Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre

Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre

41 Jalan Gaya, Wisma Takada, Central Business District, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia, 88100
- View on map
Superior Room, 1 K Bed, City View - Room plan Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
Superior Room, 1 K Bed, City View - Room plan
    Removed from saved list
    Interior view Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    Swimming pool [outdoor] Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    Swimming pool [outdoor] Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    1 Bedroom Suite - Room plan Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    See all 37 photos
    Lobby Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre

    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre Reviews

    8.2
    Excellent
    /10
    (1080 reviews)See what guests said
    10.0
    Exceptional

    "The room was clean, spacious and modern."

    Anthony

    -

    May 13, 2018

    8.4
    Excellent cleanliness
    Recommended by 88% of guests

    Things you’ll love about Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre

    • Airport transfer

    • Located in heart of Kota Kinabalu

    • Currency exchange

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    This property is in high demand!Booked 22 times since yesterday | 24 travelers are looking at this property right now
    Excellent
    Location
    8.5
    See map
    Excellent location - Inside city center
    Popular neighborhood
    Nearby
    Popular
  • Gaya Street Sunday Market70 m
  • Net Access90 m
  • Atkinson Clock Tower130 m
  • Gaya Shop Lot150 m
  • Milimewa Superstore160 m
  • Kota Kinabalu City Mosque190 m
  • Maybank190 m
  • Dataran Desoka200 m
  • Consulate of Australia200 m
  • Borneo Books I220 m
  • Value for money8.0
    Distance to city center0.1km
    Location rating8.5
    Nearest airportKota Kinabalu International Airport (BKI)
    Distance to airport5.3 km

    Rooms available at Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre

    1 Bedroom Suite
    1 Bedroom Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 63 m²/678 ft²
    • Sea view
    • 1 king bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    2 Bedroom Suite
    2 Bedroom Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 80 m²/861 ft²
    • Sea view
    • 1 king bed or 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    3 Bedroom Suite
    3 Bedroom Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 112 m²/1206 ft²
    • Sea view
    • 1 king bed or 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Two-Bedroom Suite
    Two-Bedroom Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 80 m²/861 ft²
    • Shower
    • 2 super king beds or 2 sing...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Superior Room, 1 K Bed, City View
    Superior Room, 1 K Bed, City View
    ...
    • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 king bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Executive Suite
    Executive Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 40 m²/431 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 king bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Three-Bedroom Suite
    Three-Bedroom Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 112 m²/1206 ft²
    • Shower and bathtub
    Enter dates to see prices
    Superior Room With 1 King Size Bed
    Superior Room With 1 King Size Bed
    ...
    • Room size: 29 m²/312 ft²
    • No Windows view
    • 1 king bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Superior Room 2 single Beds
    Superior Room 2 single Beds
    ...
    • Room size: 29 m²/312 ft²
    • Sea view
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Superior Room With 2 Single Beds
    Superior Room With 2 Single Beds
    ...
    • Room size: 29 m²/312 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Have a question for Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre?

    What people love about Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre

    • 7.2
      Very good

      "The room was spacious with a good view."

      S

      |

      January 3, 2019

    • 9.2
      Exceptional

      "Great location, clean and comfortable bedroom"

      Jinying

      |

      December 30, 2018

    • 7.6
      Very good

      "Good location,near to Sunday market"

      Chyan Y.

      |

      December 7, 2018

    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre

    More about Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre

    9.6
    Exceptional

    "I really liked the location of the hotel."

    JISU

    |

    January 10, 2019

    An overview

    Show less

    What they offer

    7.6
    Very good

    "Nice and pleasant hotel to stay in."

    Chu Y.

    |

    January 9, 2019

    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show more

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less

    Announcements

    From September 1st, 2017, as per Government of Malaysia requirements, hotel guests who are not Malaysian citizens or long-term/permanent residents of Malaysia will be levied a tourism tax of RM 10.00 per room per night stay. Please note these changes in tax structure will result in revised taxes being charged and will be payable additionally during check out.

    Reviews of Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre from real guests

    Agoda Reviews (1080)Booking.com Reviews (1105)
    8.2
    /
    10
    Cleanliness8.4
    Facilities7.8
    Location8.5
    Service8.3
    Value for money8.0
    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    All languages
    All guests (1080)
    All room types

    Show reviews that mention 

    Showing 412 verified guest comments
    12345
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Tan from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    Superior Room 2 single Beds
    Stayed 4 nights in March 2019

    Very Good”

    Very Good

    Reviewed March 06, 2019

    Dear Tan, Thank you for the great review on our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive possitive feedbacks from our valued guest. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay at Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre and hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future. Sincerely, The Mercure Team

    Responded March 07, 2019
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Chun from Taiwan
    Group
    2 Bedroom Suite
    Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

    Good location and room is comfortable”

    The room and location are good. But the staff didn't tell any information about the facility (like swimming pool open time).

    Reviewed March 06, 2019

    Dear Chun, Thank you for choosing Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre as your preferred hotel. We are glad you find our location and room accomodating. Rest assured Front Desk staff will be trained again to ensure the essential information on the hotel facilities are conveyed to all the guests. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, The Mercure Team

    Responded March 07, 2019
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Takatomi from Singapore
    Family with young children
    2 Bedroom Suite
    Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

    Family with friend”

    Fantastic room and services!

    Reviewed March 06, 2019

    Dear Takatomi, Thank you so much for the great review. We work hard to deliver the best experience for all our valued guests and we are happy to see that reflect on your last visit at Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre. Please come again. Sincerely, The Mercure Team

    Responded March 07, 2019
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    8.8
    Excellent
    Soon from Malaysia
    Family with young children
    Superior Room With 1 King Size Bed
    Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

    Overall is good”

    I stay here 2nd time. Still very good, room is clean, staff is friendly. Roof top bar with super nice sea view. Walking distance to Suria Mall, market, Jetty, very convenient. Cons: Room sound proof is poor, can hear next door talking clearly. Some travellers are noisy. Breakfast rate is slightly pricy.

    Reviewed February 14, 2019

    Dear Soon, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, The Mercure Team

    Responded February 19, 2019
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Nora from Malaysia
    Couple
    Superior Room With 1 King Size Bed
    Stayed 5 nights in December 2018

    Satisfying stay”

    I was initially taken aback by their hefty deposit upon check in but the staff were negotiable & very understanding. Their overall service was very good as well & the hotel was relatively new. The bathroom/shower were unique in design but i love them. But i do agree with others about their piping system since its pretty loud, to the point that my partner though those were the sounds from some airplanes passing through. Everything else was great though

    Reviewed January 01, 2019

    Dear Nora, Thank you for taking time to share your review on our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we do apologise for the soundproofing issue you have highlighted. Please rest assured that our team is working hard to rectify the problem to prevent future occurance. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Sincerely, The Mercure Team

    Responded January 17, 2019
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    8.0
    Excellent
    Suria from Malaysia
    Family with young children
    2 Bedroom Suite
    Stayed 1 night in February 2019

    Very good”

    Walking distance to Jesselton Point and waterfronts. Ramp and lifts available for wheelchair users. Magnificent views of the sea and city from rooftop / swimming pool.

    Reviewed February 28, 2019

    Dear Suria, Thank you for choosing Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre as your preferred hotel during your visit here. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us. We appreciate your comments and please come back again should your next travels bring you back to Kota Kinabalu, Sabah. Sincerely, The Mercure Team

    Responded March 07, 2019
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    10.0
    Exceptional
    fiona from Malaysia
    Business traveler
    Superior Room 2 single Beds
    Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

    great stay ”

    love the location , beautiful sunset . Food was good . walking distance around the hotel .

    Reviewed February 21, 2019
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Dhanaselvi from Singapore
    Family with young children
    Three-Bedroom Suite
    Stayed 4 nights in December 2018

    Great for a family staying in the 3- bedroom apartment”

    Had a great stay. Location is great, just beside suria sabah mall which had everything we needed. Night market and sunday markets were nearby and walking distance. The 3 bedroom apartment was big, clean and spacious. The view was very good. We had a fantastic stay. I would definitely recommend staying there again. Only minus point is the road in front of mercure is often jammed but the hotel is almost at the end of the road n the jam clears after that.

    Reviewed December 06, 2018

    Dear Dhanaselvi, We are delighted to hear you had a great stay at Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, The Mercure Team

    Responded December 11, 2018
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    8.0
    Excellent
    Suk from Malaysia
    Family with young children
    Executive Suite
    Stayed 1 night in November 2018

    Good location”

    Had an executive suite. Size was big, good TV channels but missed opportunities on practicality, e.g. bedside facing window was burning hot in the morning to the extent, insufficient hooks and difficult to control aircon. Pool was small but has amazing sunset view.

    Reviewed November 28, 2018

    Dear Suk, Thank you for taking time to share your exeperience with us. Your comments on position of bedside, incufficient hooks and difficulty to use the air condition control have been noted. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future. Sincerely, The Mercure Team

    Responded December 11, 2018
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Chang from Singapore
    Couple
    Superior Room With 1 King Size Bed
    Stayed 1 night in November 2018

    Exceptional”

    Great location for foodies as some of the best local food you can find is just walking distance away. Staff was friendly and helpful upon request. Facilities were great for my night stay. Will be back again!

    Reviewed November 15, 2018

    Dear Chang, Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again soon. Sincerely, The Mercure Team

    Responded November 27, 2018
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Abg from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    Superior Room, 1 K Bed, City View
    Stayed 1 night in November 2018

    Excellent”

    I checked in around 8 pm and they upgraded my room which I didnt expect it. The room is clean, good facilities and breakfast has lots of selection. The hotel staff is very friendly and approachable. Would highly recommend this hotel and I'm sure will stay here again next time my visit to KK.

    Reviewed November 05, 2018

    Dear Abg, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, The Mercure Team

    Responded November 10, 2018
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    8.8
    Excellent
    mazlan from Malaysia
    Family with young children
    Superior Room 2 single Beds
    Stayed 1 night in October 2018

    Fully satistfied!”

    Staff at receptionist (Malini) were excellent! Room also nice and clean. View from room also nice. Facility (gym and swimming pool) although small but acceptable. Breakfast not much choice but still acceptable. Nice experience. In sha Allah will come again. Thank you.

    Reviewed October 15, 2018

    Dear Mazlan, Thank you so much for your kind words, Mazlan. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us—and we agree, Marlini is truly a gem to have on our team! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. We look forward to having you back at Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre in the near future. Best regards, The Mercure Team

    Responded October 19, 2018
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Ng from Malaysia
    Couple
    Executive Suite
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

    Good location Hotel”

    Location is good, near key jetty, shopping mall and downtown. Executive Suite room is small, soundproofing is not well done you can heard a lot traffic noise from morning till mid night. Breakfast is not good at all.

    Reviewed October 07, 2018

    Dear Ng, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, The Mercure Team

    Responded October 13, 2018
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    8.4
    Excellent
    Hui from Malaysia
    Family with young children
    Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

    Great Location, Clean and comfortable 4 stars hotel. ”

    Great Location, which is just 3 mins away from Jesselton Pier and Gaya Street - Sunday Market. i have stayed for 2 days at Suite Room. it was a wonderful spacious room. Only Downside is the pool size for children is too small .

    Reviewed September 12, 2018

    Dear Hui, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, The Mercure Team

    Responded September 14, 2018
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    6.0
    Wan from Malaysia
    Business traveler
    Superior Room With 1 King Size Bed
    Stayed 1 night in February 2019

    Above average”

    At this present time, it is only natural to expect simple pen and writing pad in the room. These were not provided and made it difficult for me to take down messages, as I did not come prepared thinking the hotel will provide, to my disppointment this was not.. I was also surprised that the room I was provieded did not have a window. Not sure if the whole hotel rooms are same. It looked more like prison to me. For the rate charged RM 333.00, it is not too much to expect a decent room. PJ Hilton charges RM 270.00 which is far more superior to the room provided by Mercure. I was on a business trip and it would be last time I use the hotel and certainley will not recommend to others.

    Reviewed February 28, 2019

    Dear Wan, Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to give your comments. We sincerely apologised for the dissapoinment and inconvenience during your stay with us. We have taken note of your comments and will bring it up to the higher management for review. Thank you. Best regards, The Mercure Team

    Responded March 07, 2019
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    7.2
    Very good
    PHUAH from Malaysia
    Business traveler
    Superior Room With 2 Single Beds
    Stayed 1 night in February 2019

    Check in time 3pm”

    Unacceptable check in time is 3pm... Never check in such a late time ... Most is 2pm.. so dissapointed because need to meet clients earlier... With smell shirt

    Reviewed February 24, 2019

    Dear Phuah, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. We have taken note of your comment and will bring it up to the management for further review. Thank you. Sincerely, The Mercure Team

    Responded March 12, 2019
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    8.0
    Excellent
    Yannick from Hong Kong
    Couple
    Superior Room 2 single Beds
    Stayed 5 nights in October 2018

    Great location, good balance price/quality”

    I spent 5 days / 4 nights in Mercure Kota Kinabalu in October. Great location at 2 min walking distance from the harbor where all the activities start and where reservations are made. Swimming pool is awesome, food is good, quiet. The room has everything you need and was clean but we had a bug invasion and had to move to another room, the only negative point.

    Reviewed January 23, 2019

    Dear Yannik, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. While I wish you had a better experience, your feedback is very valuable to us that we can learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it is apparent in this case that we fell short in regards to the bug invasion you mentioned. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Please come back to visit us again if travels bring you back to Kota Kinabalu. Sincerely, The Mercure Team

    Responded January 29, 2019
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    5.6
    NG from Malaysia
    Group
    Superior Room, 1 K Bed, City View
    Stayed 1 night in December 2018

    Complaint : Bites by bedbugs or fleas. Check in date 08 Dec 2018 (Room # 1205 & 1207)”

    Refer to above on 12 Dec,2018 we have send and email to the hotel but till today no feedback. On above date we stay on Room 1205 & 1207 and unfortunately on next day morning we 4 of us feel very itch on our legs, and some with body. On same day morning we make report on the spot to the customer services but we feel unhappy because till today we did not received any feedback from you yet. All the red marks on the skin, feel itching and getting very serious when we back to west malaysia. According to Pharmacist, this is caused by bites from bedbugs or fleas. The itch on our legs and body keep 1 week and some friend 2-3 weeks... Very bad.

    Reviewed January 20, 2019

    Dear NG, Please accept our apology for the delay in responding your email. Rest assured we have taken this issue with the highest priority. With regards of your concern, kindly take note that our Executive Housekeeper and our pest control partner (Rentokil Sdn Bhd) have inspected the room and confirmed that there are no evidence of bed bugs within the room. On behalf of the management, please accept our sincere apology with regards of the delay in responding to your concern. Thank you for your patronage and please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any further assistance. Sincerely, The Mercure Team

    Responded January 24, 2019
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    7.2
    Very good
    INSIK from South Korea
    Family with young children
    Superior Room With 2 Single Beds
    Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

    Good position. but expensive.”

    First. Hotel front give a bad room position. I could not look anything over window. I could look just another wall and window. So, I give extra payment to change anoter room. Roof top pool size is 5m x 12m almost. Lunch buffet is expensive. because the menu are very simple.

    Reviewed January 16, 2019

    Dear INSIK, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on your recent stay at Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre. Your comment on the room view and buffet spread have been noted. We appreciate your valuable feedback and hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Sincerely, The Mercure Team

    Responded January 22, 2019
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    7.6
    Very good
    Hwa from Malaysia
    Business traveler
    Superior Room 2 single Beds
    Stayed 6 nights in January 2019

    Car Lift Not Working & Insects In Room”

    My first time after staying at so many hotels perhaps this is my first and worst experience with car lift not working and more worsen was the room had so many insects flying in from unknown. Very irritating after all these incidents happened!

    Reviewed January 11, 2019

    Dear Hwa, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the elevated parking issue during your recent stay at Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre, please rest assured we are looking into the root of the problem and how we can manage this better. With regards of the insects, we have reported it to our pest control partner for further inspection. Once again, thank you for your feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require further assistance. Sincerely, The Mercure Team

    Responded January 15, 2019
    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    12345
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    Mercure Kota Kinabalu City Centre
    |Excellent 8.2
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

    • Excellent location
    • Gaya Street Sunday Market
    • South Bus Terminal is within 1.59 km