7.2
Very good
10.8% this month
/10
(483 reviews)See what guests said
Housekeeping21
Shops1
24-hour front desk1
See map
7.9

Very good

Location rating score

Very good location - Inside city center
Popular neighborhood
Popular landmarks
Ringside 50 m
Plan B 60 m
Bottoms 80 m
Servier 130 m
Firefly Roofdeck 180 m
Rogues 200 m
Makati Ilchim Oriental Medical Clinic 210 m
Tribu Diwata 230 m
Seoulmart Co. Inc 230 m
Heckle & Jeckle 230 m
Nearby landmarks
Robinsons Place Manila 5.19 km
National Museum 5.89 km
Rizal Park 5.91 km
Quiapo Church 6.35 km
Manila Ocean Park 6.47 km
Fort Santiago 6.52 km
San Agustin Church 6.56 km
Casa Manila 6.6 km
Manila Cathedral 6.88 km
Intramuros 7.12 km
Lokal Hostel

"Its a very good place, the people who stay there and the staff are all very friendly."

Paandiyaan - February 16, 2019
Room Lokal Hostel
Lobby Lokal Hostel
Lobby Lokal Hostel
See all 12 photos
Removed from saved list
Free Wi-Fi

Lokal Hostel

3F, 5023 P. Burgos St., Brgy. Poblacion, Makati City, Makati, Manila, Philippines, 1210 - See map
  • Located in heart of Manila

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

  • Daily housekeeping

  • Garden

  • Laundry service

Your dates are popular among travelersUsers are booking a place in Manila every 1 minutes on Agoda.com
Value for money7.6
Distance to city center9.3 Km
Location rating7.9
Nearest airportNinoy Aquino International Airport (MNL)
Distance to airport5.9 km

Rooms available at Lokal Hostel

Very good
Room comfort & quality
7.7
Guestroom
Guestroom
...
  • Room size: 35 m²/377 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
Enter dates to see prices
Guestroom
Guestroom
...
  • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
Enter dates to see prices
Room
Room
...
  • Shower
Enter dates to see prices
Guestroom
Guestroom
...
  • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
  • Shared bathroom
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shower
Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shower
...
  • Room size: 12 m²/129 ft²
  • Shared bathroom
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Twin Room
Standard Twin Room
...
  • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
  • Shared bathroom
Enter dates to see prices
Single Room with Shower
Single Room with Shower
...
  • Room size: 9 m²/97 ft²
  • Shower
Enter dates to see prices
Guest Room
Guest Room
...
  • Room size: 12 m²/129 ft²
Enter dates to see prices
Double Room with Shower
Double Room with Shower
...
  • Room size: 9 m²/97 ft²
Enter dates to see prices
Single room shared bathroom
Single room shared bathroom
...
    Enter dates to see prices

    What people love about Lokal Hostel

    • 7.2
      Very good
      Cleanliness

      "Pros: - Room: Room is clean, and so is the bathroom."

      Trang

      |

      February 28, 2018

    • 7.2
      Very good

      "Active nightlife around the hostel is a plus point."

      Trang

      |

      February 28, 2018

    • 9.6
      Exceptional
      Staff 

      "The staff helped us order food via delivery."

      Kristine

      |

      May 21, 2017

    Property ranking|Compared to 4,217 Manila properties
    See all rankings
    Room comfort score
    7.7/10
    Review score - United States
    7.9/10
    Room size
    15 sqm.
    Location score
    8.0/10
    Better than
    96
    %
    of Manila properties
    Better than
    93
    %
    of Manila properties
    Bigger than
    92
    %
    of Manila properties
    Better than
    89
    %
    of Manila properties
    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    Overall rating:
    7.2
    Very good
    483 reviews
    Cleanliness
    6.6
    Facilities
    6.1
    Location
    7.9
    Read all reviews >
    What travelers say they love:
    It's budget friendly for our group of 6, staying for just 2n...
    Kristine from Philippines
    Group
    More about Lokal Hostel

    More about Lokal Hostel

    With comfortable budget accommodations and personalized services, guests can find a uniquely immersive and local experience at Lokal Hostel. Hospitable services and basic amenities provide an easy-going stay for guests. Vibrant frescos by respected street artists can be found in each room and along the hallway, welcoming guests to an alternative home-away-from-home experience. Its covered rooftop offers a panoramic view of the neighborhood and the ambiance of the city’s bustle.

