Book Now: Matahari Terbit Bali

Very good
From 574 reviewsSee what guests said
7.7
Recommended by 89% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (574)Booking.com Reviews (683)
7.7
Very good
From 574 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.7
Facilities7.3
Location8.1
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service7.8
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Bahasa Indonesia
日本語
Русский
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 527 verified guest comments
7.6
Very good
russell from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Lovely spot, check your shower”
Somewhat tired duplex garden villas with prime beach access. Awesome gluten free restaurant in Mr Bobs plus the owner serves you. Slight sulphur smell of Bali but indoor bathroom. No kettle in the room but gave us a hot water thermis each night. We stayed an extra night and would love to return
Reviewed December 30, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Katarina from Serbia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in September 2016
Nice value for money ”
Good value for money and very good location. Peaceful and relaxing.
Reviewed December 24, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Chloe from South Africa
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
loved it!”
Its situated in Nusa Dua which is a good area if you would like to take a breather before your journey begins. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The facilities are always clean, the breakfast at the restaurant is a really good and the atmosphere is very relaxing. Try wake up early for the sunrise and sit in the garden next door, you won't regret it. Overall, definitely satisfied!
Reviewed December 08, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Lynette from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Fantastic stay, quiet friendly hotel. Old style Bali...wonderful.”
A real gem if you prefer real Balinese friendliness and style rather than concrete carpark style big hotels. We loved it, every minute. Yes it is old but honest and that is its charm. From the cool pool ( shallow and deep so beautifully cool) and right next to the beach (which is methodically cleaned) , the cool bougainvillea roof, lovely old gardens and big cool rooms with their own quiet shady verandah. Yes the bathrooms were not built in 2016 but they are practical and clean with good hot and cold water pressure. A nice big fridge, good comfy bed and indoor seating set of the cool restful room. There is also a wonderful restaurant right next to the pool so meals can be enjoyed looking out to sea. Enjoy we did. MR. BOB's restaurant was great, we thoroughly enjoyed the baby ribs, great taste, juicy and cooked brilliantly. We were also lucky enough to taste test their new Arak and wild mountain honey liqueur, check the specials board to see if it is available, a really great end to a lovely meal. This hotel is a hidden gem, can't wait to return. Many thanks to Nyoman, Ketut and Harry for their real Balinese hospitality.
Reviewed December 04, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Karina from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Great place in Nusa Dua on the Beach”
We had a great time here. The location was fantastic. Beach front place with a amazing pool.
Reviewed November 18, 2016
6.0
Malcolm from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 7 nights in October 2016
Needs investment and bringing up to satisfactory standard”
The showeroom and toilet are shabby and the actual shower fittings are in a bad state of repair and is in a need of redecoration The tv in the room is badly out of date,. The aircon was leaking water onto the floorand was reported but never repaired. The full place wants a major overall
Reviewed November 03, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Beata from United Kingdom
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 10 nights in October 2016
Beautiful, small hotel with Balinese flavour ”
Great time
Reviewed October 30, 2016
5.6
grant from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in September 2016
It's a no”
Staff are great it's not there fault the hotel is in poor condition I left after one day of a five day booking To many things to mention that is not staffs fault If only the owner would stay a night in a room then something finally might be done But the only thing this hotel needs is a complete renovation
Reviewed October 30, 2016
4.4
David from United States
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Facilites need a major facelift”
the 4 star rating of this hotel is misleading. Although rooms have ample space, the bathroom is quite honestly pretty disgusting. The showers have all sorts of rust over the faucet and the sink and toilet are just old and need to be replaced. The beach right next to the hotel is used for fishing boats and the sand was dirty with trash and the water looked pretty gross. Overall, I would've paid a little more to stay in a nicer place.
Reviewed October 04, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Sivakumar from Malaysia
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Beautiful place”
Excellent place. Worth the money.
Reviewed September 24, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Bradley from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 12 nights in August 2016
If you are looking for an authentic, charming, quiet Bali experience you can't beat this. Staff outstanding! Bungalows - a Bali experience of old - may be a little tired but they are spacious, clean, ”
If you are looking for an authentic, charming, quiet Bali experience you can't beat this. Staff outstanding! Bungalows - a Bali experience of old - may be a little tired but they are spacious, clean, cool and plenty of hot water. With only 20 rooms you get your own space, a quiet pool and Mr Bob's bar and grill is kicking off this month. They couldn't do enough to make you welcome! We stayed just under two weeks and could have stayed for a month. Great value!! Happy Aussies!
