Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Exceptional



based on 752 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.3
  • Service 9.4
  • Value for money 9.3
  • Food/Dining 8.5
Sort by

Kathryn from Australia
Couple
Junior Suite Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Great service,beautiful rooms
Old Quarter, by the lake
We stayed at the Meracus for 3 nights in a junior suite room. This room is fantastic. Our room had a balcony, the room was spotlessly clean, the bathroom well organised. The shower has a rain type shower head and the water was hot! The staff could not do enough to help you. breakfast was included in the price and this was buffet style, with egg station. They kept our luggage secure for us while we went to Halong Bay. I definetly recommend this hotel and would definetly stay there again. It was leading up to Christmas and the lobby was beautifully decorated.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

David from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Balcony
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
Amazing Hotel Tucked Away in Old Quarter
Location, Staff
of my three weeks in vietnam, this by far has been my favourite hotel! i only have good things to say about meracus and the staff they employ. also was a great price, paid just aud$ for four nights in a deluxe room. after a tip from a friend in da nang, i booked a car to pick me up from the airport with meracus hotel via email at 10.30pm the previous night - the reception team confirmed first thing in the morning. staff were great on arrival - cold towel and welcome drinks. they also provide you with a great little map of the surrounding area, complete with a walking route, recommended restaurants, things to see, places to shop. also has a list of tips on how to haggle, what to avoid etc. this is a small boutique hotel, i booked a deluxe room and was given room 701 on the top floor. cosy room, with the most amazing shower i've ever been in! room had a massive balcony with a great view out over to the lake an over the old quarter. fruit plate each day, the cheapest mini bar prices in all the places i stayed in vn (usd$1 for 1.5l water or 355ml coke), rose petals on bed and in bathroom on arrival! hotel is centrally placed in the old quarter, a two minute walk to the lake and to shopping streets. meracus is situated on a street that specialises in shoes, and you can walk to a nearby night market, street with silk tailors, a night market etc. the staff here are great, very friendly and only too willing to help you. the first thing they told me on arrival was to ask them to book me taxis if i required so they could make sure i got metered taxis without fast meters - true to their word, they only called reliable taxis. always greeted when walk in or out of the hotel, and given the small number of rooms, they remember what room you're in and who you are. definitely check out the restaurants on the map they give you - green mango is amazing! will definitely be staying here when i return to hanoi!
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Anne from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Absolutely fabulous small hotel with a warm heart
Everything...... staff, service, room, breakfast, location
It is hard o describe how wonderful all the staff at this hotel are. They are the most sincere and helpful group that I have ever come across and excelled well beyond expectations. They demonstrated genuine individually focussed service to guests and nothing was too much trouble. They made me, a solo female traveller, feel well supported on my first trip to Vietnam. The rooms are small but very clean and welcoming down to the rose petals on the bed and the complimentary bask of fruit. The bed is comfortable and everything works! The shower is hot, the Wifi in the room is fast and reliable and the aircon is effective. Breakfast is a real treat every morning with plenty of tasty Vietnamese dishes and enough variety in Continental style food to satisfy all tastes. The coffee and fruit juices are great. I could go on praising this hotel but people have to experience it to appreciate the level of service and care offered.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Anne from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Smply the best!
Staff, service, room amenities, food, location
This hotel is so great that I came back for another 3 nights after going to Halong Bay for a few days. My seconf stay reconfirmed my original experience of this hotel: It is hard o describe how wonderful all the staff at this hotel are. They are the most sincere and helpful group that I have ever come across and excelled well beyond expectations. They demonstrated genuine individually focussed service to guests and nothing was too much trouble. They made me, a solo female traveller, feel well supported on my first trip to Vietnam. The rooms are small but very clean and welcoming down to the rose petals on the bed and the complimentary bask of fruit. The bed is comfortable and everything works! The shower is hot, the Wifi in the room is fast and reliable and the aircon is effective. Breakfast is a real treat every morning with plenty of tasty Vietnamese dishes and enough variety in Continental style food to satisfy all tastes. The coffee and fruit juices are great. I could go on praising this hotel but people have to experience it to appreciate the level of service and care offered.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Mathias from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Lovely hotel with great service
Unique decorations, and awesome ginger tea
We were staying there for our honeymoon and we were received warmly by the staff with a chocolate cake and balloons. In addition, the ginger tea welcome drink provided by the hotel was delectable and my wife enjoyed it so much she wanted to buy some back. The location is great and close to the water puppet theatre and close to the night market street and many small stalls around the area. The breakfast was buffet style with a great spread which changed daily. However, ordering room service at night is not recommended as the food was less than decent.
Reviewed December 09, 2012

vanessa from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
100% worth to Stay
service
one word- good service you pay usd in return service that you get nearly double:) they even provide extra mile service such as packing breakfast for early flight customer.
Reviewed December 05, 2012

Casey from United States
Group
Family Balcony Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Great location and excellent price!
Location
Perfect spot with a great pricing point. Definitely recommended!
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Jessica from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Friendly hotel in handy location
Staff, central location
I spent 5 nights at the Meracus Hotel on a recent trip to Vietnam and really enjoyed it. I was in a Superior room which was small, but well equipped with comfy bed, decent air conditioning and cable TV. My only niggle would be that the hot water in the shower takes a while to get going on the lower floors. The staff are super-friendly and go out of their way to help you. When I arrived at 5am one morning after the night train from Sapa, they let me use a room (which someone had just checked out of) until my room was ready. They also helped me to book a tour and arrange taxis. The breakfast features a small, but varied selection of hot and cold foods. Best to stick to the dishes the chef cooks to order - eggs or Vietnamese pho or noodles, depending on the day.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Eamonn from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Superior service in a small comfortable hotel
Very helpful staff
The staff at the hotel were very attentive and helpful in making our stay a happy one. They spoke good English and were happy to sell us vacation packages - in a friendly/low pressure manner. The hotel is located near the water puppet theatre and lots of touristy stores/restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to others.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

ABILENE from Philippines
Family with teens
Family Balcony Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Lovely hotel, great staff, perfect location!
Staff are very helpful!
This is probably one of the best budget hotels Ive been to. Everything about it is great - the staff were very nice and helpful, location is at the heart of the Old Quarter, breakfast is delicious. We got a family room and a superior room. Both are spacious. They've got welcoming drinks and lovely touches (like petals on the bed) as their welcome greeting:) This hotel has exceeded our expectations. All the positive reviews made by others are just so true.
Reviewed November 22, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: