Book Now: Minjoonggak Guesthouse

Excellent
From 306 reviewsSee what guests said
8.4
/
10
Recommended by 86% of guests

Reviews of Minjoonggak Guesthouse Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (306)Booking.com Reviews (139)
8.4
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.3
Facilities7.9
Location8.7
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.5
Value for money8.8
All languages
All guests (306)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 253 verified guest comments
8.4
Excellent
chuon from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Near to town”

When we arrived, no one was at the reception counter. Waited quite long and text the hotel but no one reply. Luckily we met a Korean couple who stayed here too. They called the owner of this motel and then we managed to check in. Easy access to restaurant . Room is comfy Limited parking Walking distance to town and market Overall a pleasant stay

Reviewed April 04, 2019
8.8
Excellent
TU from Vietnam
Group
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Very Good”

Rooms are clean, close to the Food street, there is a kitchen and washing machine on the 5th floor for everyone in need. Especially, there is a free parking lot right next to the house which is very convenient because we rent a car to drive. Will come back if I have a chance to return to Jeju.

Reviewed May 06, 2019
7.2
Very good
Bernadette from Singapore
Family with teens
Standard Twin
Stayed 6 nights in May 2019

Value for money, room spacious with attached bathroom”

Pros: - food street nearby - walking distance to roundabout bus stops whereby got many buses going east and west of jeju - spacious twin room with attached bathroom - quiet area so no disruption to sleep - walking distance to food street Cons: hostel owner doesn't communicate in english

Reviewed May 15, 2019
3.6
Wee from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Location is not convenient.”

Location is not good, very far away from shops. But lots of eateries across the road. Everything is on your own for sightseeing as no tour agency of any kind around the vicinity.

Reviewed May 14, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Hamidah from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Excellent”

The guesthouse provides nearly everything including private fridge and laundry service. The host was nice although when we wanted to check in, we had to wait for nearly 20 min due to his absence. recommeded!

Reviewed April 17, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Lay
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 4 nights in February 2019

Excellent”

Location is near bus stop in walking distance. The room is clean but need to walk up and down the staircase to my room at 4th floor. If you need to go to uptown Jeju-si, be prepared for the bus travel around 1 hour from Seogwipo. Overall is nice guesthouse.

Reviewed March 17, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Maria from Philippines
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

get more than what you pay for”

The price is the cheapest I found so I didn't expect much but the 3- bed dorm is layed out nicely. There's TV, hairdryer, shampoo, body wash, soap, and small towels. Room and the ensuite bathroom is spacious. Location is around 5-6 min walk from New Kyungnam hotel stop of bus 600 (airport bus to Seogwipo City) on one side and around 3 min walk from Jungang Rotary on the other side. Almost across arang joeul food street. Near bus stops/bus hub and lots of restaurants and stores nearby. For the price, you really get more than what you paid for

Reviewed November 23, 2018

I'm not good enough, but thank you for feeling good.

Responded March 11, 2019
Minjoonggak Guesthouse
9.6
Exceptional
Lish from Philippines
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018

Good location with great food options”

The guesthouse is located right next to the food alley so you'll have lots of options on where to eat. It is a 5-min walk from the bus stop. I wouldn't recommend carrying heavy luggage as it's all stairs from the reception to the rooms. I stayed in a rooms with two other people and it was pretty spacious considering we all had our own luggage. There were enough electrical sockets for our use and we had a bathroom to ourselves. The dining area is on the top floor but looks to still be in 'renovation mode'. There is a microwave for guests to use but I didn't stay much there so I'm not sure if they have a fridge too. The location of the guesthouse is great there are tourist attractions near that you can walk to and a park as well. The host was very helpful too in giving directions to where I wanted to go. There is even a map in the reception area of the bus numbers that you can take and their arrival and departure times. Would stay here again.

Reviewed November 06, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
NUUR from Malaysia
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

its home!”

