Book Now: Mango Bay Resort

Excellent
From 1257 reviewsSee what guests said
8.7
/
10
Recommended by 99% of guests

Reviews of Mango Bay Resort Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (1257)Booking.com Reviews (1056)
8.7
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.9
Facilities8.7
Location8.7
Room comfort and quality8.7
Service8.9
Value for money8.3
All languages
All guests (1257)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 1128 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Maddison
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow Plantation Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Everything we could have asked for”

We stayed for 3 nights here and were lucky enough to be upgraded to the beachside villa which was absolutely phenomenal. After travelling for 3 weeks around Vietnam our stay at mango bay was just simply bliss and a lovely treat for us. The breakfast was amazing and the food at the restaurants was great too. We loved the free activities offered. Service was impeccable and we also loved the sustainability of the resort. We will be back and also raving to all of our friends and family!

Reviewed March 10, 2019
7.6
Very good
liew from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

Disappointed ”

Booked a sea view end up given a garden view , far distance for me and baby to walk up and down into the room

Reviewed May 09, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Jeannine from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Rammed Earth Bungalow Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018

Love this hotel the location the food the staff amazing ”

Located on a stunning safe beach, with two top quality restaurants this place is the best for relaxation and rest. It’s our 2nd visit. The rooms are basic but clean with fans. (No A/C) The staff are super friendly and helpful and the organisation is superb from the minute you land.

Reviewed November 15, 2018
8.8
Excellent
stefan from Belgium
Family with young children
Superior Rammed Earth Bungalow Garden View
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

The paradise”

Very beautiful beach . The place to be if you love nature and hate big resorts like many at Phu Quoc. The place to be if you have young child. At breakfast, you can find everything you want. The food has a French taste but you can also eat Vietnamese. If you want to visit the island, you can rent a motorbike at the hotel.

Reviewed November 04, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Anna from Vietnam
Group
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

One of the best”

Really nice and well managed place. We enjoyed so much our stay there, simply loved the sunbeds on veranda in front of our bungalow. Good selection for breakfast. Would be great though to have some more vegetarian options for. Overall food in the restaurant was very delicious, and desserts are so nice!

Reviewed July 11, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jacqueline from Vietnam
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow Plantation Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017

Beautiful eco location, with delicious food and drinks”

I had been wanting to stay for many years at Mango Bay, but it was often booked so had just come for food in the past. Finally managed to get there for my birthday and despite heavy rain during our stay it was lovely. The bungalow was comfortable and a great space to hang out in. It is the restaurant that is the star, some beautiful vegetarian options, great drinks and helpful staff. The eco focus, the locally sourced produce and the great space mango bay sits in is an added bonus.

Reviewed July 03, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
saetbyul from South Korea
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow Plantation Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Good space”

Such a good place especially people who want real rest. It’s like a natural space . If you concerned about room type, I suggest front beach type. If i have a chance to visit Phuquoc again I’ll stay again.

Reviewed December 30, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Andrea from Vietnam
Couple
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Fabulous resort in in a beautiful location in Phu Quoc!”

We loved everything about our stay at Mango Bay. The bungalows are rustic, but super comfortable. The setting is beautiful - perfect for a relaxing weekend away from Saigon, and the staff are friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant is delicious too!

Reviewed November 26, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Katrina from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Superior Rammed Earth Bungalow Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Absolutely bliss - our favourite stay in Vietnam”

Adored Mango Bay, absolutely blissful 5 nights. I am traveling solo with my 4 year old little girl, we had one of the rooms close to the main restaurant which was quiet, shaded and near a gigantic romantic tree with a hammock. Also close to breakfast for little legs! We befriended giant geckos, fireflies flitted around the room at night and there was enough tropical fish, crabs and butterflies to keep a 4 year old happy. The beachfront is long - perfectly formed little sandy beaches, rock pools, clean water and a pontoon. Very safe swimming for little ones, life jackets/snorkel gear provided and we swam with the sun sinking into the sea each night. The staff were very gracious, the yoga was fabulous (thanks for patience shown with 4 year old - her first class!) and the food was great and well priced. I highly recommend this place..its ethical, beautiful jungle and they have been very sympathetic to nature while not compromising on comfort and luxury. Go and unwind!!!

Reviewed April 15, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Katja from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow Plantation Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018

Paradies Island”

The Mango Bay Resort is a great place to stay. The view on the beach is just stunning, the villas are great and the staff is extremely aware and caring. We arrived early I the morning (way before checkin time) and they welcomed us with breakfast and and beach supplies while we waited for our room to become available. The two restaurants offer great food and a stunning view on the sea (including sunset). This place is not cheap, but it's really worth it.

Reviewed March 15, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Gretchen from New Zealand
Group
Deluxe Bay View Private Villa
Stayed 7 nights in June 2017

Exceptional resort with awesome staff!”

We stayed in the Seaview Villa which was amazing. The staff at the resort were awesome and so helpful and fun. Beautiful food in the restaurant and the most incredible massage ever in the spa. Highly recommend

Reviewed January 31, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Tram from Vietnam
Couple
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

Best eco-friendly resort in Vietnam”

Great vibe, very laid-back. This place has a pretty thorough eco-friendly system. Staff is very nice and helpful. Best private beach in Phu Quoc. Chef is from Thailand so I would recommend Thai food at the restaurant. I've been here a few times and it never disappoints. Perfect retreat. You won't find anything quite like this anywhere else in Vietnam. Highly recommend if you're looking for something close to nature.

Reviewed February 20, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Catherine from United Kingdom
Group
Deluxe Bay View Private Villa
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016

Great hideaway”

We had a lovely 3 night stay at Mango Bay. Highlights were the consistently excellent food and drinks, the amazing spa, excellent yoga and tai chi classes and the beautiful terrace of our beach villa. The only negatives were the rain, and the fairly lengthy walk between our villa and the reception/main restaurant when it was pouring! The villa was absolutely beautiful, though perhaps better suited to a couple rather than a group - those of us sleeping in the upstairs room felt rather exposed as animals could (and did) get in through the rather large gap between the walls and ceiling, and it was pretty hot at night without any air-con. That said, it was a great place to escape and relax.

Reviewed October 17, 2016
8.8
Excellent
David from Australia
Solo traveler
Fisherman Bungalow Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016

Great Retreat but a little overpriced”

This is a get away for those who just want to chill out, read a book or relax. I loved the Fisherman's hut. Breakfast menu gets a bit boring and the restaurant prices are a little steep. Some small restaurants within walking distance which are very reasonably priced. Suggest you hire a motorbike and explore. Right now it is still the rainy season..

Reviewed October 16, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Christian from Spain
Couple
Superior Rammed Earth Bungalow Garden View
Stayed 1 night in March 2016

Nice place to disconnect”

Mango Bay offers everything you need if you want to be in the middle of the nature but still having some comfort. No Air con and a bit hot some nights or noisy if you use the fans. If you cant live without this think twice before coming here. Staff superb, friendly and helpful. Snorkel, bike, kayak... Lots of activities. It's a huge place, so even the resort being full you will never have the feeling of a crowded place . Food ok, Nothing really special but nice atmosphere at the restaurant with views to the sea and a nice beach bar to enjoy some food/drinks while watching the sunset. Would recommend it

Reviewed March 09, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Bernard from United States
Solo traveler
Fisherman Bungalow Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

Mango Getaway”

A relaxing getaway is your reward for staying at the Mango Bay Resort. Reuniting with a College buddy from many years ago, we could not have selected a better resort to reminisce and solve world problems. There is not TV to distract, and with the ocean view from our Fisherman's Bungalow, why waste time watching TV ? The bathroom was a unique open air affair and added to the wonderful natural ambience. The Beach Cafe Chef is talented and the Food was so good, I ended up ordering the same item, a Vietnamese Curry Chicken Noodle dish, the second night. The wait staff created a very relaxed and fun dining experience. They truly love their job and were happy and very caring. The Cafe is right on the Beach and the whitewashed wooden furniture is a perfect touch. Operations Managers, John and Esna from South Africa, were wonderful hosts and gratefully offered help and assistance taking care of our needs during our stay as well as information on what to see on the island of Phu Quoc. The free snorkeling equipment at the Mango Bay was worth the price and we actually did see lots of different fish. But waves had stirred up the ocean's floor and the water was a bit merky. Although there is no air conditioning, the fans provided a refreshing cool breeze and I slept great. Also, the even and peaceful noise of the fans drowned out my friend's snoring from the other bed in our bungalow. If you wish to get away and relax, Mango Bay is a great choice.

Reviewed March 06, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Chun from Malaysia
Group
Fisherman Bungalow Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015

Great Eco place for a getaway”

Food, Cleanliness and staff performance

We were staying 3 nights for 1 triple room, agreed with the other reviews that the place is still well maintain and staffs are very friendly especially those restaurant staffs. A very enjoyable vacation and definitely will be back if visiting Mango Bay. Was travelled on July with a pay 2 stay 3 offer. Great deal!

Reviewed January 08, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Rene from Switzerland
Couple
Deluxe Bay View Private Villa
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015

Romantic quiet place”

Beach, Room, Quiet

The Mango Bay is really a natural eco place. Also no pool and no tv. We booked the Deluxe Bay View Bungalow. Those are really big and the newest bungalows at Mango Bay including AC and Frigde. The size of the bedroom at least 40 sqm or more. Same the balcony and upstair livingroom with small kitchen. Water heater and expresso machine also there. The staff generally ver nice and helpfull. Best staff at the beach bar and restaurant... also reception. The food is amazing and for reasonable price. At the breakfast working some terrible girls who talking really bad about all guests... happy u can not understand vietnamese. We complain about this 2 girls at the management. They solve the probleme perfect but not help what this girls has done. We will recommend this place but for ourself we will not come back - sorry.

Reviewed December 05, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Neil from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014

Very Good, but over-priced”

Secluded location, tranquillity and staff

The location is great if you want to be away from it all. It's a proper 'resort,' there isn't anywhere nearby, so you end up spending all your time there. On the one had, it is great because it provides the quietness and tranquillity I was seeking, but on the other hand you have to rely on the resort restaurant for all your food and drink needs. However, the restaurant at this resort is hugely over-priced (e.g. a bowl of Bun Thit Nung is 160,000vnd!!!)- and to be honest, the food isn't all that great. The resort is beautiful. The staff are well-trained and friendly. The welcome was really nice. But, be warned, you are far from town and there are no other restaurants nearby, so you are stuck with the resort restaurant.

Reviewed November 16, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Michael from Australia
Couple
Superior Rammed Earth Bungalow Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014

Very enjoyable”

Quiet surroundings, excellent food, very good service

On the way to Mango Bay, traveling on some very poor quality roads one begins to think 'gosh I have made a mistake' but that soon changes once you arrive there. Whilst isolated (7km from town but it takes around 40mins and $10 taxi trip) the resort is spread out with most rooms having sea views and the impression of being in a much smaller resort than you actually are. Restaurant and terrace built over the rocks puts you straight at the waters edge and a great place for a sunset cocktail. Great breakfast selection, both western and asian and also lunch/dinner menu which caters for all tastes. Great spa located metres from the waters edge, quiet private beach, quirky outdoor bathrooms and very helpful, cheerful staff that speak good English make this an ideal place to stay - only downside is the road to town is bad in sections, but should not stop a trip to the night market for a seafood meal which is an absolute must when visiting Phu Quoc. Also be warned, Mango Bay Resort has no TV but that is actually a nice change - gives you a chance to relax, chat or even play cards, board games and the like which are available from reception.

Reviewed July 14, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Leanne from Australia
Solo traveler
Family Sea View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013

relaxing, remote”

rooms, water views, food

Although we were there rainy season (October) the spa and lovely restaurant area kept us occupied. Very couples orientated and I was there with a girlfriend however still really nice. Authentic style bungalows, we had the family bungalow with sea view which was two bedrooms and an extra large bathroom. Loved it. Super friendly staff and food was lovely

Reviewed October 04, 2013
8.3
Excellent
JOHNSON from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

Eco hotel, beware if you are not used to it!”

Friendly and english speaking staff, close to beach, eco hotel

Staff are helpful and friendly, hotel provided 4 months of english trainning course to staff so they all speak ok english! Eco hotel means no AC, no TV, no phone, no frig, no toothbrush in the room. Not a usual 3 star beachfront resort.

Reviewed August 08, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Colin from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow Plantation Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013

fabulous”

efficient and friendly staff, extremely well run beach resort, fabulous location

I had a superb time at Mango Bay. The resort was extremely well run. We were greeted when we were dropped off by the airport shuttle bus and immediately offered an upgrade to save us moving from the Veranda room we had booked for the first three nights to the Plantation Bungalow (sea view) we had booked for the remaining 4 nights of our stay, which was unexpected and very welcome. What made this eco-resort special was the fact that you really felt you had got away from it all. The ocean views were to die for. Our bungalow was cleaned as if by magic when we went for breakfast - whatever the time. In a week we never saw the cleaners, yet they did an excellent job. This is an extremely well run and friendly resort, and I will certainly stay at Mango Bay again when I'm next on Phu Quoc. I would recommend hiring a motorbike to get to the centre of town. It takes about half an hour to walk to town from Mango, but the rocks (and dogs) can be difficult to negotiate. The private beach is clean and isolated and quiet.

Reviewed July 30, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Rudy from Netherlands
Couple
Superior Rammed Earth Bungalow Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013

We enjoyed every minute”

The quiet location, the beach and the bungalow attracted us

We enjoyed every minute of our stay with the beautiful beach and the quietness and the nature around. The bungalow was basic and no TV and no Fridge and NO gym at the hotel, but if yu like a Robinson Crusoe feeling you can find it here! The staff can arrange everything and is very helpful and speaks excellent English. We loved the new build beach bar and the food was also very good.

Reviewed May 20, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Richard from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in January 2013

Great location and great service”

Location, great food, helpful staff

This resort is in a great spot away from the crowds which although means limited eating options the food is great.The beach is also nice but how long this lasts for is anyones guess. While we were there there was major deforestiontation happening which means more people and less peace and quiet.

Reviewed February 11, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Charlotte from France
Group
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012

Great”

Charming, calm and very realxing

Excellent stay. The hotel is charming, in a very quiet location. A greqat hideway to relax. Rooms are decorated with a chic ethinic taste. Excellent restaurant. The only down point i could give but which is also an advantage in one way is that once you are at Mango Bay you are pretty much stuck there unless you rent a motorbike. I quite recommend this resort.

Reviewed December 13, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Adil from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012

Undeniably unique ... know what you want though”

Location, staff, service, location location location!

The resort was undeniably beautiful and unique. A series of individual bungalows that had character and beautiful wood throughout, friendly staff that could all speak English, and a very well thought out setting. As a solo traveller, I would like to offer you a full and honest account of my two nights at the resort. First impression was that the roads leading up to the resort are not developed. The airport transfer was free, but it was extremely bumpy a ride, I was actually being thrown about in the car. If you're an adult no problem, maybe be wary if you have kids. The driver could have realised himself. 20 mins later you're in the resort, being greeted by friendly staff which is nice. I was unfortunately scoffed at slightly that I was a solo traveller and didn't have someone with me, when not everyone is staying there for a romantic getaway. So I didn't appreciate that. I stayed in a bunglow that was about a two minute walk along a path, through some greenery and slightly up the hill. In the day this is fine, but at night it was actually a little scary, as a solo male even I was thinking if I fell or was jumped here then there's nothing that could be done really. The path up to the bungalow had lots of loose paving stones. The bungalow was beautiful, unique and the service was brilliant, a turn down service when you left your room that seems magic, but is carefully planned as the staff wait for you to leave before they enter and sort out your room. Word of advice though, tell us you'll do this because I had to shine my torch on the guy squatting outside my hut and realised he was waiting for me to leave. There are no phones in the hut, maybe something to reconsider. I know it's supposed to be secluded, but you can be safe and secluded. Finally, the organised tours are great I went snorkelling for the first time. It was brilliant, but I would have liked a bit more attention to safety. The first place we stopped at was choppy in the water and you are literally...

Reviewed November 06, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Oliver from Netherlands
Couple
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 8 nights in September 2012

It's a fantastic hotel with good service”

Great kitchen, nice view, eco system

We staied in Mango Bay resort for 8 nights and I enjoyed it every single day. The staff there are very welcoming and good trained; The kitchen perper food with love; Lots of gardens and very long coast; Having cocktail while watching sunset everyday is my favorite part! I will definately recommand this hotel to my families n friends.

Reviewed October 10, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Thuy from Vietnam
Couple
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012

I will be back !”

Naturely stay!

I love that nature place, sleeping and hearing the sound of the wave. The food is delicious and I don't need to go out for food. The beach bar is so beautiful that I can enjoy the sunset with cocktail. I love the restaurant based on the rock and nearby the beach. I love that place and i want to be back!

Reviewed September 22, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Thu from Vietnam
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow Plantation Sea View
Stayed 1 night in September 2012

Unique style with excellent services”

Specially designed and inspired by nature concept

My boyfriend and I took three nights at Mango Resort this September. Since it's at low season, and thru Agoda, we got a very affordable price for the night at Plantation Sea View. My very first feeling showed that the wooden bungalow with open-air bathroom was perfect and so so so impressive. It's clean and in order. We felt strange but soon got acquainted with jst a few electrical devices/applicants in the room. No TV, no LANs, no Wifi,... so it's time for you to relax and forget abt the work issues. The staff is very friendly and supportive. They guide us the sightseeing places to go during the trip, and even advise to rent a motobike if we want to discover the nature of Phu Quoc island. From the moment we landed to the leaving at Phu Quoc Airport, we received and much appriciated their professinal guide, support as well as hospitality, friendliness, How great they are.

Reviewed September 06, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Louise from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012

A place to get away from real life”

Isolated and peaceful

a beautiful place to get away from the noise and chaos of vietnam. a echo resort set 20/25 mins away from the main tourist area. due to the location of the resort you get to spend most of your stay at the resort or take a taxi to the nearest town. the staff are all very friendly and helpful and the restaurant serves really nice food although as an expat living in vietnam i find the local food over priced, a big plus is the drinks are reasonably priced. if you are looking for a party this is not the place to go but for a short break away chilling out this place is ideal.

Reviewed July 11, 2012
8.3
Excellent
MINJUAN from China
Group
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012

an eco-friendly hotel”

relaxing hotel

mango bay is quite large. and it's a very eco-friendly, natural resort. the view is excellent. the food in restaurant is excellently delicious. but there is only mud path, and some ants in room, several gekko as well, which is quite normal in tropical.

Reviewed June 29, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Ann from United States
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow Plantation Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012

Beautiful, tranquil eco-resort in paradise”

Outdoor showers, tranquility, great food, awesome staff, great bungalows

Mango Bay Phu Quoc is my favorite resort in all of Vietnam. For starters, the gorgeous location of the resort right on Ong Lang beach, on the West side of the island. Mango Beach is so peaceful, it's the perfect antidote to bustling Hanoi or Saigon. We stayed in a Plantation Bungalow, which was spartan but perfect for the island. Warning: there's no A/C, but there are copious amounts of fans and the sea breeze floating in through the windows. And the way the staff set up the rooms at night is fantastic! The outdoor bathroom/shower has to be seen to be believed - with its amazing tropical garden, you'll wonder why you'd ever shower indoors again! Food is fantastic at the resort, from the great breakfasts to the nightly specials. Thanks, Their cocktails are also to die for (think lots of lime, passion fruit, gin, and rum) and the bar staff is super-friendly. They've expanded the eating areas of both the Beach Bar and the main restaurant, so you can sit on the outside deck under the stars and eat dinner while listening to the waves crash onto the beach. The staff will go above and beyond the call of duty to celebrate a special occasion, so don't hesitate to ask for whatever you need. Thank you! We will definitely be back!

Reviewed June 29, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
cathie from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow Plantation Sea View
Stayed 10 nights in May 2012

Wonderful intimate resort with fabulous restaurant”

Great staff who enjoy working there and are deeply passionate about their jobs

As guests who are quite hard to please it is rare that we can spend 10 day anywhere and not have a few gripes. In the case of Mango Bay, it is hard to find fault. Quite simple, it's very, very good. Accommodation - our plantation bungalow was spacious, clean, airy and comfortable. Restaurant - after five trips to the country and a highly varied experience with the food, Mango Bay offers some of the best food I have had in Vietnam. Really delicious. The Executive Chef, Ms Linh, runs a tight ship it the kitchen and even managed to teach me how to cook! Staff - you get a sense that all of the staff love working at Mango Bay. Most of them have worked here for a long time and their passion shines through. Du Doi, the Front Office Manager, was incredibly proactive, even checking on our outbound flights without being asked. Spa - all sessions were great and the views was superb with the sound of the waves. We think that Mango Bay offers fantastic value for money - go before they finish the new international airport. We can't recommend this place highly enough. Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple

Reviewed May 20, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
julie from United States
Group
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012

Paradise found at Mango Bay!”

private beach, excellent bungalows, great service, nice spa treatment

phu quoc island was a last minute addition to our trip, and we're so glad we chose mango bay as our tropical island escape! set around a small cove near ong lang beach, mango bay is about 8km from the airport and is accessed from a dusty road through a mango orchard. mango bay is an ecofriendly resort, using solar panels and organic/recycled building materials throughout their facilities. the veranda bungalow we stayed in was perfect: clean, basic bathroom, comfortable bed, and a deck overlooking the water. there was no a/c but fans that kept us cool at night. service at mango bay was 5-star, with staff going above and beyond to ensure you had a pleasant stay. for example, when you first arrive, the resort manager gives you a brief orientation about their facilities while you sip on complimentary fresh juice, and use a scented towlette to freshen yourself. another perk, each room comes with a straw bag with 2 beach towels and complimentary sunscreen, which was a really nice touch. finally, rooms are checked twice-a-day: in the morning to make your bed and replenish towels, and at night to setup the mosquito net around your bed and burn citronella coils for added comfort. this is the type of service you will expect at mango bay. food at the restaurant was some of the best we had in vietnam, with plenty of choices and even a separate vegetarian menu. prices are not cheap, but considering the portions, service, and quality, i'd say it was reasonable. now, for the beach... our main goal at phu quoc was to bum it on the beach all day and that's exactly what we did! imagine your own private cove, swimming in warm, crystal blue water, or sipping on a cocktail while lounging on one of the many cabanas dotted around the beach. we must have lost track of time because next thing you know, we witnessed an epic sunset over the gorgeous gulf of thailand. if you're looking to get away from the crowds, and an isolated beach vibe is what you're looking for, mango bay is for you!

Reviewed April 19, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Efstathios from Greece
Solo traveler
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011

Good Place - Relaxing and good food.”

Location quiet.

Somewhere in between basic and 5 star. Many aspects of both. Service was good and quality of food was also very good. As its out of the action area, it's good to know the bar and food is worth staying for.

Reviewed October 29, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Fock from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2011

Great location with lots of privacy”

great service, quiet, clean and pleasant

a great place to escape for peace and total relaxation. lots of privacy and beautiful beaches with fine sand and sea. although it is a bit far from the town, but transport is available and convenient. the restaurant in the resort serves delicious sea food and prices are reasonable. highly recommended for those who prefer privacy.

Reviewed September 29, 2011
8.0
Excellent
YI from Taiwan
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow Plantation Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2011

natural and echo hotel”

good location and opened shower area

its a natural with little electricity. open shower and toilet area, very interesting experience. its cool with breeze during the night time with fan and opened windows even there is no aircon. However, its a little bit too natural to have various kind of insects in the room.

Reviewed May 18, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Jonathan from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Rammed Earth Bungalow Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2009

Island Paradise”

Peace, quiet, seclusion, nothing to do
Really nothing to complain about at all

Having lived in Thailand for 4 years, I have seen a lot of so called paradise resorts. This however was the REAL thing...go there now before everyone else does, or rather don't, as you will spoil it for me !

Reviewed September 08, 2009
6.4
Good
YING from Brunei Darussalam
Solo traveler
Deluxe Bungalow Plantation Sea View
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Service level inconsistent”

Restaurant staff were great and the food is delicious. Beach is clean and you can borrow kayak, snorkelling gear to use. Receptionist staff service level can be better. There was no hairdryer in the room and there is a sign saying if you need one, to get it from the reception. I asked the restaurant staff if a staff member can bring the hairdryer over. The receptionist said they are busy at the moment and can only bring it over after 1-2 hours later. The room is only about 2-3 mins walk from the reception. Hence, I went over and got it myself. When I reached the reception, they were not busy at all. The receptionist explained at the moment i called, there were some people checking in and out. There was only 10mins span between my call and me reaching the reception. For the price paid for this place, there is exception of good service level all round which unfortunately...is not the case.

Reviewed November 21, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Nhu from Vietnam
Couple
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

Where you find tranquility ”

Pros: I love that they leave the surrounding such as plants and trees intouched like jungle. The bathroom outside is amazing to me ( but my aunt thinks it’s too revealing and cold at night to bath). I am also in love with the furniture and the interior design of the bungalow. The staff was very nice and welcoming. Cons: if you want to communicate with the receptionist you need to walk there. i wonder what if there is emergency hmm. I think they might have been working on building the pavement to the bungalows, but mine was on the hill and without the pavement, after the rain it’s so muddy that it got to our shoes. The restaurant made mistakes twice on our orders in both times we visited but they promptly fixed with sincere apology. The receptionist man forgot to return out ID card when we checked out ( partly it was our fault we should have reminded them). Overall, I highly recommend this place and would come back. I wish little things will be improved by then.

Reviewed September 28, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Stephanie from Germany
Couple
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in August 2018

Amazing stay for us at the mango bay resort!”

We spent 4 days (& nights) at the resort and we really loved it! We wanted to relax after travelling through Vietnam for 10 days and this place was perfect for our needs! The silence, the nature and the beach at Mango bay resort were fantastic. You only need to accept small animals like geckos or snails in the bungalow but we think that‘s clear, when you book Mango bay resort! ;-) The staff prepares the beds with mosquito nets for the night to make sure the guests are protected from the mosquitos. They do this every day around 6 pm! The service in the room and the restaurant was great. All the staff was really friendly, helpfull and interrested in doing their best for the guests. The free yoga session in a small group was fantastic (beach view included!) & the aromatherapy massage was excellent. The resort offers a lot for it’s guests, so we are not able to critisize one single thing there! Would definitely love to come back to this unique eco-friendly resort! Thank you for all!

Reviewed September 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Murat from China
Couple
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018

The Best friendly feel like home”

we been in all the south east asian countries, this was one of the best hotel we had stay, staff was amazing. Breakfast and restaurant is very delicious good service. only the thing they dont had swimming pool but other resort just by walk u can use pool there buy a drink there ok.

Reviewed August 23, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Naoki from Vietnam
Family with young children
Fisherman Bungalow Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018

Stayed in Fisherman Bungalow with 3 small children”

I have stayed in this hotel nearly 10 years ago and decided to use this time again. I saw some change like restaurant became bigger and beach line a little bit changed(or it may because of season), but the friendly staff and great service is same as last time. If you stay with your family especially in case you have some small children and difficult to go out to the city tour, I think this hotel is suitable for your plan. They have big green area and beautiful beach, and have some activities every day. Restaurant is taste good and have good sea view. But it might a bit expensive if you have all lunch & dinner during your stay.

Reviewed August 16, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Baard from Norway
Family with young children
2 Bedroom Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in June 2018

Great for eco-tourists”

We were battling mosquitoes every night, but the staff helped us with repellents. Food was excellent and I miss our breakfasts. Highly recommended for tourists that are conscious about their environment. Beach was great, and there are lots of activities for kids and adults.

Reviewed June 30, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Emily from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Superior Rammed Earth Bungalow Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

Beautiful, ethical resort”

We splashed out for a few days here over christmas. It was worth every penny. we loved all the good practice the resort does regarding eco and social welfare. And the beach was stunning.

Reviewed December 30, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Doan from Vietnam
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Good”

Good stay, good location but foods are not. Staffs working at restaurant need to be trained more about customer service skills

Reviewed April 10, 2019
6.4
Good
Yzara from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Rammed Earth Bungalow Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018

Room for improvement”

Great beach location and staff. However the hotel could do with improvements for the price per night to make it a little more comfortable. Room: As there is a gap between the chilling and the walls, insects would fly into the room in the night as they are attracted by the light. Bathrooom: The shower was very dark after sundown and should be lit. There was only 1 light above the sink which isn't sufficient. Restaurant: The hotel has 2 restaurants but both have the exact same menu. After lunch and dinner for a couple of days you will be bored. Beach: The sand where the sun loungers are should be treated as there were a lot of fire ants in the sand around some loungers. First aid kit: Was very worried that there was no proper first aid kit when I had a cut on my foot and had to rummage though a cupboard of medication whilst having to Google the usage as no staff was able to assist.

Reviewed May 14, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Anne from Vietnam
Group
Family Sea View Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018

Lovely long weekend ”

We had a great three nights at Mango Bay, wonderful breakfasts and loved the meal options. Staff at the activity centre were absolutely amazing and thoroughly enjoyed the tour of Mango Bay with Jenny. Pluses - Mango Bay itself, great beaches, super comfortable beds, so nice there was mosquito repellent provided everywhere. Loved the waste water recycling and lack of plastic. Excellent mojitos and good library and games On the downside - expensive (vnd 420000), flat G&T, Phu Quoc was more like a rubbish tip than a tropical paradise. Tragically sad, particularly the rubbish all over An Thoi islands and the dying corals Would definitely visit Mango Bay but would not return to Phu Quoc

Reviewed May 05, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Chau from Vietnam
Couple
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Nice stay”

I had a pleasant stay at this ecofriendly resort. The staff was really nice and thoughtful. The bungalow was full of open space but they manage to keep everything clean and fresh. The restaurant had a great view and the food was ok. Only that they did not have hot shower, a little problem for those who are not used to showering with a bit icy-cold water like me.

Reviewed May 01, 2018
4.4
WHAN from South Korea
Couple
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Eco friendly but over priced”

At least there must be windows too block the mosquito and other insect. It's toooooo eco friendly. If there is no facility then why charging that much???? But staff were friendly. Still toooo expensive. Its just personel opinion

Reviewed April 27, 2018
7.2
Very good
Marie-Pierre from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe Bungalow Plantation Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018

Lovely place, disappointing customer service”

I had heard rave reviews about this hotel and decided it was about time to go. Because I booked the easter weekend quite last minute, I did pay a lot for my four nights stay (850$) as I had treated myself to a beach view bungalow. Upon arriving at the end of the morning however, I was told I was “upgraded”. When I asked what was the upgrade I was told I was put in a larger bungalow, which made little sense I was traveling alone but I appreciated the attention. As we made our way to my bungalow, we passed by the beachfront cottages and then hiked up in the back part of the property, in the part that is located the furthest away from the beach, and close to a small road... The bungalow was lovely but way too big and quite dark... When I asked to have my original beach front bungalow it clearly became obvious they had given it away... I said it was fine and trying to be flexible I went to reception, explained the situation and asked if I could change for the last two nights. The gentleman at the front acted as if I was being fussy and told me everything was booked despite the fact the type of room I wanted was still available on Agoda. I really though this was frustrating and was bad customer service as all I wanted was the room I had booked. I had booked another trip that I have now canceled and will not go back.

