Exceptional 9.1
Based on 451 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Exceptional



based on 451 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Room comfort and quality 9.5
  • Service 9.5
  • Value for money 9.2
  • Food and dining 8.4
Sort by

Andrea from United States
Solo travelers
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in November 2012
Award winning Gem in Koh Lanta
Newly renovated Hotel with amazing staff
I knew I was in for a great experience when I booked Lanta Mermaid. From the moment you arrive, Pao, Chai and all the staff make you feel like you are family. Thoughtfully designed and meticulously maintained, you will never want to leave Lanta Mermaid. The made to order breakfast is huge; fresh fruit which changes daily, juice/coffee/tea, toast, muesli, yogurt, pancakes, bacon/sausage, eggs whatever way you want them. And this is not a buffet, but actual restaurant service! I had a room overlooking the tropical jungle behind the hotel so I watched a young elephant have his morning bath every morning. Klong Dao beach is a short 2-3 minute walk and the best (cleanest) part of the beach is to the north of Lanta Mermaid. Still unspoiled in many ways, Lanta is a paradise if you want to simply read a book, swim and "chill" out on any of the gorgeous beaches. It is a big island to explore and Lanta Mermaid can rent you a motorbike for 300bht (10usd) per day. Plenty of mini markets and restaurants close to the hotel. Lanta Mermaid is a gem in every sense of the word and I will definitely return in the future.
Reviewed November 15, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Gavin from United Kingdom
Couples
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Beautiful Hotel
Big rooms and location
Very enjoyable stay. Beautifully designed rooms. Very spacious. Breakfast excellent. Staff eager to serve. Hotel 2 mins walk to the beach.
Reviewed November 14, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Dale from United States
Couples
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in October 2012
Very Nice Hotel
Clean, Nice Breakfast
very clean rooms and very nice staff. however it has more of a feel of a bed and breakfast than a hotel. didn't really like that the staff was making all kinds of noise by 8 in the morning and in to clean our rooms the minute we went for breakfast. several times when we returned to our room they were in there cleaning which was a bit annoying seeing as we had to sit and wait for them to finish. should really clean rooms a bit later in the day when guests have left for the day.
Reviewed November 11, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Helen from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in October 2012
Lovely hotel. Spotlessly clean.
Room was of high hotel standard, price was significantly less!
I only stayed one night at the mermaid as they didn't have room in my hotel until the following night. It's a lovely place, the owner is charming and will take good care of you. The rooms are spotlessly clean and breakfast was good. The rooms are of hotel standard and the beach across the road has a nice chilled out atmosphere with nice restaurants. I booked through Agoda so I felt this was quite cheap for the standard at £ a night, plus I got upgraded!
Reviewed November 01, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Rokny from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2012
Best value accommodations
Hard working staff
Lanta Mermaid is the best hotel value I have experienced in Thailand. Our initial plan was to book one night and look for other accommodations, as we were not familiar with the island and wanted to explore Koh Lanta, but we ended up staying there three nights and had a great time. The location is a good compromise between being close to Klong Dao Beach and Saladan, with some good restaurants and shops, and a short motorbike ride to more secluded beaches -- my favorite was Kantiang Beach. One particular thing I would like to note is that the staff at this hotel was the most diligent crew I have seen. At any given time, they were either cleaning the floor or dusting the walls or whatever. It was quite impressive to witness. The reception staff is very knowledgeable about the best places to eat and do other activities. Keep in mind the hotel has no elevator.
Reviewed October 22, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

charlotte from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
comfortable and great for the price
soft sheets, cozy, big rooms, nice breakfast
i was one of only a few guests at this hotel during the off season, but the staff took great care of me. the hotel was clean and comfortable, with a quick walk to the beach (across the street) and restaurants, 7/11, etc. the only thing missing were the minor details -- no hand soap, no washcloth, but the shower was great and the room and bathroom seemed to be freshly renovated. they prepared a pretty elaborate breakfast for the reasonable breakfast fee! overall a great experience, especially for the off season price.
Reviewed October 20, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

george from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in September 2012
cleanest hotel i have ever stayed in
clean and friendly owner
I stayed at this hotel for a week its the cleanest hotel i have ever stayed in. rooms are a decent size and spotless. I got the manger to orginize everything for me from taxis to trips and all for around the same price as the tour operators nothing was to much trouble for the staff here. would recomend for anyone staying in Koh Lanta
Reviewed October 02, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Varun from India
Couples
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Quiet and nice hotel with good hosts
Location, clean, hosts
Stay was pleasant. The hotel doesn't come with an elevator. If you plan to go in and out of the room often get ready to climb the stairs and exercise. Hosts are nice. Hotel doesn't come attached with a restaurant which is a drawback. Breakfast is not a buffet spread. You can order what you want and get it. Not many options for the veggies though.
Reviewed August 06, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Kenneth from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Wonderful modern hotel
Very clean, great rooms and terrific breakfast
This hotel is the best thing about Koh Lanta as much of the island has not been repaired or cleaned up since the tsunami. It's a shame as more people won't get to experience this hotel. Super management also...
Reviewed July 19, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Hataikan from Thailand
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2012
Super clean hotel!
Clean hotel and friendly staff
We went there during low reason, so the beach wasn't that nice. However, this compact hotel is spot on. Areas in the hotel are so clean that we bet you can't find a grain of dust! The owner (we think he is) is very helpful and knows the island very well.
Reviewed July 13, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: