Book Now: Mandarin Oriental Bangkok

Exceptional
From 548 reviewsSee what guests said
9.2
/
10
Recommended by 100% of guests

Reviews of Mandarin Oriental Bangkok Reviews from real guests

Overall rating
9.2
Exceptional
From 662 reviews
9.5Cleanliness
9.5Room comfort and quality
9.4Service
Agoda Reviews (548)Booking.com Reviews (114)
Rating via Agoda9.2
/
10
Exceptional
Cleanliness9.5
Facilities9.3
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality9.5
Service9.5
Value for money8.5
Rating
9+ Exceptional (302)
8-9 Excellent (80)
7-8 Very Good (41)
6-7 Good (8)
<6 Below Expectation (9)
Time of the year
Mar - May (97)
Jun - Aug (119)
Sep - Nov (113)
Dec - Feb (111)
All guests (548)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 440 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Kai from Germany
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November 2009

The ideal home away from home”

personal attention, absolute friendliness, caring and efficiency
none

After our visit to the Mandarin Oriental 2 years ago I wrote the following review. Now we were there for a week and found that although the management had changed everything else had remained just as convincing and charming as ever: The claim to "make you feel at home" does not quite describe the Oriental’s main feature. What they actually do achieve is this: They give you a feeling of what the ideal home could be like. The personal care and appreciation one receives in the Oriental not just as a guest but as an individual is second to none. I can‘t think of any cons, except that people who are not sensitive to friendliness and personal attention should avoid the hotel. The following incident illustrates what I mean: Upon arrival at the Oriental, guests are greeted by welcoming personnell and presented a flower chain. One day I observed a man climbing out of the taxi, pushing the welcoming girl aside and slapping her hand as she attempted to give him the flower chain. There are many luxury hotels in the world and quite a few in Bangkok. Some might even be more luxurious with respect to interior decoration, furnishings, room facilities etc. than the Oriental. True luxury, however, does not come in the form of flat screen television sets, in-room whirlpools and the like (the rooms in the Oriental, by the way, are equipped with everything the discriminating traveller needs and designed in good taste and style) but is provided by caring and efficient personal attention. In the Oriental, your wishes are being fulfilled almost before you even know that you had them. Of course, part of the charme and spirit of the place lies in its history, but the secret of making you feel so extremely comfortable is the degree of friendliness and efficiency of the entire staff and the fact that you enjoy it not as an anonymous guest but as an appreciated individual with a name and a personal identity.

Reviewed November 06, 2009
10.0
Exceptional
Darren from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2009

Oriental delights”

Location. Colonial environment and historic features. Service. Quality of rooms, facilities and food.

The Mandarin Oriental hotel, the original hotel situated on the River of Kings, intrigues passers by on the river taxis, and captures the imagination of all who are lucky to visit or live in Bangkok. Arrival there for a celebratory 2 night stay lived up to all expectations. Service is immaculate from the moment you step out of your vehicle, paperwork executed in comfort in your own room and all amenities explained by the person who becomes your personal butler. The rooms are well-appointed and luxurious, on the smaller side but with no reduction of style or comfort. Air con, often the most disrupting element of any hotel, is quiet and effective. All guests were invited to a cocktail reception to meet the GM - where alcohol and canapes were of the highest standard and the atmosphere in the colonial Author's Lounge beyond compare. As part of our celebration we booked dinner at Le Normandie - the French restaurant on the top floor of this building, overlooking the river or the city. We were taken to our secluded table - privacy and elegance are maintained despite the small size of restaurant and looked after beautifully by the staff, including personal service from the Maitre d'Hote. Food and beverage were all sublime. We also had dinner on the riverside terrace - a magical environment for a select menu. Breakfasts on the riverside terrace are again out of this world, though if you were to come merely for breakfast rather expensive. The buffet includes all manner of delights pleasing all nationalities and tastes. The hotel is easily accessed by skytrain and then a lovely, courteous shuttle boat service. Valet parking takes the strain from those who have approached by road and taxis are carefully sought for all without their own transport. The area over the river includes a Thai restaurant, Spa and leisure facilities. All of the hotel building and grounds are remarkable for their flowers and trees.

