Book Now: Mukdara Beach Villa & Spa Hotel

Excellent
From 348 reviewsSee what guests said
8.3
/
10
Recommended by 82% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (348)Booking.com Reviews (67)
8.3
/
10
Excellent
From 348 reviews
Cleanliness8.5
Facilities8.4
Location8.6
Room comfort and quality8.4
Service8.4
Value for money8.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (348)
All room types
Showing 313 verified guest comments
7.6
Very good
Walter from Austria
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 5 nights in January 2019
very good beach hotel with lots of retired german tourists”
staff at the reception were not very friedlyy at the 1. view. rooms ok, 2 pools, perfect sunset view at the beach, great breakfast, but seems to have a lot of neckermann or tui tourists here, must be cheap at some sites..was not chep at agoda. but over all i can reccomend. would book a villa next time, if less than 100 a day
Reviewed January 17, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Erling from Singapore
Group
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018
Great location rigth on the beach. Good food. Very poor wifi (non-existent)”
This was our second Christmas/New Years stay at the resort. The location is great and they provide seamless transport from and to Phuket airport. Food is good, but it takes a little long from orderto delivery on table. The wifi is almost non-existent and both us and the neighbour rooms had to address this to the staff every day. The standard answer was «we will ask the it responsible to restart the router». Obviously this did not fix the connection. They will have to improve this drastically before we come back
Reviewed January 06, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Erwan from France
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
great hotel”
this hotel was perfect for our stay in Hoi An.. staff is reactive and rooms absolutely unbeatable for its value. breakfast is also great. best we had in our stay in vietnam. totally recomended
Reviewed November 22, 2018
8.8
Excellent
D'Arcy from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 9 nights in December 2017
Excellent”
Clean and beautifully appointed room with an excellent pool. The beach area was nice and the resort is very well located. The breakfast buffet was only Good, and my one lingering disappointment is the Wi-Fi, which was only working for about half of the 10 days that we stayed at the resort.
Reviewed January 09, 2018
9.7
Exceptional
Adam from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Exactly what we want in a vacation spot!”
Beach/Pool, Location, Bar/Dining options
It was perfect! This was everything you can want in a hotel... well, it's actually a full resort. Its got its own beautiful beach, amazing pools all over the resort, great staff, great dining, plenty of bars..... great location! Just a 2 minute walk from everything Phang Nga has to offer. We will definitely be back. The only possible thing keeping this from being 5 stars from a demanding guest (not us) is that it kind of (but not really) old fashioned in the rooms. But the rooms at the same time were big, clean.. big bathroom, very well maintained. I love the traditional look but that may be the only reason why it's 4 stars and not 5. But for my wife and I this place was 5 stars! By the way the value is unreal!
Reviewed May 24, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Thanakorn from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 7 nights in October 2013
A nice hotel for real relaxation”
1. Close to the beach 2. Clean and comfortable room 3. Friendly staff
I stayed at Mukdara for one week, and during my stay there it was great. Although I came as a solo traveler, the staff made sure that I felt at home as they always smiled, and asked if things were all right. The location of the hotel is good. You can find restaurants and small shops close to the hotel. The restaurant at the hotel was also fine and the price was reasonable. I booked the deluxe royal wing. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very big including all the amenities that I needed. The breakfast was great although the choices were a bit limited. The beach was long, soft and fine. I could take long walks and enjoyed the beauty of the Andaman sea. I would recommend Khao Lak for those who really like to enjoy sun, sand and sea. It's really not a place for nightlife. Sometimes you can get a bit bored if you come alone because there are not many things to do except lying on the beach and swimming. Maybe it's better to come with a friend/friends, or as couple.
Reviewed November 05, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Hannele from Finland
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Nice thaistyle hotel”
Friendly smiling staff
This is a friedly thai style resort with a beautiful gardenarea and directly on the beach. Hotelarea is large with a lot of space. Nearby are many possibilities for dining. Hotel has only one own reataurant.
Reviewed December 16, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Dan from Germany
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 4 nights in August 2011
luxurious hotel with beautiful reception ladies”
great location on the beach, plenty of bars/restaurants around the corner, incredibly nice ladies at reception
we visited the hotel in the low season, i.e. we had it all for ourself. beach was empty, all the 4-5 pools of the hotel were just ours...downside was, also the (lady)bars were empty or even closed. restaurant predominantly open, but closing quite soon in the night, such that starting at 10pm pretty much all was down
Reviewed August 22, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Hannele from Finland
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 4 nights in February 2011
Good atmosphere; friendly staff”
Good location, Nice garden
Hotel has a good location directly besaide the sea. Hotelrooms have no seawiev . On the nearby street you have shopping and dining possibilities. Staff was very friendly and the overall atmosphere was great. Hotel is thaistyle and has very nice garden.
Reviewed March 17, 2011
8.4
Excellent
Carl from Finland
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 5 nights in December 2017
Excellent”
Great pool area, nice big rooms in main building, poor wifi, lots of ok restaurants around.
Reviewed January 06, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Nimko from Netherlands
Couple
Deluxe Jacuzzi Villa
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019
Nice luxe and very charming located resort close to many local restaurants ”
Not the cheapest resort but worth every penny.
Reviewed January 05, 2019
7.2
Very good
Marjut from Finland
Family with teens
Deluxe Villa Garden View
Stayed 5 nights in December 2018
Xmas with family”
+ Nice garden and beach with two swimming pools, not very new but comfortable and cosy! The beach is very good without stones and nice for swimmng! Incredible sunsets! - Wifi didnt work inside rooms. It was breaking down all the time! They tried to fix it but no result! If you dont like animals like birds, lizzards, frogs ... not your place!
Reviewed December 26, 2018
4.8
Simon from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
Hotel did not age well, horrible stay”
I was a the same place about 5 years ago and enjoyed my stay then. Now the place needs a few layers of fresh paint and new management. The check-inn took unusual long even there were hardly any guest. Also they insisted on given them my credit card, even I paid already in advance (w. my credit card / agoda). They told me that was for the mini bar. The mini bar consisted of one bottle of water (40 baht). The whole place looks like abandoned, hardly any staff. But the biggest disappointment was the breakfast, everything was really awful. Even the coffee was undrinkable, no choice and only the absolute cheapest ingredients. The check out took again long time, again to check for the contents of the minibar (sic!) ... So even with a discounted low season price of 16000 Baht it was way overpriced. There are much better options in Khao Lak.
Reviewed August 08, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Stanton from Macau
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Great place.”
Friendly staff, great swimming pool, nice room and great breakfast. Good value for money, got a lot more than what we expected.
Reviewed March 13, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Felix from Germany
Family with young children
Deluxe Villa Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018
Nice Hotel for Families w Children”
We stayed 4 nights at the Mukdara and had a very good time. The staff at the reception is lovely and helpful at all aspects. The gardens are nicely groomed and make it an amazing environment. However on a closer look, the facilities need repair works, which includes the rooms. Unfortunately we had to upgrade the room as there's no hand shower in the Villas (difficult to shower a toddler). The upgraded unit was an exact replace except for the modern Jacuzzi in the bathroom - faucets however were loose so temperature hard to adjust. Water pressure in the sink non-existent. Staff at the breakfast buffet needs to be asked for coffee several times, not very attentive despite being plenty around. Children swimming pool unfortunately full of bugs and dead flies, not given much attention for a cleaning. With a few minor improvements the Mukdara could be an excellent place, with the above points however it makes it just "good".
Reviewed January 16, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Erling from Norway
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 12 nights in December 2017
Great location and facilities, poor wifi”
Great location and facilities. The wi-fi was very unstable, even though the room was located 4 meters from the router, and when up and running it was as very slow. The food was good, but the waiting time for the food took 45 long minutes.
Reviewed January 03, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Frank from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 5 nights in November 2016
A good Choice for Kaoh Lak ”
All in all a nice hotel. Especially the large garden facility. Just be aware that most tourists join the hotel as part of their charter package (thomas cook) and that you will rather not meet up with the typical Thailand Individualist travelers. >50% are tourists from German speaking countries. For friends of more cosy beach hut atmosphere rather chose a different beach ...
Reviewed November 21, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Trevor from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Jacuzzi Villa
Stayed 9 nights in June 2016
Great location, beautiful property”
We just arrived back yesterday. Mukdara was a beautiful Thai style property in a fantastic location. The villa's are just beautiful, the gardens are magnificent and the pools a just fabulous. We stayed in green season and they downsized the buffet breakfast but there was still a lot to choose from and the quality was outstanding. I loved this place and will go back. The only down thing was they packed up the deck chairs from around the beachside pool which meant you had to sit in the coconut grove chairs. The pool assistant was kind enough to leave 2 chairs for us around the pool which was great, but not sure why they packed the others up, it just takes a little of the ambiance away from sitting around the pool. Excellent.
Reviewed June 20, 2016
7.2
Very good
shona from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Villa Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016
Good hotel, spacious rooms and near the Bach ”
I really enjoyed my stay here, the reception staff were wonderful and the room was lovely. The breakfast was great with a wonderful variety and the pool was great . As it was low season easy to find a lounger and no problem with anybody "booking lounges" It might have been because it was the low season but I did find that some light bulbs were out, toiletries were not replaced and e air con was not in top form Overall though a great stay
Reviewed May 09, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Mark from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Jacuzzi Villa
Stayed 12 nights in January 2016
Relaxation”
Location, accommodation, pool.
This was our second visit to Thailand, last year we stayed at a 5 star resort and was quite isolated. We much preferred staying at the Mukdara as it was very conveniently located. On the one side you have Bang Niang beach.where we took a morning stroll after breakfast. In the evening you can also watch the sun setting whilst enjoying cocktails or a beer, happy hour helps knowing you can buy one get one free. you are only a short stroll outside the front of the resort to a good selection of bars and restaurants, and shops where you can get everything you need. There is a local night market where you get clothes shoes and the usual tourist items, and then there is the food. Wow market food was incredible very cheap and real quality I recommend you visit if only to try the food. The grounds at the Mukdara are impeccable and the ground staff do a excellent job they are always busy pruning and tidying etc. I would say the staff overall are brilliant very helpful and cheerful. I would recommend using the hotel transport to and from the airport it is a very enjoyable and relaxing experience and compared to airport prices much cheaper, I would also say safer. We stayed in a deluxe villa which we booked ourselves through agoda and was a very easy process. That said I couldn't get the airport transfer going there despite requesting a form from them which I didn't receive but other than that I booked through agoda as they were £100 cheaper than anyone else. Our villa was brilliant and the outside shower was an experience not to be missed. We came here for the chance to relax and unwind which you will do with no problem I would definitely recommend staying here and using agoda as the booking agent.
Reviewed February 12, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Kenneth from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 5 nights in October 2015
Nice Resort in Good Location”
Location, well maintained, pleasant environment
This is a nice beach front resort with well maintained buildings, pools and gardens. Good sized rooms with all the usual facilities provided. It is situated in one of the busier areas of Khao Lak and so there are shops and restaurants etc only a short walk away.
Reviewed October 14, 2015
8.3
Excellent
David from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Good Hotel for a relaxing stay with good food”
Rooms, Pool, Food
It was a great time! Awesome rooms to a great price. Great breakfast and a great dining meal selection. Pool is big and nice as well. Massage a but too inexperienced, but overall a good hotel. Locatio. Too far from everything. Not worth if you want to do day travels. Better for a stay and relax holiday.
Reviewed August 13, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Joan from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 12 nights in July 2014
Great Beachside Holiday”
Right on beach. Lovely gardens.Friendly staff
Main pool closed for renovations {not told before we went} beachside pool needed a good clean Room very large and comfortable Very quiet with very few holiday makers meals were really good and staff were excellent
Reviewed August 27, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 6 nights in April 2014
Almost a 5 star hotel”
Breakfast, location, gardens and interior decorations
Great. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great breakfasts. Quiet and beautiful landscaping and interior decorations. Very peaceful. Many activities. Tennis courts, exercise gym, two very nice pools. Internet connection was fast and free. My only complaint were the small TV's and lack of channels. Large LCD TV's with a selection of movie channels for the days that it rains would have been nice.
Reviewed May 13, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Ratapoom from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
10 out 10 for this resort. Excellent all around.”
Pool, Beach, Breakfast
This is one of the best hotel I have visited. Great value for your money. Excellent pool. Excellent beach side. Room was very clean. Bathroom inside the rooms are also very nice and clean with excellent water pressure. Excellent services. Breakfast is excellent (delicious bacon). Garden are very soothing. Staffs are very friendly. I didn't want to leave and will definitely find time to go back there again soon. Hats off to management team.
Reviewed May 02, 2014
7.7
Very good
Rosemary from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe Jacuzzi Villa
Stayed 5 nights in April 2014
Pleasant spot for a relaxing break”
Right on the beach, great view of the sunset from the restaurant/bar, friendly staff
Very relaxing, despite the hiccup at check-in. Would like to suggest that the Management fog for mosquitoes more regularly, or that they cut back some of the vegetation around the villas as the mosquitoes were a real nuisance. We found it necessary to spray our room when we went out for dinner to minimise the mozzies in the room overnight. We live in the region, so appreciate that the little flying blood-suckers are a feature of the area but they could be controlled better than they are at the moment. Hence only 3/5 for hotel condition. Otherwise, it would be 4/5.
Reviewed April 22, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Cynthia from Singapore
Group
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Beautiful and relaxing resort. ”
Location is great, rooms are big and comfy, beach is beautiful
Amazing. Great service upon check in with welcome drink and cold towel as weather is too hot in Khao Lak. Location is great with cheap massage just outside the hotel, shopping and restaurants all within walking distance. Strategically located. Breakfast varieties are huge, beach is beautiful and is just infront of the resort. However, it is a distance to walk if you stay in the main building (non villa) of the resort. I will recommend friends and relatives to this resort in Khao Lak.
Reviewed March 31, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Terence from Sweden
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
A Thai Palace in the sun”
Great pools. direct on beach. Quiet
I checked in 3 nights and was so delighted with the quietness and pool and nice staff and Great room really big prolonged my stay annother 5 days.I felt safe too, that is important i think when travelling alone...Would come back again GREAT HOTEL ELEGANT..
Reviewed August 21, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Hakan from Sweden
Family with teens
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013
Great hotel with a fantastic location.”
Wunderful garden with nice pool areas. Fantastc room.
Unfortunatelly to crowded and to much people aruóund the beach pool. Sunbeds very tight. For us Kaoh lak was to much touristic and crowed with big hotels and places. The old nice Thai charm is gone. Some nice restaurants and bars on the beach although but Kkao Lak is to much built nowadays.
Reviewed February 28, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Irene from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
Lovely hotel helpful and pleasant staff”
Good position lovely swimming pools
This hotel is lovely. Beautiful gardens, on the beach, easy access to all restaraunts. The rooms were spacious clean and well furnished. Overall I could not fault anything about my stay there. Breakfast was a feast, and everything fresh and a great choice. Staff were helpful, willing, and efficient. I would most definitely stay there again. A very nice experience.
Reviewed February 19, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
William from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Beautiful hotel right on the beach. Amazing Pool.”
Beach location, Pool.
A beautiful hotel. Rooms are very classy. Staff was extremely friendly with smiles and greetings everywhere. The pool is huge and amazing - one of the best around Thailand. Beach location was great with a second pool beach-side and very good breakfast with a great sea view. Highly recommended.
Reviewed December 07, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Asad from Pakistan
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 5 nights in October 2012
beautiful private beach resort”
private beach, friendly staff
overall a good stay for the price. except for the room finishing and room amenities were not as high of a standard as expected for this type of resort, it felt dreary and aging. the room size is smaller than a few other places i stayed at in khao lak. the location was perfect: private beach + shops/restaurants nearby. the staff was friendly and efficient, just as expected and similar to my previous 2 stays in this area. the breakfast buffet was great, my whole family enjoyed it (the breakfast and their stay at mukdara).
Reviewed November 03, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Ina from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Beautiful resort! Friendly service”
Location, architecture, facilities
My mom and I had a fun time at Mukdara! Wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel is beautiful, with great facilities (swimming pools, beach, tennis courts, gym, bars...). It was a very comfortable stay. At night, the street it's located on comes alive with the laid back music, restaurants, and bars. So much more "Thai" and chill than Phuket. Also, the staff is warm and friendly. Housekeeping would leave us sweet notes and flowers everyday they cleaned our room, and the management sent us fresh fruit!
Reviewed October 27, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Couple
Deluxe Villa Garden View
Stayed 6 nights in September 2012
Most Relaxing Vacation Ever”
Beautiful Setting, lovely room, friendly staff, quiet
We spent a week at Mukdara and loved every minute of it. The location was perfect for us. The grounds are beautiful, the pools are lovely, the setting right on the beach is great! Breakfast was always good, with enough choices each day to satisfy changing appetites. We asked for a ride from the hotel we were staying at in Phuket, and the very friendly drivers were there with big smiles right on time in the morning. We also got a ride back to Phuket and they happily took us to the next hotel we were staying at. The drivers were cautious and the ride was enjoyable. The one thing we would have liked to be better was the comfort of the bed...just too hard for us, but that really is a personal preference
Reviewed October 13, 2012
7.7
Very good
hungsen from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
satisfied..”
great pool, lush garden
This hotel is impressive.. For the price I paid around $ 50 , during low season, was very reasonable. Breakfast was $400 bath if not included. But they will have to pay me to come back because the rain never stopped during my stay in September.
Reviewed September 18, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
JOHN from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
fantastic resort hotel”
room,garden, restaurant, layout of hotel and handy to restaurants, bars, massage etc
we were so happy with this hotel and great value for money. room was superb, room service, cleanliness second to none. pool area and fitness centre all good and buffet breakfast was excellent on every day we were there. staff member porn so helpful and friendly. reception staff great also. would stay there again.
Reviewed September 17, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Parul from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Good standard”
cleanliness, facilities and proximity to beach
stayed here for a few nights during low season so got a great deal. food in restaurant a little overpriced and limited options so chose to eat out instead. the area itself isn't great during monsoon- few tourists so all the shops are empty and you can't walk down the road without being harassed a million times. having said that i hear it's great in high season. hotel itself is def a 4 star, staff are nice although not super warm although most definitely cordial
Reviewed September 01, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Nikki from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 6 nights in August 2012
Beautiful resort with great facilities”
Tennis court, pool area, service
had everything we wanted and more. amazing gardens and pool area and fabulous service in restaurant and front desk. any problems were quickly sorted with ease and a smile. a very peaceful relaxing holiday with no hassles. also great restaurants nearby.
Reviewed August 31, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
simone from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe Villa Garden View
Stayed 6 nights in June 2012
Favourite hotel by far”
Amazing surrounds
Stayed here 6 days and couldnt get enough. Great pool and facilities and lovely gardens. Staff friendly and food very good. Right on the beach and walking distance to other shops/restaurants etc. Cant really say anything wrong with this place.
Reviewed July 12, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
SHARMALA from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012
Pleasant surprise and lovely hotel”
Location, rooms, the beach, food, service.
i wasn't sure what to expect i'd never been to khao lak before and i wasn't even sure if the hotels were actually what they seemed in the websites but mukdara certainly lived up to the hype. i loved the royal wing villa that i stayed in- nothing bad to say about it at all and the staff were always ready to assist me in anything that i needed. sure, sometimes they didn't understand what was beng said, but that can happen anywhere( just speak slower and use words tgar are easily understood;layman's language ). the grounds of the hotel is breathtakingly and painstakingly well landscaped with beautiful ponds, statues, water features and even a waterfall by one of the villas. take the trouble to walk ard and admire them. the beach pool was popular and rightly so. stunning view of the ocean from there and the restaurants were just beside it. rest assured, kids will definitely love this hotel! the only thing that may bother some people is the fact that the wifi is only available at the lobby and you have to ask them for a 1-hour password. so after your hour is up, you will have to ask them for a new pswd again. also, there are tons of mosquitos lurking at the lobby, especially in the evenings. there is a restaurant just beside the hotel that is worth a mention- called mojo. it was newly opened when i went, but already very popular with the guests around the area. joy, the manager provides excellent service and is sincere in taking care of customers.
Reviewed April 13, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Paola from Italy
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
very good”
first choice
very good for the place very close to the beach and quite for all the activities specially for diving to similan islands.staff excellent and breakfast very good from 7 to 10 am internet wifi free of charge 90 minute per day and prices very cheap considering the 5 stars for quality.
Reviewed April 07, 2012
8.3
Excellent
paul from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Villa Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
execellent location”
access to beach ,great garden resort
thai villa style room , huge with bathroom to match,great gardens ,alot of choice for areas to relax ,around the pools or down at the beach,andaman side of thailand much cleaner ,recommend a long stay
Reviewed March 22, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Marko from Finland
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 12 nights in February 2012
On the nice beach, large pools, good location”
Beautiful hotel, lush garden, good beach to swim and have long promenades, rich breakfast buffet
just a few steps away from the noisiest action, but still easy to walk to nearby restaurants and shops. the hotel restaurant is cheap and good and offers a beautiful view to the sunset. if you wish to visit khao lak center, the taxi (150 baht) is required. we were first given the ground floor room (on the royal wing), but the air was a bit dull, so we asked and got a room from the 3rd floor. the bed was quite hard but the reception provided us some mattresses which solved that problem. the staff was effective and helpful, but could improve their english. the rooms were large, clean and nice. the transport arranged by hotel to phuket airport was cheaper than the airport transfer service from phuket to hotel. one has to be an early bird when catching the sun bed, as after the brakfast they were all reserviert.
Reviewed February 20, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
irene from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 5 nights in October 2011
Brilliant hotel, service with a smile at all times”
Large rooms , pools, fantastic beach
the hotel is fantastic in every way the staff are so friendly and polite. rooms are spacious and spotless with excellent housekeeping. bottled water tea coffee making facilities provided. free internet in october with food and drink and room offers with around 20% discount on top of your agoda discount, overall could not be beaten on price.
Reviewed October 26, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Steven from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2011
Deluxe Jacuzzi Villa”
Very beautiful hotel and helpful staff. Jaccuzzi good size and comfortable
room is large and bathroom is large and just as beautiful. timer for jacuzzi was short and took a long time to reset but when it did work, is was very comfortable. only water was provided with coffee/tea hot pot, no mini-bar...refridgerator empty. dinner and breakfast was delishious. close to very clean beach
Reviewed June 18, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
zoltan from Switzerland
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 3 nights in May 2011
Great value for money”
very clean, luxurious pool and beach area, good breakfast buffet
We planed to stay there 3 nights then decided to extend our stay. its is a clean lovely hotel. as we were there in may during low season there was a lot of excess capacity and we also enjozed great discounts with our agoda booking. the rooms are very clean and spacious and the whole hotel is well maintained. the only negative is that not all service is maintained during the low season as some bars in the hotel have closed. also there were red flags for swimming in the ocean
Reviewed June 02, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Daniel from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Villa Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in April 2011
Beyond my expectations”
Service, quality of the room, beach front location, pools
From the moment we arrived we received excellent service at the Mukdara. Sue on reception was excellent. The room was excellent, we paid for the deluxe option which was well worth the money, although we saw the standard room which was also nice. The breakfast and food was great and as we were in low season we had no problem lounging by the pools wherever we wanted. We used the spa facilites and these were also excellent and very relaxing. We saw the other hotels down the beach and we were happy we chose the Mukdara, I would happily return.
Reviewed May 13, 2011
7.0
Very good
James from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 4 nights in January 2011
Well positioned.”
Beachfront with terrific views from pool
Maintenance was a little weak. i.e. our door would not lock which meant anyone could enter. The toilet had a continuous low flush which wasted a lot of water.
All staff were polite and courteous. Breakfast buffet was good - in a lovely setting, with beach views. Smoking was still allowed at the tables which is not nice for non smokers. Whilst "Happy hour" at the poolside was good, it was necessary to be in the water to get a seat to have a drink.
Reviewed January 13, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Alfred from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 3 nights in December 2010
Excellent Resort, beautifully landscaped garden”
Excellent breakfast, nice beach, large rooms, free internet
somewhat isolated location, expensive rerstaurant
This is one of the best hotels in Khao-Lak, friendly service, beautiful garden, one of the best breakfasts we had in Thailand, nice, clean and modern rooms, free internet which is a rarity in Kao-Lak, nice gym and pools. In short, highly recommended.
Reviewed January 01, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Cameron from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in October 2010
Great Hotel and value for money”
Honeymoon Suite was amazing, traditional Thai achitecture, beautiful lush grounds, buffet breakfast, cooking class
None
Thoroughly enjoyable. We had my wifes sisters wedding on the friday afternoon amazing attention to detail and professionally catered for in all aspects from the ceremony through to the evening dinner. A beautiful resort and staff to complement.
Reviewed November 05, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
Kim from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 7 nights in September 2010
Very romantic”
Lovely gardens, right on top of beach
Gardens a bit of a maze and we kept getting lost!!
