Book Now: NH Carlton Amsterdam

Very good7.5
Based on 217 reviews

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (217)
Booking.com Reviews (4278)

7.5

Filter by guest type:
Very good
based on 217 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Room comfort and quality 7.4
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for money 6.9
Very good
based on 40 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Room comfort and quality 7.1
  • Service 7.2
  • Value for money 6.8
Very good
based on 92 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Room comfort and quality 7.5
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for money 7.0
Very good
based on 41 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Room comfort and quality 6.9
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for money 6.3
Excellent
based on 7 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Room comfort and quality 8.0
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for money 8.0
Good
based on 11 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 4.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Room comfort and quality 7.3
  • Service 5.8
  • Value for money 6.0
Excellent
based on 26 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Room comfort and quality 8.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 8.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:

Language
  • English
  • Deutsch
  • Español
  • 简体中文
  • Français
  • Nederlands
  • Dansk
  • 繁體中文 (台灣)
  • Português (PT)
  • Русский
  • Svenska
  • 日本語
  • עברית
  • Italiano
  • 繁體中文 (香港)
  • 한국어
  • العربية
  • Suomi
  • Eesti
  • Norsk
more less

Room type
  • Standard Room
  • Standard Room With View Terrace
  • Superior XL Double
  • Superior Room

Sort by
Showing 189 verified guest comments
  • clear all

6.0
barbara from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Great location, worst staff”
The hotel is in a great location, but the staff are really rude and speak almost no english. The hotel rooms were good but outside was really dirty full of room service trays
Reviewed May 28, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Ofer from Israel
Couple
Standard Room With View Terrace
Stayed 4 nights in May 2017
we'vw expected for more...”
the room was way too small for it's price. the view was very nice but the balcony itself was quite ugly (not like in the picture of the hotel's website). the location is great but besides that, the hotel didn't provide us anything else though the staff was quite nice but always busy with something or someone else. quite disappointing in general.
Reviewed May 17, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.2
Temmy from Indonesia
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
NH Carlton Amsterdam nice location in center of Amsterdam easy to get transportation for city tours ”
Location good, nearest from city attractions can walk to many city attractions object. Can get public transportation easy to around the city or to out of city. Staff of hotel to much training staff not have much experience to solve problems from online reservation. Cleanliness of hotel not to bad but nothing special because is old hotel building and interior.
Reviewed April 12, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
mahmoud from Kuwait
Couple
Standard Room With View Terrace
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Very good ”
Very good and nice
Reviewed March 29, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
2.0
jay from South Korea
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Worse than motel”
Too small room,noize in night, cheap pillows and blanket. The worst hotel ever!
Reviewed March 12, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Michael-Chen from Israel
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
A good hotel in the Centrum...”
bla bla bla
Reviewed February 22, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.2
Richard from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Stuffy and worn”
Very stuffy room. No chance to open a window. Air con broken and whole place in need of love. Also bloody expensive
Reviewed February 20, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.4
Marlena from United Kingdom
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Good location but hotel needs overhaul”
NH Carlton is in a good position for sightseeing etc but the hotel is in need of re decoration. Our room stank of cigarettes and we asked for it to.be sprayed . Which made no difference! Bathroom was awful. Couldn't reach Bath tap due to the fixed shower screen so u either fell in tonthe bath trying to turn on taps or just got in and got soaked! Dirty mastic around the bath. Road noise was bad even though we were in the third floor, so ear plugs were needed. Staffvwere friendly. Breakfast quite good.
Reviewed February 09, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.4
Marlena from United Kingdom
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Great location but rooms tired and need redecorating”
Our bathroom was a big disappointments the silicone around the shower was mouldy looking and brown. The phone damaged, the water tap for the bath was unreachsble without getting soaked to turn on or off! The hotel is in good place for touring. You can hear the traffic, we were on the third floor .. Also the room smelt if smoking! We asked three times for it to be sprayed on our four day trip.
Reviewed February 06, 2017
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Micheal from Egypt
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
mr”
What did you think of NH Carlton Amsterdam?
Reviewed November 22, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.4
Yew from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
My stay in Amsterdam”
.
Reviewed November 08, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
mahmoud from Kuwait
Group
Standard Room With View Terrace
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016
Good”
Good
Reviewed September 21, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.2
Hau from Vietnam
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Not 4 Star sorry”
We paid 200 bucks a night and expect a 4-star hotel. What we got was never near that. The corridor smells bad. The toilet was not clean and shower curtain looks like it has .... on it. We're not picky. But for that kind of money, we could get a 5-star in Paris
Reviewed September 19, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.7
Asrar from Pakistan
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 9 nights in December 2015
Xmas & NY Break”
Only good thing about the hotel is location, highly over-rated & not at all a 4 star hotel, really need to do massive renovation, overall I would rate it 2/10 only!
Reviewed January 03, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.7
Lorraine from Australia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Unsatisfactory service and room”
Location was only thing good about hotel
1 weren't open when we arrived from 23 hr flight and staff disinterested, 3 room average not superior,
Reviewed September 24, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Jennifer from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
nil”
nil
nil
Reviewed September 24, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Kit from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
good location”
good location
Okay
Reviewed August 30, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Waleed from Kuwait
Solo traveler
Superior XL Double
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
There is no iron in the room.”
The location is very near for dam square and too much restaurants around the hotel
Reviewed August 29, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Iiinas from Philippines
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
ok”
staff
staff is very helpful, but hotel is old, rooms is not too big. its a 20 minute walk to damrak. but generally an ok hotel.
Reviewed August 23, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
paul-francois from France
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Good location. Overpriced. Friendly staff. ”
Location, friendliness. Comfortable
Good but expensive for what it offers. Room Was clean but dust on lamps and bathroom was surprising. A bit old. Could do with some renovation.
Reviewed August 03, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
3.0
Samuel from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
NH CARLTON ”
Breakfast, sleeping
The hotel has a "fusty" smell, almost like you are only a few feet away from a toilet at all times. Room smelt of smoke but staff very friendly.
Reviewed July 11, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
pawan from Nepal
Family with young children
Standard Room With View Terrace
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015
Nice breakfast nice location very Gud ”
Breakfast location room
Very comfortable enjoy
Reviewed July 08, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Joseph from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in May 2015
Amsterdam Stay”
Location Staff Convenience
The hotel was looking dated and tired. Our room was very noisy some nights and the air con did not work. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Reviewed May 14, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Harry from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Center location walking distance ”
Location, easy access near entertainment area
There are two type of furniture room, brown color and grey color. took the grey one. the wood color furniture is look dirty and more ugly. always stay here good location but nowaday got many much more choice with better room in amsterdam
Reviewed April 19, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Alan from United Kingdom
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Not bad”
The room, the staff, the location
Excellent, no real problems other than my room overlooked at back street which was quite noisy but I guess there isn't much they could do about that really, overall a really good relaxing stay
Reviewed February 17, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Anton from Netherlands
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Great stay”
Location, breakfast and staff
Reviewed December 26, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Felicity from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Perfect for a Short Break”
Location, Location, Location!
I booked this hotel for a weekend break with my boyfriend. I was a little nervous after reading a lot of damning reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were a bit dated and I think they do need to refurbish the hotel, but nothing was as bad as I'd been made to believe. It was clean, the bed was incredibly comfortable, the bathroom was a good size, the staff were polite and helpful. I'm not sure if the other reviewers were expecting a gold plated room and angelical staff complete with halo, but I have no complaints about this hotel. I don't think you could get a better location for the price. O yes and the location is fantastic.
Reviewed November 03, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.3
Sari from Finland
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Good location, that's all”
location
Location is good, otherwise just basic hotel that has a weird smell in it..
Reviewed October 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.3
Adeline from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Good location, but noisy and poorly maintained. ”
Only the location
As I was checking in, I overhead the girl at the next counter asking if there was a break-in the day before in one of the hotel rooms, and asked if it happened often. (Do note that the person behind her was the guest of the hotel who had her room broken into. This set the tone for my stay in NH Carlton. I was extremely careful throughout my stay. What really disappointed me was the reply from the front counter staff, where she brushed the question away pretending to not understand the question, and instead said, "I do not know why would anyone want to break into the hotel rooms." It is not very reassuring for guests as there was no mention of changes in security measures to prevent it from happening again. Other than the location, I would not recommend the hotel. The room looks very old, and carpet is badly stained. A complete difference from what was seen on the hotel site. Although the bed was clean, housekeeping is questionable because, why are the bins in the room not cleared daily? This is not a hotel for the light sleeper as well, the only time when there was no noise from the street below was between 5am to 7am.
Reviewed September 30, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
Melissa from Philippines
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Hotel room safe broken into”
English speaking staff, location
We stayed at no Carlton for the third time these past days. We left the room to do shopping and all the money we had with us (euros and US dollars) were secured in the hotel room safe. When we came back, all our money and jewelry were missing already. Police were called b the hotel did not even guarantee that they would be able to compensate us for our missing valuables. They just made us file a police report and wait for insurance to take care of it. Terrible terrible security, we were all traumatized by the event and left several thousand euros poorer.
Reviewed September 27, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Tao from China
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
comfortable stay”
loction
The hotel is just opposite of metro and bus station. It is very easy to get to major tourist's attractions. The bus service 24 hours. So it is very convenience. The room is clean and cozy. The housekeeping service is good. They change the bath towel everyday. The staffs are friendly and helpful. Overall it is a very nice stay.
Reviewed August 30, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Mohammed from Saudi Arabia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 7 nights in November 2013
Good”
Quit
Amazing
Reviewed August 22, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Tarik from Bosnia Herzegovina
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Flower ”
Location, bed, staff
It was nice. Staff at the main desk are very helpful. Hotel is situated in a very busy area filled with restaurants and bars where many locals like to go out. It is easily accessed by train from the central station which is very convenient only a few stops from central. Rooms look a bit different from the photos that are presented in agoda but it might be due to the renovations done and is not updated. Toilet is small but functional with good shower.
Reviewed August 12, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
navin from Thailand
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
good location”
nice location
it was ok
Reviewed August 11, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
DEKA from Indonesia
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
nice location”
location, view, atmospher
not bad at all, due the hotel location is near the city center
Reviewed August 01, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
nicholas from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Great location”
Location, location, location
Pleasant but did not allow any early check in, very strict 3pm. When asked if we could rent bikes, they said none were available but there was a dozen outside and they never got used all day.
Reviewed July 31, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.7
Terry from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Poor service for the price”
Location Clean Tidy
The phone was broken and my request to have it fixed was ignored. My 24 hour laundry service took two days to be delivered and cost 100 Euros. Every day my key card did not work requiring another trip to reception to get it reset. The reception staff kept disappearing into a back room when customers required service. There were not enough reception staff to give quick check in/out and other services. My breakfast ordered the day before was denied and I had to wait 30 minutes before complaining. Staff apologized and said I could have a free meal but found on check out it cost me 25 Euros. Overall the service at this hotel was bad. I will never stay in another NH hotel again.
Reviewed July 27, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
claudia from Indonesia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Good ”
Location
Hotel was in good location. Close to the tram and walking distance to attractions. Room condition was a bit outdated. Got dark stain on the carpet. But it was clean. We had a huge room, a sofa-bed and two balconies! Which was very good. Washroom was okay size, however, need to update the lighting since it was a bit dark when you closed the shower curtain. We didn't have the breakfast, so can't comment on that.
Reviewed June 30, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Sue from United States
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Comfortable hotel, great location”
Location, clean, lots of amenities
My husband and I had an enjoyable stay. We checked in immediately and got to enjoy the spacious room. The hotel is walking distance from major attractions and there are tons to do around the area such as shopping and dining. We didn't have any problems with the room and had quiet nights of sleep during the duration of our stay.
Reviewed June 29, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
Sergio from Netherlands
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
tiring shopping day with the wife”
centrally located attentive staff
very disappointing about the room. even after upgrade.: outdated and lots of damage. non smoking room smelled of smoke. breakfast was good on the other hand, so was the very helpfull staff
Reviewed June 28, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Xavier from France
Business traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Very central and easy access everywhere”
Central Location / Room View / Internet
Stayed 1 night on a Business trip in Europe. Perfect central location. 5mins walk to all tramways stop and right by the flower market.
Reviewed May 20, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
William from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in April 2014
Cheap and cheerful but needs renovation and repair”
Central location. Affordable price. Staff helpful.
The rooms air conditioning did not work so the room was stuffy and warm. The window could not be opened because of a mosquito problem. Myself and my partner were bitten many times by mosquitoes in the room during our stay. The shower pipe was faulty and sprayed water onto the bathroom floor. One of he main lights did not work.
Reviewed April 24, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
behnaz from United Kingdom
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
comfortable stay. staff well spoken in english ”
staff. location. affordable
Reviewed March 23, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
Xavier from France
Business traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Perfect Central Location ”
Central location - Good value - Nice city View
Very good stay. Accepted early check in on first day. Old building but nice room for the price. Best is definitively the central location, Short tram ride from central train station.
Reviewed March 22, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
3.3
John from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Boring”
There were not any.
It was adequate. Not much else to say. Dingy, dull, staff unresponsive.
Reviewed March 18, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
chen from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
nice location, spacious room”
nice location, spacious room, fast internet.
Reviewed February 24, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.7
Sharon from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
disappointed”
strategic location, close to nightlife and easy access
this is our second stay in this hotel. the first time was a year ago. however, we were abit disappointed with the staff who couldnt reserve a double bed for us and she offered us another more expensive room which we later find abit spooky because it is isolated at one corner and the room is too big. lights too dim also. so finally we had an argument to change back to the normal room without any surcharge. initially she refused but eventually agreed to waive the surcharge and to our surprise, she now managed to get us a room with twin bed. we were delighted with our stay the first time we came. i guess we will look for another option the next time we visit amsterdam
Reviewed February 18, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Alex from Switzerland
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Pleasant and convenient”
Central, convenient, clean
Very agreeable stay. Centrally located. Great breakfast. Friendly Staff.
Reviewed January 09, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.3
Kai from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Centrally located, a rather old hotel”
Centrally located, attractive rate, Near tourist spots
The hotel is rather old and the facilities and room condition is moderate. However, the advantage is that they are convenient located in the centre of the city and can easily access to many historic sites by tram and by walk. They also provide bikes for the guests.
Reviewed December 09, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
matthew from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
location location location”
location location location
the hotel is centrally located, close to all sites and all walking distance
Reviewed November 18, 2013
Did you find this review helpful? |

1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: