Book Now: Mandarin Oriental Bangkok

Exceptional
From 480 reviewsSee what guests said
9.2
/
10
Recommended by 98% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (480)Booking.com Reviews (357)
9.2
/
10
Exceptional
From 480 reviews
Cleanliness9.6
Facilities9.3
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality9.5
Service9.4
Value for money8.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (480)
All room types
Showing 419 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Toshio from Japan
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016
Best hotel I had ever stayed ”
Everything was fantastic and excellent!!
Reviewed September 04, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Lau from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2016
Excellent Hotel Service”
Feeling warm greeting during my stay, 5 stars service and fabulous environment, must stay next time !
Reviewed July 05, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Jay from United States
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Fabulous hotel”
They take pride in being the best and it shows. A gorgeous hotel with old-school romantic charm and superior service. Jazz in the Bamboo Bar and tea in the Joseph Conrad Terrace completed a lovely anniversary stay.
Reviewed May 30, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Dirk from Mauritius
Family with young children
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
mr”
very good hotel
Reviewed May 19, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
romain from France
Family with teens
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Excellent ”
Top 5 Hotel worlwife
Reviewed April 19, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
IMAHASHI from Japan
Couple
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
So satisfied ”
We want to stay again. They have hospitality. But, taste of afternoon tea is so so. So, I felt price is expensive.
Reviewed April 14, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
gasang from China
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
very good”
Perfext
Reviewed March 29, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Kerstin from Sweden
Couple
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Best hotel in bangkok”
Food service and nice
Good,
Reviewed March 24, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
ALAN from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior King Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Terrific”
Terrific
Reviewed March 21, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
NGUYEN from Vietnam
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
Excellent”
Delicious food, great massage
Reviewed February 16, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Couple
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Mr & mrs Robert leeson, jr.”
In particular, your staff is most superb, caring, efficient....and somehow always knew our names. How could they be so alert? And the food was wonderful. Hoping to stay at your hotel sometime soon, for our 4th visit. Robert LEESON, JR.
Reviewed February 12, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Kwa from United States
Business traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Great Hotel Even for the Price”
Amazing Rooms, Mostly Excellent Staff Service, Hotel is immaculate
I had an amazing stay. The breakfast was great and the staff was very helpful. We ate both nights at the great restaurants in the hotel. The only problem I had was with getting taxis. The first time, they gave the taxi driver the wrong location which caused me to be late to a meeting. Then at the end when they got me a taxi for an early morning flight, the driver tried to significantly rip me off and when I told him about it he was very rude. I felt like the hotel could have definitely prevented these instances.
Reviewed January 13, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Sally from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Worthy of it's top rating”
Beautiful hotel, spacious room, great service
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and only wish it was longer. The hotel reception areas are lovely, great pool, fantastic breakfast and outstanding service.
Reviewed January 12, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
amorn from Thailand
Couple
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Excellent”
Great Service / View / Location
Reviewed December 27, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Timothy from Turkey
Family with young children
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
The best ”
The most personal care you will ever get, beautiful grounds and pool.
Reviewed December 24, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Jerome from Switzerland
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Fantastic stay in a great hotel”
Buffet, staff, driver
This is really one of the best hotel in the world. We felt so good during our whole stay, thanks to a great staff, always helpful and pro-active for anything. We could really feel that they were always here for us as their ratio is 3 staff for 1 guest. The buffet restaurant is one of the greatest buffet I have ever tried (try the duck, so delicate). Location is nice if you like this quiet location by the river, but a bit to far from Sukhumvit area if you like there too. They have a very good driver organization from the airport, do not hesitate to book it.
Reviewed December 18, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Matthew from United States
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015
Excellent honeymoon in 1505”
Excellent floor butler/staff were very friendly and helpful, delicious buffet breakfast, and high end accommodations.
We spent the first part of our honeymoon here from 15-19 Nov 2015. The hotel did not disappoint and truly lives up to its world class name. We took the BMW 740i shuttle from the airport and were greeted with fresh sented towels, water and a luxury ride to the hotel. Didn't have to touch our bags again until they were set out for us in the room. Check in was completed in the comfort of our room and the staff walked us through the amenities and location of everything in the room. We were pleased to learn the floor had dedicated butler service that could be called from a button on either night stand. Another button was also dedicated for do not disturb. The staff went out of their was to show us kindness and meet our every need. They always knew how to anticipate. A great example is when our floor butler noticed my Allen Edmonds shoes were a bit dirty. While we were out for the day he took it upon himself to clean them and had them waiting for me when we returned. Very impressive! The room was appointed with quality that any audiophile would enjoy - denon sound system and Samsung tv with premium programming. The desk was multifunctional and the bedding was deluxe. Shower water pressure was great! We participated in the spa for a traditional Thai message in a private suite and did the Thai cooking class. Both experiences were excellent! Upon leavin we again took the bmw to the airport and staff walked out bags through check in all the way to security! Total professionalism. Only thing I would recommend is upgrading the toilets as they required the handle being held down for a long time to flush.
Reviewed November 20, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Sopha from Thailand
Couple
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Excellent service”
appearance, staff are very efficient, good food
Excellent service and staffs are all efficient... Best service ever
Reviewed September 26, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Christopher from United States
Business traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
Mandarin Oriental is classy”
Beauty, staff friendliness, views
Fantastic hotel. I
Reviewed September 14, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Sheena from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Fantastic Hotel”
The best things about this hotel was the property itself, the spa and the staff.
Even though I only spent one night at the Mandarin Oriental, it was one of the best nights I've ever experienced. From the outstanding customer service to the very lush spa- this hotel has the best of everything. The only downside was the lack of free wi-fi. At this standard of hotel, you would think wireless internet would be included!
Reviewed June 28, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
brenda from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Elegant , cosy and stylish! ”
Attentiveness , thoughtfulness and various choice of good food provided!
Reviewed June 14, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Con from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2015
A Great Hotel”
The wonderful staff,The food,The great service
As far as I am concerned the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok is in a class of its own. In a good hotel you are lucky to find one or two good staff ,but at the Mandarin I can think of many I encountered. This includes Su who is a most wonderful lady that serves tea in the stunning lobby and who has a most positive attitude towards life. Also in the lobby they have a great piano player who is blind. I was touched at the kindness and respect shown to him by other members of the staff who graciously help him to get around. At the Bamboo Bar you will find a great barman who will make you one of his signature cocktails . Then kick back and enjoy the truly talented Jazz singer from America and the equally impressive saxophone and piano player all genuine professional musicians. When I arrived at the hotel I was unwell .No problem ,the Hotel has a fabulous nurse and a Doctor on the premisses .They gave me a test and had the results three hours later and supplied me the required medicine as well.Try that at another hotel,or anywhere for that matter. There are many more notable people not least is the lady who gave me a splendid massage at the hotel spa. Best I have ever had. Need I go on. This hotel has what is desperately lacking from the hotel industry.and that is genuine hospitality ,efficient and kind service. Few hotels take care of guests better and make them feel more welcomed and comfortable. Finally a tip of the hat to the good folks at Agoda who's great rate and easy to transact system made it possible for me to afford staying at this last bastion of luxury.To borrow the line of the the great actor Peter Ustinoff, "when I am leaving ,I am already planing my trip back"!.
Reviewed May 23, 2015
4.3
Tariq from Canada
Couple
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Poor value for money”
Nothing "best"
Hugely disappointing. Stayed 1st 3 nights of Bangkok visit at a 5-star hotel in Bangkok downtown and then mover for 2 nights at 2x higher cost to MO for the "experience of a life time" and MO suffered on all counts. far from happening locations in the city, smallish lobby, unimpressive check-in, smaller room, trouble after check in as power fuse for room kept blowing out as one of the power outlets was defective, buffet breakfast had limited choices of mediocre quality and plagued by high noise pollution due to non-stop operation of hotel's shuttle boats operating on Chao Prya river at the adjoining pier. The shuttle boats' operation is an environmental disaster in terms of high noise and exhaust emissions as shuttle boats continue to arrive and depart continuously at the pier and 2-3 MO shuttle boats can be seen in the river at any given time with 1 or evn no customers on board. Hotel should operating shuttle boats at lets say 15 minutes interval to the frequency of boat operation and also the adverse environmental aspects associated with it. Will not stay at the MO again.
Reviewed February 23, 2015
6.7
Good
Benny from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
You will get the luxe of what you pay ”
River view, room and spa
Good but would like to try other next time since BKK has many different type of hotel
Reviewed February 18, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Puiphai from Thailand
Couple
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Still the best”
Staffs service mind, food, the river
Great
Reviewed February 16, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
John from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 9 nights in February 2015
Spectacular, elegant, and friendly”
Exquisitely beautiful hotel and grounds, kindness and professionalism of staff, perfect location in Bangkok near walking area and Sky Train
For me, the hotel is the foundation for an international trip. I've stayed at some of the best hotels in the world, my standards are very high -- sometimes a little obsessively so, and this hotel has to be at the top of the list in every conceivable respect. Just as a small example, each day a tray of a different tropical fruit appears in the room, accompanied by silverware, linen napkins, a small orchid, and a printed card with information about that day's fruit. Apply that attention to detail to every aspect of the hotel, and that will give you a picture of the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok. Sometimes, at a hotel of this caliber, you'll feel a stuffiness and pretentiousness. Not so here. The elegance is accompanied by an easy warmth and casual comfortable feeling.
Reviewed February 15, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Maritoni from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
wonderful time”
location, the bar and resto by the bay, staff service
awesome
Reviewed December 15, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Yuk from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
i got more than i paid”
good food, good service
Reviewed December 12, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
LEONG from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
expensive”
excellent staff. price too high compared to other top hotels
Reviewed November 29, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
FIona from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Best of the best”
Service, attention to detail and exquisite ambience
Can this be the best hotel in the world? Incredibly thoughtful service and attention. I casually mentioned to one staff member I could not eat dairy. Subtlley all staff then seemed to be aware and all little poolside snacks wre adjusted for me. It's a glorious quiet haven in Bangkok. The spa is what everyone else around d the world tries to be. Excellence at its best.
