Very good 8.0
Based on 24 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 24 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 7.3
Sort by

Rachel from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Great location, classy hotel
The location was fantastic, just 2 blocks from Ipanema beach. The rooms were spacious, well set out and nicely decorated.
The staff were really friendly, the breakfast was buffet next door at Devazza cafe - very busy on the weekend but really nice food. The staff helped with organising a transfer to the airport, and were happy to answer all our questions.
Reviewed September 05, 2012

Ben from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Very Nice Hotel
Good Sized Room,
mar ipanema is in a very good location - 2 blocks from the beautiful ipanema beach - we even walked up to copacabana beach from there in less than 30 minutes along the beach front. breakfast is good in the restaurant next door. nice sized rooms, good showers. one downside is that as we werent leaving rio until 5pm and check out is at 12 sharp, there was nowhere for us to shower or change other than the toilet of the neighbouring restaurant. would be nice if they could arrange a small room to change and shower in for those not wiling to pay the 'huge' late check-out fee.
Reviewed July 05, 2012

bruno from Brazil
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
Great location and hotel in good condition.
Small lobby with a toilet inthe restaurant.
Great location but poor service specially if the hotel is busy. Had to wait half day to change bed configuration in the room.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Felicia from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in March 2012
Convenient location & Safe
close to supermarket and restaurants
The room is bright, clean and comes with a room safe which is something I really appreciated. The hot shower works wonderfully and the daily breakfast is decent. Location-wise, it is 2 streets away from Ipanema (Post 10) and there are numerous shops, cafes, restaurants and supermarket nearby, so getting amenities like water and fruits and eating out is not an issue. If you are keen to visit Cristo Redentor on your own, there's a bus + bus stop just outside the hotel that will bring you there. Staff is alert and while I was there, I did see policemen patrolling the streets so I felt safe.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

PEERAPOD from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in November 2011
great location in Ipanema
location
the place is slightly less expensive than most others when i shopped around in ipanema, however it is only a few minutes walking to the beach (near posto 9). you can prob get a cheaper places but it might be further away. it is on the main drag of ipanema, close to buses, stores, and night life. many buses can be taken just steps from the hotel's door to all major sites (central downtown, sugar loaf, the base of cordovado, and other points in leblon, copa)--very frequent and cheap buses that you do not to use taxis. there is also the blue bus (?real company) which is only r9 and its picks up outside gig terminal and drops you at points all over the city, including ipa/copa. it takes a little longer than taxi (45-60 min vs 30 mins) but taxi can cost r60-80. the room is standard with tv, phone, refrig, nice and clean bathroom, comfortable beds. the restaurant serves full breakfast buffet which is decent but nothing to write home about. the wifi is good both in the lobby and in my room. the staff is friendly and helpful.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

KENNETH from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in August 2011
Great location
Location, staff, quality of breakfast
Location is critical, helpful staff, very clean and great breakfast.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Jason from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in July 2011
Great location perfect for beach and nightlife
Location location location
Perfect spot in Ipanema,walking distance to all the great spots. My only very minor complaint is that the rooms are pretty noisy due to the very busy road it is on. Definitely wouldn't stop me recommending it to anyone
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Timothy from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in February 2011
Great location with friendly staff
Very clean and free internet
i was very pleased with the location of the hotel. it is just two blocks from ipanema beach, and the hotel provided free beach chairs, umbrellas, and towels. two major malls are located within a few blocks. the hotel staff is very friendly and offered advice on what i should visit and always helped get a taxi to get me there when needed. the courteous staff gave me information on various municipalities that i should visit and provided advice on the metro, bus, and other transportation modes. breakfast was included in my room mate which was always a good start to my day. i would definitely stay in the mar ipanema hotel on my return to rio.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Zack from Canada
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in October 2008
3 Stars Hotel
- 3 blocks to the Ipanema beach. - Safe surrounding. - Many choices of food.
- Internet is extra charge. - No facilities. - Breakfast is small in number, not many choices
I would consider this a 3 star hotel only because it has just the minimum facilities. However, the price it charged is of the 4 star hotel, a little expensive. I guess because it is located in a good Ipanema neighborhood. Other than that, it's just a so so hotel.
Reviewed October 18, 2008

Frederico from Portugal
Couple
Standard
Stayed 7 nights in March 2016
Excelente escolha!!
Excelente pequeno almoço, muito proximo de todos os locais onde queriamos ir. Funcionarios muito gentis e eficientes!!
Reviewed March 24, 2016


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: