Book Now: Lakeside Palace Hotel

Very good
From 289 reviewsSee what guests said
7.7

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (289)Booking.com Reviews (581)
7.7
Very good
From 289 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.5
Facilities6.4
Location8.9
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service7.6
Value for money7.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Tiếng Việt
한국어
日本語
more
Room type
Superior
Deluxe
Lake View
Family City View
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 223 verified guest comments
4.8
Anh from United States
Couple
Family City View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Acceptable”
Non smoking room is too bad
Reviewed October 11, 2017
5.6
Amy
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Above average”
dont trust the pictures showing in the website cos will totally disappointed . only thing good for this hotel is good location.
Reviewed October 04, 2017
6.8
Good
Sabrina from Singapore
Couple
Lake View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Good”
Helpful staff. Breakfast view is beautiful. Location is excellent, walking distance to Hoan Kiem Lake and weekend night market. However, the maintenance of the room was not done properly before the guest check in., i.e. the bathroom light is not working. Suggest to refurbish the hotel rooms.
Reviewed September 30, 2017
6.8
Good
Arturo from Spain
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Good location hotel with nice rooms and decent breakfast but...”
Never sleep in the ground floor. They are too noisy at the morning. The air-con did not work and the noise kept us away until they repaired. But the staff was friendly and they tried to solve the problem.
Reviewed September 25, 2017
2.8
khamtanh from Laos
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Reject Us for the first Night”
We booked this property 3 nights,4 rooms. the date that we will check in we called to check with hotel staff again about the reservation and they confirm our bookings. When be was there at 22:30 pm. The staffs there is walk to finding available rooms and inform that room was full booked because of they give our rooms to other group; How can? then hotel relocated us to other hotel is which lower price for 1st night and we do not have any option because it is the night time,how can we found other hotels. we very disappointed with the management as we already paid and they confirmed,but then hotel provided the room to others.
Reviewed September 04, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Arturo from Spain
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
The rooms are good and the location is excellent”
The place is nice and the staff was very helpful. My friend asked for a escort and a gorgeous lady appeared in 5 minutes. I had the first and best massage of my life. His wife was not so excited though.
Reviewed August 23, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Huyen from Vietnam
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Very good”
Good location. Nice staffs. Clean room
Reviewed August 11, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Truong from Vietnam
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
Good location”
Nice view good location
Reviewed August 01, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
YOHSUKE from Japan
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017
Great staff”
I enjoyed this hotel. Especially, staff are very good and friendly. When I go out, they helped me with taxi, location map and so on, every time. I will choose to stay at this hotel next time, too. Thanks a lot to the hotel staff. Cheers
Reviewed July 19, 2017
7.6
Very good
Truong from Vietnam
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Noisy”
Good location but have to walk and noisy music from outside
Reviewed June 17, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
jonzon from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Exceptional”
good location, friendly stuff.
Reviewed June 12, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Mai from Vietnam
Couple
Lake View
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Nice view to the lake”
If you find a comfort place, right in the centre of Hanoi, in walking distance with old quarter, with view to Hoan Kiem Lake, this hotel is a good choice. However, be aware that the room facilities are adequate but a bit old.
Reviewed May 19, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Luke from Australia
Couple
Lake View
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Great location”
The best thing about this hotel was its location. Being right next to hoan kiem lake and close to everything . Our room had great views of the lake.
Reviewed April 16, 2017
6.4
Good
Amy from New Zealand
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Good”
Room is very small but supa good location and very handy. staffs friendly and room was clean.
Reviewed March 30, 2017
5.2
Medha from India
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Disappointed”
Not so clean
Reviewed January 04, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Samet from Cambodia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Pls upgrade internet ”
Pls upgrade internet
Reviewed December 23, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Charlotte from United Arab Emirates
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Fantasyic location, very helpful staff thank you ”
More choice at breakfast e.g. Yoghurt, fresh fruit, jam etc Hotel could benefit from a gym perhaps
Reviewed October 09, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Ali from Iraq
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Good hotel”
Really it's nice hotel because of the friendly and helpful staff, The price is comparative, Good services, Location is good it's in the city centre, So can find everything around the hotel, My best regards, Ali Anees From Iraq
Reviewed April 23, 2016
6.7
Good
Sabine from Germany
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Location compensates for room conditions ”
Location, location, location
Reviewed February 03, 2016
7.7
Very good
Emma from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Good hotel”
Location. Massage. Staff
We only stayed briefly as we were catching an early flight out of Hanoi the next morning. The room was fine, the shower curtain could have done with being replaced but as only using the bed for a few hours was not an issue. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, even when we checked out at 5am in the morning!! I even used the spa massage facility they have available downstairs and it was very enjoyable.
Reviewed August 25, 2015
4.7
boubker from France
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
This hotel is a scam”
the location
I booked this hotel for my brother. The hotel hosts a travel agency in their lobby. MMy brother booked a tour in Halong bay, and discovered that he paid twice as much for the value, and the the tour features had nothing to do with the description he has got at the hotel. The worst is that when my brother called to complain, he'd got insulted by the travel agent. A vietnamese speaking friend then called and got insulted too! The hotel management did nothing to settle the issue, hiding behind the travel agent that they host in their premices. This is a shame for HAnoi and Vietnam tourism. This hotel is a scam and should not be recommended for any tourist.
Reviewed August 05, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Maria from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Freindly staffs”
Good location, friendly staffs and clean room
My stay is good. The staffs are friendly and they are accomodating. The location of the hotel is very good as it is at the center and accessible to shopping and earing.
Reviewed July 21, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Pravin from India
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in January 2015
Very good hotel . Staff was very friendly .”
Good Staff , Very clean
Very good
Reviewed January 29, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Tan from Singapore
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Nice Location ”
Location, Clean and Cheap
Good location.. walking distance to shopping and food. Clean room with friendly and helpful staff. will definately stay here again
Reviewed January 10, 2015
7.3
Very good
Terry from United States
Couple
Lake View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
View of lake”
Room with view, location
Standard hotel though nice view from room looking out at lake. Good location as base to wander the old part of city and the popular lakeside on weekends.
Reviewed December 29, 2014
6.3
Good
Trang from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Good location”
clean, convenient, at centre
Reviewed December 27, 2014
8.3
Excellent
NGUYEN from Vietnam
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Perfect location”
It located in old center and about 100 meters from hoan kiem lake. There is no better location at the price. The room is spacious but a bit old.
Reviewed December 26, 2014
8.3
Excellent
GRAEME from United Kingdom
Couple
Lake View
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Lake View”
Lake view from upper floors, friendly staff, great central location
We asked for a lake view which was really lovely, especially at night time. They only have 2 rooms with a lake view as they are tucked in a side street so the rooms on the lower floors don't have this. The staff were friendly but the price jumped up when we stayed an extra night as we had not booked that night on agoda so we were charged the walk-in price. It is on one of the 'bar roads' which is useful with a charming bar called the 'polite bar' just around the corner.
Reviewed October 01, 2014
3.3
John from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
NO WINDOW ROOMS!! ”
only location, rest everything bad especially the room with no window
NOTHING GOOD IF YOU LIKE A FAKE WINDOW, FEELS LIFE A JAIL!!
Reviewed September 17, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
gail from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Centrally located and modern facitities”
My room, the friendly staff, and centrally located
It was the second time in two years that I have stayed here. Although some staff are new employees they none the less looked after me impeccably. There was nothing that they baulked at and were of great comfort to me, especially when I thought I had lost my purse. On back-tracking my movements (at their insistence), my purse was found at a handicraft shop where I had put it on the table instead of straight into my bag. I booked my Sapa trip with the travel desk in the foyer and enjoyed it immensely. The travel desk gave me a good price and the tour was extremely well organized. My room was well set out, clean and I could not have expected much more than was delivered. Thank you for the lovely stay and thanks for insisting I back-track and look for my purse. The buffet breakfast was very comprehensive and served up on the top floor, which has a stunning view of Hoan Kiem Lake. Thanks again for a nice stay at your hotel, I will be back again soon.
Reviewed September 06, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Walter from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Great hotel in old quarter”
Great location, breakfast, staff
The staff at Golden Lakeside Hotel is second to none; the rooms are of a high standard, and a reasonably good price and the service was impeccable! The staff went above the service norms to make our stay enjoyable and ensured we got the best out of our time in Hanoi. Mr Peter especially helped us out, and added so much in making our journey run smoothly, from organising our Halong Bay Cruise, to organising taxi's and even making us a packed up breakfast for our early morning departure (just so sweet)! they treat you like family and I shall definitely be returning! Thank you again to all the staff concerned....
Reviewed September 03, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Walter from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
GREAT LOCATION AND FRIENDLY STAFF”
Great location in old quarter, friendly staff and clean room
The Golden Lakeside Hotel was fantastic – clean, spacious, and with a location so close to Hoan Kiem Lake and within walking distance of all the Old Quarter sites it was just the place for us. The staff were exceptional, efficient and friendly. Mr Son from the tourist desk organised our travel to several places much cheaper than we could have gotten them on the net or at home. The doormen, whose smiles would light any room, helped with our luggage, and shopping and was always very pleased to see us. They were all an extremely friendly and welcoming group of people who made our whole trip to Vietnam a memorable one. The travel desk at the Golden Lakeside Hotel was efficient and everything they arranged for us was first class, completely error free and ran smoothly. The buffet breakfast that is included in the room rate was delicious and plentiful. Every day we would find ourselves going back for seconds. With the free internet and computer access available to guests, this hotel is extremely good value for money and deserving of a higher star rating – it was certainly amazing value for money and will be my choice again when I can fit in a return trip to Vietnam.
Reviewed September 03, 2014
5.0
Heather from United States
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Sadly overrated and overpriced ”
Large room, good location near lake and shopping
I have no idea why this hotel has received high review scores. Our first room we were given was very small with beds that were two feet higher than normal (unsafe for children) and an open window that went out into the stairwell. Anyone could look into the room, and children could climb up and fall out of the window. The bathroom had no tub. We asked to change the room and were given the option to upgrade for $20 per night more. The next room was larger and had a bathtub, however the tub leaked all over the floor of the bathroom. We called the front desk to get it checked and to clean up all the water because it was slippery. The front desk person was well aware of the problem and said the owner did not want to fix it because they would have to replace the tub! Many other problems staying here such as being grossly overcharged for laundry by KG (5x the going rate in the neighborhood, and the laundry came back 3 hours late and wrinkled, not folder). Breakfast area had a nice view and selection was okay. I absolutely do not recommend staying here for anyone, but especially families with young children.
Reviewed August 31, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Wornwipha from Thailand
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Good”
Service
Reviewed July 30, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Pravesh from India
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Good Hotel”
staff was nice & i really enjoyed , Food was nice & location
It was good , staff was nice & i really enjoyed to be there on holiday
Reviewed July 28, 2014
3.7
alan from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
very dissapointing”
the bathroom flooded at every shower -- the toilet was side saddle ( no room to sit ) air conditioer not working bed very hard the whole hotel was not conditioned ( very hot everywhere food was disscusting & not much of it the 4 of us checked out & stayed 50 meters away at the pearl hotel 4 5 days ( same rate ) great hotel
Reviewed July 07, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Julian from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Great value and helpful staff”
Clean comfortable rooms, attentive staff and great value for money.
Excellent place to stay and vet the most out of the old quarter of Hanoi
Reviewed June 11, 2014
7.7
Very good
Zoe from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Cleanliness, Close to Hiem Lake & Old Quarter”
Cleanliness, Bathroom, Easy Check in/out
I had a pleasant enough stay at Golden Lake View. Staff were helpful, everything was very clean and the room had great amenities. I would highly recommend not staying on the first floor as your door is metres from the reception desk and foyer, and the noise from comings and goings and hotel staff conversing is immense. Also, my room on this floor had a large window that looks directly onto the seating area of the foyer and makes the bed and room in general feel like it has a big lack of privacy. Other than this no real faults. Don't be fooled by the hotel name- There are no lake views except for what im told is one in the penthouse and the lovely, distant view in the restaurant at breakfast over the building tops.
Reviewed June 06, 2014
7.3
Very good
Chun from Taiwan
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Comfortable and clean room”
Centrally located, very clean room
Reviewed June 04, 2014
4.0
Hoo from Singapore
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
As a whole, it was just average”
1. Clean 2. Free wi-fi, 3. Friendly staff though they speak little English
As a whole, it was just average. On the last day, booked a private car to the airport, but the private car driver on the way to the airport picked up his wife and young son even though i did not agree to him when he asked me.
Reviewed May 26, 2014
7.3
Very good
Pierre from France
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
it 's a good and clean hotel with reasonable price”
quiet , clean and well situated 2OOmeters from HOA TIEN lake ( old city )N
Nothing to say I waw happy at this hotel
Reviewed May 15, 2014
7.0
Very good
stevo from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
you get what you pay for”
staff. .location. .market. restaurant s
The staff were grait. .But the Bed and shower and TV needs to be fixed.
Reviewed May 14, 2014
7.3
Very good
Lan from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Golden Lake View Hotel”
staff very good, good reconmentfacility, near to anything
good
Reviewed May 05, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Shiuh from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Clean and breakfast was great!”
Near to city center.
Reviewed May 02, 2014
7.0
Very good
alec from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
good location but poor breakfast”
location, close to reastaurants and shopping
very pleasant but could be improved by better breakfast
Reviewed April 24, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Sarah from Canada
Couple
Lake View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
best location with lake view”
great staff, large room with tub and a view
the first night we stayed in a city view room which was very large with a good view. next morning we were moved to our requested lake view and it was well worth it. The breakfast room also has a great view of the lake and city. the staff were really friendly and very helpful. They booked us our train tickets very quickly with no significant surcharges. They called ahead to our next hotel to help arrange pick-up from the train early in the morning. We stayed in another place in Hanoi that was fine but we preferred this by far. **Travellers should all keep in mind that the majority of our Vietnamese hosts make an excellent effort to speak in English but one should never expect it to be perfect. Remember to be patient, speak clearly and smile!**
Reviewed April 20, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
ceci from France
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
nice stay”
good location, nice room
we were upgraded to the spa room that is very nice and comfortable, the hotel is very well situated near the lake close to everything and the view from the top is very nice
Reviewed April 18, 2014
7.7
Very good
Michael from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Hotel was good and centrally located.”
Location, good street for eating and quiet.
A good hotel for the price, we also stayed in other hotels in the area but this was a quiet hotel street location apart from others.I would stay there again.
Reviewed April 12, 2014
6.3
Good
GEORGE from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in March 2014
Good location in centre of old city”
Location. cost
Staff at reception very helpful breakfast poor and staff not interested .Staff wore normal clothes hard to identify who the staff where.
Reviewed March 26, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Anders from Denmark
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in January 2014
Nice and central”
Location, location, location
Great central location with only a couple of minutes walk to the night market and lake. The view from the breakfast restaurant is one of the best views over the lake in the city and the food isn't bad either.
Reviewed March 11, 2014