Reviewed September 24, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Salavanotyan from Thailand
Family with young children
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Mandarin Oriental Hotel”
good
Reviewed September 18, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Darren from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
fantastic”
staff location facitates
very relaxing great staff a pleasant stay ..
Reviewed September 09, 2014
7.7
Very good
Igarashi from Japan
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2014
Wondeful View Hotel”
Nice view,Good staff,Good location on boat
Reviewed August 27, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Charles from Canada
Family with teens
Stayed 4 nights in July 2014
Old World Luxury”
Staff service, location, historical hotel
This hotel has wonderful and attentive staff. A lot of amenities. Great views watching the goings and comings on the river. An opportunity to be in a historical hotel with the Crown Prince coming for a special ceremony added to the charm. Guests coming for fancy weddings and parties were dressed in beautiful Thai and western clothing. The whole experience here was worth returning for. On the negative side, Thai dinner on the riverside terrace had excellent dancing for entertainment and delightful views of the river, but the quality of the food was very disappointing. Ordinary corner restaurants had much better quality food. This "Grande Old Dame" as it is known could also catch up with the times for some tired carpets and furniture, as well as catching up with most hotels that do not charge an exorbitant hourly WiFI rate.
Reviewed July 23, 2014
5.7
DIDIER from Belgium
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in July 2014
rooms need to be refurbished, ”
location
a shame you have to pay as a guest for wifi old rooms definitely not the best of bangkok style is a strange mix of different styles from different years
Reviewed July 10, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Joyce from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Absolutely incredible. They really are the best.”
Staff, luxury, attentiveness
You haven't experienced luxury until you've been to the Mandarin. They wholly deserve their reputation for being THE best hotel in the world. Every single member of the staff warmly welcomed us with professionalism and care--and I mean every single member, from the porter to the wait staff to the pool boy to the boat driver. They have perfected luxury hospitality to the point where it's like they read your mind in anticipation for what you need next. Treat yourself--stay at the Mandarin and truly experience 5-star luxury like never before.
Reviewed May 21, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Catherine from Australia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in March 2014
Beautiful luxury hotel”
Decor, food, staff
The most pleasant hotel I have ever stayed in.
Reviewed April 08, 2014
7.0
Very good
Brian from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Good reputation, poor value for money”
Terrace restaurant, room, riverside location
Disappointing for a five star hotel with an excellent reputation. The property has an impeccable historic background with many famous people having stayed there but this doesn't reflect in the experience for the ordinary modern-day guest. The initial feeling of potential excitement on entering the hotel soon disappears as the level of service is average and doesn't compensate for the exotic surroundings.
Reviewed March 01, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Haruka from Japan
Couple
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Best-est hotel ever”
Gorgeous decolation, full of flowers, great service, luxury room
We really enjoyed staying at this hotel, definitely want to come back again!!!
Reviewed October 29, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
MINGJER from Taiwan
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Great hotel !”
attentive staff, elegance feeling, nice room
Reviewed October 17, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Daniel from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Absolutely perfect. One of the world's best hotels”
Service, hotel interior, choice of restaurants
Wonderful stay at Oriental, highly recommended. Relaxing, inspiring and invigorating all in one. Not enough superlatives to describe this hotel.
Reviewed September 11, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Laurent from France
Family with teens
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Awesome.”
Location, Staff, Restaurants
Reviewed September 02, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Laurent from France
Family with teens
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Awesome.”
Location, service, restaurants.
Very enjoyable from start to finish. Will go back for sure.
Reviewed August 31, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Liliana from Romania
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in August 2013
Fabulous”
Grandeur, fabulous restaurants, easy access
We had a wonderful week, friendly personnel and amazing food.
Reviewed August 26, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Ariyatash from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
above the expectation”
room, dinner, interior
Reviewed August 21, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Tim from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Beautiful Luxury Property”
Its History, the gorgeous setting, attention to detail and the BMW 750L limousine to the airport for $100 (worth every penny)
MY stay was very short, so I didn't have a chace to use all the facilities, but the staff are fantastic and professional.
Reviewed July 24, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Paulette from France
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013
A wonderful escapade from a busy world ”
The flowere and orchids everywhere, the thoughtful staff, the river location
Extremely comfortable and most enjoyable , with the very bad point in my opinion that wifi service is extremely expensive and definitively a factor which will influence my decision to stay again at the hotel....
Reviewed July 20, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Piyada from Thailand
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Superior Service ”
Friendly, well-groomed and serviced-minded staff. Classy and superior services.
Excellent and up to the 6-stars hotel experiences. The hotel staffs were friendly, attentive to detail and request of all the guest. The room was spacious with caring and genuine butler. The room service was one of a kind, especially for Thai food. Love the place, the service and the staff that created the wonderful experience.
Reviewed June 25, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Jose from Portugal
Business traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Simples the best in Bangkok”
The confort, the good quality of the staff aand the localization is superb.
Reviewed June 20, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Lakhaphat from Singapore
Couple
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Perfect Stay”
Excellent service, honors early check in, Attentive and attention to details makes stay enjoyable
Reviewed June 09, 2013