Book Now: Mookai Hotel

Good
From 288 reviewsSee what guests said
6.1
/
10

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (288)Booking.com Reviews (70)
6.1
/
10
Good
From 288 reviews
Cleanliness5.8
Facilities5.8
Location7.9
Room comfort and quality6.3
Service5.6
Value for money5.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
한국어
more
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 268 verified guest comments
6.3
Good
Dzulkafli from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Staff was not friendly at all. ”
Location, nearby restaurant for food
Surprising the staff was not friendly at all. The staff at the front desk shouldn't be there at the first place. No smile, no wish and in their own world. No towel available in the room until requested. It took them 20 minutes to deliver. Poor towel condition.
Reviewed August 26, 2014
5.3
rong from China
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in August 2014
terrible experience”
nice staff only
will never come back again!
Reviewed August 20, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Chih from Taiwan
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
Really nice staff and service”
Location, Nice Staff and Price
Reviewed May 23, 2014
3.0
Barry from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
over-night stay waiting for a transfer.”
location to airport
Terrible - stained sheets, hair, broken light etc
Reviewed May 03, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Tom from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Mookai Male central for Maldives”
Ocean & harbour view, rooftop swimming pool, location close to ferries & restaurants
I enjoyed my stay at Mookai primarily because of its ideal location next to ferry terminal for airport Island & other Islands + diving excursions as well as near excellent cafes & restaurants. Also, had nice harbour & sea view from room & from balcony. Also, hotel had small but effective rooftop pool with excellent views to artificial beach in Male, etc. the room was large & comfortable with ensuite & various English channels on the TV eg Oz Tennis grand slam. Facilities were overall very good except for limited supple of toiletries. I was disappointed hotel did not provide breakfast but it did give me the opportunity to partake of the excellent buffet brekky for only 120 RF at the Sea House restaurant w/splendid views of the harbour & sea & other Islands incl Hulhule w/international airport. One of the few Internet cafes is near the hotel & surprisingly inexpensive. Friendly hotel staff helped me locate the cafe.
Reviewed January 29, 2014
6.0
ALAMEEN from India
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Its a Transit Hotel (Period)”
1. Near to Airport Ferry
Reviewed October 17, 2013
4.0
Jacek from Poland
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
Choose the hotel only in emergency!”
localisation, internet,
Sleep only if you have to !!! It's much better to travel straight to the Atolls or just choose another hotel on the airport ...
Reviewed September 26, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Roberto from Italy
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Nice and good price”
Location, price, staff
I appreciated the friendly staff and the perfect location of the airport. Remarkable that they provided me a room 730 in the morning without extra money.
Reviewed July 25, 2013
7.3
Very good
Chee from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Convenient. But safety is a question.”
Location, location, location
At about 1AM, someone unlocked the door, luckily we had the door-chain on.
Reviewed July 17, 2013
6.0
Pimmada from Thailand
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Good for honeymooner”
Good for honeymooner
The best hotel to stay when you are in Male CIty, the capital of Republic of Maldives. The rooftop swimming pool and sauna bath is excellent and this hotel is overlooking the airport island where you will get a complete view of the sea and different islands. The rooms are very good and the amenities are also very nice
Reviewed February 26, 2013
6.0
Jun from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
hotel with great location”
easy access to places
have a kitchen in the living room,but they should improve on amenities. the staff are friendly and helpful. room is spacious. there are cafes around the area. there is no breakfast included but there are cafe open early in the morning around the hotel area.
Reviewed January 02, 2013
7.0
Very good
Jun from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Simple and convenient”
Near to airport ferry
Old furnitures but convenient to access shops and easy to navigate. hotel rooms are spacious, amendities are sufficient, there is a living room for about every 2 rooms. There are cafes nearby the hotel.
Reviewed November 21, 2012
7.0
Very good
Jun from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Great Location”
Easy to go around from the hotel
It is near the airport ferry and easy to navigate. There is a nice cosy cafe round the corner too. There are sovernir shops around as well. The hotel does not provide breakfast but we can have a nice breakfast in the hotel opposite Mookai. Mookai is like an apartment where there is a kitchenette provided too. But however, the furnitures and appliances are abit old and may not be functioning well.
Reviewed November 19, 2012
5.0
mohammed from Bangladesh
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Rooms are too small”
Location probably
The hotel is not at all uP to the standard. The rooms are very small and very shabby. Rooms are not clean at all and the pictures and the real scenario is completely different. Not a good value for money. I would not want to go back again to this hotel.
Reviewed October 23, 2012
4.3
Kelvin from New Zealand
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 13 nights in September 2012
None”
Nothing
Extremely disappointing. Most of the things that were wrong got fixed but they should have been picked up during servicing and not our complaints.
Reviewed October 15, 2012
7.0
Very good
Rehan from Pakistan
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Covinient Location ”
Location, friendly staff
The location of the hotel is excellent and very close to ferry stop. Also I got a very good surprise when i came to know that instead of superior room i was given the royal suite on the top floor. All in all good service and reasonable if you compare it with other hotels in Malee.
Reviewed July 21, 2012
4.7
Alexandre from Indonesia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
One Stay is enough”
The hotel allowed us to check out at 16.00
Very unhappy about the hotel Tiny room, Noise from downstairs is loud. All the employees, seem to have long face, very2 unhelpful The receptionist had no id about tourist place, even send to wrong place. The good thing, they allowed us to check out at 1600. This is one of stay, will not stay in here for sure
Reviewed July 15, 2012
7.0
Very good
Jun from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in June 2012
Good location”
Near Jetty
Nice staff who are very professional. They try to meet our requests. But the cleanliness of room can be improve. Old furnitures, some air con is not working. No toiletries but there is a hair dryer.
Reviewed July 06, 2012
6.7
Good
Jun from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012
Mookai Hotel”
Staff are very friendly and knowledgeable
The room looks abit dim and old furnitures but as for a business traveller, it is okay as we just need a place to stay for the night.
Reviewed June 22, 2012
6.7
Good
Edward from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in May 2012
Great Location for Airport Transfer”
Easy to find when you get off the Airport Ferry
Nice hotel - clean, if you need two or three rooms you can wind up with an apartment which gives you even more space. The pool is nice on the roof. There are many cafe's nearby for breakfast and other meals. Great place to stay if you want to have a reasonable priced hotel with a pool!
Reviewed June 10, 2012
7.3
Very good
Edward from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in May 2012
Great Location for access to the Jetty”
Great view from my room - nice pool
I did my open water diving course with The Maldives Dive Club and used this as my base - easy to access the Jetty where I met with them each day and then relax by the pool afterwards before going out for dinner in the evening. Plenty of Cafe's nearby for breakfast and shops for buying snacks etc. Not far from the start of the High Street.
Reviewed June 10, 2012
5.0
Metee from Thailand
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
Just good enough for 1 night stopover”
Good location, just a walking distance from ferry.
We booked for a room for 2 adults with 1 kid. They first gave us a room with no extra bed and it was very stuffy. We had to ask for the room change, the one with extra bed (as what we already paid for).. The room is better, although still a bit stuffy but much better than the first one. Overall not really clean. The hotel is just barely good enough for 1 night stopover. Luckily our room air-cond is cool.
Reviewed April 13, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Douglas from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
great location ,near ferry terminal ”
quiet ,good for a stop over
great hotel for a stop over ,and reasonable price as well ,it was quiet with air con what you need if you have jet lag ,they have a pool on the 9th floor which is great to relax by .
Reviewed April 10, 2012
7.7
Very good
Thivager from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2012
good location”
location
simple and nice..good location..walking distance from ferry terminal...easy to find food around...jus for stay..canot do anything here...jus good for overnite stay...
Reviewed January 31, 2012
6.0
Graham from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
Old but comfortable place , ideal for transit only”
Wireless internet surprisingly good, aircons and hot water all working
After reading previous reviews on the hotel my expectations were not high and hopefully not prejudiced . Therefore , I was not too disappointed. Hotel is small, rooms were adequate size wise and amenities non existent but I was luckier than others with the aircon , hot water and wireless internet all functioning well. Rooms , however , were drab and are actually a lot older than the pictures. No breakfast offered but its available next door and there are a few options outside for eating at any time which I would suggest is preferable.Male is a transit stop only so its bearable but like all sub-continent hotels, quite expensive for what you get.
Reviewed January 30, 2012
7.3
Very good
Richard from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2011
For Male' - a good hotel”
Good location - convenient for the Dhoni to/from the airport
The hotel is adequate and OK for the price. The rooms are a reasonable size (they can be tiny in Male'). The location is good. I would stay here again.
Reviewed January 11, 2012
7.3
Very good
David from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2011
Handy and clean”
Close to airport ferry.
Rooms small and a little run down but clean and comfortable. No in hotel restaurant but close to a few restaurants. Had a nice view from our balcony and the A/C unit barely kept up but OK. We would stay again for a night or two.
Reviewed January 06, 2012
6.7
Good
Baljinnyam from Mongolia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
Great location but small rooms”
selling points
male is nice the best reviews are honest, calm, non-biased and open-minded accounts, backed up by real experiences and examples. an unfavorable account can be as helpful as a rave review but should never be a rude or obnoxious rant. remember that every person is different and likes different things. your review should help other travelers decide whether a hotel is right for them.
Reviewed December 20, 2011
5.0
June from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2011
Small and badly-maintained room but good location”
Location
the room we got was small and the furniture is old and worn. the air-conditioner did not function too well and the electricity went off at about 2 am, so we had to sleep with the windows opened. that said, the location is good as it is only a few minutes walk to the jetty if one wants a boat transfer to the airport. the breakfast is basic. there is no storage room for luggage in the reception area. guests who have checked out are allowed to leave their luggage in the waiting area near the reception.
Reviewed November 30, 2011
7.7
Very good
Edward from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 18 nights in July 2011
Easy location, great staff, good size rooms”
The swimming pool was a nice surprise and how flexible the accommodation is
My first trip to Male, I got off the airport ferry and could see the Hotel from the jetty - easy 2 minutes walk to get to it. I didn't have brealfast included in the room, which turned out to be a good thing, the Hotel has a deal with the next door hotel for breakfast and I decided rather than go to another hotel I'll try the Cafe's...great breakfast and better value than the hotel cost. The room was of a good size, slightly dated but clean, it seems that you could rent 2 or 3 rooms and have a suite, which might be good for a large family on holiday. You walk through a locable door to what looks like a lounge and there are 3 bedrooms off this. The staff were great and really helpful, there isn't anything they would do to help your stay.
Reviewed November 12, 2011
6.7
Good
Suzanne
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2011
Ok hotel, fine for a transfer”
Easy location to get from the wharves
We stayed here overnight as our flight came in very late. The hotel was very close to the main wharves where we arrived from the airport (you have to take a ferry from the airport island to Male) however the hotel itself was very basic. The bed was quite hard, the shower was awkward to use because the detachable shower head was on a very short hose so you had to bend down to use it.
Reviewed November 11, 2011
5.0
Arporn from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2011
Small but easy to go to”
Good location for transit
Small room but comfortable for us as one night stay.
Reviewed November 07, 2011
7.0
Very good
Iwan
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2011
Good Service, good location, ”
pros: Near from the jetty,
Nice hotel, small but clean, perfect location, it only takes us less than 5 minutes walk from the jetty to the hotel. the reception very helpful, they arrange my departure to the resort. unfortunately I can't get some sleep because the noise from the ferry which come n go every 15 minutes or so. over all I think it's a good hotel for transit only.
Reviewed November 03, 2011
5.7
William from United States
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2011
Great location - not a luxury hotel ”
Location - on airport island, can get alcoholic beverage
this hotel is not worth the price charged. the location is fantastic, service was very good, they prepared breakfast at 4am so we could eat before catching our sea plane, but the price of the room ( for an extra bed for my daughter) was certainly way too high. there was water leaking from the ceiling in the shower, the air conditioning stopped in the middle of the night, and the room was rather small. next time i would stay in male', even for short night rather than stay at this hotel at the prices they charge. priced like a 5-star, luxury hotel, but have stayed in 2 star hotels that were better from a price/performance perspective.
Reviewed October 26, 2011
7.0
Very good
Wai from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2011
Small but does the job!”
It is very close to the airport ferry terminal
We picked this hotel because this is very close to the airport ferry terminal - literally less than 5 minutes walk so this is perfect. Though at nights it might be slightly confusing - though i don't think this is specific to this hotel - just that Male is a small place and at times can be chaotic because of traffic. Don't expect too much from the room - very small - but good enough for a night rest.
Reviewed October 24, 2011
4.3
firoze from India
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2011
great location but small rooms”
location is just 2 min from jetty in city
rooms are quite untiddy and old.location is the main plus point of this hotel.staff was cooperative and friendly.
Reviewed October 23, 2011
6.7
Good
Tong from China
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2011
Room is okay, but poor service”
Good location
This is a small hotel but rooms are clean. You only need to walk 7 mins after you get off from the ferry. But the problem is the staffs not being so friendly. I asked them the time for the pick up by the other hotel. They just give me the phone and not helpful at all. I think they could do a little more than that. Anyway, I will not come back for this hotel.
Reviewed October 20, 2011
7.0
Very good
Timothy from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2011
Clean Hotel, great location perfect for transit ”
Location
We arrived late into Male (10:30pm) so we opted to stay for a night before transferring to our resort the next day. The location of this hotel makes it perfect for a quick transit stop, after a short ferry ride from the airport ( USD per person) it is literately only 100-200m from the wharf and makes for a quick walk even with luggage. The rooms are simple but clean, the bed wasn't the most comfortable but after 14 hours of flying I fell to sleep quickly. We had a decent view from our room on the 7th floor. I wouldn't want to spend a week at this hotel but its perfect for a decently priced 1 night stop over.
Reviewed October 14, 2011
6.0
Paul from China
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in September 2011
Good location”
walking distance to the airport express pier
very close to the airport express pier, just walk within 1 minutes. that is very good to those traveller who is the first time to male, especially those late night arrival flight at 11pm. hotel is comfort and swimming pool is very small, just better than nothing. no breakfast supplied, actually the resturant was closed. if breakfast is needed, go to the other hotel resturant just in opposite, that provides buffet lunch and dinner.
Reviewed October 13, 2011
6.0
Michael from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2011
Great location but needs a remodel”
Location near airport ferrys. Good restaurants with easy walking
adequate facilities but rather run down. bathroom fixtures in working condition. tv was very small. there are other hotels nearby that look more modern.
Reviewed October 03, 2011
7.7
Very good
Shirly from Indonesia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2011
Good location”
within walking distance
we were arrive around night time in male airport and we decided to go to the hotel by ourself since we learn that the hotel location is just within walking distance. thanks to the comment from other travellers. the hotel is centrally located and easily accessible from the dony jetty. there is convenience store locate near by the hotel.
Reviewed September 29, 2011
3.7
William from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
Not Value for the money ”
Over priced compare to the hotel just next door..
The hotel is not value for Money with the kind of amount it charge with almost no services in the hotel. I compare to the other hotel just next door, it priced much cheaper and look more value for money. I will not recommend to stay again in this hotel if i visit Male again..
Reviewed September 27, 2011
6.7
Good
Jane from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
Good location, air conditioning did not work”
Clean and convenient to the airport
I stayed here for two nights prior to boarding a liveaboard in order to adjust to the time change. The room was clean, and the bed was fairly comfortable. My only complaint is that the air conditioning did not work. After almost 24 hours of traveling, a cool room would have made a big difference. I tried opening the window but my room was right above the busy dock, so it was either hot and quiet, or relatively cool and very noisy.
Reviewed September 21, 2011
7.0
Very good
SARAH from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2011
Good overnight option and close to ferry terminal.”
Location
Very convienient location, only a few hundred mtrs from the ferry terminal. A good overnight option, while waiting to catch a liveaboard or Island Flight, but wouldn't want to stay for an extended time. Rooms varied from shoe box size to quite spacious, but were adequate for an overnight stay. Pool very small, with little space to sit around, quite uncomforable.
Reviewed September 16, 2011
7.0
Very good
SOHAIL from Pakistan
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2011
Convenient for an overnight stay”
proximity to the boats
My wife and I travelled to the Maldives during the first week of September. Our connecting flight from Colombo came in at 00.30 in the morning and we had to leave our Island destination at 10:00 am so we needed a comfortable little place to spend the night. The best thing about the Mookai is the location. It is virtually a two minute walk from the airport arrival jetty at Male and we certainly appreciated that as we were tired when we arrived. We initially got a room on the top floor with a great view but it contained 3 single beds. We requested a room with a double bed and were granted that but it was a comparatively smaller room on the second floor with a view of the street. The room phone was not working which was a hassle but the air conditioning worked fine and the room was otherwise quite clean. Bathroom was again very small but with running hot water (no amenities like toothpaste etc). All in all a good choice if you are looking for an overnight stay and want a place close to the boats.
Reviewed September 16, 2011
5.7
Jonathan from United Kingdom
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2011
Great location but rate is a bit high”
Very close to airport ferry
Great location but rate is a bit high for the the quality provided. I was misled by the pictures , it shows colorful and good atmosphere in the pictures, however when I arrive it is totally a different story. Despite the cons above, the staff is helpful. and given it is easy to access to the airport ferry, I won't complain.
Reviewed September 15, 2011
6.3
Good
vinita from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2011
All about location”
the location. very near to the port
ideal for only one night stay before heading to island resort
Reviewed September 07, 2011
6.7
Good
Hansen from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2011
Serviceable, clean enough, nice staff”
Very close to airport ferry
After returning from a top-end resort, of course we knew this hotel would be a let down. But to be fair, it was a good choice for a short overnight and it was very close to the airport ferry. The receptionist in the lobby was very nice and directed us to a great local restaurant where we got to sample real Maldivian cuisine (the food at the resorts is outstanding, but of course not what the locals eat). The free Wi-Fi was a great bonus. It was clean enough, but still a bit dirty and old. But it served the purpose, and is recommended for a decent place to stay.
Reviewed August 10, 2011
3.7
Guida from Portugal
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2011
small rooms, poor quality for the money, near jets”
Near the boats that takes you to the jets
one night stay as we arrived male at 00h30 and there were no jets available at that hour for the resort. the room is very small, very old furniture and not very clean. is too much money for the quality. the only thing positive is that is very near the boats that takes you to the jets. fortunatly we left very early to our paradise resort.
Reviewed July 30, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Hafiz
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2011
Excellent for a short stay”
Close to Male Airport, courteous staff
our flight landed at 12 midnight so we decided to stay a night in male before heading to kurumba resort. the hotel was very close to the airport - it only took us 5 mins to get from the airport to the hotel. the room was cozy, though a little small but good for a nights stay.
Reviewed July 20, 2011