Book Now: Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel

Excellent
From 58 reviewsSee what guests said
8.1
/
10

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (58)Booking.com Reviews (239)
8.1
/
10
Excellent
From 58 reviews
Cleanliness8.2
Facilities7.3
Location7.7
Room comfort and quality8.2
Service8.5
Value for money8.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (58)
All room types
Showing 48 verified guest comments
9.0
Exceptional
Maud from France
Solo traveler
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Amazing welcome”
Very warm welcome, nice and discreet staff & very good food
I had a very nice 2 nights stay at Le Grand Meaulnes, a nice family hotel very well located close to the little town of Habarana and local attractions (elephants safari, archeological sites). The room was nice and tidy and the kind size bed very confortable. My room even had a TV I didn't use. As you can guess from the name of the place the owner spent some time in France and gave me a personal call knowing I was french to welcome me (in an amazingly fluent french) and make sure i was feeling good in his hotel. The staff was very smily and polite and last but not least cook very good typical cinghalese dishes (amazing local breakfast). I highly recommand this place !!!
Reviewed April 15, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Vimala from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
comfortable stay”
spacious room, friendly staff, hot water
It was a comfortable stay. Room and toilet were spacious with air con and hot Water. No toiletries or complimentary water provided though. The owner mr jaya was friendly and very helpful. An hour away from polanaruwa and near rock fortress too.
Reviewed April 07, 2015
7.3
Very good
Conor from Ireland
Couple
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
average at best”
location for sigri rock
Reviewed March 14, 2015
8.0
Excellent
marc from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Charming hotel with some drawbacks.”
Location, Charm,
This hotel had Sri Lankan charm unlike some of the swankier places available (e.g. Cinnamon village where you feel like you just entered Miami Beach). We liked our stay and we liked the food. Issues were: the tv did not work at all, the WiFi was constantly turned off to save electricity! so you needed to ask them to turn the router on, they do a very summary cleaning of the room and do not change the towels that are the thinnest towels I've ever seen (we asked for fresh ones every day), lots of flies at the outdoor dining area. Despite it all I liked the place quite a bit.
Reviewed March 10, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
James from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015
Fantastic place to stay”
The staff, the tranquil surrounds and the excellent value for money
We had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay at this hotel. The host made sure that we were well looked after, gave us helpful advice about visiting nearby attractions and just generally embodied gentle Sri Lankan hospitality. The place is set back from the main road, so there is no intrusive noise from passing traffic, and overall it has a very tranquil and private atmosphere. If you plan on visiting Sigiriya, Pollonaruwa and Dumbulle, you would be well served to base yourself at this hotel in Habarana - highly, highly recommended!
Reviewed February 15, 2015
7.0
Very good
Anthony from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2015
Good place overall”
Surrounding immediate countryside on foot. Room was ok for the money. Ayurvedic massage in town.
The hotel is 1500 metres from the very small town - long hot walk the first time we did it at midday- and is on the main road to the coast although set back by 50 metres. It's quiet at night and not a problem during the day. The boss was away and his deputy was unsure about lots of things which at times was irritating, though he tried very hard. We were travelling without a car, so it felt a little isolated, but once we found our way round and accessed the local tuk tuks, it worked for us. Food was very enjoyable and we also found a couple of alternatives in town plys a great massage place. Our room was comfortable enough. We accessed the sights independently, which was an enjoyable travel challenge- Polunnawara by local bus was seriously scary on the bends. The best thing for us was not the Cultural Triangle overpriced big hits, but the local very friendly villagers and some very fine, ordinary walks we did including up a nearby rock formation. All depends what you like. Sort of like a local village safari tour only you don't pay anyone;). The hotel is fine- a bungalow really. Not the best we stayed in in Sri Lanka, but good value and it met our needs once we got into 'let's make the most of it and be flexible" mode!
Reviewed February 13, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
karen from Belgium
Family with teens
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014
cosy hotel with good value for money”
friendly stafff, value for money, good location
We stayed four nights. The place feels like a cosy small family hostel with the service of an expensive big hotel. The staff is very friendly and does everything they can to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are decent. The breakfast is somewhat basic but the dinner is very good Sri Lankan food.
Reviewed January 05, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Mario from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
very nice place to stay”
location, staff, cleanliness
Very loved this place, staff polite and delicate, owner helped us planning our trip less than 1km from center thanks
Reviewed December 22, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Zsuzsa from Slovakia
Couple
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Nice hotel, nice staff, for relax or short stay”
The terrace, the breakfast and the staff
The hotel is really nice, the terrace is beautifully, but the garden is terrible , better see it only with moonligh. The room was big and clean, but the bathroom needs rebuild. I like the simplicy of the room and terrace, also the smiling face of the man who care about us. The dinner was big, and they prepare it, when we come, but takes it long time to prepare it.
Reviewed June 30, 2014
7.0
Very good
Wendy from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2014
Pleasant B and B in the middle of nowhere”
nice verandah, good evening meals and large room.
We started in room 5 which was moderate in size then moved to room 1 after one night which was much larger. After the second night a fridge appeared in the room which was welcome. Apparently they are gradually adding fridges to the rooms. Rooms 1, 2 and 3 are larger than rooms 4 and 5. There is a nice verandah outside all the rooms, good for reading or having a drink. The place is about 1 km from Habarana junction though there is little there, however trips are easily arranged to the parks, Ritigala, Dambulla etc. The evening meals were good, a range of curries, breakfast was OK though got boring after 4 days as it was always fruit, omelette and toast. A bit more attention to detail would improve the place, the dining area was scruffy, needed a coat of paint and better tablecloths for example and the bathrooms would have benefitted by a hefty dose of descaler.
Reviewed March 02, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
James from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
A perfect retreat in the peaceful countryside”
Superb room, excellent food and being looked after like royalty!
A beautiful place to stay, with friendly people, unbeatable service and well designed, large room. If you are in the area, don't miss it! A wonderful find and we would love to return.
Reviewed October 10, 2013
3.3
Joanne from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Out in the middle of nowhere”
The hotel is situated in a quiet place
We stayed 3 nights in this hotel on a visit to the Cultural Triangle this August. Although the room in itself is not uncomfortable, the cleanliness leaves a lot to be desires and there are no useful extras like a fridge or tv. The balcony outside is pleasant enough in the evening and the overall area is very peaceful but the hotel is nowhere near suitable for people who do not have their own transport as it is just under a kilometre to Habarana village and otherwise there is absolutely nothing outside the hotel. Any movement whatsoever in this place involves a hike into townbecause even the frequent buses do not stop at the bus stop outside the gate, given its relative 'proximity' to the village. The manager of the place was really pushy with tours and meals as soon as we arrived and, unfortunately like in so many other Sri Lankan tourist hotspots, his only interest seemed to be making as much money out of us as possible. A request for a couple of bicycles (as I had read in a previous review that they would be prepared to lend us a pair) fell on deaf ears.
Reviewed August 23, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Michael from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Relaxing stay at a friendly family run guesthouse ”
Peaceful, great staff, amazing food
We had a wonderful stay at Le Grand Meaulnes. The owner went above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay. The guesthouse itself was a little bit out of the town but it was very peaceful, quiet with beautiful surroundings. They let us borrow bicycles for free of charge which made it easy to get around and explore the town and lake. We had both breakfast and dinner here as there were not that many restaurants around, and the Sri Lankan curries were some of the best we've had on our trip. We stayed up chatting with the owner and other guests after dinner which made us feel right at home. They also organised our jeep safari to Minneriya National Park where we saw around 100 elephants! In all, a great, affordable guesthouse that we would definitely recommend!
Reviewed July 28, 2013
7.3
Very good
Salman from Switzerland
Couple
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Good transit hotel. Attentive staff.”
Location, staff, price.
Reviewed May 19, 2013
9.6
Exceptional
Cristina from Spain
Couple
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Excelente ”
Mi estancia en el alojamiento fue perfecta. La habitación muy espaciosa, limpia y con buen colchón. El dueño es encantador y muy resolutivo, ayudándonos a organizar cualquier plan de día. El desayuno y comidas muy abundantes y deliciosas. Súper recomendado!
Reviewed February 03, 2018
9.3
Exceptional
Celine from France
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Très agréable et reposant séjour ”
Emplacement-Accueil-qualite des chambres
Reviewed February 24, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
isabelle from France
Family with young children
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
très bon sejour à Habarana au grand Meaulnes”
accueil, rapport qualité prix, gastronomie
Nous avons passé un très bon sejour, le responsable de l'hôtel met tout en oeuvre pour nous faire passer un tres agreable sejour. Le personnel est au petit soin et la cuisine est excellente. La table commune facilite les échanges avec les voyageurs dd passage et nous avons pu faire un tres beau safari dans le parc de Mineriya seulemnt à 8 kms. Cest pour nous un tres bon site pour voir toutes les curiosités de la région ( sigiriya, dambulla, paranawura et lew éléphants).
Reviewed July 15, 2015
7.0
Very good
patrick from France
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Lieu calme, agréable mais isolé”
Grande chambre familiale, propre et calme
Un endroit paisible (5 chambres) agréable mais loin de tout: un véhicule semble indispensable. Personnel agréable et bonne cuisine à prix un peu élevé
Reviewed August 22, 2013
7.7
Very good
Sagert from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Ruhig gelegenes Guesthaus”
Ruhe, Sauberkeit, Freundliches Personal
Das Hotel liegt etwas ab von der Hauptkreuzung (ca. 5-10 min. zu Fuß). Im Hotel kann man auch essen, aber nicht ganz so günstig wie an der Straße. Das Zimmer war sehr groß mit einem Doppelbett und einem Einzelbett. Es war alles sehr gut gepflegt. Leider ging der Fernseher und das Internet nicht, aber das war in Sri Lanka nicht selten. Zum Frühstück gab es Toast, Ei, Saft, Kaffee, Tee. Habarana ist ein guter Ausgangspunkt für die Besichtigung von Anuradhapura und Polonnaruwa.
Reviewed April 25, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Regina from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
Grandioses Hotel, empfehle ich wirklich jedem”
Das Personal war superfreundlich, das Essen das Beste im gesamten Urlaub und die Lage für Ausflüge in die Umgebung ist auch klasse.
Dieses Hotel hat uns während des Urlaubs am allerbesten gefallen. Es wird von einem Housekeeper und einem Koch betrieben, die beiden halten auch die komplette Anlage (inkl. Garten und Gebäuden) in Schuss. Als wir ankamen, waren sie gerade im Garten am arbeiten, was wirklich sehr sympathisch rüber kam. Den Inhaber haben wir auch kennengelernt. Auch er ist ein angenehmer und netter Mann. Es gibt sechs wirklich großzügige Zimmer, die gut in Schuss sind. Für die dortigen Verhältnisse waren sie auch echt sauber. Die Anlage hat einen großen, etwas verwilderten Garten zur Straße hin, sodass man von den Autos auch nichts mitbekommt. Das Personal war super nett und zuvorkommend. Wir wollten die Gegend mit dem Bus erkunden und haben super viele Tipps und Anregungen vom Housekeeper bekommen, ohne das direkt das Angebot kam einen befreundeten Tuk-Tuk-Fahrer anzurufen, der natürlich einen super Preis macht. Als wir erzählt haben, dass wir auch gerne auf eine Elefanten-Safari möchten, haben wir den Tipp bekommen, dass die Elefanten gerade in einem anderen Gebiet sind und der vermittelte Fahrer (bei Safaris geht’s leider nicht ohne Fahrer) war auch wirklich günstig. Ansonsten wären wir in einen anderen National Park gefahren und hätten wahrscheinlich deutlich weniger Elefanten zu Gesicht bekommen, dafür aber mehr bezahlt. Das extra für uns zubereitete Abendessen war grandios. Es gab jeden Tag ein etwas anderes und es wurde frisch gekocht. Zum Frühstück gab es Eier und Toast, eben typisch für Sri Lanka. Aber das dazu gereichte Obst war echt lecker. Wir haben Obstsorten gegessen, die wir ansonsten nie probiert hätten. Einmal haben wir auch traditionelles Frühstück mit Reis (keine Hoppers) bekommen, das haben wir sonst nirgends gesehen. Falls ihr ein kleines, günstiges Hotel für Ausflüge in der Gegend sucht, empfehle ich wirklich diese Unterkunft zu buchen. Für das Geld kriegt ihr definitiv einen super netten Service und ein angenehmen Aufenthalt.
Reviewed December 27, 2013
7.0
Very good
Johannes from Germany
Group
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Freundliches Stop-over Hotel”
Freundliches Personal, günstig für Zugreisende, sehr Sauber
Bei Anreise UND Weiterreise mit dem Zug in die Umgebung von Sigiriya ist das Hotel sehr gut gelegen. (Fußweg zum Bahnsteig ca. 10 Minuten). Die Zimmer waren sehr sauber und das Personal wirklich sehr freundlich. Das Frühstück ist sehr üppig und mit den frischen Früchten auch lecker (Ansonsten Toast und Ei)
Reviewed March 12, 2013
8.8
Excellent
jos from Netherlands
Couple
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Klasse”
Mooie oprijlaan gelegen aan de doorgaande weg. Prachtige accomodatie en we hebben hier genoten. Vriendelijke ontvangst. Na 9 weken Sri Lanka behoort dit tot een van onze favoriete locatie's.
Reviewed January 20, 2018
4.4
Chisato from Japan
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
ハバラナと言う位置は便利”
 このホテルを拠点にして、ポロンナルワ、タンブッラに出かけたが、ホテルのオーナーは、何故か、ツゥクツゥクを利用する様に進めるのが解せなかった。バスは安いし頻繁に有るし不便ではないにも関わらずだ。  部屋の前のポーチは落ち着かない。隣の部屋の境は無く、時々スタッフが椅子に座ってゲストと長話をして、煩い。  ティーを頼んでも、時間がかかる。WIFIは端の部屋だと入らないし、夜は切られる。オーナーの顔の見えないホテルの方が、のんびりゆっくり出来ると思った。
Reviewed February 17, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
JIA from China
Couple
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
房间很大,舒适干净”
位置在马路边,比较好找 房子坐落在一个大花园里面 早餐不错,就是苍蝇太多了 晚上花了5.5美元/人(另加10%服务非)吃了一顿当地特色晚餐.很好吃,但是饮料要额外加钱. 总体来说体检很不错.
Reviewed October 10, 2018
9.0
Exceptional
JIN from China
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
原生态”
干净、水果新鲜、服务好
英式连排房,门口种的果树,早餐的水果都是现摘现吃。房间大且干净,门廊干净的你都不好意思穿鞋。他家的厨房不让客人用,7美金一人的晚餐吃不惯,管家一直在你身边服务。建议包车的主儿自行在外面找食。
Reviewed February 29, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
CHEN from China
Couple
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
适合过度一晚或中转的酒店”
服务、性价比、干净
狮子岩后在这里住宿一晚继续北上。价格便宜,房间干净。院里果树很多,有意思。房间干净,舒适。店家提供晚餐服务,7刀一位,当地饭,味道很好。觉得这一晚很难忘,温馨。
Reviewed October 05, 2014
7.3
Very good
JIE from China
Family with young children
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
酒店很干净,环境好”
房间整洁干净、有小花园、服务到位
酒店性价比还不错,因为可以为司机提供住宿。房间打扫的很干净,需要脱鞋进入房间。房间是含早餐的,不过你得多向他要几次面包,否则吃不饱哦。早餐是在室外的,所以小虫子很多,一直在眼前飞来飞去,要不停驱赶,加上天气炎热,早餐吃的不是很悠闲。不过店主人的服务还是很到位的,房间没有烧热水的壶,需要热水可以向店主要。他会烧好一壶热水送到房间来。离开时店主也会热情询问是否住的舒适满意。不过这家酒店跟其他的相比,胜在性价比,但没有什么特色。
Reviewed May 05, 2014
8.0
Excellent
SZAPLONCZAI from Hungary
Couple
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Kitünő kiindulópont a természetből a kultúrába”
Elhelyezkedés, kert, szoba minősége
Kellemes tartozkodás, de a helyszinen rendelt vacsora nagy csalódás volt. Vigyázat nem a korábbi riportokban emlitett idős szakács főz!
Reviewed February 22, 2014