Book Now: Na Thapae Hotel

Excellent
From 981 reviewsSee what guests said
8.0
/
10
Recommended by 85% of guests

Reviews of Na Thapae Hotel Reviews from real guests

Overall rating
8.0
Excellent
From 1002 reviews
Provided by verified guests of
Agoda Reviews (981)Booking.com Reviews (21)
Rating via Agoda8.0
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.5
Facilities7.0
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality8.3
Service8.1
Value for money7.8
Rating
9+ Exceptional (209)
8-9 Excellent (209)
7-8 Very Good (229)
6-7 Good (92)
<6 Below Expectation (106)
Time of the year
Mar - May (153)
Jun - Aug (148)
Sep - Nov (202)
Dec - Feb (342)
All guests (981)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 845 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018

I have stayed here on my travels for the past 4 yrs. They have changed a little. ”

The girl's at the desk are the Nicest people who you could ask for. They will help you with every need and the Location for the Old City is excellent. The Main Gate is just a few hundred metres away. The street is quite and the outdoor area is very nice upstairs. If you want easy access to the Old City then this is were you must stay. Everything You need is within 1,000 meters. Like I say, I stay here All the time I come to Chiang Mai.

Reviewed November 06, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Mark from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Great location, very comfortable”

At Check in the receptionist was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. It also smelt very good too. The bed was comfortable and plenty of room for two. I'm not sure if it could take a trundle bed, though. The TV, curiously, is the old style box set, but worked fine. The hotel decor is kind of Mediterranean in feel, quirky but nice, with each level having a lovely open balcony area. Although it's only one block off the main east side moat road it's very quiet, and yet still a walk to countless restaurants, Thapae Gate and the bars of Loi Kroh Road so it's super convenient. When we stayed it was very quiet, guest wise and I really struggle to understand why, it's a quality stay in town at a moderate price. There is a two thousand baht deposit taken at check in but unless you're a 70's rock star caught in a time warp you'll get it back at check out. Recommended for short to medium term stays for couples.

Reviewed December 10, 2017
8.7
Excellent
Margot from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

Hidden Gem”

location, quiet soi, close to old city

I returned to stay at this hotel after previously staying hen it was new 5 years ago. It has maintained it standard and rooms have generally dated well although my bathroom did require some attention with shower tap and hot water system. My room was large & comfortable and always cleaned early in day. Hotel does not serve any meals these days and old open air dining room is a good meeting place to take meals back to and enjoy. It can tend to get noisy with groups using area but also good area to meet other travellers.

Reviewed January 04, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Henry from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in November 2014

Right smack dab in the centre of town!”

Location, staff, cool sink

We came for Loy Krathong and to check out the sights. We had 5 nights at the hotel and although it was quite minimal, it was very comfortable. The breakfast was very basic with a choice of eggs or cereal and a very nice lady will cook your eggs to order. I would stay in this hotel again at this price point.

Reviewed November 12, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
michael from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013

good location 3minutes to sunday market”

location great staff big rooms

great hotel very near the sunday walking market which is a great place to see and visit and also about 10 minute walk to the night bazzaar many places to eat and drink around the hotel rooms are big and very clean breakfast is just your standard thai breakfast ham eggs and some fruit i would stay here again for sure if i was in chaing mai very nice staff and helpful

Reviewed September 29, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Paul from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013

Pleasant Stay big Value”

Price, location, and breakfast

Hotel is convemiently located less than a 3minute walk from where the Sunday walking market takes place, and is roughly 15 mins walking from both the Night Bazaar and Saturday walking market. If you plan to spend most of your time out and about trekking and on tours and are staying the weekend, this is the place. It's not the fanciest hotel, but it's clean. If you are expecting 5star service for $23, you are stupid. But if you want a great value and a convenient location you can't go wrong here.

Reviewed August 29, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Mark from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in April 2013

A delightful stay in Chiang Mai”

The friendly staff, the cleanliness, and the home away from home feel,

I am so lucky I found this place! It is located a very short walk from the ThaPae Gate and with that the eastern end of the Sunday Walking Street, everything the Old City has to offer, an easy walk to the Night Bazaar, and countless restaurants, bars, and yet it is located in a very quiet Soi. It truly offers the best of both worlds. The hotel is, as the title says, delightful. The manager and staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable, good airconditioners, and there are really nice "home style" touches everywhere. Each of the three levels has a balcony or courtyard (at ground level) to sit and relax, read a book, or regroup for your next venture into this great city. I guess the one thing I did notice was a lack of power points, there are none in the bathroom, however there is a hairdryer in a make-up table in the room, and my shaver is cordless so no big issue for me. There is no lift but the stairs are really wide and accessible. I booked online and the rate was very good, for the price I paid I did not expect anything half this good, and I would definitely stay here again. My recommendation, if you are active and like to get out and explore, book 5 to 7 days here, the location caters to all, really, whether you want to hit the ground running or spend some time relaxing. I notice other reviewers have mentioned dogs and pigeons, yes, I heard them occassionally but to me it added to the homey feel of the place. It really is a home away from home. Book it and enjoy!

Reviewed April 19, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Stephen from United States
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in May 2012

great boutique hotel”

location, staff, decor

the hotel was down a small side street but it was close to many things in the city that we wanted to do. the rooms were very nice and the hotel was well kept and clean. breakfast was plain but good with a few different options.

Reviewed June 19, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Stephen from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012

nice hotel, good location”

decor, location, price

The hotel was all that I expected...a nice comfortable, clean hotel tastefully done, without a lot of frills. The location was close to many things and the staff was nice. It was a good stay and I would go back again.

Reviewed June 19, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Stephen from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012

Lovely Hotel at great location”

Big rooms, very modern, set out well, close to markets, shops

It doesn't look much from the street but once you step in it is very well set up, tasteful decor, outdoor areas for breakfast, the complimentary breakfast was very enjoyable. The rooms are modern, clean and the furniture suits the room. Close to the Thapae Gate, the night markets, cafes & bars.

Reviewed February 08, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Dennis from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in February 2011

small quaint cosy hotel, great location”

no fuss, everything homemade

the hotel had parking only for 3 cars at best - one already occupied by the manager. everything was so homely about the place. staff was very friendly. overall for the value and the location this is an absolutely excellent choice.

Reviewed April 22, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Debra from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011

Quiet clean boutique guesthouse”

Comfortable bed, nice morning omelette, peaceful location

na thapae is modern boutique-style guesthouse near thapae gate. the location is great as there are many restaurants and places to have an evening drink around. the staff was helpful, and the guesthouse is down a quiet soi that is a quick three minute walk to the main road. it is also close to the night bazaar (if you want to go there); you can walk it if you're not too lazy and it's not raining in about 20 minutes. overall, this guesthouse was far better value for money than some of the others i've had in chiang mai, and it's a great, comfortable place for a weekend away from bangkok, or for beginning a trip to laos...

Reviewed April 01, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Trevor from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in March 2011

Very clean and ultra polite staff”

close to Sunday night markets and to old town

Very clean, polite staff, no pool to end hot days with. Had an issue with wifi and it was sorted out. Breakfast buffet is very small with little choice, okay for a day or 2 but then you need some choice. Great place to stay for short stays

Reviewed March 28, 2011
8.0
Excellent
FREDERIC from France
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011

Lovely bed & breakfast, simple but clean rooms ”

Very well located - 800 metres de Thapae gate

na thapae is very well located at the door of the old city and 2-3 minutes from night bazar. very nice bed & breakfast in a very quiet street. hotel and rooms very clean. free wifi (working well). staff very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed March 23, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Philip from Switzerland
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in February 2011

Lovely boutique hotel with friendly staff”

Small hotel, comfortable, big and clean rooms, friendly athmosphere

This rather new, small boutique hotel feels like an island within Chiang Mai. It's a quiet, calm place. The staff are very friendly and specially fond of small children. Due to its size, you soon start to feel like part of a big family. The rooms are large, comfortable and very clean. The only negative point is that the rooms right next to the breakfast area get a bit of noise in the morning. As the doors are thin, sleeping out in these rooms can be difficult.

Reviewed March 01, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Kong from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in January 2011

Nice Hotel”

Friendly young and helpful staff

Upon arrival was very warmly greeted by young friendly staff. Nice place for relaxation especially the oil body massage which my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed near the hotel. Its value for money. Sorrounding area was ok and area quite peaceful. Hotel was nice and clean

Reviewed February 04, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Stephen from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2011

Quiet location but close to most things downtown”

boutique type hotel, good value
breakfast was good not great

The hotel was very nice. It had good staff who were helpful and spoke very good English. The hotel was down a small side street about a block but very close to lots of downtown places that were easy to walk to. (restaurants, night bazaar, Sunday walking street, etc) The hotel wasn't that old and seemed kept nice and clean.

Reviewed January 15, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Rose from Canada
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2010

Romantic hotel with great service. ”

The hotel is in a perfect location, beautiful clean rooms,breakfast is good,service with a smile.
none

When we arrived we were greated with a great smile and beautiful rooms. The hotel is walking distance to everything old city, night market but still in quiet area. Loved our stay there. The rooms were great and the patio area where we ate was great to sit outside and have a drink in the evening. The owners were very accomodating if you needed anything.

Reviewed January 06, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
David from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in October 2010

Na Thapae hotel”

A very nice hotel with a family run feel. Very close to the centre of Chiang Mai and all the normal markets Etc. Very helpful with keeping a parking space in the very limited parking area.
Nothing at all

Could be difficult to find if you don't know the area but worth the time spent finding the hotel. The hotel is have a family run feel, very clean and well maintained. My partner asked about parking and the hotel kept us a parking space outside the hotel in the very limited parking area. A few times we collected breakfast from the dinning room and brought it back to our room, not a problem. A very nice stay.

Reviewed October 22, 2010
9.7
Exceptional
Vladimir from Russia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in December 2009

Feel like at home”

Small, new, friendly.
none

Small family-like hotel, only 2 minutes away from Thapae Gate. All-new, situated on the quiet soi. Hotel has 3 floors, each with 5-6 rooms only. Breakfast was simple and no much choice, but no problem for me - omelette with bacon, fruits, toasts - all ok. Very friendly staff, they willing to help always, security look after my motorbike at night, hotel equipped with security cameras. Free WiFi also available, good signal (each floor has is own wifi access point). Anyway, very good ang recommended.

Reviewed December 15, 2009
8.8
Excellent
Rainer from Germany
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in February 2019

Large, very clean room”

The hotel is on a quiet so I, not far from the Taphae gate and night market. Our room was large, very clean and cool (due to AC). The bathroom was very clean. The wifi worked well most of the time. Negative: every once in a while the electricity stopped and restarted. When the electricity restarted, the AC did not automatically restart. Our room was on the 2nd upper floor and there was no lift (elevator) which was not easy, but we got used to it.

Reviewed February 21, 2019
8.0
Excellent
David
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Very good”

Pros: Extremely friendly staff, nice room, and cozy hangout area. It's off the main road, so you don't get nearly as much of the noise as some other places. Cons: The shower never got even close to lukewarm, and the pigeons in the roof and boxing match/feral cat noise at night could be distracting.

Reviewed January 30, 2019
6.8
Good
Terry from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

Close to nightlife but quite setting”

Rooms don't have a safe, but have a lock box behind the front desk. The airconditioning broke on my last night so I had to use a fan. Rooms a bit small as well as bathroom. It was my 2nd stay there, not as smooth as my first stay. Quite setting and short walk to lot's of nightlife.

Reviewed December 20, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Paul from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in April 2019

Great places. ”

Great hotel and staff are the best. We will see you again next time !

Reviewed April 17, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Mervin from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Good, adequate budget guesthouse. ”

It has everything you'd want, clean large rooms, hot shower, aircon, friendly service. Nothing spectacular, but for $20 per night, it has good value

Reviewed April 02, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Eddie from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in February 2019

Excellent”

we stay on top floor corner unit... wifi is very disappointing.. excellent staff willing to go above and beyond.. room and toilet needs an update

Reviewed March 07, 2019
6.0
chris from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

No trust. Horrible place.”

The receptionist was rude and argued with me. I stayed three weeks in Chiang Mai and have visited four times in the past. Never has the treatment been this bad

Reviewed April 05, 2019
8.8
Excellent
John from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Nice ”

Quiet location but not far from anything. The rooms are nice and the staff was great.

Reviewed January 27, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Martin from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

Nice style, clean rooms and friendly staff”

I liked the style of the rooms, the decor and had one of the best nights sleep in a very long time. Would stay here again.

Reviewed October 22, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

Exceptional”

great little hotel, very clean, very friendly staff

Reviewed October 20, 2018
5.6
ULRIK from Denmark
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

Ulle”

Okay place! Very good location. Ok staff. -(no good): no money box in room,but a box back in the reception but nobody from 12am-7am so the front door is open for every-body.the place say there is a camera 24/7 & a old sleepy man outside hi hi The aircon such when y have fun in bed,not cooling. Only basic. And one out off 5 days I stay there,the staff not change the bedsied (same for two day 👎🏻) I was angry & the staff change every day after that.

Reviewed March 15, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Russell from New Zealand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in August 2017

A great time in Chiang Mai”

The location of this cute wee hotel is amazing. 2 minutes walk from the Na Thapae Gate which is right at the main entrance to the old city. Room was clean, air conditioned great location, bed comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Thoroughly reccommend.

Reviewed August 29, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Grant from United States
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

Nice, clean hotel close to Tapae Gate”

We enjoyed our stay at Na Thapae Hotel. The room, while simple, was nice and clean. The location is very close to Tapae Gate, however, you do need to walk through a small street to get to the main road. They do have a guard sitting out front, but I did feel a bit nervous walking down the dark road by myself at night. It was also quite noisy when other people were outside the rooms in the common area and my young daughter was awakened when a loud group were checking in and finding they're rooms late at night. Not the best place we've stayed, but a good choice considering the location and good price.

Reviewed March 16, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Dan from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017

Value for money limited facilities ”

We stayed here during a busy time in chiang mai. The hotel is clean and with a spacious room. The internet hardly works, it kept on cutting out and there are no options for breakfast. If you are a light sleeper it could be difficult as we were awake till late hearing people slamming the doors of there rooms and talking in the hall way before 7 in the morning. Apart from that was all good.

Reviewed February 02, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Leah from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017

Tranquil, but close to the bustle of the city”

Friendly staff who were happy to make bookings for me. Set in a quiet lane, minutes from the night market and the old city. Some of the best sleep I've had in Thailand. Good selection of books to borrow. Unfortunately no breakfast, though a sign in the room advertised it. Laundry expensive - for some reason they charge per item rather than per kilo, but I was advised to go next door which was much more reasonable.

Reviewed January 27, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Natasha from Canada
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017

Lovely setting and restful place ”

Cons: The shower, while reasonably clean, could stand to have the grout scrubbed. One lightbulb was burned out (not at all a big deal, as there were several other lights). Internet cut out several times. Pros: The room was large, clean, cool, and a lovely place to spend time. I enjoyed having both a desk and a couch. The window opened to a nice view of the soi. Common areas on each floor are clean and pleasant. The situation of the hotel itself is quiet, but close to main streets. I enjoyed our stay and wish we had stayed longer.

Reviewed January 13, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Manuel from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017

Good value. Convenient location.”

I would definitely stay at this place again. The rooms are nice, modern and spacious. We got the Deluxe with a king bed. Aside from the hotel being a block away from the busy street, our room was tucked in the back so we got plenty of quiet sleep. The common areas are very homey and welcoming. Even though the street is lonely at night it's very safe and just a short stroll in the dim lighting. There's a security on guard through the night. This hotel is walking distance from the night market and a block away from the Thapae gate.

Reviewed January 12, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Gordon from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

Tasteful, cozy, friendly, modern, clean...Great spot”

Design, materials, open space, double wooden doors, it's a treat to stay in the contemporary well made, clean and happy facility. Tucked one block back on narrow Soi from the hustle of main road making it quiet. Furnishings, decor, shared spaces all 1st class. Just book it. No elevator to upper floors , but I made it to second floor with crutches., After they offered to place me on lower level, but room config we wanted was on 2nd level. I'd go back. Great restaurant out the door right then on first corner 2 mins away. Only seats 10 or 12 across from entrance to Emm hotel . Had 2 breakfasts and 2 dinners here.

Reviewed December 27, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Maya from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016

great location”

it was very convenient and great location. My only comment was that our room was located next to the lobby, and I was awoken a few times by drunk customers coming home late at night. Perhaps, the hotel could post signs requesting everyone be quiet.

Reviewed November 19, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Julie from Belgium
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016

Nice place, good location”

The hotel was very clean, the room was big enough, the bathroom very clean and the bed very confortable. The location is perfect, between the center and the night bazar. The staff was polite. Unfortunately, no breakfast.

Reviewed November 17, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
DUYEN from Vietnam
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

A excellent hotel and value for money”

I spend 2 nights here and staff is very nice with greeting and guiding us during the time we are here. The room is very clean, especially the bed is so comfortable. I spent a lot of time for walking and my led and back bone got pain; however, the hotel's bed is too comfortable and I did have a very good night sleep and released my pain. The location is also excellent, it is near night bazaar and near sunday walking street area. Very nice place.

Reviewed October 06, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
tara from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016

Incredible Staff and the Best Location”

My 3 friends and I stayed at the Na Thapae Hotel for 5 days and 4 nights and had an absolutely wonderful time. This hotel was perfect. It was quaint and quiet, with beautiful furnishings that gave it a homey feel. Every staff member spoke English well and was so willing to help us not only with luggage and room related items but also with assistance on booking tours in the area. The rooms were very clean and comfortable (the AC was wondeful) and my only small complaint would be that there were only 2 outlets in the room, but it was definitely still manageable. The best part was this hotel was a 3 min walk from Tha Pae Gate, which made it so easy for us to walk into the main part of town, or even walk home in the middle of the day to refresh and go out again. I would highly recommend for any group (couples, families, or friend groups) to stay here when visiting Chiang Mai.

Reviewed July 24, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
robert from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016

10/10”

I had a great experience at this clean and welcoming hotel, which is located in one of the centres of Chiang Mai. I was most impressed with the ladies who work the two shifts. They were helpful, friendly and very understanding. Many important wats are in walking distance of the hotel as are a few markets(night and daytime).

Reviewed July 21, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Michael from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016

Excellent value for the money”

This is a small hotel on three floors on a small side street just a block off of the moat road, about a five-minute walk to Tha Pae Gate and the main tourist area of town. Very close to abundant restaurants, bars, Sunday Walking Street, and the Night Bazaar. I thoroughly enjoyed my three nights there. It is clean, quiet, comfortable, and the staff is very friendly. No elevator, so if you can't climb stairs you should be aware. I will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed June 17, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Sira from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

Good Location and Good Value for Money”

Everything is good but the lack of natural light and unpleasant lighting inside the room. The window is opaque and facing the walkway which limited the amount of daylight from entering the room and prohibit any view to the outside without safeguarding your privacy. Lighting is very unpleasant, some of the ceiling lights are white, others yellow (hotels typically use only yellow (warm) lights.

Reviewed January 26, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Maela from France
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

Clean, fresh rooms, great location, friendly staff”

Comfortable, clean, great value for money

We enjoyed our stay a lot. The staff speak really good English and are super helpful with tips and advice about CM. The room was impeccably clean and was cleaned, serviced, sheets changed etc every day. Located on a quiet tree lined street but a 2 minutes walk from the taepae gate and all the street food, markets etc. large queen beds, fridge, AC, comfortable for a couple. Thanks everyone at na tapae for our lovely stay.

Reviewed January 13, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Ashley from Canada
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015

Good value for the money ”

Location, cleanliness and staff

This was a nice little hotel in a great location . It was just a short walk (2 mins) to the Sunday night market, close to the night bazar and there were lots of restaurants and bars nearby. I would stay there again if I was in the area.

