Book Now: New Sun Guesthouse Myeongdong

Excellent
From 442 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
/
10
Recommended by 91% of guests

Reviews of New Sun Guesthouse Myeongdong Reviews from real guests

Overall rating
8.0
Excellent
From 633 reviews
Provided by verified guests of
Agoda Reviews (442)Booking.com Reviews (178)
Rating via Agoda8.2
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.1
Facilities7.7
Location8.8
Room comfort and quality7.7
Service8.2
Value for money8.5
Rating
9+ Exceptional (112)
8-9 Excellent (69)
7-8 Very Good (86)
6-7 Good (41)
<6 Below Expectation (30)
Time of the year
Mar - May (100)
Jun - Aug (66)
Sep - Nov (92)
Dec - Feb (80)
All guests (442)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 338 verified guest comments
8.4
Excellent
NORNADIA from Malaysia
Couple
Double Bed
Stayed 5 nights in April 2019

good location”

near to Hoehyeon Station exit 1..walking distance to Namdaemun Market, Myeongdong and Namsan Tower..staff was helpful..room a bit small but clean and suitable for two..no elevator,close to convenience stores like CU and other restaurant..we had wonderful stay at New Sun Guesthouse..kamsahamida

Reviewed July 24, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Norhayati from Malaysia
Group
Twin bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Excellent”

Room is quite small, but for those who only use it for sleeping it was very comfortable, good location from exit 1 Heohyeon, just turn right at CU store, flow the road to see Namsan tower, go straight until wider street and the guesthouse located on your right, infront seoul city hotel, you may find the receptionist in this hotel too. 5 minutes walk from Namdaemyun market and 10 walks from Myeongdong street and Kampungku Restaurant. Breakfast provided is cereal and milk, bread and jam. We have very good experience staying in this guest house

Reviewed May 08, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Okti from Indonesia
Group
Twin bed
Stayed 6 nights in April 2019

Value For Money”

Located at Myeongdong area and is close to Namsan Tower. Plenty of restaurants and convenient stores nearby, 8 minutes walk to Heohyon station. Check in was easy with very helpful staff (thanks for helping me with the padlock!). Room is small but it has shower, heater and other amenities, more than enough for travellers who spend most of the days outside. Pantry can get very busy and crowded, but it has coffee, tea, cup noodles, toasts and cereal. One small issue, we wanted earlier breakfast than 8 AM :) Will definitely go there again when I travel to Seoul.

Reviewed April 25, 2019
6.4
Good
Deda from Philippines
Couple
Double Bed
Stayed 5 nights in June 2019

Just Right for the Price you pay”

centrally located in between myeongdong and namdaemun market, location is the hostels best asset. Cheap price so dont expect five star facilities. There is no elevator so you have to carry your luggages upstairs, not recommended if with kids and or senior citizens. I would stay here again if travelling with companions ages between 15-45 years old because i like the location.

Reviewed June 18, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Jon from Philippines
Couple
Twin bed
Stayed 6 nights in May 2019

Value for money. With free breakfast”

Pro: free breakfast. Cerial, toast, jam, coffee,cup noodles. Own cr in room Ref, tv, mirror, aircondition Weighing scale for your luggage. Bunk bed with my wife. We actually prefer this than 1 queen size. Everyday cleaning. Location is very near hoehyeon station, namdaemun market, myeongdong market, shinsegae dury free, namsans cable car, And 1 station away from seoul station. Cons. None. I would highly recommend this place.

Reviewed May 23, 2019
7.2
Very good
Suzanne from Malaysia
Couple
Twin bed
Stayed 4 nights in April 2019

Pretty Satisfied”

Pros: Very near to subway station (Hoehyeon Station, exit 1). Value for money. Pretty basic breakfast (bread, coffee, tea, egg, instant noodles). Cons: Anotehr staff found out his colleague gave us the wrong room after we have checked in and settled down in the room. Certain staffs are just ignorant. I asked about the nearest post office but just got brushed off with no intention to help at all from the staff.

Reviewed May 08, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Adibah from Malaysia
Group
Twin bed
Stayed 5 nights in April 2019

Exceptional”

Pros : everything is so convenience Cons : the cleaner ahjumma gets a little upset when we use the kitchen. And it's hard to reach the guesthouse manager/staff at front desk cause no one there especially after office hour.

Reviewed April 25, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Tiffany from Indonesia
Couple
Twin bed
Stayed 5 nights in March 2019

Nice place, nice price”

New Sun is a steal. This place is very close with Myeondong and Namdaemun, the facilities are sufficient, the room is clean, and the staffs are nice. Definitely will stay here again if I come to Seoul.

Reviewed March 10, 2019
8.0
Excellent
gregory from Philippines
Couple
Twin bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

Near train stn.”

Good accommodation you get what you paid for with bfast consist of noodles,bread ,jam,butter and coffee.

Reviewed May 21, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Rosalinda from Philippines
Group
Family Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2019

Breakfast is ok American style.”

Near Hoeyeun Station good location near Myeongdong shopping street

Reviewed May 17, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Mary from Philippines
Family with young children
Double Bed
Stayed 5 nights in March 2018

Location wise”

Location wise. There are many convenience stores and restaurants around the area, myeongdong shopping street, namsan cable car and namdaemun market are just walking distance. Just one stop from Seoul station if you are taking the express train from Incheon airport. Rooms are clean, the toilet is big. But I hope they can serve breakfast earlier than 8AM. Overall, we had a great time!

Reviewed April 03, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Mary from Philippines
Family with young children
Family Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2018

Location wise”

There are a lot of convenience stores and restaurants around the area, walking distance to Myeongdong shopping street, Namsan cable car and Namdaemun market. Breakfast is provided but I hope they can serve it earlier than 8AM. Rooms are ok, toilets are big. We had a great time!

Reviewed March 30, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Mary from Philippines
Solo traveler
Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

I shall comeback.”

Did well: Near the subway (Hoehyeon Exit 2), very accessible. Price is reasonable. Clean. Free breakfast. Do Differently: Breakfast options. It's always the same everyday (Bread butter strawberry preserves, coffee, cup noodles, cereals)

Reviewed October 27, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Anna from Philippines
Solo traveler
Double Bed
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017

More than what I expect”

The place is in an ideal location between 2 market that any tourist would want to visit. It's a 5-10min walk to Myeongdong and 5min walk to Namdaemun. Neighborhood is full of local shops, there's a samgyeopsal place, an Izakaya, a convenient store, Subway store and the subway is a stone throw away. At night, the neighborhood is quiet and safe in all. The cleanliness of the place is spot on although you'll notice the wear and tear of the place. Regardless, the bathroom is complete with all the amenities needed and ample space to move around. The bed provided was a queen size with 2 pillows and a comforter. There's an aircon (but probably won't need to use it), hair dyrer, tv, extension (do bring your own as the plug is still rounded), dresser with mirror, mini refrigerator with 2 bottles of water. There's ample space to move around your luggage in the room. Owner / front desk is helpful in all my needs. Breakfast is provided, as well as water dispenser. Use of kitchen utensils is available to guests.

Reviewed March 31, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Arvee from Philippines
Group
Family Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017

It was great!”

The place is very accessible to almost all tourist spots in Myeongdong. The room is quite well and comfortable despite the limited space. Kibum and his father, Mr. Sung were very accommodating and they ensured that we get what we pay. Mr Sung also has provided us adaptor since the socket are not the usual flat plugs. You should bring extensions coz only one adaptor can be lent and additional of it has payment. But due to kindness of Mr. Sung, he lend us 2 instead. They do have free breakfast and it self service. Furthermore, the location is near to any convenience store and restaurant. People around the area especially in the stores are approachable and kind especially the one from GS25. Will surely recommend this place and book here again. Had a great vacation in this place! Keep it up! More success. :)

Reviewed March 01, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Zhiyi from Singapore
Solo traveler
Twin bed
Stayed 7 nights in June 2016

Convenient location, staff can speak both mandarin and english”

Friendly staff who can communicate effectively in both English and mandarin. Location is just 5 min walk to Myeongdong shopping area and 2 min walk to nearest subway station. Near to bus stops too. Has many convenient stores and restaurants nearby.

Reviewed June 21, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Yeong from Malaysia
Family with young children
Family Room
Stayed 8 nights in November 2015

Comfortable and convenience”

Comfort, near to attractions place, near to train station

The stay is great. They provide simple breakfast which you have to cook yourself. Only thing is there is no lift. Not convenience for people who carry with big luggage. A lot convenient store nearby. Near to attractions like myeong-dong, Namdaemun Market Seoul tower. Value money for stay.

Reviewed November 29, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
hannah from Philippines
Family with young children
Family Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

Happy Family backpackers”

Family room was great, staff and owner were nice and spoke english well, location was near the subway and city bus

We are a family of four backpackers. Our youngest member aged 10, is always a challenging to please. But enjoyed the new sun guesthouse. The location was near the heohyun station and was in the dead center of the city. Walking distance to namsan tower, city hall, myeonggyecheong stream, buk-something palace. Like i said it was dead center. I would def recommend this guesthouse to other family backpackers, esp foreigners cuz staff and owner were nice and spoke english well. Thanks :)

Reviewed August 30, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Chin from Malaysia
Couple
Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013

Excellent choice for USD50++”

Look new with huge TV,more toiletries provided and great service from Korean staff.

Spacious by korean standard,bed and toilet.Free simple breakfast available in korean to western type.Many chinese and korean restaurants on lines to Namdaemun and Myeongdong but for muslims no halal restaurants nearby but lots is seen in Itaewon cz I have been there before.Short walks to attractive spots culturally and commercially.From here can see up straight to Seoul Tower.

Reviewed November 08, 2013
5.6
KA from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Single Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

fair enough at its price”

I just find a 1 night stay before meeting with friends and move to other hotel. Be fair, it's a hostel at standard and the condition is ok, with hot water, air-con, tv all work properly. A window with sunlight though you cannot open. Sound isolation is good as I like it is a solid room, not those fake rooms section by a paper-thin wall. However, I need to walk down to G/F for some drinking water, better consider a water station every floor, but this is minor. all in all, fair price to find some place to stay if you do prefer a private room with real door.

Reviewed May 29, 2019
7.2
Very good
ILYNN from Philippines
Solo traveler
Single Bed
Stayed 5 nights in April 2019

Accessible to Namdaemun Market & Myeongdong”

Near Hoehyeon station exit 1. Very near Namdaemun Market & walkable to Myeongdong. High water pressure in shower, towels and toiletries provided except toothbrush and toothpaste. Has small fridge, electric water kettle, hair dryer, with extension cord so you don’t need adopter & no water provided. Room is small , bed has electric blanket, a dresser and chair. Breakfast is the same everyday - bread, jam and butter, cereals and milk, noodles in a cup, coffee and tea served from 8am to 10am. You can also cook but ask permission first to use the stove from owners coz the area where we eat is their working kitchen. It also has a washing machine. If you arrive later than 9pm they leave your room key in the registration area. The owner’s son speaks English. Guesthouse is only two-storey. Across is Subway, CU convenience store and the area has a lot of Korean restaurants. Further along is Starbucks and a lot more coffee shops. Overall, location is excellent and value for money is satisfactory.

Reviewed April 30, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
annalisa from Philippines
Couple
Twin bed
Stayed 4 nights in October 2018

Nice Location”

I arrived midnight and the reception was already closed, but I still got my key with a note (room number, check out time). Nice location, near MRT station, Myeongdong and Nandaemun Market. Room is small but clean. Will book again.

Reviewed January 11, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Sutipong from Thailand
Couple
Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Exceptional”

We stayed here in Seoul 2 nights then we travel to Busan for another 2 nights after that we came back here again for 2 more nights. The guesthouse allowed us to leave our 2 big backpacks while we away for 2 days. We really appreciated it. We also asked the receptionist to call and make a reservation to the local restaurant for us. Very impress for all the help form the guest house. Strongly recommended.

Reviewed December 08, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Charmie from Philippines
Couple
Double Bed
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018

Everything you need is here!”

Pros: Easy to locate, just walk about 5mins from Heohyeon Station. It is surrounded by convinience store and restaurants. The staff was really helpful. I requested for a room on 1st floor and they granted my request. They have express check in and check out. And as I said, everything you will need is there. Cons: The rooms are kinda old BUT IN GOOD CONDITION. Same breakfast everyday BUT ITS FREE AND DELICIOUS. These cons doesn't matter to me. Really a value for money. I will definitely recommend. And I will absolutely book it again when I go back to South Korea next year. :)

Reviewed November 20, 2018
5.2
Hui-Yi from Malaysia
Group
Twin bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Small room but good location”

Overall the place needs to be refurbished as it has seen better days. We arrived after 8pm and our keys were left at the front desk. Nobody was around. The rooms are small but clean with basic amenities. If u just need a place to sleep and shower then it's ok as the location is strategic with access to the metro and Myeongdong area.

Reviewed November 08, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Portia from Philippines
Group
Twin bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018

Good place to stay, near the station”

The place was very near the station, staff were helpful. Free breakfast bread, cereal and noodles. The building is old but the place is kept clean. Room was a little bit small and bathroom was very spacious both were clean. Near restaurants and convenience stores as well.

Reviewed October 31, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Amabelle from Philippines
Couple
Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018

We love Korea”

This very homey guesthouse gave us a hassle-free stay. Everything is accessible, from main road to train station as well as tourist spots were made possible as planned. Easy fix breakfast made us feel at home, friendly and very accommodating staff and room cleanliness is at its finest each time we returned from a tiring yet happy tour. We will definitely book this great place again, if given another chance to visit Korea. Hopefully soon!

Reviewed October 26, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Kairou from Malaysia
Group
Twin bed
Stayed 5 nights in October 2018

Great location, 3 mins walk from exit of metro station, with small & simple room. ”

The hostel was walking distance (3 mins walk) from exit 1 of Hoehyeon station which is only a station away from Seoul station & Myeongdong station. 10 mins walk to Myeongdong shopping area. Lots of food choices around the hotel as well. The owner allowed us to leave our luggage at the reception area as we arrive before check in time. However the room was small & a little old (as expected from this price & good location). Overall satisfied with our stay there. Would recommend this place if you want to stay in city center but are on a tighter budget.

Reviewed October 17, 2018
7.2
Very good
Glen from New Zealand
Couple
Twin bed
Stayed 3 nights in June 2019

Very good”

Lots of facilities all cramped in a very small room, slightly shabby. Basic breakfast in clean shared area. Excellent location.

Reviewed June 25, 2019
4.4
CELYN from Malaysia
Group
Twin bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018

Dislike”

You paid for what you get

Reviewed May 11, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Laarni from Philippines
Group
Twin bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Exceptional”

very good!

Reviewed April 25, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
NIKKO from Philippines
Family with young children
Twin bed
Stayed 6 nights in January 2019

Family friendly”

Stay at this hotel is definitely worth it! Close to just about anything! Train Station, Myeongdong, Nandaemun, Restaurants and many more!

Reviewed March 26, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Rhia from Philippines
Family with young children
Twin bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Value for money! ”

Pros - location and value for money. Cons - aircon does not work too well, makes it stuffy. Options too for breakfast.

Reviewed March 11, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Walter from Australia
Couple
Twin bed
Stayed 5 nights in January 2019

Exceptional”

Convenient and inexpensive place to stay. Near train station and key areas. Prefer using taxi to go around. Will certainly be booking again. Thanks

Reviewed January 17, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Nurul from Malaysia
Family with young children
Family Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2018

Good Location ”

Just a walking distance to Namsan Tower, Namdaemun Market, Myeongdong Market and more attractions.

Reviewed December 16, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Agnes from Malaysia
Group
Twin bed
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018

i love it so much”

peaceful place and lovely ❤️❤️

Reviewed November 25, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Noreen from Philippines
Couple
Double Bed
Stayed 5 nights in February 2018

Location is very near Myeongdong and Namdaemun Market. The owner is very cool and helpful. 😊”

Location is very near to tourist spots and shopping center. The room is clean and the amenities are okay. The owner is very helpful. Definitely will still book this place in case we'll visit Korea again.

Reviewed March 08, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Maria from Philippines
Family with teens
Family Room
Stayed 5 nights in November 2017

Value for money”

Stayed in New Sun with my Mom and 2 siblings! We loved the location because it is walking distance to Myeongdong and Namsan Tower. I love that it's also near Pomato, a resto serving cheap Korean dishes. There are convenience stores just across the street and samyupsal restos just a few steps away. Their staff are super helpful and helped us carry our bags to our room. They alos helped us book an airport service. The rooms are not that big but just enough for 4 people. It might get too cramped if you all have huge luggage bags. They have a ref, hairdryer and water heater inside. The door to the bathroom is a bit heavy though and it's a glass door with no lock. But overall, we had an amazing stay!

Reviewed December 30, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Andrea from Philippines
Couple
Double Bed
Stayed 5 nights in November 2017

Value for money”

I booked last minute on this property. The location is good very near to Hoehyeon Station and in Myeondong. This is very advantageous to us because we did several visits to Namdaemun Market and to Myeongdong to shop as well as to Seoul Station for Lotte Mart. The place is clean and smells really good. Bathroom is huge but it's kinda challenging to control the temp of the water. Breakfast only has coffee bread cereal and noodles everyday. I will not complain because I am expecting more because this is just a guesthouse and not really a hotel. What they offered was enough for us to start the day since food is really expensive in Seoul, it helps that your stomach is already full. I would like to mention the Weighing Scale. It was really helpful because we just purchased baggage few hours before the flight. Also, they allowed us to leave our things after check out since our flight is late at night. Overall, I think I might consider this again if ever I will be going back to Seoul.

Reviewed November 16, 2017
7.6
Very good
HAJUMAZAN from Malaysia
Family with young children
Double Bed
Stayed 6 nights in October 2017

Staff not friendly. Have a kitchen but can't cook.”

Already check in at new sun guesthouse 3 times. 1st time check in on november 2014. On 2014, front desk staff very helpfull n friendly. Then 2016 im check in again for 2nd time, new front desk staff. Staff not friendly and always making an unpleasant face. I'm a guest, but he don't respect me as a guest. no manner! Ohh yeah, front desk staff on 2016 and 2017 is a same guy staff. For 2016 i still patient because only me and my friend check in. But for 2017, 3rd time check in i took my family. This time he forbade us to cook, he said disturbing other guest. What function kitchen if we can't cook, even we just cook instant noodles. Bad experience stay at new sun guesthouse and never come check in again. Really don't like that guy because the attitude. Always making an unpleasant face to the guest. Maybe will check in again at new sun guesthouse if that guy already resign.

Reviewed October 22, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Catherine from Philippines
Solo traveler
Twin bed
Stayed 8 nights in June 2017

For a first timer in Korea, the guesthouse is accessible to all.....”

For a first timer in Korea, the guesthouse is accessible to all..... subway stations, ATM, underground shopping centers, convenience stores, food establishments, 10-15 mins walk to Namsan Cable Car and Myeongdong Shopping Street 👍🏻❤ Even the host and his staff are approachable 😊

Reviewed June 12, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Ayda from Indonesia
Business traveler
Double Bed
Stayed 4 nights in April 2017

Near with subway station, seven eleven, and Namdaemun market.”

At the beginning, I had difficulty to find this hotel. But actually the location is easy to find. From the subway stn, Hoehyeon choose exit 1, go straight until find the intersection (red light), then turn right, go straight until the third junction (after Seoul hotel). Then you will find this hotel at your right side. Actually the view of N Seoul Tower is just in front of this hotel,but it covered by high building. Staying at this hotel is worth for the money. Just love it because near airport bus, Namdaemun market and subway :)

Reviewed April 16, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Bella from Vietnam
Group
Twin bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

Convenient”

Very near from subway (abt 200m), can walk to Myeongdong market and Lotte duty free. Staffs are friendly and helpful. Room is small but clean. Suitable for tourists that only need a place to sleep at night.

Reviewed October 05, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Nelson from Philippines
Couple
Double Bed
Stayed 5 nights in May 2016

Late breakfast”

Overall a great stay. My only complain is that the breakfast was not prepared on time on my last day of stay and no staff to request for it early morning. Too bad its the worst time for it to happen because I'll be late for my flight so I checked out without eating.

