Book Now: Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket

Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket Reviews

Excellent
From 1446 reviewsSee what guests said
8.5
Recommended by 88% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1446)Booking.com Reviews (487)
8.5
Excellent
From 1446 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.6
Facilities8.5
Location8.8
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.5
Value for money8.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
Русский
more
Room type
Superior King Bed
Superior Sea View King Bed
Garden Deluxe King Bed
Family Plunge Pool
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 1326 verified guest comments
5.2
Nick from Australia
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in September 2017
Overpriced”
Karon beach is not a very good location; Movenpic is certainly lacklustre compared to pictures. Best pay more for something more luxurious or less for something no-frills and clean. Cuisine was especially disappointing - nothing toobad, just overpriced and adequate quality.
Reviewed September 12, 2017
7.6
Very good
Wong from Malaysia
Family with young children
Family Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Great resort”
This is a great resort located at a central place within walking distance of everything. The staffs are great. Only complaint was that my wife suffered from severe food poisoning after she had seafood dinner at their restaurant. Hopefully that was just a one off incident.
Reviewed September 11, 2017
Dear Wong, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our sincere apologies for the food poisoning; please rest assured that our resort is compliant with the latest HACCP practices and that regular audits ensure the highest level of cleanliness in our kitchens. I have shared your comments with our Director of Food & Beverage, who will be checking the matter with our suppliers. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards, Stefano C.
Show more
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
9.2
Exceptional
Josephine from Philippines
Couple
Superior Sea View King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Good for couples and family”
We definitely enjoy our stay here in this resort. The staff are nice too and very friendly.
Reviewed September 06, 2017
Dear Josephine, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the friendliness of our team members. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards, Stefano C.
Responded December 06, 2017
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
10.0
Exceptional
Shen from China
Couple
Superior Sea View King Bed
Stayed 6 nights in October 2016
Perfect!!!”
Everything was perfect from them. Perfect location with perfect service. Close to the beach and easy to rent a scooter. Riding along the island is the first thing you wanna do. Delicious breakfast and nice view. Love this place and will come back for sure. :)))
Reviewed August 30, 2017
Dear Shen, Thank you for your time reviewing our property on Agoda. We are pleased to read that you stay with us was prefect and hope to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards, Stefano C.
Responded December 06, 2017
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
6.8
Good
sophie from Australia
Group
Superior King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
Good”
Your kitchen waiters are not quite rude not very happy to help when asked for things. The front staff are very helpful and always very polite. The boys pushing the luggages complained about small tips (20 but) I have given initially
Reviewed July 25, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Mu from China
Family with young children
Superior King Bed
Stayed 7 nights in April 2017
Convenience”
Hotel location is good. Many restaurants and massage store nearby. Few minates to the beach.
Reviewed July 12, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Sultan from Netherlands
Family with young children
Superior Sea View King Bed
Stayed 10 nights in June 2017
Family holiday”
Had a great time. Unfortunately we found our room infested with flying ants after returning from dinner one evening. Room changed within 30 minutes; problem solved. Water pressure is low on the 5th floor; shower is experience falls below my Movenpick experiences. Super friendly staff.
Reviewed July 10, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Fung from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 7 nights in June 2017
Good service”
Nice place with nice service
Reviewed June 28, 2017
7.6
Very good
Richard from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in May 2017
A little dated, but great location”
Having stayed at other Movenpick's before, I expected the overall standard to be similar i.e. excellent. However, this hotel fell a little short of my expectations - the rooms were a little dated, the facilities are starting to show their age, the breakfast wasn't quite as good as Movenpick Jontiem Beach and the staff were a little slower to react. Having said this, it's a lot better than the above suggests and I still enjoyed my stay. It's a great location and I just think the rooms/facilities need modernizing a little to give it back its edge. It could be a fantastic hotel
Reviewed May 11, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Dorothy from Australia
Couple
Plunge Pool Villa King Bed
Stayed 9 nights in April 2017
Beautiful resort, friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was amazing so much variety. ”
Surroundings like shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Also plenty of beauty salons too.
Reviewed May 04, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Caroline from Indonesia
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
so so”
thanks for upgrading to penthouse lots of mosquito in hotel n restaurant birds flew everywhere near breakfast buffet mist cafe studio - staff is licking the spoon that she used to make coffee. reuse it for another customer... so not hygienic
Reviewed April 21, 2017
4.0
Soon from Singapore
Family with young children
Superior Sea View King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017
A disappointing trip”
We have high hopes before the trip but it has been disappointing. The compound is huge but the hotel is dated. For a hotel of this size, the pool is so small. The children playground is closed. There is a aircon area for children but the air is stale. Out of the 3 days I stayed in the hotel, they ran out of pool towels for 2 days!!! This hotel is DISAPPOINTING DISAPPOINTING DISAPPOINTING
Reviewed April 17, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Usman from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Superior King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017
Great service”
Excellent staff and service despite the 3hr wait too check in. The hotel is set in huge grounds which is a positive and a negative.
Reviewed April 14, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Darren from Australia
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 9 nights in March 2017
Beautifully maintained grounds. Friendly staff. Great location. Good breakfast”
Pros - really beautiful setting, well maintained property with lovely pools and friendly, helpful staff Cons - shower/bath in our villa collected water on marble surrounding bath. Outdoor shower did not work
Reviewed April 07, 2017
7.6
Very good
June from Canada
Family with young children
Garden Villa with King Bed
Stayed 6 nights in March 2017
Just Okay”
It's a lovely hotel in a great spot. For the first three days we didn't have hot water and the hotel was very slow to take care of that, which was a bummer. We were in a villa and for what we paid, I felt they should have done more, quicker. The staff were nice, the breakfast was terrific. Happy to go back to Phuket, probably won't stay here again.
Reviewed April 06, 2017
7.6
Very good
Luis from Spain
Couple
Superior Sea View King Bed
Stayed 9 nights in March 2017
Really nice hotel but disappointing sea views”
The hotel is really nice, very good breakfast, very friendly staff, clean, and gorgeus enviroment with very beautiful garden and access to the beach. I booked a room with sea views, but it does not worth it since garden trees are so high that you almost can not see the sea, so do not waste your money
Reviewed March 21, 2017
5.6
Sonja from Norway
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 14 nights in February 2017
Above average”
The price for the rooms are way to high compared to quality! Rooms in hotel looks like 2 star, bungalow like 3 stars and suit like 4 star.. food not good! Staff very polite and friendly
Reviewed March 14, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Ida from Australia
Family with teens
Garden Villa with King Bed
Stayed 9 nights in January 2017
Excellent hotel with beautiful gardens ”
Loved staying at this hotel. The cabanas next to the pool were so convenient and the gardens were just gorgeous. We stayed with another family and they enjoyed it also. Would def come back if I came back to this part of the world.
Reviewed January 14, 2017
7.6
Very good
Gemma from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Family Plunge Pool
Stayed 6 nights in December 2016
Good location. Ok quality”
Hotel staff were great. But the quality of the hotel was a bit dated. The food was so-so for a 5* hotel. Great pool and close to the beach. Just overall it's just a bit dated and there are better hotels in Phuket.
Reviewed January 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Suresh from India
Family with young children
Garden Villa with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Excellent value for money”
Excellent staff, food and Location. We stayed at the Plunge pool villa which was great. Access to the beach and Hotel facilities like the Pool was excellent. My son loved the poolside bar for fresh Juices.
Reviewed December 28, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Yong from Singapore
Family with young children
Superior Sea View King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
A short walking distance to (1) beach, (2) restaurant, and (3) shopping area.”
Generally, the hotel is located near the beach but must walk a short distance. There are many restaurants outside the hotel. Karon Plaza is also near to the hotel.
Reviewed December 27, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
ping from China
Couple
Superior Sea View King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Nice resort”
Love this nice resort
Reviewed December 24, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
ping from China
Couple
Superior Sea View King Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Big resort”
Very nice resort with everything you need
Reviewed December 24, 2016
7.6
Very good
FATHIMA from Singapore
Family with young children
Superior Sea View King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Good Stay.. But Not 5 * ”
Resort May have new renovated rooms. But the one allocated to us was in mail tower and the the room of good but Still the lobby and path way to room is very simple. Not like 5 * Resort Entrance Also not so nice... can be improved. Good but not like 5 star
Reviewed December 22, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Yu from China
Family with young children
Superior Sea View King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Thumbs up”
Great convenient location at Karon beach. We got residence room type facing beach, the view is superb and can see sunset and beach volleyball. The room is also spacious, clean with beautiful contemporary deco, and access to infinity pool. The landscape in the resort is refreshing and nice too. Breakfast is above standard. Most importantly, the staffs are friendly and helpful. We lost swim suited behind and send email with slight hope that they can be found and post to us. Within 2 days I got reply they really have found them and also checked courier fee, which is somewhat reasonable. Thank you Movenpick resort. We had a comfortable stay and absolutely fantastic memory!
Reviewed December 13, 2016
4.8
Farhad from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Disappointed”
Overall disappointment. The rooms look nothing like the photos advertised, there was a smell of damp and I had a cockroach in my room one morning, daily room cleaning had no schedule usually after 12:00. The breakfast was very average and the staff don't appear well trained. The uniforms are dirty and untidy. Definitely not a 5 star experience which is being advertised and we are being charged for. Sorry Movenpick but you will have to do better. Facilities
Reviewed December 13, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Yu from China
Family with young children
Superior King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Beautiful, convenient”
Location is good in Karon beach. We took residence room type, room is nice, deco is modern, spacious, with beautiful beach view. Staff were friendly. I don't mind stay there again if I am staying at Karon beach again next time.
Reviewed December 12, 2016
8.0
Excellent
CHUI from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Sea View King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016
Couple Beach Pool Time”
Tried to get shuttle service. Contacted hotel 4 times but no response. Had to get car myself. Clearly got admin problem, heard other travellers getting room late. Pool and garden landscape was very nice. The proximity to the not very busy Karon beach, ATM, currency exchange, and restaurants, was convenient. Seaview room view was spectacular, but room looks rather 70s. Room service was great. Everything was spotless. Got a cake celebrating birthday. Housekeeping was very good. The crowd was very decent. We saw Russian tourists. Most of them are family. Nothing crazy, nothing annoying.
Reviewed December 01, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
gregg from Australia
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 12 nights in November 2016
....”
.....
Reviewed December 01, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Rungnapa from Thailand
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
nice hotel good location , staff is friendly, pool is nice , ”
restaurant in hotel is expensive but we can go out at beach front or main road had so many restaurant to choose. Will definitely stay here again
Reviewed November 24, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Mae from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2008
Love my room”
I had a great staycation. Everything is awesome
Reviewed November 21, 2016
6.4
Good
Xiao from Singapore
Family with young children
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Satisfactory 2-night stay ”
Good location. facilities and room a bit old.
Reviewed November 02, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Andre from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Sea View King Bed
Stayed 6 nights in October 2016
Room Assistance”
Our room got water leaking from the ceiling, and they tried to arrange another room of the same type for us. The Wi-Fi connection is really poor, but we do appreciate that the technician came over to check and speed it up for us.
Reviewed October 25, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Andre from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Extended stay at the hotel”
Really convenient nearby Karon Beach Road, with vibrant environment and sufficient facilities. Breakfast is alright but can definitely do better. Wi-fi connection in some rooms are very weak.
Reviewed October 25, 2016
6.0
HENG from China
Family with young children
Superior King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
Old facility”
Facility is really old and there are lots of ants in the room. I suggest just some anti-ant dose in the room. The light in the room is too dark, suggest you can give customers more options on the lights adjustment.
Reviewed October 19, 2016
7.6
Very good
Cale from Australia
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 6 nights in September 2016
Perfect location perfect resort ”
Good location front and back access bathroom with bath over shower was a downer to high for even me other than that perfect
Reviewed October 03, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Michelle from Australia
Group
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Grounds oasis”
Grounds with established tropical gardens were lovely and lush. Main pool was great with sections for ball games and water slide sectioned off so could swim without children splashing. Restaurant and coffee shop great to have on site. Grounds were superb and a real oasis from hussle of street outside. Room decor was outdated but still very nice
Reviewed September 30, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Kamran from Pakistan
Solo traveler
Superior Sea View King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016
Suggestion ”
The room and lobby toilets need to be equipped with Muslim showers as they are available in the swimming pool changing rooms / toilets.
Reviewed September 19, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
richard from Australia
Couple
Garden Villa with King Bed
Stayed 9 nights in August 2016
Great location ,garden delux villa unreal”
Location on the beach and near all the shops,bars and the pools are great
Reviewed August 21, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Clifford from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Superior King Bed
Stayed 7 nights in July 2016
really good”
enjoyed my stay
Reviewed August 03, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Sultan from United Arab Emirates
Couple
Penthouse Plunge Pool Villa King Bed
Stayed 6 nights in July 2016
Valueable ”
Good location and was fantastic place
Reviewed July 26, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Yury from Russia
Family with young children
Garden Villa with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Very good one indeed”
Enjoyed being here
Reviewed July 23, 2016
3.6
Mikael from Denmark
Family with teens
Superior Sea View King Bed
Stayed 6 nights in July 2016
Disappointing stay at Movenpick”
Very disappointing stay, half of staff not service minded, some arrogang, not worth the money, definetely not a five star hotel or experience. Will never stay there again nor recommend to others
Reviewed July 20, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Maryanne from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Fantastic stay”
Great value, staff quite attentive and they have a great happy hour
Reviewed July 14, 2016
6.4
Good
Aleksandra from Russia
Family with young children
Superior Sea View King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Good for families with older kids”
As for solo traveller with 1 year old kid this place is totally not suitable. No straight access to the restaurant. Unpleasant for baby stroller. Clean room but in general old hotel. Friendly stuff. Satisfying quality of breakfast. Green territory.
Reviewed July 14, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Jason from United States
Family with young children
Superior Sea View King Bed
Stayed 12 nights in June 2016
Great property for a family vacation”
We stayed here in June 2016 and everything was fantastic. The property has tons of amenities, good dining options, is close to the beach and the staff are excellent.
Reviewed July 13, 2016
6.8
Good
Ashley from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Superior Sea View King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Not baby friendly ”
Assuming it was a child friendly hotel when we booked our girls and bubs trip there. 1. The hotel is quite old. Rooms are old and smelly, baby chairs don't have straps and are very old and dirty as well. 2. There's no ramp or lift for the stroller. You have to carry the stroller up and down a few flights of stairs each time you go in and out. You can get from your room and to the lobby by the lift but there's also two levels down to get to the main restaurant, pool, or actually to get to the ground level. We had to ask staff to help us carry our strollers. Other option was to go on a slight 10 min detour around which left us exposed to rain or sun. 2. The pools are either 30 cm or 3m deep. There's no in between to enjoy walking in the pool with your kid in a lailo. Adult pools are extremely deep and the kids pool is just tiny. 3. The location is good but the walk to the beach is extremely non stroller friendly. 4. Restaurants. The service was very average. To the point when they were bringing the baby pizza with ham and trying to explain that it is not pork it is ham (asked no pork). Typical for Asian countries lack of customisation wasn't expected in a 5 star hotel. We haven't had a single order not mixed up. 5. Food choice is strange. No Thai selection: no pineapple fried rice or Tom yam, no seafood or grill, no green curry. If you have to eat at the hotel (we had to, because we didn't want to walk around with babies at night) don't choose the hotel. There are some nice restaurants around though. 6. Breakfast. Breakfast was nice, not luxurious, but ok. Don't expect smoked salmon or normal coffee, but decent choice. 7. Very slow wifi
Reviewed July 05, 2016
7.2
Very good
Mi from Russia
Family with young children
Suite 1 Bedroom
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
A few days at the resort”
We stayed at the resort for a few days. We were offered upgrade to villa for a fee. We agreed, but the villa wasn't really worth it... Tiny pool, moscitos. Or, probably, our expectations from villa were higher. The resort's territory is huge and it was a bit confusing how to get to the SPA. The main pool is great. The other two aren't. Kids club was great, but we didn't understand why we needed to make a reservation (and wait for an hour) if there were only two-three kids inside the club. Overall, not great value for money...
Reviewed July 02, 2016
7.2
Very good
jesper from Denmark
Family with young children
Superior Sea View King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
not bad”
will go there again
Reviewed June 26, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Siv from Norway
Couple
Garden Deluxe King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Nice place. ”
Nice place
Reviewed June 22, 2016