What a shame, I just stay here a night. Point; they have floor heater, bath tab, shampoo, toothpaste, iron facilities, TV, wifi, hangers, hair dyer, water dispenser, washing machine, microwave, shoe dryer, rooftop, private bathroom and toilet, large room. We have 2 big luggage, and my friend could sleep on the floor too! Next to Lab Coffee. Near bus stop and 5 min walk to central bus stop to go around Jeju. Minus; no lift, kitchen or food lounge looks old. If you're muslim, just bring your own small travel rice cooker and cook. Simple. No halal food around but have market you can buy groceries. Take care.

Reviewed October 20, 2018
8.0
Excellent
NORHANIDA from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

Location and space”

Pros: it can be found in navigation system. Bus stop is near. It's in the middle of town and a minute to a food street and about 5-10 minutes walk to Olle market. The room I had was the double bed on the second floor. It was spacious and the bathroom was normal size too. There were bath foam, shampoo and conditioner, toothpaste, wash/scrub towel and small towels. There were sandals for the room.and toilet. There were 3 hangars and hanging space. Tv was good. There was also a small laundry rack which was super useful for me. There is also a hair drier and electric kettle. There is microwave and washing machine on the 6th floor common area. Cons: no elevator, if you have big heavy luggage it'd be hard. The common space is on the 6th floor. It wasn't very clean and there seems to be some construction happening throughout my stay so there were construction items here and there. No fan. To note: free parking is not easy since it's a busy area. Kakao map is useful to navigate Seogwipo.

Reviewed September 05, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Christopher from United States
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Great location, friendly helpful staff, and comfortable clean room”

Close to city center, parks, bus stops, and lots of restaurants as well as market. Staff was very friendly and helped us with directions. Room was comfortable, well-equipped, and clean. Shared kitchen was not well equipped but staff provided the items we needed.

Reviewed June 22, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Yok from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Twin
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Pleasant Stay”

Room is clean and neat, basic facilities and utilities are provided. Friendly and helpful staff. The only thing it does not have lift which need to climb for higher floor. Overall i would give 5 stars! Thanks for the wonderful experience!

Reviewed January 14, 2019

Thank you. I will try to make the accommodation better.

Responded January 29, 2019
Minjoonggak Guesthouse
8.4
Excellent
Alfi from Belgium
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 5 nights in May 2018

Perfect for your basecamp in Jeju”

To get there from the airport, I took bus number 181 about 1 hour. I stopped at Jungan Rotary. I walked around 4-5 minutes to the guesthouse. I was arrived at there around 1:30 PM. And I could immediately check-in. The room was spacious. I have two pillows, one is thicker than the other. I find the bed is hard. The bathroom is old but works perfectly. There are toiletries available. If you leave the room, put your key on the receptionist table so they could clean your room. The service is good. They changed the towels and emptied the bin every day. The facilities are good, it isn’t luxury but they have many things, like oven, microwave, shoe dryer, 2 washing machines, water dispenser, fridge, a drying rack. So you will get anything you need. Sometimes the internet was a bit slow. Location is really good. Many buses to reach many tourist destinations. Perfect place as your basecamp in Jeju. And on foot, you can reach interesting places, like the food streets, a waterfall, etc.

Reviewed May 09, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Annie from United Arab Emirates
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018

Super saver”

The place is super comfortable, spacious, and most importantly it has an attached bathroom. At first, it might be a little hard to get around but once you familiarize yourself with the bus system, it’s easier than you think. Close to seongpanak trail which is very convenient for the hikers. The only issue I had was when I got off the wrong stop, I literally got lost. The hostel doesn’t have a line or WhatsApp and for those who cannot call, it is a bit of a problem. I tried messaging the owner but I didn’t get a reply. I had to take a cab instead.

Reviewed April 06, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
NUR from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018

Old but clean”

Room is big enough for 2 adults and a baby. Very near to old bus terminal just 3minutes walk. 10 minutes to famous wet market. And 1.6km by waze to the nearest halal restaurant. Got refrigerator, big tv, hair dryer, nailclipper. We didnt bring our international plug and luckily the uncle at reception borrow us his plug. Tq uncle. Got washing machine upstair. We went during winter so we never use it since no dryer machine. Also got microwave, toaster, shoe dryer all located upstair. Very helpful with free map at reception area. Uncle try hard to help us looking around seogwipo and 1 nice lady with fluent english give really good direction to each place i wanna go.

Reviewed February 06, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Izdham from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2017

Good”

Owner was nice, u can ask any question and they will tell u..the room also clean and they provide washing machine, self service for coffee and u can cook too..only if u late check in please tell them or you will need to call when u arrive..next time visit jeju, i will come here again.

Reviewed December 15, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Sook from Malaysia
Group
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017

Great guesthouse”

I would say this is one of the best guest houses that I've stayed in Korea so far. Although the place is a bit old, but it's really value for money and the room is really well equpped and spacious. Would recommend this place to others.

Reviewed September 18, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Ma from Philippines
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017

Excellent”

+About 400m from airport limo bus stop (New Kyungnam) +Easy to find, location in google maps is accurate +Friendly staff, can speak a little english +Free use of washing machine +Near intercity bus terminal and Olle market +Small towel, shampoo, conditioner, soap, hairdryer are provided +Each dorm room has its own bathroom -No dryer, very limited space to hang your laundry -Small lockers -Has 5 floors, no lift Each dorm only has one key so you have to leave it at the reception if you're the last one going out, and ask for it in case you're the first one back.

Reviewed July 18, 2017
8.0
Excellent
MING from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017

Nice stay, close to bus terminal”

Very good location, 1 block next to the bus terminal, opposite to the food street Clean, spacious room with bathroom Boss is friendly and helpful, just there is no person in the reception sometimes. No lounge

Reviewed June 05, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Muhamad from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in December 2015

Strategic Location to nearest attraction in Jeju”

Personally if come to Jeju, i plan to stay again at this guest house. It provide walking distance to waterfall famous in that area and near to halal food as well. We went during the winter season, the guest house also provide good heater for us to sleep well. In term of cleanliness, yes this guest house very clean and provide washing machine on top for those who want to clean their clothes. In term value for money, yes it value for money and do have spacious room for accommodate 1 family.

Reviewed September 22, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Ku from United States
Family with teens
Korean Traditional Ondol Room
Stayed 6 nights in September 2016

Clean and Convenient!!!”

The owner picked us up with his mini van during the raining day as we couldn't find the guesthouse when we arrived. The room is very clean and spacious. The location is the best as we could go anywhere for sightseeing without any problems. Love it! We'll visit Jejudi next summer and hopefully we'll be able to stay in the same place.

Reviewed September 11, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Wen from Malaysia
Couple
Korean Traditional Ondol Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

Great budget Guesthouse”

The location is great, with the free city parking (from 6pm-9am) within walking distance (parking is something to consider for those who drives in Seogwipo). the local market is also within walking distance with lots of eating places across the road. The room is big, with attached toilet. Though the staff may not speak English well, but he is very helpful indeed. All these comes with an unbeatable price.

Reviewed April 07, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Asniar from Indonesia
Group
Korean Traditional Ondol Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015

perfect location to explore Jeju”

comfortable, value for money, perfect locatiob

I stayed for 2 nights at ondol room for 3 persons with my friends.. we really enjoyed our stay in Minjoonggak because the room is spacious and comfortabale, close to street food and close to seogwipo bus terminal. Really recommended for budget travellers!!!

Reviewed August 31, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
NOOR from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

Great location,clean and big room”

Friendly staff,big room,great location

We stayed at standard double room. I was quite surprised when i saw the room because it was spacious snd clean. And i didnt know that there was bathroom attached and also flat sreen tv. A lot of eateries nearby. The staff can speak english and tney were friendly..Value for money! will definitely come back

Reviewed January 15, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
DANIEL from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

Affordable and Comfortable ”

Located strategically to food street, comfortable room, great guesthouse

This guesthouse has exceeded our expectations. The bed is very comfortable, floor heating is alright, and its location is near to food street as well as 15 minutes walk away to the airport bus stop. The soundproof is good too. We had a great stay here.

Reviewed April 22, 2014
7.6
Very good
Aura from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Male Only
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

Cheap to stay”

The place is near to food street and bus station. And having a bathtub, a floor working mat and a television. However, down side is the aircon is not working and having a couple of mosquitoes going around.

Reviewed May 24, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Leh from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Good place staying near to arang food street and the main town of Seowipo”

Good

Reviewed December 10, 2018

I'll try to make it a good place to you Thank you.

Responded March 11, 2019
Minjoonggak Guesthouse
8.0
Excellent
gee from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Location - near bus stop and near to convenient shop. ”

No lift and staff very hard to see at the counter. If you need assistance you have to wait until they return.

Reviewed April 16, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Chee from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

One night at Minjoonggak”

Not a fancy hotel but the staff was very friendly, the hotel was very clean, and the location is great.

Reviewed September 24, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
SUN from China
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Male Only
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

Exceptional”

Good

Reviewed July 24, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Nadher from South Korea
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

nice ”

the owner was very nice and helpful there's a kitchen upstairs, laundry, internet good, channels. . the only thing they don't have is they don't accepte PayPal payment

Reviewed May 29, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Ly from Vietnam
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018

Great choice in Jeju”

The owner is really nice. I have arrived to the guest house really late, about 1p.m but the male owner didn't mind and took me to the room immediately. If you have any problems, just tell them and they will try to help you as much as possible. The location of this guest house is so convenient. It nears Arang joeul food street and Olle market where you can find a lot of tasty food and local delicacy with reasonable price. And it has some bus stops around. It is a nice place to stay in Jeju and I highly recommend anyone who want to stay at Seogwipo choose this guest house. I had a wonderful time in Jeju :)

Reviewed May 07, 2018
6.4
Good
WONG from Malaysia
Couple
Triple Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017

Ok for a place to sleep”

There is no breakfast provided. A room on the top floor where guests can sit and eat is dirty and untidy. However two washing machines are provided there so guests can do their laundry. Location is good as it is near to a bus stop where many buses pass by. It is in the commercial town area with many restaurants and shops within walking distance.

Reviewed May 05, 2017
6.4
Good
Choo from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017

Near black Pork food street, spacious room, bathroom with bathtub.”

Pros - near black pork food street, big room, bathroom with bathtub, easily to find food, 7-11 also nearby. Room is still consider warm when it is 3-5'c at night. Cons, a bit far from away from airport bus station, place not easy to find at first.

Reviewed March 17, 2017
6.4
Good
Amie from United States
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016

Not a fan”

Pros: fast internet, good location in Seogwio (about 2 hours away from the airport, in the south), offer many free brochures, intact bathroom with the dorm, trash is taken out daily, new towel daily Cons: no elevator, cockroaches in kitchen, no cleaning for bathroom nor the room (I stayed 5 days, both beds and bathroom didn't get cleaned), towels are old-some have holes

Reviewed August 17, 2016
4.4
Ng from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016

awful and not well mainteined Guesthouse”

Bed-sheet was not change at all during my 3 night stay. Toilet was smelly and only hand towel was provided which is too small. The common are and kitchen located at the top floor was awful and not well maintained with water ponding, utensil was not clean and dirt is all around

Reviewed June 29, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
yu from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 5 nights in May 2016

Convenient ”

Its is a small but cozy room. They provide coffee. There is a small microwave for us to reheat milk or food. Under the hotel, there is a super awesome cafe. The hotel is about 5 mins walk to the bus station.

Reviewed June 15, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Voon from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2016

Good location in Seogwipo ”

It is near to the Olle market and Intercity Bus Terminal. The guest house is old but clean, no elevator. The common area and kitchen is located at the 5th floor(top), the floor near the basin is flood. it does not matter if you are not using this area. The room is worth for what we paid for. Can't expect much.

Reviewed April 22, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Wai from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016

Reasonable price, convenient location, all rounded facilities and nice staff”

This guesthouse is very popular among koreans and also foreigners! For me travelling alone, I got to meet korean people and luckily a lone traveller from my country! The room is big and spacious with individual lockers and very comfortable with heated floor. There are towels provided everyday and toothpaste as well. There is also a fridge on the 4th floor and kitchen with washing machines on the 5th floor for everyone. This guesthouse is just a minute walk away from the bus terminal so it is very convenient to take the bus to attraction areas in the south of jeju. If you're a walker, you can also walk to some tourist spots in seogwipo, like oedolgae and the cheonjiyeon waterfalls. (around 30 minutes) The staff was really nice too. One night, me and my newly met friend asked for recommendations of BBQ pork restaurants and he offered to take us there right to the entrance of that restaurant. We were so grateful and enjoyed the dinner there! Also, there is a long street with many restaurants and a market nearby so it is not difficult to find delicious and indigenous food to eat!! I will definitely stay here again in the future!!

Reviewed March 06, 2016
8.4
Excellent
LILU from China
Group
Korean Traditional Ondol Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016

Lovely though some bugs”

The heating system is not that well for our room, sometimes too hot sometimes too cold. Besides, due to the weather we had no hot water for shower for two days. But the uncle there is good enough to make up our disappointment. He felt sorry for the water and paid for us to public bathhouse. Although his English is not that good, he tried hard to offer information for us. Lovely.

Reviewed February 13, 2016
7.3
Very good
Rohaida from Malaysia
Group
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014

Comfy cheap hotel”

Location and cheap

Given the money that we paid for this stay, we are satisfied with this hotel. Its look very old and gives you the old movies feeling. It doesnt have elevator, we had a big luggage so we strugle a bit climbing the stairs. It was located in the heart of the town, the food street just in front of the hotel, there is a lots of restaurant to choose from with so many variety of foods. We had our first korean seafood meal there and it was very nice. The owner can speak a bit english and very friendly.

Reviewed September 08, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Chan from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014

good and value for money ”

clean, strategic location and friendly

Good and will definitely come back again. The best and cheapest Guesthouse I stayed in Korea during my winter trip. The room has built in warmer and the comforter can keep warm. With hot shower too. very easy to find food too. Just cross tthe road and try he whole street full with restaurant. Very value for money and definitely will come back again.

Reviewed December 29, 2014
6.0
Azrul from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014

Ok place”

Ok location, kitchen lacking facilities

The room is good. However, the kitchen is on the top floor but poorly equip. No stove and cooking utensils. Big problem for muslims since for non muslims should no issue since there is food alley in front of the hostel.

Reviewed November 25, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Lee from Singapore
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014

wonderful stay”

reasonable price, clean big room & comfortable

Overall we had a wonderful 3 night stay at Minjoonggak. Friendly boss. Great location with food streets nearby. The room is big and clean with attached bathroom. It's one of the best guesthouse that I had stay in Jeju.

Reviewed November 06, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Nur from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014

Feels like home!The best GH in Korea I ever stayed”

Great location(close to intercity bus stop),Attentive staff+fast check in&out+all free facilities+Big room for 2 pax!

Pros -We arrive at 10am, but staff allowed us to check in early. -Great location about 2 minutes walk to intercity bus stop(Jungang Rotary) -Near to food market(I forgot the names) -Spacious room with Flat screen tv, computer,mini fridge,mirror and attached bathroom -Free laundry services, microwave,shoes drier,fridge on the rooftop. -Friendly and helpful staff with minimum english -Free simple drink (coffee&tea) for breakfast -Superb wifi! Cons None Best guesthouse in Jeju!!!and Korea!!

Reviewed June 29, 2014
7.3
Very good
Chin from Singapore
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Male Only
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014

Hospitable, Good Location, Not the Best Rooms”

Friendly and helpful staff, Centrally located in Seogwipo, Safe

Airport limousine 600 drops u off a little further beyond New Kyeongnam Tourist Hotel. Get off the limousine bus, walk back towards New Kyeongnam Tourist Hotel. Don't stop here. Keep walking...until you come to a junction where 4 or 5 roads intersect. Three roads go upslope. If you see this junction, congrats! Follow the path up Seomun-ro, and on 3rd left turn, you are at Minjoonggak! It's not labelled in English, only in Korean. Check-in was fast. I got a bed in the dorm room on the 5th floor. Well.... not so much of a bed - it was a mattress on the floor with some covers and blanket. Bathroom was ok... Water coming through the showerhead was erratic; it was intermittently hot and cold. The guesthouse is 3 min walk from the old bus terminal which brings you to places around Jeju island. The guesthouse is opposite Food Street. Walkable to Seogwipo city centre (about 5-10min) for some shops, restaurants and a wet market. Also across the road from the guesthouse was a motorbike shop; 100cc scooter for 25000 won per day. With this, you are good to go around Jeju island! I navigated with a paper map. It wasn't too hard; you just need to know which town you are heading towards and follow the signs. Major roads are numbered, so that would help too. When lost, locals are happy to help you find your way if you ask. Minjoonggak is a good start-off point to explore Jeju-do. It's a 5 min ride to Cheongjiyeon waterfalls. I spent one day riding from the guesthouse towards attractions in the right half of the island (Sancheon Ichulbong Sunrise Peak, Jeju Folk Village, Manjanggul Cave). Another day was spent riding on the left half of the island (pass by Hallasan Hills, visit Mysterious Rd, Loveland, Jeju City, and museums in Jungmun). The only thing I didnt like was that in dorms, people sleep very early (around 10-ish). On my last night, the owner invited me and some guests for Jeju snacks and drinks. It was a very friendly affair and gave a special touch to round up my trip.

Reviewed June 28, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Jessica from Singapore
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014

Friendly staff and clean”

Staff, cleanliness and location

Generally, my stay at minjoonggak was good mainly because it provides a comfortable, clean and safe place to sleep in. Firstly, The staff is extremely friendㅣy and will go all out to help you, Even though he speaks little English, you can use signs or pointing to express what you wish. Even though the place may seemed difficult to reach (from Airport limousine 600), it is actually quite simple once you get used to it. Minjoonggak is about\3000 taxi fee away from The Newkyongnam hotel bus stop for airport limousine. The room that i stayed in was a 4 bed room dorm for females. it was rather spacious. i think the best thing about minjoonggak is that it is 5 minutes walk away from seogwipo intercity bus termninal, 30 minutes walk to cheonjiyeon water fall and seogwipo submarine. if you are interested about olle trail in jeju,minjonggak is the place for you because the manger is part of the olle committee.

Reviewed May 30, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Mildred from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

Excellent location, friendly staff”

Friendly staff, Located near Arang Jeul Food street, Easy access to bus

I loved staying here. The guesthouse is located in central Seogwipo - the main bus station (Junggang Rotary) is only about 5 minutes walk away, and you can also walk to many of the good restaurants at Arang Jeul Food street (just across the road!), even walking distance to the Cheonijeon waterfall (25 minutes). The guesthouse staff are very friendly and attentive. They will help advice you on how to get to places. Most of the people who stay here are walking the Jeju Olle. The guesthouse is along one of the Olle routes. Place is clean - there are lots of rooms (6 floors!) - but still quiet. stayed in the female dorm - there was even a TV and hair dryer in the room. Locker also provided. The dorm bed is affordably priced - high recommended!

Reviewed May 10, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Janet from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Korean Traditional Ondol Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014

Best place I stayed in Korea”

Room comfort, location, cleanliness

Easy to find opposite the bus stop to Jeju-city. Owner speaks a little English but will phone a translator if necessary. Despite the language barrier, really nice owner. Good location with the restaurants nearby and shopping about 10 minutes walk away. Really clean and lovely warm ondol room despite it being february.

Reviewed May 06, 2014
3.6
Siti from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 5 nights in August 2018

far from Jeju city”

my conclusion: 1.Staff: speak few English & lack of attendances. 2.Bedroom: overall spacious. towel too small(a size of face towel).didn't change the towel + bed cover until we told the staff to do so. 3.kitchen: extremely poor. only has microwave.electric kitchen small + not working,so we cannot cook.Kitchen situated at the top floor(level 5).have washing machine + shoe dryer. 4.Location: too far from jeju city. It is advisable to stay at jeju city for conveniences.No halal food / shop.market is nearby but since we cannot use the kitchen, so we can't cook at our own. have no idea why it was rated 8.4 in Agoda/Booking...

Reviewed August 28, 2018
8.4
Excellent
aini from Malaysia
Family with young children
Korean Traditional Ondol Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2019

Excellent”

Everything was nice. Would be better if have multi cooker. Enjoyed stay here!

Reviewed January 20, 2019

Thank you for a good postscript. I hope you enjoyed your trip.

Responded January 29, 2019
Minjoonggak Guesthouse
6.4
Good
CHONG from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

Katie from Malaysia”

Room spacious but dirty. Lots of dust and hair on floor. Mattress very thin. Owner can't speak english well. Bunk bed no curtain , no reading lights Lobby very messy.

Reviewed August 02, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Sim from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018

Good Value for money ”

Location is very good. Near to Olle Market. Near to bus stop that leads to many places of interest. Hotel owner is very helpful.

Reviewed May 16, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Francis from Philippines
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Male Only
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017

Very good value for money”

Great facilities and well maintained. Staff are very courteous and helpful too.

Reviewed November 02, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Janice from Philippines
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 5 nights in June 2017

Exceptional”

Mingjoongak Guesthouse is very near to airport limousine bus stop and just a few meters away from the bus station. It's also near to some tourist spots in Seogwipo. The room is spacious and clean.

Reviewed July 05, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Sri from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015

Recommended. Convenient & cosy”

I will definitely stay here again.friendly & helpful staff.convenient location.cosy n clean.

Reviewed August 19, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Li from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2016

Value for money.”

Clean room and spacious. Very comfortable stay.

Reviewed July 22, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
noor from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016

good”

worth it

Reviewed April 22, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Noryati from Singapore
Couple
Triple Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016

Tangerine”

Room is clean and huge. Location is near attraction area. Parking available.

The staffs was very friendly. Everyday we were offered oranges. We will come back and stay at Minjoonggak Guesthouse if we are coming to Jeju Island again.

Reviewed January 13, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Jesselyn from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015

the boss is very kind and friendly”

near town area, friendly and helpful host
Reviewed September 24, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Song from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015

Location”

Location
Reviewed May 04, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Thor from Singapore
Group
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014

Great location. Easy to locate”

Location, helpful staff
Reviewed November 07, 2014
8.3
Excellent
judee from Philippines
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014

Clean big accesible to all accomodating owner ”

Clean big room accessible to all bus station restaurant tourist spot very accomodating owner

It is really worth for you money clean big room with bath tub clean big bed very close to different restaurants very accomodating owner with fast wifi near to tourist spots bus stations

Reviewed September 22, 2014
8.0
Excellent
ENG from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Male Only
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014

Best location and Good staff ”

The staff there is very nice to help me in the bus transportation
Reviewed September 04, 2014
8.4
Excellent
Muhamad from Indonesia
Couple
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

Strategic Location and Cheap Guesthouse in Soegwipo City, Jeju”

Strategic Location and Cheap Guesthouse in Soegwipo City, Jeju. We stayed 2 nights at this guesthouse... location in city center soegwipo... price is value for money........... recommended...

Reviewed October 28, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Amy from Greece
Group
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018

Thank you for your kindness”

We really enjoy staying here with the big support and smile all the time from the family owner. Highly recommended!

Reviewed June 25, 2018
7.6
Very good
Nadzirah from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Double Bed Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015

As expected”

Room is quite spacious compared to other guesthouse that me and my fellow friends have been to in korea. Location is near to attraction areas. There is a small family-owned mart across the street & other convenience store on the same street. You can find almost all facilities that you could use during travelling for a long period, ie; washing machine, microwave, water filtered etc. We spend quite sometimes to figure out how to operate the microwave though, but managed to to use it with the help of other tenants (we cleaned the microwave prior of using it, cz its quite dirty though). Clothes hanger rack is available in the room too. The other tenants were so friendly, they greeted us almost everytime we met at the common room area. Overall, it is a great experience :)

Reviewed July 13, 2016
5.6
Siaw from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 7 nights in April 2016

Not foreigner(non Korean speaking) friendly”

Was introduce by a korean friend to this guesthouse and also read good reviews from traveller and most popular guesthouse by airasiago. However, it's not suitable for traveller like me, which do not speak/ understand Korean, and do not do any homework about travel itinery. Normally I travel without doing research or homework about a place, I solely rely on local/ tourist information, then, I do analysis from there, which place to go, what to do next. Due to language barrier, I couldn't get any useful information from the owner, even they are expert olle trail. Nevertheless, owner is very friendly, smiling all time which it compensate. I was staying at 4 bed dormitory, ,room and bathroom was cleaned everyday, towel get changed everyday as well, soap, shampoo, tooth paste, face tissue, toilet tissue, hair dryer, comb, mosquito spray all provided. However the bathroom constantly have awful smell, and night time a lot of mosquito. Due to I am a vegetarian, I constantly prepare my own food while travelling in Korea, but this guesthouse do not have a proper dining, kitchen and hang around place. The dinning and laundry area is located at top floor, with table and chair but, it's never clean and always flooded, although toaster, microwave provided, but it put together with shoes dryer, and no utensil is provided. It's really lost appetite to eat or stay there.

Reviewed May 15, 2016
5.6
GWO from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Korean Traditional Ondol Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016

Good for budget stay.”

The location is a bit of a climb from the bus stop, if you have luggage to carry. Good room space. Clean and have simple room facilities. However, the kitchen upstairs is flooded and not well maintained. There is a microwave & toaster, but no utensils eg cups & plates or cutleries for your food. But for budget wise, its ok. The owner and lady staff are friendly, eventhough they speak little English. However, on one occasion, there was one other male staff whose attitude was unpleasant. I had an important guest that came all the way from Seoul to visit me and it was a quick meet up at the lobby of the guesthouse as they were rushing for time. While in the middle of the conversation, the staff interrupted in a unfriendly manner and told us in Korean which I didn't understand and my Korean guest had to translate saying that "We are not suppose to chat here as the lobby is only for checking-in guest." I was a bit surprised as the lobby has chairs and there was no one there checking in. Neither the less, I quickly finished up the conversation with my guest. As we were going up to our room, the male staff noticed and asked in Korean again, he was checking if we were guest of the Guesthouse. We said yes, and then he suddenly apologized in fluent English saying that he didn't realized we were their guest, that was why he told us we can't sit there. I feel that was rude of him to think that we were random strangers sitting at their lobby before even checking with us if we were their guest. On top of that I've seen him several times when we go in and out of the guesthouse. He then told us that we should have gone up the roof where their kitchen is, to chat. The kitchen is in bad condition with flooded floors. That would not be an ideal place to greet my guest. Other than this incident, it would have been a pleasant stay. Unfortunately I believe he has already offended my guest.

Reviewed May 08, 2016
2.0
David from Cape Verde
Solo traveler
Korean Traditional Ondol Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015

They lock you in the damn building!”

It's a great price for a room, you have to give them that, and it's perfectly clean. However! They lock you in the building at night! Like a goddamn prisoner! Considering you have to be a grown-up to book a room, this is completely unacceptable. I felt like a prisoner. I'm a night person as well, so I really wanted to wander Seogwipo at night as well. An absolutely horrid establishment. I couldn't possibly recommend this to anyone. I won't make exceptions under any circumstances either, because I'm an adult, and they betrayed my basic freedoms as an adult. Staying at the Minjunggak Guesthouse was one of the worst experiences of my life, and I sincerely hope they go out of business.

Reviewed August 22, 2015