Book Now: Matamanoa Island Resort

Excellent
From 79 reviewsSee what guests said
8.5
Recommended by 93% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (79)Booking.com Reviews (139)
8.5
Excellent
From 79 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.7
Facilities7.6
Location9.4
Room comfort and quality9.3
Service8.6
Value for money8.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
繁體中文 (香港)
Español
more
Room type
Beachfront Bure
Resort Room
Beachfront Villa
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 67 verified guest comments
8.4
Excellent
sibo from China
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 5 nights in February 2016
Amazing honney moon experience.”
Amazing honney moon experience. Beautiful place, nice staff and not expensive price.
Reviewed March 07, 2016
6.0
Kevin from United Kingdom
Couple
Resort Room
Stayed 5 nights in January 2016
Matamanoa Visit Jan 2016”
My wife and I actually quite liked Matamanoa, our Garden Bure was always clean, the beds made and very comfortable - no issues there. The staff were always warm and friendly and ready to assist. Our issues (and the lower mark we give it here, paticularly on cleanliness) had more to do with the general 'tired' condition of the public areas, the often very time-consuming method of ordering food and drink and the preponderance of flies in, and around the restaurant seating areas, with no effort made to manage them. We were told that 'this was the season for them' but in our opinion that should also be the time to have measures in place to mitigate them. Its a lovely place but needs a bit of money spent on it to bring it up to a better standard.
Reviewed February 12, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Meiling from United Kingdom
Couple
Beachfront Villa
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Great location getaway close to Nadi”
Proximity to Nadi easily assessible by ferry.
The Villa was perfectly located above the beach so you can hear the surf. There is almost guaranteed viewing of white tip shark with every dive. There is free scuba lessons at the pool for those who want to try. Its almost 200 Fijian dollars for one dive.You can kayak around the island ffor free. There is 2 hobbies cats also free of charge. For the experience sea kayakers you can arrange with Trevor to Kayak to Castaway but best start early and only on days they have tours so that there is backup in case you get into trouble. For that trip you need to bring plenty of water, a whistle and plenty of snacks. Not recommended for those with little experience as the current on the way back is quite strong and the waves quite high. Sailors make sure you keep well away from the reef. Swimming was better north of the island when we were there. Food was disappointing as we came from another resort with great food. This is one area that can be easily improved. Not much difference between some of the buras and villas. Villas in the north of the island seem to be at a quite location. There are two ferries a day to and from Nadi. One guest came by helicopter that lands next to the spa, you can also charter a plane to Mana island resort and pay for a boat trip to Matamanoa but save yourself a lot of hassle by just getting on the ferry and you get to see the other resorts near Nadi. Mostly couples and families with teenagers. Ngf.
Reviewed December 28, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Jie from Australia
Couple
Beachfront Villa
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Gorgeous island resort”
Location, Clean, Friendly
everything is perfect except the restaurant, food selection was poor and very expensive and very slow.
Reviewed October 24, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Dianne from Australia
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 7 nights in October 2015
Great resort, staff were amazing, just beautiful”
The beach and soft coral reef is pristine, the beachfront Bure facilities were fantastic and all staff were exemplary
We stayed at Matamanoa for our honeymoon and it was also our first overseas trip. The resort was met all of our expectations and more. All information on their website is truly accurate, unlike another hotel we stayed in while in Nadi. It is just the perfect setting for honeymooners/couples that love their own personal space. Highly recommend Matamanoa to anyone seeking this type of holiday.
Reviewed October 13, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Ryan from Australia
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 5 nights in October 2015
Beautiful island! Lovely accomodation and views”
Scenery, quietness, rooms
We had a fantastic stay at Matamanoa Island Resort. We were there for our honeymoon and were provided with complimentary champagne and fruit on arrival. The staff made us a lovely hand carved wooden sign for our door. We stayed in a beachfront Bure which was amazing. The room was very large and comfortable and opened up directly to the beach. It had its own plunge pool and, recliners and day bed. We enjoyed many walks around the island and it was so peaceful and quiet. The day spa was set up ok the cliff overlooking the water which was very relaxing. Snorkelling was fantastic and we saw lots of brightly coloured fish directly off the beach. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The only suggestion for improvement we have is to have a happy hour cocktail time each day. We didn't have many cocktails as they were very expensive. This is probably understandable for such a small island though. We would highly recommend the island for people who are looking to relax and enjoy some quiet time together.
Reviewed October 11, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Colin from United Kingdom
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 5 nights in July 2015
Beautiful Bure”
Location, the staff and the snorkelling on the reef just off the beach
Had the most wonderful honeymoon on Matamanoa Island, we stayed in a Bure and it was so relaxing. The day bed and plunge pool where fantastic after snorkelling, which was only a 10m walk from the back door. The staff were so fun and friendly, wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others. Can't wait to return
Reviewed July 15, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Shan from Australia
Couple
Resort Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
perfect stay”
location, great hotel staff, activities
Me and my partner had a wonderful stay on Matamanoa, really enjoyed everything provided by the resort. Hotel staffs are not just friendly but more importantly they are truly happy residents on the island which does lift your mood up. Daily activities guaranties your time well spend on the island, food was great and not very expensive.
Reviewed June 02, 2015
8.7
Excellent
ai from Malaysia
Couple
Resort Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Perfect Getaway”
Friendly Staff, Lovely Weather, Beautiful Island
Awesome! The island with no kids, no noise, perfect for relaxing! We got to swim with TURTLE!
Reviewed May 07, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Christina from Australia
Couple
Resort Room
Stayed 7 nights in April 2015
Relaxing holiday”
The location, the reef, the staff
We stayed at Matamanoa for 7 nights, and thorougly enjoyed our stay. It was our first time to Fiji and we feel we picked the best place to experience first! Would happily return. It's worth every penny to splurge on a helicoper flight at least one way :)
Reviewed April 12, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
hiroko from Japan
Family with teens
Beachfront Villa
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Matamanoa Island Resort”
The staff were very friendly but the food was just average quality, the resort is a little run down & could do with refurbishment & also everything could be a bit cleaner.
Reviewed September 01, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Zi from Singapore
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Loved it so much that we extended one more night”
View, staff, comfort
We loved the stay the previous two nights that we extended another night online at the resort itself. The receptionist also confirmed the booking and informed that we didn't need to check out and that we could stay at the same cabin. That was thoughtful. The stay the last day was just as great, had arranged for a trip to Modriki island where Castaway was filmed and nice snorkeling off its shore. The stay was just as nice as the previous nights which was previous reviewed.
Reviewed August 17, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Zi from Singapore
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Quiet getaway to island paradise. ”
Quiet, private and beautiful
Fantastic stay at Matamanoa island. The small resort for adults ensured that all were nice and quiet for the guests. There were daily activities to keep guests busy and a store just for water activities and trips out to sea. Room was long and spacious, more than enough space for a huge king bed and a day bed. There was a private balcony with a hammock and seats to enjoy the sea view. Two beach chairs were available for suntanning. It was a 10m walk to the stairs that led to the powdery beach and some snorkeling. There were corals surrounding the island resort but could be too close to the water surface at low tide. Turquoise waters all around. Sunset could be seen from our seats. Exceptional staff performance that helped me settled some disputes on activity arrangements with a separate Fijian tour operator and resetting Wifi passwords. Food at the restaurants was great tasting and filling. There were prize giving during dinner, entertainment by a trio of singers and also by the staff for those who just joined and who were leaving the next day, which was heart warming. Wifi was payable and connectivity was sporadic, probable only flaw with this awesome place.
Reviewed August 16, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
john from Australia
Couple
Resort Room
Stayed 7 nights in August 2014
Amazing”
Food, activities, location
One word amazing. The resort had everything we needed for our honeymoon. Plenty of good snorkelling a stones throw from the shores. Great fun handline fishing with Ronnie one of the locals, fun complimentary activities run by the staff. Great food. A big bonus is that the staff will cook the fish you catch to a 5 star standard. Relaxing and definitely a place I would go to again.
Reviewed August 12, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Brian from New Zealand
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 6 nights in June 2014
lovely location, weather and staff”
Good rooms, clean and friendly
We had a lovely relaxing time with warm weather comfortable room and very much enjoyed the beaches and swimming. we had a few glitches in the restaurant but these were sorted amicably. All in all a very pleasant stay in a comfortable resort with very pleasant staff.
Reviewed July 11, 2014
5.7
Vanessa from United States
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 6 nights in January 2014
Gorgeous, beautiful island with great snorkeling. ”
Location location location
Reviewed January 21, 2014
6.3
Good
Emma-Jane from Australia
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
Best snorkelling straight off the beach !”
Beach, snorkelling, treetop spa
Best snorkelling straight off the beach, nice beaches, grounds need maintenance, menu is ok but not a lot of variance,
Reviewed January 18, 2014
7.7
Very good
Thida from Myanmar
Couple
Beachfront Villa
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Nicely set up villas but lacking amenities”
Size of villa, Location, Friendly Staff
Villas are very nicely done up but way too far out from the main reception/lobby area...a lot of unfinished construction stuff surrounding and along the way to the villa area...New built villas have taken over some birds breeding grounds so a lot of weird bird noises at night...strange wailing sounds of mating calls...No wireless internet is a total bummer...The hotel is not all inclusive (extra charges for ordering hot items, having to pay for internet even near lobby/reception area)...It has a backpacker/lower end feel to it with people smoking near lobby area...the massage is really sub par as well
Reviewed January 03, 2014
7.3
Very good
Lyn from Australia
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 6 nights in November 2013
Beautiful location food disappointing ”
Location staff no children
Lovely time very relaxing. Food expensive and disappointing. Appears there is little support for local villages as trips are overpriced. Construction noise was unexpected and annoying.
Reviewed December 04, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Fiona from New Zealand
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 8 nights in September 2013
Totally relaxing island, efficient, friendly staff”
Fabulous snorkelling, great beaches, amazing sunsets. So little to do it was perfect for a chance to relax completely, but plenty to do if you wanted to go fishing, yachting, or similar activities.
This was the best holiday ever. We were there 8 days. Warm and relaxing. You could go to the spa if that's your thing, but it's not ours. We just loved the snorkelling as it was like swimming in an aquarium: loads of colourful fish and coral with the odd ray, octopus, tiny shark, turtle etc thrown in for entertainment. Nice beach when it wasn't too windy. The staff were exceptionally good. They seemed so relaxed and friendly but in fact everything ran so smoothly, they can't have been totally relaxed. i would recommend the beachfront bures as they are large and airy and right on the waterfront. Food was good. Prices reasonable.
Reviewed October 09, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Janice from United States
Couple
Resort Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Exquisite island, romantic holiday”
Everything!!
Reviewed June 22, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
John from Australia
Couple
Resort Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
Peacefull stay in paradise”
The location of the island with it's terriffic views,
Reviewed May 26, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Andrew from Australia
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 5 nights in April 2013
Beautiful location with excellent staff”
Location, staff
Fantastic experience, it was quite expensive really but as we were on our honeymoon it didnt bother us. Excellent snorkling, diving and other activities
Reviewed May 10, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
HOI from Hong Kong
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Excellent”
Close to the ocean; quite; comfortable bed
Excellent
Reviewed April 08, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
HONGRONG from China
Couple
Resort Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Amazing view and best service during my holiday!n”
Love everything from Matamanoa!
Staff are warm and helpful, I felt like back home. every thing comfortable, not many rooms so they can take care of you easily. The ocean at front door is crystal clear, trust me this is much better compare with coral coast. We spent two night in Matamanoa then down to coal coast at one of the stars hotel , I felt like from heaven to the hell!!! i miss heaven at Matamanoa!
Reviewed February 20, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Inna from Australia
Group
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 5 nights in January 2013
Pacific ocean on your doorstep”
Snorkling and hospitality of staff
amazing resort - beach on your doorstep. couldn't ask for more friendly staff or a better location.
Reviewed February 08, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Inna from Australia
Group
Resort Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
An island paradise escape by the Pacific Ocean”
Amazing staff and location
My stay at Matamanoa was incredible - from the welcoming staff to the food, location, activities and accomodation, everything exceeded my expectations.
Reviewed February 01, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Waldemar from Germany
Couple
Resort Room
Stayed 5 nights in November 2012
Paradise”
Exclisive, no kids, very friendly and helpful staff,
We spent our honeymoon in this betiful hotel and we would recommend it to everybody! We were happy with everything and we felt as a part of a family. We were really sad when we left and decided to come back in a few years. Best snorkeling we have seen so far, direct infront of the hotel or bures. For those who like to dive there have about 20 different spots. There is kayaking for free, afternoon tea with selfmade pie for free and very great band is playing every night. There was not a single thing to improve and we loved it.
Reviewed November 16, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Karen from Australia
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 6 nights in September 2012
Beautiful island, very relaxing”
All staff were friendly and helpful, No kids under 16
This resort is beautiful, the staff are friendly and always smiling. The thing that attracted us to this resort is that they don't accommodate kids under 16. Great for honeymooners. There are no TVs or WiFi, but for some people that is probably a good thing. WiFi would have been nice though.
Reviewed October 16, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Louise from New Zealand
Couple
Resort Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Amazing location, wonderful staff, ”
beautiful island, with amazing pool
Perfect holiday, The island was absolutely stunning and the hotel is beautiful. lots of activities complimentry breakfast is great. Dont bother with meal plan. Everything was perfect on this stay Spa is absolutely amazing and in the most beautiful location in the trees. food and drinks were a little overpriced for what you got but hey your on holiday Nicest island in the mamanucas as the hotel is small and private so theres always loungers and beach space but still heaps to do
Reviewed October 10, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Sofia from Russia
Couple
Resort Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
outstanding!!!”
Beach, hotel position, staff everything!
superb! only 1 resort on the island, very intimate and cosy. beautiful beach. awesome bungalos and great staff. will definitely going there next time we are in fiji.
Reviewed August 02, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Fiona from Australia
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
The most perfect and beautiful honeymoon island”
Beach bure, customer service, pool, beach, hammock, peaceful, relaxing
We stayed 3 nights in a Beach Bure at Matamanoa Island Resort for our honeymoon. The welcome from the staff was perfect, and every bit of our stay from that point on was just the same. The bure was so peaceful and relaxing, lazing in the hammock without a care in the world, looking out at the most gorgeous view was probably my favorite part. The food in the restaurant was always amazing, the staff always friendly, polite and helpful. Every night they'd have entertainment over dinner, and normally a fun game to play after too. The Beauty Spa was beautiful, I had a massage in a little hut in the hills of the island overlooking the water - divine! We did a tour to the island where Castaway was filmed and that was excellent aswell - this was booked through The Boatshed on the island. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone that wants to take time out and relax. Travel to the island is by cruise, private boat or helicopter.
Reviewed May 30, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Hui from China
Couple
Resort Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
Isolated Island”
Quiet, beautiful
good choice for couples, 33 rooms provide, sweet water, few people.
Reviewed March 31, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Maha from Australia
Couple
Resort Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Paradise”
Resort is such simply breath taking and the island itself is stunning.
Felt like we were in paradise! The resort is incredible and will take your breath away when you arrive. The water around it is a gorgeous aqua blue and the snorkelling and diving is terrific! I saw turtles, sharks, lobster and jellyfish, plus schools and schools of fish. The resort itself has gorgeous decor and breath taking views from the pool and restaurant/bar All the staff are absolutely lovely too :)
Reviewed March 13, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Ricardo from Chile
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 6 nights in December 2016
Luna de miel”
Es el lugar perfecto para iniciar la vida junto a tu pareja. Bello lugar, desconectado del mundo. El personal más amable del mundo.
Reviewed December 24, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Markus from Switzerland
Couple
Resort Room
Stayed 6 nights in May 2017
Trauminsel mit leichten Abstrichen”
Super schön gelegene Insel, nettes aber schlecht ausgebildetes Personal, Essen mittelmässig bis sehr gut, viele Aktivitäten, leider werden nicht alle angepriesenen Ausflüge angeboten, sehr professionelle Tauchschule
Reviewed May 23, 2017
6.8
Good
Fong from Macau
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018
此價格可有更多選擇,性價比唔高”
大部分員工都樂於助人,有禮貌!但某些就有點歧視中國人面孔,只對外國人友善!酒店管理層請正視這問題,不竟酒店大部分客源也是有中國人面孔!!
Reviewed June 25, 2018
9.0
Exceptional
Hoi from Hong Kong
Couple
Resort Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
沙灘超靚, 酒店內不會有太多人”
沙灘超靚, 清潔速度快, 員工好友善
我今次去係HONEYMOON, 環景沙灘超靚, 沙灘好CLEAN, 還有私人空間好. RESORT係渡假好地方. 佢地D晚餐亦煮得非常好煮, 但款式較少. 每日仲有時間表, 有D收費, 有D免費, 我兩樣都有參加~ 免費的會有員工, 安排同叫您地一齊參與, 可以同其他旅客多D互動都唔錯, 好過馬代成日只係房到
Reviewed January 03, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Alice from Hong Kong
Couple
Resort Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
超美的人間天堂,水很清澈,沙很細白,夕陽超美”
訪客較少,水質漂亮,珊瑚很多
很舒適,房間空間足夠,也很地道.沒有電視及WIFI收費,令人更專注於渡假及放鬆.全島也很漂亮,令人不想離開. 有足夠的水上活動或探訪村落活動可以參加,不怕無聊(但去這些地方,就是要無聊囉!).參加他們的浮潛團很便宜,去看的珊瑚礁很多.也可自己去島的另一邊浮潛(西南徧西),那邊有斷層,水也較清,可看見"大石斑(應該是牠的家,幾天浮潛都在相同位置看見牠)",珊瑚鯊,鰻魚,龍蝦.....都可以浮潛看得見.手絲釣魚很是便宜,每天都有. 餐廳的食物不錯,但選擇較少,那也不用傷腦筋要找什麼吃.價錢較NADI或YASAWA那便貴,但仍可接受.
Reviewed October 20, 2013
8.0
Excellent
HAOMING from China
Solo traveler
Beachfront Villa
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
很不错的海岛酒店”
往返船票600人民币左右,岛很美。吃的也不错,就是永远只有几个菜。建议还是带点方便面上来。住两天就够了。参加浮潜记得自己在淘宝上买浮潜镜、呼吸管、还有浮潜鞋子。一定要带crocs,一定要带crocs、一定要带crocs,海边沙滩有石头和珊瑚。浮潜一定要穿救生衣、听导游指导。浪大,有很浅的礁石。
Reviewed January 31, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
LU from China
Couple
Beachfront Villa
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
不错的体验”
酒店环境优美,价格小贵
Reviewed May 01, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
XIAFEI from China
Couple
Resort Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
超美”
太美了,一定要去做他们的Spa
Reviewed February 18, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Fei from China
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
海滩在风平浪静的时候非常好”
员工热情,饭菜可口,环境幽静
员工热情,饭菜可口,环境幽静,值得推荐
Reviewed December 05, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
tong from China
Couple
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
完美景观 perfect度假”
环境 员工友好 私密度
Reviewed November 19, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Peizhe from China
Couple
Resort Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
酒店不大,海景是没的说了,工作人员都很友好,能记住客人的名字,有宾至如归的感觉。”
服务周到,从下船到离开都很热情,服务也以客人为中心,很为客人考虑。活动丰富,有很多水上水下运动可以选择,晚上餐厅的气氛也很好。游泳池不错,能将海景尽收眼底。
Reviewed October 18, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
tingsha from China
Group
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
适合情侣渡假”
风景很美
岛很小 但是很美 staff都很友好跟热情 这儿的有名的couple resort 一般都是情侣来 氛围也很适合情侣来 玩儿的就是一般常见的水上项目
Reviewed July 21, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
liu from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Beachfront Bure
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
迷人的小島”
SAP讚!
環境好... 房間有很香的味道 當地人很親切.... 還摘椰子之給我們喝 早晚都可以看到日初... 水質清澈...適合去浮淺.. 每個房間都有設置洗腳台....很棒
Reviewed July 13, 2012