Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 105 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.8
  • Service 7.0
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 6.1
Sort by

Guan from Malaysia
Couple
Private Double
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
great experience, misleading ads
wonderful location, good room, busy nightlife
the stay at magnums is a great experience. the location is superb and close to everything. however, Some of the staffs are not as attentive, and acted as if the guests are very annoying, cant wait for us to disappear. Also, the ads of the room is misleading. i booked a private double and the ads mention is a private ensuite with bathroom. however, knowing a backpacker hostel rarely comes with private bathroom, i didnt get my hope up. turn out indeed it was double room with shared bathroom. Dunno if it is Agoda mistake or the hostel. overall, if you up to airlie beach of couple nights stay and wish to get to the whithaven islands, magnums is a good base to stay. beware thought, book your tour early as my time there all tours are full, and i only get to whithaven beach via a water taxi service for half day instead to joining full day tour.
Reviewed January 15, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Timothy from United Kingdom
Couple
Private Double
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Backpacker heaven.
The very best thing about this place is its location in the heart of Airle Beach. It is also very cheap.
Magnums is backpacker heaven. It offers very cheap dormitory rooms, washing machines, a loud bar with live music and a good restaurant all set in an overgrown 'jungle'.
Reviewed January 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Kym from Australia
Solo traveler
Private Double
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Comfortable room, great location
Comfortable room, bar, air con
Reviewed January 03, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Brad from United Kingdom
Couple
Private Double
Stayed one night in December 2013
Clean and comfortable
Comfort, value for money, cheap beer
We used Magnums for a one night stay either side of our boat trip around the Whitsundays. Centrally located, clean, comfortable rooms and cheap beer!! We enjoyed our stay here.
Reviewed December 16, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Anthony from United States
Solo traveler
Private Double
Stayed one night in November 2013
Good value for the Whitsundays area
location, price, comfort
Stay was overall good. The property is a VERY large and busy backpacker hostel, the private rooms are well away from the loud action, but you do still hear it somewhat. However, the rooms are well-kept, clean, and a good value for the area. Staff is really nice, and helpful.
Reviewed November 14, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Amanda from United Kingdom
Couple
Private Double
Stayed one night in October 2013
Nice hostel
Location, drinks, location
Handy spot for seeing about, portions are pretty small when it comes to food but the drinks are cheap!
Reviewed October 30, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Honor from United Kingdom
Couple
Private Double
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
Cramped accommodation. Absent enforcement of rules
Cheap
This accommodation bore no resemblance to the photographs and was effectively located in a nightclub. Every night we would be kept awake for hours by drunk clubbers returning to their rooms where they would continue to party until 5 am. Don't expect to get any sleep if you stay here. When security were phoned they attended and the noise ceased for about ten minutes.
Reviewed October 21, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Sammi from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Dormitory
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Cheap backpacker resort with good location
Cheap room, good location, good facilities
The price is considered as cheap as the hostel offers more facilities than other hostel. And the location is good as well. Yet, I guess it's just an accident that I got insect bite in this hostel and it's serious and I have to consult the doctor for this.
Reviewed September 09, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Christine from United States
Solo traveler
Private Double
Stayed one night in July 2013
party hostel
location, food is close by
This is a party hostel - I didn't read the reviews before hand. I had a private room, but it was still so loud at night I couldn't sleep. I felt like the average age of people who stayed here was 18-20.
Reviewed August 13, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Ruth from Ireland
Couple
Private Double
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
nice double room, great location, food awful
location location location
Room was lovely. Showers and toilets were clean. Food in the restaurant was nearly inedible. Luggage storage can only be accessed for 5mins every hour even though you have to pay for the storage.
Reviewed July 28, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: