Book Now: Lanta Mermaid Boutique House Hotel

Lanta Mermaid Boutique House Hotel Reviews

Exceptional
From 543 reviewsSee what guests said
9.1
Recommended by 93% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (543)Booking.com Reviews (212)
9.1
Exceptional
From 543 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness9.7
Facilities8.7
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality9.5
Service9.5
Value for money9.2
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
Deutsch
Svenska
more
Room type
Superior
Deluxe
2 Bedroom Deluxe
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 514 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Sarah from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Luxury at a budget price”
The Lanta Mermaid exceeded my expectations. The staff was friendly, professional, and helpful, the room was clean and well equipped, the location was central and across the street from the sea, and the food served at the restaurant was excellent. Would definitely return!
Reviewed January 11, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Jill
Couple
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in December 2016
One week in Koh Lanta at Lanta Mermaid”
What a charming hotel this was! All the resorts right on the beach were the same and did not match the pictures online. The Lanta Mermaid Boutique House is very close to the beach, walking distance to markets, shops and restaurants, and right next door to the best Thai restaurant in town. Staff were extremely helpful with planning transportation, tours, and providing general information. It was nice to have a smaller, unique place to stay where the staff really care about your comfort and satisfaction. I would definitely stay again!!
Reviewed December 28, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Kiran from United Kingdom
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Great”
Lovely place, amazing staff. Rent a moped and tour the island. Incredible restaurant next door called the Kitchen that you absolutely must visit.
Reviewed December 14, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Kieran from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
A Must Stay!”
Our stay at the Mermaid Boutique was 10/10! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice and clean and while its located across the street from the beach, it's only a 2 minute walk! Plus it's next door to one of thr best places to eat on the whole island. Highly recommended for anyone!!
Reviewed November 12, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Jie from China
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
very nice staff, nice hotel. ”
nice place to stay, would be better if there is a lift to carry heavy luggage. the beach nearby was not clean due to weather,which was quite disappointing.
Reviewed November 02, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Scott from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Superb.”
After 5 nights of hit and miss accommodation further south on the island, Lanta Mermaid felt like absolute paradise! The staff are probably the most able, willing and friendly we've encounterd throughout our time in Thailand. The room was uber clean and the hotel is in a good location. We hired a scooter direct from the hotel but there are dining options within walking distance.
Reviewed July 29, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Peihua from China
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
What a wonderful experience!”
I have a great time staying in this hotel! The reception staff are so nice! Thanks for your girls to help me with the diving things! I'm great appreciated, you are so lovely! The room is good, you can have a great view from your balcony. Please enjoy the sunshine and the night sky.
Reviewed July 14, 2016
8.8
Excellent
P.C. from Australia
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Never disappoints”
This is my second visit, the previous one being 2 years ago. Nothing has changed, the high standards as regards the staff, the room and the cleanliness has been maintained. Although the fact that it is not beachfront and doesn't have a pool or restaurant in low season, I prefer to stay here because of the friendliness of the staff. I always chose a mountain view room as it is quieter and has a stunning view of the mountain
Reviewed June 15, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Jade from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Excellent place!”
This hotel was absolutely lovely! The staff were incredibly kind and helpful. They always greeted us with a smile, were very helpful in booking scooters and other tours, and they were very accommodating. The hotel is located near delicious restaurants, and is a three minute walk to the beach. It is in an ideal location to explore the island. I highly recommend this place!
Reviewed June 06, 2016
6.4
Good
Tyler from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016
Not great for the price”
We spent 3 nights at Lanta Mermaid and left disappointed with our decision to stay there. We paid extra for the "ocean view" room. You get a tiny sliver of the ocean from the third floor. I guess you can technically say that it's an ocean view room, but you can pay less money and stay somewhere that is literally on the beach (which we are wishing we would have done). I brought our concerns up with the staff and they didn't really seem to care. Didn't offer to move us to the fourth floor (where there is a better view of the ocean) and told us we probably should have booked a bungalow instead. Also, don't count on breakfast during low season. Doesn't exist. The room was clean, so that was good.
Reviewed May 13, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Larry from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in April 2016
The greatest!!”
It's all true. This is a great place to stay. It's on the main road but only a 5 minute walk to the beach. Location is 10 minutes by motorbike into town. My room was in the back and very quiet Beds are very comfy and wifi worked fine. Breakfast is good, not great. The hosts Paul and Aika are what make this place work. The owner should make them part owners, give them a raise or whatever else it takes to keep them. They are the main reason that Mermaid gets its excellent ratings.
Reviewed April 19, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Anna from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Perfect Stay”
Was there for 3 nights and had a great stay! Staff went beyond their duties to make us feel comfortable and welcomed. The room was very clean and we had no issues at all. Highly recommended!!
Reviewed March 25, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Claire from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016
Best possible location and staff”
Accomodations, staff and location
This place is TOP NOTCH. Paul and the staff went above and beyond in giving advice, setting us up with unique tours, and even helping me call my airline to order a vegetarian meal. The location is TOTALLY UNBEATABLE, its a 30 second walk to the beach--you can go back and forth during the day. Its actually a very nice hotel with room service, fancy beds, etc. THANK YOU PAUL AND STAFF
Reviewed March 23, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Pavol from Slovakia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Excellent ! ”
Me and my husband loved this hotel. We will come back for sure! Everything was so great ! All staff was very nice to us. I contacted a hotel via email if they can pick up us at the pier at Ko Lanta. Communication was excellent and fast. They answered me all questions I had. When we arrived to the pier, Paul was waiting for us. He took us to the hotel. He explained to us everything, where to go, what to see, where to go to the beach, etc. He recommended to us to rent a motorbike for a day ( by hotel). It cost only 250 Baths. Breakfast were served by Paul or other staff. We could choose what to eat. I liked it very much. Everybody is so nice there. Still smiling and asking if everything is all right. We were feeling very good at this hotel. Hotel is very clean. The beach is very close to hotel and it is so amazing ! Very hot water in the sea. There is a couple of restaurants close to hotel which offer a delicious food. There is 7/11 shop and pharmacy close to the hotel, too. We recommend this hotel to everybody. You will feel here very good. Everything is so great. Staff is still smiling and is very helpful :-)
Reviewed March 21, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
James from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Attentive and clean”
attentive staff, clean from top to bottom, and helpful
Usually we're not needy guests; we just show up to a hotel, leave, and figure everything out by ourselves...but when we were at Lanta Mermaid it seemed that we were constantly needing things, perhaps because it was the last part of our 3 week long trip and we were tired. We needed motorcycles, directions, early check-in, new boat tickets, cancel reservations, improve the a/c, and on and on. The staff were attentive and took care of all our needs without any hassle. Everything they booked for us was exactly what we wanted. The rooms were plenty large, clean, and quiet. Thanks for the great time!
Reviewed March 03, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
panat from Thailand
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Cute hotel, friendly staff”
Cute hotel friendly staff
Reviewed February 29, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Sean from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Great hosts. I really enjoyed my stay here.”
Staff, comfort, and proximity to the beach
Great. Only complaint is motorbikes on the road at night but that's hardly something you can control!
Reviewed February 29, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
junhua from China
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
excellent place to stay”
brilliant smile, excellent sevice and clean.
Reviewed February 22, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Anette from Ireland
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 14 nights in January 2016
Couldn't have had a better stay in Koh Lanta ”
Me and my sister returned to Koh Lanta after two years and this time we wanted to book the accommodation in advance. We managed to book a twin room in Lanta Mermaid and we couldn't have been happier. The hotel and the room are beautiful and very clean - important for us who are scared of all sorts of bugs - and the staff is super nice, Paul & Aica especially made us feel so welcome and provided excellent service. We spent 2 weeks at the hotel and cannot recommend it enough. Location wise it is just off Khlong Dao, a beautiful beach with nice bars and restaurants. Thank you to everyone in Lanta Mermaid for making our holidays so wonderful! Anette
Reviewed February 22, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
William from Canada
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Had everythig”
Location is great, because it it toward the action on the main road, and not confined to the very hot beach,
Reviewed February 07, 2016
7.3
Very good
Katherine from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Pretty good! Great staff. ”
food and staff
It was pretty nice! Next time I would choose something with a pool and directly on the beach. The staff was very helpful booking tours and getting boarding passes etc. I could do without the pop music at breakfast though!
Reviewed January 05, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Mikiko from Japan
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Clean room and good food”
Rooms were very clean, staff was friendly and restaurant had great food with variety of options
It was a family friendly accommodation with friendly staff. A short walk to Klongdao Beach. Good beach for children.
Reviewed January 03, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Alexandre from New Zealand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Great hosts”
The bed, the staff and the condition
Need better wifi in level 3
Reviewed December 27, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Jennifer from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Excellent Hotel!”
staff helpfulness, location, room
I wish I had more days to stay here! Such a beautiful little boutique hotel! They serve good food for breakfast and serve their own mango sticky rice which was very good! They also give you tips for navigating Koh Lanta and allow motorbike rentals for 24hrs (super cheap rates!). The beach is literally across the street and there is a great restaurant right next door. The staff is EXTREMELY friendly and helpful and you feel as though you are staying with a small family. If I return to Koh Lanta this is the only place I will stay.
Reviewed December 03, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Carolyn from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Great value for money and cute with it!!”
To me the staff was excellent. They really do go the extra mile.
Reviewed November 23, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Alessandra from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015
Our favourite place in Lanta”
Staff, position, cleaniness
We thunk this place is just perfect,conveniently located next to a beautiful beach and nice restaurants.The staff is lovely and helpful,we highly recommend it to any traveller willing to experience the very genuine and simple side of this beautiful island.There is ample choice of beachh bars at any time of the day. loved it!
Reviewed November 09, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Jialing from China
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
fashionable,comfortable,good location,warm welcome”
It was a good experience to stay in this lovely hotel,very closed to salads and is located in the downtown of Lanta,The bedrooms were comfortable and making you feel like at home
The seashore is just opposite the hotel and you can go for swimming whenever you want,I stayed for 3 nights and it was a fantastic experience,though the rooms were facing the main road,but the glass were thick enough to keep the room quiet,very nice for sleeping,and you can admire the sea view from the balcony,I would choose it at my first choice next time!
Reviewed August 19, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Jan from Netherlands
Family with young children
2 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
Perfect hotel and staff”
Staff, rooms, food
Very clean nice little hotel close to the beach. Staff exceptionally helpful and friendly. We stayed for 7 nights and had no complaints.
Reviewed August 02, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Ilyace from France
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Best value in lanta ”
Clean/amazing staff/nice room
It was really nice, You feel Like the staff really care about You. A nice place to stay, definitely recommended
Reviewed July 17, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
lautridou from France
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in May 2015
my opinion”
all is perfect
i recommend this hotel, you ll be never desapointed.
Reviewed May 28, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Ghislain from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Beautiful Mermaid”
The people.the hotel design and the food.
Fantastic and cozy place.the staff is so nice and always ready to help.I had a great stay!.
Reviewed May 15, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Celestina from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
A must stay!!”
Beautiful and clean room, friendly staff, awesome breakfast
Normally I don't write reviews but with lanta mermaid I felt compelled. Hands down, the best three nights stay in my 6 week journey through thailand (could have stayed longer!). As soon as you walk in you are greeted like a queen, the first impression on walking into your room is utter excitement, and the breakfast is simply amazing. Great wifi, cold air con, and a short 5 minute walk across the street to the beach. You will not be disappointed! Rent a scooter from the hotel and ride around the island, and best of all enjoy the sunset.
Reviewed April 25, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Tabea from Germany
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
perfect!”
great staff amd service, cleanliness, great rooms
We had a great time! Staff is extremely nice and helpful, free pick up from the pier, motorbike rentals, rooms are spotless every day, great à la carte breakfast included, short walk to beach. We dont have anything to complain about!
Reviewed April 20, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Assawapongkasem from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Good budget hotel”
Staff , location and clean
Reviewed April 11, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Derek from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in March 2015
Lanta Mermaid”
friendly staff, spotless, price
This was our third stay at this hotel. We will be back again. Iaka and Paul are amazing any questions they have the answers. A great little hotel that is going to get even better. Thanks to all at the Lanta Mermaid.
Reviewed April 09, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
JAMES from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 12 nights in March 2015
Perfection ”
Cleanliness, staff, & location
Our stay was faultless. Aica & Paul who run the front of house were most helpful & informative. The hotel is spotless clean & the breakfasts are more than adequate with plenty to choose from. The beach is a few minutes away with plenty of restaurants nearby. We would not hesitate to stay again.
Reviewed March 29, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Eugene from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Very helpful staff”
Helpful staff, clean, value
Very helpful and friendly staff that speaks good English. They gave us a free ride to the doctor when we needed to see one. The breakfasts were all-you-can-eat but made to order, which meant that you could order as much as you want of whatever of you want from the menu. The rooms were clean. Internet was good. Decent location in Klong Dao area, which is a nice sandy beach with shallow water (fairly flat slope), about 1 km south of Sala Dan (like downtown), lots of restaurants and amenities around.
Reviewed March 27, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Chris from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in March 2015
Awesome hotel near the beach”
Super friendly staff. Very clean. No insects. Beautiful beach steps away.
Awesome hotel. Only negative is the busy road outside. Consider a room facing the back if you want quiet.
Reviewed March 23, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
CHUAN from Malaysia
Family with young children
2 Bedroom Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Best choice for family with young kids.”
Cleanliness, staff hospitality, location
I stayed 3 nights here with my family (including my 2 young boys ,6yo & 7yo). We were impressed with the hotel tip top cleanliness. Though the hotel is not beach front, it's location is only 200m away from Klong Dao beach which makes walking to the beach easy! Klong Dao beach is an ideal beach for travellers with young kids. The sea is calm, clean and flat during our stay. The sunset here is so beautiful. We made it a point to see it everyday ! Credits should be given to the hotel staff Paul and Aica. Both of them are helpful and friendly. We always ask them to share tips where to find good local food in Ko Lanta. The few places they recommended has never let us down :)) we also got to know the hotel's friendly lady boss who is always around to ensure everything is in place. Both my boys, especially, can't wait to visit Ko Lanta again soon. And we would love to stay at this lovely hotel again ....
Reviewed March 22, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Charlotte from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Amazing Hotel!!! Should be more star!!”
Beach 5 mins walk across the road, Lovely people who were so helpful and happy!, Lovely room and bed made up lovely!
Brilliant! which we could have stayed more than 1 night but we had a schedule to stick too so we couldn't. we shall be back!
Reviewed March 13, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Avilay from India
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Excellent Hotel”
Above par Customer Service, Clean Hotel, Good Location
Beautiful hotel with excellent staff service. Would recommend to everyone to stay here
Reviewed March 10, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
nita from Sweden
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
The best”
super clean, competent and friendliest staff ever, quiet
We had a superb stay at this hotel. I think the cleanest so far in Thailand. The staff spoke perfect English. They were very helpful and good at organizing. Nice and quiet and close to the beach and restaurants. Will definitely stay here again if coming back to lanta. A big mistake if you don't.
Reviewed March 09, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Kerri from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Sweet little spot by klong dao beach”
The staff were friendly and helpful, the. Place smelled good and the hardwood floors felt really nice on your feet
I slept like a baby the bed was super comfortable and the room was super dark and quiet.
Reviewed March 08, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Joni from Finland
Couple
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in February 2015
Lovely hotel with an excellent location”
Staff, service, location
Excellent
Reviewed March 04, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Molly from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Great Spot”
Staff performance, convenience, comfort
This is a great boutique hotel. The staff is superb and go above and beyond to help with all details. The breakfast is made to order, transfer to the ferry was taken care of and scooters are available onsite. The beach is across the road. The rooms are very comfortable and everything is new. The only complaint that I have is the room that I was in, 206 is next to a supply cupboard so mornings were noisy with the cleaners. This is generally par for the course in Asia though. I would stay here again.
Reviewed February 26, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Very pleasant stay at Mermaid ”
Nice room, great shower , friendly service
Very pleasant. Best place we stayed in Thailand
Reviewed February 25, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Maree from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Best Island Holiday in Thailand”
Close to the beach - Staff excellant - High standard of rooms
We stayed 2 times at Lanta Mermaid in Ocean view room and Mountain view both were excellant the ocean view room was larger and good view over ocean. Staff were attentive to all your needs and friendly greeting on leaving or returning to hotel. We only ate breakfast at hotel and it was made fresh for you. There were quite a few restaurants/bars on the beach so what better way to enjoy the sunset. Our favourite was the Koala Bar and for bike hire or tours the aussie operated apple travel on the main road at Klong Dao beach. Koh Lanta is a great holiday destination.
Reviewed February 25, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Dane from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Great Place!”
The staff were amazing. The hotel was very clean and the location was great.
We are very pleased with the stay at mermaid. The staff were the best we had in all of Thailand. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable!!
Reviewed February 16, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Rebecca from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015
Nice hotel ”
Staff and service
Our stay was nice, but we would've preferred to be on the other side of the road, closer to the beach. The area itself is not the nicest because of the local businesses and road traffic. The hotel room was quite small for the price, but very clean and well maintained. The best thing about this hotel is the staff- they were friendly, caring, attentive and overall lovely people.
Reviewed February 12, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Albert from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in January 2015
Clean!”
Cleanlines, Location, Staff
Fantastic place to stay. It is very clean as you have to take off shoes prior to entering the hotel. The staff is very hospitable and address you by name. The breakfast is a western style breakfast and all you can eat. I will stay here again if I ever return.
Reviewed February 06, 2015