Book Now: Namuka Bay Resort

Very good
From 44 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (44)Booking.com Reviews (18)
7.8
Very good
From 44 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.6
Facilities8.0
Location7.8
Room comfort and quality7.4
Service8.5
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Deutsch
Français
日本語
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 43 verified guest comments
9.0
Exceptional
Melanie from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Remote Brachfront Villas”
The remote beachfront, fresh organic food and snorkelling
We only stayed one night but the Namaku Bay resort was beautiful. Our villa was metres from the beach and VERY secluded. The staff were friendly and the little restaurant serves it's own organic produce that was delicious and reasonably priced! This place is very relaxing with fantastic snorkelling, horseriding and bushwalking. There is no TV or fridge...
Reviewed July 15, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Ruci from Fiji
Family with young children
Beach Front Villa
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
A good place for a quick getaway...very relaxing”
near the ocean, nice beach and friendly staff
Reviewed June 26, 2013
6.3
Good
Henry from Australia
Couple
Beach Front Villa
Stayed 4 nights in May 2013
Isolated Quiet Hideaway with beautiful beach views”
Beach View, Snorkelling, Quiet Environment
This place is suitable for those that are looking for a quiet relaxing environment away from the usual busy resorts. The beach is beautiful and well suited for snorkeling. Can be suitable swimming although there are alot of coral onshore (but this is common in Fiji) take the local 'tour' with the staff during your stay to discover hidden areas. Be informed this resort is about 20min rugged terrain drive from the main highway to the resort. I recommend to contact the resort for 4WD transfers. There are no shops nearby. Plan to stay at the resort for the full duration and enjoy it's offerings.
Reviewed June 15, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Jason from Australia
Couple
Beach Front Villa
Stayed 4 nights in May 2013
Nice relaxing place. Great getaway ”
View, beach, quietness
Reviewed June 11, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Wilma from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
beautiful, charming, easy, tasty”
great view, private beach, wonderful food, wonderful staff, organic food, fresh produce
Namuka Bay Resort is a hidden gem in Cuvu. To get to the resort you pass through several miles of rolling hills with views of small farms and then it turns downwards revealling a hidden spot and a beautiful little beach. It's a small charming hotel with it's own farm providing fresh produce and milk for the hotel restaurant. Food was amazingly fresh and delicious, and the most authentic food I had in two weeks in Fiji! We were upgraded to a bure and the delightful staff brought our food directly to our beachfront patio. I wish I could have stayed longer! The beach is a private white sand beach, with coral just a few feet in. Snorkeling was lovely and you can see surfers in the distance. The hotel also has lovely hammocks set up which you could lounge at for hours. Namuka is still fairly unknown and there were few other guests so we had the beach to ourselves.
Reviewed May 19, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Jackie from Australia
Couple
Beach Front Villa
Stayed 5 nights in April 2013
A true fijian expereince.”
Location, staff and quietness
This hotel is very different from any hotel I have ever stayed at before, I felt like I was staying at a friends property, the location is incredible, the staff so friendly and welcoming and the true meaning of relaxation is impossible to avoid :)
Reviewed May 02, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Andrea from Canada
Family with young children
Beach Front Villa
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Amazing Views from our Deck!”
Deck, Beach/Snorkeling, Guided Walks
It started off a bit poorly as our driver was 1 hour late coming to get us from the Pier in Denarau. The shuttle was in an older truck that had 4 wheel drive - you need it to get to this place! Not that far from Nadi, but the road from the main highway to the beach is really bad and you need to drive slowly with lots of bumps. Apparently, it is to be fixed by the government soon. It makes this little place with only 8 units or so off the beaten path (literally) and it feels so close to nature. Our kids could milk the cow, pet the new foal, ride the horse on the beach, explore the gardens, and be barefoot the whole time. The beach was untouched and amazing and we went for a guided walk to a primary school, some old caves and sacrificial ruins. Our meals were served on our deck with one of the best views I have ever had. The kayaking and snorkeling was really nice as well. It is located in between the famous Natadola beach (Intercon) and the Shangrila.
Reviewed April 21, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Franziska from Switzerland
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Peaceful spot between ocean and tropical garden ”
Great food, beautiful location, big airy rooms
We stayed in the beachfront villa, which is very comfortable, spacious and airy with high ceilings and nice design. The bathroom has an outdoor shower which is a nice touch. The staff was very friendly, attentive but not over the top. The resort is secluded, about 15 minutes on a dirt road off the main road and as you get closer to the hotel, there are horses and cows walking freely on the lush grounds of the property. There is a vegetable garden in the back of the hotel, it all feels very peaceful and natural. There are several activities for free, like snorkeling, trip to a cave, a school, the village or getting up early in the morning to learn how to milk a cow. They also offer paid tours. The food served at the restaurant is delicious. When we read their guestbook and everyone commented on the quality of the food, we had just arrived in Fiji and didn't quite know yet that at the end or our travels we could confirm - it was the best food we ate during our whole say in Fiji. We could either eat in the restaurant area or have the meals brought to our private porch with oceanview. Meal prices are ok, however higher than what you would pay in restaurants in town. The oceanfront is protected by the reef and thus very calm and not very deep. The ground can be a bit sharp, so it might be good to bring a pair of protective water shoes. If I went back to Fiji, I would stay at Namuka Bay again.
Reviewed March 27, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Tracy from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Fiji gem!”
Peaceful, serene, isolated and breathtaking!
i spent two nights solo at namuka prior to meeting a friend in denarau. the resort manager was waiting for me upon my arrival at the airport. the last leg of our scenic drive to the resort involved passing through a sugar cane field a bit of adventurous offroading, which brought us to the resort. i was greeted by a very friendly staff who looked after me my whole stay. the manager had called our on way to the resort from the airport to ask the chef to prepare my lunch as i was starving! the team at namuka went above and beyond to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. each meal was delicious and freshly prepared with ingredients grown at the resort. even the milk is fresh every morning! i came to fiji to relax and escape from the busy city life of sydney, and namuka was truly the best place to be! i spent my days relaxing on the deserted white sand beach (which stretched for miles!), kayaking, snorkeling, exploring the local caves and eco-tour, reading in the hammocks, chatting with the staff and enjoying the amazing food! compared to the beaches at the very touristy, commercialized denarau, namuka has a gorgeous beach at your doorstep and you won't share it with hardly anyone at all. if you're looking for the ultimate, authentic fijian experience while still enjoying luxury (aka outdoor showers under the stars!!) namuka is the place to be.
Reviewed February 15, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Juanita from Australia
Solo traveler
Beach Front Villa
Stayed 5 nights in December 2012
A beautiful secluded location.”
Roomy, clean bure riight on the beach front.
if you are looking for a lovely quiet location with beautiful homecooked meals this is the place for you. driving in on an unsealed road (mid year apparently will see an upgrade) was a little daunting but the lovely warm welcome in a beautiful setting was the pot of gold. ok there are no tv's but my grandson loved the closeness of the beach and found the natural world much more facinating. ask the staff if you want any tours or help as they are only too happy to be of assistance. a group or family who loved sun sand and water with a delicous meal to start and finish the day on your balcony or at the restaurant can't go wrong.
Reviewed January 10, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Marquand from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Beach Front Villa
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Book an extra day - you won't regret it”
Beautiful views, excellent hospitality
If the purpose of your holiday is to get away from it all then Namuka Bay is one of the best places on Fiji to do it - superior to most of what the islands have to offer. Before we booked one or two things gave us pause for thought - Namuka Bay Resort is isolated and found at the end of a bumpy stone road, there is no electricity until 7 in the evening, no air con and nothing in the immediate surrounding area. Collectively these factors made us a little hesitant to book but all of these things turned out to be huge positives and we wish we had we had booked an additional couple of nights to the two we spent there. The Resort is really just a few huts on the beach filled with beautiful mahogany furniture,each enjoying a fantastic view of the ocean and cooled by a steady sea breeze. The 'resort' is actually something of a self-subsistent working farm with cows, horses, chicken and a wonderful vegetable garden which provide most of the food for the restaurant, where the fine food is cooked by the excellent chef Sylvia. Because most of the staff are working on the farm they were much more relaxed that at other hotels we stayed at and the atmosphere was relaxed and genuine. 'Real life' quickly seemed very distant and we were able to enjoy a couple of daysof simple luxury. We went with our two year old daughter and were a bit worried before visiting that she might be a little bored but ultimately our worries proved unfounded and most kids can find a lot to see and do here. Perhaps the best recommendation for this resort might be the strong feeling of disappointment we felt checking into our next, really perfectly decent, hotel. It felt as though we had been snatched out of a perfect magic bubble and dumped back into reality.
Reviewed January 02, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Janet from Australia
Solo traveler
Beach Front Villa
Stayed 7 nights in November 2012
Great relaxation”
Isolated, right on the beach
The name Namuka Bay resort is a misnomer. If by resort you conjure up visions of lying by a pool, sipping creamy cocktails , lots of activities and day trips, nightlife and shopping, then it has none of these things, and you will be disappointed. It should be called Namuka Bay Hideaway or Retreat, because if you want isolation, seclusion and time to think, read and walk along long stretches of lonely beaches and swim in the sea and snorkel then this place is for you. There is no pool, but there are endless beaches. The beach side villas are so close to the water that you can almost touch it from your verandah. Parents, for your own sanity and that of other guests, this means that your children will be hideously bored so take them to a resort with a kid’s club. Take everything that you will need, including toiletries as they are not provided, and there are no shops close by. I suggest you take anything you need such as chocolate, duty free alcohol and mixers
Reviewed December 07, 2012
8.0
Excellent
zhixin from China
Couple
Beach Front Villa
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
good service!”
nice food and beautiful view
less entertainment, everyday from daytime to 7pm is the eletricity restrict time, so better be aware of all application full power. wifi is not stable, but better than none. the chef's favorite dish is Fijian local fish and plant leaves, very tasty and Fijian. Please dont miss to try it. By the way, the chef is a beautiful lady, Silvia.
Reviewed November 22, 2012
6.0
ivan from Russia
Solo traveler
Beach Front Villa
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
Freindly Staff but no nice beach area”
Freindly staff - they did their best to help
Very bad road to hotel from main road, the rooms need renovation, too much rocks on the beach and very small water level - you have to go 500 meters to the ocean to reach place to swim. quite place - just for people who like be alone with nature.
Reviewed October 06, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Suzanne from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 14 nights in August 2012
A Hidden Gem”
Beautiful beach villas with wonderful views of Pacific Ocean, Friendly staff.
We enjoyed a wonderful time at Namuka Bay Resort. We were upgraded to a beach villa with a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean. Crystal clear waters, white sand and pink sunsets. We saw a whale breeching beyond the reef which was a highlight. The staff were very warm and friendly and nothing was too much for them. We received welcome drinks, fresh coconuts from one of the many palm trees that surrounded us. Fantastic and would recommend to others who are visiting Fiji. Completely isolated if you are looking for a tranquil and relaxing time.
Reviewed September 25, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
RASA from Japan
Solo traveler
Beach Front Villa
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
The real Fiji”
Location, beach, views, service
I loved my stay here. The people were friendly and the staff always greeted you be name. I had a villa, which had spectacular views from the balcony and was just a couple of steps away from the water. The beach itself, while littered with dead coral, has white sand and the water visibility is great for snorkellers. The resort offers tours to an old local village and the limestone caves. There used to be a train that ran through the resort, connecting it to 2 nearby ones, but it's no longer operation, which is a shame. The villa is very spacious and clean, the outdoor shower was good, with plenty of hot water. The villa wasn't serviced during the 3 days I was here but it wasn't a major drama. One thing I was disappointed about was the food. While fresh and delicious, there was no variety. There wasn't a menu do when I asked what was on offer, they gave me curry for 3 of my meals. Also disappointed that there was no seafood on offer other than fish. When I asked for a sandwich on my last night, I was offered toast, so I don't know if it was simply a language barrier or lack of meal options.
Reviewed July 28, 2012
7.3
Very good
Ben from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011
Nice resort, plesant stay”
Beautiful location, peaceful
We considered our selfs lucky from coming across a resort like this, we where upgraded to a cabin on the beach front. We had a great hostess whom made sure we where comfy. It would suit any couples or if your looking for time to yourself. As it's isolated and away from everything. Just make sure to do a bit of shopping before you arrive as meal portions can be small
Reviewed August 24, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
sigrid from New Caledonia
Family with teens
Beach Front Villa
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Très très bien!”
Un accueil superbe, un paysage grandiose, le tout très confortable!
Reviewed October 13, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Katharina from Germany
Couple
Beach Front Villa
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
Erholung PUR”
Essen, Zimmer, Freundlichkeit
Wir waren 4 Nächte im Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort und konnten uns bestens erholen. Das Essen ist einfach ein Traum und schon das allein wäre ein Grund wiederzukommen. Wir hatten eine Villa am Strand, die Zimmer waren sehr schön groß und sehr sehr sauber. Das Personal war super freundlich und hilfsbereit. Sehr zu empfehlen, wenn man einfach mal allem Trubel entfliehen will!
Reviewed September 16, 2015
3.3
Tina from Austria
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Aufdringliches Personal, Abgeschiedenheit”
Strand, Ruhe, Natur
Anfangs war der Aufenthalt sehr schön. Die Angestellten im Resort sind sehr bemüht um das Wohlergehen eines jeden Gastes. Das Resort ist allersings abgeschieden von der Außenwelt und auch zu Fuß ist die nächste Stadt nicht erreichbar (ca 15 km). Die Menükarte im Hotel ist ok, aber maßlos überteuert, ebenso der Shuttle Service in die Stadt. Das Hotelpersonal lässt den Gästen auch keine Privatsphäre. Man wir auf SChritt und Tritt beobachtet.
Reviewed April 28, 2013
6.0
Winfried from Germany
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Hotel war OK”
Landschaft, Meerlick,
Reviewed April 02, 2013
6.7
Good
MASARU from Japan
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in June 2011
ロケーションはとても良いけれども、アクセスが大変。”
ロケーションはとてもよく、スタッフもフレンドリーで気持ち良かった。
ロケーションはとても良いが、アクセスは大変で、自動車がないと全く身動きが取れない。 ビラは設備も良いのだが、Agodeから予約できたのはロッジで、ロッジは設備的にチープである。 自家発電のため、電気の供給は18時~22時のみ。(ビラ、ロッジとも) ロッジは水シャワーのみ。 ビラはソーラーによる温水シャワーが出るそうです。 スタッフはとてもフレンドリーで、気持ちよく対応してくれた。
Reviewed June 25, 2011
6.8
Good
jeung from South Korea
Solo traveler
Beach Front Villa
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
조용한휴양”
평화로운곳입니다
Reviewed June 16, 2018