Rezervēt tagad: Calamander Unawatuna Beach

2017

Calamander Unawatuna Beach atsauksmes

Ļoti labi
Balstoties uz 619 atsauksmesSkatiet, ko viesi teikuši
7,9
/
10
84% ieteiktu draugam

Reviews of Calamander Unawatuna Beach atsauksmes from real guests

Sniedz pārbaudīti viesi no Agoda
Agoda atsauksmes (619)Booking.com atsauksmes (522)
7,9
/
10
Ļoti labi
Viesnīcas stāvoklis/tīrība:8,0
Iespējas7,7
Atrašanās vieta8,6
Numurs komforts un kvalitāte7,8
Pakalpojumi8,0
Atbilstība cenai:7,3
Visas valodas
Visi ceļotāju tipi (619)
Visi numuru veidi

Parādīt atsauksmes, kurās pieminēts 

Parāda 523 pārbaudītu viesu komentārus
8,4
Lieliski
Markus
Ģimene ar maziem bērniem
Luksusa numurs ģimenei, ar skatu uz jūru
Uzturējās3 naktis 2019. gada aprīlis

Maybe not representastive after teror attacks”

We spent 3 Nioght at the Calamander about one week after the terror attacks of easer 2019. The hotel was fully booked, but hat 50 cancellations at that Moment. So of course everyone was sad and shocked. Staff could not always hiode these fellings, wich is absolutely ok. Seen objectively, the Resort is very nice. We hat 8 (!) other accomodations in Sri Lanka before and room, staff and service was very good and familiar. Place directly at the beach is very nice, bit the beach is not good for (children) swimming or even leaving small children allone. But: It was startinmg of the raining-season. We had everything we need, food was good, especially breakfast. For Dinner we tried out, biut decided to choose the Buffet only 1st evening. There are many small Restaurants around we liked more. ALso the little Shoppinmg-Road right behind the Beachhotels is very nice. WE were allowed to stay in opur Room until 34 p.m. because of pickuptime to the airport, wich was very kind.

Novērtēts 06 maijs 2019
9,6
Izcili
Steven no Apvienotā Karaliste
Ģimene ar maziem bērniem
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās8 naktis 2019. gada aprīlis

Great choice for families.”

We choose Calamander for the location which was perfect for us as a family being located right on the beach and with a pool. We stayed in a deluxe room with a pool view on the ground floor the room was spacious and ideal for the 3 of us. The breakfast buffet was outstanding with so much choice for western palates and those wanting a spicy start to the day.

Novērtēts 24 aprīlis 2019
8,0
Lieliski
Therese no Norvēģija
Ģimene ar maziem bērniem
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās4 naktis 2018. gada decembris

Great location, perfect for families”

Great location. OK restaurant and facilities. Easy to get to Jungle Beach, Galle, Udawalawe etc. Staff is not very friendly and a lot of maintenance is going on. A bit old, but looked like one of the best hotels in area. The kids loved it. Would recommend to stay at beach side of road as it is very busy

Novērtēts 21 decembris 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that your kids loved their stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenience regarding the maintenance work, that is all finished now and we will not be doing any work during the season. Kind regards, The Management

Atbildēti 23 decembris 2018
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
6,4
Labi
Jacqueline no Amerikas Savienotās Valstis
Ģimene ar maziem bērniem
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2019. gada aprīlis

Cool beach and pool but poor hospitality ”

We liked unawatuna and the surrounding area but the service at the hotel was poor. It took four days to return my laundry, the breakfast which was scheduled to start at 7 wasn’t ready until 7:45, our air conditioner was broken and they said they would fix it while we were out for the day but they never came which lead us to have to move rooms late night when we got back. You need to exchange a room ticket for pool towels but the pool staff didn’t show up until 9am or later and complained if I asked them to do anything for us. Several others were being charged for purchases they did not make at check out. Disappointing in general.

Novērtēts 21 aprīlis 2019
5,6
Laura no Kanāda
Ģimene ar maziem bērniem
Standarta numurs ar 1 divvietīgu gultu
Uzturējās vienu nakti 2019. gada marts

Dreadful tired hotel in perfect beachfront spot”

We moved hotels after one terrible night here. But I will start with the good things about the place. Location. It's right on the beach and the main reason we booked it. The staff were pleasant and helpful. And that's it. Here's why we left. The rooms, hallways and general areas are really rundown. Many broken and uneven surfaces. Grey shabby sheets. Stained and pealing paint. Main pool was shutdown, leaving only the disturbing red pool to swim in. And here's the big reason NOT to book. Staff assured us the hotel would not take our money. The Agoda phone rep said they would follow up for a refund. Now two weeks on we are being told hotel and Agoda are refusing refund. The only dark spot on an otherwise perfect holiday. Of 8 hotels we stayed in, this was our only regret. Hoping Agoda & Calamander will revisit this issue but until then be WARNED!

Novērtēts 09 aprīlis 2019
6,4
Labi
Garry no Austrālija
Pāris
Standarta numurs ar 1 divvietīgu gultu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2019. gada marts

OK stay ”

Location is good. Close to beach. Room was OK size but bathroom not great. Some staff were a bit lack luster with poor English. Lap pool by the beach out of action for our stay, so spent time around the family pool, which was a bit away from bar/restaurant. No poolside drink/snacks service offered. Reasonable place for short stay.

Novērtēts 06 aprīlis 2019
9,2
Izcili
Carol no Jaunzēlande
Pāris
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās5 naktis 2018. gada augusts

Awesome location”

Unfortunately they were digging up the grounds during our stay to fix something, and we had an awful smell in our bathroom coming from the drain. After a couple of days we got moved to a different room though and that one was fine. The red swimming pool was also closed. Despite all that, we had a fantastic stay there. What really sells this hotel is the location, right on Unawatuna beach. Breakfast was great. Also, there are plenty of places along the beach to eat and you can walk along the beach to the temple. It's a cheap tuk-tuk ride to Gaille, which is definately worth a visit. We originally were going to stay in Gaille itself and so pleased we stayed at the beach area instead. I would definately go back to this hotel.

Novērtēts 14 septembris 2018
8,8
Lieliski
Vasanta
Pāris
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās3 naktis 2018. gada septembris

20th year”

I have been coming here for the last 2 decades! The over all ambience is fabulous. We stayed in 227 with partial sea view. The warm water pool and jacuzzi is most appreciated. A big thank you to room service for refreshing our room so pristinely! One can’t help but thank Reception, Restaurant and pool staff for their due diligence to my peculiarities!

Novērtēts 12 septembris 2018
8,4
Lieliski
Aravinda no Šrilanka
Ģimene ar maziem bērniem
Standarta numurs ar 1 divvietīgu gultu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2019. gada aprīlis

Staff so disappointing ”

it is with great disappointment is state that the staff has let us down by their lethargic service. other than that all hotel was superb and the location too..

Novērtēts 22 aprīlis 2019
9,2
Izcili
Alan no Apvienotā Karaliste
Grupa
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās vienu nakti 2018. gada marts

Well run hotel very near beach ”

Calamander unuwatuna beach resort was a well ru very clean hotel ideally placed right on the beach Rooms were spacious and very well appointed with good WiFi Breakfast was a cornucopia of international choices again of good quality The staff were very helpful and obliging Overall a very nice hotel

Novērtēts 16 marts 2018
8,8
Lieliski
Amrith no Šrilanka
Pāris
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2017. gada decembris

Great Location”

The location of this hotel is fantastic. In the middle of the bay and on the beach. There are some great restaurants next door on the beach. Room is a bit basic but more than enough as you barely spend any time in the room anyway.

Novērtēts 08 marts 2018
8,8
Lieliski
Amrith no Šrilanka
Pāris
Standarta numurs ar 1 divvietīgu gultu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2017. gada decembris

Great Location”

This hotel has a great location on the bay in Unawatuna. As soon as you step onto the beach you have a couple really good sea food restaurants and you can swim right in front of the hotel in the Ocean. Plenty of parking as well.

Novērtēts 10 janvāris 2018
10,0
Izcili
steven no Amerikas Savienotās Valstis
Pāris
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2015. gada februāris

Great Stay at the Calamander!”

Clean; Water front; Great View, Great Breakfast~

We had an ocean view room with a balcony. The room was super clean with a large and comfortable bed and sitting area. The bathroom was huge with shower and Jacuzzi! Loved having breakfast each day in the open air restaurant overlooking the water. The staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful. The grounds of the resort were beautifully attended . There was a wooden pier that jutted into the bay. We enjoyed having drinks there and watching the sunset. The only drawback is that this part of the bay has been damaged by the tsunami and there is no beach...just large boulders placed to stop erosion. A short walk along the rocks will bring you to the sand.... It would be nice if the hotel could make this pathway smoother and safer. The hotel is presently in a construction stage...building a larger pool and play area. This will be extremely helpful as the pool is super small now..more a lap pool than anything and is filled to the brim with children...so not to inviting for adults. There are some beach chairs in the grass by this small pool, too few for the number of guests. These chairs were always "taken" by breakfast so we weren't able to "hang out" there...we would walk on the rocks toward the northern part of the bay and find chairs in the sand in front of the various restaurants. Overall, I believe that this is the best hotel/resort in Unawatuna and would highly recommend it to others!

Novērtēts 28 februāris 2015
9,7
Izcili
Britton no Amerikas Savienotās Valstis
Pāris
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās vienu nakti 2014. gada novembris

An appropriately priced hotel in Sri Lanka!”

Clean, good staff, right price

The stay here was good. It was the second time I have stayed here and both times I was pleased. First of all, it is one of the few hotels in Sri Lanka that is appropriately priced. Most hotels in Sri Lanka are too much for the quality you receive, but the Calamander is actually a good price for the level of quality. Second, the staff is pretty good. Again, at most hotels in Sri Lanka, the service is well intended but just not up to par. At the Calamander, the staff is well trained and on the ball. Finally, the rooms are fresh, clean and well furnished. Unawatuna is a nice place to be as well. Overall, I recommend it

Novērtēts 24 novembris 2014
8,7
Lieliski
martyn no Apvienotā Karaliste
Solo ceļotājs
Uzturējās6 naktis 2013. gada aprīlis

comfortable as always”

central location, clean, attentive staff

stayed here a few times, always in larger room with jacuzzi, the place has had many improvements since it was taken over by calamander, new rooms also look nice, however it is a shame that the beach front shown in pics no longer exists as it has been washed away due to poor development planning of a barrage which was actually supposed to help protect the beach, obviously not the hotels fault but do be aware of this if planning a trip to unawatuna

Novērtēts 20 marts 2014
8,7
Lieliski
Jan-Christian no Vācija
Solo ceļotājs
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās vienu nakti 2013. gada maijs

Comfortable stay, great surroundings”

Location, Great Room, Good breakfast

Lovely hotel right by the beach. Even had the luck to swim with a sea turtle that came close to shore. Very recommended for someone searching for a nicer not ridiculously priced hotel. The rooms are fantastic after the refurbishment and fullfill all your needs.

