Review score
From 19 reviewsSee what guests said
5.3
Maxima Resort
See all 34 photos
Interior view
See all 34 photos
Interior view
See all 34 photos
Balcony/terrace
See all 34 photos
Balcony/terrace
See all 34 photos
See map
Location
Review score
5.6
See all 34 photos
Removed from saved list
  • Private beach

  • Garden

  • Restaurants

  • Non-smoking

Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
Room choices
House Above the Sea
...
  • Shower
Enter dates to see prices
Cottage
...
  • Shared bathroom
Enter dates to see prices
Air Conditioning
...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Have a question for Maxima Resort?

    More about Maxima Resort

    An overview

    Show more

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    What they offer

    Show less

    What's nearby

    Show more

    Guest policies

    Show more

    Some helpful facts

    Show more

    Real reviews from real guests

    Agoda Reviews (19)
    5.3
    Review score
    Filter by guest type:
    Cleanliness5.3
    Location5.6
    Room comfort and quality5.3
    Service5.8
    Value for money4.8
    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    Filter guest comments by:
    Language
    English
    日本語
    한국어
    Room type
    Cottage
    Air Conditioning
    House Above the Sea
    Sort guest comments by:
    Search reviews
    Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
    Showing 19 verified guest comments
    12
    5.3
    simon from United Kingdom
    Family with young children
    Air Conditioning
    Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
    2 night stay at Maxima”
    water sport, kids loved it,evening entertainment , good for snorkeling
    Reviewed July 29, 2015
    4.3
    Cris from Philippines
    Family with teens
    Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in June 2015
    Good for daytrip only”
    slide, waterblob and turtles
    Minimal choice of food in the menu. Staff always missing. Local channels on the television. Resort looks like an abandoned place. Good for daytrips and bring foods with you.
    Reviewed June 19, 2015
    2.0
    Saturnino from Philippines
    Business traveler
    Cottage
    Stayed 1 night in May 2015
    Very dirty.”
    Maxima Resort
    no restroom inside the cattages.
    Reviewed May 23, 2015
    3.3
    walter from Canada
    Family with young children
    Air Conditioning
    Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
    too much climbing”
    banana boat was fun.swimming and snorkling ok.. view of Davao at night was nice.
    I found the place to be crowded and understaffed. Only the most fit of persons can manage the endless stairs going up and down from the parking area to the water. No comfort room in the room. And the main c.r. and shower areas not working. Very limited food in the restaurant. No sand beach and you walk on jagged rocks so no bare feet. I was booked for 2 nights but i departed after one night.. i Definitly will never go back to this place. Spend your time and money elsewhere.
    Reviewed April 14, 2015
    6.7
    Stephen from United States
    Couple
    Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in December 2013
    Needs work”
    Dining, resort amenities, staff friendliness
    Rooms needed to be cleaner.
    Reviewed January 11, 2015
    3.0
    JERMALYN from Philippines
    Business traveler
    Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in December 2014
    Unorganized”
    It was a disaster! We're very sorry but the stay was not worth for what we paid! Very unorganized! We arrived at 4:00PM, the room was dirty, we weren't able to sleep.. Ants partying the whole night everywhere, no water in washrooms :( , we couldn't find the only shower in the area. In short, there was no orientation. The following morning, when we spoke to the in charge we were shocked when he said we don't complain at the guard. Isn't it right even for water in the washroom you will ask an assistance when in fact it's understood that toilets have always water? Not worth to recommend at all! Very bad experience!
    Reviewed December 23, 2014
    3.7
    Lorenzo from United States
    Solo traveler
    Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in October 2013
    Roughing it..”
    If you want a hotel out of the way this is the place to be. If you require no luxuries or basis items this is the place to be. If you have a full time driver with car this is the place to be.
    The stay at Maxima Resort was maximum hotel camping. A nice place with nice people but out of the way. You need a car with a driver to stay there with you overnight and you must bring all the items you need cause there is nothing there except a room with a water room. There is also a disco at night but you must bring your own drinks. This is really roughing it and for the price it is too pricy for what you get and what you don't get. If you are prepared and bring all your essentials then you can have a unique experience. Bring everything you need cause there is nothing there.. and I mean nothing.. but the experience will make you appreciate nature and a real hotel.
    Reviewed November 22, 2013
    4.7
    Jennifer from Philippines
    Family with young children
    Cottage
    Stayed 1 night in November 2013
    Our stay is good except for the bad service.”
    Cottages are situated in an ocean front. Very relaxing view. I love the giant tarpaulin slide.
    Our vacation could have been great if the staffs were accommodating. Seriously the cashier/front desk named Arnel ruined it. He was so hard to deal with. He was so sarcastic and unhelpful. Though he upgraded our room from non AC to AC, he didn't make sure that other staffs in the kitchen/canteen know that our room includes breakfast. We wasted time in their canteen waiting if we will be served breakfast or not. The only staff who was very accommodating was Larry who helped us cooked our food and made sure that our needs were being taken cared off. This beach resort could be better if they will employ people who are competent enough to provide quality service to their guests. We do not have any problem with the cottage, location, and facilities only the STAFFS. Maxima Aqua Fun is a must visit place if you are planning to go to Davao just be very cautious because people working there aren't friendly at all.
    Reviewed November 13, 2013
    8.0
    Janis from Philippines
    Family with young children
    Air Conditioning
    Stayed 1 night in October 2013
    A lot to do in Maxima”
    beach, food and activities at the resort
    It was a perfect stay for the family as we have a choice to a lot of wonderful water activities, giant slides, kayak, water blob that comes with the package. Food is superb. Room has extra foam in case you are a group of more than 4 without charge. It'll be better if you stay there for more than a night. The resort is close to the Hagimit Falls, one of the places to go to in Samal Island, Davao. We would love to come back to the resort and have the reserved energy to be able to do all water activities they offer besides those mentioned above.
    Reviewed November 11, 2013
    4.7
    Elven from Philippines
    Family with young children
    Cottage
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
    relaxing environment”
    affordable prices, fun watersports, quite
    I had a nice stay with my family in the resort. and a best place to relax and enjoy the ocean with its nice corals and colorfull fishes and other sea creatures to Snorkel and dive in. However i think their is so much more to improve in most areas of the resort such as their non air rooms facility well i dont expect much with the cheapest room but atleast they could clean the fan regularly as it is very dusty. And with the cleanliness the management have to do something with the cats at night as they keep coming speciall when we have food and are eating outside or in the balcony and their are lots of flies too at daytime. With the service all staff are friendly specially the scuba instructors. Another area is the public comfortrooms it is good if they could use toilet bowl with a flushing system even though it is a public comfortroom instead of using pails and waterscoops.
    Reviewed October 12, 2013
    12
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices