Book Now: MyHomestay

Very good
From 625 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8
/
10

Reviews of MyHomestay Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (625)Booking.com Reviews (129)
7.8
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.7
Facilities7.0
Location8.9
Room comfort and quality7.1
Service7.8
Value for money8.4
All languages
All guests (625)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 382 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Caslindawati from Brunei Darussalam
Group
Family Room (4 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

good location & accessible to food and massage area”

if you plan to join any of those running event in Miri, this place is conveniently located amongst those events but be ready to climb up to 3rd floor. food centre are accessible nearby up to 3am. pedicure, manicure and foot massage after a long walk or run very closeby. we like the WS reflexology just behind the place.

Reviewed March 19, 2019
5.6
Carolien from Thailand
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Manageable”

Staff would rarely say hi when I walked by or acknowledge me at all (though the girl in the morning seemed nice). Generally, cause there were so few guests during the week, the staff seemed super bored. I can't blame them! But... They used the (small) lobby/living area to constantly watch TV, lay flat on the sofa or play loud videos on their laptop. That means that guests can't use that area, so I was resorted to the outside terrace (no AC and little wifi). Kitchen is super dirty (old dirt), and no, a hotel can't hide behind the fact previous guest didn't clean up well. Staff literally told me nothing upon check-in, just gave me keys. Took me two days to find out they had a kitchen, free water and a rooftop for laundry hidden. Huge holes in linens, but they looked clean. Bathrooms not cleaned well, but quite big. PROS: OK price, strong AC, dorm bigger than in picture. It's fine for a quick, basic stay

Reviewed March 08, 2019
8.8
Excellent
MARCEL from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

regular guest”

I have stayed here many times before, except for this other time i didnt get to have breakfast so i do not know it is like. but the cleanliness of the place is getting bad. I was afraid of bed bugs since the bed sheets doesnt looks like it has been changed and it is torn and worn. found hairs.

Reviewed September 13, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Teo from Malaysia
Group
Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in December 2018

Excellent”

Location is strategic, with affordable price for big group. The facilities can be improve, though. Kitchen cleanliness is ok but there seems to be some crawlies from next door at night. Hope that can be handled. Overall, the HomeStay is a cozy place for a short stay.

Reviewed December 19, 2018
7.2
Very good
Amelia from Brunei Darussalam
Couple
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Only the necessity ”

Comes with 2 towels, aircond remote and room keys. Cleanliness is tolerable. They use key cards to access into room areas. Room has all the bare minimums, a bed, a small drawer, 2 sockets, light and cold ac. Very near to Imperial shopping mall. Simply Simple

Reviewed December 06, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Hazel from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018

Average stay”

I stayed here for a few days, the location is excellent and you can easily walk to most of the attractions. There’s a great restaurant downstairs serving lovely food and the Imperial Mall opposite, with a good court and coffee shops. The hotel was very clean but staff seemed disinterested and usually just sitting around chatting. Reception could be quite crowded at times, with people standing around talking. Not sure if they were staff or locals but made me feel uncomfortable at times. I didn’t use any of the amenities because of this and didn’t feel like I could ask where I should go etc. (Wasn’t told on arrival about breakfast etc). Internet connection wasn’t the best.

Reviewed April 29, 2018
8.4
Excellent
ashley from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Double Decker
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

Budget and Worth ”

Good and convenience location. Just opposite s shopping mall..many restaurants surrounded. Staff helpful and polite. Room bit small but that's what am paying for. Overall was a good stay. Will come back again.

Reviewed April 02, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Ricky from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2017

Airport Transfer not efficient”

Others are good except for airport transfer. Should record the departure time of the guest so that you will not left people behind. For improvement, please have a note or system to record the request for airport transfer. TQ.

Reviewed June 06, 2017
8.0
Excellent
OSMALI from Brunei Darussalam
Couple
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2016

Simple Hotel & Very Strategic Location”

This is the 2nd time we're staying in this hotel. Rooms are simple and good for short transit. Bathrooms are communal. A shopping mall is just across the road, and food are easily within reach around the area.

Reviewed September 27, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Kelvin from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015

Dorm Stay in MyHomestay ”

Location & Price

MHS is situated at the central of MYY. You know Permaisuri Mall is just adjacent to Permaisuri mall. The location cannot get better from this. Service is tip top. Of all the dorm I had stayed in Penang, Melaka, KK and Sandakan. I grade MHS the best. Location is good, price is appropriate and the breakfast self service is awesome. You can see that there are tubs of Lady Choice spread ready to be eaten by the hungry customers =) They also offer car rental, transport to Airport (RM25) and travel package. Final hat tip, if you are adventurous enough, just rent a car and drive to BSB =) Border closed at 12am and remember to fill in petrol full in MYY. The hardest part will be to learn how to identify the car engine no so to be filled at the Brunei temporary car card =) Kel

Reviewed November 11, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Ritz from Philippines
Couple
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2015

Convenience in all angles”

Price, Location, Staff

The place is just perfect for my travel. It is just across the best mall in Miri. The place is surrounded with a lot of food and dining options. The place is clean and well maintained. The room is nice and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful but I felt more at home and comfortable with the 3 Filipino staff. They are even speaking the same dialect/sub-language as mine. They were able to suggest some things that we should do in Miri.

Reviewed October 29, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
lilian from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015

Clean bathroom/toilet, very strategic”

perfect location, cleanliness, value for money

I only stayed for 2 nites, but it was pleasant, except they should put a mirror in the room. I'd surely would stay here again, since the place is strategically located in the city centre, but U should request for a room in the middle as it's less noisy. Mine was a queen bed single room facing the main road which can be a lil noisy at times. Nevertheless, Permaisuri Imperial City Mall & Imperial Mall/Hotel are right opposite the guesthouse..a walk less than 10 mins away and u'll have the famous bar where the expats hangout, Ming Cafe..downstairs of the guesthouse there 2 malay coffeeshops but the food were not good & expensive. Recommended is Tasty Point, a chinese restaurant offering local dishes in a comfy aircond room..food is great..the area has many bars/karaoke/eateries if u are willing to walk further..I particularly loved the shared bathroom/toilet. They were very clean but I was a little disappointed as there was no mirror in the shower cubicle, only at the sink outside the shower cubicle

Reviewed June 25, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Juin from Malaysia
Business traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2014

Clean Place, Warm People”

Cleanness, Location, Owner Food Recommendation

The overall stay was satisfactory. Owner is very caring and she can really recommend great location for food. Room are simple but clean. I strongly recommend if you want something affordable and yet clean place to stay.

Reviewed May 24, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
KUNG from Malaysia
Business traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2015

Good Value”

Location is good. Staffs are friendly and room are clean.

I have always discussed by the concept of toilet and bathroom sharing but in this case it is different. The hotel's bathroom and toilet are very well maintained that you won't feel a bit of dust on the wall or the floor. Highly recommended for those who looks for comfort at affordable price.

Reviewed April 06, 2015
8.0
Excellent
igor from United States
Solo traveler
Double Decker
Stayed 1 night in March 2015

clean but noisy ”

clean, location, showers

Great lounge, helpful staff, but walls are made of drywall and there is virtually no sound isolation between rooms. I was woke up twice during the night by loud guests. Additionally, it's allowed to smoke at the end of the corridor and smoke can freely enter your room.

Reviewed April 03, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Heng from Malaysia
Group
Family Room (4 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in December 2014

Super value and clean hotel in a perfect location”

Price, location and cleanliness

Stayed at a family room for 2 nights. Very clean room with bunks bed for 4 persons. Small room but adequate for us. Extremely clean shared bathrooms at the end of the hallway. Free wifi available in our room. Complimentary do it yourself breakfast with toaster and sandwich maker provided with a choice of butter, peanut butter, kaya or jam and coffee or tea. Nicely located opposite Permaisuri Imperial City Mall with plenty of eateries in the vicinity and friendly staff. Negative point is noise from hallway can be heard quite clearly due to poorly insulated partition wall.

Reviewed March 02, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Lim from Singapore
Family with teens
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2014

Guests from Singapore”

Clean, comfortable and cosy

It's was a pleasant stay and my family love it! We stay at the 3th floor and female toilwt just near our door so it's very convenient ever it's public toilet. Just that we have to climb up the stairs.

Reviewed October 18, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Annabelle from Philippines
Group
Family Room (3 Adults)
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014

Our Home In Miri”

The location, staff performance and value for money.

Nothing negative. I felt like I've never left home because me and the staff spoke the same language. I made new friends. Great location too as it was right in front of a mall so shopping was easy and buying food as well. Great value for money. One can cook their meals in their kitchen.

Reviewed September 28, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Glenda from United States
Group
Double Decker
Stayed 1 night in May 2014

Convenient location. Very clean. Great price.”

Great price. Close to restaurants. Shopping nearby.

This hotel fulfilled our need for a budget room, close to shopping and with lots of restaurants nearby. We only had one night before our flight to Miri the following day. I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed May 23, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Keith from Philippines
Solo traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2014

I went back to MyHomestay again!”

friendly, helpful, and attentive staff, nearby to great local eateries, and a shopping mall nearby for your needs

I went back to MyHomestay again! This place is generally wonderful because you can get to meet people so fantastic like those who have traveled all over and can speak of these ideas and thoughts they have learned in their travels. Also, they can do cross comparison of famous landmarks, like those in Siem Reap, in the Yucatan Peninsula, in Bagan, and in Java, and how they are all amazingly have similarities that surprise one. The hotel also has information about tours, bicycle rentals, motorbike rentals, and car rentals. They also have information about how to get to other cities in the island of Borneo. Again, the staff who are mostly Filipino really have helped me in this trip. They are especially helpful in giving recommendations on places best to eat at, hang out, drink, and chill! Even if you're a foreigner (non-Filipino), they will open up to you easily and give recommendations on whatever you need and ask for.

Reviewed February 23, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Keith from Philippines
Solo traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2014

The BEST Hotel for Backpackers in Miri”

attentive and friendly FIlipino staff, along the street lined with local restaurants, can communicate effectively in English

I didn't expect a Filipina to be behind the reception when I arrived. But when she told me she is from the Philippines, I quickly shifted to speaking Tagalog instead of English. Although overcoming language barriers definitely give my travels another flavor, I was glad that I didn't have to do it so much during my stay in Miri. It's easy to get recommendations and suggestions on great places to eat, what foods to try, places to see, and how to get there. Surprisingly, Filipinos also know great tips. I don't think they won't mind sharing to other non-Filipinos. I will DEFINITELY book another night's stay here when I get back from Bandar Seri Begawan. There are many reasons why this hotel is great for the budget traveler: (1) proximity to great local eateries, (2) proximity to a shopping mall and supermarket, (3) centrally located, (4) nightlife nearby hotel, (5) the friendly and attentive staff, and (6) clean toilets and shower area!

Reviewed February 22, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Chin from Malaysia
Business traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014

Slightly pricey but will come again”

Location, WiFi, Water dispenser provided

I've stayed in 3 types of rooms namely double decker, queen and superior queen. Upon check-in a deposit of RM50 is required and will be refunded during check-out. Here's what I have to say: i. Double decker room - small room and air-conditioner was not working well. ii. Queen room - looks more comfortable and larger than double decker room. Air-conditioner was working better than double decker room's. iii. Superior Queen room - most comfortable. Air-cond was fully functioning and quiet than the other two rooms. Has own bathroom complete with a hair dryer, towels, body shampoo. However the tv could have been viewable if there were more channels. iv. Staff - The morning shift lady was friendly and attentive to my needs but the night shift staff was okay. On my first night of stay, they were restless with my questions. Later on they were having fun with slightly loud music and chatting away, they could have disturbed nearby guests. On other days they were doing just fine, no troubles at all. v. WiFi - The internet was down on some days. vi. Shower - Yes, I could not agree enough! The shower was great and water pressure is sufficient. vii. Location - good restaurant downstairs, just opposite Permaisuri Imperial City Mall, less than 10 min walk to Meritz Hotel (Bintang Mega Mall).

Reviewed February 04, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Mulyadir from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2014

Centrally located and very good value”

Location, Value, Comfortable

If you are fine with sharing bathroom with others, then dont bother looking at other hotels and inns that are between RM50 and RM90 in Miri. This hostel will beat them in terms of cleanliness, facilities, location and staff friendliness hands down! They even provide basic breakfast, which is a nice touch. Just one thing though. My room did not have hooks for me to hang my clothes. Please put them in all your rooms.

Reviewed January 06, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Padmini from Malaysia
Couple
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2013

Restful and convenient”

Relaxing, easy to find food, clean

We were there only for a night each en route to Mulu and back. For the price it is good value. Being quite new, it is very clean though rooms are small. Beds are comfortable and share bathrooms are modern and clean. Breakfast is only toast and coffee but it is included in the price. Staff are very helpful.

Reviewed November 15, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Padmini from Malaysia
Couple
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2013

Convenient location and great for a stopover”

Location, many restaurants close by and hospiitality

The room though small was cozy and comfortable, very clean. The place is quite new and offers free toast and coffee in the morning. One can also cook simple meals there, if so inclined. They will arrange for taxi to the airport and for pick-up at a charge of Malaysian ringgit 22. There are 2 computers in the small lobby area that can be used by customers. The staff are very helpful.

Reviewed November 09, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Chee from Malaysia
Group
Family Room (3 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

Very comfortable backpacker hotel!”

centrally located, basic needs, clean toilets

The hotel is new and is very well kept. I stayed in a double Decker room with another friend and was very comfortable. Toilets are clean. The downside of this hotel is that it might get a little noisy due to the partition walls, but overall it was a great stay! definitely worth the money

Reviewed October 23, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
SHIRAZ from United Kingdom
Couple
Family Room (3 Adults)
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013

The best place in Miri by far...”

Location, price & everything is brand new

This guesthouse has only been open for 2 months, so you will not find it in any guide books! This has to be one of the best places we have stayed at in a long time for the money. Everything is brand new including the air con units, beds and showers! We paid 45 ringits for a double room and ended up extending our stay as we liked it so much. The guesthouse is located right opposite the Imperial Mall on Jalan Merpati, so very easy to locate and only a few minutes away from the main food street. They also help with onward travels and have trips from here. The standard they have set is high with lovely surroundings, free internet and very clean.

Reviewed July 30, 2013
5.2
Lay from Malaysia
Group
Family Room (4 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Basic things are missing”

Liquid soap or soap for washing hands are not available. Cleanliness after toilet use is a must and is lacking here. Some of the toilet bulbs not functioning. Not even a bench in the bath area for putting our toiletries. My toiletry bag fell a number of times while brushing my teeth. To me these are the basic things. Luckily the supply toilet paper.

Reviewed March 01, 2019
6.4
Good
FIDEL from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

King Size Bed actually use sharing bathroom. ”

I need to upgrade my room from king to queen bed to have own bathroom. Room quite small, but is ok if you just need rest or solo traveller... Near to chinease and mamak restaurant, also have pub nearby. Free parking for those have car....

Reviewed September 03, 2018
6.8
Good
Jason from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Family Room (4 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

Facility Maintenance”

Facilities in room (Pillow cover, aircond) ; facilities in shared toilet should be maintain from time to time in order to provide top notch services. Others is fine. Hope to see differences when I visit next time

Reviewed August 14, 2018
7.6
Very good
Cheyenne from Australia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Good hostel”

More expensive than the hostels I’d normally stay at but not a lot of choice in Miri. Good location with lots of cheap food options around. Staff were nice enough. Room had AC which was great. Plus there was free filtered water and kitchen area on the balcony. Would recommend

Reviewed August 13, 2018
7.6
Very good
Jason from Malaysia
Family with teens
Family Room (4 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Facilities should be maintained”

Shower in the shared bathroom need to repair; aircond in some room need to have maintenance; pillow cover need to change... But LOCATION just great. Hope the management will take note on this and I will definitely come back to stay again

Reviewed August 12, 2018
6.8
Good
chui from Brunei Darussalam
Solo traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Good”

First time staying at homestay and the experience is quite good. The environment is quite friendly and the staffs are polite too. It located near to cafes, shopping malls which make going anywhere very convenient. The only downside which i had experienced is the cleanliness of the room. when i entered the room, there is a strong mouldy smell. Hope Myhomestay can look into this problem and prevent the roomfrom having mouldy smell again. So if your top priority when getting a room is cleanliness, i wont recommend this place as i dont know if the moudly smell only happened to that room or most of the rooms. However, if you are focusing on money and convenient in term of foods and getting around easily, you can try this place.

Reviewed August 11, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Clara from Malaysia
Group
Double Decker
Stayed 6 nights in April 2018

Good stay”

The place was clean, simple and quiet, staff was very helpful and I was able to check in early. There are many food places and 7-11 within walking distance, and if you need to rent a car, just let the staff know and they will provide a list for you to choose from.

Reviewed May 29, 2018
5.6
Carolien from Thailand
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Bored staff in a boring city”

First off, location is definitely fine. Tons of food everywhere. Mall, Starbucks, sushi, cinema etc across the street. All in all, would book if

Reviewed March 08, 2019
7.6
Very good
Enddy from Brunei Darussalam
Couple
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

my favorite place”

always stay here because of the value and it is covenient (accessibility to shops).

Reviewed January 31, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Margaret from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

A good place to stay in Miri”

Quiet rooms, good facilities, good kitchen and well located.

Reviewed October 03, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
wei from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Highly recommence”

Value for money, In front of shopping mall, many eating place around the Hostel

Reviewed August 13, 2018
7.6
Very good
Dávid from Hungary
Couple
Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Nice place with terrible staff”

The place is conveniantly located in Miri’s city center. There aren’t many sights nearby, but laundry, restaurants and a big shopping center is within 5 min walking distance. Rooms are amazingly small and basic. Common areas are decent but could be cleaner. Nothing to worry about, mind you. The only problem we had was the total lack of interest displayed by the staff. They aren’t rude or anything like that - they just don’t give a big ole F. E.g. there was no toilet paper in one out of two toilets on the first floor for a whole day. Stuff left in the showers just remained there for two days. The guesthouse has everything to be a good and really solid place, but it lacks the personel who would make it happen. What a waste of opportunity.

Reviewed April 19, 2018
6.0
YOUNJUNG from South Korea
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

It was good to walk to miri central market.”

The hostel was good. But breakfast is a little disappointing. There was no eggs and it was too hard to eat toast. If you add eggs, eat fried eggs or toast to get a more satisfying breakfast. I'm sorry I did not have the slippers in the bathroom even though I took off my shoes. I went to the bathroom and went straight to bed. It is dirty to go into bed with the foot that I went to toilet. Reception at the front desk staff was a little disappointed. A system that asks you if there is any inconvenience before you ask is a perfect place to get lots of attention and help.

Reviewed February 17, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Joseph from United Kingdom
Couple
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2017

Great value for money!”

Pros - good wifi Breakfast (toast butter jam) bowls and plates so you can make your own food. Friendly staff Motor bike rental Hot water and comfy bed Central Location Gr8 value Air con Cons - rooms have no windows and fairly smol boi so farts stay in room

Reviewed November 18, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Irene from Malaysia
Group
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Nice and Comfortable Transit Room”

The location is right in the center of town allowing good access to food and convenient store at all hours of the day. The staff were helpful, however, transfer arrangements made earlier was not done. To room are clean and basic. Comfortable enough for a one night transit.

