Nara Visitor Center & Inn
 Nara Visitor Center & Inn
Lobby Nara Visitor Center & Inn
Lobby Nara Visitor Center & Inn
See all 60 photos
Removed from saved list
9.3
Exceptional
/10
(289 reviews)See what guests said
See map
9.4
Exceptional
Location rating score
Exceptional location - Inside city center
Popular neighborhood
  • Nara Visitor Center & Inn20 m
  • Sarusawa Tourist Information Office170 m
  • Tamura Seihoen220 m
  • Kofukuji Temple240 m
  • Mochiidono Center Gai240 m
  • Kōfuku-Ji Buddhist Temple250 m
  • Naramachi270 m
  • Gangoji Temple290 m
  • The Nara Episcopal Church310 m
  • Gangō-ji310 m
  • Free Wi-Fi

    Nara Visitor Center & Inn

    3 Ikenocho, Nara, Nara, Japan, 630 8361 - See map
    "The view from our room was awesome!"
    Tim - March 24, 2018
    Exceptional reputation
    Recommended by 98% of guests
    Exceptional service
    9.6 rating for service
    • 590 meters to public transportation

    • Located in heart of Nara

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Air conditioning

    • Daily housekeeping

    Property ranking|Compared to 236 Nara properties
    See all rankings
    Value for money score
    9.4/10
    Service score
    9.7/10
    Location score
    9.4/10
    Cleanliness score
    9.4/10
    Better than
    99
    %
    of Nara properties
    Better than
    99
    %
    of Nara properties
    Better than
    96
    %
    of Nara properties
    Better than
    94
    %
    of Nara properties
    Value for money9.4
    Distance to city center0.5 Km
    Location rating9.4
    Nearest airportOsaka International Airport (ITM)
    Distance to airport37.7 km

    Rooms available at Nara Visitor Center & Inn

    Japanese-Style Standard Room
    Japanese-Style Standard Room
    ...
    • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
    • Shower
    • 3 futons
    Enter dates to see prices
    Japanese-Style Superior Room
    Japanese-Style Superior Room
    ...
    • Room size: 13 m²/140 ft²
    • Shower
    • 4 futons
    Enter dates to see prices
    Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    ...
    • Room size: 27 m²/291 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 2 single beds and 1 sofa be...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Japanese-Style Deluxe Room
    Japanese-Style Deluxe Room
    ...
    • Room size: 17 m²/183 ft²
    • Shower and bathtub
    • 5 futons
    Enter dates to see prices
    Twin Room
    Twin Room
    ...
    • Room size: 27 m²/291 ft²
    Enter dates to see prices
    Japanese Style Room
    Japanese Style Room
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      Japanese Style Room for 4 People
      Japanese Style Room for 4 People
      ...
        Enter dates to see prices
        Japanese Style Room for 5 People
        Japanese Style Room for 5 People
        ...
          Enter dates to see prices
          Quadruple Room with Mountain View
          Quadruple Room with Mountain View
          ...
          • 4 futons
          Enter dates to see prices
          Twin Room
          Twin Room
          ...
            Enter dates to see prices

            What people love about Nara Visitor Center & Inn

            • 8.4
              Excellent
              Spaciousness

              "The room (201) was bright, very spacious and had a nice view of a pagoda and a little lake."

              Jane

              |

              November 28, 2017

            • 9.2
              Exceptional
              Cleanliness

              "very nice place, large and clean room."

              Jarmo

              |

              August 13, 2018

            • 9.2
              Exceptional

              "The Inn also has a convenience store in the building."

              Heather

              |

              September 4, 2018

            Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

            Prices drop the moment you sign in!

            Sign in now
            More about Nara Visitor Center & Inn

            More about Nara Visitor Center & Inn

            9.6
            Exceptional

            "Comfortable place to stay."

            fausto

            |

            December 17, 2018

            An overview

            Show less

            What they offer

            10.0
            Exceptional
            Spaciousness

            "The room is spacious also the staff are friendly."

            Regina

            |

            September 10, 2017

            Read more reviews
            Show less

            Nearest essentials

            Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
            Show less

            What's nearby

            Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
            Show more

            Property's guest policies

            Show less

            Some helpful facts

            Show less

            Reviews of Nara Visitor Center & Inn from real guests

            Provided by verified guests of Agoda
            Agoda Reviews (289)Booking.com Reviews (1557)
            9.3
            /
            10
            Exceptional
            Cleanliness9.4
            Facilities8.9
            Location9.4
            Service9.6
            Value for money9.4
            Rating
            9+ Exceptional (106)
            8-9 Excellent (17)
            7-8 Very Good (8)
            6-7 Good (2)
            <6 Below Expectation (1)
            Time of the year
            Mar - May (20)
            Jun - Aug (44)
            Sep - Nov (45)
            Dec - Feb (25)
            All guests (289)
            All languages

            Show reviews that mention 

            Showing 134 verified guest comments
            12345
            8.8
            Excellent
            Daniel from Australia
            Couple
            Japanese-Style Superior Room
            Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

            Beautiful rooms, great location”

            Everything was good, but the walls were very thin. Had idiot kids next door screaming and running around, bumping into the walls for hours in the evening. Got woken up very early in the morning once due to a false fire alarm. But staff were very apologetic and gave us a small gift to say sorry. That was pretty sweet of them. All in all, recommended.

            Reviewed March 22, 2019

            Dear Daniel, Thank you so much for staying with us at NARA Visitor Center & Inn and sharing you r experience! We are sorry again for the inconviniences you had during the stay, especially the false fire alarm. We would firmly try not to let it happen again! Wishing to see you again in NARA. Sincerely, NARA VIsitor Center & Inn Kimoto

            Responded March 28, 2019
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            8.0
            Excellent
            RITA from Belgium
            Couple
            Twin Room with Sofa Bed
            Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

            Good location although far from JR station, large room, but amenities could be better”

            The room was really big for Japanese standards, which was nice for a change. Unfortunately, very few extras are offered. Breakfast is not available in the Inn. No kettle, coffee/tea, water, glasses, cups. Very few plugs to charge your devices. No plugs by the bed ! Wifi is OK. In the bathroom : no razor, no shaving cream, no combs. Very high step to the bathroom. Temperature of the water was difficult to adjust.

            Reviewed October 29, 2018

            Dear Mr/Ms.Jarmo, Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience. Your review will be very helpful to other guests. However,we are very sorry that you feel inconvenient with our hotel's room plugs.It's exactly as you said,you can rent extension cord at front desk. also,we have amenities.bar soaps, razors,paper cups and combs are available at the front desk. (Please pick them up when guests check in.) We will try to do best for refer to your opinion.Thank you very much. If you will have a opportunity to visit Nara again, We look forward to welcoming you here again in the future. Best regards, Nara Visitor Center & Inn Mizuta

            Responded December 05, 2018
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            9.2
            Exceptional
            Heather from Japan
            Solo traveler
            Japanese-Style Superior Room
            Stayed 1 night in September 2018

            Backpacker Hotel meets Ryokan”

            I LOVED this place. It is right on the edge of Nara Park and I had the 5 story pagoda as my view. I call it a backpacker hotel that crossed with a Ryokan because it had the feel of both. The Inn is literally part of the tourist information center, so I had immediate access to maps, guides, people that could help set up tours or experiences. The Inn also has a convenience store in the building. There is no restaurant, but there is a shared kitchen with basic appliances that you can cook food you get from the combini. When you check in they give you an electric kettle too. There is a public bath that can be used as well. I stayed in the Japanese style room which was very comfortable, had a TV, and the shower was amazing. The room also comes with a device called "Handy". It is like a smart phone. You can make calls, use google maps, use the internet. Nara is wi-fi all over which is what the Inn uses. Overall, the staff is friendly and helpful, amenities were great.

            Reviewed September 04, 2018

            Dear Mr/Ms,Heather. Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review. Your review is very helpful to other guests. I am over the moon that you had a truly great stay with us and I hope to see you back again soon at Nara visitor center and inn. Thank you very much and kind regards, Nara Visitor Center & Inn Mizuta

            Responded December 04, 2018
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            9.2
            Exceptional
            Jarmo from Finland
            Family with teens
            Twin Room with Sofa Bed
            Stayed 1 night in August 2018

            Nice ”

            Mu experience from 500 + hotels over the years... If you are lucky and get the park side window view, it is just exceptionally good. No Internet at the site, during our one night stay. Rooms do not have enough power outlets to charge phones, maybe they can give extension cables? we moved furniture to get access. There is a bicycle rent, but need to return by 5 PM, which is not not nice. I simply do not understanbd why staying customers with credit card and pass port data cannot get rents beyond 5 PM. At the town one can get overnight rents. Otherwise very nice place, large and clean room.

            Reviewed August 13, 2018

            Dear Mr/Ms,Jarmo. Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience. Your review will be very helpful to other guests. However,we are very sorry that you feel inconvenient with our hotel's room plugs.It's exactly as you said,you can rent extension cord at front desk. We will try to do best for refer to your opinion. If you will have a opportunity to visit Nara again, We look forward to welcoming you here again in the future. Best regards, Nara Visitor Center & Inn Mizuta

            Responded December 04, 2018
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            8.8
            Excellent
            TIANJIAO from China
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 1 night in August 2017

            Japanese room with tatami smell ”

            I generally enjoyed my stay in the hotel which is also part of the local tourist center where you have access to some local activists. I booked a Japanese style room with tatami. The view was nice. Yet, there was a very strange smell in the room which later confirmed by earlier guests’ comments was the smell of tatami. The smell was so strong that slept on the balcony in my room.

            Reviewed May 10, 2018

            Dear Mr/Ms.Tianjiao, Thank you very much for staying with us at Nara Visitor Center & Inn. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the view. And we are so sorry about all the discomfort you had. Japanese style rooms in any accomodation could smell if they had tatami mats and it could be disturbing depending on the guest's preference. We let our guests to change the room type into Western style rooms with additional charge. Thank you for taking your time to share your experience on Agoda. We look forward to welcoming you here again in the near future. Have a nice day. Best regards, Ina Oh Nara Visitor Center & Inn

            Responded May 24, 2018
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            8.4
            Excellent
            Robert from Vietnam
            Solo traveler
            Twin Room with Sofa Bed
            Stayed 3 nights in April 2018

            Almost perfect Hotel or 'Inn'”

            Practically everything about this place, especially its location, close to Nara Park was great. The main niggle, in this day and age, was non-secure wifi! Which I mentioned while I was there. The Staff could not be more helpful, particularly one gentleman who helped me meet up with some friends who were staying in Kyoto. Overall, a great place to stay!

            Reviewed May 06, 2018

            Dear Mr.Robert, Thank you so much for staying with us at Nara Visitor Center & Inn. We are very happy to know that we made your stay extraordinary and special. Actually we are considering to set a password, since many of our guests using iphone or ipad have a difficulty to access the internet because of security alert message on Safari. Thank you again for taking your time to share your experience on Agoda. We look forward to welcoming you here again. Best regards, Ina Oh Nara Visitor Center & Inn

            Responded May 24, 2018
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            9.6
            Exceptional
            Wendy from Australia
            Solo traveler
            Twin Room with Sofa Bed
            Stayed 1 night in November 2017

            Fantastic place, love it! ”

            I would absolutely stay here again. My only complaint is that the kitchen has no crockery or cutlery. You need to take your own plates etc if you want to use the kitchen. Other than that small thing, it is wonderful.

            Reviewed November 24, 2017

            Dear Wendy, Thank you so much for staying with us at Nara Visitor Center & Inn. We are very happy to know that we made your stay extraordinary and special. Also, we are so sorry about all the inconvenience you had. We have pans and pots but we have only small amount so we don't specify it on our information. We are considering a measure to fix this problem. Thank you for taking your time to share your opinion, If you have any other opinions or suggestions, please let us know. We look forward to welcoming you here again in the near future. Have a nice day! Best regards, Ina Oh Nara Visitor Center & Inn

            Responded November 24, 2017
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            9.6
            Exceptional
            Wendy from Australia
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 1 night in November 2017

            Fantastic location, staff and view. ”

            This has been one of my favourite rooms in all of Japan. The rooms are very big and have everything you need. My only disappointment is that the kitchen has no crockery, cutlery or pans. It’s a beautiful kitchen but you must bring your own plates and spoons etc if you need them. Other than that, it has absolutely everything going for it.,

            Reviewed November 19, 2017

            Dear Wendy, Thank you so much for staying with us at Nara Visitor Center & Inn. We are so glad that we made your stay in Nara extraordinary and special. It is our honor that our hotel room could be able to be your favorite. Also, we are so sorry about all the discomfort you have had. We rent our guests pans and pots. Also we offer disposable chopsticks. But we don't have many kinds and numbers of cookware so we haven't specified it on our information. Next time you visit us, please let us know if there is anything we can offer you. Even though we might not have what you need, we would do our best to be helpful. Thank you again for taking your time to share your experience on Agoda. We look forward to welcoming you here again in the near future. Have a super-nice day! Best regards, Ina Oh Nara Visitor Center & Inn

            Show more
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            10.0
            Exceptional
            Saranya from Thailand
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 1 night in September 2017

            Love this place!”

            This is the best choice i chose in this trip! The hotel is located in center of everything. Main tourist attractions are around! Hotel room is big, beautiful and convenient in all aspects. There are laundry machine , private and share bathroom , minimart and tourist information in the same building. Staff is super nice and u will know what is true service mind :)

            Reviewed September 09, 2017

            Dear Saranya, Thank you very much for staying with us at Nara Visitor Center & Inn. We are glad to know that we made your stay in Nara extraordinary and special. We do our best to offer best services and facilities. Also, thank you again for taking your time to share your experience on Agoda. We look forward to welcoming you here again in the near future. Have a nice day! Best regards, Nara Visitor Center & Inn Ina Oh

            Responded September 10, 2017
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            9.6
            Exceptional
            MUN from Malaysia
            Family with young children
            Twin Room with Sofa Bed
            Stayed 2 nights in June 2017

            So much above our expectation ”

            Staying in Nara Visitor Center & Inn is the most right choice that we've made. Me and my husband bring our 5 yrs old boy and 10 months old baby, location is supreme! super convenient, room is clean and huge, staff is very helpful and friendly. This place is middle of all good spot and nice restaurants! We will definitely come back to stay if we were visit nara again.

            Reviewed June 14, 2017

            Dear Mun, Thank you for staying with us at Nara Visitor Center & Inn and taking your time to share your experience with other guests on Agoda.com We're very delighted that we made your stay in Nara extraordinary and special. Also we're very glad that you're considering to visit us again. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon in the near future. Have a super-nice day! Sincerely, Nara Visitor Center & Inn Ina Oh Front Staff

            Responded June 19, 2017
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            10.0
            Exceptional
            Chin from Macau
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 3 nights in June 2017

            Super nice and super cheap !”

            The location is perfect. Right next to a beautiful temple and a photogenic lake.Walking distance to Nara Park, Nara Station and the main shopping street. My room is comfortable and big, and the view from my room is fantastic !! The staffs are all very nice. I couldn't understand why such a nice room is so cheap (I paid 50 US dollars for a room for 3-4 people) until I was told that the inn is owned by the Tourism Department of the government. One more thing, it is a visitors' centre on the 1st floor that provides various kinds of info and services. Wonderful !

            Reviewed June 13, 2017

            Dear Chin, Thank you for staying with us at Nara Visitor Center & Inn and taking your time to share your experience with other guests on Agoda.com We're very delighted that we made your stay in Nara extraordinary and special. The reason why our rooms are cheap for their good quality is because we do our best to offer best service for a reasonable price! And our hotel is owned by Nara City as you mentioned. Also, the tourist center has enormous amount of information about Nara tourism! We are happy that It was very helpful to you. Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you here again in the near future. Have a super nice day ..! Best regards, Nara Visitor Center & Inn Ina Oh Front Staff

            Responded June 19, 2017
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            9.2
            Exceptional
            Andrew from United Kingdom
            Family with young children
            Twin Room with Sofa Bed
            Stayed 2 nights in March 2017

            Great”

            Stayed here for two nights, right at the park entrance. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable. They were reasonably large for what we paid. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is a shop beneath the visitors centre where you can buy snacks and drinks. The location couldn't have been better. Wish I could have stayed longer.

            Reviewed March 22, 2017

            Dear Andrew Thank you so much for staying with us and giving us back your feedback. We are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcome you back again in the future. Yours in hospitality Nara Visitor Center & Inn Kawahara

            Responded April 18, 2017
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            10.0
            Exceptional
            Sandr from Canada
            Couple
            Twin Room with Sofa Bed
            Stayed 1 night in March 2019

            The place to stay in Nara”

            Close to main attractions...just a step away.

            Reviewed April 06, 2019

            Dear Sir, Thank you very much for staying at Nara Visitor Center & Inn and your comment! I am pleasure to you feel good for our location. We look forward to see you again near the future. Sincerely, Nara Visitor Center & Inn Yamashita

            Responded July 11, 2019
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            10.0
            Exceptional
            Vivian from United States
            Couple
            Twin Room with Sofa Bed
            Stayed 1 night in November 2018

            Large comfortable room with a view”

            Large comfortable room with a view

            Reviewed December 22, 2018

            Dear Mr/Ms.Vivian, Thank you for taking time to share your experience and we are so glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to see you back at Nara Visitor Center&Inn soon. Thank you and kind regards, Nara Visitor Center & Inn Mizuta

            Responded December 22, 2018
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            9.6
            Exceptional
            fausto from United States
            Solo traveler
            Japanese-Style Standard Room
            Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

            comfortable stay”

            comfortable place to stay.

