Book Now: New Era Hotel

Excellent
From 325 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
/
10
Recommended by 100% of guests

Reviews of New Era Hotel Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (325)Booking.com Reviews (59)
8.2
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.2
Facilities8.1
Location9.2
Room comfort and quality8.3
Service8.0
Value for money7.9
All languages
All guests (325)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 278 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Zulkefli from Malaysia
Family with teens
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Exceptional”

We arrived early from lijang and the hotel is please to let us check in early. Thank you very much to the front desk for your hospitality and kindness. Room was suoerb and location is near to shopping street. Would like to propose to others to stay here.

Reviewed December 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Boon from Malaysia
Family with young children
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Exceptional”

Hotel staffs were very friendly, made us feel like home. Room was quite clean. The only recommendation for improvement from us, was the window pane at the far right position, which was found in paint peeling off and dry water drip marks, which was quite a turn off, since the breakfast restaurant was having a very good city view.

Reviewed June 15, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Pornchanok from Thailand
Business traveler
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in December 2018

The best location ever!!!”

The location never been better! Just a minute from the subway and surrounded by shopping center and historical street. The breakfast is very good taste, especially the dumpling, just love it! It's going to be the best if the bathroom is clean, it is all black fungus on the bathroom walls!!!

Reviewed December 24, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
hans from Belgium
Solo traveler
Business King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in February 2018

If perfection exist, this hotel earn this titel.”

The staff is very helpfull, even not all speak english. But they go hard to explain how to get to the place you want to visit. Just like my first experience in 2017, I was more than satisfied. The room was super clean, Laundry service was amzing. The hotel restaurant had now a english translated menu, explained how to eat the dish. When I ask why they give Lipton tea ( bad tea) and no chinese tea, they could give me the chinese. Bud the second night, a higher ranking staff heard my disappointment about the tea and 5 minutes later I recieved my delicious chinese tea. A great thanks for that. Hope they will keep put this on menu, because they should be proud about their great chinese tea. Conclusion : I will go back to this hotel. 5star hotel in my eyes.

Reviewed February 23, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Stephen from United States
Solo traveler
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

Nice hotel but no A/C”

The hotel was in a good location and quite nice, but while I had to stay in my room waiting for some friend to arrive in the afternoon it was hot. I was told that the A/C is only available from 6pm to 1am. I was able to get a fan. :( That isn't good for this level of hotel and price.

Reviewed July 05, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Thitiwat from Thailand
Family with teens
Business King Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2016

Great Location , Great Breakfast , Great Staff Services.”

I'm so impressed of the Hotel services including receptionist and bell boys for their facilitation with fetching taxi and recommend sightseeing and restaurant. Location is easy to reach shopping and eating places by foot.

Reviewed June 15, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Milee from Malaysia
Couple
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

Superb location”

Cozy room, cleanliness, great service

Most memorable, extremely safe and secure. Close proximity to shopping areas in all directions definitely a plus point. Evening strolls around that area were most exhilarating. Special mention and thanks to Asst. Managers Annie, HoHo and Kelly for their kind assistance for attending to our needs during our 6-night stay at the hotel.

Reviewed April 12, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Peter from Sweden
Solo traveler
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013

Perfect, right in the city center.”

Location, large room good standard.

This is the place to stay in Kunming, right in the city center, walking streets, shopping centers, restaurants just outside the door. Attentive and friendly staff, the only people who spoke som English. A visit to the western mountains is a must, cable car to the top and walk down.

Reviewed September 08, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Otoakira from Japan
Family with young children
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013

Much much better than expected”

central location, large and comfortable room, great great buffet breakfast

Had a very nice stay at NEW ERA HOTEL. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, and shopping malls are just a door away. Their buffet breakfast was one of the best personally experienced, and the room is quite large and comfortable, having a sofa and even a decent study desk. Definitely value for money. Only one downside I could think of is there was no WIFI available.

Reviewed August 15, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Mona from Singapore
Solo traveler
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

Good access to food and shopping”

Central location, close to shops and restaurants

I stayed in this hotel en route to Lijiang. It's centrally located right smack in the middle of shopping streets and has many choices of restaurants all within walking distance. If you are staying in Kunming, this hotel is a good base.

Reviewed August 13, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Jerome from France
Family with teens
Business King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013

Great staff, great location and nice room”

Great staff, great location and nice room

Everything was great during our stay in New Era Hotel. The staff really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and hassle-free. The breakfast buffet was excellent, the room was perfectly fine and comfy, and location is hard to beat, right smack in the city center, next to all the shops and restaurants. Will definitely come again.

Reviewed May 10, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Jerome from France
Family with teens
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2013

Great stay, will come again”

Great staff, nice room and great location

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in New Era Hotel. Everything was great from start to finish. The staff made us feel very welcome and was always here to help. Rooms were good and comfy. Breakfast buffet was excellent. And the location right smack in the city center is ideal to discover all the shopping opportunities in Kunming.

Reviewed May 10, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
tan from Singapore
Solo traveler
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

big clean and spacious room”

the tv channel especially CNN

overall the hotel is good.the only bad experience is the tour office in the hotel.pick you up in the morning for the stone forest tour n drop u after the tour at 6pm in Kunming and expect u to find your way back to your hotel.

Reviewed January 30, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Boonchu from Thailand
Couple
Business King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Good location”

service, close to Carrefour and Jinbi road just 5 minutes walk, Reception can speak English.

1. must go to jinbi road especially at night. 2. shopping street is on the left (of hotel), you can walk to those street just minutes and enjoy both eating and shopping. 3. (fyi) taxi fee from airport to hotel is about yuan. (both meter or flat fee).

Reviewed January 02, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Wee from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Business King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in December 2012

great location”

closed to the shopping street

the location of the hotel is very great. it is just next to many shopping street and food outlet. you can find all kind of foot at any time even at the midnight. the hotel staff is very friendly in service. the only thing not so good is the room is a bit old already. i think need to be upgrade.

Reviewed December 27, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Dr from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Business King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in December 2012

Great location”

Only at walking distances to around city centre attractions

The standard business room on the 25th floor gives good view of the city from one angle. The room was a bit hot even though it was 16C outside. The aircond couldnt be turned on because it was switched to heater mode. However, I was thankful when I was given a table fan. Room service was excellent. 2 apples, 2 small milk drinks and a couple of sweets were replenished everyday. Room was made up twice a day. I put my socks in the laundary basket thinking of washing them later. When I got back to my room in the evening I was surprised to find that the socks have been washed and hung in the shower.

Reviewed December 22, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Shih from Australia
Couple
Business King Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

great hotel w/ excellent services in central area”

excellent customer services, good breakfast spread, central location next to business district

we were pleasantly surprised with the excellent customer services upon checking in, without mentioning our special request in our booking, the reception gave us the type of room we asked for. the only downside is that with most china hotels, all rooms at new era are smoking rooms. the room we were in was spacious and clean, the bathroom was clean with a shower in a bath tub and shower curtain design. our bed was turned down after we came back later in the evening. the hotel provides free wired and wifi internet services. the tv even had hbo channel! oh, and there is no annoying phone call at night asking if you want a "companion" for the night (typical in most local hotels). the location is the main reason we picked this hotel. it is located right in the midst on kunming shopping district. if you are daring and wanted to try more local fares, cross the main road and you will have an array of local eateries and restaurants, cleanliness can be improved upon but food is good. the hotel provided free airport shuttle at different time of the day. we were driven in a honda accord and the driver was very courteous and the driving was safe. overall, this is an excellent hotel and it is highly recommended!

Reviewed November 06, 2012
8.0
Excellent
TAK from China
Business traveler
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2012

great location”

good service

Reviewed August 8, 2009 I could not have asked for a better location! The hotel was lovely and the staff was very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Liked — Super location! very nice hotel and staff was very helpful. The breakfast buffet was very nice also. Disliked — The added bed was a back breaker, and especially for the extra it cost me. Tips/Secrets — Great location from which to climb the wall to the bicycle stands where we rented bikes one afternoon.

Reviewed April 12, 2012
8.4
Excellent
Pacharin from Thailand
Family with teens
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Nice Hotel”

Hotel is near MRT can take to the Airport. Halal Food is near This Hotel. Can walk to Masjid Nancheng Masjid.

Reviewed November 21, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Prachda from Thailand
Couple
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

Everything is good.”

Very good.

Reviewed September 29, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Ming from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

good location”

good location, near mtr, not much facilities but adequate, breakfast good local noodles

Reviewed July 08, 2018
9.0
Exceptional
Li from Malaysia
Couple
Business King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

Location! location! location!”

Can't beat the location. It's the most convenient place to stay. Choice of pillow to choose from and the breakfast spread was very good.

Had a very comfortable stay at the 25th floor. The room was spacious and clean. Love the choice of pillow given to guests. Breakfast spread was very good and I think there is no better place to stay in kunming than this hotel because it is surrounded by shopping mall and eateries. The only problem I had was the management not enforcing non smowing policy on non smoking floors and in the lift.

Reviewed March 20, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
rene from France
Couple
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

excellent business hotel”

location, cleanliness, comfort

everything was fine,we enjoyed the hotel. a few problems: few people spoke english, I had to pay to get a Kunming map with English name tags, the door concierge as he was ushering us into a taxi for the airport mentioned that the taxi driver wanted a flat fee significantly higher than the usual rate, and a bellboy walked us 200 m to the main road to get a taxi, after waiting for 30 mn, rather than get the taxi himself and drive with it back to the hotel. the other issue was that the Agoda coupon mentioned room only without breakfast, whereas breakfast was actually included in the price; we therefore unnecessarily paid for breakfast outside.

Reviewed May 21, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
mulya from Indonesia
Family with young children
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014

great hotel”

location, food, facilities

the hotel was located in the center of the city and near some malls, which makes it easy to go shopping, find some food, and public transportation. the room and the bathroom is clean and quite spacious. the breakfast was nice, and it's located on the top floor with great view of the city. it's located not far from the muslim area, so it's easy to find some halal food. i think this hotel deserve a 5-star

Reviewed April 28, 2015
7.7
Very good
Tan from Malaysia
Group
Business King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

4 Star Hotel”

location, staff perforamnce and cleanliness

two issues that will improve hotel better - Shower pump pressure need to be upgraded. replace bar of Soap ... it terrible cannot be used. - king size bed need to be replaced if possible as the spring sometimes can be felt. if not, at least recommend to add 3 inches padding on top of bed for comfort sleep

Reviewed January 08, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Loujean from United States
Couple
Business King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014

Twelve years ”

The staff is always most agreeable, good English, greats morning buffet, location,

We have been traveling China for 12-years and Kunming and especially the New Era is our jumping off point both coming and going to other destinations in China. It's always iwelcoming and feels like home. It is so clean, the morning buffet is very diverse and we always look forward to it. The staff has gotten quite good with their English and the driver who takes us back to the airport is such a pleasure - he really understands what service is all about! He dosent speak English but, he makes himself understood and he's a delight. I wish I could tell him that!

Reviewed December 13, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Sophie from France
Couple
Business King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014

Good medium range hotel in Kunming”

Good location, Nice staff

Good hotel very well located in the heart of Kunming commercial district (tourist attractions are also nearby). I'd like to highlight staff performance which is in the upper standards (usually the staff in this chain hotel are less helpful compared to small B&B). Tips: the hotel has some free bus from and to the airport. If you arrive at Kunming, don't hesitate to contact the hotel to get the timetable and arrange this

Reviewed September 20, 2014
6.0
Bobby from Singapore
Solo traveler
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2014

good hotel location”

location and cheap

the hotel is centrally located within malls and eating places. however, the bed cover is not clean. didn't use the cover for the one night stay. when the bed light shone on the pillow, you can see the pillow cover is yellowish.

Reviewed August 30, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Yong from Malaysia
Family with young children
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2014

Very friendly service.”

good service, centrally located, free airport shuttle service

This hotel is very customer friendly! Triple LIKEs for them. We went there 8am in the morning, and they allowed us to check-in almost immediately! The room service is fantastic, not once but twice a day! The lady is very attentive, she even boiled the water for us during the room service, and left a friendly note to inform us. In the evening, another room service, and this time, 2 packets of milk were left in our room, for our 3yo daughter. The major shopping centres and restaurants are just next to the hotel. Furthermore, the hotel provides free airport shuttle van service at scheduled times. All in all, I would say this hotel worth the money spent.

Reviewed June 11, 2014
8.3
Excellent
James from United States
Couple
Business King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

Centrally located in city center, reasonable price”

location, good price, breakfast

Good location in city center, numerous restaurants nearby. Hotel did not tell us when shuttle pickup time was. We arrived at 10:30am, no one met us. Call hotel and the next pickup was 1300, so we were forced to take a taxi. Hotel central air conditioning turns off after midnight. Breakfast buffet had good variety for the price.

Reviewed May 06, 2014
8.0
Excellent
John from United Kingdom
Couple
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014

Good all-round performance”

Good location, good room, friendly staff

We chose the hotel for its central position, so that friends could easily come to meet us (I was in a wheelchair). Contrary to some previous reviews, we had no problem with noise, even though we were overlooking the busy pedestrian square. (Perhaps the fact that we were on a high floor - 25 - helped). The room was clean and comfortable, with no problems. Staff were friendly and helpful in trying to deal with my mobility difficulties. The buffet breakfast was quite adequate, with excellent views from the 28th floor restaurant. Check-in and check-out were efficient. We didn't need the airport shuttle service, which only operated at three fixed times per day.

Reviewed May 05, 2014
8.7
Excellent
BOON from Malaysia
Couple
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2014

Excellent service and very friendly staff”

Staff service, vicinity to shopping amenities and Dynamic Yunnan show,

Great value for money. Lady desk duty officer was very helpful and responsible to take a cab to reach me and return my credit card left with her. Excellent staff service, and keep up the very friendly and sincere service attitude. Has already recommended to my friends to stay in this hotel.

Reviewed April 30, 2014
8.0
Excellent
keith from Canada
Solo traveler
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014

Very good location but street noise until 11pm.”

location, location, location

Very nice hotel with some staff understanding English. If you like shopping or people watching this is where you want to be. Guest services got me a great ticket to Dynamic Yunnan which I recommend. Great Chinese massage at the hotel and Mo Spa Gorgeous which is very close.

Reviewed April 22, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Chang from Australia
Couple
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in March 2014

Great location and friendly staff”

Location, friendly staff and clean room

Enjoy our stay even though for 4 nights. Room clean and friendly housekeeping and reception staff. Quick response to problems encountered. Great location within city centre. Practically could walk around major shopping centres and restaurants Provide free shuttle bus services to airport

Reviewed March 22, 2014
7.3
Very good
Lau from Malaysia
Family with teens
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2013

Good location, large room, good service”

Good location, large room, good service

The location was ideal, there are major shopping centres around the hotel, easy to find restaurants for dining. The hotel room is clean and comfortable. Overall we had a pleasant stay and would definitely be back.

Reviewed December 22, 2013
5.3
Xavier from France
Solo traveler
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

OK stay despite lack of English and customer serv”

Central location, breakfast, wifi router

Stay OK. Level of English really poor and real issue with the airport pick up which seems included but they have only 3 shuttles per day to the airport and from the airport, you need to book before (good luck as they don't answer to emails so you need to call...) and if your flight is delayed, they don't come back nor wait so you need to take taxi for 100 - 150RMB...

Reviewed November 01, 2013
5.7
Xavier from France
Solo traveler
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

Good Location but poor English airport pick up”

The central location and the good / average room for the price

The room is OK for the price paid and the location very central but the staff doesn't speak english apart from 1 staff member when she is there. The wifi in the room doesn't work, there no English map available in the hotel or you need to pay. But teh most annoying was the airport pick up. The hotel website states that airport pick up is available but they have only 3 times / day from hotel to airport so unless you want to wait 4hours in the airport, you need to take a Taxi and they don't accept meters (120 to 150 RMB). I had contacted the hotel in advance to have pick up at the airport but flight was deleyed and they didn't wait or sent another pick up. Nobody at the taxi stand speaks English so make sure you have the hotel name and address as it was a total chaos for me and all teh taxi drivers were looking at my Agoda booking without a clue until they realised the name was in somewhere.

Reviewed October 28, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Yeik from Malaysia
Couple
Business King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013

Great Location”

Breakfast, Location and Room Amenities

When I first arrived in the hotel, the entrance wasn't impressive but I could not express my satisfaction over my stay in this hotel, I booked 3 rooms altogether and all rooms were excellent and it had almost everything you needed. They also have a complementary airport transfer which was good for us since we had lots of luggage and surely needed 2 taxis. I would have given a 5 star rating for the cleanliness but one of the room was allocated to us had bad smoke smell but it was rectifies immediately after we complained it to the bellboy.

Reviewed October 27, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Yeik from Malaysia
Family with young children
Business King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013

Just Impeccable”

Location, Breakfast, Room, Amenities

When I first arrived in the hotel, the entrance wasn't impressive but I could not express my satisfaction over my stay in this hotel, I booked 3 rooms altogether and all rooms were excellent and it had almost everything you needed. They also have a complementary airport transfer which was good for us since we had lots of luggage and surely needed 2 taxis. I would have given a 5 star rating for the cleanliness but one of the room was allocated to us had bad smoke smell but it was rectifies immediately after we complained it to the bellboy.

Reviewed October 24, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
DAVID from Malaysia
Couple
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2013

We really enjoy ourselves and good memories ”

Good location and staff are friendly if you at least speak little unstandable Mandarin

Great Hotel to stay for few day to know Kunming better. My family really like this hotel compare others that we stayed at Lijiang, Dali and also Kunming. Staff were friendly even though we speak some everyday Mandarin use in Malaysia. But the Assistant Manager (Ms Kelly) speak good English and willing to help beyond their duty. Breakfast were good for your understanding. the Location was very good and we spend 2 evening walking around the hotel from about 8 pm till 11 pm. There were many local restaurant and their price were reasonable as it was patronised by local

Reviewed September 23, 2013
7.3
Very good
YEO from Malaysia
Couple
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013

centrally located”

centrally located, convenient and near shopping area

very centrally located within the pedestrian shopping area. the room is basic, the service is normal. the breakfast is normal. I think it's one of the best choice of stay in kunming due to the location and for the price you pay. The hotel is also near to many famous local restaurant, so its very convenient, overall.

Reviewed August 19, 2013
5.3
Beatrice from Singapore
Solo traveler
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

Location is quite good.”

Location. Convenient shopping around the hotel.

The staff were very friendly and try their best to communicate in English and meet the needs. The room size is quite spacious. The aircon was not cold. Wifi was slow. Hotel surrounded by shopping - very convenient for food and shopping. Convenient to get taxi although its main entrance is at a small lane.

Reviewed August 18, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Piyawan from Thailand
Family with young children
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013

Convenience”

Location,maid,location

No anything special,except when my kid vomited at armchair in lobby (from altitude sickness after back from shangri la) Everybody looked interested in we must to pay 150 y more than how was my kid.(no one come to help when my kid ok they come to say you must to pay 150 y that was the first word that I heard) i said ok After we stayed in room they called for asked my kid ok? And finally told me hotel send the bill to my room for sign 150y even we already guaranteed by cash at check in time. All we felt was we were not the guest but someone worthless,I think Maid all good even couldn't spoke English but good take care and service mind

Reviewed April 25, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Yusuke from United States
Group
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013

Comfortable, nice, convenient”

cleanliness, breakfast, convenience

Everything was what you would expect from a hotel of this rating. Nothing was very bad. Staff was nice. Somebody actually came to our room and tried the help us order late night McDonald's delivery. When we found out it was not available, he suggested KFC delivery. Quite nice of them. We had to haggle over a changed taxi price for our trip out to Dwarf Empire. The hotel people had our back and helped haggle back to the original price from the day before.

Reviewed April 11, 2013
8.7
Excellent
sherry from United States
Solo traveler
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

Just there for one night, easy to explore”

help with language, near center, quiet at night

I was only there for a night, but went out for a nice walk and found the lake side easily and enjoyed the walk. Getting to and from the airport was easy too. I'd like to have had more time, but for the time I had I felt content.

Reviewed April 04, 2013
7.3
Very good
Yan from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

Comfortable and close to major malls and restauran”

Convenient, clean and modern

This is a good 4 star hotel located adjacent to the central shopping district of downtown Kunming. As in most Chinese hotels, few staff members speak English which can cause some frustration, but here neither the travel desk staff nor most of the reception staff speak even a word of English. But the room was comfortable and the breakfast spread catered to all tastes.

Reviewed March 21, 2013
7.0
Very good
Yan from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013

Great location but staff speak only Chinese”

Location is excellent close to shopping malls and restaurants, clean and friendly

This is a comfortable hotel but cannot claim to be an international hotel until at least some of the stff are able to communicate in English. Even staff in the business centre and the tours/travel office speak no English. In other respects, the hotel is fine.

Reviewed March 17, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Chad from Canada
Solo traveler
Business King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013

Great hotel.. Very helpful staff!!!! A++++”

Staff goes out of their way!! Very helpful

The travel agent didn't speak any English , so that was a little upsetting but the staff @ the front desk help me out by translating for me & made the arrangements for me too.. They were so helpful it was great... Made my stay a happier one for sure!!!

Reviewed March 06, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Elizabeth from South Africa
Couple
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

One of the better hotels”

Location

new era hotel, the rooms were tidy and clean,fruit platters every evening, bathrooms basic but very clea, staff very helpful but remember, this is a hotel in china, 3star ratings or even 4 star ratings are not the same! if you are looking for clean non-smoking hotel, this is the place. breakfast caters mostly for asian visitors, you will get good coffee and they do make omelets. not the best but still... overall an ok hotel, price is reasonable and staff professional.

Reviewed March 05, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
LIT from Malaysia
Couple
Business King Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Hotel with a great location and great hotel team”

Great location

We were really enjoyed our stay with the hotel.. Great services,friendly staff, clean and spacious room...well i guess the one and only small matter i would like to address is the quality of the bath towel, it cant really adsorb water...

Reviewed February 02, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Samuel from United States
Couple
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in January 2013

Very Nice Chinese 4 Star”

Clean, Centrally Located, Friendly Staff

The location is probably the biggest plus for this hotel. It is a typical 4 star hotel by Chinese standards. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. I have stayed in cleaner hotels and I have stayed in dirtier ones. This one meets the Chinese standard of "Good Enough." The breakfast buffet had a nice variety of food. The quality of food varied from item to item. The eggs tended to be over cooked and the sausage was bland. The jam and honey was old with the jam coming out runny and the honey was crystalised. When I mentioned this to the supervisor, it was as if I didn't say anything. The cleaning staff was very efficient. They cleaned the rooms when asked and actually seemed to enjoy their work.

Reviewed January 21, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Wan-Shuan from United States
Couple
Business King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

clean hotel in central location”

easy walking to shopping and restaurants

arrived in the middle of the night, had no problems checking in. stayed 2 nights. tvs had hbo, which was nice since we were very jetlagged. had great access to markets. extremely close to all sorts of shopping, from high-end imports to random street stalls. highly recommend the location.

Reviewed January 08, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Nick from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2012

Great location near shopping area”

Comfortable, modern, great location

We stayed at the New Era hotel while on transit, changing between two flights at Kunming airport. It is perfectly located, in the middle of a bustling, busy city, surrounded by great shops and restaurants. Our young teenagers and little one loved it - wifi, TV channels in English, great breakfast buffet. Totally recommend it.

Reviewed January 06, 2013
8.7
Excellent
ZAMRI from Malaysia
Couple
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012

nice location”

v good location

This was a very memorable stay compared to the many that I have had over the past experiences in China. The room was surprisingly clean and heated nicely as it was quite cold during those mid December nights. We were attended all the time by the friendly staffs. The front desk was also attended by very helpful english speaking personals that assisted in writing down instructions in Chinese characters as there were too few english speaking persons in Kunming.