Reviewed May 23, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Julina from Malaysia
Couple
Single Bed
Stayed 6 nights in April 2016

Its good location & value for money”

We are married couple and im 6months preggy.. For me the location is superb because near to subway stesen.. Only 5mins walking.. After that near to namdamun market & myeongdong street.. Just walking & u will be there.. Breakfast also provided & u can take anything at the pantry.. The room is good & clean.. Quiet location & smells good with air perfume.. Will come here back if we go to korea again.. Its value for money..

Reviewed April 09, 2016
6.8
Good
Shirley from Philippines
Group
Twin bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2016

location good, near mrt station..”

near mrt station and namdaemun market. found used cotton buds on cotton buds container... staff were not able to hide his grouchy face when maybe we did something wrong at the kitchen area. better to have clear instruction so that guests can follow.

Reviewed March 31, 2016
8.4
Excellent
DEWI from Indonesia
Group
Family Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015

value for money”

the front desk staff is really helpful. unfortunately there is no lift in this hotel but the front desk will help you to bring your stuff to your room upstairs. the hotel is near to the subway station and it takes 15 minutes to myeong dong market and 8 minutes to Namdaemun market,

Reviewed March 21, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
SHITING from China
Solo traveler
Family Room
Stayed 5 nights in February 2016

Full enjoyment in Seoul”

This is the best hotel we had booked for our 10-day Korean trip(comparing to Busan,Jeju).The location is convenient and the manager is quite helpful(Chinese will be completely accepted cause the manager can speak Chinese and many Chinese chose there).Our room had four beds and a big bathroom.Though the room is not that large,we enjoyed the warmess and facilities.The breakfast is recommended,u can have many choices for breakfast there,besides it helped us save lots of money anyway.Finally,if we have another chance to travel Seoul,i will book this hotel again!Thank you so much for this stay.

Reviewed March 07, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Ma. from Philippines
Solo traveler
Twin bed
Stayed 6 nights in February 2016

Very nice stay”

My stay in this guesthouse was very comfortable. The receptionist was very helpful answering all the queries that i asked. The location is perfect, you can make your way on foot towards tourist spots like Myeongdong, Namdaemun market, and Namsan tower. The guesthouse is also very near Hyoyeon Subway station, which makes your life easier when going from one destination to the other.

Reviewed February 22, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
John from Philippines
Couple
Double Bed
Stayed 5 nights in November 2015

Value for money”

Location, Staff, Amenities

The location is perfect. Very near to food establishments, quick marts like 711, mrt station and other neighboring areas like myeongdong. The amenities are good for backpackers and budget travellers because they provide water, coffee and some basic food for breakfast and the kitchen can also be used by the guests to cook or prepare their own food. The staff were very accomodating and approachable whenever you see them. New Sun Guesthouse is highly recommended and will definitely stay with them again when we travel back in Seoul. Cheers!

Reviewed December 05, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Christa from Philippines
Family with teens
Family Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015

Good location”

Location, Friendly Staff, Heater available

Good! Namsan Tower is just 10min walk away. Namsan And Myeongdong markets are accessible as well. It's also near to Hohyeon subwat station. Although, the bathroom door seems a bit weird because it's a bit translucent. But overall twas a nice stay.

Reviewed December 01, 2015
7.0
Very good
YI from Malaysia
Couple
Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

Good stay”

THe staff is kind and helpful to carry luggage

Overall experience was good and the location is good as it is just 5min walk to metro station. If you are carrying big and heavy luggage, please prepare as this hotel do not have elevator, or you may request the staff to assist you.

Reviewed January 06, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Gie from Philippines
Family with teens
Twin bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014

Good”

Good location, friendly staff, value for money

2 travelers, stayed during winter season. The location is very near Namdaemun Market; around 10 minute walk. The location is a tiny bit uphill so those older travelers may experience some difficulty. The breakfast was simple, just instant noodles, toast, eggs or the like. Also the breakfast and the cleaning of utensils is self service. :) Room was a bit small but good; room had a heater, hot water, and a mini-fridge. Staff was very friendly and helped us with a lot of things during our stay. Will stay again soon. Thank Mr. Kibum! :)

Reviewed December 08, 2014
4.7
JOSIE from Philippines
Group
Family Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014

Our Korea Trip”

The location is near the night market, cheaper rate than other hotel, clean

the rest of our group stayed at the New Sun Guesthouse and the set up is more like a dormitory, although it is clean but the free breakfast offered wasn't good, the location is good, few minutes walk to night market.

Reviewed November 10, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Yeuk from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Twin bed
Stayed 4 nights in August 2014

The best choice of staying in Seoul”

Great location, valuable price, comfortable

This guesthouse is located just 3mins walk from the metro station. 10mins walk to Myeongdong. The room although is small but it is absolutely ok. The staff is great and helpful, even helped us booked a taxi to ICN.

Reviewed August 19, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Ng from Malaysia
Group
Family Room
Stayed 10 nights in July 2014

Nice hotel and value for money”

Good location, clean and attentive staff

Very good and satisfied, the hotel near with the transit station. There is also 24 hours convenient shop near with the hotel. Overall very good and comfortable, it give me a feel of home. The staff and boss very nice and helpful. Strongly recommend to those who want a good budget hotel.

Reviewed July 19, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Duncan from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Single Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014

Basic, clean, convenient”

Location, clean, nice staff

Although the bed was hard, the compact single room was good value for money given the excellent location. It's close to the subway and a major shopping/eating area. I would print out from google map to get there from the subway. It's not far, but involves a couple of junctions. The staff were very nice despite having almost no English.

Reviewed June 27, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Deborah from Australia
Solo traveler
Twin bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014

Spot on for the price”

Location, English speaking check-in, in-room facilities

I was very happy with my stay at New Sun. Kibum, the friendly check-in guy, had studied in NZ so had a great level of English; having only been in Korea a week, this was very useful. The room had a desk, wifi, tv, tissues, cotton buds and heater. Towels and breakfast were included. The make-your-own breakfast wasn't flash - white bread, noodles, eggs, milk, tea, coffee - but it was enough to start the day. The location was brilliant - walking distance to Namsan Park and the N Seoul Tower, as well as to Shinsegae and Lotte department stores. There were markets close by, as well as cafes and local eateries. I stayed in a twin room on my own. If I had stayed with someone else, space may have been tight, but I've experienced that in hotels in Korea for a lot more money than New Sun. For the $60AUS I paid per night, it was good value.

Reviewed February 11, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Ariane from Philippines
Couple
Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013

Great New and Modern Guesthouse”

Location, Large Room with Fast Internet

At first, it was quite hard to find. I was looking for their email in google to ask for a map but I couldn't find any. Maybe they can shoot an email after receiving Agoda booking notification like other hostels would do. Anyway, it wouldn't be an issue once you find your way. LOCATION + 1.5mins. walk Hoehyeon Train Station (station next to Myeongdong) + 5-7mins. walk to Namdaemun Market + 20mins. walk going up N Seoul Tower cable car + 8mins. walk to Airport Bus stop + There are 2-3 money changers between the station and the guesthouse. (Rates are better as compared to others) + Convenience store across. - Leading to the guesthouse there are I think Love hotels. You may pass by group of guys or (maybe) pimps inviting you. Not much of a problem anyway. BEDROOM+BATHROOM + Very spacious at 3rd floor (at least this was the room given to us, Thank you!) + Toiletries, Slippers, Towels are given (towels changed everyday) + Rooms cleaned everyday. + Fast Internet - There was a stench coming from the drain in the bathroom - The lowered step by the door may cause accident. Many times I tripped on it. FOOD + Free Breakfast: Strawberry jam/butter with bread and Instant Korean Noodle soup - Not much restaurants around the hostel, you need to walk near the station. STAFF +Staff is very fluent in english! He traced directions in the map, free and displayed in the stairway. Sunday is our check out until we realized we ran out of won! Apparently, money changers are not open that day and made us worried we won't have money for the bus to the Airport. He freely asked how much we needed and exchanged his won for our dollars instead. Thanks.. We will surely be back!

Reviewed November 21, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
seymour from Philippines
Couple
Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013

nice & clean, very accomodating hotel staff”

hotel cleanliness, staff was very accomodating & free use of kitchen & laundry materials..

we arrived around 1am early in the morning and the receptionist was very accommodating and friendly... fast check-in and check-out.. the free usage of the kitchen was very useful as we had some food bought outside that we needed for cooking. good room internet connection. buffet breakfast selection was noodles, egg, cornflakes, bread, jam, butter, milk, coffee & tea.

Reviewed October 24, 2013
7.6
Very good
JugFoo from Malaysia
Family with young children
Twin bed
Stayed 8 nights in December 2018

Very good”

Walking distance to Hoehyeon Subway Station. Many local Korean restaurants surrounding the hotel. Several 24/7 stores available. Daily housekeeping & free breakfast (Bread, cereal & Korean Ramen Cup). Free coffee & tea - Self-service. So far my family had a great stay.

Reviewed December 13, 2018
6.4
Good
Nadine from Germany
Family with teens
Family Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Hostel like accomdation”

Despite the title Guesthouse, this is definitely hostel like accommodation. Small rooms and common breakfast area with continental serve yourself. If you are an independent traveler who likes to walk, its a very good location for beginning your tour of Seoul.

Reviewed November 22, 2018
4.8
Sharon from Singapore
Couple
Twin bed
Stayed 8 nights in October 2018

Cheap but Not Comfortable”

Stayed at this guest house for a week and have to say that location is not bad, as it is near to Hoehyeon station which is 1 stop away from Seoul Station, and around 3 mins walk. but the bunk bed is uncomfortable to sleep as the mattress is only around 10 cm thick. the double bed room will be a better option I think. from the pictures, the rooms look clean n spacious but in reality, the room quite old n quite small (maybe ours was a middle room). It is self service guesthouse, I don't even have to check in and check out. arrived late and the key was left at the counter with a piece of note with my name and breakfast and check out timings. To check out simply need to drop the key into a big bowl. no deposit required. as for breakfast, only have white bread (with butter and jam), cereals, milk and cup noodles, sachets of coffee and green tea. will be good if there are some hard boiled eggs though. but the cup noodles don't seem to cook properly if use the hot water from the filtered tap. when we first stepped into the room, there were strands of hair on the floor. have the basic things like sachets of shampoo, conditioner, shower cream, a mini bar of soap, hand and bath towels, and a hair dryer. also have a mini fridge and a kettle which we did not use. so will need to bring your own toothpaste and toothbrush if you intending to stay here. it's just opposite Namdaemun market and Shinsegae Department Store and 5mins walk to Myeongdong area. If I were to book my accommodation again, I will most likely book for 2 days and stay at another area for the remaining days of my holiday.

Reviewed November 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Azka from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Twin bed
Stayed 9 nights in April 2019

Exceptional”

Thankyou for the best experience in the first time i'm travelling to south korea!

Reviewed April 19, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
geraldine from Philippines
Group
Twin bed
Stayed 6 nights in March 2019

Excellent location & very clean room!”

We really enjoyed our stay! Thank you so much New Sun for an excellent accommodation! We will book again! The location is walking distance to Myeongdong, subway, Namdaemun market and Namsan!!!

Reviewed April 10, 2019
7.6
Very good
noridzlianni from Malaysia
Group
Twin bed
Stayed 4 nights in September 2018

location,clean, easy to find”

overall ok. just few minutes walk from hoehyeon exit 1. walking distance to myeongdong and very near nandaemun market.

Reviewed October 01, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Lourievelle from Philippines
Group
Double Bed
Stayed 5 nights in July 2018

Rooms are big and comfortable.”

Walking distance to Myeongdong and very near to subway station Hoehyeon.

Reviewed August 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ning from Malaysia
Group
Twin bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

good staff”

Good location and staff

Reviewed June 25, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
jeffrey from Philippines
Solo traveler
Single Bed
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018

Exceptional”

Good location. Very accessible to train station. Very nice neighboorhood. Feels like home when having breakfast especially when you are able to interact with other guests.

Reviewed April 14, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Majera from Philippines
Group
Twin bed
Stayed 5 nights in October 2017

Affordable, convenient, clean and very nice guesthouse. Perfect for budget travellers. ”

Near from shopping areas like myeongdong, namdaemun market and subway. They also offer free breakfast. I really recommend this guesthouse for DIY travellers.

Reviewed October 30, 2017