Book Now: Mango Bay Resort

Excellent
From 103 reviewsSee what guests said
8.1
Recommended by 87% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (103)Booking.com Reviews (50)
8.1
Excellent
From 103 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.0
Facilities7.7
Location8.0
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service8.8
Value for money8.2
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Deutsch
日本語
한국어
more
Room type
Superior Beachfront Bungalow
1 Bedroom Garden View
Standard Beachfront
Family Garden Bungalow
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 87 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Pisila from Australia
Solo traveler
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
MANGO BAY - YOU ROCK”
Totally the best ever service provided by Kiti, Moses & Joey. I must admit i believe they had the best fish & chips that I tasted in Fiji. Such a laid back resort, they way in is pretty rocky but once there you just want to unwind and relax.
Reviewed September 15, 2017
7.6
Very good
lisa from Australia
Couple
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in September 2017
Food 10/10 cocktails 10/10 company 10/10 staff 10/10 ”
The owner lets the place down. He creates a negative undercurrent, he moaned to us that staff didn't check the generator when he should congratulate the staff on a superb service of delicious food and ambience when the electricity turned off for half a hour. Overall we had a lot of fun! Well done Mango Bay!
Reviewed September 11, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Elenoa from Fiji
Group
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Wonderful”
Wonderful hospitality services from the staff. The garden villa is much smaller with no chairs to sit on either outside or inside. But all in all, the weekend spent at Mango Bay was totally worth it and I must commend the staff for their wonderful hospitality!!
Reviewed September 06, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
michael from Australia
Family with young children
Superior Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 6 nights in August 2017
Truly Unique and wonderful”
We can't speak highly enough of our time a Mango Bay. The location is beautiful, the staff are amazing and their mantra - "Arrive as guests and leave as family" is spot on. Never have we felt so genuinely cared about in a resort. A great experience and one we'll share again as soon as we can.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Jacky from New Zealand
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Absolutely amazing place to stay! ”
Staff was amazing! Snorkeling is out of this world. Entertainment was brilliant - Joe, who was the entertainment staff member was just so sweet and took us out many times on the boat for snorkeling. Nothing was ever to much for him. Amazing individual! I am definitely going back for another holiday.. cannot wait! The food was ok kids portions are a bit to small the kids had to order more... the rooms are not spotless and are a bit dirty on the floor but linen and beds were clean and comfortable. We had a open air bathroom / shower so must be hard for them to keep it really clean, overall was fine. All staff was just incredibly friendly and professional and always smiling and willing to help if you needed it.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Rhiannon from Australia
Couple
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Staff friendly perfect for a relaxing holiday ”
loved it
Reviewed August 06, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Brendan from New Zealand
Couple
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Awesome place on the beach”
Really cheap, quality food. Lovely gardens & beach. Friendly staff & lots of activities. A rare gem in the Fiji resort market these days!!! One of the better mainland resorts I've been to
Reviewed July 11, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Christian from Canada
Family with young children
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Beautiful and very pleasant”
The setting is gorgeous and the staff is very friendly. The beachfront villas are very nice while the garden villas feel way less inviting. At high tide, the snorkeling must be fantastic right off the beach, though it might be good to point out that it is simply not possible at low tide. The included breakfast is very basic, maybe a little disappointing compared to similar options along the Coral Coast, but you can pay to upgrade it and the food is good and fairly priced for Fiji. Overall, a very pleasant experience and definitely worth recommending.
Reviewed May 29, 2017
7.6
Very good
Jelle from Netherlands
Couple
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Great stay at the Mango Bay Resort!”
We really enjoyed our stay at Mango Bay Ressort. The staff was friendly, the food and room were good and a lot of different activities to do.
Reviewed May 03, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Theocharis from Greece
Group
Superior Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in April 2017
Excellent”
The staff working were the highlight. They made us feel home, the hospitality was 5 star.
Reviewed April 28, 2017
4.8
Quoc from Australia
Couple
Superior Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Acceptable”
This place is deteriorating at a non stoppable speed !!! The owner of the resort made you feel very unwanted ! Usable water is dirty as mud water , the food in the restaurant is horrible ( the whole dishes was wasted , NOT edible ... special dish of the day : Spare Ribs !!! as tough as an old bull tendons ( NOT recommended for any reason ) !!! There were barely anyone at the resort when we were there ( 2 couples !!! ). Termites on the ceiling of our bungalow has made it impossible for us to sleep for two nights !!! What a horrible experience that we've had from that resort !!!
Reviewed April 03, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Merehira from New Zealand
Solo traveler
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Absolutely Beautiful”
Mango Bay was something magical! Serene, tranquil, peaceful, tropical, beautiful! The resort staff catered to every need and I felt a million dollars leaving that place. Cannot wait to go back 💜
Reviewed March 13, 2017
7.6
Very good
Jingfei from Taiwan
Group
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Staff here are hospitable. Food is great. We enjoy and being relax here.”
I would recommend if you are here for enjoy and relax. This is a quiet and beautiful place. You will enjoy here. In addition, food is delicious (recommend Mahi-Mahi fish!). They provide kayak, and snorkeling is good in their own beach. We love it very much. However, if you are here due to wifi, their wifi is broken... Besides, its hard to get into the reception center from main road. The road is full of break stone. They say its five minutes walk, but it also takes us about 5 minutes by car. So if you take bus with luggage there, I will highly recommend contact them to pick you up in advance.
Reviewed December 11, 2016
7.6
Very good
John from Australia
Group
Stayed 7 nights in November 2016
Fiji Family”
Mango Bay Resort was a beautiful location, the staff were the best part of the experience, from day 1 you were welcomed with open arms. The staff went out of their way to treat you like family and do whatever it took to make your stay the best possible experience, if only the management stayed in the background and let the Fijians get on with the job. The owner Bill Duffy was a rude, racist, creepy man you treated both staff and guests like second class citizens. If I was assured Bill Duffy would not be the frontline face of Mango Bay I would return to this paradise time and time again.
Reviewed November 20, 2016
6.0
Bianca from Australia
Couple
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Only stayed their for one night ”
The photos on the internet didn't look the same, it wasn't what I was expecting
Reviewed November 01, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Phil from New Zealand
Family with young children
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Amazing getaway ”
Mango Bay is a lovely resort, and great for the kids. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are great (bures nestled by the beach) and there are loads of activities!
Reviewed October 10, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
brian from New Zealand
Couple
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016
ideal resort for wedding”
Spent 4 nights for our nieces wedding29/09 16. Wonderful time with great staff ,good food and good organisation by staff .Everything was on time.The kitchen & restaurant staff were of the highest order.Accomodation was a good standard and very clean.
Reviewed October 08, 2016
4.0
JOSE from Singapore
Couple
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Failed in basic details”
True castaway experience but they fail in basic details. Breakfast is to simple, any additional thing, like a boiled egg, will have additional carge. Too much mosquitoes. Expensive transportation due to lack of competency and isolated place. Another couple was complaining of no hot water when we left.
Reviewed September 06, 2016
3.2
SEHO from South Korea
Couple
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
not good for honey moon”
room size is small and room status is not good
Reviewed August 07, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Joanne from Australia
Solo traveler
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 10 nights in July 2016
Waaa I wanna come back!”
Loved the resort and the friendly staff are what made it superb! The gardens were amazing and the view at breakfast to die for. Will definitely stay there again if I visit Fiji.
Reviewed July 29, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Lisa from Australia
Couple
Superior Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 9 nights in June 2016
Quiet and private ”
We loved our 10 day stay, the highlight was definitely the warm and friendly staff.
Reviewed June 20, 2016
8.0
Excellent
ErnestFooYuen from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Holiday ”
Great time. Situated between Suva and Nadi. Great garden and village atmosphere.
Reviewed June 19, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Stephanie from Canada
Couple
Superior Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in May 2016
A little piece of paradise ”
If you are looking for quiet relaxing holiday this is the place to stay.
Reviewed June 02, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Trevor from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Beachfront
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Idyllic”
Idyllic spot. Staff extremely friendly. Nice snorkelling when the tide is in. But entrance not marked right now, as the sign blew down in the cyclone.