Reviewed September 22, 2017
8.8
Excellent
caroline from Singapore
Group
Double Decker
Stayed 1 night in September 2017

no lift”

It would be great if we can be informed of the following:- there is NO lift, we have to climb the stairs to the reception area and then to 2nd flr and 3rd flr respectively with all the luggages with the elderly people up. this was a shocker for most of us.

Reviewed September 08, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Ariel from Singapore
Solo traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 5 nights in June 2017

Great location”

Situated opposite imperial mall; which is a simple mall, but has a cinema and a few restaurants option. Lots of local chinese food along the street where myhomestay is located. Breakfast consist of white bread and spread, which serves at 7am. But nearby chinese coffeeshops are open as early as 6.30am. Toilet cleanliness is excellent! Stayed there for 5 days and satisfied with the stay. Will definitely stay again for my next trip!

Reviewed June 12, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Aaron from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017

Strategic and Hygienic ”

The strategic location is already a plus value for me. If you are hungry late at night, there's a whole row of street to buy supper from. The cleanliness was top notch and I like how homely the place feels.

Reviewed May 05, 2017
7.6
Very good
Ping from Singapore
Group
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Convenient location in town”

Only recommended if you plan to be out all day as the rooms are a tight squeeze and windowless. Though the rooms smell musky from poor ventilation, the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are clean.

Reviewed April 21, 2017
6.8
Good
Chee from Malaysia
Business traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Clean Homestay”

A clean homestay but lack of basic furniture in the room. A room with only a bed and a small rack. No proper place to hang wet towels and place our belongings. Bathroom too small and no proper place to put our toiletries during shower. There are much more better accommodation at this price in Miri.

Reviewed March 03, 2017
6.8
Good
Chee from Malaysia
Business traveler
Family Room (3 Adults)
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Clean Homestay”

A clean homestay but lack of basic furniture in the room. A room with only a bed and a small rack. No proper place to hang wet towels and place our belongings. Bathroom too small and no proper place to put our toiletries during shower. There are much more better accommodation at this price in Miri.

Reviewed March 03, 2017
6.8
Good
Dennis from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in January 2017

Ok enough place”

They had 2 computers which mostly worked, breakfast was toast with jam and peanut butter. The room I had was pretty small and the air conditioner blew on me making it harder to sleep. Toilets were ok.

Reviewed January 25, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Patrick from Malaysia
Couple
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

Value for Money”

The room is a place for You to sleep, that's all. I'm very satisfied with the overall experience. The only thing needs to take care about, is the parking slot, sometimes hard to find, and don't have security. So, recommended for those who are hanging around without a car.

Reviewed December 26, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Dayang from Malaysia
Couple
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

Affordable, clean, easy to get food, near to shopping complex”

Clean room (but the bed is not too comfortable) & toilet (hot bath) Facilities e.g. computer & iron is available Car rental service is available Easy to get food i.e. one of popular restaurants is at the same building, hawker stalls in front of the building during the night, 7Eleven is nearby Near to shopping complex i.e. across the road yet need to be careful while crossing the road Difficulty to find car park spot during the day is medium 16 mins drive from the airport

Reviewed December 13, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Irene from Malaysia
Group
Double Decker
Stayed 1 night in April 2016

Great Budget Hostel for Short Layout”

Overall very comfortable and homely set up. It has the basic of everything you need and is nearby to restaurant and shops so you can generally get what you need. Not sure if it's close to other attractions as I was just here for a 1 night layover but perfect if you plan to stop through Miri for 1-2 days. Room and toilet is clean but it's hostel style accommodation therefore don't expect 5* facilities. Definitely a good value for what you pay for.

Reviewed August 25, 2016
8.0
Excellent
yock from Singapore
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016

Very good value hostel”

It's 1st time I am staying in a dormitory with another person in a double decker bed. Location excellent as it is just opposite a big shopping center and a taxi stand . Very convenient with food just at the door step. Good wifi in the room , strong aircon and very clean common toilet and bathroom. Staff helpful and courteous. Only setback is although there are 2 lockers tucked underneath the double decker bed but don't understand why the hostel do not allow the guest to access to it . I have to carry my valuable things along with me when I go to the washroom as I do not know whom I shared my room with ! Very good also that hostel provide airport transfer for a fee as there is no airport bus to city ! Strongly recommended to stay !

Reviewed August 22, 2016
5.6
md. from Malaysia
Group
Family Room (3 Adults)
Stayed 8 nights in March 2016

cheap and good location hotel”

The check in was quick. The location of the hotel is good. We booked a three person room. The disappointing part is the room is too small for the three of us and we have to share the bathroom with 8 other rooms. This is not stated when we booked the room. All in all it was not a comfortable stay .

Reviewed April 04, 2016
7.3
Very good
Faith from Philippines
Solo traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016

Good place, but bare rooms”

Great location, clean bathrooms,

The reception area looks accomoodating, but the rooms are so bare. I suggest they try to decorate a little. The place is clean, and the toilet/bathroom always tidied up. Breakfast is just toasts and coffee and tea. But MyHomestay is near the mall, the night streetfood place, most of Miri's good eats.

Reviewed February 28, 2016
6.7
Good
OSMALI from Brunei Darussalam
Group
Stayed 1 night in December 2015

GOOD LOCATION & VALUE FOR MONEY”

Cheap, Good Location and Good for Transit

It was pleasant stay and I would recommend for a short transit, as we had an early flight the next day. The hotel comes with an airport transfer. Location wise, just across the road, there is a shopping mall. And restaurants are easily to find around the area. However, our obstacles were only that there was no elevator. So, we had to carry our luggage all the way up to 2nd floor. No bathroom/toilet in the rooms... these facilities are being shared among guests.

Reviewed January 27, 2016
7.7
Very good
Donna from Brunei Darussalam
Group
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2015

Not Bad”

Location, Room Comfort and Value of money

Please kindly improve the service at the reception. There's always no person at the reception when we need/request for something. Should have always check the laundry room and the stock storage as we waited few hours just for 2 towels. Thank you !

Reviewed January 15, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Daniel from United Kingdom
Couple
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2015

Very helpful staff”

staff, cleanliness, location

We arrived very late around 2am and fortunately someone let us in. The room although small was clean and the air con worked well. The bathrooms are very clean and a good size. Breakfast is just bread and butter. Would recommend you perhaps use your own cheese as they only have a toasted sandwich machine (not a normal toaster). The staff there are amazing as they helped us find somewhere to stay in Mulu National Park. We didn't want to do the tour as we wanted to book the tours ourselves when we arrived at the NP. They staff arranged our accommodation whilst we booked our flights.

Reviewed September 23, 2015
5.7
Elaine from Malaysia
Group
Double Decker
Stayed 1 night in June 2015

noisy ”

location and cheap

its very noisy at night and the room for 2 double decker is super small, wall is not buit buy solid wall so u can hear opposite or next door sound the only best part is the 2min walking distance to imperial mall.

Reviewed June 26, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Jamie from Philippines
Group
Family Room (3 Adults)
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

WORTH IT”

cost, location, bathroom

The staffs weren't that knowledgeable about where tos and how tos of Miri but they're nice. As per the room, the size, the bed and sheets are good, but as we entered the room, it smells like cigar, we didnt know that they have those kinds of room since there isnt any option so we didnt bother anyway.

Reviewed April 16, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Maddy from Australia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015

Good hostel in Miri”

Location, staff performance, nice showers

It was easy to get everywhere from my homestay as it was just opposite imperial mall. The staff were lovely, my locker was broken so they moved me to a new room. One of the staff even drove me to the bus depot where I caught a bus to Lampir Hills National Park for the day. The showers were in separate cubicles to the toilets - something you don't find at every hostel. Highly reccommend.

Reviewed February 11, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Marie from Philippines
Solo traveler
Family Room (3 Adults)
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014

Home outside your own home!”

The three best things are value for money, cleanliness and friendly staffs

I was very pleased with our stay in MyHomestay. The staffs are friendly and very helpful. I love the location since right across the Imperial Mall and there are lots of restaurants within the vicinity. I would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed January 27, 2015
8.7
Excellent
MOHAMMAD from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2014

Ok. ”

Clean and well decorated balcony and lobby, clean toilet, big shower.

Everything's good, best location because of there are 2 big shopping spot located nearby. Shower rooms and bathrooms shared for gents and ladies. All the facilities (fridge, induction stove, water dispenser, air cond) in good condition.

Reviewed December 01, 2014
8.7
Excellent
baricante from Philippines
Couple
Family Room (4 Adults)
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014

a home away from home ”

location was great, value for money, attentive staff

enjoyed, walking distance from a famous hotel , lots of restaurants downstairs, breakfast is good, don't expect much because it worth the money we paid.room is OK and the comfort rooms is excellently clean.

Reviewed November 13, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Chandra from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 9 nights in October 2014

True to its name!”

The staff: friendliness, helpfulness, congeniality, concern; he location; the price

Overall, it was a Great stay! ...except for 1) REALLY POOR INTERNET !!!!! 2) the weekend: quite noisy in the hallway w people talking VERY loudly, and almost running in the hallway 3) office phone ringing three attempts, without any staff answering! 4) no English channels on TV 5) Credit Card machine not working The areas are all cleaned regularly; mostly, it's quiet at night for sleeping; the drinks prices are quite fair; the mattress was comfy; the AC worked efficiently; 2 Power points in the room; free RO drinking water; close to cafes, restaurants, ATM, mall, cinema, Post Office; a safe neighborhood. GOOD PRICE !

Reviewed November 10, 2014
7.3
Very good
Jamaluddin from Malaysia
Business traveler
Double Decker
Stayed 1 night in August 2014

Affordable and clean motel”

Price is very reasonable with good cleanliness and great location

Had good sleep in the room which was very clean. This homestay is clean and affordable if you want just a simple place to sleep and if you are travelling solo with no children as the bathroom is shared.

Reviewed September 24, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Elly from India
Solo traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2014

Clean and Comfortable, Great Location”

Cleanliness, Location, Convienient

Rooms were clean and comfortable, however I got a few bed bug bites on my legs and arms. I stayed in Room 3007. Initially the room was sprayed heavily with insect repellent and the smell was overwhelming the first night. Subsequently I returned 4 days later to stay 1 more night and it was fine. Many cafes downstairs and a huge Mall opposite. Staff were pleasant and nice. Could do with a simple table and chair in the room.

Reviewed September 22, 2014
5.7
Fong from Malaysia
Couple
Double Decker
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014

a pleasant stay in town”

great location, food nearby, 3min distance to 7-11

First day the staff was so unpleasant and rude, refuse to talk with me and rejected my request. Well, second day the lady was good and helpful, she tried her best to allow us change our room from double decker to queen bed. Nice and easy breakfast. The location is good for those don't have own transport, foods and shopping complex nearby. Unfortunately, kids in other room are annoying running around like a king kong. Overall, worth with that few bucks......

Reviewed September 16, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Lee from Malaysia
Couple
Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2014

Great Location & Value for Money”

Cheap, Clean & Great Location

The room is small but is more than enough for short trip stay. The shared toilet and bathroom was clean. The staffs are friendly and helpful. They provide breakfast but we did not take the breakfast at the Homestay because we want to try some local foods. The location is great. There are Boulevard supermarket and Imperial Mall just opposite of the Homestay.

Reviewed September 03, 2014
8.3
Excellent
MOHAMAD from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Queen Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014

Basic accommodation, superb for budget travellers ”

Fast Internet; location; efficient staff

As I was alone, I did not need much. MyHomestay offered very basic facilities, which suited me just fine. Great for travellers on a shoestring budget. It has quite fast, uninterrupted WiFi not only at the public areas, but also at each room. Recommended, if you don't mind very basic facilities. My only grouse is that I wish the hotel/hostel had complimentary towels for room guests.

Reviewed May 30, 2014