    Located in the colorful Poblacion district of Makati City, Lokal Hostel is at the heart of one of the fastest and most exciting developing neighborhoods. Guests can enjoy easy access to various cafés, bars, and restaurants. In such a city district where every corner awaits something new to be discovered, Lokal Hostel is a perfect base from which to get the most authentic and cultural experience in Manila.

    Show less

    Most talked about facilities

    Housekeeping
    23 mentions
    Internet
    6 mentions
    Food & Dining
    4 mentions
    Breakfast
    1 mention

    What they offer

    8.8
    Excellent
    Staff 

    "I find the staff helpful and the facilities quite clean."

    Yau

    |

    January 13, 2019

    View all reviews
    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    Food and dining

    Nearby restaurants

    Filipino cuisine
    Filipino cuisine
    Vatel Restaurant Manila
    3.4 km Filipino, French, Mediterranean
    iBread
    5.1 km Filipino
    Hizon's Cakes & Pastries
    5.6 km Filipino
    American cuisine
    American cuisine
    Wild West Roadhouse Grill
    3.1 km American
    Shakers
    3.5 km American, Asian, Filipino
    KFC Harrison Plaza
    3.6 km American
    Asian cuisine
    Asian cuisine
    Chicken Charlie
    160 m Asian, Fast food
    Seoul Galbi
    180 m Asian, Korean
    Pagstop Lounge
    1.1 km Asian

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less

    Reviews of Lokal Hostel from real guests

    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    7.2
    /
    10
    Cleanliness6.6
    Facilities6.1
    Location7.9
    Room comfort and quality7.7
    Service7.6
    Value for money7.6
    High score for Manila
    Rating
    9+ Exceptional (50)
    8-9 Excellent (33)
    7-8 Very Good (56)
    6-7 Good (31)
    <6 Below Expectation (65)
    Time of the year
    Mar - May (51)
    Jun - Aug (53)
    Sep - Nov (63)
    Dec - Feb (68)
    Don't miss out!Users are booking a place in Manila every 1 minutes on Agoda.com
    All guests (483)
    All languages

    Show reviews that mention 

    Showing 235 verified guest comments
    12345
    8.8
    Excellent
    Hoai from Vietnam
    Group
    Stayed 1 night in July 2016

    High standard at the lowest price”

    We went in group of 4 and stayed in a dorm room for six for just one night. At first, we only expected a place to sleep and take a bath but Lokal is more than what we wished for. In Lokal, you can use spacious room, friendly shared space where you can play board game with your friends (they provide the guests with many kind of board games: domino, horse racing, scramble....). What impressed girls in our group most is BATHROOM: Clean, Sufficient hot water and WATSON body wash with different kind of scents. (woaaa :3 :3 :3). And of course, the room is of good quality, spacious and the air-condition works so well and makes almost no noise. We also received great support from the hostel staffs. They recommended us many famous attractions around Manila and even showed us all the routes. They helped us to arrange very good trip to Taal. The checking hour is fixed at 12.00 but they are willing to take care our luggages and even allow us to use bathroom after checking out and use shared space while waiting for the airport. Come to Lokal if you miss your home while travelling around Manila <3<3<3

    Reviewed September 06, 2016
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Jan from Thailand
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 1 night in October 2017

    A refuge in chaos”

    Lokal Hostel is in the heart of the nightclub and strip bar area of Makati. Madness and noisy at night. But as soon as you walk through the Lokal doors you feel at peace. The noise outside doesn't exist. If you want to enjoy the craziness outside and then find a refuge from that craziness, this is the place for you. The facilities are basic, but that's exactly what I expected. no surprise there. The mattresses are soft and the linen is clean. It has everything you need to be comfortable. I extended a couple times.

    Reviewed October 20, 2017

    Hi Jan, Thank you for your review, glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Please come back again the next time you are in Manila, you are always welcome at Lokal. Paolo Operations Manager

    Responded October 23, 2017
    Lokal Hostel
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Sara from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 1 night in July 2017

    Great location and staff! ”

    I would definitely recommend Lokal Hostel whilst staying in Makati, Manila. The location is great, close to local amenities, the hostel is very clean and the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming, I enjoyed my stay here.

