Very good 8.0
Based on 704 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 704 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 7.6
Sort by

Shu from Hong Kong
Families with young children
Swala Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Poor air conditioning
There were only two small air conditioners in the room and it was quite hot to stay in the room. On the other hand, it was quite noisy as there was quite a lot of frog sound at night and the chicken sound in the early morning.
Reviewed April 05, 2016

Pooja from India
Couples
Swala Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
A must go in bali
You should plan to stay atleast 2 days here to enjoy all the facilities. It is totally worth the money. You get 15% discounts on all the pictures (if you want them printed and framed), on shopping in their stores, on your safari as well. Room: The first thing that sweeps you off your feet is the view from the window. Zebras, ostriches, wilderbeasts, Rhino, all grazing right outside your window. You are given basket full of carrots so you can feed them from the balcony. From time to time elephants also come with people on elephant safari and you get to feed them as well. It is so much fun! You get to hand feed zebras near the pool area, it was an amazing experience as well. You can contact reception and they refill your carrots whenever you want. Facilities: We checked in and booked our night safari, it cost us very less from the price quoted on website since we were staying here. We got picture with Marcel, the Albino python, amazing animal encounters. It is upto you if you want to get it printed or you want to take picture in your mobile only and same was told to us upfront by the animal care takers. It made us feel good about the place since they were not after money but wanted you to have an experience with you. Safari: The night safari was very thrilling, just like the picture you are in cage and animals are outside, tigers jumping on the cage for food. Their Fire-dance was also very nice and BBQ dinner was good as well. The next day we had not booked anything, since we were staying there we could attend almost all shows for free. We got pictures with Neema the baby lion, macaws, hornbill, orangutan, Elephants in our mobiles as well as got it printed and framed. All animal encounters were so good, you feel so attached to these animals after that. We sat with the lion twice on that day, touched him, it was just an amazing experience. we attended the very informative animal show, elephant bath, big cat show which was too good, elephant show was also awesome. I w
Reviewed April 05, 2016

Rani from Malaysia
Families with older children
Swala Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Worth the experience for a night stay
Place is interesting where you get to see wildlife from your room. You will get to see 1 rhino, a few zebras, wilder beast and ostrich from your room balcony and the pool. We were a bit uneasy with the bushes around the room area. Room area should be kept clear for safety reasons. Animal quality not that great. We felt it was too expensive for Bali. Food was a big let down, especially morning breakfast. Tsavo lion restaurant was good, but again there are only 3-4 lions around. Overall it is a good experience for a night stay.
Reviewed April 02, 2016

YAU from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Tandala Suite
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Good experience stay with the animal
nice place
Reviewed March 30, 2016

Mary from Australia
Groups
Family Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Good experience
Loved the grounds the elephants and the jungle hopper through the park
We stayed overnight in 3 bed villa $700 aud bit overpriced for 1 night
Reviewed March 21, 2016

Noor from Singapore
Families with young children
Family
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
living in the wild
close proximity with the animals, staffs friendliness, cleanliness
Clean, comfort
Reviewed March 19, 2016

brooks from United States
Couples
Swala Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Less than Expected
We have traveled the world over the past 3 years, and write very few reviews. However, I am inclined to due to the following: 1) We had our laundry done at the Mara River Safari Lodge and they didn't return 2 items. We did not immediately notice this, as we simply put the items in our travel bags. However, a few days later, we noticed the semi-expensive items were missing. We contacted the Lodge, and they acknowledged that they did not return the items with the rest of the laundry, and then asked us to pay IDR 1.377.000 to ship them to our address in America. Paying $100 for someone else mistake is unacceptable. 2) The food at the Lion View Restaurant was all meat, and very dry. I am not a foodie, but this was not good. It was also not cheap. 3) They force the animals to interact with you, instead of letting the tigers and lions exist in their natural habitat. A jeep will constantly move the big cats to where the people are, disrupting them. 4) Our neighbor had a plate from room service outside his door, during the daytime, for over 10 hours. This attracted bugs and other animals. I personally watched staff members walk by it. In summary, everything listed above was true and disappointing. There are many positives at this resort, but overall, this was not a very positive experience and definitely not worth the $ when considering all the other options Bali has for accommodations and entertainment.
Reviewed March 11, 2016

Masdiana from Singapore
Families with young children
Twiga Suite
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Memorable experience, needs to improve on F&B
The close proximity to animals, lots of photo op with my fav animals and the safari experience
I absolutely loved the room and the sight that greeted us when we opened the balcony doors in the morning. Great experience especially for my son, who loves animals. We were a bit disappointed that there are no tigers (tiger cubs?) roaming around the pool as what we have seen in the promo pics before we made the booking - that would have definitely be a plus point!:) But we do get to take pictures free of charge (if you use your own cameras) with the young lion, bearcat and orang utan though, which was awesome!! The dinner buffet spread was limited, bland and overpriced but the breakfast spread was better. Do consider reviewing your F&B prices as it was the only shortfall of this stay. Your employees are outstanding, always so accommodating and polite. And thank you for being kind enough to give us a plastic bag full of carrots to feed the animals when we asked for more. It made my son really happy and that is all that matters to me :)
Reviewed February 26, 2016

Pongsathorn from Thailand
Families with young children
Family
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Amazing experience, good for family
It was quite an unforgettable experience to ride an elephant pass through a safari to reach the breakfast area. However, the food is not up to par.
Reviewed February 13, 2016

Lunny from Indonesia
Families with young children
Twiga Suite
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Not worth the pay
We were told when we checked in that the price in agoda is only for room and breakfast. Safari needs extra pay and we were not offerred any discount or previlege as guest hotel. The room was at the corner and when they said you can see animals from room balcony means in quite a distance that almost difficult to see with a big palm tree perfectly grows just in front of the balcony. The room is so so, smell old, very dark and pretty small. They insist We pay extra bed for our 12 year old son which I found a bit dissappointing because we have checked in in another 2 five star hotel before and they compliment us with extra large bed for all of us. Breakfast was bad. Variety and quantity was minimum. Only the appearance of 2 big cat on glass wall can cheer us up a bit. Worst, the staffs are not availlable everytime we need to get a ride at concierge. Friendly suggestion, if you like to see animal just take the safari. The accommodation is way too overpriced with just very standard service.
Reviewed February 10, 2016


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: