Book Now: Nam Ou Riverside Resort

Excellent
From 163 reviewsSee what guests said
8.4
/
10
Recommended by 80% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (163)Booking.com Reviews (38)
8.4
/
10
Excellent
From 163 reviews
Cleanliness9.1
Facilities8.0
Location7.3
Room comfort and quality9.2
Service8.9
Value for money8.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (163)
All room types
Showing 136 verified guest comments
8.4
Excellent
KYUNG from South Korea
Family with young children
Junior Suite River View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018
Really kind service and facility is excellent.”
This hotel is kind of resort or saparted house. So room is very big. And interior is classic style. Staff is very very kind for us. But cons is too far fron down town, it takes around 50min by my own car.
Reviewed December 13, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Pamela from Canada
Couple
Junior Suite River View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Pam Canada”
Had a riverside room. Beautiful peaceful place. Can watch the villagers fishing, cows wander by. Pool is nice but not much to do if you are not into relaxing. Meals are great and staff are really wonderful. Daily free shuttle into Luang Prabang but it’s a long drive. We spent a few days at the end of 6 weeks of travel so was perfect!
Reviewed March 07, 2018
Dear Pamela Greeting from Namouriverside Hotel & Resort Thank you very much for your comment and hope to see you next visit Thank you Best Regards Phonesack
Responded March 13, 2018
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
10.0
Exceptional
Brittany from Laos
Couple
Deluxe Ground Floor
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Exceptional”
We love Nam Ou Riverside! living in Luang Prabang, it is one of our favorite places to escape to on the weekends. The value for your money is incredible. It quite a drive from the airport, they do offer a pricey shuttle service, so maybe better if you have your own transportation. The area is absolutely beautiful though, and the staff is always very attentive and friendly to our every need. AND BEAUTIFUL BATHTUBS with beautiful views! a rare find here in Laos! great swimming pool. great restaurant. We will be back here again and again!
Reviewed February 26, 2018
Brittany Greeting from management at Namouriverside Hotel Thank you very much for your comment, we do hope to meet you again for next time Thank you Best regards Phonesack Soutthiphone Supervisor Management
Responded March 05, 2018
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
8.8
Excellent
Susan from United Kingdom
Couple
Junior Suite River View
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Lovely relaxing hotel in rural area”
We did our home work on this hotel and it paid off. It is ideally suitable if you are or have stayed in Luang Prabang Centre and now wanting a day or two to relax and recharge your batteries. We took advice and travelled from L.P. by river which took 2 hours on our private boat. We spent our 2 days and 1 night using the hotels complementary bicycles to explore the local villages. We also relaxed by the large swimming pool overlooking the river. It's worth upgrading to the Junior Suite with river view as they are large with privaye balcony. The standard rooms are set back with no view. The restaurant cooked our evening meal and breakfast to order and it was good value and tasty. Drinks are pricey so bring your own or stick to the complementary mineral water they serve you. The manager was also flexible with the timing and price of our airport transfer.
Reviewed December 08, 2017
Dear Susan Greeting from Phonesack at Namouriverside Hotel & resort Thank you very much for your comment and hope to see you for the next visit Phonesack Soutiphone Management
Responded December 11, 2017
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
8.4
Excellent
Jackie from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ground Floor
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
When you need a vacation from the vacation ”
I came here looking for some R&R and found it in this well-built resort set on the beautiful Nam Ou river about half-way between LP and Nong Khiaw. I came back to LP well-rested and relaxed after three nights doing nothing except swim and eat. I was fortunate enough to be there when two friends/consulting managers of the owner were visiting and I really enjoyed getting to know them. It just made my time there so much the better. I'm not sure how I would have felt had it just been me and the regular staff. Some are genuinely friendly, but I did not appreciate the attempt to charge me 25 USD for the transfer from LP and other such behavior. One other complaint was the lack of WiFi in the rooms. Overall, I had an enjoyable stay - very peaceful and relaxing.
Reviewed July 05, 2017
Dear Jackie Greeting from Namouriveside Hotel & resort Thank you very much for your comment Phonesack Southiphone
Responded December 18, 2017
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
8.0
Excellent
Catherine from Australia
Family with teens
Executive Suite river view
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Peaceful place to relax”
It's about one hour from Luang Prabang. Peaceful spot with beautiful grounds and pool. Food was very average which lets it down. Instant coffee only. That need to improve this aspect to make it really good. The food at the restaurants near Pak ou caves was terrible - avoid.
Reviewed December 23, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
lushi from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
nice and beautiful resort ”
the resort location good facing the river and quiet. even though no public transport can go but can arrange car pick you up. the staff is nice and helpful. and provide event arrangement. I will be back next time to laos
Reviewed September 29, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Silvia from Germany
Family with teens
Deluxe Upper Floor
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
super nice staff”
The assistant manager went out of the way to accommodate us. He took us to a nearby mountaintop where we had a wonderful view of the valley. Even though it was hot it was totally worth the hike. It is an amazing view from up there. We wanted to go bike riding with our kids but they only had Adult bikes in the shed. So he asked some kids in the village to rent some kids bikes. The rooms are beautiful and clean, the beds comfortable. They had two queen size beds in the room. So the double sleeps easily 4 people. We didn't have to pay extra for the kids. My daughter kept bugging them but they fulfilled all her wishes and stayed friendly all the time. If you want to have a break from the city, this is the perfect place to be.
Reviewed May 25, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Seng from Malaysia
Couple
Junior Suite River View
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Amazing relax place ”
Quite place just suitable for couples to stay over here will enjoy the hotel facilities like swimming pool, pak caves trip also trekking with the best view in Nam ou .
Really far from the town area but cozy place to stay over after long distance from vientiane to luang prabang. with the helpful staff we have our great day for trip to pak caves and local village for trekking
Reviewed October 05, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
John from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Upper Floor
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
Nam Ou Riverside - a chance meeting...”
1. The location 2. The room 3. The staff
An off chance booking resulted in spending 4 nights in Shangri la. The resort is well laid out , well maintained and well appointed. The staff were on hand to help when required. Our stay was fantastic
Reviewed July 24, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Lynette from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Great place to stay”
Location,service,accomodation
Our stay at Nam Ou was great. We were picked up in Luang Prabang by shuttle bus and driven to resort where we were greeted by Outsama the general manager of resort who made us feel very welcomed. We were given an upgrade which was terrific .Purroom overlooked the river magnificent .The staff were very friendly and helpful.Outsama arranged for us to go to the elephant park which was associated with the resort had a great morning feeding going for ride and bathing the elephants ,he also arranged a trip down the river to visit some local village people.It was agreat stay here,would thoroughly recommend this resort.It is agreat place to base yourself as the shuttle bus goes into Luang Prabang several times a day and they will also organise trips for you.
Reviewed November 05, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Ronald from United States
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014
Adventures make the stay special”
Elephant experience, river village tour, and staff
The weather was perfect, the scenery spectacular and the adventures made this a visit to remember. The resort staff a friendly and helpful. The river view room was clean, well designed and comfortable. The river village tour was a once in a lifetime special tour. The excellent boatman/guide seemed to read our minds and took great care to see that all our desires and needs were met. This village tour is unlike any we have every been on and we saw many things only villagers and locals know about. The caves at Bankok were impressive with ancient stonework and shrines. The elephant farm let us get up close and personal with the elephants.
Reviewed October 17, 2014
8.8
Excellent
SO from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ground Floor
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Recommend for a retreat!!! ”
I stayed for 2 nights and did enjoy staying here. The room was Amazing!! And the staffs were very friendly and helpful. There was a free shuttle from town to resort twice a day so I didn't have any problem going back to either town or resort. I do recommend for those who want to relax from long journey.
Reviewed January 01, 2018
Dear Guests Greeting from Namouriverside Hotel & Resort Thank you very much for your comment hope to see you next time Thank you Best regards Phonesack Supervisor Management
Responded January 03, 2018
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
4.4
Adithi from India
Group
Deluxe Ground Floor
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Too Far - Costs more to travel to the hotel than the room itself ”
The hotel will cost you 25 usd from the airport. They offer 2 free shuttles which are a hassle since they do not drop you off at the location you want to be dropped off at. If you do not take the shuttle, you have to pay another 25 usd. Overall not worth staying in this location. The property is nice but the location is horrible
Reviewed December 26, 2017
Dear Guests Greeting from Namouriverside Hotel & resort Thank you very much for your comment Phonesack Supervisor Management
Responded December 31, 2017
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
8.8
Excellent
Fiona from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Upper Floor
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Remote and relaxing ”
If you are looking for a bit of luxury and remoteness then this is the place for you ! We wanted a few days of doing nothing away from the hustle and bustle of Luang Prabang and found it here on the Nam Ou river ! The rooms are really comfortable and spacious, we booked a twin and got a room with 2 very comfortable double beds ! The restaurant is very good and not overly expensive, you really have to eat at the restaurant as there is nothing else around. The breakfast which was included was excellent and bountiful ! There is a nice pool and plenty of peace and quiet ! There is a shuttle that takes you into town a couple of times a day. We stayed in Luang Prabang for 3 days and then 2 days at Nam Ou Riverside so it was a good combination.
Reviewed December 17, 2017
Dear Fiona Greeting from Namouriverside Hotel & Resort Thank you very much for your visiting and very good comment hope to see you next time Thank you Best regards Phonesack( Supervisor Management)
Responded December 22, 2017
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
9.2
Exceptional
Lisa from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ground Floor
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Exceptional”
The place is beautiful! I loved my room - it's elegance, comfort, and style. The food in the restaurant was really delicious. I liked everything I ordered and much of it is local to the area. The swim in the pool, refreshing! It's a bit out of the way but that's why the place is so quiet and I appreciated the shuttle from/back to the airport. It was sure nice to get out of Luang Pranbang, for sure.
Reviewed November 03, 2017
Dear Lisa Greeting from Namouriverside Hotel & Resort Thank you very much for your Support and comment, we hopefully to see you again for the next visit Best regards Phonesack Soutthiphone (Supervisor Management)
Responded November 05, 2017
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
8.8
Excellent
Andrew from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Ground Floor
Stayed 5 nights in July 2017
Peaceful and beautiful ”
What a gem 40 minutes out of Luang Prabang. Rooms of 5 star quality and staff that could help more. Locations a little remote but that's what makes this place work so well. 2 Nights and you will enjoy. The food is some of the best we've eaten in Laos.
Reviewed July 25, 2017
Dear Andrew Greeting from Namouriverside Hotel & resort Thank you very much for your comment, we will slowly improve what your comment bout and I hope every thing is will going on well soon Best regards Phonesack Soutthiphone Supervisor Management
Responded November 05, 2017
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
10.0
Exceptional
Will from United States
Couple
Deluxe Upper Floor
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Very secluded, spacious rooms, lovely grounds ”
We were the only people for 2 nights at the hotel in May. The hotel is very secluded and remote (45 min from Luang Prabang), but since we rode our own scooter out there it was perfect for us as we could explore the area on our own. The rooms are spacious and clean. The pool area was lovely, and the views over the Nam Ou river were sublime from the restaurant. Being the low season we got an incredible internet deal and found the place to be of great value. Really lovely place, just be sure you are aware that it is way out there on it's own (something we were searching for).
Reviewed May 13, 2017
Dear guests Greeting from Namouriverside Hotel & resort Thank you very much for your comment Phonesack(Mr) Supervisor management
Responded December 31, 2017
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
10.0
Exceptional
Katie from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Ground Floor
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
The most incredible retreat”
The staff made us feel extremely welcome and treated us as part of their extended family. Location is rural and complete bliss. Food and facilities were just perfect and we really wish we could stay longer. Hope to return one day. Thanks Mr Phone Sack and team! Katie & Nicole
Reviewed March 05, 2017
Dear Katie Greeting from Namouriverside Thank you very much hope to see you again Phonesack Supervisor Management
Responded November 10, 2017
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
8.4
Excellent
Graham from United States
Couple
Deluxe Ground Floor
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Getaway from Luang Probang”
After 3 nights in Luang Probang we came here to rest and relax. Great pool, HUGE rooms, friendly staff. It's a long ride back to town, so I wouldn't stay here until you've had your fill of it. However there is a free shuttle into town at 10am and 5pm. Returning at either 3pm or 9pm. The only cons were that there weren't many people and that the kitchen wasn't stocked for everything on the menu. We also spent WAY to much money to see the caves. Not worth it. But great staff, good food, and great rooms.
Reviewed February 17, 2017
Dear Graham Greeting from namouriverside Thank you very much for your visiting and hope to see you again for the next visit Phonesack Soutthiphone Supervisor management
Responded November 10, 2017
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
2.8
Kee from Singapore
Couple
Junior Suite River View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Dont book thus hotel. Horrible stay”
No facilities. Located in timbuktu. Nothing much to eat in restaurant with stale food causing bad food poisoning. No one manning reception at night. Only 1 staff at counter. No electricity no water n no toilet flushing on second day of stay causing us to check out. Wasted $180 which should be refunded but not so. Most horrible experience
Reviewed February 14, 2017
Dear kee Greeting from Namouriverside Thank you very much for your comment Bestregards Phonesack
Responded January 03, 2018
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
6.8
Good
Paul from United Kingdom
Couple
Junior Suite River View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Good hotel bad location ”
Staff are so nice. The hotel is miles away from the center. It's too far, about 50 minutes on rough roads. The hotel facilities are fine but the location just ruins it. Sadly avoid this one unless you just want to stay in resort
Reviewed January 31, 2017
Dear Paul Greeting from Namouriverside Thank you very much for your visiting Phonesack Southiphone Supervisor Management
Responded November 10, 2017
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
10.0
Exceptional
Nicola from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Upper Floor
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Perfect getaway spot - very quiet and peaceful”
We got a fantastic deal on Agoda and an upgrade on arrival to a river front suite. It t was clearly under occupied with only a few other guests in the 3 nights we spent there. We had 4 nights in a Luang Prabang before and decided to head off for a few days of lazing around a pool. It was perfect for what we wanted. We used the free bikes to cycle to Pak Ou caves and just quietened our minds. The mornings in Jan are cool - perfect for cycling or hiking - and the afternoons glorious sunshine. Our room was beautiful and well equipped with so much room. It was cleaned daily. The restaurant was quiet with few guests but wonderful food at very good prices too. We recharged here and had a wonderful stay. I would recommend it.
Reviewed January 19, 2017
Dear Nicola Greeting from Namouriverside Thank you very much for your comment, hope to see you again Phonesack Southiphone Supervisor Management
Responded November 10, 2017
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
9.2
Exceptional
Julie from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Upper Floor
Stayed 5 nights in December 2016
Great place for relaxing outside the city ”
The resort is beautiful! It is located about an hour from the city but the hotel has shuttles a few times a day for free to the city. The views are lovely and so are the rooms. I would recommend just a long weekend here for relaxation and isolation. The food is okay and menu isn't really extensive. The city is beautiful and definitely get out and see the waterfalls, temples and the night market.
Reviewed January 01, 2017
Dear Julie Greeting from Namouriverside Hotel & Resort Thank you very much for your comment Phonesack
Responded January 18, 2018
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
2.8
Smriti from Nepal
Family with teens
Deluxe Ground Floor
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Terrible experience cancelled our booking after one night”
Nam Ou Riverside Resort is a riverfront property way out of Luang Prabang in the middle of nowhere. If you want to spend time in the garden overlooking the river, this is a good quiet place. But it is so remotely located without much facilities that you will actually regret staying here. Much better to stay in the beautiful town of Luang Prabang!
Reviewed December 31, 2016
Dear Smirti Greeting from Namouriverside Thank you very much for your comment Phonesack
Responded January 18, 2018
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
10.0
Exceptional
Felicia from Australia
Family with teens
Deluxe Upper Floor
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Delightful!”
A beautiful setting, super-comfortable room, attractive and well-maintained grounds, good food, helpful staff, nice walks nearby - what more could one ask? Yes, it is a bit far from Luang Prabang but really worth a stay.
Reviewed December 26, 2016
Dear Felicia Greeting from namouriverside resort Thank you very much for your comment Phonesack
Responded January 18, 2018
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
9.6
Exceptional
Jeffrey from United States
Couple
Deluxe Upper Floor
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016
Peaceful Getaway”
This is a great place if you want a quiet, peaceful getaway away from the crowds. Staff was friendly and helpful. We spent four nights here mountain biking and enjoying the river. The food was good but there were not a lot of other choices in the area.
Reviewed April 11, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Yuya from Japan
Couple
Junior Suite River View
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Awesome place”
Relaxing, nice view and interior
It was really great hotel although it is too far away from center of the City(Luang Prabang). I advise everyone to take shuttle bus provided by the hotel otherwise it is difficult to find transportation to go there. I couldn't make it on shuttle bus so took a taxi to go there and it costs 50USD, 1 hour driving. And the taxi was truck so it was pretty uncomfortable on bumpy road. Anyway, the hotel is really relaxing, quiet place surrounded by nature. I want to stay there again next time I visited here. One thing I advise to the hotel, maybe you should tell guests to be quiet somehow in good way especially when there is another guest next to it because It was too noisy to sleep when I was there. Someone next door was watching TV or something loudly
Reviewed February 10, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
John from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Junior Suite River View
Stayed 10 nights in January 2016
Didn't want to leave.”
Location, High standard of accommodation and very good staff.
After 7 days in Luang Prabang and into my 6th week in SE Asia, I thought t was time to get some peace a quiet. If you look at the photographs either from the management or guests, I would say they could never give you an idea of the real beauty of this hotels location. On arrival I was greeted by Thanong sack and Thavin, who gave me the good news that I had been upgraded from a Junior Riverside Suite to a full stand alone villa, looking over the beautiful Nam Ou River. The standard of the villas are very high and their positions are private and peaceful. During the day, after a very good breakfast cooked to order. You could choose to rest by the infinity pool overlooking the river or choose to take advantage of the twice daily free shuttle in to LP city. Pedal bikes were also provided free of charge if you were feeling energetic. There are also excursions available via the hotel to various places of interest. I chose to take a trip on the river to the Buddha caves and a river village specialising in local crafts and weaving silk and cotton items. These items were a fraction of the price of equivalent goods in the city.. My trip on the river was was made very special by my guide and all round top man Phonsack. He had great knowledge of the area and villages but also was able to give me more general information on Laos. I would like to thank all of the staff who made my stay very memorable. They are all to a man/woman fantastic. Thank you Nam Ou Riverside from Villa G7.
Reviewed January 27, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Tommy-John from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe Upper Floor
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Welcome to Laos!”
Me and my girlfriend stayed here on our first night in Laos. It was one of the greatest experiences of our trip around south east asia. We were greeted with the warmest hospitality from the staff and the room we stayed in was immaculate and had amazing views of the mountains. What really made the experience truly special was the extended hospitality of one of the managers, Sai. After greeting us and having a short conversation about our travels, Sai decided to take us on a locals tour around Luang Prabang. It was one of the best nights of our life and really made an impact on the rest of our days in Laos. Thank you Sai ( Tiger ) and the amazing staff at Nam Ou Riverside for the unforgettable stay!
Reviewed January 23, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Christina from Canada
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Stunning retreat”
Privacy, location, rooms
I was struggling with food poisoning from Burma, but the staff were super nice making some charcoal tea, everyone was super friendly and its a beautiful place to bike ride around and see the elephants. Food wasn't great, so if I was there for a longer period of time, you'll want to pick up some fresh fruit/snacks to have on hand. The hotel was also super helpful in organizing transport to Vieng Viang at a great price.
Reviewed December 23, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Olga from Ukraine
Family with teens
Deluxe Upper Floor
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Praceful quiet resort in breathtaking setting.”
Relaxing atmosphere, besutiful surroundings, attentive staff
Absolutely amazing stay. Very relaxing. Thanks to very attentive staff. Rooms are big and clean, view from the balcony is breathtaking. Pool is nice and clean. Perfect place to recharge your battery.
Reviewed December 05, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Alan from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
By the river of Nam Ou......”
The staff was excellent. Bravo! The room was super! And the location.... cool, relaxing and away from the busy streets of Luang Prabang!
We had a great stay at the resort. Our rooms/suites overlook the Nam Ou River, so in the night the sound of the river serenades us as we relax and sleep. Located about 1 hour away from the city center, the resort is a sure bet for peeps looking for a beautiful and quite getaway from their busy lives. There are free shuttles provide by the hotel to the city, so not to worry about being disconnected from the city. The hotel staffs were extremely helpful and kind. So don't forget to tip them when you check out of the resort ya!
Reviewed March 05, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Fung from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Relaxing Place to Stay”
Helpful Staff, Comfortable rooms, Beautiful place
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice and comfortable. The whole resort it self is quite beautiful. It is located quite far from town though. But it might be a good thing if you want to escape the hustle of town. The hotel itself is quite flexible as they do arrange free shuttle services to town and back. Overall i enjoyed my stay.
Reviewed February 28, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Margaret from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
wonderful place”
Scenic, Swimming pool, Staff
I had a fantastic holiday at Nam Ou. It is in a wonderful setting on the banks of the Nam Ou river. You can watch the river float by from the restaurant or your accommodation or walk along the river banks. The staff are very helpful and charming they do their best to make you welcome. They have two elephants, a mother and her baby, here. They are healthy and well cared for. There is an opportunity to ride them if desired. The swimming pool is a decent size and there are sun loungers to relax. I was lucky enough to get upgraded and the villas are amazingly luxurious, beautiful wooden floors, jacuzzi bath and outside shower and a lovely balcony to watch the sunset-Paradise. The walkways are trellised with bougainvillea hanging down. The tours are reasonably priced and worthwhile. The food is mainly simple Laos food but delicious and there is a good choice of breakfast.
Reviewed February 22, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Trenna from New Zealand
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Riverfront Magic”
Location Tranquility View
Family of 5 with 3 children had 2 fabulous nights in the Riverview Superior Villas located right next to the pool.The setting is stunning sitting on the deck watching the local fisherman below. Thoroughly recommend a visit to the elephant sanctuary next door - highlight of the stay for our kids who also got to ride and wash them in the river. We were the only guests (beginning of Dec) so enjoyed the peace and quiet to ourselves. Be sure to pack the extra layers for this time of year. Staff are fantastic, the new manager made a huge effort to ensure how family were very happy. Location very isolated no other restaurants nearby but the quality at the resort restaurant was very good. Make sure to explore around the village. Definately a beautiful place to chill at.
Reviewed January 19, 2015
8.3
Excellent
richard from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
good for one nite”
beauty,rooms and staff
This resort is wonderful and luxurios with spectacular rooms and setting.It is not a hotel to visit luang prabang but a MUSt stay for 1 nite to do the Pak OU cve trip and elephant riding.Stay a day and nite and then move in to town center
Reviewed January 14, 2015
8.7
Excellent
sebastien from France
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014
Superb but a bit remote”
Quiet, Beautiful view, Relaxing
Very relaxing stay, exceptional view over the river from the bungalows, very clean. I would recommend this hotel for people who want to relax. It is a bit remote and there are only 2 time slots for the free van from and to luang prabang. It is near Pak Ou caves (the hotel offers a private boat ride and a village visit for a decent price). On the improvement side: the food menu is small which would be a problem for long stays, the free shuttle is not at the best time of the day and the "taxi" is expensive (and not always available). The view from the bungalow is exceptional. The staff is extremely nice and helpful.
Reviewed January 07, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Nicole from Canada
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Beautiful location, relaxing”
Location
Stunning location, beautiful views of the river and rolling hills, a perfect place to relax. Could have spent the whole day sitting on the balcony with a book. The rooms were fantastic; spacious, clean, comfortable beds. The only surprising thing was the quite small and unimpressive menu, only because everything else was so perfect. Many guests also ended up hauling chairs from the dining area out to the pool side because there were only a handful of lounge chairs in the pool area. We had the impression the staff and management were still figuring a few things out, but all of the elements were there. Would absolutely stay again, but for at least a few nights as the drive out was quite far and expensive for only one night.
Reviewed January 07, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Ian from Canada
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Great experience”
Room was palatial, elephant sanctuary was terrific, staff were friendly
We enjoyed our stay at Nam Ou very much. They picked us up from the airport for a reasonable cost and when we arrived, we were impressed with the size and condition of our room. It felt like we were being spoiled. The elephant sanctuary next door was a terrific experience and is highly recommended. Two negatives for us were: a) No TV (it would have been nice to have something to watch in the evenings as there really was nothing else to do); b) food - meals were alright, but there were no snack options so we got very hungry at night. Overall, we loved our stay at Nam Ou and we would highly recommend people spend at least part of their stay in LP in this resort! You won't regret it.
Reviewed December 26, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Jill from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Nam Ou - Is The Greatest!”
The staff, the location, the elephants
Nam Ou offered everything that I was looking for, peace, tranquility, beautiful scenery, more than fantastic friendly staff and with the addition of 9 elephants in the adjoining property I felt as if I was in heaven! I had a room with large balcony facing the river, more than enough space for 2 people let alone 1 solo traveller like myself, so I was well spoilt. I was travelling out of season and so in fact I had the whole place to myself - 16 staff, 9 elephants and me!!! What a luxury! In some places this could prove to be uncomfortable but not at Nam Ou, everyone was so warm and friendly, in fact I hope we do stay in touch and remain friends, I can't wait for my next visit - and to show my friends! If there was any negative it would be that staying in the resort for a number of days and with no restaurants within easy reach, one does become a little tired of the choosing from the same menu. I suggest taking a few nibbles with you when you go there so you have some of your favourite tit bits.
Reviewed May 21, 2014
8.7
Excellent
nassima from France
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
SUPERB ! I wish i could go come back again”
SURROUNDINGS - STAFF - NATURE
We spent 3 nights in this resort and we loved everything about it . Such a wonderful and peaceful place . The room are huge and spotless with a comfortable bed . We stayed in superior villa which has a large terrasse facing the mountains and the Nam Ou River . So relaxing . Amazing infinity swimming pool with a view on the mountains and the river . The staff is very hepful and try their best to make you feel comfortable The resort is offering a lot of activities but unfortunately most of them do not suit to a 5 years old kid . We did spend half day at the elephant farm and had a nice ride . We also had a trip on the boat to visit the nearby villages . My daughter enjoyed the both activities and was sad to leave as she made new friends in the village . Lao people are amazingly heartful and generous , they are not rich but they will share with you with a big kindly smile . I hope to go back to Laos very soon, very authentic country. Go to Laos it s an amazing country with amazing people and spend some days at Nam ou riverside you will not regret it .
Reviewed May 08, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Dianne from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
stunning location beautiful rooms”
location,stylish comfortable rooms and welcoming friendly staff
Our stay here was memorable, a warm welcome from the manager and our rooms were a delight (we came back for a second visit) The location is stunning on the banks of the Nam Ou river overlooking the mountains, A complete getaway next to unspoilt local villages,we highly recommend this resort.
Reviewed February 24, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Gilles from France
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Good old fashioned Asian hospitality!”
Friendly staff, wonderful location and beautiful villas.
If you would like to experience authentic Laos countryside life and hospitality go to Nam Ou. Our family stayed in Nam Ou for 6 nights. We stayed in one of the superior double villas. The villas are made of Rose wood,with high ceilings and all are tastefully decorated . All the villas have balconies facing the Nam Ou River. The beds are large and comfortable and there is strong water pressure and hot water. (Thank goodness as we did not know Laos temperature could drop to 10 degrees in the evening during winter!) We were travelling with our 4 and 10 year old daughters and we thought they would be bored but we were able to relax, visit Luang Prabang and the villages along Nam Ou and the Mekong River. The resort guide took us by boat to authentic Lao villages along the Nam Ou and Mekong River with absolutely no tourists but us. The villagers were very friendly. We enjoyed an afternoon with the elephants in the resort. There was a baby (9month old) elephant and she was very amusing. There is WIFI only in the common areas like the pool, restaurant/lobby which was a good break from constant use of electronic devices. The resort is located 35 kilometres from Luang Prabang City centre but the hotel arranged a vehicle and a driver for us for a reasonable price. Mr Outsama, the hotel manager was very helpful, kind and sincere. He speaks English, French and Lao. Breakfast is very good (a la carte). Allocate an hour for breakfast (there is no point in rushing the staff) and enjoy its beautiful views of the river and the mountain. The restaurant serves delicious Lao dishes at reasonable prices. Service is always with a smile. They could have included a few Western dishes for those longing for a change from Asian food.
Reviewed January 09, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
sharon from Israel
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
a very good and recomended vacation”
great food, swimming pool and a lovely bungalow
The resort is very nice with a beautiful garden and a swimming pool. It has a very nice view to the river. The bungalow is big, clean and comfortable with a big balcony and coffee and tea facilities. The resort is isolated and very quiet and relaxing. The break fast and the dinner are very tasty and the staff is very friendly.The resort is far away from the city and there isn't WiFi in the room, only in the restaurant and the pool.
Reviewed December 28, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Rasa from Lithuania
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Very relaxing runaway”
Area, rooms, staff
We stayed in this hotel in Jan. It was the best place in our Laos trip. And we wished we could have stayed longer. It is very peaceful, calm resort. It felt like it was just for two of us in the hotel. Rooms: new, huge and clean. Service was exceptional. I am very frequent traveler with high expectations and the staff exceeded all of them and even surprised us. They made us feel like we were their most special guests. I can tell only very good things about this place. My recommendation - if you like to have a run away from busy cities, pagodas and want just chill out and be pampered for a day or two, go there. Practical recommendation: you can take a boat to the cave (2-3 hours) and then ask driver to leave you in the village in front of cave. In the village go to the last house where there is an old man who speaks a bit of English he may organize a car for you better go there in morning so you figure your tripping till sunset. Hotel also organizes the pick up by car (25 mins) or boat, but a bit more expensive. In any case it is worth of experience. Being there you can take a small boat trip to visit real (not-tourist) villages. I liked it a lot. Enjoy!
Reviewed May 17, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Birgit from Finland
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
Beutifull hotell inside very poor village ”
beutifull big separate villas near by river. nice wiew, peacefull.Suitble for people who want to spend their time in hotel area
There was no tv i a room, and it was little bit cold if U compare it to Luang Prabang. It is new hotel and they are just making outsidepool. Nice staff, it was easy , pleasant ja quite cheap to rent a van and travel to Pak Ou cave and Falls. staff just practice how to service. they were quick and nice but u must wait the food almost 2 our:)
Reviewed February 08, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Lisa from South Africa
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
amazing view, stunning bungalow.”
Amazing view of the river, attentative staff, peaceful, beautiful large bungalow.
we spent 3 lovely days relaxing on the side of the river. we cycled to the caves, and bargained a local long boat back to the hotel with our bikes. the hotel manager is amazingly helpful and experienced. only drawback was a limited menu for food and drink. however they tried a number of new dishes out on us incl baked pork and two deserts. the chocolate brownie was amazing! we were not charged for these. i will recommend this hotel for a quiet few days away from town and i will go back again if i have the chance.
Reviewed January 13, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Sharah from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in August 2011
Huge room great view, wonderful place to stay”
Very peaceful, relax and watch the river go by
do not use the airport taxi it is 35km to resort and they will rob you for the fair call ahead and make araingements with the resort. huge room, with a big veranda with tables and chairs to sit and take in the area, fantastic food, no problem to organise anything for you, we hired a scooter for 2 days and did our own thing, a tour was organised for our last day and drop back to airport at finish for our flight out.overal was a wonderful stay would come back again will try when the pool is finished should be magic.
Reviewed August 16, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Hugh from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in July 2011
Very peaceful riverside bungalows”
Very large and clean rooms, peaceful surroundings
The bungalows at Nam Ou are very large and well appointed, and the owner was very friendly to us, making sure that we were well taken care of. The resort is about 45 minutes from Luang Prabang, so you must contact them before you arrive to arrange a pick up, as none of the local drivers knew where it was. The owner advised us that he hopes to make this free in the future. The resort is in a good location for walking, kayaking and cycling, and the owner told us that he hoped to have equipment on site for this in the future. As he didn't yet have them, he kindly organised a private cycling and kayaking tour for us through his tour company. The swimming pool was not completed when we stayed there.
Reviewed August 02, 2011
6.4
Good
kent
Group
Deluxe Ground Floor
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
Decent Place but really far from town”
The rooms are nice and big and it's a pretty location on the Nam Ou River, but it takes nearly an hour to get there from town. The hotel has a shuttle which runs twice a day, but even that is not convenient. If you just want to get away and not go anywhere or do anything but sit on your balcony or by the pool, this would be a good choice for you!
Reviewed February 24, 2018
Dear Mr. kent Greeting from Management at Namouriverside Thank you very much for your comment Best regards Phonesack Soutthiphone Management
Responded March 05, 2018
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
9.2
Exceptional
Deshmontri from Thailand
Couple
Junior Suite River View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Quiet place perfect for honeymoon couple”
The Hotel is located outside Luang Prabang City and well maintain clean and quiet good for an ideal getaway place staff is very helpful - worth a visit, we will be back for sure.
Reviewed January 16, 2017
Dear Deshmontri Greeting from Namouriverside Hotel & Resort Thank you very much for your comment. hope to see you by the next visit Best regards Phonesack Supervisor Management
Responded January 12, 2018
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
8.0
Excellent
Guido from Switzerland
Group
Junior Suite River View
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Wunderfful”
Nice place, wonderful bungalows!
Reviewed October 23, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Jamieson from New Zealand
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Sublime experience”
The location, the staff and the spectacular unspoiled scenery
It was a wonderful experience. For us the serenity of the place was fantastic.
Reviewed September 10, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
CHANGCHENG from China
Group
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
very good place for leisure”
service environment riverside
very kind and helpfull staff good environment elephant feeding
Reviewed February 28, 2015
8.8
Excellent
Cornelis from Laos
Solo traveler
Deluxe Ground Floor
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Great place ”
Great place to go to on your bicycle to, spent a day or more and bike back to Luang Prabang. Staff will pick up your luggage in Luang Prabang.
Reviewed January 30, 2018
Dear Cornelis Greeting from Namouriverside Hotel & REsort Thank you very much for your comment. hope to see you for the next visit Best regards Phonesack Supervisor management
Responded January 31, 2018
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
6.8
Good
eman from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Ground Floor
Stayed 4 nights in November 2017
Great place awful location”
If you are looking for a very quite, serene out of the way place this is the place for you. While the place is amazing, the staff are wonderful and the food is good. The location is awful. You are in the middle of no were, approximately 40minutes out of town on a terrible road. There is a shuttle bus that leaves at 10am and 3 pm and comes back at 9 pm. But remember it will still be at least a 40minute ride there and back. And once you get back to the hotel there is real nothing to do. No TV, and the wifi is not always that reliable. The only place you can go to eat or have a drink is in the hotel, and while we were there we saw very few other people, so you are totally isolated. So if you are looking for a very quite place totally isolated, with great service, nice staff and wonderful rooms this is the place for you.
Reviewed November 10, 2017
Dear Eman Greeting from Namouriverside Hotel & resort Thank you very much for your comment and we will improve internet wifi system to be more strong Hope to see you by the next visit. Thank you very much Phonesack Southiphone Supvisor Management
Responded November 16, 2017
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
7.6
Very good
Surbhi from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Upper Floor
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016
Relaxing break”
We chose to stay at the riverside because of its description and that it was next to the elephant camp. The elephant camp however had moved a year ago nearer to Luang Prabang town. We loved our stay at the resort, mostly because we were the only guests bar another family. The Lao food is delicious and good value. We cycled to Pak Ou village using the resort mountain bikes. We loved the ride. There are some steep hills!! We then took a long boat to the caves. We also cycled around the local villages. We loved the infinity pool, very refreshing after a cycle ride. We had the American breakfast minus the processed sausages. If you want to get away from it all and just chill this is the place. Just remember it is 45 minutes away from Luang Prabang town. The free shuttle service is good but restricts you to set times.
Reviewed April 02, 2016
6.3
Good
Randolph from United States
Solo traveler
Junior Suite River View
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
Too far from Luang Prabang, no TV, bad wifi”
quiet, quiet, quiet
It cost me $40 US to get to the hotel from Luang Prabang. It's too far from Luang Prabang (probably 40km) and shouldn't even be shown as a local hotel.I booked for 3 nights even though the booking website did say no refunds.Once i got there I knew I didn't want to stay. So the next morning I booked a hotel in Luang Prabang and lost the 2 night's lodging cost. I asked for a refund but it was refused. Too bad. It really gives me a bad impression of the place.
Reviewed February 20, 2016
7.3
Very good
Sheree from Australia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014
stay at Nam Ou Riverside resort was peaceful ”
peaceful surroundings, beautiful room, good manager/staff
Our stay at Nam Ou Riverside Resort was very pleasant and peaceful. The Manager Uttusman and his assistant Leh were very welcoming and helpful. Only one draw back is that this resort is far (approx 40mins) from the airport, and the city of Louang Prabang. So it is recommended for a 2-3day stay and for someone looking for peace and quiet and not action - for which you need to stay in Louang Prabang City. Also make sure you request for airport shuttle transfers (costs US$250) especaially if you are arriving late at night, as you need to pass through a lot of forrest roads before reaching the resort.
Reviewed February 03, 2014
2.0
Chanyanat from Thailand
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Very bad ”
Bad
Reviewed August 11, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Roxy from Laos
Couple
Deluxe Upper Floor
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
just perfect! ”
The staff was really helpful and very friendly, the room was huge and and the interior was beautiful, beautiful view from the room and at the pool, nice food
Reviewed November 04, 2017
Dear Roxy Greeting from namouriverside Hotel & resort Thank you very much for your comment Hopefully to see you again for the next visit Have a good trip Phonesack Soutthiphone Supervisor management
Responded November 06, 2017
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
9.2
Exceptional
Xavier from China
Couple
Deluxe Ground Floor
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Very good”
Very good place, quiet, beautiful landscape. If you take a motorbike from Luang Prabang, it's very convenient. Relax and enjoy the landscape inside the jungle
Reviewed September 14, 2017
Dear Xavier Greetings from Namou Riverside Hotel & resort. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We wish all the best and hope to welcome you again some time Mr.Phonesack Supervisor Management
Responded October 18, 2017
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
10.0
Exceptional
Henrique from Brazil
Family with teens
Deluxe Ground Floor
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Perfect”
Probably the very best hotel in Luang Prabang. Made us feel like at home!
Reviewed March 17, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Isaschar from Israel
Couple
Junior Suite River View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Came for two days, stayed four. Riverbank location, quiet, beautifull bungalows, great staff.”
Don't be put off by location out of town. The drive takes about 50 minutes but provides an opportunity to see the country side.
Reviewed November 15, 2016
Dear Isaschar Greeting from Namouriverside Hotel & resort Thank you very much for your comment Phonesack Southiphone Supervisor Management
Responded November 10, 2017
Nam Ou Riverside Resort
9.2
Exceptional
Patrick from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Upper Floor
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Impeccable Riverside Luxury. ”
Huge Pool. Well appointed rooms. Great staff. Bear in mind it is a 1 hour drive north of Luang Prabang, but it's a wonderful secluded escape.
Reviewed November 14, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Bart from United States
Couple
Junior Suite River View
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Friendly staff and beautiful accommodation”
Friendly staff. Since it was low season, they were lenient on the check-out time. Beautiful accommodation and quiet, natural setting by the river.
Reviewed November 03, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Bradley from United States
Couple
Deluxe Upper Floor
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
A must go”
This is a gem of a place. A real good experience if you want to relax in Lao luxury.
Reviewed April 06, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Carsten from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Upper Floor
Stayed 7 nights in February 2016
Top!”
It was a very peacefull and really nice stay!
Reviewed February 18, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Dan from Thailand
Couple
Junior Suite River View
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Best vacation ever”
Friendly and helpful staffs, great service, mother nature
Great, will be back for more.
Reviewed October 10, 2015