    Reviewed July 13, 2017

    Hi Sara! Thank you so much for your review! We give our best to make our guests feel welcome and it means a lot to us when someone lets us know that they enjoyed staying at Lokal. Please visit us again the next time you are in Manila! Paolo Operations Manager

    Responded July 14, 2017
    Lokal Hostel
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Shaun from South Africa
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

    Value for Money Budget hotel - Good location ”

    Hotel is situated in the lively part of Makati. Walking distance (about 10 mins) to Greenbelt. It's also close to Century Mall, although I didn't visit the mall this time. I booked the single room with shared bathroom (Room 6) the room is situated on the noisy side of the property, so I didn't get a good rest but upgraded to a single room with own CR which was much nicer. The Hostel is what you would expect of any hostel, although I did find the rooms to be clean and management was friendly and helpful especially around my request to upgrade room at a small fee. I would recommend the property for any budget conscious traveler that wants to be close to CBD.

    Reviewed October 17, 2017

    Hi Shaun, Thank you so much for your review! Feedback from our guests is very important to us and it is always a pleasure for us to know that we managed to make someone happy. So sorry that the noise from outside bothered you on your first night... Unfortunately it can happen in a busy and lively nightlife area like Poblacion, but thanks for approaching our staff about it! We really want to make our guests' stay more comfortable in any way we can. Century Mall is just a short walk away, same as Power Plant Mall in Rockwell, with Greenbelt, Glorietta and Bonifacio Global City just a bit farther. With Makati CBD so close and lots to see and do right on our doorstep, we always have guests asking for suggestions because they're not sure where to start from... Lucky for them we know our way around pretty well ;) Please visit us again the next time you are in Manila, we are looking forward to hosting you again! Paolo Operations Manager

    Responded October 20, 2017
    Lokal Hostel
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Jan from Thailand
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 3 nights in October 2017

    Nice, basic place”

    Good location in Makati. Decent price considering the excellent location. I extended my stay there twice. The next time I come to Manila, I will come to Lokal.

    Reviewed October 17, 2017

    Hi Jan, Thank you for your review, we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at Lokal so much that you decided to stay for longer than you initially planned :) We are looking forward to having you again the next time you come to the Philippines! You are always welcome at Lokal. Paolo Operations Manager

    Responded October 20, 2017
    Lokal Hostel
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Hiroto from Japan
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 1 night in May 2014

    Awesome”

    location,cheapest,staff

    Correspondence of the staff is great. Five minutes and access are good by car from an Manila airport. The best location that can go to a shopping mall and all facilities even on foot. The room is clean,wide,then this hotel is newly in Manila for backpacker hotel and is comfortable. The wifi connection is good,and the cheapest in a hotel of the Makati I think. I love this hotel so much!

    Reviewed May 21, 2014
    9.7
    Exceptional
    dohee from South Korea
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 3 nights in July 2015

    NICE AND KIND HOSTEL!”

    kindness staff, location, guests

    I stayed 4 days in fan room. Staffs in hostel were very kind to everyone. And there are many places to eat various dishes. But it would be better if there was a FREE BREAKFAST SERVICE. I want to visit Lokal Hostel AGAIN;)

    Reviewed September 17, 2015
    8.0
    Excellent
    Jan from Thailand
    Couple
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

    Great deal -- don't miss it.”

    I was looking for a low-cost bed and Lokal was exactly the sort of pace I was looking for. For example, the toilets work, but not very well. the showers that promise hot water don't always deliver. The CR was not well cleaned. There is no place in the shower to put your razor and shaving cream. But so what? I found a half-price deal for the bed on Agoda. The mattress is soft. And no one has stolen my stuff. I'll take that any day of the week.

    Reviewed October 22, 2017

    Hi Jan, We work closely with Agoda to ensure that our guests have access to good deals and comfortable stays, glad that you could take advantage of it. Thank you for the pointers that you provided, we are currently in the process of improving our facilities to offer a better service to everyone... If you keep staying with us you we will be able to show you results very soon :) Paolo Operations Manager

    Responded October 26, 2017
    Lokal Hostel
    9.7
    Exceptional
    Kristine from Philippines
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 3 nights in October 2015

    Home-like accommodation in the heart of Makati”

    Lokal Hostel is a cozy, clean yet affordable place to stay in Makati. The staff are friendly and approachable, and are most willing to help. Strategically located in the center of the city.

    Absolutely grateful to have found this hostel on agoda. The ambiance is very artistic and relaxing, and I meet new friends. I would definitely go back there for my future stays in Makati!

    Reviewed November 02, 2015
    8.0
    Excellent
    Peter from Sweden
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

    Good place right on P. Burgos”

    Lokal as it's name suggests is at a premium location right on P. Burgos which can be both a blessing and a curse. Those seeking a more quiet stay would do well to stay a little bit away from the nightlife focused P. Burgos area. The Hostel itself is a smaller place with a cozy common area making it easy to hang out and meet other travelers. The facilities are adequate but not stellar. Shower is shared among dorms and not the best. They do have a very nice rooftop area that is great for relaxing with a book or having a drink in the evening.

    Reviewed September 01, 2016
    8.0
    Excellent
    Jan from Thailand
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 4 nights in October 2017

    Good place; stay here”

    I liked Lokal. You are completely safe here even though you are surrounded by the unsavoury characters of the nightclub zone. Good staff. Laid back atmosphere. Better prices if you book through Agoda than if you just walk in the door. The toilet seats are askew. Doors do not always close properly. Hot water showers are in short supply. One shower has a heater that doesn't work. Recommend you get up early and use the hot shower that does work. I stayed for about 10 days. At first, I booked for just one day to see if I liked the place. I did. Then I extended another three times. There is a strong message there.

    Reviewed October 30, 2017
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Lilac from Philippines
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

    Affordable hostel in a good location”

    The staff were accommodating. There was TV in the common room. There's a kitchen and a fridge we could use. There's a rooftop place where you can chill overlooking the busy city buildings. If you don't mind this place being in Burgos Street, this is a good place to stay considering it's near certain spots in Makati.

    Reviewed September 07, 2018

    Hello Lilac! I am very glad you found your comfort zone in our hostel. It is indeed the central district our Poblacion. A stone throw away from the convenient store, bars, restaurants, malls and transportation. Btw, did we mention to you; you can rent our rooftop for a private party? I hope all is well and thank you very much for staying with us. =)

    Responded October 03, 2018
    Lokal Hostel
    6.0
    Melvin from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 10 nights in August 2018

    Once a great spot BUT not anymore!!!”

    PRO: The Staff are Awesome! Dwight, Sam and others are Outstanding! CONS: EVERYTHING is old and outdated! The walls need paint, the floors need resurfacing, the bathrooms need updates, the kitchen needs renovating the beds/rooms are old etc. The owner needs to add additional staff to managed the hostel. The current staff though outstanding cannot save this hostel without help. The owner also needs to invest money into the hostel to bring it up to current standards.There are more options that are neater and cleaner and cost just a little more than Lokal Hostel. The internet connection is horrible! Often the connection would require resetting because of no connection sometime 45 minutes or more. Finally, I have stayed in thousands of hostels located around the world and this is one of the worst I have stayed in by far. The owner should be ashamed that he charges for guests to stay here. The Staff deserve a better owner considering how hard they work to maintain this hostel!

    Reviewed August 20, 2018

    Hello Melvin. Considering you are well traveled person and looking for a great experience we have not given you the quality that you expected. We apologize for this matter and we have done all things to level up just like before. Over-all with the many CONS you have given our hostel we have been doing alot of upgrades lately but deep inside I just want to say thank you for giving us a try. I know we aren't that great over-all but we will provided all that we can to make each and everyones stay valuable. Thank you.

    Responded October 03, 2018
    Lokal Hostel
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Kristine from Philippines
    Group
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2017

    Exceptional staff, worth the budget”

    The staff helped us order food via delivery. They assisted to the best of their ability during our stay. It's budget friendly for our group of 6, staying for just 2nights. We received good recommendations on places to visit around Manila, what kind of food to try, and even helped translate some words for us. WORTH IT! ❤

    Reviewed May 21, 2017

    Dear Kristine, We are really happy that you and your friends enjoyed staying with us :) Please visit us again the next time you are in Manila! You can always count on our Lokal staff for little tips and recommendations that will help you make the most out of your trip. We want you to feel at home! Paolo Operations Manager

    Responded June 02, 2017
    Lokal Hostel
    8.4
    Excellent
    Devon from South Korea
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 9 nights in November 2016

    second trip here ”

    Its my second time staying here at Lokal Hostel.The staff are very friendly here always helpful making sure i am doing okay and have everything i need and when i want to go see other places they give me great advice and tips. do recommend this place is good to save money while traveling here.

    Reviewed December 06, 2016
    7.7
    Very good
    Anthony from Philippines
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 3 nights in November 2015

    Staying thru the Summit”

    Friendly people, great location, highly affordable

    Because of the anticipated traffic from the APEC summit, I decided to rent a room for a few days. I was able to get a 2-person fan room although I did not have a roommate for the duration of my stay. I like the whole setup at Lokal. There's free wifi, a common area, a mini kitchen and several showers and bathrooms. You're not forced to socialize but you'll find yourself doing so because of the friendly people who stay there. I may just have been lucky but the people staying there at the time that I was were all very friendly.

    Reviewed November 23, 2015
    7.2
    Very good
    Trang from Vietnam
    Couple
    Stayed 2 nights in February 2018

    Basic room with basic facilities”

    I stayed at the double room with AC and private bathroom. Pros: - Room: Room is clean, and so is the bathroom. There is really nothing much to say about the room, because we just stayed at the room for sleeping and taking shower. - Staff: staffs are friendly and helpful - Location: I researched about where I wanted to go before booking (Intramurous, BGC,...) and the hostel is located at the middle of those destination, so it was very convenient to travel around. Active nightlife around the hostel is a plus point. Cons: - The price is quite high for a basic room like this. Also the room had a smell that I did not like. It was not exactly smelly.

    Reviewed February 28, 2018

    Hi Trang, Thank for your review, we are glad that you had a good time at Lokal and we appreciate you letting us know what went wrong. We provide budget accommodation but also pride ourselves in offering good value for money and friendly, helpful service to all our guests to make sure that they get the most out of their time in Manila ;) Pat

    Responded March 03, 2018
    Lokal Hostel
    6.0
    Ruth from Philippines
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 1 night in June 2019

    Clean & at the heart of Makati BUT....”

    If you're a female solo traveler, I do not recommend this. A 15-minute walk away from business center of Makati, but from Makati Ave to the place, you'll need to pass by a LOT of pubs & a LOT of "working girls". The hostel is at the 3rd floor of a building w/ dark corridors, & when you get to the reception area, lighting & furniture are also disappointing. The only plus side to this hostel is that the staff are friendly. I stayed in the 1-person bedroom near the reception area, w/c only had 1 lock & the t&b did not have a door. I needed to sleep while holding my pepper spray. The loud people hanging out in the reception area, with their loud music, loud chatter and laughter could easily be heard from my room. Noise died down though nearing midnight. I killed a total of 5 small roaches during my 13-hour stay. If you're looking for cheap bedspace, maybe can consider, but if you want a private room, I recommend just adding a few pesos & stay in the bigger hotels along Makati Ave.

    Reviewed June 04, 2019
    9.3
    Exceptional
    Logan from New Zealand
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 3 nights in October 2014

    Awesome place!!”

    Staff, Art, Location

    I stayed here for 3 nights I love how warm and welcoming all the staff were the place was really clean. It wasn't so busy when I was there but it has all the facilities you need. All the art around the hostel is really nice and the beanbags in the common area is a really cool place to chill.

    Reviewed November 01, 2014
    7.3
    Very good
    Jennifer from Philippines
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 4 nights in August 2014

    Good value for money”

    cost, cleanliness, proximity to city centre

    Overall, it was good given the cost of the room. Very affordable and the hostel is close to the centre. Visitors might need to be careful because it's in the red lights district, so if this bothers you, you might want to look in other locations. The hostel is well-kept - not spotless but clean, however the area below the hostel (entrance) is not good. There are roaches and the area is dark so it can get a bit scary at night. Staff need to respect the privacy of the guests. I was staying in a mixed dorm and even when I was inside the room, staff kept entering (without even knocking) - changing sheets, checking on things. Fan room is very humid and outside noise will drive you crazy - I had to transfer to the a/c room because I couldn't sleep.

    Reviewed September 15, 2014
    12345
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    null