Reviewed September 04, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
brian from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Exceptional”
Nice old style Balinese hotel water pluming needs fixing plus menu needs updating especially breakfast . Will go back to hotel for sure a relaxing holiday
Reviewed August 20, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
david from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Great location, friendly staff, management really keen to keep improving”
My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and loved it. Location is perfect, staff were excellent, Nyoman and Susie (the managers) were on hand to meet the guests and get to know you.. They were also happy to take on advice like putting kettles for boiling water in the rooms. The place is really on the up and close to many great eating places. We would definitely come back to stay here. Oh and the even gave us a later checkout to match our flights. Great value really reasonably priced. Thankyou Sharon and David 16.8.16
Reviewed August 19, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Becky from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Good!!”
To say that this is an incredibly cheap hotel I was amazed at their high standards! Clean rooms, fantastic staff, good facilities - the TV in the room was amazing, had lots of movies (fox)! Pool was clean and the restaurant was fantastic! The only bad thing about this hotel is that it is a good hour walk from the nicer beaches.
Reviewed August 14, 2016
8.0
Excellent
MD from Bangladesh
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in August 2016
Happy ”
Good to stay with limited budget.
Reviewed August 13, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Naomi from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016
Great value accommodation in a handy location for water activities.”
Great location - large rooms in single story private thatched roof bungalow style rooms, pool and restaurant overlooking ocean with easy access to nearby restaurants, beach activities, mini marts and massage/spas. Although aging the accommodation is clean and comfortable. Recommend Coconut Restaurant (great international coffee and food) and adjoining spa (clean, private and very relaxing).
Reviewed July 29, 2016
7.2
Very good
Cheryl from Australia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
New linen and towels required ”
Great location. Huge rooms in cottage suites.. Sheets and towels all are old, grey and almost threadbare
Reviewed July 19, 2016
5.2
Care from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Not good”
The floor is dusty, acceptable after they cleaned it... Many blood mark on the bed sheet... Toilet is too old.. Low water pressure, loosed shower head.. Funny shampoo and shower gel.. By using handwriting on the bottle.. No budget for such a small shampoo bottle?? It spoiled my honeymoon trip.. Bad breakfast, not buffet style... Only 2 choices: American or Indonesian style.... With very saulty omelette... Bad environment at sea side.... Full of rubbish on the beach...
Reviewed July 16, 2016
3.6
Anil from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
o”
nothing
Reviewed July 07, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Franki from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Average quality hotel”
Room clean and close to the beach. However, the shower room facilities is a bit old with some rusty part. Anyway, reasonable price.
Reviewed July 06, 2016
7.6
Very good
WONG from Indonesia
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Goods Staff but Bad Location”
Friendly staff but location is bad. Far from the city center, very quite hotel. Near from the sea but the room was smelly.
Reviewed June 22, 2016
7.6
Very good
XUEJUN from China
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
One night stay”
The hotel yard was beautifully arranged and cared. We could enjoy the quietness there for a night sleep. The bedding was not cleaned enough for one room with some dirt marks and even ants.
Reviewed June 22, 2016
7.2
Very good
Dipankar from India
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Pleasant place with potential to be better ”
This property has seen better days and though the facilities are in place, it needs an overhauling proper maintenance. Otherwise, a very pleasant place to stay and relax. I would definitely consider coming back here if I am in this part of the world.
Reviewed June 18, 2016
6.8
Good
Cuong from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Review Matahari Terbit Bali from Cuong NDH”
The staff is very helpful and friendly who help me a lot in booking transfer services during my stay. The architecture design is very nice, reflecting the Hindu culture of Bali. However amenities is a little bit old despite recent refurbishment. Beach is rocky and not suitable for swimming. Moreover I am happy to stay there at the current room price.
Reviewed June 12, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Natalie from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Excellent Stay in Wonderful Hotel! ”
New management since April 1st are committed to making your stay a luxury!! We spoke personally to the general manager and were so impressed with his commitment to making Matahari a wonderful stay for everyone. Our stay at Matahari Terbit Bali was just excellent. First off the property is beautiful! The garden is lush, the pool looks out over the ocean and the rooms are huge. What really made this place special was the staff and the general manager and his family. On our first morning we met the General Manager, Nyomi, who greeted us and invited us to enjoy breakfast in the hotel restaurant which overlooks the ocean. The picturesque setting paired with a nice breakfast was a great addition to our stay. Additionally Nyomi started chatting and told us about the hotel and asked us for our feedback on everything. There are a few quirks to the place that they are still working out but they are committed to excellence and we experienced just that.
Reviewed June 01, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Rachael from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016
Mr Bob”
We had a four day break and enjoyed our time here. The manager, his family and staff were second to none. Very helpful and accommadating. The restaurant served good food and there is a new menu on the way which we sampled and thoroughly enjoyed. If I had to be negative about anything it would be that the hotel just needs a little tlc. The rooms were clean,spacious and the a/c worked well. Situated on the beach and within easy walking distance to many restaurants. Definitely value for money. We would stay again. Mr Bob.
Reviewed May 16, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Dan from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Great find!”
This was a last minute booking when I was on the way to Bali; I had a two day layover and wanted a quiet place to relax. Some of the poor reviews had me skeptical.. I was really sceptical, but was pleasantly surprised!! Yes, some things need to be updated, the wi-fi drops off at times, and my tv didn't work, but everything else made up for it. The staff is AMAZING! Very kind, pleasant, and attentive to my needs. Everyday they have workers tending to the grounds and cleaning rooms, all smiling and saying hello. The small restaurant and pool area are fabulous, situated just on the beach. The beach isn't the best for swimming, but a great place to relax. Some great shops and restaurants just outside the front of the hotel. If you want a stiff, 5-star sort of place, take your business down the road. If you want a real place to relax, live authentic, and be treated like family, the Matahari Terbit is for you. I'll definitely be back.
Reviewed May 16, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Nooraizan from Brunei Darussalam
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
peaceful, relaxing, good walk”
Breakfast by the beach, restaurants, watersports and street shops are easy to find. the room is spacious. great for backpackers in group as well. the amenities are limited but not a big deal. recommended.
Reviewed April 04, 2016
5.6
Renette from Australia
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Faulty Towers”
No air conditioning in first room, toilet overflow in second room. Most staff nice, front desk guy not very pleasant or helpful, he didn't give details of hotel spa but recommended and alternate spa 3 kms away. Breakfast was ok. No restaurant at night. The beach is a little smelly at low tide
Reviewed March 27, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Dilpreet from India
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Good experience ”
View,pool,massage
Great view from every room lil scary at night and even they should improve the washroom a little more otherwise worth trying it
Reviewed February 25, 2016
4.3
Andrew from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
The place is old and falling apart”
Access to sea near resturant me good spa
While taking a shower my girlfriend was spied upon one of the staff had put ladders up to the back wall to peep at her we discovered all in all a bad experience we want to for get
Reviewed February 19, 2016
7.2
Very good
HANNA from Poland
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in February 2016
Ok”
Ok
Reviewed February 13, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Abhinay from India
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Excel in some but disappoints in others”
Food and Hotel area (pool and breakfast area)
It was OK for a 4-Star hotel. Toilet and Shower were broken when we entered the room. We had to ask the staff to fix it. On the other hand room was comfortable, big and adequately clean. Staff could get pushy about Spa and driver services. At times till the point that you want to just get the leaflet and drop it in the bin straightaway. Gourmet restaurant offers a nice twist to the regular dishes. Breakfast and pool area is good. The beach is not what I expected. It was dirty and not good for swimming. I saw some small boats parked in front of the hotel
Reviewed January 03, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Polina from Russia
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 8 nights in December 2015
Our hollidays in a Bali”
Location, swimming pool, territory of the hotel
Staff is very helpful, breakfasts are good but boring, rooms are ok, the territory of the hotel is picturesque. ...
Reviewed January 03, 2016
4.3
JACKY from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Good location poor management ”
location
l booked three days but left after one day ,because too many flies ,mosquitoes ,poor bathroom and very cheap breakfast ,stay there is really just like a nightmare !!
Reviewed January 02, 2016
4.7
Rajveer from India
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Call it 2star”
On the beach
Thank god, we only booked for the day. All the rooms smeels weired as hotel is very old. Its rained in evening and we were sitting outside enjoying the rain. As we get in the room after, it was like a swwiming pool in bathroom and on the door. Water was leaking from room and through ceiling light which could be life threating hazard. Hotel staff cleaned it later. In morning, breakfast was not pleasent. Do understand that its cheap but not worth 4 star and atleast u dont deserve water leaking in room.
Reviewed December 11, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Anissa from Indonesia
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Very underrated hotel!”
location, classic cottages, value for money
I was a bit skeptical before reaching Matahari Terbit, but I was proven wrong. THe hotel was built in 1997, most likely by German investors since up until now I see signs written in German everywhere in the hotel. It's a classic cottage style facing the beach which is also very nice. The garden was well-kept and the professional staff catering to our every need. The room was huge and well-kept despite looking so old. The only thing I wish the hotel can change is the interior of the bathroom in each room. I seriously wouldn't mind an old room because it's so well kept, but the interior of the bathroom definitely needs changing because it's so old and I could see limestone signs everywhere. The hot water definitely was there but it was lacking in power. Definitely need redesigning the bathroom. Honestly the bathroom isn't even that bad. I just wish they could fix it into better ones. I love this place and definitely will go there again. It's a very nice retreat from the busy city and I felt so welcomed there.
Reviewed December 01, 2015
7.0
Very good
Diana from Philippines
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Accomodating staff.”
Location, cost and big rooms.
The staff are accommodating. We had a pleasant stay but except for cockroach in bathroom ;( but the staff was pleasant and helpful enough to kill the bugs. Maybe a little renovation will do. But all in all our stay was good and comfortable.
Reviewed November 15, 2015
8.7
Excellent
paul from Belgium
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Very good price quality hotel”
Vieuw garden/ocean very clean staff
Comfortable place, simple hotel but very good for relax Bcs area is quiet and fresh air
Reviewed October 27, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Anthony from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Quiet, Relaxed, Traditional.”
Beachfront Location and Surrounding Area, Staff, Traditional Balanise Atmosphere
Reviewed September 25, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Narendra from India
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Beautiful location, pleasant to stay”
Swimming pool, Access to the beach, Garden
My wife and me had a pleasant stay at Matahari. The rooms were big enough and a clean toilet as well. We also had a nice terrace to sit and relax. The swimming pool overlooking the beach is an highlight. If we ever plan to come back to Bali, we would definitely stay here again!
Reviewed September 18, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
julie from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Best location on the beach”
location, size of room, staff
Great stay - staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked for 2 days and extended for another 3 - at the end of the beach away from boats coming and and day trippers. Would definitely recommend.
Reviewed August 31, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Wendy from Australia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
good size rooms”
Beach front location, close to shops, quiet
THe beach front location was great, watersports right outside the door, close to benoa restaurants and shops. easy to get transport to Nusa Dua.
Reviewed August 27, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Jacqueline from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Good location but beach terrible”
Location was great, pool good and value for money.
Reception staff were very helpful however restaurant staff could be more pleasant. We only stayed one night and it was enough. Not a fan of Nusa Dua- the beaches were disgusting.
Reviewed August 08, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Lyn from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
A cosy hotel with the Bali character we love.”
Beachfront site. Tranquil garden setting in a busy location with many choices of eateries and shopping just metres away. Value for money.
We were happy to find the extensive gardens being maintained. We love to stay at this small hotel where the staff become friends and our stay is relaxed in a quiet setting. Every unit has a huge balcony and a good degree of privacy. Rooms are spacious with seating both indoors and out. The pool and restaurant and on the front of the hotel with great views of the beach where there is always activity from cruise liners, naval ships, fishermen and water sports. We were fortunate to speak with the new manager, Nyoman, and to hear of the planned updates. New wifi has increased coverage throughout, the restaurant menu is to be refreshed and linen is being replaced. There is a positive vibe around the future of this unique hotel.
Reviewed August 02, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Douglas from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
A nice place in Benoa”
Friendly staff, good location and excellent value for money!
Reviewed August 02, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Hadi from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Nicer beach view and big room with small bad”
Beach view and big room
Value for money with good view
Reviewed July 31, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Meryl from Philippines
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
value for money”
rooms are very very big!! they help you with your program for the day and arrange it for you.
Very comfortable though it would have been better if there was better wifi connection
Reviewed July 22, 2015
6.7
Good
henna from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
decent hotel at seaside”
can hear d waves at nite...nice pool very helpful staff
I had a comfortable stay, room was average but bed was too small n wifi was very bad
Reviewed July 21, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Asno from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
good”
good
Reviewed May 06, 2015