Book Now: Mom Chailai Kanchanaburi Forest Retreat Hotel

Very good
From 135 reviewsSee what guests said
7.3

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (135)Booking.com Reviews (40)
7.3
Very good
From 135 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.4
Facilities6.1
Location6.9
Room comfort and quality7.6
Service7.8
Value for money7.6
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
ภาษาไทย
English
Deutsch
Français
more
Room type
Superior
superior plus
Deluxe
Family
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 123 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
jeffrey from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Nice, Peaceful, Natural Retreat”
Quiet, peaceful, close to nature, natural mineral water pool
We only stayed here for one night. This hotel is a bit of a journey from Katchanaburi train station, so it would be best to go to Erawan Falls first from the station and have the resort pick you up from there if you only have a night. You can leave your luggage at the Erawan Visitors Center for free while you go explore. The resort is gorgeous and the surrounding nature is quite impressive. We didn't arrive until later at night and I realized that I absentmindedly left my girlfriend's expensive camera on the bus. Without hesitating, Wynn, one of the delightful hotel staff hurriedly ushered me to his car and we tracked down the bus and got the camera back. Thank you so much Wynn!!!!!!! An overall great place to relax for a day or two and take in the beautiful forested scenery.
Reviewed May 06, 2014
6.0
Ratchapon from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Beautiful place with natural surroundings”
Nature, Quiet, Pool
This place has very natural surroundings, with a view of the river. It is close to some attractions but only in Sai Yok area and everything else is far away. The rooms were nice and almost felt like being in a little cabin in the woods. It is great for people who love nature and parks. The pool is small but kept clean. The place is off the main hill road slightly downhill about 1.5 km in, so make sure you have transport.
Reviewed April 21, 2014
7.7
Very good
Daniel from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Quiet retreat location”
1. The forest location. 2. The quiet of nature. 3. Attentive staff (one staff speaks very good English)
Relaxing, small but nice pool with natural water. Nice rooms with natural furniture.
Reviewed March 13, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
phantipa from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Perfect nature, great for relax”
100% nature, nice staff, lovely mineral swimming pool
It's depend on your purpose and life style. Here is perfect place for nature lover. If you would like to keep clam and relax, i will recommend this hotel. But if you like to go out at night or shopping, forget this hotel. I will be back to this hotel as it's really good for my mind.
Reviewed March 12, 2014
2.3
Somsri from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
not impressed”
nature lovers
Reviewed September 18, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Brent from United States
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
A Nice Out of the Way Place”
A nice place to get away from the crowds, see the forest, and relax
Staying here is only useful if you have your own transportation as it is outside Kanchanburi (fairly close to Hellfire Pass) but it was a welcome relief from the crowds of the cities. Quiet, comfortable place buried in the forest/jungle.
Reviewed June 22, 2013
6.0
Mike from United States
Couple
superior plus
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Very peaceful”
Quiet and secluded
the first thing i noticed was the cicadas (don't know the thai name)- buzzing in the trees as soon as we turned down the driveway. if you like that kind of thing, it's better than exhaust pipes - which you won't hear any of (except occasionally a long tail boat on the river or the electric generator at the day spa across the river). very natural surroundings and the pool is mineral water from the hillside, if you like trees, this place has them. one friendly mouse in the room.
Reviewed March 01, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Daniel from United States
Group
superior plus
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Forest hotel next to the river”
The forest atmosphere far away from the noise of town and city
We really enjoyed our stay here because we loved the forest setting and the staff service was great! But those who book here should know it really is far from the road in a real forest in an agricultural region of Kanchanaburi. The surrounding hills and mountains are great to visit, but you need transportation. We rented a pick-up driven by a friendly hotel staff who was also a tour guide. Very relaxing pool. Big rooms decorated with interesting furniture. Clean. Since no one else was there at the time, they upgraded our room for free. Good Thai food made by friendly staff.
Reviewed February 21, 2013
7.7
Very good
Terry from United States
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Peaceful jungle hide away”
The hotel was very quiet and peaceful. The pool was very nice, natural with no chlorine.
Let me first repeat what others have said. You really need to have your own car here. And even with a car, you are nearly an hour's drive from downtown Kanchanaburi. However you are not far, by car, from the Hellfire pass Museum and a lovely, but crowded, waterfall. Everything else is pretty far away. So if you like peace, quiet and solitude in a lovely jungle surrounding with a clear, clean, cool mineral water swimming pool, this place is perfect.
Reviewed December 13, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Teoh from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Great stay in a jungle retreat”
Spacious room, huge bathroom, furniture carved out of teak wood
It was a great jungle retreat true to the name "Mom Chailai Jungle Retreat" a nice mineral swimming smack right in the middle of the jungle, water is the right temperature. The furniture is authentically carved out of teak wood, the bed, the chairs, the table. Some tables are marble slab. It has blend nature into modern living with TV and wires. From here visitors can go for side excursions like the Hell Fire Pass to get a glimpse of the Death Railway, the bridge over River Kwai, Tiger Temple, elephant ride, river raft etc. If you are not into sight seeing just relax in the nature. From your bed yo get a good view o the jungle because the room is covered with full length glass panel, so you can relax in bed and enjoy the greenery and feel nature in the comfort of the bed. The staff is friendly and helpful. One of them speaks excellent English. He can help you in whatever you need.
Reviewed November 28, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Anil from India
Family with young children
Family
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
As name says.. its a real jungle retreat”
Jungle feeling
First of all If you do not have your own transportation forget this hotel!!.. The hotel is very calm and quiet as if we are in Jungle. We stayed in Family suite , the rooms are nicely decorated to give us the feel of Jungle. beautiful toilet very neat and clean. Staff very service minded. Food though limited very very yummy. Try Khao Tom Mon... very very yummy.. Note : No restaurants or shops available nearby. Have to drive to saiyok waterfall if you need anything.. restaurant here closes at
Reviewed November 19, 2012
6.3
Good
suwikhun from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
nice place to get away from city”
nice place
nice hotel but need to be renovated.staffs should have been trained to recommend or promote their own attractions and nearby.
Reviewed October 31, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Anne-Claire from France
Couple
superior plus
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Nice hotel/resort in beautiful natural setting ”
beautiful accomodation in characteristic buildings in the forest, mineral water swimming pool
We had a great weekend in this quiet resort in the forest
Reviewed August 30, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Anna from South Africa
Couple
superior plus
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Great location. Rooms great.”
Forresty location.
Our room had a few things out of order but they immediately fixed them. The staff is friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much and our guests were delighted with the perfect setting.
Reviewed August 06, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
philippa from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
This Place is Amazing”
If you want quiet and Jungle this is the place to go
There is nothing bad to say about this place. The rooms are more than amazing. The staff are superb... the location is peaceful. I booked in for 2 days, stayed 4 and I could have stayed longer.
Reviewed June 30, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Angie from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Amazing place, great for a relaxing getaway!”
Room, Surroundings, Natural, Mineral Pool
We were the only people staying at the hotel, it was lovely, peaceful and tranquil. Apart from American breakfast, there was only Thai food on the menu, but it was really good food. The room was a highlight for us, it was huge, with a lovely wooden decor. Great value for money.
Reviewed May 20, 2012
7.0
Very good
phatcharee from Thailand
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2012
Far from the madding crowds”
quiet hotel
breakfast was not great but the pool so nice very relaxing place.
Reviewed January 31, 2012
5.7
Helge from Germany
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2011
situated in the forest right above the river kwae”
big rooms, nice bathroom, quiet forrest location
the hotel is nicely situated in the forest on the cliff overlooking river kwae. the rooms are quite different, while the forest rooms are way nicer and bigger and cleaner than the hill ones! they could take a bit more care about their gardens, wich look a bit "wild"... dont expect anything from the breakfast!
Reviewed January 11, 2012
6.3
Good
Keith from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
In the forest”
Natural setting
the resort is set in a lovely forest setting with individual houses. of course you do need your own car as there is no public transport and the resort is about 1.5 km from the main road 323. it is about 60 km from kan'buri so think about that. the room we had was good especially the shower which is open to the sky and with nice stones on the floor and walls. staff good. sadly food in the restaurant not very tasty and breakfast very basic.
Reviewed January 10, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Witawat from Thailand
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2011
Warm welcome, Great Survice, Very nice nature”
Warm welcome, Great Survice, Very nice nature, Clean room
I love Mom Chailai Hotel so much. Very warm welcome. The service was very nice. I like the very clean swimming pool because it made me swim in the forest. I hope to go there again.
Reviewed October 26, 2011
7.0
Very good
Janne from Finland
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
Great place”
Quiet, unique, couzy
We had nice time in the Hotel. There were some different activities available in Sayok Noy, so we rented our own driver and looked the different places there. Very unique experience. The view to the river is great and it's like living in a forrest. Having an own tree house.
Reviewed October 19, 2011
6.3
Good
Vissanurak from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2011
Natural style hote”
Like you stay in the forest if you like natural. Polite service.
If you like to stay in the forest, this one is good. However, it is a bit far from the market and traveling spot. In side not much food. Staffs were trained well. Very polite.
Reviewed February 11, 2011
4.7
Evelyne from France
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
une location dans la jungle”
l'environnement, l'isolement, la solitude extrême
Nous n'avons pas apprécié nôtre séjour : arrivés dans une jungle très peu éclairée, un accueil absent, un long chemin jusqu'aux chambres, peu rassurant. Personne le matin pour nous indiquer le lieu où déjeuner. Nous n'avons croisé personne au moment du départ et sommes partis sans déjeuner ni check out. Un lieu pour des Indiana Jones...
Reviewed November 17, 2014
4.7
Evelyne from France
Couple
superior plus
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
bienvenue dans la jungle”
solitude, calme, vie sauvage
Pour ceux qui n'ont pas peur de la vie sauvage, des surprises de la jungle, de la solitude totale, mais ce ne fut pas de nôtre goût. Pas d'accueil, nous n'avons vu personne pour nous indiquer ou se prenait le petit déjeuner. Nous sommes partis "comme des voleurs" ... Ce n'était pas fait pour nous trop habitués à la civilisation !
Reviewed November 14, 2014
8.0
Excellent
philippe from France
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
hotel dans la jungle, mais un charme fou”
Les chambres sont extra, vraiments superbes
Bel hôtel, perdu dans la jungle. Nécessite une voiture, et complétement hors des groupes de touristes car chaque chambre est différente. Les chambres sont belles et spacieuses perdues dans un écran de verdure. Super. Personnel très attentif et souriant, avec petit déjeuner copieux.
Reviewed August 13, 2012
7.3
Very good
jean from France
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
hotel agréable, accueil plus que corect ”
calme, tranquilité, ideal pour déstressé
malgré la pluie et l'humidité séjour très agréable, on l'impression qu'on est seul au monde, accueil tout sourire, petits chalets disséminés dans la forêt en bordure d'une falaise surplombant la rivière Kwai, idéal pour décompresser
Reviewed August 04, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
ollivier from France
Couple
superior plus
Stayed 1 night in January 2012
Très sympa et surprenant ”
Calme, confort
un hôtel très sympa, au fond de la foret. ne soyez pas inquiet lors de l'approche, le site est extraordinaire et très confortable. on y dine très bien en pleine foret.
Reviewed January 11, 2012
9.2
Exceptional
Juergen from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Tolle Alleinlage oberhalb des River Kwai”
Es waren nur wenige Gaeste im Resort. Aus diesem Grund war das Restaurant geschlossen. Die Anlage haette mehr Gaeste verdient. Fusslaefig ist nichts zu erreichen. Man braucht ein Fahrzeug um zum naechsten Restaurant zu gelangen. Bis auf die Jungle-Geraeuche habe ich die himmlich Ruhe und den Ausblick auf den River Kwai genossen.
Reviewed March 05, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Corinne from Switzerland
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in November 2016
Wunderbar”
Alles super!
Reviewed November 17, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
David from Germany
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Super schönes Dschungel-Hotel”
Bungalow, Essen, Umgebung
Sehr schönes Natur-Hotel, versteckt im Dschungel mit tollen Bungalows und sehr netten Mitarbeiterinnen, die sogar einem Bungalow-Wechsel zustimmten, da ein anderer mehr zusagte. Sehr ruhig gelegen mit Pool und tollem Restaurant!
Reviewed December 01, 2015
2.3
Nicola from Germany
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Oase in the middle of nowhere”
Ausstattung, Mitarbeiter, Ruhe
Ein kleines Paradies, in dem man Ruhe und Abstand findet. Die Mitarbeitenden könnten nicht freudnlicher sein.
Reviewed February 04, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Hiltrud from Germany
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Ein Paradies für erholsame Tage”
wunderbare Lage, besonders schöne Zimmer, gute Atmosphäre
Wir hatten wunderschöne, ruhige Tage in erholsamer Umgebung. Es ist dort eine ganz besondere Stimmung und uns hat es sehr gut gefallen.
Reviewed April 09, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Una from Germany
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Dschungelfeeling”
Bungalow, Gärten, Pool
Reviewed March 06, 2014
6.7
Good
Melanie from Germany
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Einsames Dschungelhotel”
Tiere und Natur
Mein Freund und ich waren während unseres Aufenthalts die einzigen Gäste und durften uns ein Zimmer aussuchen. Die Bungalows befinden sich in einer traumhaften, tropischen Dschungelanlage und sind sehr geschmackvoll eingerichtet. Einziger Nachteil im Bad: die Wand zur Dusche hin ist oben offen, so das Geckos und Eidechsen ein leichtes Sppiel hatten, in unser Zimmer zu gelangen. Leider hat das die Nächte erheblich beeinflusst und wir sind nicht wirklich zu einem geruhsamen Schlaf gekomen, da wir wussten, das große Eidechsen an unserer Zimmerwand krabbeln. Die Dschungelgeräusche sind nachts sehr laut und hören erst in den Morgenstunden auf. Leider gab es noch ein unerfreuliches Erlebnis an einem Abend: beim Duschen entdeckte ich oben am Fenster einen Spanner. Ich habe den Vorfall gemeldet. Win, der Hotelmanager, entschuldigte sich dafür. Wer der Spanner war, wurde leider nicht aufgeklärt. Zu Win wäre noch zu sagen, das er wirklich zuvorkommend und freundlich war und uns auch viel privates erzählt hat und uns über einige thailändishce Sitten und Gebräuche aufklärte. Das Essen im Mom Chailai ist sehr einfach, aber ausreichend. Wer hier Urlaub macht, sollte sich im Klaren sein, dass das Hotel sehr einsam liegt und man auf den Fahrservice vom Hotel angewiesen ist, wenn man irgendwo hin möchte. Für uns war der Aufenthalt sehr abenteuerlich, zu einsam und abgeschieden.
Reviewed August 18, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Federica from Italy
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Hotel bellissimo”
Location, camere, panorama
L'hotel è posizionastao sulla riva di un canyon in un ambientazione selvaggia all'interno di una bel tratto di foresta. Le camere sono molto spaziose e con un design in tema con la natura circostante. Unica pecca è il bagno praticamnte all'aperto. Alla sera fa fresco e non è proprio piacevole spogliarsi a quella temperatura. Piscina bellissima.
Reviewed January 10, 2014
7.0
Very good
lotte from Netherlands
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
prima hotel, verweg van watervallen”
rust, goed eten
Prima. Erg afgelegen. Met bus en scooter er uiteindelijk gekomen. 1nacht via agoda geboekt, we dachten dat we vlakbij de erawan waterval zaten. Niet dus. Dat was 60km verderop. Ze bieden wel de service om je heen en weer te brengen moet je alleen 20euro (800 bath) pp voor betalen.
Reviewed November 26, 2014
6.0
lucas from Netherlands
Couple
superior plus
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Great location with spacious jungle type rooms”
Location
The location is great in a forest on the river, the downside is that on the other side there is a busy spa and there are noisy longtailboats bringing and fetching guests all the time and there is the constant noise of a generator. Furthermore we were very happy with mr. Win, but the rest of the staff is inadequate. Not friendly and not able to speak a single word of English. Food is not very special. Matrass is stone hard.
Reviewed January 12, 2013
9.2
Exceptional
Yoji from Japan
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
ドイツの香り”
森の中のドイツ人オーナーのホテルでとてもよかったです。
Reviewed February 18, 2018
4.8
MIKAKO from Japan
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
自然度100%”
自然度100%のリゾート。他の宿泊客のいない日は怖いくらい寂しい。一番山奥の部屋は、フロント(朝食場所)までかなり歩くので、フロント棟の近くを予約することをおすすめ。 朝食は、お粥かアメリカンブレックファーストのいずれか選択。 モン族の料理があるが、それは美味しかった。 プールは湧き水を使用しているので、塩素の臭いもなくきれい。
Reviewed November 25, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
SHIN from Thailand
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
最高の環境”
夜道が多少怖いけど、スタッフさんも親切だし、施設も綺麗で、静かで最高の環境。ご飯もリーズナブルで美味しかった。
Reviewed April 18, 2017
6.0
Koko from Japan
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
本当に森の中”
スタッフの対応 自然 雰囲気
本当に森の中にありました。辿り着くまでが大変。車がなければ事前にスタッフに連絡して送迎をお願いしないと無理だと思います。対応してくれた方がとても英語が上手でコミュニケーションには問題ありませんでした。電車に乗るために早朝にチェックアウトしましたが、いやな顔をせず対応してくれました。ロケーション以外はとても良いホテル。
Reviewed October 21, 2015
8.0
Excellent
hasegawa from Japan
Couple
superior plus
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
森の中のホテル”
部屋の雰囲気が良い
家具や部屋の作りなどとてもきれいでした。ただ、大自然の中だけあって、夜にお風呂場に大量のありが、、、
Reviewed March 07, 2013
5.6
chanyanut from Thailand
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
บรรยากาศดี สดชื่น ใกล้ชิดธรรมชาติ”
สิ่งอำนวยความสะดวกน้อย น่าจะรองรับชาวต่างชาติมากกว่า
Reviewed January 07, 2018
7.6
Very good
Thanatcha from Thailand
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
ชอบมากๆเลย”
สำหรับคนที่ชอบธรรมชาติหรือคนที่อยากหนีความวุ่นวายไปหาอากาศบริสุทธิ์ก็แนะนำที่นี่เลย แอร์หนาวมาก ตรงหอคอยที่มี3ชั้นชั้น1สวยโคตรแถมใหญ่ ชั้น2ชั้น3อยู่แล้วรู้สึกเหมือนตัวเองเป็นเมียทาร์ซาน โดยรวมดีมากคนในกลุ่มทุกคนชอบ แต่สำหรับคนรักธรรมชาตินะคนที่รักความหรูหราไม่แนะนำ
Reviewed December 11, 2017
2.4
Nattthaya from Thailand
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
เก่ามากค่ะ ควรปรับปรุงทุกเรื่องด่วน ไปดูสถานที่จริงแล้วไม่เหมือนในรูปที่โฆษณา ”
พักไม่ได้ เก่ามาก สกปรก ขอเงินคืนก็ไม่ได้ จนท บอก เขาไม่ได้รับเงิน agoda รับเงิน ให้รับเงินคืนที่ agoda เอง ใครจะรับผิดชอบคืนเงินให้ ตัดบัตรไปแล้ว ควรจะใส่รูปที่เป็นปัจจุบัน จะได้ตัดสินใจได้ง่ายขึ้น
Reviewed November 20, 2017
7.2
Very good
Maneerat from Thailand
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Very good”
เงียบสงบมาก บรรยากาศเป็นธรรมชาติ ตัวบ้านเก่านิดหน่อยตามกาลเวลา เหมาะกับการพักผ่อนหลีกหนีความวุ่นวาย
Reviewed August 21, 2017
5.2
Amnard from Thailand
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
พนักงานต้อนรับดีแต่สถานที่ทรุดโทรม”
พนักงานต้อนรับดีมาก และช่วยเหลือสิ่งที่ขอเท่าที่ทำได้ แต่สถานที่ทรุดโทรม ทีวีในห้องใช้งานไม่ได้ และมีมดแมลงและหนูเข้ามาในห้อง เนื่องจากห้องพักอยู่ติดป่า
Reviewed July 24, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Phattharachit from Thailand
Family with teens
superior plus
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Classic แบบธรรมชาติ”
รกรุงรังไปหน่อย เหมือนขาดการดูแล ปรับปรุง ความสะอาดโอเค บริการดี อบอุ่น
Reviewed October 25, 2016
6.0
piyachai from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
เหมาะแก่การพักผ่อนกับธรรมชาติ”
ที่พักสวยงามกว้างสะบาย แต่ขาดการดูแล เงียบสงบดี
Reviewed August 21, 2016
4.8
pornsiri from Thailand
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
เก่าแล้วไม่รักษา”
คือในห้องเก่ามาก หน้าห้องพักมีบ่อน้ำปล่อยให้เป็นดินดำๆดูเน่า???? คิดว่าตอนใหม่ๆน่าจะสวย แต่ตอนนี้โทรมหมดแล้ว
Reviewed July 23, 2016