Reviewed December 29, 2012
7.3
Very good
Ludovic from Mauritius
Couple
Business King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Nice hotel, great location”

Location, servic

We stayed on Christmas Eve and Day. The hotel is where the celebrations were. It is also within reasonable distance to the long distance bus stations and train station as well as shops and restaurants. The room was nice and there is a department store in the same block. The breakfast is really nice. One qualm is that the bathtub water does not drain as quickly as it should. This results in ankle deep water when showering. The staff are very helpful.

Reviewed December 28, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
juanita from Australia
Solo traveler
Business King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012

Perfect location”

Pleasant room with great view, generous breakfast, helpful staff

Very impressed by the hotel generosity-2 apples placed in room daily, each evening was delivered to room 2 small cartons fresh milk, 2 nougat sweets, the daily paper & a bookmark! Never before has this occurred. Certainly can reccommend this hotel.

Reviewed October 20, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Rob from Australia
Couple
Business King Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2012

Nice hotel in a good location”

Clean and comfortable

The included breakfast was sensational with everything you could wish for.The hotel is well located and only a short taxi ride from the airport bus terminal. The bed was a bit hard but if you can cope with that then this is a good hotel to stay at.

Reviewed September 14, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Heath from United States
Couple
Business King Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2012

In the heart fo the downtown”

Clean, convenient, great customer service

this hotel is what you'd expect from a chinese 4 star hotel. having said that, the place was immaculate. there were extras like fruit in our room and english cable channels (highly rare in china). there was also a nice massage place in the hotel which my wife liked. the hotel staff was very courteous and considerate--one front desk person even spoke english. the hotel itself is dead center of the downtown shopping area. in the same building is a pizza hut. within steps is a mcdonalds, kfc, starbucks, papa johns, imax movie theater, western shopping and more. the walking street there also leads to the kunming bird and flower market. the only cons were that the bed still wasn't up to western standards...though more comfortable than a standard chinese hotel. also...the price is much higher than many other hotels in the area.

Reviewed August 14, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Donald from United States
Solo traveler
Business King Bed
Stayed 10 nights in July 2012

Great hotel and great service!”

Customer servioce. They are the best!!

This is my third stay at this hotel. I picked it from several hotels on line three years ago when I made my first trip to Kunmming. I have no reason to go anywhere else. They treat everyone like royalty and go out of their way to accomodate you. Simply the best I have found in my travels to China. Only one deragatory comment. The beds are very hard, but I have found that is very common in China.

Reviewed July 17, 2012
7.0
Very good
Jeff from United States
Solo traveler
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2012

Nice rooms, large 4-star hotel”

Large clean room with great view from 22nd floor

this hotel has the potential to be a great hotel, and they probably deserve the 4 stars they are listed as having. but, a few things were not so good. first the good: large rooms, very nicely furnished and equipped. clean overall, very comfortable beds. bathroom also clean and well equipped. the hall noise was minimal, outside street noise none. the view from the 22nd floor i was on (28 floors overall) was really nice. but what was not good and detracted from the stay: the restaurant was terrible. many choices on the menu were not available, wait staff had no english fluency. food served was mediocre, definitely not up to the 4-star standard. i was over-charged for two items that i made them back down to the price of the menu. one item was listed in the menu as 12 yuan and they wanted to charge 30 yuan. it was not a mistake, they openly said the price had changed but they had not updated the menu! no wi-fi except in the lobby! when i complained they finally, reluctantly, gave me a small wireless router to use in my room. staff tends to be argumentative, almost confrontational about requests (such as the wi-fi or the pricing in the restaurant). limited english fluency, especially for a true 4-star hotel.

Reviewed July 08, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Richard from United States
Couple
Business King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012

Excellent location and great service”

Location, English speaking concierge,

Loved the New Era hotel- just a couple of blocks from bird and flower market, right next to shopping mall with restaurants, short walk to Green Lake park. Hotel was beautiful, clean, and well air-conditioned. Rooms were comfortable and the bed was a touch softer than most chinese hotels. Bathroom could have used new caulking, but shower had good water pressure and they provided blow dryer and typical bathroom amenities. They were one of the few hotels we stayed in during our month long trip that provided traditional Chinese tea in room( as opposed to Lipton tea bags )

Reviewed June 18, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Ingo from Germany
Solo traveler
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Hotel at central location with good service”

Central location, good service

The hotel is at a central location in the city of Kunming. The employees are eager to offer good service to the guest but complex requests are difficult due to the moderate capabilities of the staff to communicate in english. Standard requests are handled professionally. Airport pickup is offered free of charge.

Reviewed June 05, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
SHWU from United States
Couple
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 5 nights in April 2012

Centrally located hotel with excellent staff”

Value for price was outstanding

5-star treatment at 4-star price. Staff was excellent and extra cost for breakfast buffet on the 28th floor was well worth the price. Centrally located next to upscale shopping mall, pedestrian area with large selection of shopping and dining choices and an informative, well-laid-out Yunnan Museum. Short taxi ride to park to the north and the Yunnan Minorities Village -- both worth the effort to visit.

Reviewed May 01, 2012
8.7
Excellent
ronald
Couple
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2012

Perfect rooms and efficient service.”

The Chinese food was perfect and served with personal attention.

Putting us in a smoking room in first instance was a mistake but speedily put right. Room and bathroom were clean (remarkable) and large. Apples and a knife were offered and the early morning checkout went smoothly and accompanied by a packed breakfast. Transport to the airport was arranged on request at the appropriate time.We are very satisfied with this hotel.

Reviewed April 20, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Amanda from United States
Solo traveler
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2012

amazing hotel, wonderful service!”

Comfortable rooms, amazing buffet breakfast, airport pick up, helpful staff, great central location

Thank you soo much for being so welcoming, helpful and sophisticated. Your manner was always warm and friendly. You maintain a good standard of service and presentation and your buffet breakfast and airport pick up were so helpful to someone not from the city. You also went above and beyond the call of duty on more than one occasion. Thank you. I also greatly enjoyed your location - right in the middle of a shopping district. Everything was great value for money - and a great price on agoda!

Reviewed April 12, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Arkamitra from India
Family with teens
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2011

great location!”

food, location, decor

excellent location in the heart of the city, with access to huge supermarkets, malls, restaurants and bars. Hotel looks a little dodgy at the entrance, particularly, the lobby, but the floors with the rooms and the rooms themselves are excellent. fabulous breakfast buffet and we had a memorable and cheap 31st night dinner in their private rooms serving Chinese fare.

Reviewed April 03, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Christian from Germany
Couple
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011

Good hotel - perfect location”

Location and nice rooms

We stayed there during Christmas and were very happy about our choice. Very good location, big comfortable rooms and a very good breakfast with a nice view. The staff is very helpful and can speak englisch as well. They booked train tickets for us and helped with the taxis. For a visit of Kunming a good choice!

Reviewed March 19, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Joseph from Singapore
Family with young children
Business King Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2012

Great location and very comfortable room!”

Located right in the heart of Kunming ... from food to shopping are walking distance from hotel!

Excellent place to stay both for children and adults. The room was confortable and very clean. Staffs are great. It so easy for us a family to have meal and shopping that both children and adults enjoyed. We just enjoy hanging out in the room and around the malls. They have english cable channels ... it was great!

Reviewed March 09, 2012
8.7
Excellent
mark from New Zealand
Family with teens
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2011

Good location, excellent service”

Breakfast, location, staff

we were plesantly supprised by the quality of the hotel and the service. we stayed one night but were able to get a nice meal nearby and attended a cultural show on the hotel's recommendation. we were able to use the hotel's airport shuttle service for our flight to lijiang and again for our return stay.

Reviewed January 25, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Estelle from United States
Couple
Business Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2011

Terrific location in the middle of city”

Hotel was excellent with large rooms and very clean

Hotel was within walking distance to all attractions and next door to colorful night market . The staff spoke enough English and were very helpful . The best beauty salon was diagonally across the street. They were better than any good NYC high end beauty salon. 40 yuan foe a great shampoo massage and blow dry. No English spoken. 10 minute taxi ride to airport

Reviewed October 23, 2011