Reviewed July 25, 2009
10.0
Exceptional
Clayton from United States
Couple
Mandarin Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Perfect ”

This is the best hotel. Mandarin Oriental Bangkok has a huge staff in order to provide truly exceptional service to their guests. They must have an extensive staff training program and a very rigorous personnel screening program as the staff is, without exception, absolutely dedicated to making their guest ‘s stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. Every aspect of my stay here was perfection. From the warm reception to the wonderful restaurants, the spacious, spotlessly clean guest rooms to the hassle and wait- free checkout this hotel knows how to do it right and has the management and staff to make it happen. Going forward, any where I travel - if there is a Mandarin Oriental, I’m staying there.

Reviewed November 25, 2018
8.7
Excellent
Con from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 4 nights in May 2015

A Great Hotel”

The wonderful staff,The food,The great service

As far as I am concerned the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok is in a class of its own. In a good hotel you are lucky to find one or two good staff ,but at the Mandarin I can think of many I encountered. This includes Su who is a most wonderful lady that serves tea in the stunning lobby and who has a most positive attitude towards life. Also in the lobby they have a great piano player who is blind. I was touched at the kindness and respect shown to him by other members of the staff who graciously help him to get around. At the Bamboo Bar you will find a great barman who will make you one of his signature cocktails . Then kick back and enjoy the truly talented Jazz singer from America and the equally impressive saxophone and piano player all genuine professional musicians. When I arrived at the hotel I was unwell .No problem ,the Hotel has a fabulous nurse and a Doctor on the premisses .They gave me a test and had the results three hours later and supplied me the required medicine as well.Try that at another hotel,or anywhere for that matter. There are many more notable people not least is the lady who gave me a splendid massage at the hotel spa. Best I have ever had. Need I go on. This hotel has what is desperately lacking from the hotel industry.and that is genuine hospitality ,efficient and kind service. Few hotels take care of guests better and make them feel more welcomed and comfortable. Finally a tip of the hat to the good folks at Agoda who's great rate and easy to transact system made it possible for me to afford staying at this last bastion of luxury.To borrow the line of the the great actor Peter Ustinoff, "when I am leaving ,I am already planing my trip back"!.

Reviewed May 23, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Tou from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in June 2011

Still one of the world's very best!”

Excellent service, beautiful surroundings by the River

while there may be newer, bigger, more glitzy hotels in bangkok (and around the world), the mandarin oriental continues to shine as a totally reliable, ever consistent, and beautifully maintained and serviced hotel. the decor continues to stun in quiet and traditional ways, be it in decor (loads of orchids and lotus all over, and lovely thai touches) or service (butler for every room, people who recall your name) or amenities (thoughtful canapes at tea time, in your room; fruit juice and fresh fruit compote in the morning as you laze by the pool or in the changing room of the health centre). i stayed in a 'standard' room, but even this faces the spectacular chao phraya river. there were flowers galore in the room: two potted orchids, a bouquet on the writing table, 2 glass bowls of lotus when they turn the bed down in the later afternoon, orchids by the bathroom amenities etc. throughout the decor is traditionally tasteful, quietly elegant and thoughtful! not glitzy or over the top, but elegance personified.

Reviewed June 27, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 1 night in July 2011

Outstanding hotel with exemplary service”

Remarkable outlook, delicious food, simply beautiful room-stunning all round!

On arrival-warm welcome with service really first class On Check-in-Service that was helpful and thoroughly professional Room service-Luggage carried upstairs and a guide around the room with everything explained. The room was beautifully furnished and had a remarkable outlook over the water with great views of Bangkok. The bathroom was immaculate and all the little extras included with the slippers. The restaurant over the water on the ground floor by the pool is one of the best I have experienced-the views were stunning, the food delicious and the service to match-a real treat. Nothing was too much trouble in this outstanding hotel. I look forward to my next visit with my Wife and Family, and on another note compared to The Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong-this is better!

Reviewed July 14, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

Classic river gem with old world charm”

Service, access to river and close to BTS

The Oriental is a classic old world river hotel. While some may say the place is a bit tired with older elevators, rooms and style that hasn't really changed for decades, it's probably still worth it. The thing that makes the Oriental special is the life that passes through. The hotel still has people sitting for tea, eating in the well-known restaurants, enjoying Jazz in the Bambu room, or just hanging out in the lobby. The service is best in class, and you will feel at home and have every need attended to. It is easy to access the Skytrain (BTS) at Saphan Taksin and also pick up a boat from the dock anywhere. The spa across the river is indulgent if you don't care about the price tag. If you want to be on the city side of the river in a classic best in class luxury, and still feel like you are in the scene of a 1960s movie, you can't really replace the Oriental. There are newer over the top hotels that are most beautiful, more extravagent, but none with the same activity that you find at the Oriental. If you want privacy and exclusivity, then there are other options better. But, i do love this hotel and there is something truly Bangkok about it. This is the only top end hotel at the river that can work if you need to go into central.

Reviewed March 05, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
John from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 9 nights in February 2015

Spectacular, elegant, and friendly”

Exquisitely beautiful hotel and grounds, kindness and professionalism of staff, perfect location in Bangkok near walking area and Sky Train

For me, the hotel is the foundation for an international trip. I've stayed at some of the best hotels in the world, my standards are very high -- sometimes a little obsessively so, and this hotel has to be at the top of the list in every conceivable respect. Just as a small example, each day a tray of a different tropical fruit appears in the room, accompanied by silverware, linen napkins, a small orchid, and a printed card with information about that day's fruit. Apply that attention to detail to every aspect of the hotel, and that will give you a picture of the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok. Sometimes, at a hotel of this caliber, you'll feel a stuffiness and pretentiousness. Not so here. The elegance is accompanied by an easy warmth and casual comfortable feeling.

Reviewed February 15, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Yanee from Germany
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011

Great Location, Warm Welcome, High Standard Hotel”

Beautiful and friendly Staff, Perfect Location, Very Traditional

We came the first time to bangkok with our little 2 children and we loved it. For our first time in Thailand it was perfect because we could easy take boot taxis to all famous attractions in Bangkok. To downtown for the shopping malls we used the Sky Train which was right next to the pier. The Hotel has a great view, the staff was amazing and friendly. For my children who came here the first time the got to see ancient and traditional costumes that the staff people wear. The concierge was brilliant and absolutly helpful. The hotel is located directly on the River. After sightseeing in bangkok (which can be very hectic especially with children) The Oriental Hotel was a perfect Oasis for relaxing. Although it is a high class Hotel, you got so see local Thais having wedding which was for me very interesting also to see the upper class thai people. The Food was a bit expensive but we stayed only for 3 nights. We went to the Thai restaurant with the boat service to got to see the traditional thai temple show and my family loved it. The Pool service and the BBQ Restaurant on the Peer with live music was absolutely romantic. For first time arriving and doing a lot of sightseeings in Thailand, this is a perfect stay with high standards if you are looking for something really special. The Kids club was a bit disappointing though for my kids (5,7) it is a small room with some toddler toys, a computer a tv BUT with a very friendly staff. But they would charge you for each child which was a bit expensive...and my children wouldn't like to stay...

Reviewed January 03, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Tan from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

beautiful hotel”

comfort

the mandarin oriental is the one i always use when i visit bangkok and have meetings with dealers and customers. it is beautiful, comfortable and classy. the location is also ideal or going anywhere in the bangkok town. the service is fantastic although the english spoken is not ideal but the attitude and the eagerness to please is so comforting. would recommend this to any traveller who does not need to budget on accommodation

Reviewed December 17, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
David from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012

Ultra high-end service and amenities”

So effort is spared to make your stay luxurious and worry free

From the hotel agent greeting at the airport to our midnight departure for an international flight, the Mandarin Oriental was all about service. The hotel staff's attention to our every need astounded me. On our last day we checked out at the usual time but had 12 hours before our flight left. The hotel staff made us feel at home in every way possible, including the use of all hotel facilities and even a room to shower, change our cloths and rest before leaving for the airport after a long day of shopping. The price of our room was probably near the top of the range for Agoda's special offers and it was worth every penny.

Reviewed June 26, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Yasemin from Turkey
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in January 2010

a dream come true in oriental hotel”

-High quality - Superb views especially at night -Excellent staff
-Nothing

when i visited bangkok 6 years ago i saw oriental and i promised myself to stay here next time . so i did it with my husband atıf . i like people and places with a past. so thi shotel has got it with excellnt service also. we have neraly eaten every night at the hotels verandah . it has a superb setting near chao phraya , peninsula hotel is just across the river. our room had a view of the river . at nights we closed the lights and inhaled he fantastic view of he city from our room also. the hotel is near the boat stops and sky train. so you can visit the city with any transport you like. ıf you stay in this hotel you would never forget bangkok!

Reviewed February 12, 2010
10.0
Exceptional
penelope from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012

Colonial grandeur mingles with Thai hospitality.”

Wonderful position on the river, a calm haven in a boisterous city.

entering the flower filled foyer of the mandarin oriental in bangkok for the first time is an entrancing experience. if you arrive in the early evening, a string quartet will be playing, perhaps vivaldi. the staff is genuinely concerned for your well being and the ambience of the surroundings will ensure you leave feeling relaxed and restored.

Reviewed September 12, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Nancy from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

absolutely perfect hotel”

Loved everything about the hotel

My husband and I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel on the 16th January on our way back home to Australia.We were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary and the hotel really spoilt us. We would definately recommend this Hotel to anyone travelling to Bangkok.

Reviewed January 26, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Finan from Cambodia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

Superb Service”

Service

Mandarin Oriental lives up to its reputation. As with any Mandarin Oriental anywhere else in the world, you will always feel the special attention and care, those pre-anticipated service that make it a truly world-class unmatched hotel. I really cannot give enough praise to its staff member. Everyone, i mean from the gardener to the top manager, walk around carrying that big small and truly care to stop by and ask to find our if everything is alright with the service! World class indeed!

Reviewed March 02, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
John from Australia
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in September 2009

The old Icon has the X factor”

POLISH! POLISH! POLISH! CLASS, POSITION,ATTENTIVE STAFF . Impossible to duplicate!
Over the top 'MARK UP' ON WINE WHICH OFTEN REQUIRED FURTHER CHILLING

Our third stay in four years. The oriental is unique. The moment we walk in to the beautifully scented foyer we know we are in our bangkok home.each guest has a floor butler and the standard of room attention is the best we have experienced worldwide.for the first time we checked out the other nearby hotels along the river and agreed the oriental is special.many staff members are approaching their third decade of service.lovely pool with an intimate feel,just like the rest of this fine hotel

Reviewed September 26, 2009
10.0
Exceptional
Kim from Australia
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2008

One of the best experiences EVER”

Location - on the River. Staff service is superior. Attention to details is extraordinary.
I honestly do not think there are ANY cons at all. Perhaps if you really wanted a resort pool for family, then the small pool here would not suffice.

The welcome at this hotel was one of the lovely highlights of my life. Being a guest here makes one feel special. There is no doubt that the staff are grateful for you as a guest. They appreciate your business. The effort they go to in order to satisfy ANY need is extraordinary. The attention to detail is AMAZING. The refinements are beautiful. The locaion is excellent. Above & beyond any other hotel stay I have ever had anywhere in Asia, Europe, the USA or Australia! However the massage at the Spa was very disappointing considering what I expected from the Mandarin Oriental. The service was rushed. The actual therapists were LOVELY though. The performance from the artisans and dancers at the Thai special Restaurant was incredible and well worth experiencing.

Reviewed September 24, 2009
10.0
Exceptional
Kai from Germany
Group
Stayed 7 nights in October 2007

Truly one of the best hotels in the world”

There are many luxury hotels in the world and quite a few in Bangkok. True luxury, however, does not come in the form of flat screen television sets, in-room whirlpools and the like (the rooms in the Oriental, by the way, are equipped with everything the discriminating traveller needs and designed in good taste and style) but is provided by caring and efficient personal attention. Of course, part of the charme and spirit of the place lies in its history, but the secret of making you feel so extremely comfortable is the degree of friendliness and efficiency of the entire staff and the fact that you enjoy it not as an anonymous guest but as an appreciated individual with a name and a personal identity. .

Reviewed November 24, 2007
8.0
Excellent
Martin from New Zealand
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in July 2009

Not Raffles”

The hotel is in an excellent location, the rooms are comfortable clean and well equipped.
Staff are poorly trained. Restaurants are over priced for the quality of food.

I booked the Mandarin Oriental as it is affiliated to Raffles in Singapore and having stayed at Raffles, I expected it to be similar in service and quality. Although The Mandarin is only 70% of the price of Raffles, it is only half the Hotel. At Raffles the restaurants were expensive, but the menu both for choice and quality more than justified it. At the Mandarin Oriental The food was dearer than at Raffles and rather ordinary. The quality of Staff service was mediocre, fruit trays left empty at the breakfast buffet etc, where at Raffles it was unbelievably good - every staff member you passed, gardeners, cleaners, restaurant staff, management etc, miraculously knew our names. You felt like royalty and it more than justified the price tag. The Mandarin Oriental did not justify the price charged.

Reviewed August 06, 2009
10.0
Exceptional
Dawn from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013

Old world charm”

History, location, food

This is my second time as a guest at the Oriental. And returning there after a decade just felt like going home. The staff at the Oriental are what make the difference to this legendary hotel. Certainly one is immersed in the property's glorious history as one walks through the colonial style original building, but it's the smiles and warmth of the staff who make returning so appealing. A real jewel in busy Bangkok.

Reviewed May 30, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Danupon from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Premier King Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2020

Hotel”

Good

Reviewed March 31, 2021
9.6
Exceptional
Lawrence from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Balcony King
Stayed 2 nights in March 2021

Outstanding hotel”

Everything about the Mandarin Oriental is superb - the service, the staff, the rooms, the restaurants and bar - one can never go wrong staying at the MO - I first stayed at the MO in the 1970's and it has matured with grace. It seems to get better every year!

Reviewed March 22, 2021
9.6
Exceptional
Frank from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Balcony King
Stayed 1 night in December 2020

Almost Perfect ”

We miss the coffee and cake outside in the afternoon from earlier years....

Reviewed March 20, 2021
8.0
Excellent
KENJI from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Premier King Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2021

Happy Birthday”

We had very nice experience on Happy birthday.

Reviewed February 23, 2021
10.0
Exceptional
Kanokwan from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Premier King Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2020

Fantastic Experience”

Excellent services and great spa. Everything is perfect . Will book every month.

Reviewed December 28, 2020
10.0
Exceptional
Kuakarun from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Premier King Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2020

Experience the legend”

It’s better to make a reservation directly with the hotel and apply for Fans of M.O., so you can have 2000 baht credit and a complementary spa treatment.

Reviewed November 21, 2020
9.2
Exceptional
Johan from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 1 night in July 2020

An amazing place...”

The legend among legends in the world of hotels and it didn't disappoint us. We checked in only one night to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday. The rooms are just as good as anyone can imagine... but of course it comes at a very steep price. We will come back next time when we celebrate something.. :-)

Reviewed August 12, 2020
6.4
Good
federico from Japan
Solo traveler
Chao Phraya Room Twin
Stayed 4 nights in May 2019

Quite disappointed this time”

I have used the Mandarin before and I love this chain. This time I booked a room for a very good friend in desperate need of privacy and relax. When I went directly to the hotel one day before his arrival, I found that the main building was under renovation, so most of the restaurants and the swimming pool were not available. There is no mention of that on the hotel's website, nor I was told during a couple of telephone calls I had to make some special arrangement. I was actually tempted to cancel. Then I asked for a limousine service to the airport, and I was told they would contact me in the morning of the following day to confirm. As nobody called, at around 2pm I called them and they answered quite rudely that the service had already been booked - kind of, why are you bothering us with your call? For the rest, the restaurant service was good and my friend was impressed with the morning breakfast. But I found the total lack of information about the renovation very unprofessional.

Reviewed June 27, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
CHUN-TAI from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 4 nights in August 2018

best of the best!”

i would suggest free-wifi service without any requirement subscribing membership will be great!

Reviewed August 31, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
steve from United Kingdom
Couple
Mandarin Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018

Quality at its best”

Could not fault this venue at all. From the accommodation through to the efficient staff it was perfection.

Reviewed June 11, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
paul from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Best hotel in the world!”

We stayed at the Bangkok Manderian Oriental April 20-22, 2018. In every way this was the best hotel experience we have ever had! Well done!

Reviewed April 23, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Christopher from United States
Couple
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Among the best hotel experiences EVER!!!”

Bangkok's Mandarin Oriental is among the best hotels in the world - for so many reasons, but the reason I most enjoy staying there (just had my twelfth visit,) is that this hotel does more than any other to make its guests feel special. It's more expensive than any other, but you get what you pay for, and here, you get a lot!

Reviewed April 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
NANA from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Best luxury hotel ”

This is the best Luxury hôtel I have been to worldwide so far. Great service focus, location and historic attribute.

Reviewed April 08, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Stewart from Japan
Couple
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

Beauty on the River”

Timeless charm and elegance

Reviewed February 17, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Seong from South Korea
Solo traveler
Chao Phraya Room Twin
Stayed 4 nights in February 2018

good”

everything... good!!!

Reviewed February 16, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Donna from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017

Exceptional”

Beautiful hotel on the river bank. They offer a free boat shuttle to the sky train until midnight. The staff are attentive and friendly. Food was lovely. With plenty choice of restaurants. The only downside was the main bar (the bamboo bar) closed at midnight and despite saying dress code we saw people in jogging pants, baseball caps..

Reviewed November 18, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Sophia from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2017

Beautiful hotel with amazing service”

They go to great lengths to make your stay extra special, and all the staff are extremely attentive. Worth every penny for a special holiday.

Reviewed October 28, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
wing from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Mandarin Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

good!”

good!

Reviewed October 19, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Jay from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2017

truly first class”

Just a superb hotel: service, amenities, staff, location.

Reviewed June 01, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Ching from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017

Loverly Hotel provided excellent service”

It is really nice to stay there for 2 nights. The staffs were friendly and polite. Top hotel in Bangkok. The only thing I was kind of disappointed was the swimming pool facility. I would expect that they have a big pool. Filled up with customers and not having enough staff to serve for Food and Drinks.

Reviewed April 18, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
wing from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Mandarin Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2017

gd”

gd

Reviewed March 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Yasmin from Switzerland
Family with teens
Chao Phraya Room Twin
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017

A perfect place”

My last stay at the oriental was 20 years ago but as well today its a extraordinary place to be!

Reviewed March 12, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Barrie from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017

Returned again”

Our third visit to this hotel. Excellent location, rooms and service.

Reviewed January 28, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Adam from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017

The best, but only just! ”

Definitely the best hotel in Bangkok, maybe he world, but standards have ever so slightly slipped compared to my visits last year. The food isn't as good, and the service is too slow at times. The hotel has never been value for money; it is ridiculously over priced, but it remains a true sanctuary and one of the best.

Reviewed January 25, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Khampraseuth from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

Very good hotel with impeccable services and staffs”

My second home away from home said it all...

Reviewed November 30, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Khampraseuth from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

My second home when on holiday or business trip”

The whole hotel is impeccable

Reviewed November 25, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Liu from China
Couple
Stayed 1 night in September 2016

Old but classic”

Location wise inconvinient. Interior decor is beautiful. The swimming pool is very deep , 2 meters in depth .View on the river is horrible , dont bother to pay extra for the view . Cause the river is really dirty and nothing to look at around

Reviewed November 10, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Margaret from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016

A quick breakaway ”

Just a break in a top hotel with best food , service Spa & gorgeous relaxing view of the Choa Praya River ----- I am never disappointed by their impeccable service & have stayed in the hotel over 20 years

Reviewed September 09, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Toshio from Japan
Couple
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016

Best hotel I had ever stayed ”

Everything was fantastic and excellent!!

Reviewed September 04, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Lau from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in June 2016

Excellent Hotel Service”

Feeling warm greeting during my stay, 5 stars service and fabulous environment, must stay next time !

Reviewed July 05, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Jay from United States
Couple
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 1 night in May 2016

Fabulous hotel”

They take pride in being the best and it shows. A gorgeous hotel with old-school romantic charm and superior service. Jazz in the Bamboo Bar and tea in the Joseph Conrad Terrace completed a lovely anniversary stay.

Reviewed May 30, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Dirk from Mauritius
Family with young children
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016

mr”

very good hotel

Reviewed May 19, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
romain from France
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016

Excellent ”

Top 5 Hotel worlwife

Reviewed April 19, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
IMAHASHI from Japan
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2016

So satisfied ”

We want to stay again. They have hospitality. But, taste of afternoon tea is so so. So, I felt price is expensive.

Reviewed April 14, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
gasang from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

very good”

Perfext

Reviewed March 29, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Kerstin from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 1 night in March 2016

Best hotel in bangkok”

Food service and nice

Good,

Reviewed March 24, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
ALAN from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Room King Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2016

Terrific”

Terrific

Reviewed March 21, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
NGUYEN from Vietnam
Couple
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016

Excellent”

Delicious food, great massage

Reviewed February 16, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2016

Mr & mrs Robert leeson, jr.”

In particular, your staff is most superb, caring, efficient....and somehow always knew our names. How could they be so alert? And the food was wonderful. Hoping to stay at your hotel sometime soon, for our 4th visit. Robert LEESON, JR.

Reviewed February 12, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Kwa from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015

Great Hotel Even for the Price”

Amazing Rooms, Mostly Excellent Staff Service, Hotel is immaculate

I had an amazing stay. The breakfast was great and the staff was very helpful. We ate both nights at the great restaurants in the hotel. The only problem I had was with getting taxis. The first time, they gave the taxi driver the wrong location which caused me to be late to a meeting. Then at the end when they got me a taxi for an early morning flight, the driver tried to significantly rip me off and when I told him about it he was very rude. I felt like the hotel could have definitely prevented these instances.

Reviewed January 13, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Sally from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

Worthy of it's top rating”

Beautiful hotel, spacious room, great service

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and only wish it was longer. The hotel reception areas are lovely, great pool, fantastic breakfast and outstanding service.

Reviewed January 12, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
amorn from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in September 2015

Excellent”

Great Service / View / Location
Reviewed December 27, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Timothy from Turkey
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015

The best ”

The most personal care you will ever get, beautiful grounds and pool.
Reviewed December 24, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Jerome from Switzerland
Couple
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015

Fantastic stay in a great hotel”

Buffet, staff, driver

This is really one of the best hotel in the world. We felt so good during our whole stay, thanks to a great staff, always helpful and pro-active for anything. We could really feel that they were always here for us as their ratio is 3 staff for 1 guest. The buffet restaurant is one of the greatest buffet I have ever tried (try the duck, so delicate). Location is nice if you like this quiet location by the river, but a bit to far from Sukhumvit area if you like there too. They have a very good driver organization from the airport, do not hesitate to book it.

Reviewed December 18, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Matthew from United States
Couple
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015

Excellent honeymoon in 1505”

Excellent floor butler/staff were very friendly and helpful, delicious buffet breakfast, and high end accommodations.

We spent the first part of our honeymoon here from 15-19 Nov 2015. The hotel did not disappoint and truly lives up to its world class name. We took the BMW 740i shuttle from the airport and were greeted with fresh sented towels, water and a luxury ride to the hotel. Didn't have to touch our bags again until they were set out for us in the room. Check in was completed in the comfort of our room and the staff walked us through the amenities and location of everything in the room. We were pleased to learn the floor had dedicated butler service that could be called from a button on either night stand. Another button was also dedicated for do not disturb. The staff went out of their was to show us kindness and meet our every need. They always knew how to anticipate. A great example is when our floor butler noticed my Allen Edmonds shoes were a bit dirty. While we were out for the day he took it upon himself to clean them and had them waiting for me when we returned. Very impressive! The room was appointed with quality that any audiophile would enjoy - denon sound system and Samsung tv with premium programming. The desk was multifunctional and the bedding was deluxe. Shower water pressure was great! We participated in the spa for a traditional Thai message in a private suite and did the Thai cooking class. Both experiences were excellent! Upon leavin we again took the bmw to the airport and staff walked out bags through check in all the way to security! Total professionalism. Only thing I would recommend is upgrading the toilets as they required the handle being held down for a long time to flush.

Reviewed November 20, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Sopha from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015

Excellent service”

appearance, staff are very efficient, good food

Excellent service and staffs are all efficient... Best service ever

Reviewed September 26, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Christopher from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015

Mandarin Oriental is classy”

Beauty, staff friendliness, views

Fantastic hotel. I

Reviewed September 14, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Sheena from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 1 night in June 2015

Fantastic Hotel”

The best things about this hotel was the property itself, the spa and the staff.

Even though I only spent one night at the Mandarin Oriental, it was one of the best nights I've ever experienced. From the outstanding customer service to the very lush spa- this hotel has the best of everything. The only downside was the lack of free wi-fi. At this standard of hotel, you would think wireless internet would be included!

Reviewed June 28, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
brenda from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Premier Twin
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015

Elegant , cosy and stylish! ”

Attentiveness , thoughtfulness and various choice of good food provided!
Reviewed June 14, 2015
4.3
Tariq from Canada
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015

Poor value for money”

Nothing "best"

Hugely disappointing. Stayed 1st 3 nights of Bangkok visit at a 5-star hotel in Bangkok downtown and then mover for 2 nights at 2x higher cost to MO for the "experience of a life time" and MO suffered on all counts. far from happening locations in the city, smallish lobby, unimpressive check-in, smaller room, trouble after check in as power fuse for room kept blowing out as one of the power outlets was defective, buffet breakfast had limited choices of mediocre quality and plagued by high noise pollution due to non-stop operation of hotel's shuttle boats operating on Chao Prya river at the adjoining pier. The shuttle boats' operation is an environmental disaster in terms of high noise and exhaust emissions as shuttle boats continue to arrive and depart continuously at the pier and 2-3 MO shuttle boats can be seen in the river at any given time with 1 or evn no customers on board. Hotel should operating shuttle boats at lets say 15 minutes interval to the frequency of boat operation and also the adverse environmental aspects associated with it. Will not stay at the MO again.

Reviewed February 23, 2015
null