Very good 8.0
Based on 33 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 33 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 8.2
Sort by

Csaba from Hungary
Couples
Deluxe All Inclusive
Stayed one night in March 2013
good cruise, nice place
view, good tourist guide, kajaking
The organisation was excellent. They sent an e-mail the day before, and checked the hotel name again. They picked us up in the right time! The guide (a girl) was excellent. Her english is preatty good. She explained everything. The bus stops on the halfway, but DO NOT buy aníthing, because its 5x expensive than in the city. The ship is ok. Not new, but clean!!! The food was terrible! No taste of it! I did not like it. The visiting of the Amazing Cave was nice. On the second day you can choose kajaking or going to the beach. I do not understand why!!! I think they should do both, because plenty of time has. At all, we enjoyed the trip, I would do it again! And.......they did not trice up the sheet! It was dissapointing!!!!! and....you have to leave the cabin at 9.30, because they start to clean it:(
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Jeff from Canada
Couples
Deluxe All Inclusive
Stayed one night in February 2013
Great cruise around the bay despite the weather
Great food and service
calypso lived up to its billing. great service and great food. we did the one night/ two day your and it wa enough for us. would recommend the experience.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Victoria from Australia
Couples
Deluxe All Inclusive
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Very nice accommodation, friendly crew
Location and accommodation quality
Very enjoyable. Only negatives were a cold shower on the first day, and no bottled water provided in the rooms.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Lam from Vietnam
Solo travelers
Deluxe Single
Stayed one night in December 2012
Great service with a smile
High quality facilities
Great service with a smile and high quality facilities
Reviewed December 22, 2012

elena from France
Couples
Deluxe All Inclusive
Stayed one night in November 2012
Very nice boat with excellent service
The food wa outstanding and the oersonel very nice.
We were 3 couples traveling together. Our experience with Calypso was great . The bus took us from our hotel in Hanoi on time and the guide was very goid. We had a very pleasant trip to Halong bay. At the halong bay harbor there was no waiting and we were embarked immediately on the boat. The personnel was very nice and the food was outstanding. The hygiene was good but i was sick with gastritis the next day. None of my friends were affected, so it might be a personal suseptibility...
Reviewed December 06, 2012

Paul from Australia
Families with older children
Deluxe All Inclusive
Stayed one night in September 2012
Well oragnised and great rooms
The food is good and there is plenty of it.
We did the overnight cruise, as there is so much to see and it takes a couple of hours to travel to Halong Bay I would suggest you do the two night cruise.
Reviewed October 08, 2012

Nerissa from Philippines
Couples
Deluxe All Inclusive
Stayed one night in August 2012
Loved the Calypso Cruiser
interiors looked new, cabin size decent and good lay-out, decent food, friendly staff
From the time our guide picked us up at the hotel until he dropped us off, we were well taken cared of. I liked the size of the Calypso Cruiser. It was the right number of guests and it wasn't crowded. Food was decent but the guys in the group complained about quantity of the food. =) The trip to the cave on the first day was amazing. We chose to kayak the next day and we wish we had more time to explore.
Reviewed September 04, 2012

Guillaume from France
Couples
Deluxe All Inclusive
Stayed one night in July 2012
Beyond my expectation
Great service and very beautifully presented food
We saw many boats on Yalong bay and didn't know what to expect for this cruise but as we were approaching our boat, we thought 'WOW, this cruise is one of the nicer ones here.' The cruise program did a very great job by providing awesome service from the very beginning of the cruise. We were picked up at our hotel to be transfered to HalongBay which took three hours from Hanoi. Our guide was lovely and spoke very good english clearly explained to us our itinerary for the next day. The room on the cruise was nice and clean. What I loved the most about this cruise were the food and the service. The food was always beautifully presented and I was caught by surprise each meal. The servers were all very friendly and helpful also very efficient. By the way, drinks are not included in the package normally so you spend extra money paying for your drinks which is slightly more expensive than the city but reasonable for a cruise. We also went kayaking in the morning which was part of our activity in the morning.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Geraldine from Australia
Families with older children
Deluxe All Inclusive
Stayed one night in July 2012
Lovely boat with not too many rooms
Managed to find us great place to anchor away from the crowds
The boat was a great size - not too many rooms. Food was great and the guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. When booking, based on information provided, we believed that we'd make the trip back to Hanoi following breakfast but discovered this wasn't the case so had an issue making a connection. The guide arranged to take us back to the harbour adn arranged a private car to drive us back to Hanoi, at our expense, but was able to negotiate a reasonable price.Visit to the caves was the highlight!
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Chris from Australia
Couples
Deluxe All Inclusive
Stayed one night in April 2012
Nice rooms on a crowded bay
Good rooms, own bathroom and friendly staff
The luxury Calypso cruiser is a mid-level junk amongst the 1000 tourist junks that operate in this bay. Expect to be part of a myriad of camera clad tourists as you board the vessel, but once on board sit back, relax and soak in the atmosphere. We were suprised at the number of junks in the bay, taking a 3day/2night tour takes you away from some of the crowds but the experience is not ruined by the crowds. Great food on board complete with a spring roll cooking demonstration. Rooms are nice with ensuite bathrooms. It's a shame the authorities mandated all tourist operators paint their boats white and ruined some very nice looking vessels.
Reviewed April 22, 2012


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: