Book Now: Maia's Beach Resort

Excellent
From 298 reviewsSee what guests said
8.1
/
10
Recommended by 90% of guests

Reviews of Maia's Beach Resort Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (298)
8.1
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.5
Facilities8.1
Location6.7
Room comfort and quality8.1
Service9.0
Value for money8.4
Rating
9+ Exceptional (74)
8-9 Excellent (45)
7-8 Very Good (35)
6-7 Good (15)
<6 Below Expectation (20)
Time of the year
Mar - May (65)
Jun - Aug (33)
Sep - Nov (34)
Dec - Feb (57)
All guests (298)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 189 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Natasha from China
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in July 2019

Slice of paradise”

My husband and I had an amazing stay at this resort. The gardens are pristine and extremely well kept. We were lucky enough to stay in a cabin on the sea front. The view was absolutely stunning. Unfortunately, the cabins themselves did not do the view or beautiful surroundings justice. The cabin interior was very basic, with no view of the sea, except through a small window. The bed and linen were comfortable, but the bedframe squeaked every time we moved. The paint makes the room very dark and the curtains let the light in, as soon as it is sunrise. The interior could do with an update, to match the amazing scenery. The staff were amazing, particularly the bartender/ waiter/ general manager. He was extremely hard working, polite and an asset to the resort. The swimming pool and gardens were spectacular; so peaceful and away from the crowds. The food was very good and tasted homey with generous portions. We will definitely be recommending this resort and it was a highlight in our journey.

Reviewed July 25, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
jackielyn from Philippines
Family with young children
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2019

Amazing Place”

Maia's is 12kms from Sta Fe port, yes it is quite far but worth it. Beautiful, Serene and has an Amazing view too. They also offer motorcycle rental for only Php350(full tank na un) and we used it from the time we arrived. Those who assisted us during our stay are very accomodationg and friendly Kuya ( Maia's Shuttle service driver) who drove us back and forth Sta Fe port, thank you. AteKuys(dont know how to call her/him, confused ako) thank you for giving us addt'l 4hrs extension for free.( ang gala kasi namin) nag road trip kami sa buong Bantayan Island kasi😂 Sa Cook who prep our food, ang sarap po.. Our DIY trip to Bantayan Island will never be that amazing if not for Maia's accommodation. They offer exactly what we need. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Reviewed June 14, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Rocky from Canada
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

Rocky from Canada”

although a little bit remote it offers a wonderful opportunity to escape from hustle-bustle of city ,,,,, beautiful gardens and pool for relaxing ,,,,restaurant also served delicious and well-prepared variety of dishes ...staff very friendly and helpful ...if wishing to have peace and quiet stay here ….highly recommend

Reviewed June 04, 2019
8.4
Excellent
David from Australia
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in July 2019

Peaceful”

I didn't know much about this place when I booked but was glad to have spent 2 nights. Small con list: beach not sandy nor swimmable; its remoteness means you are kinda stuck there or will need longish motorbike ride to find other food option. It does sit next to a traditional fishing village so you aren't entirely alone but seeing the locals go about their chores adds to the charm. For me the biggest Pro is the immaculate garden and scenery, the greenery surrounding the clean and deep pool which compensates for the lack of beach. Walkways sit above the rocky shoreline. In-house menu is fine with prices inline with Santa Fe - they aren't exploiting a potential tourist trap. Room is large enough and adequate for the price. WiFi in restaurant a bit so-so and reception only outside the room nearer the shore or pool. So you do have access but experience off-grid peace time too. Large hermit crabs in the evening round it off. (Which can end up in pool please save if find)

Reviewed July 07, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Aliya from Russia
Solo traveler
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Nice and Beautiful place”

Nice and beautiful place....i really enjoyed staying there, i was waking up and listening to the beautiful sound of nature and birds!!! WiFi is not good there, but if u come to enjoy seaside - u don't need))) Very hospitable and warm staff)) A little bit far from the city and beach. But I liked it)))

Reviewed April 07, 2019
8.0
Excellent
VAL from Philippines
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

A good place to relax, far from crowded place”

30mins away from santa fe town. 10mins away from bantayan town. A good place to relax. A remote secluded area. Place and facilities are good. If you opt-in for a quiet place, this hotel is for you :)

Reviewed March 23, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Mary from Philippines
Group
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2019

Super Awesome and Highly Recommendable Place for North Cebu Trips”

First of all, the price for the rooms are very cheap considering that the rooms are very beautifully arranged, comfy and nice to stay. The location is quite far from the town BUT, the good thing here is that they have free van rental and they even used that van to take us on the port for FREE. The place is so instagrammable as they have many beautiful setting of the whole area. The staff are very approachable and helped us in so many ways. When you order on their in-house restaurant, they even deliver the food to you whenever you are: in the pool, in the rooms, etc. The food there is quite pricey but rest assured that it can be shared by 2 persons (max) and are very delicious! Overall, this is highly recommendable to all. Rest assured that you will enjoy your stay here.

Reviewed June 16, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Eden from Philippines
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Peaceful Sanctuary”

Everything from booking to the time we left was great. I booked the wrong date and they had no issues accommodating us, same day. Even asked if we needed to be fetched from the port but we brought our own car and even got to park properly at their garage which is wonderful. Food in big servings, cooked well too! Breakfast is included and it was more than our tummies could handle! The flowers in this place is to marvel at. They're everywhere- makes everything look picture-perfect. Cottages are big and very clean, shampoo and soap included. Freshly washed soft towels too. Don't expect to have powder-white sand here since this is near the mangroves. You can sit in peace and watch the calm waters or take a dip without seeing the other guests. This property is vast- lots of places to just relax and admire nature. Everything here is organized--which we really appreciate. No headaches, no issues.

Reviewed June 07, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Daniel from United States
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Peaceful and quiet compared to Santa Fe”

Much more privacy and you’re away from the pollution and noise of Santa Fe. Yet, you’re only a 10 minute motorcycle ride away in case you want to go into town for dinner or to walk on the white sand beaches etc. Scooter rentals only cost 350 pesos per day, very much worth. Our cottage had a beachfront view and for the cost, you can’t do much better on this island. The pancakes for breakfast were great just make sure you order sliced mango on the side ;)

Reviewed February 28, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Anna from Philippines
Couple
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Nice but could be better”

The service is superb. I had to change my reservation date and they accommodated it. Location is quite far from sta. fe port (roughly 30 minutes) but they have free pick up and transfer service. The resort is beautiful, peaceful and less guests. Cons. 1. Food is good but a bit pricey 2. Pool is kinda dirty 3. Beachfront is not best for swimming 4. Towels are too small. It's like face towel. 5. Location is far from everything

Reviewed February 03, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Jill from Philippines
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Superb Customer Service”

I was worried at first after reading reviews that Maia's was far from Sta Fe beach. This resort turned out to be a hidden gem! Yes it is far, but a lot of things make up for the location. The staff was amazing, especially Maui at the restaurant and Kuya Dodong the driver. Food at the restaurant was sooo good and cheap! You'd think it would be expensive because the resort is in the middle of nowhere but food is priced the same as the restaurants in town. Rooms are cleaned and linens and towels are changed daily. We especially loved their pool which was naturally heated by the sun. It was nice to soak in a warm pool after being out in a tour the whole day! They have free pick up and drop off at the port and a shuttle service to town/sta fe beach for a minimal fee. My bf is into astrophotography and he was ecstatic that there was no light pollution around the resort so he managed to take photos of the milky way for 2 nights in a row! The location of the resort is a make or break. You either love it because it's exclusive or hate it because it's far from town. I'm glad we loved it!

Reviewed November 14, 2018
7.6
Very good
Bimchil from Philippines
Group
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Private resort for the gang”

Pros Creative cottage for couples and group of three Comes with complimentary breakfast Parking on vicinity Standby elevator for power outrages Can bring dogs Staff always ready to assist you Cons Long drive from the festive Santa Fe, where most of the activities happen Some cottages looked so old Beach has lots of coral formation, little soft sand area

Reviewed July 04, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Clarice from Philippines
Couple
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Exceptional! ”

Our stay at Maia's is the best! I had a mistake with my booking before but they amended it! Everything else is amazing. The food might be a little bit pricy but it's worth the price. They are not going to disappoint you with their meals. Their free breakfast is good, me and my partner had more than enough of what we have expected from the breakfast. I did not regret choosing the resort as our venue for me and my partner's 1st anniversary. There were two cons that I've encoutered tho. The location, since it's far from the main city and the beach. There's a pool that can be used at anytime tho. I'll be recommending the resort to my friends and relatives. Thank you for the wonderful experience, Maia's!

Reviewed March 27, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
emelita from Philippines
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Peaceful, Quiet & Boring”

If one wants to destress and a quiet relaxation, Maia's is a to go place. Place is cozy and peaceful. Amenities is well maintained. But if one wants to enjoy the beach, Maia's is a disappointment. Beachline is short, seabed is mostly muddy and slimy. Barefoot walking is not encourage due to the seashells and rocks which is prone to cutting skin.

Reviewed March 14, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Feljane
Solo traveler
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

RELAXING”

If you want to just chill, relax, be away from the mundane environment of a city life, this is the best place to visit in Bantayan Island. I was surprised how peaceful the place is. Love it! And will surely come back.

Reviewed March 05, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Owen from Philippines
Family with young children
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Great”

The place is very relaxing and the staff was very attentive to our needs. As a traveler with younger children this hotel was great.

Reviewed May 20, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Quennie from Philippines
Group
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Beautiful Serene Place”

The place was amazing - the view, the pool, the beach, the cottages. Their restaurant serves good food, and the staff were very acommodating. The resort also has a free shuttle service for pick up to and from the port. The only downside is it's very far from Sta Fe, if you want to go around the island trabspo is hard to find.

Reviewed May 22, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Mercedes from Australia
Couple
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018

Great stay!”

Great staff! Great service, beautiful location (a little remote but that was the point), good food! we really enjoyed our stay. It's good if you want to chill away from the crowds, but would not recommend for a single traveller that wants to meet people

Reviewed February 24, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Peter from Germany
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018

Excellent”

Second time in Maias once again fabulous. Thank You for the free transportationand changing the room and cleaning everyday.. 5 Star service. . The Staff in the resort are very friendly and made me feel very welcome. Its a romantic place to stay but those who are looking for wxcitement and entertainment this is not for you. For those looking for a quiet place to relax and destress and of course those who are looking for a romantic place to hang out this is perfect. The swimming pool is fabulous but there is no beach but that is not a problem in such a beautiful setting.. once there to get into kote beach and harbour you need get transport . Or hire a bike. . Thank You for the wonderful time and we will be returning next year :-)

Reviewed February 21, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
mick from Australia
Family with young children
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017

Nice sopt”

Great spot to relax and take easy for few days staff good and there guy pick you up from port as resort bout 15km away clean aircond rooms and priced good restaurant and pool good too ,it very quite there (thumbs up) ps there only 6 accommodation hut styles there so never crowded

Reviewed May 16, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Aaron from United States
Couple
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

Favorite place on the island.”

Quite and peaceful place out of the tourist trap of Santa Fe. Good food and friendly staff. Next time this will be my first resort stop... not my third. One con is that there is a small fishing village right next to the resort.

Reviewed November 21, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Brendan from Australia
Group
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2016

Wedding Ceremony”

We booked out the whole resort to hold our wedding reception in this wonderful environment. With many thanks to Maia and Klause and the whole staff for ensuring that all went well. The end result was truly memorable.

Reviewed September 24, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Jan from Czech Republic
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016

Very nice resort with willing personal and the best food”

Resort is a little bit faraway from Santa Fe but in good position between SF and Bantayan city. Very usefull swiming pool, motorbikes for rent for good price, nice and kind personal. We was really satisfied.

Reviewed August 01, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
John from United States
Family with young children
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016

Awesome resort!”

We had a wonderful stay at Maia's. Not one thing to cause stress. It's absolutely beautiful, clean, quiet, next to the ocean and the food is wonderful. The staff is very helpful and pleasant. You can sit on the porch or at the bar and watch the local fishermen doing their thing. The only caveat is it's 15 min out of Santa Fe, where the nice swimming beaches are. That was fine with me, as I had a car, and they have a nice pool at the resort. But seriously, if you want to relax, this is a wonderful place to do so.

Reviewed January 23, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Tracee from Philippines
Family with young children
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

A short but memorable stay”

Friendly and Welcoming Staff, Food, Quiet Environment

My son and I enjoyed our stay at Maia's. It's located a little further within the island, but it's still near enough to travel to the other beaches and restaurants. The owners and staff were very welcoming and accommodating, and our stay felt like a home away from home because of them.

Reviewed January 21, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Ava from Philippines
Group
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

Relaxing!”

good food, friendly staff, relaxing and quiet ambiance

My stay at Maia's was very relaxing. It's not for those looking for a hotel situated right where the action is. It's a 20-min drive from Sta Fe which is what makes it the best pick for those who want a peaceful and relaxing getaway. The rooms are very beach-y and the staff and very friendly too.

Reviewed May 08, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Gerhard from Germany
Family with young children
Cottage - Triple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013

Secluded Beach Resort for relaxation and unwinding”

Wonderful garden landscape, clean room, quiete surrounding

This place is quite secluded und away from the main tourist area. We enjoyed it, as it was quiet and a peaceful place also for your children. The pool was clean and sufficient size for them to swim. Unfortunately the beach itself was not sandy. But the resort maintains a sandy beach and a spacious garden, well landscaped. The food in the clean restaurant was good and as we could choose from three different breakfasts in the morning all of us could be satisfied. The triple cottage we rented was sufficient from the space, well cleaned and orderly. The bathroom was large enough and well maintained. Possibly a small fridge or minibar would be well suitable for cooling drinks and water. Otherwise we have been quite satisfied with our stay and would certainly come back again.

Reviewed May 17, 2013
7.6
Very good
Rhodemie from Philippines
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2019

we ended up loving it”

Location was really far from everything and it doesn't have the white-sanded beach that I was expecting. However, the place was sooo nice and cozy. picture-worthy ^^, and the staff were so accommodating and the food was great (really loved their veggies with creamy white sauce!) We just rented a motorcycle (350pesos, morning till 9pm) and drove to Bantayan's public beach and around the place. Though I wont recommend driving when the sun sets coz there were no lamp posts. Over-all, it was worth it, though it was far.

Reviewed June 24, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Matthew
Couple
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 5 nights in February 2019

Well kept cottages”

Beautiful peaceful setting and tranquil gardens. Robust clean cottages with hot water and very comfy beds. Kind staff. Very quiet, remote surroundings. Going back soon. Ideal if you have a scooter to get around the island.

Reviewed February 27, 2019
8.8
Excellent
April from Philippines
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Excellent”

We had the best stay at Maia's. Very relaxing and quiet place. Facilities and amenities contributed to a whole lot of it. Staff and owner were all accommodating and nice. Can even rent a motorbike for 350 per day. Only drawback is the location. A bit far from Sante Fe and restaurants.

Reviewed November 19, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Rusty from Canada
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018

Beautiful garden and friendly staff. ”

When we first walked into Maia's we were awestruck by the beautiful garden. The flowers and trees grow within old coral and all around the swimming pool. It has lots of huts to sit under all around the garden and pool. There is also a small private beach to enjoy. Maia's is a about 16 km out of Santa Fe so if you plan on going in and out of town I recommend renting a scooter from them or be prepared to pay for their shuttle in and out of town.

Reviewed October 25, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Margarette from Philippines
Solo traveler
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Nice and quiet place...staff were kind though it's far..you can rent their motorbike to go to town”

Just more brighter the lights in the night.

Reviewed April 04, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
MONINA from Philippines
Family with young children
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2019

Place is awesome and relaxing, free from the busy crowd of the city the ”

Wish their toilets have bidet. But all of our request were granted and they cook food so good. Our stay was worthy with free breakfast that is so delicious. Would recommend to friends and family

Reviewed June 15, 2019
7.6
Very good
stephen from United States
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Worth the drive ”

Very peaceful stay. Nice pool and exquisite landscapes. Massage was superb. Ac a little weak

Reviewed April 20, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Fritz from Philippines
Couple
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Best place if you want privacy.. ”

Private place you can enjoy in quiet nature environment..best place for married couples

Reviewed November 05, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Steven from United States
Solo traveler
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

hidden gem”

If you are looking for a white beach with a lot of people this place is not for you. It is a quiet, off the beaten path little paradise. Beautifully landscaped, friendly helpful staff, delicious generously portioned food, clean cottages with all the amenities. The perfect place to get away from the daily hustle, bustle but with access to all of the other activities and adventures of the island. The staff will help you with whatever you need to make it happen. It is one of the top 3 places I have stayed in the Philippines over the last decade, and I will return.

Reviewed July 09, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Mark from Australia
Solo traveler
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

Nice resort, far location from everything”

The facilities and the staff were great only problem is that it is far from anything. It is a nice place if you are travelling with someone or a group. But being a solo traveller I had to move to another resort closer to town.

Reviewed March 31, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Dhasell from Philippines
Solo traveler
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

Excellent”

The place was perfect for travelers who wants a peaceful and quiet location, because its situated in the quiet town of Bantayan. Thus, far from bars and restauraants that are in Sta Fe., also making it somewhat of a disadvantage (however, they do have their own restaurant). The resort has its own pool and beachfront. The staff were very helpful and polite. The only dissatisfaction from the time of my stay is the bed, as its hard on the back and it squeaks on certain areas. All in all, I would consider coming back here when I come back to Bantayan Island.

Reviewed March 24, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Richard from Australia
Group
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

A quiet little paradise”

We wanted a quiet place to relax and base ourselves and couldn't have made a better choice. Our booking was last minute, literally just before we got on the 7am ferry from Hagnaya. Maia's offers a free transfer to/from the ferry terminal. We called them while in the ferry and they were able to meet us in time. We chose to rent motorcycles for a day so they took our lugguage and we followed the van back to the resort. The resort is quite a way out - about 20 mins by motorcycle. When we arrived we were able to check in early and use our bungalow. There are boardwalks through the amazing gardens and over the limestone formations that made Maia's so unique. The property is beachfront but the beach isn't sandy like Paradise beach - you can definitely swim there (or in the pool if you prefer). We had breakfast there which was included and served by a kind staff member, Maui, who answered all our questions. We also had the full body massages - heavenly after a day driving around the island!

Reviewed March 23, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Joseph from Philippines
Couple
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

Great place stay. Worth the buck.”

My wife and I found this place charming. The staffs were so accommodating and welcoming. They have free transport from the pier to the resort and vice versa. They also have nice resort grounds and the place is secluded so privacy is guaranteed. The beach is not beautiful as those in Sta. Fe ; however, you could enjoy the day visiting the beaches in Sta. Fe and come back to a relaxing night swim in their swimming pool. Also worth adding is that their toilet tissue comes in a dispenser (similar to airports and malls), and not just one single toilet tissue roll (like most hotels). So it's a plus for us.

Reviewed February 10, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Ivy from Philippines
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2018

Very good”

The place and the staff was great. Perfect for relaxing and if you want to be away from all the buzz of the main land. It’s around 20-30 min drive away from Sta. Fe. Breakfast was great, they have options from Continental to Filipino breakfast. A TV in the room would be perfect though since the activities you can do in the resort are limited. But overall our stay was great.

Reviewed January 31, 2018
8.4
Excellent
felix from Philippines
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018

quite place to stay, good food and the resort is well maintain and clean. ”

Location is quite far from the main road and it is a muddy and slippery though you can take alternate route but will take time. Beachfront is not as good as i expected, they have this like concrete pier, a muddy shore. Yet they have this cute pool you can enjoy with, and a cottages above stones. Scenery is good. Rooms is good, very clean but they dont have TV and the wifi connection is on their restaurant area only that you might want ot hang on after your activities.

Reviewed January 16, 2018
8.8
Excellent
SONIA from Philippines
Group
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

Best kepted secret in the Philippines.”

Facilities and grounds clean. Food at the restaurant simple and delicious. Pool nice and clean. Not swimming beach, shallow water and nice to walk in. It would be nicer if the rooms had cable television. Remote location for a wonderful and quiet stay.

Reviewed October 08, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Maria from Philippines
Group
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2017

10 being the highest, i'll give 8! ”

Location: Near Bantayan Town Proper and 20-30 mins away from Sta. Fe area. Kudos to Kuya Dodong, resort driver for being courteous and to his wife for the affordable Danggit. Resort staffs are approachable. It would be awesome if there's TV in the room. Good thing they have swimming pool coz the beach is not too inviting compared to the beaches located in Sta. Fe. I loved the garden by the way!