Due to the main pool being closed for cleaning, we were given a free upgrade to a garden villa which was beautiful - we loved the open air shower. The only problem was we were next to one of the ponds and were almost eaten alive by the mozzies. The overall holiday here was excellent
Reviewed September 14, 2010
8.7
Excellent
Arno from Netherlands
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in March 2010
Mukdara review”
Very nice pools with pool bar, the garden villa's are very beautiful and quiet with a lot of space and a terrace.
Sometimes it feels like you are back in Germany
The visitors are on average between 40 and 60 and remarkably mainly from German speaking origin (German / Austrian / Swiss). Although there is nothing wrong with that a little more mixture of different nationalities would be nice. Kao Lak in general seems to have a lot of German natives as visitor. Directly outside the resort there is a street with many restaurants and about 2 km away there is the Kao Lak center with on the main street and on the beach more hotels and a lot of shops and good restaurants. It is recommended to search on the internet on advance and book a room via sites like Agoda when travelling individually.
Reviewed March 23, 2010
9.7
Exceptional
Aare from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 4 nights in January 2010
Quiet relaxation”
Off the beaten track, beautiful grounds, empty beach for miles, beautiful villas, two huge pools, friendly staff, what else could you ask for?
If shopping is your thing, go to Bangkok. Only small touristy shops in the area. Main town is about 150 baht away by taxi.
It was our first visit to Kaoh Lak. It's a much quieter lifestyle than the more well known areas. Our hotel was very nice, with a beautiful room, large manicured grounds, two huge pools, and miles of virtually empty beaches. The staff was very friendly, a nice breakfast was provided. They have a huge convention facility for meeetings etc., probably the largest in the area. We would likely stay there again.
Reviewed February 05, 2010
9.7
Exceptional
Mario from Brazil
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 3 nights in December 2009
Relax at Mukhdara”
Beatifull and clean room, excellent breakfast, good staffing, 2 swimming pools
....not many, but they should take attention on the pool bar music selection...
I really enjoyed my 3 nights stay at Mukhdara, after 5 days in a liveaboard it was a very good idea to relax in a 5 star hotel. The hotel is situated in a nice beach, with not many people (I went in the high season between Christhmas and New Year). The room was really with lots of room .... They have 2 very nice swimming pools...
Reviewed January 06, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
Paula from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 8 nights in October 2009
Amazing!”
Great lobby area, free internet, brilliant breakfasts - so much choice!
Nothing!
Loved staying here, beach was quiet and tranquil! The staff were so friendly and made our break really nice, would stay here again in a heart beat! If you want a peaceful place to stay thats clean and nice, this is it!
Reviewed November 01, 2009
9.7
Exceptional
raymond from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Villa Garden View
Stayed 6 nights in August 2009
Peace and tranquility”
Friendly and very helpful staff,comfortable and spacious room (Garden Villa), beautiful well maintained gardens, good food, proximity to beach and shopping. Best time for Australians to visit, being our Winter season and the resort was very quiet and peaceful being offseason.
nil - We loved everything about our stay at the Mukdara and would highly recommend the resort.
For a quiet, restful holiday we found the Mukdara unsurpassable. Being Winter in our native Australia it was great to experience some warm Thai sunshine. As it was off-season, the resort was not busy, which allowed us the opportunity to get to know the staff and the locals, who we found extremely friendly and willing to help at every opportunity. The garden villa was roomy, clean and set amidst beautifully tended gardens only a hop skip and jump from the pool. Thank you all staff for making our stay a very pleasant one.
Reviewed September 06, 2009
9.7
Exceptional
Steve from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in February 2009
Beautiful relaxing place”
Quiet location right on the beach
The rooms are fresh and new - the cottages are huge, with great bathrooms and nice furnishings. The gardens are beautiful, and the (three)swimming pools very impressive - the main one is huge. Loads of room to sunbathe at the pool areas. Overall an extremely relaxing place to stay.
Reviewed March 19, 2009
8.3
Excellent
Lisa from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 4 nights in February 2009
Khao Lak experience”
position,Clean, very friendly staff, pool excellent.
rooms need updating slightly, breakfast needed more variety
We stayed at this hotel in february 09, it was recommended by a local Thai man, so we decided to go. The hotel was in a fantastic position with direct access o the beach. The pool areas were beatiful, and the rooms were adequate. The breakfast was displayed with flair, and the staff were very efficient and friendly
Reviewed February 11, 2009
10.0
Exceptional
Katarina from Sweden
Family with young children
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 7 nights in January 2009
Friendly family hotel”
Very nice room, extremely nice poolareas and very nice staff. Good resturant with good service and very friendly and helpful peolpe working here.
A little bit dark in the gardens in the evening and at night.
We stayed for one week (2 adults and one child, 4 years), in a doubleroom and we liked the room very much. The public areas of the hotel is very calm and cosy with a traditional thai-atmosphere. The poolareas are extremely beautiful and the massage at the poolspa was super! Clean beach with less people, very many alternatives regarding food in the surroundings.
Reviewed January 26, 2009
8.3
Excellent
serge from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 3 nights in December 2008
Great Stay”
Hotel well located great pool & beautiful beach. Food & drinks at very good price
We forgot to fill our bar bill one night & they did not refill the next day,we found this somewhat stupid for this level of hotel
This hotel is very comfortable,the staff is friendly. The grounds are beautiful. The location is very quiet and relaxing. The pool is very nice, the beach is beautiful and very clean.The food by the beach is excellent.The price for food & drinks is very reasonable. We really enjoyed our stay and we would stay there again.
Reviewed January 12, 2009
8.0
Excellent
Adele from Canada
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2008
lovely hotel”
The rooms are spacious, grounds are beautiful and breakfast is plentiful and fresh.
lots of ants in room and when fruit basket or meal is sent to the room, it's not covered and ends up being covered with ants. Not a big deal, you just have to watch that you don't leave any food, crumbs, cough drops out. A annoyance in the internet service which was often down and there was a charge to use the internet in your room which at the price should be included. Also the bed as quite hard but that is typical of Thailand hotels.
This hotel is in a great location and the grounds are beautiful. The spas is superb and they had 50% off rates which made treatments affordable every day. Staff was great. We ate off the resort a lot as the food was average.
Reviewed January 08, 2009
9.3
Exceptional
Juergen from Germany
Solo traveler
Stayed 6 nights in September 2008
Wonderful hotel and resort”
very friendly staff; wonderful resort, perfect rooms and bathrooms,
I liked all
When I just came to Mukdara I was really surprised. It really hit me. A very welcome staff, all the people very friendly. The room was beautyful and the bathroom perfect. A lot of little details in the room and outside in the garden, so that you can see and feel the beauty of this resort.
Reviewed October 12, 2008
5.6
chris from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe Villa Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018
It looked amazing but....”
Can't fault the location or the layout. It looks beautiful. When we arrived we were taken to our Bungalow in a Golf buggy which was nice until we entered the Bungalow which must have been 50c inside!! We just could not get the air con on quick eneough. It must have been unopened all day. Beware. Unlike other Thai hotels we found the staff to be a bit quiet. No Land of Smiles here. Another observation is that the beach pool and the main pool are a bit slimey round the edges and the beach front pool is a bit grotty in the section with the pebbles. It was a good base for our 4 night stay and visiting the Similan Islands. 99% occupied by German guests but they were nice and friendly and my Thai/English son made friends quickly. We would not return here for the money we paid.
Reviewed March 30, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Vidar from Norway
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
Great place!”
Very friendly and helpful staff. Very nice room with bathtub and balcony! Great food and room service!
Reviewed August 09, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Emma from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Great location, lovely staff”
We stayed one night before going on a 3 day diving trip. The staff were lovely. We were able to leave our car at the hotel while we were away.
Reviewed December 21, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Papawee from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Jacuzzi Villa
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
beautiful room and beautiful beach with good location”
We stay at the villa which is very big and beautiful. The beach is clean with soft sand. the location of the hotel is good - easy to go get to restaurants and stores.
Reviewed November 17, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
edward from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
fabulous ”
quiet location swimming
Lovely
Reviewed October 01, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
GUANGWEI from China
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
it is very good everything ,I like here so much”
Good home ,good severs!
Reviewed September 11, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Oliver from Germany
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room with Bathtub
Stayed 4 nights in July 2014
Low season-perfect value for money”
Location, price, standard
Reviewed July 20, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Peechaya from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Good place to stay”
Room, Happy Hour, and Drinks
Reviewed May 11, 2014