            Reviewed December 17, 2018

            Dear Mr/Ms fausto, Thank you for taking time to share your experience and we are so glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to see you back at Nara Visitor Center&Inn soon. Thank you and kind regards, Nara Visitor Center & Inn Mizuta

            Responded December 17, 2018
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            9.6
            Exceptional
            Chunzi from Singapore
            Family with teens
            Japanese-Style Superior Room
            Stayed 1 night in November 2018

            Exceptional”

            Location is a bit far from train station but very near Nara park. The hotel does not provide free parking but there are a few paid car park nearby. Good stay.

            Reviewed November 27, 2018

            Dear. Mr/Ms.Chunzi, Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience. Your review will be very helpful to other guests. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and We very much look forward to having you with us again in the near future. Best regards,Nara Visitor Center & Inn Mizuta

            Responded December 05, 2018
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            10.0
            Exceptional
            Connie from Australia
            Family with young children
            Japanese-Style Deluxe Room
            Stayed 1 night in November 2018

            It’s a nice place to say in Nara”

            Views in room 402 & 403 will be the best. Staffs are very kind and helpful.

            Reviewed November 04, 2018

            Dear Mr/Ms.Connie, Thank you for taking time to share your experience and we are so glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to see you back at Nara Visitor Center&Inn soon. kind regards, Nara Visitor Center & Inn Mizuta

            Responded December 05, 2018
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            10.0
            Exceptional
            Jun from New Zealand
            Solo traveler
            Twin Room with Sofa Bed
            Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

            The Best Choice, No Regrets”

            If you're lucky enough to secure The Nara Visitor Centre & Inn as your accommodation in Nara, you can rest assured knowing you'll have the absolute best experience. Offering a stunning water view of the park and famous pagoda, the room is captivating. Not only that, uniquely Japanese experiences such as origami workshops, kimono dress ups, and a traditional spa are right at your fingertips! Not to mention the staff melt your heart :) Wish I could've stayed longer.

            Reviewed November 08, 2017

            Dear Jun, Thank you so much for staying with us at Nara Visitor Center & Inn. We are very delighted to know that we made your stay extraordinary and special. We do our best to help our guests to experience Japanese culture and have a good time enjoying the beautiful view of the pagoda and park. We wish we would be able to welcome you here again in the near future. Have a nice day! Best regards, Ina Oh Nara Visitor Center & Inn

            Responded November 11, 2017
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            10.0
            Exceptional
            Michelle from United States
            Family with young children
            Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

            Exceptional”

            Beautiful Japanese style room with modern amenities (refrigerator & shower/toilet in room). Very convenient having convenience store in basement. Central location. Excellent staff. Highly recommended!

            Reviewed October 08, 2017

            Dear Michelle, Thank you so much for staying with us at Nara Visitor Center & Inn. We are very delighted to know that we made your stay in Nara extraordinary and special. We do our best to offer best services to our guests. Also, thank you for taking your time to share your experience on Agoda. Your review would be very helpful to our future guests. We look forward to welcoming you here again in the near future. Have a nice day! Best regards, Nara Visitor Center & Inn Ina Oh

            Responded October 09, 2017
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            10.0
            Exceptional
            Anchalee from Australia
            Couple
            Stayed 1 night in October 2017

            Love the view”

            We had a very late checkin(after midnight)but the staff were kindly enough to offer a public bath which was opened untill 11pm. We stayed in a the to floor which had a stunning view that wouldn't trade for anything. The room interior was superb! So authentic. I would definately come back to this hotel if we visit Nara again. The only minor complaint was the hair dryer that we had to ask from the reception instead of having it ready in the room.

            Reviewed October 07, 2017

            Dear Anchalee, Thank you so much for staying with us at Nara Visitor Center & Inn. We would like to offer best services to our guests and help them to enjoy various services. We are so delighted to know that we made your stay extraordinary and special. We also love the view of pagoda and pond and we are happy that you enjoyed it as well. Also, we are so sorry about all the discomfort you have had. We understand that it is inconvenient that there isn't a hair dryer in our rooms. We would consider about this problem to improve our service quality. Thank you again for taking your time to share your experience on Agoda.com. If you have any other opinions or suggestions, please let us know. We also look forward to forward to welcoming you here again in the near future. Have a lovely day! Best regards, Nara Visitor Center & Inn Ina Oh

            Show more
            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            12345
            This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

            Back to search results

            Back to room choices

            |

            Dismiss

            Nara Visitor Center & Inn
            |Exceptional 9.3
            ×
            Check in. Step out.
            Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

            • Exceptional location
            • Kofukuji Temple
            • Kintetsu Nara Train Station is within 0.58 km