Reviewed July 04, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Mark from Philippines
Family with young children
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017

Resort staff were very accommodating. Clean resort.”

My whole family stayed in this resort for 2 nights. The staff were very accommodating. They attended to all of our requests. :) Resort was clean as well. They only have 6 cottages, so privacy was very good. The only con was that it was a bit far from Sta. Fe. (20 mins) But the resort was good enough to give a free ride from port going to resort and resort to port. We payed the resort's van to give us a ride going to Sta. Fe on our second day and fetch us in the evening after our Bantayan roam around.

Reviewed June 13, 2017
8.0
Excellent
MARY from Philippines
Family with young children
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2017

Very good”

Our stay was marvelous, although the road getting there is not fully paved the journey was worth it. They have good amenities, sumptous and affordable food and a great staff especially kua Elmer who took good care of us. He was also very patient towards my drunk and "super makulit" aunt. The rooms have no TV and the wifi is available only in the common area which turned out to be a good thing. My children enjoyed hunting and stalking hermit crabs. We also had a fun time looking for other marine creatures when the tide got so low that u can walk almost to the middle of the ocean. When we got there most of the weekend guests already checked out hence we have the place to ourselves. If u want a tranquil and relaxing place to rest this is ur place. U can hear your thoughts together with the sound of crickets as u stare at the vast and starry sky. I just hope they take more care of the ocean in front of their resort.

Reviewed May 30, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Raul from Philippines
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017

Blissful stay”

The beach in the property may not be the best, but the surroundings heavily make up for it. It feels like paradise, lots of flowers and beautiful trees and plants. The place is never over crowded, the staff is very-very nice, they met our every need. Its possible to rent a motorbike for a rather small fee and just go around exploring the island. The resort is ideal for people who just want to take time off and escape the busy city life. Bring a book or two and just relax :)

Reviewed May 21, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
karine from France
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017

Beautiful, friendly and relaxing place”

If you are looking for a quiet place just to relax, away from everything, that's the place to be! The staff is really friendly, the room, the garden, swimming pool really clean. The food is delicious... well, what else... love that place!!

Reviewed April 20, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
David from Philippines
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017

The most beautiful resort ever!”

Thank you so much for everything Klaus, Maia and Elmer (also thank you to the other staff!). It was so nice to stay at your place. We felt as if we were home, the bungalows are very cozy and clean, there is a nice view from the beach und lots of small pavilions where you can relax. There is also a nice pool and you can book nicely massage. Everywhere are beautiful flowers and palms. It is like a paradise. Thank you again for your help after our motorcycle accident. We will remember you and come back one day :)

Reviewed March 20, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Michael from Philippines
Solo traveler
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017

Nice but remote”

The setup is beautiful and well maintained, enjoy sunset on the beachfront terrasse, the light on the shore is spectacular at that time if day. The staff is really helpful and local dishes are well prepared. No swimming on the beach though, and not much to do there (closest is the protected mangrove area) so you need your own transport (they have bikes and a bicycle). For a solo traveller there is not much company, the place seems to attract not to be disturbed couples.

Reviewed March 06, 2017
8.0
Excellent
alberto from Italy
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017

Nice resort with beautiful garden and nice swimming pool.Room confortable ”

Resort far from bantayan city and from port but with a good taxi service included,near to the real life of philippine people.room confortable,beautiful garden,good swimming pool.the see is near but isn't easy swim.not clean service every day in the room.good restaurant and friendly staff.

Reviewed February 07, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Martin from Netherlands
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

very nice resort, friendly staff”

resort is very nicely designed. beautiful garden, partly merged with the rocks on the beachfront. our cottage was facing the beach so we had a nice view over the sea. cottages are clean and spacious. very friendly staff, food in restaurant was good for reasonable price. only downside is that the location is bit far from bantayaan town and santa fe but resort offers free shuttle service on check-in/out and with payment during the stay.

Reviewed November 07, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Marcelito from Philippines
Family with teens
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016

A good one!”

Their restaurant serves excellent tasting and well prepared food! Friendly and attentive staff. Resort is quiet with lots of trees and flowers. Clean pool. Place is a nice escape. Beach is so-so. We went to nearby white sand beaches. We would stay in Maia's again.

Reviewed June 10, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Philip from Philippines
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2016

It's worth it. ”

It was a little farther from the airport where we were supposed to do the jump (skydive cebu) but Kota was fully booked so we ended up with Maia's. And we loved it. It's nice and quiet. The room was clean and the staff were efficient and pleasant. Needless to say, every peso spent was worth it.

Reviewed May 06, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Martin from Netherlands
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 5 nights in February 2016

Sun Sand and Sea on a budget”

We had a great stay. Service is excellent, prices reasonable and facilities very nice from the outside (things really look like on the pictures). Food was good and while it cost more than in the cities, still not overpriced. This place is perfect if you are looking for more quiet and relaxation. Swim in the pool, relax in the bar, get a massage - for all that the place is great. If you want everything in walking distance, traffic noise party and karaoke blasting until the wee hours in the morning, this place is not for you. Then stay in Santa Fee instead. The nearest towns (Bantayan Proper and Sta Fee) are 20 Minutes away by car or scooter. Only min point ar er the insides (bathroom s) of the cottages. They could use a good renovation. However appliances work and all is clean. Definitely recommend to stay here, provided you are not a party animal.

Reviewed February 25, 2016
8.0
Excellent
ahmed from Oman
Business traveler
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016

Overall feedback”

Its good location for near to markets and municipal etc..i like the food was great!my suggestion is that bar facing the beach can be replaced with another facility or a small shop or something useful...very quite but sometimes here loud music during the late night only if i exit my room :) very private and friendly staff and helpful..they provided us the van to make trips to cater our activities..recommended for peace of mind and tranquility lovers.

Reviewed February 07, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Jongsuk from South Korea
Solo traveler
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015

Hidden gem- Beautiful garden, beach, people”

People, garden,rooms

Maia was one of the very best places I have ever stayed. This very beautiful place is thoughtfully built and maintained with LOVE but nothing else. The owner and staff are lovely and very giving and helping. This resort has only 6 cottages and room is very clean, simple, yet lovely. Food is great, I was pleasantly surprised when I found my hot chocolate was really from melting chocs. They put cover on beverage so that flies don't get into. The only drawback one might feel is the fact that It is actually 10 min drive away from the port Santafe-where all the restaurants are so it will cost you money to get out from there or do island hopping, maia arrange/ help on this transportation. This was never a problems for me however as I really loved the resort and wanted to spend more time in this part of the island and enjoy the beach just in front of my cottage. The garden is built by Maia's husband who's German and very beautiful and link to the small but gorgeous swimming pool. The owner couple is very inspiring and generous people, I literally cried when I say bye to them after 4 days stay. I honestly almost keep this place myself but I share and pray that good travellers can visit Maia's and have wonderful time.

Reviewed January 02, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Simon from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015

Fantastic retreat”

Location for quiet stay. Beautiful views. Beautiful rooms.

It was an accidental find which turned out to be a really beautiful resort. It's paradise ideal for anyone wanting to get away from it all. Having said that it was close enough to Bantayan town to go to the market as we hired a motorcycle. The only bad thing is no beach just into the sea but the pool is fantastic.

Reviewed May 20, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Robert from Canada
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014

Relaxing days at Maia's”

Ambiance of the resort, quality of the food, free transportation from and to the port in Santa Fe.

It was indeed a relaxing stay. The resort has beautiful gardens which convey a warm and peaceful closeness to nature. The food was very well-prepared and is priced reasonably. [ breakfast is free ] We enjoyed the use of the facilities [ pool table, swimming pool, function room for viewing of DVD movies ]. I was totally amazed at the wide variety of the collection of movie titles. The location of Maia's Beach Resort is a little remote [ about a 15 minute drive from Santa Fe ], but there are a couple of small "corner stores" only a short walk from the grounds. If you want to see other parts of Bantayan Island, it is strongly recommended that you rent a motorbike for a few days.

Reviewed October 09, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

Awesome time, will go back”

Staff was attentive, pool was good, ocean view

Had a blast. The pool was clean and close to the beach. The gazebos are quite nice as well. Very well kept gardens and plenty of birds and flowers everywhere. Relaxing place, just a bumpy ride to get there.

Reviewed October 21, 2013
5.7
Suk from South Korea
Couple
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013

If you are looking for tranquility this is the pl”

Private small beach, Nice bar & Garden

No complaints, staff were friendly they have a nice small private beach with garden. Bit far from the main district but doable with motel/resort transportation. Room comfortness do not expect anything just an old cottage with nice architecture surrounding. Don't mind revisit

Reviewed April 17, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Rosemary from Australia
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 6 nights in February 2013

Wonderful hideaway with excellent service ”

Secluded with beach and swimming pool, good food and natural surrounds, cottages were everything you need, nothing more, nothing less and spotlessly clean

We loved our stay at Miai's, not only is the service second to none, the location is a wonderful hideaway conducive to reading books, sunning yourself and relaxing. The trip from Cebu is a good three hours including 2hr taxi and 1 to 1.5 hr ferry ride but you never want to leave when you arrive. Highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quite, relaxing place to stay.

Reviewed February 26, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Sadie from United States
Couple
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013

Lovely friendly low-key resort, outstanding staff!”

Best beds in SEAsia, wonderful food, super helpful staff

maia's is a true gem. hotel have made a friendly, cozy, relaxing resort with luxury touches where it matters. the beds are the best in seasia (ergonomic, soooo comfortable and the pillow is just the right size! if you have been traveling in seasia then you know how rare this is). we stayed at a beachfront cottage, and this was really "barefoot luxury". we coul have our delicious breakfast on our terrace every morning, the grounds were immaculate, and every time we needed something we got wonderful help. the beach is not much, but you can easily rent a moped or arrange for a transfer. you won't regret saying here!!!! would stay here again over and over again!!!

Reviewed February 19, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Rodrigo from Brazil
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 6 nights in November 2012

It is the paradise!”

Amazing place, the best landscape, warm weather, nice rooms, the most friendly people I have ever seem and good food.

The rooms are nice, the resort is very beautiful, with many beautiful gardens. The beach is really calm and very clean water. When you get tired of beach, you can go to the swimming pool. Also you can borrow two bicycles for free and go to the Banthayan town. Be prepared to answer for a "Hello" every where. The locals love to talk to foreigners. It is just the perfect place to stay! Just two problem we had faced was the Internet. It is a GSM internet that goes out of service, from time to time. The island just have one ATM available in Banthayan town, for foreigner cards.

Reviewed November 23, 2012
6.8
Good
Don from Philippines
Family with young children
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

Great Resort at the Wrong Location”

The Resort itself was great! Staff were awesome - friendly, accommodating, they go above and beyond for the guests. Kudos to the staff. Rooms (cottages) were clean, quiet and relaxing. They quite big too (queen beds with sliding beds underneath, can accommodate up to 8 adults i think). The landscape in the area is picture-worthy. Having amenities like swimming pool, billiards, karaoke area by-the-sea are great too. The only problem is the location. It is located far (15-20 mins drive) from the pristine beaches which is the main reason why one would go to Bantayan. It has its own little beach inside the resort, but not ideal for swimming. I guess if you're looking for a place to relax, the quietness and remoteness of the place is ideal. But if you wanted to enjoy the sun, the water, the food and the people, look for someplace near Sta. Fe.

Reviewed January 13, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Roland
Solo traveler
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Nice and relaxing ”

Love the place it’s so quite and far from busy cities

Reviewed April 22, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
John from Australia
Couple
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Exceptional”

I like everything, especially very quiet

Reviewed March 23, 2019
5.6
Kris from Philippines
Couple
Cottage - Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018

dont book this if u want to swim on the beach”

Yes, the property is beach front but you cant swim on the beach because it's just a big garden of seaweeds.

Reviewed November 30, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
SAEMI from South Korea
Solo traveler
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

good to stay”

affordable and quite. peaceful and beautiful. willing to stay there again

Reviewed August 15, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Jurg from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Cottage - Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017

Beautyful but far from everyhing”

Great to make holiday pictures. Nice pool. Swimming in the sea not so good. Good for two or three days

Reviewed July 11, 2017