Novērtēts 09 maijs 2013
9,3
Izcili
Amal no Austrālija
Solo ceļotājs
Uzturējās vienu nakti 2013. gada februāris

Great option if you are after luxury on the beach”

Right in front of the beach, great service, good restaurant

I stayed here briefly for one night after a stay in Talpe. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Another selling point is the fact the hotel is situated right on the doorstep to one of Sri Lanka's most popular beaches. I had a relaxing time soaking in the sun's rays and cooling off at the wonderful beach. Staff were all very friendly and professional.

Novērtēts 09 marts 2013
8,7
Lieliski
david no Austrālija
Solo ceļotājs
Uzturējās2 naktis 2013. gada janvāris

Great food, lovely resort”

Cheap breakfast/dinner buffet ($6), very large and comfortable rooms

Paid 9500 LKR for a taxi from the airport to this property. Check-in was prompt and efficient. My room was large, clean and well-appointed. The breakfast/dinner buffet is cheap $6 and had decent food. The Union Jack flying outside the main building is very classy and traditional. My only criticism is that I wanted to stay an extra night, and when I went to the front desk at 11PM they were unable to tell me whether there was space the following night and advised me to come back at 8AM the next morning.

Novērtēts 17 janvāris 2013
8,0
Lieliski
Florian no Vācija
Pāris
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās4 naktis 2011. gada novembris

Reasonable alternative in the Galle area”

Good location right on one of the best beaches the area

we stayed for 3 nights and were satisfied. rooms are clean, bright and spacious. beds are also comfortable. staff is always friendly. they have tv and free wifi in the room. good breakfast buffet selection in the restaurant right next to the beach. great way to start your day. convenient located between galle and to explore the country further soouth.

Novērtēts 26 novembris 2011
8,3
Lieliski
Neil no Austrālija
Solo ceļotājs
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās vienu nakti 2011. gada jūlijs

Great accommodation on a beautiful beach”

located right on the beach, modern, clean room, stylish, good buffet

Bit pricey for Sri Lanka, but couldn't fault the food, location, room, view, cleanliness etc. Unawatuna is a beautiful beach and this place is right on it. Galle is only a 20min? tuk-tuk ride away, and well worth a half day's exploration. I missed the stilt fishermen, but they were supposed to be somewhere along the coast around here - check with the staff or tuk tuk drivers.

Novērtēts 10 augusts 2011
9,6
Izcili
Martina no Itālija
Ģimene ar lielākiem bērniem
Standarta numurs ar 1 divvietīgu gultu
Uzturējās4 naktis 2019. gada aprīlis

Great experience”

Nice place, beautiful people, relaxing swimming pool, special food...

Novērtēts 02 maijs 2019
7,6
Ļoti labi
GERALD no Apvienotā Karaliste
Pāris
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās4 naktis 2019. gada februāris

Location Fantastic”

Situated right on the beach at Unawatuna. 2 swimming pools, good restaurants, good sized rooms. Attentiveness of Staff could be improved; there was a lot of “not looking at customers”. Food was good; and competitive with all the restaurants along the beach. Good breakfast selection. The “red pool” was visually off putting but was perfectly ok. Just the red tiles instead of blue makes it look odd. But a nice sheltered area to sit in away from the beach. The other pool, long, narrow with see-through glass side, was adjacent to the beach and had a good sheltered by trees, area to relax next to beach. Overall, a good hotel with superb location.

Novērtēts 25 februāris 2019
8,8
Lieliski
Jawad no Pakistāna
Ģimene ar maziem bērniem
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2018. gada oktobris

Nice hotel on the beach”

Really had a wonderful stay...room was of good size...if you want to live just on the beach then this is a place for you...the beakfast was okish...nothing special...but the staff was very cooperative...if weather is fine you could really enjoy the beach...pool was a bit small but still enjoyable

Novērtēts 15 oktobris 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have 2 pools available of which one is a lap pool 25m long with a glass front overlooking the beach and the Sun Pool, a spacious pool with outdoor jacuzzi and close to our kids paddling pool. Kind regards, The Management

Atbildēti 23 decembris 2018
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
7,2
Ļoti labi
ponniah no Šrilanka
Pāris
Divvietīgs luksusa numurs (1 gulta)
Uzturējās2 naktis 2018. gada augusts

over paid”

I booked for a Deluxe rooms for high price and got only a standard room. and check in took over 45minutes because I booked under agoda but hotel received the confirmation through bedtime. com. I thing this is fault of agoda. entire luxury rooms were under renovations. agoda should know before they charge. overall good hotel nice and helpful staff

Novērtēts 04 augusts 2018
5,2
HARSHA no Šrilanka
Ģimene ar maziem bērniem
Standarta numurs ar 1 divvietīgu gultu
Uzturējās3 naktis 2019. gada aprīlis

Virs vidējā līmeņa”

Location is the only advantage and their food menu should have more varieties

Novērtēts 16 aprīlis 2019
8,8
Lieliski
Dulani
Ģimene ar maziem bērniem
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās3 naktis 2019. gada aprīlis

nice place ”

Hotel is in a great location on the beach. Good spread of food. Staff excellent. buildings are bit old but acceptable.

Novērtēts 16 aprīlis 2019
8,4
Lieliski
Wendy
Pāris
Luksusa numurs ģimenei, ar skatu uz jūru
Uzturējās2 naktis 2019. gada aprīlis

Simple beach holiday”

Escape to sun and sand, relax, read a book. For local seafood visit Black and White restaurant next to the hotel. Book a pool view room for space, quiet and good views.

Novērtēts 14 aprīlis 2019
10,0
Izcili
Anna no Singapūra
Pāris
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās vienu nakti 2018. gada septembris

Very clean rooms ”

Clean and huge rooms with nice restaurant and friendly staffs.

Novērtēts 24 septembris 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you very much, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, The Management

Atbildēti 23 decembris 2018
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
8,8
Lieliski
Mahatma no Indonēzija
Ģimene ar maziem bērniem
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās vienu nakti 2018. gada jūnijs

great location right on the beach”

the swimming pool looks weird because they use red ceramics instead of blue one, but my son and I very happy and spending a lot of time swimming here

Novērtēts 14 jūnijs 2018
7,6
Ļoti labi
Gleb no Baltkrievija
Pāris
Luksusa numurs ģimenei, ar skatu uz jūru
Uzturējās14 naktis 2018. gada aprīlis

Ļoti labi”

+: Family rooms are spacious and clean, good location/breakfast/pools, friendly staff. -: too expensive restaurant due to included service fee and extra taxes (+25% in total). Moreover, waiter insistently asked for even more tips....after this case we never returned there for lunch/dinner and highly recommend to eat at any other restaurant on the beach. Almost all of them are better than that in the hotel.

Novērtēts 20 maijs 2018
8,4
Lieliski
SIVALINGAM no Šrilanka
Pāris
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās vienu nakti 2018. gada aprīlis

excellent place for a beach side holiday ”

We were upgraded to premium rooms without additional charges. large rooms with very big bathrooms I haven't seen such huge bathrooms in hotels Two pools with different ideas. One is a red tiled pool again not seen in Sri Lanka. The second one is a one sided glass pool and good for photography The sea food restaurant was fantastic at night. They grill what you show. Prices are comparable with adjacent restaurants. The manger at Sea food restaurant Mr.Anura was very good in hospitality. Overall the family enjoyed very well. The only thing I want to mention about the sea is it is too rough. so careful with kids

Novērtēts 19 aprīlis 2018
8,8
Lieliski
Vikram no Austrālija
Solo ceļotājs
Luksusa numurs ģimenei, ar skatu uz jūru
Uzturējās vienu nakti 2018. gada februāris

clean and good facilities, the only big hotel in the main Unawatuna beach”

There are many beaches in Unawatuna, the main one with restaurants oand bars only has one big hotel, this one. Good facilities, reasonably priced food and friendly staff. The pool was a wierd red colour which was quite off-putting but otherwise the hotel was great. I've stayed at many places in unawatuna and cleanliness can be an issue, but this hotel was great. Also the aircon works properly, sounds basic but it doesn't in many places and afternoons can get very hot and certain times of the year even evenings are very humid so a properly working aircon is real pleasure to have.

Novērtēts 14 februāris 2018
9,2
Izcili
Ann no Dānija
Ģimene ar lielākiem bērniem
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās6 naktis 2017. gada decembris

Calamander Unuwatuna Beach hotel is fantastic”

We find the hotel and the location with a lot of different restaurants and water-sport possibilities absolutely fantastic. The pool-area was super and neccesary because of a lot of waves from the ocean. It is not children- frindley to bath in the ocean, bit their were two different pools, so no problem. It was cheap to get fantastic massage in the street nearby the hotel at Ranga Yoga School - a colonial relaxed place. We took a tuck tuck to Gaulle and we have had a super vacation and will deffinitely come back to the relaxed and carabean-styel Unuwatuna Beach

Novērtēts 02 janvāris 2018
9,6
Izcili
uvani
Pāris
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās vienu nakti 2017. gada decembris

Perfect location”

We had a pleasant stay. The room, pool were very clean and the staff was very supportive when we requested few amendments to our rooms. We had the breakfast buffet and there was a good variety of food. The location couldn't be better.

Novērtēts 31 decembris 2017
6,0
Asha no Austrālija
Grupa
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2017. gada decembris

Unfriendly staff”

We stayed at his resort our first impression was reception counter person (Sumudu)was very abrupt we got there in the evening, he abruptly said sit down when I finished I will arrange your room. Not great facilities for vegetarians .

Novērtēts 06 decembris 2017
10,0
Izcili
Kevin no Apvienotā Karaliste
Pāris
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās6 naktis 2017. gada novembris

Great location”

Just back from calamander unawatuna beach , great location on the beach , staff were very attentive , room was good size felt really at home there, all in all great place to be if you want stay at unawatuna beach

Novērtēts 17 novembris 2017
9,2
Izcili
AMELIE no Francija
Ģimene ar maziem bērniem
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās3 naktis 2017. gada oktobris

Perfect for families ”

Second time we are going - ideal for families with young children ! two pools, spacious rooms, nice beach, dinner on the beach, watersports One recommendation: Buffet would deserve more variety especially for vegetarians

Novērtēts 07 novembris 2017
9,2
Izcili
AMELIE no Francija
Ģimene ar maziem bērniem
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2017. gada septembris

Perfect place for families ”

What a breakfast ! what a beach ! 2 pools - large room with immense bathroom: ideal when you have kids and luggage.- many water sports - you can have dinner on the beach (what a treat :)) I would recommend improved menu for vegetarians and vegans and also a tip box for the staff (the staff asks individually which is sometimes a little uncomfortable and when they are so many its difficult to be fair - I like the idea of giving a nice amount at the end to be shared among the staff, to all those who contribute to make our stay beautiful ,even those we cannot see) - Its so perfect for a family holiday that I am sending my parents and children tomorrow once more :) !!!!

Novērtēts 24 oktobris 2017
9,2
Izcili
Oliver no Vācija
Pāris
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās7 naktis 2017. gada septembris

10 days of complete relaxation!”

We had initially booked for a week and liked it so much that we extended our stay for three more nights which was absolutely no problem. We did not try dinner at the hotel but the breakfast and the pizza was delicious. The staff at the restaurant was always very friendly and helpful and could even remember our daily orders after only a few days, especially the employees at the pancake and egg stand. The staff was extremely friendly and professional in general which really stood out for me. The outside facilities such as the pools, beach and restaurant was very well maintained and clean as well as the rooms. The only thing we did not like about the room was, that there was no shower curtain whatsoever so the water went everywhere. Also we had booked a room with a large bed but did not get a kingsize bed but two seperate ones next to each other. The biggest problem was the wifi though as it was very bad in our room. We Really liked that the beach was under surveillance at all times.

Novērtēts 03 oktobris 2017
10,0
Izcili
Jennifer no Amerikas Savienotās Valstis
Ģimene ar lielākiem bērniem
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2017. gada jūnijs

Excellent beach location with lots of beach to walk up and down coastline”

We just stayed here and walked each evening up the beach to one of the many outdoor restaurants just 1-3 minutes walk away from hotel. Got nice adjoining suite rooms and big bathrooms. Excellent buffet breakfast and beautiful restaurant and sitting area. Cool breeze always. Nice pool too. Volleyball net just few feet away and local massages right next to that. Couldn't be better.

Novērtēts 09 jūlijs 2017
8,4
Lieliski
Renee no Austrālija
Solo ceļotājs
Standarta numurs ar 1 divvietīgu gultu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2017. gada marts

Resort in the beach”

As the only 'resort' on Unawatuna beach Calamander offers resort facilities. However, the variety of rooms available are very different and some are too expensive for what you get. The restaurant is average with better food available along the beach. The staff are helpful and professional.

Novērtēts 15 aprīlis 2017
8,4
Lieliski
Vivienne no Apvienotā Karaliste
Pāris
Standarta numurs ar 1 divvietīgu gultu
Uzturējās3 naktis 2017. gada marts

Great place on a good beach”

We love beaches where there are nice little beach-shack restaurants/bars and this place has them in abundance, so with the really good rooms, service and facilities of Calamander Unawatuna Beach hotel, you have the best of both worlds. Really good buffet breakfast, lovely big pool, free wifi, free use of paddleboards, Kayaks and a free dive lesson. My fav was the morning yoga classes from 'Lucky' - starts the day off just right. We'll definitely go back to this hotel. One of the local tuk-tuk drivers we used - Siri - has a travel place/shop on the main road just before the hotel's turning, he was fantastic. Seek him out - and stay here!

Novērtēts 16 marts 2017
8,8
Lieliski
Thomas no Dānija
Ģimene ar maziem bērniem
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās5 naktis 2017. gada februāris

Good location”

Location and service is good. I was a bit disappointed when it came to see that there's no pump for the flat basketball, really old tabletennis bats - after all, those things cost a little part of what they charge per night... Great pools

Novērtēts 19 februāris 2017
8,8
Lieliski
suman no Indija
Solo ceļotājs
Luksusa numurs ģimenei, ar skatu uz jūru
Uzturējās4 naktis 2017. gada janvāris

A nice place to relax and chill”

Nice cozy resort situated smack on the beach , excellent place to relax ...Very friendly and helpful staff ...Only thing they can improve is varitely of Ala Carte offering in the resturant as now the menu is very limited when it comes to food and it would be great if the resort add a spa then it will be really helpful for people like me who are slaves to spas and massages.... I would like to specially recognize the efforts of Ms. Manon from rooms reservation who have really being patient and helped me a lot with room allocation as per my requirement a special Thanks to her .....Will surely return again !

Novērtēts 31 janvāris 2017
8,0
Lieliski
Marlene no Kanāda
Ģimene ar maziem bērniem
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās vienu nakti 2017. gada janvāris

Clean and comfortable but don't eat here. ”

We enjoyed the location right in the beach. The rooms are generally clean and comfortable. We opted for a "pool view suite" but I don't think it's worth the extra money. When we tried to use the hot tub a lot of dirt/ sediment came out of the jets along with the hot water. This was quite off putting! The breakfast is alright but I heard complaints about the Sri Lankan food which I didn't have. I don't recommend eating here except for the free breakfast.

Novērtēts 25 janvāris 2017
9,2
Izcili
Cathy no Austrālija
Pāris
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās5 naktis 2016. gada decembris

Great position on beach”

Good value for money. Great position right on the beach and the two swimming pools were fantastic. Breakfast buffet was okay, nothing special. Staff wonderful. The room was very large which overlooked on the pool.

Novērtēts 12 janvāris 2017
8,4
Lieliski
Jessica no Apvienotā Karaliste
Pāris
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās7 naktis 2016. gada decembris

Nice hotel, great location but a few tweaks could make it better”

Really lovely hotel, the rooms are big and clean and have everything you need. The pools are great and the location is perfect with access to lots of restaurants and Unawatuna beach. We found some of the staff to be a little short and not very friendly at times. The prices for drinks/ food/ tours etc are very high in the hotel, often double the price of other places that are just next door to it. Overall enjoyable stay, and would recommend the hotel for its great location.

Novērtēts 11 decembris 2016
9,2
Izcili
Pranesh no Indija
Pāris
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2016. gada maijs

Simply Awesome !!”

When I first booked this on Agoda, I was not sure about how the hotel/resort would be. When we landed there we were delighted. The location is on the beach. The front desk was welcoming. We loved the food, the room was always kept clean, the staff were always full of smiles, the location was amazing. They were so helpful that even in the middle of the night if you called the front desk they would send some one asap. Great beach......did not try the pool...next time for sure. We first booked for 2 days, but once we reached there we just loved the location and hotel staff and services that we extended our stay for 2 more days. Great breakfast I may add. I read that it was ownened by a British firm.....but British or who ever owns this is doing a fabulous job running it. Thank you for making our stay so comfortable and memorable. We are now definately promoters of Calamander Beach Resort. Luv Sonali & Pranesh

Novērtēts 25 maijs 2016
9,6
Izcili
Robert no Austrālija
Solo ceļotājs
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās4 naktis 2016. gada aprīlis

Very comfortable and Friendly ”

At check in I was told that I had to pay an extra $40 per night for my 4 Nights as I requested a seaview which I thought that I had already paid for but it wasnt a problem as i was given a beautiful room with a lovely view "Room 512" it also had a spa bath with was a treat after a day on the beach , The location is good and right on the ocean , You have a choice of two pools ,One with red tiles wich is a bit scary too look at as it looks like its filled with blood however its only the reflection from the red tiles also its not very deep so the water temperature is not at all refreshing its more like a hot bath ,The other pool is long and narrow more lime a lap pool and it fills up with children which is the last thing you need listening to children being loud and noisy , Thank goodness for head phones, After two day unfortunately I had to check out (Personal reasons) the front office manger was very obliging and offered a refund of the two days I had paid extra , As it was an Agoda booking I was not able to get a full refund , All in all a pleasant stay , Lovely staff , Clean room, The breakfast needs a little imagination ,A nice stay though and I would reccomend it

Novērtēts 05 maijs 2016
9,2
Izcili
Preeti no Indija
Pāris
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās3 naktis 2016. gada aprīlis

Perfect stay.”

Beautiful resort at a beautiful beach. Very friendly staff with always a smile on their face. Clean and spacious rooms. Restaurant manager went out of his way to provide a simple meal for us even though it was a buffet dinner. Would love to visit this property again.

Novērtēts 30 aprīlis 2016
5,7
Mohammad no Malaizija
Ģimene ar maziem bērniem
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2016. gada marts

Not advisable at all”

nice place

Nobody care about cleanness in this hotel. There is jacuzzi in bathroom. It colour changes from white to brown. Foods are really bad except seafood dinner on the beach. You will pay much more than 5 star hotels for food and it is really less than normal. I do not recommend this hotel.

Novērtēts 26 marts 2016
10,0
Izcili
WALEED no Saūda Arābija
Ģimene ar lielākiem bērniem
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās4 naktis 2016. gada marts

GREAT VACATION & EXPERIENCE ”

I was with my son (16 years) and truly enjoyed this vacation specially Calamander Unawatuna Beach Hotel. From the time we arrived we were wellcomed in a hospitable way until we departed. All the staffs were professional specially Mr. Asela(fom) the manager who was personally attended to our requirements and comfort and he is truly a proffesional manager and a big plus to this Hotel. Thank you also to the owner who i am sorry i did not have the previlage to know her name but i see her everyday day watching and supervising. I recommend this Hotel very much as it is simply the best Hotel in Unawatuna.

Novērtēts 18 marts 2016
8,0
Lieliski
Anastasios no Austrālija
Pāris
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās4 naktis 2016. gada marts

Great spot but accommodation a bit tired!”

The room we stayed in was spacious but becoming dated. The linen and towels were clean but frayed and old. The location is excellent - close to Galle town centre, lovely beach but a bit rough, good selection of restaurants, spas, etc and lovely atmosphere. All in all we had a good experience but the rooms are a bit over-priced.

Novērtēts 16 marts 2016
8,4
Lieliski
Piotr no Polija
Ģimene ar maziem bērniem
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās3 naktis 2016. gada februāris

Perfect stay on the Ocean beach”

Very good location - just on the beach, comfortable room with a view - but we had a luxury room, other rooms seem to have worse views and comfort, staff very nice, friendly and helpful - especially in the restaurant, but the restaurant management must re-think what they want as they were changing concepts of meals in the middle of the season whcih caused confusion and a chaos sometimes, thanks to the friendly restaurant satff we did not complain too much. Food tasty, we canrecommned the fresh fish grill - a fantastic experience, also choose vegetable rice and curry - simply gorgeous, the beach just whenthe restaurant ends, with beach sunbeds and towels, and of course warm ocean waves, and… those two swimming pools! One smaller but with glass walls so that you can see through and a really large second pool which allows you to use it comfortably with other people. What I was missing was a spa facilities - in such a high standard and pricey hotel in the ayurveda country one can expect a parlour with at least basic massage and some other treatment facilities. In this hotel - nothing… All in all a really good place to stay, clean and comfortable, although a little bit pricey, with facilities for 4 stars mainly thanks to close beach with beach facilities and fantastic swimming pool but not the highest mark due to lack of spa/massage facilities.

Novērtēts 04 marts 2016
8,0
Lieliski
Tracey no Kanāda
Pāris
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2016. gada janvāris

Refill water bottle station would be nice”

room cleanliness, location, breakfast

The hotel was clean and it was in a good location. They provided a decent breakfast. Their pools were alright, and they had some nice beachfront property. I was disappointed that they didn't provide an option to refill water bottles, even when I offered to pay to refill (if only to reduce plastic trash), as they claimed to not have the 20L large filtered water bottles. The restaurant associated with the hotel also refused, which was definitely disappointing. I would expect that a larger hotel like this would make an effort (especially in such a token manner) to protect the beach they are selling so it doesn't become covered in trash.

Novērtēts 20 janvāris 2016
8,7
Lieliski
Saiveer no Indija
Grupa
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2015. gada augusts

Excellent beach property at unatawuna”

Location at beach which almost feels like a private beach area, rooms were comfortable and food was very well done.

Had a brilliant two days at the property with the family. Got upgraded to a superior room and the staff were very kind and pleasant. Restaurant was very well stocked and the food was always top notch. The best was the access to the beach. Almost felt like a private beach access. Highly recommended for the value traveller. Hard to not be satisfied.

Novērtēts 10 augusts 2015
7,7
Ļoti labi
martyn no Apvienotā Karaliste
Biznesa ceļotājs
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās4 naktis 2014. gada decembris

stayed here many times”

trusty staff, big room, clean

stayed here many times, place is improving each visit, deluxe rooms are nice, new big swimming pool should be complete. Also i must compliment the staff, as i went out and left my safe wide open, with a very large amount of cash in there, and cleaning staff were quick to inform the manager who locked my safe until i returned.

Novērtēts 11 jūnijs 2015
7,7
Ļoti labi
martyn no Apvienotā Karaliste
Biznesa ceļotājs
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās3 naktis 2014. gada decembris

stayed here many times”

nice size room, jacuzzi, sun lounge

ok place, food nothing special really, stayed here many times and place is improving, good tip for breakfast, try the local bread hidden at the end near the curries as it is much nicer than breads near toaster.

Novērtēts 11 jūnijs 2015
8,0
Lieliski
Rachel no Austrālija
Pāris
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās3 naktis 2014. gada jūlijs

New hotel with lovely water views”

Modern, food, relaxing

Fantastic 3 day stay at the Calamander! I had visited Unawatuna 5 years prior and was surprised to see that the area of beach outside the hotel had been fully eroded leaving exposed rocks and no direct beach access. Despite this the hotel and the fact it was under construction when we visited in July 2014 we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the service from the staff was fabulous. Amazing food at the restaurant (more expensive than the places on the beach) but well worth it and delicious mojitos and wood fired pizza. The rooms were clean and modern with a small balcony. If you sit on the verandah along the water you can sit and watch the resident turtles surfacing. Pool was being completed while we were there but will be a great location once open. I'd stay here again if returning to Unawatuna!

Novērtēts 24 maijs 2015
8,7
Lieliski
Rebecca no Austrālija
Pāris
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2015. gada februāris

This hotel is just about to become the best in una”

The food and drinks are superb. The staff genuinely want to please you. The location and the pending facilities surpass anything in the area.

I stayed there a year ago and it was fine. I was with my sister and we drank cocktails by the old pool and enjoyed the most stunning breakfast view and food you could ask for. But this time, with my husband, the vibe has somehow shifted. It's better. Last time I left thinking I MIGHT return. And I did. And I will continue to. This place is going from strength to strength, I hope we can continue to afford to stay here!

Novērtēts 20 februāris 2015
4,3
Ming no Singapūra
Biznesa ceļotājs
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2015. gada janvāris

Poor service and room condition”

Ask for milk tea during breakfast from 3 waiters at the restaurant, all ignored me until I asked to meet the manager. The room is not at 4 star hotel standard. Do not go to the hotel before 2 as you will cannot check in early until at 2 pm. Not worth the price at all.

Novērtēts 11 janvāris 2015
10,0
Izcili
Tim no Kanāda
Pāris
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās3 naktis 2014. gada decembris

Luxury Rooms on the beach”

Pool; Clean Rooms; Location in Unawatuna

The Calamander Unawatuna Beach was a very beautiful hotel. Unfortunately, it rained for 2 of our 3 days, but we were able to enjoy the pool and have a suntan on the 3rd day of our stay. The location is easy to access all of the shops and restaurants that Unawatuna Beach has to offer. The beachfront is not sand, rather it is built up with giant rocks, likely to prevent further erosion. This is not the hotel's fault, mind you, as much of the north/north-eastern stretch of the beach has this same plight, but they may have to consider this regarding room prices. Without sand and easy access to swimming, it loses some of it's ideal beachfront status. Other than that, my wife and I were both extremely happy with our time at Calamander!

Novērtēts 09 janvāris 2015
9,3
Izcili
Darren no Austrālija
Solo ceļotājs
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās vienu nakti 2014. gada decembris

Great location, very professional staff, great foo”

Staff help friendliness. Great food. Great views. Comfortable

Towards end of 28 day trip to Sri Lanka. Great hotel. Everything was near perfect. Bar on beach was great and staff were excellent if somewhat trying too hard to entertain. Thought they were Tom Cruise mixing drinks which was great but annoying after a while. And practising juggling all time - was a bit annoying when we just wanted to relax and spend heaps at the bar.

Novērtēts 02 janvāris 2015
9,0
Izcili
owen no Apvienotā Karaliste
Ģimene ar lielākiem bērniem
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās vienu nakti 2014. gada decembris

nice spot”

friendly alert staff clean well proportioned rooms great choice and tasty breakfast

Enjoyable. Only gripe is lack of access to beach...could build wooden steps over rocks. Instead have to walk past other premises on grotty path to Sandy beach. Pool good though. New one being built nearby

Novērtēts 19 decembris 2014
9,7
Izcili
Darren no Austrālija
Solo ceļotājs
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās vienu nakti 2014. gada decembris

Great place to stay, very relaxing”

Great rooms great staff, good bar

This was towards end of trip so we wanted somewhere good to stay. A bit over our budget but well worth it to unwind. They have a great little bar but in a effort to entertain us the staff sometimes annoyed us - they need to know there cliental. Overall great place to stay staff where excellent. Everything is just a bit more expensive than elsewhere.

Novērtēts 18 decembris 2014
8,7
Lieliski
Terry no Apvienotā Karaliste
Pāris
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2014. gada decembris

cool hotel, hteat staff, fun barmen bit pricey ”

helpful staff. chillout factor and clean rooms

I really enjoyed the stay there. The beach however has moved down the beach and there are now rocks where the sand used to be. This doesn't matter though as there's a pool and lots of beds to chill out in by. The bar. The bar is really cool staff are great fun and very helpful. I had much fun with the bar staff. Food is good there its the best hotel about. Wish I was back there now in fact. Loved it. Good diving next to it and snorkeling to. Sea horse diving is great next door. The only bad thing is its a bit pricey but I guess that's what to expect for such great service. They even made me a bday cake and wrote happy birthday on my bed when they cleaned the room. A big love to the staff......

Novērtēts 12 decembris 2014
9,0
Izcili
Charlotte no Apvienotā Karaliste
Grupa
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās6 naktis 2014. gada septembris

The Calamander made my sri lanka trip wonderful”

we stayed in a luxury room which was deffinately luxury!

I stayed in 4 hotels around sri lanka and this was by far the best, actually one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. we had a deluxe room to be fair, the bathroom was massive, the mattress was so comfortable and everything was very clean and modern. There aren't many luxuries around unawantuna, I looked forward to getting back to the hotel for some relaxation and sanctuary. The staff don't hassle you like most people around unawatuna and are super helpful. beach towels supplied everyday, sky movies, 2 free bottles of water everyday what more could you ask for would deffinately go back

Novērtēts 06 oktobris 2014
8,3
Lieliski
Isuru no Šrilanka
Pāris
Standarta naktsmītne ar skatu uz dārzu
Uzturējās vienu nakti 2014. gada aprīlis

what a place to enjoy a beautifull beach”

The best thing is it is located near one if the loveliest beach on the earth. second thing is easy to access to other cultural places around hotel. finally nice food

It was aa nice vacation in beach area. Ideal place to enjoy the beach.friendly staff. But i aadmire if they can improve more silent enviornment in passageways near to rooms. Need to advice to technicians and hotel staff regarding that matter. Except that everything was fine.. Variable and delicious food. I recommend this place to aall tourist who loves to experince the beautiful beach in a comfort manner

Novērtēts 26 aprīlis 2014
8,0
Lieliski
Rachel no Apvienotā Karaliste
Ģimene ar maziem bērniem
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās2 naktis 2014. gada aprīlis

Calamander unawatuna hotel”

The luxury room are huge with great sofa bed for kids & king bes for patents. Great latge bathroom with Jacuzzi bath.

Our stay was great - the beach isn't large as the errosion is a problem but there are sunbeds & nice spaces for playing footie, volleyball, badminton etc & only a 10 min walk down the beach to a cafe with beach beds & goid swimming. I would say the hotel is actually nicer than it looks on their website! The bar was nice & food ok. The pool area is nice & quiet & goodfor kids but really needs painting/renovating a little.

Novērtēts 13 aprīlis 2014
9,0
Izcili
Paul no Apvienotā Karaliste
Pāris
Paaugstināta komforta ģimenes numurs ar skatu uz baseinu
Uzturējās vienu nakti 2014. gada februāris

Relaxing stay with excellent service”

Swimming pool, restaurant/bar, service

Everything was as expected for a hotel of this quality/price. Very spacious room, with great bathroom facilities. Good, uncrowded pool. Food at the restaurant was very well prepared, whilst not particularly original. Well-stocked outdoor bar with a nice relaxed feel. Service excellent in all ways. Beach is a disappointment, but this is well known, and I imagine guests do not visit the hotel for the beach.

Novērtēts 03 marts 2014