Reviewed April 28, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
JIAYING from China
Solo traveler
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 5 nights in February 2016
I had a great time staying at Mango Bay Resort”
Me and my friend stayed at Mango Bay Resort for 5 nights. There're only dozes of people were staying with us at that time. But we still experienced some activities the resort prepared for us, for instance, bonfire, crab race, trivia, kayaking, etc.. The place was very quite and peaceful and exquisite. The beach might not be as big as other resorts, but the scenery was just as beautiful. A perfect place to get your mind off your daily routine. And the staff had been super friendly and helpful. At our last night, we were supposed to leave at 5 o'clock the next morning. The restaurant was kind enough to prepare some breakfast for us to have on the road. We really enjoyed our stay!
Reviewed April 27, 2016
6.8
Good
Nicole from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard Beachfront
Stayed 6 nights in April 2016
My Stay...”
1st - Mango might wanna take note of the arrival timing for ppl coming from Singapore, because we arrived at the resort at 3AM but no one was there to check us in. I waited till 5AM till we found someone in the area. 2nd - The room was great! I love the the way the bure are builded & structured! 3rd - They do room service everyday but you will need to left the room keys with the reception. (i think they only have one key per room) 4th - They do arrange outings / activities for the customers but it depends on number of participants and / or the weather. 5th - The resort is located on the beach which is nice but accessibility of the resort from the main road is not great. This could be pro & con depending on what you plan to do. If you are a couple on a honeymoon & plans to relax & do nothing all day, this is a great place! But if you like to explode Fiji, I would advise you to rent a car which will be a great way to travel around.
Reviewed April 19, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
HONG from China
Couple
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
We liked it”
it's a little bit new to us to be living in this kind of hotel, but everything seems to be very nice and comfortable. Not so many guests there due to cyclone a couple of weeks ago, but then it's an advantage to us. The beach not perfect, but then the coral reefs are just great! We followed the native people to go into the sea along the coral reefs. Great memoryies to keep for all days.
Reviewed March 18, 2016
3.3
sung from Australia
Couple
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016
No good, very dirty”
Quiet, view, isolation
Dirty, that's all.
Reviewed February 24, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Murilo from Australia
Solo traveler
1 Bedroom Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016
Amazing value for money”
Amazing location, very friendly staff, very good activities and facilities. Rooms are very simple with no TV, aircon or a fridge. It's a very good place if you are not looking for luxury...
Reviewed February 13, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Alessandro from Italy
Couple
Standard Beachfront
Stayed 6 nights in December 2015
Good place, friendly staff, good location”
staff, location, game fishing
love the place
Reviewed January 04, 2016
7.0
Very good
Vivek from United States
Couple
Standard Beachfront
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Great location - but expensive mediocre food”
Location, Staff, Free Kayaks
The location is great, the 'bure' huts are fine, but the food is very expensive and average quality...and since there are no other restaurants within walking distance, you are a bit trapped!
Reviewed December 28, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Mei from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Superior Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 6 nights in May 2015
Friendly resort”
Staff, food, view
Excellent stay. Staff are really friendly. Lots of activities to choose from. Great value for money.
Reviewed December 03, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Tony from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Beachfront
Stayed 5 nights in August 2015
Great Fun”
Helpful staff and management
Reviewed August 28, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Calvin from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
A tranquil Fiji paradise on the Coral Coast ”
Beautiful beach and ocean, lovely tranquil place, good clean high quality resort.
2 Days
Reviewed August 25, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Andrew from Australia
Couple
Superior Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Chill out”
Mix of people, prices, staff.
Loved it. Will probably stay here longer next time.
Reviewed May 13, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Natalia from Colombia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Fantastic”
very friendly Staff, the rooms tidy and clean, environment
Excellent time there
Reviewed February 09, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Rachel from New Zealand
Group
Superior Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
Rachel crawford”
people, place activities
Amazing i loved it and cant wait to go back!! a holiday of a life time. I did not imagine it to be that good it was far better than i dreamed
Reviewed February 05, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Maike from Germany
Couple
Superior Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Great holiday”
Cosy beachfront bure, amazing view, relaxing Time
Reviewed January 20, 2015
5.3
Katerina from Australia
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in December 2014
Beautiful place , good food and good location . ”
Food , location, atmosphere
It was a lot of fun however the beds could be bigger and air conditioning is needed otherwise it was fun good location and food is excellent
Reviewed January 02, 2015
7.7
Very good
desislava from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 7 nights in December 2014
.”
beautiful, lovely staff, beach
Reviewed December 30, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Sarah from Germany
Group
Stayed 7 nights in November 2014
best food, super friendly staff”
food, staff, bungalow
Our stay was amazing, just the beach (too small) and the location is not the best (nothing nearby)
Reviewed November 20, 2014
8.0
Excellent
April from United States
Couple
Superior Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Flashpackers' Paradise”
Beach, Location and Staff
Although it was raining during our three night stay in our last week of October, the staff was very accommodating. We had the opportunity to use the free snorkels and see the fish nearby, went horseback riding along the beach and by the river and see the local crops grown in a nearby village, partake in the Kava ceremony and also watch the Fijian fire dancers. Yes we did these things although it was raining. Liz, one of the workers there was nice enough to lend us her hard drive so we could also watch movies on our laptop. The staff was very nice and they are good at remembering names. The food was delicious and we took advantage of the cheap coconuts and buffets they offered in the evening. If the weather was much nicer, I reckon it would be a fabulous stay in the beachfront bures, especially since we had outdoor showers. Imagine taking a hot shower in the cold rain. We still had a great time and would recommend others to go there as well. The staff and the plethora of activities offered make it worthwhile.
Reviewed November 09, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Daniel from Australia
Couple
Superior Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Excellent Flashpackers, soak up Fiji.”
Great beach and snorkelling, great cheap food, no kids.
My wife and I had an amazing time at Mango bay. You can do as much or as little as you want and the staff are always happy to see you and help you out. Meals are limited in options, but great quality and value. The activities were awesome. This place made the upmarket resorts we went to next look like a dump.
Reviewed March 11, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Wade from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in December 2013
paradise at a fraction of the price”
location, price, fun
I was in a beachside bure and the only thing I missed was a fridge and an A/C unit. -but if you're hot there is always the pool. The grounds are immaculate and stunning. For a so called 'flash-packer' this place is great! staff were exceptionally friendly (especially Tina) and only too willing to help. Many activities are free; fish feeding, cooking class and there are paid activities ranging from a village tour ($10) to scuba diving and deep sea fishing. (the last two are obscenely expensive). -cheaper in Australia. Overall great place, a little bit of a hike from Nadi airport. ($FJD130) in a cab. Although for a fraction of the price catch on of the bus services.. call reception and let then know what time bus you are so they can pick you up at the main road/gate.
Reviewed December 27, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Sung from United States
Couple
Superior Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 7 nights in September 2013
very pleased”
personalized owner's operation, friendly staff, good food
very pleased and we will go back in two years. the owners were very nice. The staff members were very friendly and helpful. we had very different experience from 15 years ago stayed in Shangri-La hotel. It was different enjoyment and overall we are happy that we stayed at Mango Bay Resort.
Reviewed October 23, 2013
6.0
Harley from United States
Couple
Superior Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in October 2013
Nice resort on the beach with pleasant atmosphere”
Location, Beach, Sun.
We had a pleasant stay at this resort which is about 40 minutes from Pacific Harbor.
Reviewed October 21, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Sian from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 14 nights in May 2013
Relaxing and mid way betwen Nadi and Suva”
Price, Friendly staff, stunning views
We stayed here for 2 weeks I wouldn't reccommend staying for such a long period of time of you get slight cabin fever. But we enjoyed the staff and owners are lovely and really has a great feel. There is a lot of activities during the day to get involved they have shared and private rooms. Lovely pool, nice private beach and the public transport on the main land is so easy to catch at the top of the hotel hill.
Reviewed September 15, 2013
6.3
Good
Janine from Australia
Couple
Superior Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Better than others.”
People, activities and coast
This place wasn't too bad, but limited on any dining options or anything other than staying at the resort so ok for a couple of days otherwise it becomes a bit groundhog day.
Reviewed August 23, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Pingping from China
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
good”
friendly people nice beach fast service
Reviewed August 18, 2013
7.7
Very good
Rebecca from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Beachfront Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in July 2013
Lovely isolated place, bures very nice”
Comfortable bed and Bure, better food than expected, good daily activities
Reviewed August 15, 2013