Book Now: Mentari Sanur Hotel

Very good
From 361 reviewsSee what guests said
7.4
/
10
Recommended by 84% of guests

Reviews of Mentari Sanur Hotel Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (361)Booking.com Reviews (128)
7.4
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.5
Facilities7.4
Location7.0
Room comfort and quality7.6
Service7.8
Value for money7.6
All languages
All guests (361)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 335 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Glen from Australia
Solo traveler
Pool View
Stayed 5 nights in January 2019

Close to beach”

Breakfasts and dinners are great food and service (no lunch, but restaurants close), big pool, hotels excursions services are better than the outside taxis, big room, good aircon and wifi, and for price. I'll be back to relax again.

Reviewed January 13, 2019

Thank you and looking forward to see in near future

Responded January 17, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
9.6
Exceptional
Jil from Germany
Group
Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Very clean and nice room”

I visited this place with a friend of mine and we we're astonished by the size of the bed and the beautiful bathroom! Everything was clean, the pool was great, the staff was very friendly and you could choose between 3 options what you'd like to eat as breakfast. It was a good place to relax and stay in the room (we had a looot of rain).

Reviewed December 16, 2018

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you in near future.

Responded January 15, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
7.6
Very good
Krista from United States
Group
Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Very good”

Location is very convenient to the boats, otherwise not nice, down a dark alley that even drivers don’t like to go down and not near the main shopping and restaurant area. WiFi very spotty and occasionally doesn’t work at all.

Reviewed April 06, 2019

Dear Krista, Warmest greeting from Mentari Sanur Hotel Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the problems that you encountered during your last stay. We have taken note to your comment of the wifi, we will improve and regularly check the operation in our hotel. we would like to thank you for choosing Mentari Sanur Hotel. We do hope we will have another chance to welcoming you back at our hotel so that we are able to somehow restore your faith in this hotel and its associates. Best Regards, Management Mentari Sanur Hotel

Responded April 17, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
8.0
Excellent
seah from Malaysia
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

very good location for those who intend to go to Nusa Penida or other nearisland hoping the next day”

Other than the staff was friendly, I like the location because near the sanur beach, the hotel has luggage storage facility and is free of charge. Walking distance to Fast boat harbour , you can easily buy your tickets yourself, that will save your cost to Nusa Penida or other island. Overall I am happy with the service and the room service, I will recommend this hotel to my friends.

Reviewed June 11, 2018

Looking forward to see you again

Responded August 10, 2018
Mentari Sanur Hotel
5.2
Andy from Australia
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 5 nights in April 2019

Staff not helpful”

Pool was nice. Brekky ordinary. Up a dark alley and very por reception on tv. Didn’t pay there indosat bill.

Reviewed May 01, 2019

Dear Mr. Andy Thank you for your comment, we have improved as your mentioned. Hope to see you in near future and we will give our best services.

Responded May 13, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
7.2
Very good
Liriyanti from Indonesia
Group
Garden View
Stayed 5 nights in December 2018

Nice Hotel”

Good hotel, near sanur beach. Calm and comfortable in this hotel. Big room and good service. Really suits for family with children. But i think they must little changing their breakfast menu. And please pay attention for the room cleanest

Reviewed January 07, 2019

Thank you and looking forward to see in near future

Responded January 17, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
8.8
Excellent
Zhiyang from Singapore
Solo traveler
Garden View
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Excellent”

Great value for money, staff were friendly

Reviewed March 11, 2019

Thank you for your review and looking forward to see you again Best Regard Agus Front Office

Responded March 19, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
Jimmy from Malaysia
Family with teens
Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017

Surprise. ”

The management might want to look into changing the locks to key card access. A single key cannot be shared if guests need to go each separate ways for the day or night. Otherwise I am pleased with my stay at this wonderful place.

Reviewed April 22, 2017

Thank you for your comment, we hope that we can update our property soon. Looking forward to see you again.

Responded February 16, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
8.4
Excellent
Yi from Taiwan
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

the manager was so”

customer service was very good. i had emailed several times for some problems, the manager was so patient and willing to help. and it's not far from the ferry pier, which is a good place for stay overnight if you want to take boat the next day.

Reviewed April 11, 2017

Thank you for your comment, looking forward to see you in near future

Responded February 16, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
9.7
Exceptional
Katherine from Canada
Solo traveler
Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in January 2011

favorite hotel in all of Bali!”

good food, excellent pool and clean rooms

was in Bali for a month and liked this hotel best out of all I stayed in. Hotel was quiet, priced well, provided excellent service from check-in to check out. Food was consistantly good for breakfast, lunch and dinner and everyone was extremely helpful. Bed was extremely large and comfortable. Stayed at expensive resorts that didn't provide the same services.