Reviewed April 16, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Charlotte from Singapore
Family with teens
Superior Verandah Sea View Twins
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Fantastic huden gem”

We loved Mango Bay - big space to run around for the kids - best food ever on a holiday. Beach was nice - not white/blue like other coral islands but still very nice - we did not miss the pool at all. The rooms are great and fan sufficient for sleeping. Big huge thanks to all the staff - especially the restaurants - fantastic service and food quality was local - fresh and the BEST. We are planning our next visit already

Reviewed April 06, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Simon from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Bay View Private Villa
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018

An Oasis”

For ‘getting away from it all’ into an oasis of subtropical calm it would be hard to beat this resort. We spent 4 days exclusively at the resort and were sorry to leave. All around Phu Quoc is evidence of increasing overdevelopment and a lack of any attention to managing infrastructure, waste etc. Long may Mango Resort hang on to the basics of what many travellers want - beautiful, well managed simplicity, rather than the ‘luxury theme park’ approach seen in Da Nang and elsewhere in Phu Quoc.

Reviewed April 04, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Andrea from Germany
Couple
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 1 night in January 2018

Nice place for relaxation”

Huge and very versatile property with lovely beaches and jungle area. The cottages are sweet, very close to nature without glasswindows (only wooden sunscreen) and with outdoor bathroom. The owners want to set an example for an environmentally friendly resort, unlike most of the resorts on Phu Quoc (which are destroying the environment). Minimal electricity (no fridge in room, only few light, water being heated through solar panel) etc. I guess you could call it more Glamping than a hotel stay. As it wasn’t sunny whilst we were there we had cold water in the shower which was a bit annoying in the morning. Also be aware that the resort is in a jungle area, so you will be sleeping with all sorts of animals (big geckos) and insects in one room (Moskito netting over bed). it was a great experience, though I think the price is very expensive for what you get in the end. Would recommend to stay for a couple of nights and then find another hotel for some pampering. Excellent restaurant!!!

Reviewed January 16, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Robert from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow Plantation Sea View
Stayed 6 nights in December 2017

Exceptional”

We had a wonderful 6 days at Mango Bay and are looking forward to returning in the future. We would definitely recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a great place to unwind and relax. We were upgraded to a Bayview Villa and as a result were very pleased as you can watch the sunset from the balcony. Having said that all the rooms looked inviting and were in close proximity to the beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful , particularly Lao. The food was delicious and there was a good range to choose from. Finally for those who don't want to laze around the beach all day, they offer free activities every day ranging from games to take back to the room, to Tai Chi and yoga classes and you have free access to kayaks, bikes and paddle boards. You can even rent motor scooters from them.

Reviewed December 11, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Marcos from Spain
Couple
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 1 night in September 2017

Lovely huts”

Great restaurant & food, we love Viet's attention at dinner time ❤️ Our room was fantastic making us feel in the nature. Mosquito net, coil & spray repellent in the room. Hot water for coffee & drinking water replacement every day for free. They charge $20usd for transpo from the pier if you're staying less than 3 days.

Reviewed September 30, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
terri from South Africa
Group
Fisherman Bungalow Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017

The most amazing stay”

We loved everything about mango Bay. It's an eco friendly resort, with friendly staff and the most amazing breakfasts that you will ever have in your life. Attention to detail is the main focus here, and they provide everything you need as well as much more (bug spray, mosquito nets, beach bags, torches, board games etc) The huts are rustic and quite open, with no air-conditioning, but it is not missed at all. The constant breeze and provided fan keep you cool enough. Due to the style of the rooms, you will have visitors (in the form of geckos, mosquitoes, and some moths) however the mosquitoe nets keep you sheltered at night time and the staff light citronella burners every evening for you. In short, mango Bay is wonderful and you MUST stay here!

Reviewed July 14, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Dee from Ireland
Couple
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 1 night in July 2017

Absolutely Amazing”

The resort itself is really great but staff here were what made it absolutely amazing. We came here for dinner one evening and we were so impressed we ended up booking in for the following night,even though it was way over our budget!From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't do enough for us, they even gave us breakfast (out of this world!) on the morning we checked in!You need never leave the resort for anything, we lazed by the beach all day, drank delicious cocktails and had dinner by night!They do loads of free activities though if you felt the need and have loads of equipment for water sports you can also use for free!Definitely the best hotel experience of my life!😍😍 It is an eco friendly resort so we had an outdoor bathroom and a tokay friend in our room, but he didn't move all night!Just make sure to use the mosquito repellent they provide!Overall, it was amazing and worth every penny!😍

Reviewed July 11, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Lisa from United States
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

Romantic slice of paradise ”

Really recommend this place as a quiet getaway for couples. It's a bit far from the main town, but the food/drinks are really good so we didn't mind all that much. That said, prices a bit higher, but quality is high. Breakfast is absolutely relish!

Reviewed June 13, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Edmund from Canada
Couple
Superior Rammed Earth Bungalow Garden View
Stayed 9 nights in April 2017

Mango Bay Resort...A Mixed bag...”

Mango Bay Resort was a mixed bag… Stayed 9 nights 10 days. The resort was nicely laid out, with villas well spaced from each other, with lots of trees, right on the sea-shore/beach with a natural-beauty setting. But you might end up walking a longer distance to and from the beach, the restaurant and the beach bar. When we checked-in, they were very nice to upgrade(free) us to a bigger villa. Customer service was excellent, very helpful and friendly staff. Our villa was very clean, very nicely appointed(could use more chairs) and spacious with a nice open-air bathroom. Since this is an ‘Eco-Friendly’ resort, the villas were ‘open-air’ design, open lattice, windows and doors with shutters and no screens. It’s good for ventilation but also for bugs and critters, and there were lots, to get in the room. There’s NO air-conditioning, NO refrigerator, not even a kettle (here’s where the comfort and convenience level go down). There were three fans in the room, but even with that our room was always damp and hot. There was a mosquitos net over the bed but that also cut down a lot of wind from the fans. At times it was hard to sleep. Our bed was damp, lumpy and hard. So the comfort level of the room overall was low. The restaurant…was right on the water with a wonderful vista, the prefect place to watch sunset, every day. Breakfast was included and was nice, also came with a nice fruit basket and a bread basket. For lunch/dinner…while the Tapas were very good, the main dishes were bland and average taste. For the price (one of the highest in the area) we were expecting much better and tastier dishes. We were disappointed. We had the Mango salad it was way too vinegary, why would they use vinegar in mango salad(instead of Lime/Lemon)?; the Chicken Marsala (show me the chicken?!) was quite bland; the peanut sauce with the Satay was also bland tasting…I could go on…but you get the idea. We were not getting the quality of food that we were paying for ! The beach…they have

Reviewed May 09, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Alicia from United States
Couple
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

Beautiful Oasis”

This eco resort was everything I wanted to get our SE Asia vacation started off right. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was amazing (I desperately miss the granadilla yogurt!), and the rooms were cozy. They offer free water sports (e.g. paddleboarding, kayaking), they have beach bats, and hammocks to wile away your day. The shower is run by solar so as long as you don't go expecting hot water all the time, you'll love your stay at Mango Bay!

Reviewed January 05, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Scott from United States
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016

Wonderful Eco Resort”

Mango Bay has done a wonderful job on a remote island of making the traveler feel welcomed. The resort is well done, with just the right mix of natural design while not being too rugged. The food was great, the staff was very friendly, and I really enjoyed our nice bungalow. I would return for certain.

Reviewed January 03, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Tahlea from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016

Beautiful place with beautiful staff”

I can't speak more highly about this resort! Absolutely beautiful place. Attended a wedding here and they surely made it memorable. Stayed in the garden bungalow which was still so close to the beach! The staff are absolutely fantastic and more than willing to cater to your needs and take the further step to make your stay enjoyable. To anyone staying the massages are fantastic and you will leave feeling absolutely relaxed. Although I did not participate in any of the activities, the resort offers many different things as well as a shuttle to the town a few times during the day. Beautiful clean resort with manicured gardens and beautiful staff, managers and owners. Highly reccomend if it is in your price range, worth the money.

Reviewed October 03, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Johannes from Netherlands
Couple
Superior Rammed Earth Bungalow Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016

Eco relaxing”

A very quiet place, perfect for some relaxing days Great location, well maintained and clean (!) beaches The rammed earthwall bungalows are great, the outdoor bathroom is fantastic. The food and service in the restaurant is outstandinf, excellent Higly recommended

Reviewed September 04, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Ken from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Rammed Earth Bungalow Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016

You should come here”

If you love the natural and can survive without air condition. You definitely should come to Mango bay. We was welcomed by "idk" glass of welcomed drinks but it was really nice. The staffs r very friendly, she rearrange schedule for us when we arrived. Everything was really nice from little things like mosquitoes from the natural designed of resort to the food. So lazy to give compliments. In shorts, choose mango bay hahaha

Reviewed August 29, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Thai from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Verandah Double Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016

My first stay a resort - happy as ...”

The reasons I stayed at this resort because of good reviews and also having times away from work to unwind (downtime), frankly, I did not expect much at first, given the price charged, but i needed to say, it was beyond my expectations, staff were friendly, responsive, and detailed in their explainations. Only one minor issue, my hut was next to a family with two young kids, they were playing and talking in early mornings and late at night. Other than that, I really enjoyed my "get-away". Thanks staff.

Reviewed July 31, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Kim from Australia
Couple
Fisherman Bungalow Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in June 2016

Relaxing”

Stayed in fisherman bungalow beautiful beachfront view..awesome room even with the rain and open bathroom. Staff were friendly and great English too! Food was awesome yes it's a bit pricey but the quality is first rate plus for the standard of the resort it is to be expected. Arlon and sun (apologies if incorrect spelling) at beach bar were great. Would recommend and would definitely stay again as we originally booked for 4 nights but after 2 hours here extended to 10! Keep up the great work

Reviewed June 23, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Hailin from Singapore
Couple
Fisherman Bungalow Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016

Mango Bay is a gem”

My boyfriend and I stayed at Mango Bay for 3 nights and we were blown away by the views the resort offered as well as the facilities and service. The restaurant served amazing food as well. Highly recommended!

Reviewed June 21, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Jess from Argentina
Couple
Deluxe Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016

Wonderful place”

We loved our stay at Mango Bay. The bungalows are lovely and comfortable - especially loved the outside bathroom! This is a perfect place to relax in comfort in a quiet bay. Both the restaurant and beach bar are right on the water and the food is delicious (quite expensive for Vietnamese standards). My only complaint is the size of the portions - these should really be a bit bigger for the price one is paying. A highly recommended place to stay!

Reviewed May 10, 2016