Reviewed December 29, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Elizabeth from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015

Great value for money in great location”

Location, price, friendly staff

Stayed for the second time recently. Nothing had really changed condition wise since our last stay 4 or 5 years ago. Friendly helpful staff, great location near Na Thapae gate and close to great restaurants and shopping. Spotlessly clean. Not 5 star dining by any means but certainly a good breakfast available. Value for money definitely

Reviewed August 04, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Hallstein from Norway
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in February 2015

Quiet and central”

Location, transport, shops.

This hotel lies perfect. It is one road from the main road so it is very central. But you do not get the traffic noice. That is great. It takes 1 minute to walk to the main road. Here you have taxi, bathbuss and tuk tuks to go anywhere. The weekend marked is just a walk accross the road. Bars and pubs are just around the corner.

Reviewed March 16, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Mavis from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

Good location. ”

Location. Can't find 2 more things that I like about the hotel.

The hotel is situated along a back alley, not on a main road. As such, it took the taxi driver a little more time to find it. The shower chain was broken, which indicated to us that the hotel is not well maintained to some extend (no daily checking or reporting by the chambermaid). Breakfast was limited choice - different type of cook-to-order eggs, cereal, bread, butter, jams, and coffee. The room is small, and the shower area and the wc were not fully separated, so that when you shower you would wet the bathroom floor. The location was actually good. But however, we couldn't find our way back with the map that the receptionist has given us. It seemed that the shortest route back to the hotel was actually going through another hotel call IMM Hotel. The receptionist should have told us, as we couldn't find the lane shown on the map that would lead us back to the hotel. These are the finer details I would expect the receptionist to have caution us.

Reviewed March 11, 2015
2.7
Robert from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015

Nightmare in Chiang Mai”

This was the worst hotel I have stayed at in Thailand. It's location was off the radar of every taxi driver we used. No one could find the place. It is located down a maze of narrow roads The staff was clueless and could not assist us when we needed their assistance.The room was adequate but nothing special. I would not stay here again.

Reviewed March 07, 2015
7.7
Very good
Terry from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014

Great location in between Loh Kroh Road and Thapae”

Location, Friendly staff, Guest Friendly

My stay was good with them. The girls in reception were nice and accommodating when I had problem with internet. No safes in room, but a safe deposit box in lobby. An inexpensive laundry just next door. Close to nightlife and restaurants.

Reviewed February 06, 2015
7.0
Very good
Walter from Switzerland
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

Big room, little comfort”

Very big room, very friendly staff, clean

Room had only small window, no reading possible without lights on. Can be noisy because breakfast place is just outside rooms, and the room's door don't isolate. Even the posted sign "quiet please" won't help.

Reviewed January 15, 2015
8.0
Excellent
hasan from Turkey
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014

Nice location, small but clean rooms”

location is great that very close to night bazaar, staff are helpful and friendly, architecture of building is typically Asian

First of all hotel has amazing location. 5 minutes to Night Bazaar and other attractions. Rooms are clean but small and some rooms windows just opening to the corridor and you feel yourself in a box. In the morning pigeons are making noise in front of small window. Staff are very helpful and friendly. If you gone stay not longer than 3 days I recommend you to stay here.

Reviewed January 05, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Julie from Canada
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014

Not family friendly”

Location

Not bad for the price paid. Not family friendly. We travelled with a toddler. The hotel did not have an elevator... We were in the second floor and we had a stroller. We were not allowed an extra towel for our son.

Reviewed November 16, 2014
3.3
SUNG from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014

uncomfortable, dirty balnket sheet, communication ”

It was terrible stay and unpleasant experience. It is hard to understand how this hotel has such a good grade of review. First. Staffs were unkind and could not speak English properly. Time comsuming to make the understood. And they are not punctual. Second, There was no window facing outside. So it was suffocating nd boiling hot when electricity black out. It seems that they did not have generator for electricity. Third, Big dirty stain on the balnket sheet was found. Feel disgusting. Staff said it was only laundry shop's fault. Fourth, Songtheu drive did not know well the location of Na thapae Hotel. Fifth, not worth the price at all.

Reviewed October 15, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
MARCOS from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014

very please with my stay at Na Thapae Hotel”

GREAT WIFI, CLEAN ROOMS, FRIENDLY STAFF

it was a great 2 nite stay at this hotel, this hotel has great staff, GF, clean rooms,great wifi, the only thing that I didn't see was the IN-ROOM-SAFE, agoda says it had one but I didn't see it in the room, the hotel is located on a very quiet soi, just a 5 minute walk from the nightlife at Loy Kroh rd, the first night I woke up in the middle of the night because a dog was barking other than that the second night had a good night sleep.definitely a hotel I'll book again when I return to Chiang Mai.

Reviewed June 13, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Jeff from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013

Great spot to check out Chaing Mai”

Location, location, location

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Na Thapae. We stayed in 315 the last night which was a nice room with a window overlooking the city. I would recommend to close the blinds at night to avoid the early morning sun if you want to sleep in. Great stay.

Reviewed January 07, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Antoine from France
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014

Pleasant weekend retreat”

Friendly staff, Bali-style architecture and centrally located

We headed over to Chiang Mai for a weekend retreat and it delivered. The hotel is located right next to the Na Thapae gate and Walking Street (not Pattaya-style). I didn't like being asked for my passport, immigration visa and all that stuff since I live in Thailand and hate the "Big Brother" scheme. Other than that, the hotel is lovely: small and peaceful. Rooms are comfortable, WiFi is fast. Breakfast is small but enjoyable thanks to the sweet cook! Since we were on the eating area floor, it was quite noisy in the morning, even with the room door closed. A pleasant stay all around thanks to the staff and location of the hotel!

Reviewed January 07, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Sara from United States
Family with young children
Triple Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013

Great city Location, Friendly Staff”

The staff was very helpful and gave suggestions of what to do on rainy day. Very close to night markets. Great location near many places to eat.

We really enjoyed our stay at Na Thapae. The rooms were large enough for our family of five. The staff was very friendly and willing to help with suggestions of what to do on rainy days. The location was wonderful and near the main road. Great places to eat within walking distance and right across from the Sunday Walking Street.

Reviewed October 27, 2013
7.7
Very good
Al from New Zealand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013

Just 2 nights in Chang Mai”

Walking distance to the old city

Nice comfortable digs, but I missed the non availability of parking at the hotel, its on a back lane and no parking available, the staff cleared some motor scooters from out front and I was just able to squeeze my car in,

Reviewed October 23, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Scott from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 7 nights in September 2013

Very enjoyable stay. Friendly & helpful staff”

Comfortable room and bed, excellent location, ice cold A/C.

Great. I was in Chiang Mai for dental work so spent a few days in the hotel room recovering. There were a few english speaking TV channels, cold A/C, a work desk, fast internet, hot shower, very comfortable bed and so close to Thapae Gate, night market etc. My room included breakfast and this was nice but a little limited (eggs on toast, scrambled eggs or omelette) as far as hot breakfasts go. There was also corn flakes or toast & jam. There is no restaurant in the hotel but there are literally 15 restaurants within a 5 minute walk. The staff were very courteous and helpful. I will definately stay at Na Thapae Hotel when I next visit Chiang Mai

Reviewed October 01, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Alexandra from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2013

Wonderful Staff and Location”

Staff, Room, Location

The rooms are clean, comfortable, and beautifully designed. The staff is extremely nice and helpful, and go out of their way to help customers. I live in Thailand, and stay at this hotel whenever I visit Chiang Mai. Highly recommend!

Reviewed September 19, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Michael from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013

Always a pleasure to stay here”

Friendly family hotel

Always a pleasure to stay here at this friendly family run hotel. Its almost like staying at home rather then a hotel. I always recommend this hotel to all my friends who visit Chiang Mai and I always stay here when I do. The staff always remember my name and just pull up the details from my last visit which speeds up the check-in.

Reviewed July 25, 2013
5.7
craig from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013

location is good”

location, comfy bed, different

a nice enough place and close to all the attractions. the place on the corner on the same ally does great english breakfasts (comes recommended by many) ... the rooms are ok but nothing great really. no views really. ac is a bit weak and wallpaper was ripped. we also left a personal item at the hotel...i went back 2 days later and was told the staff had thrown it out...! would be nice to keep things a week at least forpeople to claim..

Reviewed July 01, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Dirk from Netherlands
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013

Fast internet, quiet, would stay again”

Fast reliable internet, breakfast, quiet

Lovely breakfast, was very quiet as we were almost the only ones there. The minor things that I did not enjoy, but were actually okay in the long run is that our room door opened onto the breakfast area. We were lucky that there were no loud tourists during our stay. The room had natural lighting but no big windows or anything.

Reviewed May 20, 2013
7.3
Very good
Huili from Chile
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013

clean, big room”

friendly staff, center location

the room i reserved got a breakfast set, the morning i got up and went upstairs to have breakfast and it was so quiet and i felt so relaxed. the location is good near the old town, there’s even a bar street nearby.. which is kinda important to me. and staff really helped a lot. the price is relatively high for a solo traveler. and there are mosquitoes, i had to get up in the midnight to kill them.

Reviewed March 16, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Allan from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013

Modern, Clean hotel with wonderful friendly staff”

Breakfast cooked to order, central location, exceptionally helpful and friendly staff

We stayed for four nights and it would have been perfect for the two of us if we had not had the baby as well. The room was a good size with a spacious ensuite toilet and shower although it was a bit dark because it had no windows facing to the outside. Breakfast was served on the first floor level and was made to order, although the only choice was ham and egg in some form. there was no other cooked option available. The hotel was in a relatively quiet, but central location between the night market and Thapae Square and was close to eating, laundry and shopping facilities. The disadvantages, relating to babies and toddlers is that there is no cot available so baby had to sleep with mum and dad. The room is furnished with Lanna style furniture which is both heavy and full of sharp corners just asking to be bumped into by fast moving kids. Likewise, the restaurant at first floor level is fenced by a timber screen which does not extend below seat level leaving a large gap through which a small child could crawl and fall to the lower level. In summary, the hotel, though excellent in most other respects, is not really suitable for couples with small children. In fact, this could be said of Chiang Mai in general.

Reviewed March 01, 2013
6.7
Good
Liang from Malaysia
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013

Great location, 10 min walk to Night Bazaar”

Walking distance to Saturday and Sunday markets

The location of Na Tapae Hotel is excellent, with walking distance to Saturday and Sunday markets. It is also about 10 min walk to Night Bazaar. The surrounding is quiet, though the walk through the alley is a bit dark at night. The room quality is good, though the sound insulation on main door needs improvement. Front desk staff is very courteous, though the lady at the breakfast preparation was a bit temperamental when she was pressured by too many guests having breakfast at the same time. The menu was exactly identical (only 5 types on the menu), so you can imagine having to eat the same thing for 5 consecutive mornings. Having some Phad Thai, fried rice or Kao Soi (as Chiang Mai is famous for) as variation would be great. However, the WIFI is real bad! I could not get connected on my notebook at all on all three floors! My son had similar problem too, though on 1-2 occasions he managed to get connected, but speed was like tortoise! Lastly, the most important issue here! Price! Actually I wanted to book two rooms (for my wife and me, and two children), but after I got the first room booked, there was no more room for me to book the second room. I could not possibly stay in different hotel from my children! So I searched for another website (latestay.com) and I managed to book the second room, at even cheaper rate than AGODA! Mind you, by a hefty US$ 70 for 5 nights! This has definitely put a big dent in my confidence in AGODA! Please kindly look into this important issue.

Reviewed February 19, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Michael from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012

This is the hotel I would like to own”

Everything

Stayed here many times with Agoda and also booked direct with the hotel from within Thailand. I have never been disappointed by this hotel, its like a home from home and I will be staying here again in Jan 2013. The bed is comfortable and pleasing to look at, the bathroom is excellent with shower gel and shampoo provided in real quirt bottles, but sachets are also provided. There is a seating area on the first floor with tea & coffee available all day to make for yourself with books and travel guides people have donated to read.

Reviewed February 10, 2013