the place. If one comes directly from the airport, I would recommend to book the hotel car. We drove from the South, and the driver spent an hour to find there. Hotel was very modern and cosy. Room was well designed and quiet. Although we stayed there only one day, we fully enjoyed staying there. Only pity part was a weak wifi and its availability was only in the area of the lobby.

Reviewed May 09, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Rebecca from United Kingdom
Couple
First Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015

Great hidden gem! Perfect for our stopover.”

The room, staff and the tea!

Perfect. Having flown from Sydney that day, the husband and I were exhausted. Lake lodge was welcoming and more than comforting. The staff stayed up to let us in at 4am and the room was clean, modern and inviting. Couldn't fault it.

Reviewed May 01, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
melanie from Ireland
Couple
First Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

Personal service in chic surroundings.”

Comfortable, Nice location and good design

This is a fantastic small group of villas, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here as well as bentota. Very personal service in chic surroundings. The location of this hotel is great and is a bit removed from the chaotic side of Colombo, however, it is still very easy to get to the night light spots if that's what you are after.

Reviewed April 27, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Javier from Spain
Business traveler
First Floor Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014

Perfect”

Location, style

I stayed there for 3 days. It is beautifully designed and the rooms are very spacious. I had dinner two nights and the food was surprisingly good, in fact the best I had in my 2 weeks in Sri Lanka. Very attentive staff

Reviewed April 13, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Laura from United Kingdom
Group
First Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015

Loved it ”

Lovely room, amazing staff and delicious food

We really enjoyed our two night stay. The rooms were lovely - great bathroom and amazingly comfortable bed. The staff and service were fantastic - it was my birthday while we were there and they surprised us with a birthday cake which was delicious and organised coffee and cake that afternoon. Highly recommend!

Reviewed March 20, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Clyde from United States
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015

Perfect Boutique Hotel with fantastic food”

Food, Design, Location

This is a small beautifully designed hotel with surprisingly great food. No pool, quite small, so not too much public amenities, probably not great for kids, but a superb value for people who like a beautiful hotel. One can walk to much of downtown Colombo.

Reviewed March 11, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Clyde from United States
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015

A Special Place”

Design, Service, and Comfort

A classic modern design with comfort and service at high levels. Set in a small intimate setting, the dining far exceeds what you would expect. This is a special place for those who desire something quiet and intimate.

Reviewed March 07, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Leonie from Australia
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2015

Fantastic Oasis”

Quiet and secluded, friendly staff, great food

Lake Lodge is a small friendly oasis in the middle of Colombo. It's in a great location. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well presented. There are comfortable seating areas. The food was fantastic. Shame we couldn't stay longer.

Reviewed March 05, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
sanjiv from Afghanistan
Couple
First Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2015

Great value for money”

Great location for Fort and Galle. Sri Lankan menu options were stunning. Very pleasant rooms

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms, restaurant and bar area are all very tastefully done up ina modern Asian style and offer a great area to chill and get some respite from Colombo's heat and hustle and bustle

Reviewed March 02, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Francois from Belgium
Family with young children
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2015

Very pleasant stay”

Clean, staff, food

We had a very pleasant stay, the young waiter (tall young guy) who attended us during dinner was really nice. The food was good and the place very quiet. The room were clean. The only negative point might be all these mosquitoes flying around maybe because the hotel is just next to a lake. Easy access to the national museum, fort, market....

Reviewed February 18, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Tania from New Zealand
Couple
Ground Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

Short Stay”

Great Room, Friendly staff, walking Distance to Galle Rd

We had excellent friendly staff, a seamless transfer from the airport and very comfortable stay. We were only there fri one night before going to Kandy. For first timers to Columbo I would Recommend that you get details from the hotel on prices for tuk tuks and common scams as they are definatley you around and can tarnish your first impression. Reccomended stay

Reviewed February 07, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
MARK from United Kingdom
Couple
Garden Suite
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

Lake Lodge Stay”

The Room, The Staff and the Location.

Lovely stay at the Lake Lodge. Our room was the garden suite where we had our own personal garden courtyard. The staff were very good and attentive and the manager was very helpful. The location is pretty central, we walked to most places of interest from here. Would certainly stay here again if ever in Colombo.

Reviewed January 22, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Kathryn from United Kingdom
Couple
First Floor Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

One night in Colombo”

The bed, the shower, the architecture

The hotel is beautiful and the bedrooms very comfortable. The staff were pleasant enough and did make us a packed breakfast (at our request) as we had a very early flight. I would definitely recommend the hotel for a night or two of luxury.

Reviewed January 19, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Christopher from United Kingdom
Couple
First Floor Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2015

A tranquil oasis”

Staff, building location and design, food.

Situated at the end of a quiet cul de sac in the centre of the city the location is perfect. The 'U' shape building is surrounded by trees, providing a setting for a charming and tranquil water garden plus delightful terraces to enjoy simple, but superb meals which are cooked to order using fresh ingredients. We wanted to try the many restaurants in town but were always tempted back to eat three meals a day (4 nights) at the lodge. The rooms are well designed with comfortable beds. Reliable wifi is included. The management and staff are extremely welcoming and helpful. What more could you possibly want?

Reviewed January 19, 2015