Reviewed February 20, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Dennis from Canada
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 14 nights in January 2011

Hotel is Wonderful - Good rooms and Great staff”

Great Staff, nice pool and grounds, good location for services, easy walk to the beach, clean

the hotel is clean, modern and has a wonderful staff that will respond to your needs. i was impressed with the pool and the cleaning staff does a great job on the rooms as well as maintaining the gardens and buildings. we felt very safe at the hotel and during our stay in sanur and bali. the best places to eat are in downtown sanur but the small bars on the main street by the hotel are also very good.

Reviewed February 13, 2011
9.2
Exceptional
amie from Malaysia
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Nice hotel but old”

Room and hotel nice and clean. Staff ok and friendly. But room was old. Just have 2 pillow that i think each hotel should provide at least 4 pillow for 2 person. Overall fine. Thank you

Reviewed January 29, 2019

Thank You for your comment and suggestion, we will improve all your suggestion and looking forward to see you in near future

Responded January 30, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
9.2
Exceptional
Linda from Australia
Solo traveler
Garden View
Stayed 1 night in August 2017

great stay as usual”

Stayed at the Mentari overnight before going to Nusa Lembongan. Its a nice little hotel. The rooms are a good size, bathroom old but clean. The bed was very comfortable. comes with a fridge. Choice of breakfast. The Indonesian brekkie is always good. Staff are all smiles and friendly. I'll be back

Reviewed September 11, 2017

Thank you for your comment see you in near future and we will be happy to serve you

Responded January 19, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
9.6
Exceptional
Steve from Australia
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 18 nights in July 2017

Terrific value for money”

Once again not disappointed in the service, facilities and staff at this hotel. Have stayed here several times before, all staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms and king size beds are roomy and well maintained. The only downside is the restaurant which does need a little attention to food availability and time from ordering to service. Love visiting and staying here

Reviewed July 23, 2017

Dear Steve, Thank you for your good comment and hope to see you in near future.

Responded August 07, 2017
Mentari Sanur Hotel
4.8
Steffiane from Indonesia
Family with young children
Garden View
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

under expectation”

they don't provide a blanket for you to sleep. Moreover, the bed, the shower, and the towel are dirty, old, and unclean. Hope they can improve about this matter. Aside, the location was not so bad since it near to the port.

Reviewed April 01, 2017

Thank you for your comment, we hope that we can update our property soon. Looking forward to see you again.

Responded February 16, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
Linda from Australia
Solo traveler
Garden View
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

Second stay”

This is my second stay and again I have nothing negative to say. The room is clean, bed and pillows are comfortable. Pool fabulous. Staff are polite and friendly. Indonesian breakfast is very good. Very good location to Lembongan ferries and beach with great little warungs. Will definitely stay again

Reviewed December 08, 2016

Thank you for your comment, looking forward to see you in near future

Responded February 16, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
8.0
Excellent
David from United States
Family with young children
Garden View
Stayed 5 nights in March 2016

Mentari Sanur”

This was the 5th time that we have stayed at this hotel. It is in a good location in Sanur that close to the beach and the hotel has a good swimming pool. There are many restaurants within easy walking distance that make up for the lack of quality in the restaurant at the hotel.

Reviewed March 31, 2016

Dear David, Warmest greeting from Mentari Sanur Hotel We are so sorry for the delayed response and we are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with us and that you enjoyed our hotel. We have taken note to your comment of our restaurant so we can improve and regularly check the restaurant in our hotel. The entire team is looking very much forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future. Best Regards, Management Mentari Sanur Hotel

Responded April 17, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
7.0
Very good
eric from Canada
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

good stop for the ferry but not special”

pool, locatiom

For the price I would expect better, but it's still a nice place work a good pool. I bet the hotel was great when it was new but it's starting to show some wear. It's down a dark alley off the main drag. I would consider staying somewhere closer tp the main road and taking a $3 cab. Huge bugs were crawling out of the wall.

Reviewed December 25, 2015

Dear Eric, Warmest greeting from Mentari Sanur Hotel, We are so sorry for the delayed response. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Agoda. We are pleased to hear that you that you enjoyed our pool and we also have taken note to your comment so we can improve our hotel. we would like to thank you for choosing Mentari Sanur Hotel. We do hope we will have another chance to welcoming you back at our hotel so that we are able to somehow restore your faith in this hotel and its associates. Best Regards, Management Mentari Sanur Hotel

Responded April 17, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
8.7
Excellent
Rosemary from United Kingdom
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

First visit to Sanur”

Value for money. Friendly helpful staff. Pretty secluded small garden and pool

We thoroughly enjoyed our 10 days which were taken in two parts as we had to go to a wedding in Bandung. We weren't unhappy to return for our other 3 days. We had stayed in a 5 star hotel in Bandung which couldn't beat the staff friendliness and helpfulness or the peace and quiet of the Mentari. Certainly we would recommend it as really good value for money.

Reviewed December 16, 2015

Dear Rosemary, Warmest greeting from Mentari Sanur Hotel We are so sorry for the delayed response. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers and us. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with us and that you enjoyed our hotel. The entire team is looking very much forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future. Best Regards, Management Mentari Sanur Hotel

Responded April 17, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
9.0
Exceptional
Will from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Garden View
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015

Oasis at the beach”

Pool, grounds, staff. And how close it is to the beach

Close to the beach yet away from the Main Street. A staff that cares. Great pool. The deluxe room at pool is better but I stayed another 4 nights in the garden room and it was just fine. You can't beat the value. Sanur is awesome as is this place. I will be back! I never ate there but this makes u rate it.. They gave me ice cold water free in my canister every time, I'm betting their. food's at least a 4.

Reviewed December 13, 2015

Dear Will, Warmest greeting from Mentari Sanur Hotel, We are so sorry for the delayed response. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers and us. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with us and that you enjoyed our hotel. The entire team is looking very much forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future. Best Regards, Management Mentari Sanur Hotel

Responded April 17, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
7.0
Very good
ng from Malaysia
Group
Garden View
Stayed 1 night in November 2014

hotel room looks old and require a huge renovation”

most of the hotel staffs are great and ready to help with smiling face.

the hotel room looks old with limited facilities e.g. no water boiler inside the room (however it was immediately provided by hotel inhouse restaurant upon request -foc), half broken hair dryer (provided upon request). overall, there are less hotel around sanur area hence limited choice.

Reviewed November 11, 2014

Dear ng, Warmest greeting from Mentari Sanur Hotel We are so sorry for the delayed response. Firstly, allow us to take this opportunity to express our sincerest regret for the inconvenience that you encountered during your stay with us. We at Mentari Sanur Hotel understand the importance of fulfilling our guest expectations and it concerns me greatly that you have left the hotel with such a negative impression of our hotel condition. We do value your constructive feedback and please be rest assured, we will table and share it with our respective department head for our further review and immediate action and to ensure this type of issue will not repeat in the future. Thank you once again and we hope there will be an opportunity to welcome you back in the future and somehow to restore your faith on us. Best Regards, Management Mentari Sanur Hotel

Show more
Mentari Sanur Hotel
8.7
Excellent
Greg from Australia
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 11 nights in April 2014

Very Relaxing & GREAT Value for money!”

Location, Nice flat walk to restaurants and shopping, the pool

Our stay at the Mentari Sanur was very relaxing! It has a great pool. Rooms are Bali basic but clean. There is no tea or coffee in rooms so you can order through the restaurant - but with the 21 % Govt taxes - it is expensive. There are so many little places along the street and beach which are beautiful and cheap! This time around we bought a $6 electric jug and cups from Hardys and used those. But we would have to recommend Luhtu's - its a great walk along the beach of a morning for breakfast and you can get a massage there or stroll back towards the Hotel and have a great one at AYU spa - these people are the best - long relaxing massages very cheap.... For shopping you always have a million little shops to barter at or if you are over it and just want great stuff at a good fixed price you can't beat Tootsies!!! If you are in town around Hardys you can always get a fantastic meal at Swastika One accom & restaurant. The Mentari has awesome beds, hot showers and very friendly staff - the three most important things we look for in a hotel. The fourth of course would be price! There rates I see off the street are $105 a night including breakfast - if you're paying that you are getting ripped off. we paid just $38 a night through Agoda (no breakfast - far cheaper at the local diners). The beds I said were awesome - they are the size of 2 Aussie doubles joined together...wow. At this stage I should say that Sanur is an older persons place with a quieter night life than say Kuta and a much slower pace than Denpasar itself. Hope where ever you stay you have a great time in Bali.

Reviewed April 18, 2014
8.3
Excellent
David from Australia
Family with teens
Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013

Very comfortable and quiet”

lovely staff, beautiful garden, quiet location

It was very comfortable and quiet. We were basically transitting, and wanted to stay close to the airport and to Benoa harbour. The hotel has a beautiful garden, and it was very pleasant relaxing by the pool.

Reviewed July 15, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Mark from Australia
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013

Good quiet location”

Price, location and staff

We always come back to the Mentari when we stay in Sanur. Easy access to the bypass for when we head East and enough good restuarants just down the road to keep us happy. Fairly quiet area but thats a positive for us. A quick bike ride will get you into Denpasar or Sanurs main area. Staff are always friendly and capable, grounds are always fantastic. For the price it suits our needs well.

Reviewed June 27, 2013
8.3
Excellent
John from Australia
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013

Very relaxing, quiet stay.”

Small size, very friendly staff, beautiful gardens.

Excellent, not one hastle, Smooth pickup at airport by friendly hotel driver. Efficient, polite and very friendly check-in. Located down a laneway but once there it was like coming to an oasis. Will return.

Reviewed May 29, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Kate from Australia
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 10 nights in August 2012

Clean, convenient, quiet, friendly”

Close to all local restaurants, beaches and markets . Clean, friendly, cheap. Great place to stay.

The staff were beautiful...friendly, attentive and always ready to assist. The rooms were perfect size, with all amenities, and always clean. Breakfast was simple but delicious (thanks Agus!!). Pool and gardens make it a perfect 'day with a book' venue. Good for couples and families. Walking distance to local beaches (not so great for swimming), restaurants, local markets and great eating spots. Highly recommend.

Reviewed May 25, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Ole from Netherlands
Family with young children
Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

Okay room with excellent breakfast”

Location near beach, cool pool

The rooms are not that fancy, but have high ceilings and a quiet AC. No waterboiler and more important: no wifi on the room! The connection is fast in the restaurant and lobby though. Staff is friendly and efficient. The pool is cool, but didn't seem that clean. The garden around it is great with lots of butterflies. Best feature of the place is the restaurant, with an excellent cook. The breakfast is served fast and tasts really fresh and good. It is a 5 min walk to the beach - not the Western bikini one, but with mainly tourists from Java it seems. Great fun.

Reviewed January 23, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Jo from Philippines
Solo traveler
Garden View
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

very green hotel and very friendly staff”

lovely to be surrounded by gardens

it was very pleasant to be surrounded by gardens, very helpful and friendly receptionist, driver, bellboys and restaurant staff. the dinner menu can be enhanced. but breakfast was also lovely! hope pick-up is an option.

Reviewed December 16, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Wanda from Netherlands
Business traveler
Garden View
Stayed 8 nights in October 2012

Good place for a relaxing time, friendly staff”

Nice and peaceful place, walking distance to the sea, nice pool

Rooms are nice, great hot shower, nice pool, nice restaurant area. Problems with television reception (complaints on tripadvisor) have been solved. Lovely garden, welcome drink and fresh flowers in the room on arrival.

Reviewed October 25, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Jenni from Australia
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012

This is a lovely small hotel. Only 21 rooms. ”

Nice pool Very quiet.

We love this hotel. It is budget price but great value. We have stayed there before. The pool is always clean. The staff fantastic & resteraunt although basic very nice. There is only 21 rooms so its always quiet. It is at the end of the Sanur strip.

Reviewed October 18, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Nikita from Australia
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 5 nights in September 2012

sanctuary away from the husstle and bustle outside”

very clean, beautififully polished gardens

The hotel is in a great location, a five minute walk from the beach. Quiet location with ready to serve staff that answer any query. The hotel organised transport for anywhere you need to go. This hotel is located in the centre of Bali Island where you can access Kuta, Denpasar or Ubud. Plenty to do, no time to get board. There is also access to a WIFI connection in every room perfect for the AWOL student or business person.

Reviewed September 14, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Mark from Australia
Family with young children
Garden View
Stayed 5 nights in July 2012

Great staff, quiet location.”

Relaxed and quiet

We stayed here for four nights (with two kids aged 7&8)and found it to be a quiet and relaxed place, ideal for families and away from the rat race. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful (we organised a surprise guest to arrive from Australia to surprise the kids and the staff couldn't be more accomodating). Its down a quiet lane just up the road from the northern part of Sanur beachfront with plenty of good little restaurants close by. Taxis can be found at the end of the lane. Its a bit of a drive to Kuta or Seminyak however if you are over that scene then Sanur is a good alternative. We had no problems with booking or check-in/out and airport pick up was on time and helpful. Will be staying here again!

Reviewed August 07, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Marivic from United States
Solo traveler
Garden View
Stayed 8 nights in June 2012

Great little hotel”

beautfiul garden, friendly staff, quiet area

Staying at this little hotel was such a treat. The room was spacious and very clean, and staying on the second floor, the balcony was nice and private. The shower was hot and had good pressure. I enjoyed the breakfast - a few American options, a couple of Indonesian, and always a small buffet with cereal, fresh fruit, juice, and croissants laid out. Very close to the lovely beach bath.

Reviewed July 11, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Melanie from New Zealand
Family with young children
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012

Great family friendly hotel”

The pool and the friendly staff

we stayed at the mentari sanur for 3 days before we went to the hustle and bustle for kuta. i would stay there again with my family. if you are looking for a quiet hotel to relax at, then this is for you. the pool was perfect for our 3 yea old and also 10 year old the rooms over look the pool and garden and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. although the rooms are a litlle dated they were definatly big enough for a family of 4. i would advise to hire a dvd player when making your booking as the tv channels were not that great and not in emglish. i would give this 4 out of 5

Reviewed July 09, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Travis from Australia
Family with young children
Garden View
Stayed 8 nights in May 2012

lovely hotel, very friendly staff”

pool, breakfast was good

lovely pool, very relaxing time to unwind and enjoy my son, shopping close by also surrounded by restaurants just stick to the ones with lots of people in them,cocktail list was very interesting,close to beach and many restaurants

Reviewed June 18, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Dale from Australia
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 1 night in April 2012

Great Location,Close to Beach”

Close to Beach,Lovely Pool and gardens, Friendly Staff

We only booked for one night, and were surprised. An older Balinese style hotel, clean, excellent breakfast. The pool and gardens were beautiful, and it was so close to Sanur Beach.Very friendly staff. Would recommend as a good reasonable priced hotel, value for money.

Reviewed May 10, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Gary from United Kingdom
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 9 nights in March 2012

Great place”

Location

great hotel. very friendly helpful staff. hotel was a thirty min. taxi ride from the airport. its a five min. walk to the beach down the road which has shops and restuarants. the hotel rooms were large and clean. the garden area was lovely. they have a garderner working everyday to make the garden look nice. the pool was very good and surrounded with many trees and flowers. the hotel has a restuarant on site which was very good for breakfast and some evening meals. would stay here again without question. worth every penny.

Reviewed May 01, 2012
6.7
Good
ADAM from Australia
Family with teens
Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012

Hotel was average”

location?

hotel was average. room was ok, only 1 english tv station, so we got a dvd which we could rent 24 hours. first dvd didnt stopped half way, later that night, same thing happened with a second dvd. the next day, i told the front desk and asked for a replacement dvd player, and the lady wanted to charge... so wasnt impressed. overall, i'd prefer sri phala which is directly opposite mentari and which i stayed at last year.

Reviewed March 20, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Georgia from Australia
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012

Poor location, nice rooms, lovely staff”

giant beds, nice pool

during our week-long stay, we enjoyed rolling around on the fantastically huge beds and splashing around in the pool. the towels smell a bit so you have to air them out. it's in the less exciting end of sanur, fewer restaurants and less nice beach [not that the beach is overall so great] but if you want an interesting night you would have to take a 10k r taxi to the better end.

Reviewed January 25, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Lisa from Australia
Family with young children
Pool View
Stayed 5 nights in September 2011

Lovely atmosphere, peaceful with a gorgeous pool ”

Liked the large beds, the clean bathrooms, the pool and surrounds.

the staff were always helpful and had a smile upon your return. the hotel was a pleasant place to return at the end of a busy day. the garden had a really nice atmosphere and so did the restaurant. one night we had dinner rather than just the usual breakfast or snack, and it did seem very slow. apart from that, it was hard to fault, and great value for the room tariff. i found the place on agoda and would definitely return there. regards, a mother with 1 teenager, 2 children and a toddler, and grandparents in tow as well.

Reviewed November 20, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Edward from New Zealand
Group
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011

Just what we needed for a short stay”

Swimming pool, breakfast

The rooms are standard but had all we needed as well as air conditioning. Rooms were very clean, much cleaner than we had expected after reading other reviews. Staff were very friendly. Pool area was great, as in other reviews we did notice there weren't many poolside chairs but this was never a problem as the pool was never too busy. Breakfast in the restaurant was good, we never tried the restaurant for other meals. Overall would recommend for a short stay.

Reviewed September 14, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Ronald from Australia
Family with teens
Garden View
Stayed 8 nights in July 2011

Pleasent hotel with really friendly staff”

Quiet & pleasent gardens, and helpful staff always with a smile

First impressions from the main road down the small alley was hmmm but on arrival I was pleasently surprised. The staff were always frendly and happy to help and always with a smile. The grounds were well kept & lush. the pool looked inviting but unfortunately our schedule was pretty busy so we couldn't try the pool out. Rooms were clean and the AC was great. A fan in the bathroom would be a positive step. Wifi was a bit fickled the first few days but was fixed and was fine after that. The american breakfast was nothing special with eggs done the way you want with a small sausage & very small rash of bacon, but this was not a major issue as there was plenty of sliced fruit & I probibly didn't really need a big fatty breakfast. Over all the food was fine and could be suplimmented with a number of good local restauraunts nearby. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others and was good value for the price. Would go back again.

Reviewed August 04, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Usha from Malaysia
Business traveler
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2011

good hotel and comfortable”

away from the noise of the traffic

the rooms were very spacious, clean and well kept. pool side view was very relaxing. cafe located very strategically. enjoyed the hot water baths and satisfied with the service extented by mentari sanur hotel staff. very pleasant stay and enjoyed my stay there and found it to be very reasonable. would recommend it to those who ebjoy a very quite relaxing holiday away from the hussle and bustle of city life.

Reviewed June 22, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Sarah from United Kingdom
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 5 nights in March 2011

Lovely, quiet well kept hotel.”

Good size room with balcony and air conditioning. Nice breakfast selection.

I find that Sanur is quieter than Kuta/Legian which suits me. The area is less developed but still plenty of opportunities to shop and eat out. Easy to get transport to other areas of Bali and lots of tourist info places to organise trips. Reccomend a day trip out to the islands as the coral and fish were beautiful to snorkel around. Hotel Mentari Sanur is a small hotel, but has good facilities and the staff are very polite and helpful. Our room was well kept and had air con, fridge (handy for your drinks and snacks) and balcony. We had a great time.

Reviewed April 15, 2011
8.3
Excellent
HELEN from United Kingdom
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 10 nights in January 2011

Good Location, and nice size rooms”

Good clean hotel

The staff were very helpful and the rooms were very spacious and the hotel was clean. Good size swimming pool. On arrival the hotel is down a track but once we arrived we were pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel was, especially for the money. Good breakfast and only a short walk to the beach.

Reviewed February 05, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Clare from Australia
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in October 2010

A little get away ”

Lovely pool and garden
Sanur area is fairly raw and dirty

this hotel is quite nice and a good get away from the manic stress that can be bali. all around the hotel there is small streets full of rubbish and stray dogs (please don't touch the dogs as there is a rabis out break in bali!) plus plently of half built hotels around. but mentari is calm and peaceful off a small laneway. the garden is beautiful and the pool is great. the resturant is really nice too (but don't have ice in anything and the juice may have been watered down). the staff are all lovely and helpful. this hotel really made our stay comfortable. the rooms are basic and the bed is big. the ac works a treat too. all in all, a good place to stay.

Reviewed December 08, 2010
8.7
Excellent
Jane from Australia
Family with teens
Garden View
Stayed 6 nights in September 2010

Expectations met”

Good pool for lap swimming, neat gardens, only 28 rooms,
No drinking water is supplied.

Well organised at reception when checking in, staff are helpful and friendly, breakfast options were good. Restaurant does not have a huge number of choices but the food was fine. Hotel can arrange transport to and from the airport. The location is down a lane off Jalan Hang Tuah and the beach is only a short walk.

Reviewed September 24, 2010
8.0
Excellent
Marcela from Brazil
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010

Close but not easy to the beach”

Big and light room, nice food, nice sunny pool.
dark bathroom, no window in the bathroom or anything to take the steam or "smels" out! No easy way to the beach.

We have booked through Agoda and we get a good rate for a hotel that say "3 minutes from the beach" to stay 3 nights in May 2010. We get there and the Mentari was in a small access street. We were told the beach was about 5 minutes walking on the main road, was actually 10 minutes walk in total to get there and more walking to find a nice spot to the right. We prefer to stay most of the time in the pool wich was clean and fresh and very sunny. They also upgrade us from a garden view room to a pool view room, with a big king size bed and this was good but the reason to do that wasn't great, they were doing some renovations in the roof. So we learn to always ring or email the hotel and ask if they are planning any renovations before booking because this was very noise and as the beach was far we need to stay in the pool with all the noise. They probably have finished or are about to finish the roof so if you want to stay in this hotel remember you will spend some money with taxis to the town centre and walking a lot to go to the beach.

Reviewed June 08, 2010
8.7
Excellent
paul from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Garden View
Stayed 20 nights in December 2009

best hotel so far in bali a real gem”

the most friendly and ideally located hotel we have stayed at.it is clean and not too big you are treated so well by the staff and it is nice and quiet good pool and a real pretty garden setting.
the alley you drive down to get there is at first a bit daunting but once there it was no longer a problem, the resturant had great service but needs to change its menu food was good but needs more variety.

we have stayed in bali five times now and finally found the ideal spot for a quiet getaway , the mentari hotel is the place to stay for a family or by yourself the staff were so nice and friendly and we felt safe with my three year old grandson playing out in the gardens. our stay was shared with families from many different countries and everyone had a good holiday. it was only a few minutes walk to the markets and beach and taxi and transport was only 50 metres away we will definately stay there again

Reviewed January 21, 2010
9.0
Exceptional
Himmat from India
Family with young children
Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2010

Bali 2010”

The rooms were clean. The service was prompt and always with a smile! It is set amidst a delightfully landscaped space -- plenty of birds!
The approach was one that was not easy to spot; of course, we do understand that this is not something that the hotel can help!

We had a most pleasant stay at the Mentari Sanur and are happy to have chosen this from a huge array of choices. Kudos to the discerning folks at Agoda! The breakfast was included and was nutritious, with good sized portions. The wait staff was most helpful and enthusiastic. The staff at reception were most interactive and always spared a sunny smile as well as a cheery greeting whenever we crossed their desk. We will stay here again!

Reviewed January 10, 2010
8.3
Excellent
Ivo from Netherlands
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 3 nights in November 2009

Mentari Hotel quiet place to relax”

Good room, a bit oldish, but comfortable enough. A quite large pool in a nice garden. The staff is very friendly. The place is quiet, no busy roads or other noise.
Some improvement would be possible in the WiFI connection, which doesn't cover only certain areas. The food is not bad at all, but a bit expensive. Outside one can eat better and/or cheaper. Brakfast is quite OK though.

We liked our room with the big pool in front of it. Several guests, some with children, were, like we, happy with the quiet ambiance of the hotel. The beach is not far, a few minutes walk only. On the beach the vendors were trying to sell their goods and services, but not in an agressive or annoying way as sometimes is the case on the beaches. All together I would probably return and also recommend the Mentari hotel to my friends as good value for money...

Reviewed November 08, 2009
3.0
Richard from United States
Solo traveler
Pool View
Stayed 3 nights in October 2009

Help...get me out of here”

None that I can think of except the swimming pool was clean and free WiFi.
The hotel rooms are run down and located on a sleazy ally where trash is dumped daily (along with most of the beaches). The management was annoyed when I asked for a specific time to have my room cleaned. Are they not in the service industry?

Digging, sweeping, and pounding began at 7 am and continued through the day. The breakfast was adequate. The restaurant staff had very limited English skills. The management was grumpy and impatient. The beer special, as in buy one get 2 free, inflated the price of 1 beer 4 x's so where is the special? I get the feeling that many mid-ranged hotels are poorly managed in Bali probably due to the daily wage is only a few dollars. So, on that note, either go for the super high end hotel resort or low end family run for a better experience. FYI Most beautiful Balinese beaches are covered in trash excepting for the ones owned by multinational companies. Be prepared. Cheers!

Reviewed October 29, 2009
8.0
Excellent
Michael from United States
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in October 2009

Cute Quiet Great experience.”

Nice staff, wonderful location.
some rooms have no DVD when it is busy.

Overall great experience, we enjoyed the breakfast and the pool. easy to walk to the beach, less busy than kuta for sure. The surf is best when the tide is low and the rights only 5min walk fro hotel and not as crowded at the west coast (at least in mid-Oct)

Reviewed October 24, 2009
9.0
Exceptional
Elinor from United Kingdom
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 1 night in October 2009

Mentari Sanur”

Staff friendly and helpful Relaxing surroundings Comfortable clean rooms Huge beds! (at least in our room)
On very dark lane.

Chose this hotel as it was walking distance from the boat to Lembongan but were nicely surprised - a lovely hotel! Very nice staff, surroundings, gardens, buildings, rooms, swimming pool - definitely do not be put off by the dark lane to hotel.

Reviewed October 24, 2009
8.7
Excellent
Joana from Portugal
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2009

Comfortably small and basic”

Cheap, clean, comfortable, simple!
Needs some maintenance and "updating" in the bathroom.

We stayed at the Mentari for a couple of nights on the occasion of a friend's wedding. Though not very centrally located, it is close to the beach and to the long walk along the coast that you can do. The hotel is very basic, but everything is clean and very comfortable. The bathroom is a little bit old and could do with some sprucing up. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent value for price. If we ever go back to Sanur, we'll definitely consider coming back to the Mentari.

Reviewed October 13, 2009
6.7
Good
Lily from United States
Solo traveler
Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2009

review”

pool, breakfast
room and bathroom are too old

Mentari is a nice hotel located just 2 minutes from the beach. The hotel is quiet at night and has a nice pool. The breakfast is awesome but the only downside is the room - big enough, but kind of old. Moreover, there is no wifi in the room and you have to go to the restaurant to get wifi. For the price, maybe you can get better deals elsewhere.

Reviewed October 13, 2009
8.7
Excellent
Pasquale from Australia
Group
Pool View
Stayed 7 nights in September 2009

A beautiful and quiet hotel”

The rooms were clean and well kept. When they say pool side view they mean exactly that, only 4 steps and your feet are wet, though the rooms are still private. The bathrooms had a marble finish and were also large, clean and well kept. The bed was huge (larger than a king). The Hotel was off the main street yet still just a short walk to transport, restaurants and shopping along Sanur Beach. We would defiantly stay here again.
There was only 3 choices for complementary breakfast, however you can pay for other options, also we found that the staff spoke very limited English, so it was hard to specify at times what we wanted (tea, coffee etc)

My Wife and I have stayed in a 5 star hotel in Sanur before and we found this hotel to be just as good if not better. The pool is small, but even at peak time in September it was never crowded due to the size of the hotel and guest capacity. They have a lady that offers Massage by the pool for a great price (she is negotiable by the way) daily and the cost of drinks and meals at the restaurant are very competitive. We will definatly return to Mentari Sanur for another enjoyable stay in the future.

Reviewed October 02, 2009
9.0
Exceptional
Luis from Italy
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2008

Good experience!”

Restaurant was reasonably priced, staff was very friendly.
No Sky or Foxtel in the room, only free TV with Indonesian channels.

The location is not the best, but ok. The hotel rooms are nice. Staff was also very friendly. The restaurant was excellent and with very nice waitresses. The gardens and the pool look nice. They provide a luggage room free of charge, which we used it to leave our luggage for 3 days so we didn't have to carry it to Noosa Lebongan. I would stay there again and recommend this hotel.

Reviewed January 13, 2009
5.7
Deborah from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in January 2009

Mentari Sanur”

Quiet, close to beach
Wafting smell of sewerage in the bathroom which circulated the whole room at times. Air conditioner very noisy.

Staff at this hotel were friendly. Hotel not located on the beach but a 5 minute walk to get there. Very noisy in the room due to air conditioner. The wafting sewerage smell was on going in the bathroom and permeated the sleeping area making it unpleasant at times. Pool and gardens were well kept and visually pleasing. Room and bed comfortable except for the odour.

Reviewed January 12, 2009
8.0
Excellent
Sergey from Russia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2008

Nice hotel with free Wi-Fi”

Small and nice hotel with good kitchen
Beach near is too busy.

My stay in the hotel was somewhat spoiled by renovation of the room beneath mine. So I had to listen sounds of the hammers throughout the day. Otherwise hotel is good and quiet, kitchen is good and of course free wi-fi is good thing - I had finally a chance to publish some photos and talk to friends via Skype.

Reviewed September 20, 2008
7.6
Very good
Thitiporn from Thailand
Business traveler
Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in June 2018

Very good”

Excellent location for a conference and going to beach. Ok for breakfast and room.

Reviewed July 02, 2018

Thank you and see you again

Responded August 10, 2018
Mentari Sanur Hotel
6.4
Good
Queenie from Malaysia
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Was so so only”

We booked it really last minute because we missed our flight and was too late to get to Nusa Lembongan. Room was relatively decent - the basic. Only plus point is - its close to the jetty.

Reviewed June 11, 2018

Thank you

Responded August 10, 2018
Mentari Sanur Hotel
8.0
Excellent
Mont from Thailand
Solo traveler
Garden View
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

VERY LARGE BED”

Amazingly large one bed! A good place to stay before you are heading to Nusa island. The hotel locate in a walking distance to the pier where the boats are. The hotel staffs are very kind too.

Reviewed August 15, 2016

Thank you for your review and looking forward to serve you again in the near future. Regards Agus S Front Office

Responded March 19, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
8.8
Excellent
Anastasia from South Africa
Solo traveler
Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016

Good value for money and awesome staff ”

A little far to walk into the town, but great accommodation ample breakfast great pool very obliging staff

Reviewed August 07, 2016

Dear Anastasia, Warmest greeting from Mentari Sanur Hotel We are so sorry for the delayed response. Thank you for taking your precious time to share such a remarkable review. We are extremely thrilled to learn that you have an enjoyable breakfast and pool experience at our hotel and that we have met your expectations. Together with the entire team, we are all looking forward on to offering you back for another mesmerizing experience at our beautiful hotel. Best Regards, Management Mentari Sanur Hotel

Responded April 17, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
8.0
Excellent
Mark from Singapore
Solo traveler
Garden View
Stayed 5 nights in June 2015

Value4$$”

Quiet location, convenient & great staff.

My stay was smooth & I'm happy.

Reviewed June 26, 2015

Dear Mark, Warmest greeting from Mentari Sanur Hotel We are so sorry for the delayed response. Our great appreciation for sharing your wonderful review on Agoda. It’s an honor for us to read several wonderful points that you have mentioned regarding to the hotel and that you had a superb experience. It has always been the mission & core values of The Mentari Sanur Hotel, to serve our guests at our best and exceed their expectations through bespoke service. We are proud of our team whom have gone an extra mile and made your experience special. The Mentari Sanur Hotel would love to welcome you back to this beautiful island for another distinctive experience. Best Regards, Management Mentari Sanur Hotel

Show more
Mentari Sanur Hotel
8.0
Excellent
Steve from Australia
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 10 nights in July 2013

Relaxing and enjoyable”

Quiet, intimate and personable

Truly a great hotel for relaxation and quiet interlude. The staff were friendly and helpful. Just a good place if you want that quiet getaway from the hustle and bustle of the tourist areas.

Reviewed July 29, 2013
8.7
Excellent
john from Ireland
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in April 2008

A good clean hotel”

A good hotel that offers value for money.

Reviewed April 30, 2008
9.6
Exceptional
Mahmud from Australia
Family with young children
Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Friendly staff, good location, needs some maintenance”

Staff will go an extra mile to help, location is great, near good shops and restaurants. Great value for money, green surrounding. But the old furniture need to get replaced by new ones.

Reviewed November 13, 2018

Dear Mr. Mahmud Thank you and looking forward to see in near future

Responded January 17, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
8.8
Excellent
Cheryl from Australia
Couple
Pool View
Stayed 8 nights in October 2018

A little sanctuary ”

Reasonable rates. Excellent staff. Beautiful gardens and pool. Big room with pleasant outside sitting area.

Reviewed November 04, 2018

Dear Mrs. Cheryl Thank you and looking forward to see in near future

Responded January 17, 2019
Mentari Sanur Hotel
8.8
Excellent
Gabriela from Australia
Family with young children
Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

Beautiful hotel and excellent value! Would definitely stay here again. ”

The extra large bed was great for the family and the bathroom was lovely. The pool is massive and the gardens are stunning and well kept.

Reviewed August 26, 2018

Thank you and looking forward to see in near future.

Responded August 27, 2018
Mentari Sanur Hotel