Book Now: NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Very good7.9
Based on 289 reviews
100% would recommend to a friend

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (289)
Booking.com Reviews (2718)

7.9

Filter by guest type:
Very good
based on 289 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Room comfort and quality 7.9
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 7.3
Very good
based on 57 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Room comfort and quality 8.2
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for money 7.3
Very good
based on 118 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Room comfort and quality 7.9
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 7.4
Very good
based on 46 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Room comfort and quality 7.7
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 6.9
Excellent
based on 18 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Room comfort and quality 7.4
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 7.8
Very good
based on 18 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Room comfort and quality 8.0
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 6.7
Very good
based on 32 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Room comfort and quality 7.9
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 7.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:

Language
  • English
  • 日本語
  • 繁體中文 (香港)
  • ภาษาไทย
  • Deutsch
  • 简体中文
  • 繁體中文 (台灣)
  • Español
  • Italiano
  • 한국어
  • Русский
  • Français
  • Svenska
  • Nederlands
  • Dansk
  • Português (PT)
  • Bahasa Indonesia
  • עברית
  • Norsk
more less

Room type
  • Superior Room with View
  • Superior Room
  • Premium Room

Sort by
Showing 272 verified guest comments
  • clear all

9.6
bong from Indonesia
Family with young children
Superior Room with View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
fantastic”
thank to agoda which recomended us before chose NH collection barbizon hotel, very close to station.
Reviewed December 29, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.2
bong from Indonesia
Family with young children
Superior Room with View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Awesome”
We are in amsterdam airport from Indonesia at 08.00 am and we go to hotel for check in. And on 09.30 am, i get 2 room from reception. I am very appreciate for earliy Check in from the friendly staff in front desk.
Reviewed December 22, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.4
Francois from France
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Short Stay ”
Nice hotel conveniently placed and quiet
Reviewed November 04, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.4
adam from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Nice hotel, good location ”
Nice clean hotel , friendly staff i paid for a room with view when checked when got to room wasn't really a view, I didn't complain as the room was nice and a decent size but I mentioned it as we checked out and they refunded me the extra fee for the view, close to centre very good location I would return again
Reviewed October 29, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
2.0
sopangna from Cambodia
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Room is very old and dirty. Staffs are rude ”
Rooms are old and very smelly. Funitures are very very old. Not 5 stars. 2 or 3 stars hotel
Reviewed September 21, 2016
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you? |
9.6
Tanpicha from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Great location!!!!”
If u r looking for a hotel where is close to the Amsterdam centraal. This is your best choice.
Reviewed September 21, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.8
Maxwell from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Room with View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Noisy room”
My room was on the first floor overlooking the main road. There was a lot of noise from outside. The window was not double-glazed.
Reviewed August 12, 2016
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you? |
9.6
Brian from Australia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Great Hotel, Great Chain”
Very nice hotel with great facilities. NH run some of the best hotels I've stayed at in Europe.
Reviewed July 24, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.2
Liu from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Superior Room with View
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Good”
Yes location is excellent, very easy to central station, some rooms are a bit noisy
Reviewed June 30, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.2
Md. from Bangladesh
Business traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
No television and not supportive staff”
I checked in on May 20, 2016 at 1:00 pm. After my check-in, I seen that my TV in the room is not working. Then I phoned to receiption, first time they replied to try myself. After 15 minutes I requested over phone in the receiption that to send somebody for operating tv. Then a lady came to my room and spent 10 minutes for trying to operate tv and failed. And told me that as today is Subday nobody is here to repair it. I ashtonished and told her that this is the sample of five star hotel!! She committed to repair by Monday but nobody came before by leaving the hotel. My room no. was 351. I am really disappointed upon the staff. However, the location of the hotel fantastic and clean hotel. And very good for family travelers also.
Reviewed May 25, 2016
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you? |
10.0
Maria from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Location, service, rooms”
Location was perfect, the tourist buses park right in front of the hotel so that was very convenient for us. The hotel people helped us to bring our luggage to the train station because we had our 4 yr old with us and it would be difficult to walk to the station with her and our luggage. The room was really nice and clean and spacious.
Reviewed May 17, 2016
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.7
CHRISNANDAR from Indonesia
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Some room is not too clean”
strategic location, prestisious
good
Reviewed January 02, 2016
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you? |
8.3
Ngoc from Vietnam
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Old hotel ”
Nice lobby - good location - big room
The room is very old, specially the doormat. I don't know it's old or that is the hotel's style. But the location is very convenient. I will still stay there again ever I don't think that is a five stars hotel ^^
Reviewed December 24, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Lindsay from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Average hotel”
location, service, pillow
Nothing too special here, room was average, a little expensive for the outdated building
Reviewed November 02, 2015
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you? |
7.0
Chris from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Good Location”
Location, Breakfast, room size
I do not think you can call yourself a 5 star hotel when the restaurant is closed for dinner. Waited to be served at the Bar for 20 minutes but nobody came. Had no choice but to leave the hotel to find something to eat. Room was cold.
Reviewed October 28, 2015
2 travelers found this review helpful. Did you? |
8.3
ESTHER from Spain
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Excellent location near central station ”
location, cleanliness, value for money
Reviewed October 14, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Hedio from Brazil
Solo traveler
Superior Room with View
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
NH Ams Barbizon Palace”
Breakfast, location, staff's attitude.
Stay was good, but the room is not convenient, since it has stairs inside and are very tight to go upstairs. Toilet with the bathtub also not very smart, since it dies not have a box/glass to be closed, when having shower, toilet gets all wet. Also, a couple can not have shower together.
Reviewed October 03, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
THE from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Good location”
Good location, first room has smell, ok after changed room
Reviewed September 10, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
mahi from Singapore
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Nice room”
Nice view place and room
Love it so easy access
Reviewed September 05, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
Emily from Switzerland
Group
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Unforgetable”
Design, cleanliness, breakfast.......
Very satisfied.
Reviewed September 02, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Samuel from Ghana
Family with young children
Stayed 5 nights in August 2015
Great location ”
Location, friendliness of staff, breakfast.
Reviewed August 21, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Harry from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
Overrated Hotel that I would consider 2b 3.5 star”
Staff friendliness, location & breakfast
I was disappointed with the overall "tired" look of the Hotel. I found the staff most obliging but the location, although central, was very noisy. ... They even supply ear plugs next to the bed so I assume others have endured the same discomfort. There were plenty of options for food but generally speaking were catering more for the price conscious traveller than the quality on offer. I have been to Amsterdam before but never in high summer & found it very dirty & catering to the party goers.
Reviewed July 26, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Chris from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Great Location”
Room size, Helpful concierge, breakfast
Great location in the centre of Amsterdam close to all the tourist sights and the railway station. Room was a good size, although appeared a little dark when you draw the curtains. Free wifi - good. But 5 star? limited toiletries, no shuttle service to airport, restaurant closed at dinner time? 4 maybe 4.5 at best
Reviewed July 20, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
5.7
June from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
hotel needs modernizing”
Lication
Room was not properly cleans. Pillows too small for covers. Hair dryers wall cover fell off. Hair dryer is antique.
Reviewed June 28, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
michael from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
great location, great staff, careful of steps”
great location, professional staff, well appointed room
Great location, professional staff. Two steps just inside door of hotel room, combined with dim room lights, we almost fell down into our room. Great room and ensuite. Well appointed.
Reviewed May 28, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Wildan from Indonesia
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Old hotel”
free wifi, close to centraal
Reviewed May 05, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.3
Frederik from Switzerland
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Excellent location and value for price ”
Location,confort,services
We were 2 couples and it was perfect to be located near the train station and at walking distance from every point of interest.
Reviewed May 01, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Karin from Mexico
Group
Superior Room with View
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Great”
Staff, Breakfast, Piano for anyone who would like to play
Great
Reviewed March 18, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.7
Joanne from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Great place to stay”
Location, staff, breakfast
Excellent hotel, staff were fantastic. We were a little disappointed with the room which needed a bit of an upgrade but was fine: FYI don't ask for a 'view' there aren't any. Go for a quiet one at the back. Hotel entrance is beautiful and the location is great. Right by the station and red light district, you can walk to most places from the hotel.
Reviewed February 26, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
muhammad from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
a”
aaa
Hjj
Reviewed February 12, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Christopher from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Amsterdam Saty At the Barbizon Palace”
Location, Staff and Free Wi Fi
Reviewed February 10, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
So from Hong Kong
Group
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014
good value”
location, clean, nice staff
Reviewed February 09, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.7
Michelle from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Great location, comfortable stay”
Located right across the main train and bus station (Amsterdam Centraal), Comfortable and luxurious room, and good hospitality
It was a pleasant and comfortable stay, will stay there again if I visit Amsterdam again. Only wish they had more English television channels.
Reviewed January 06, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.0
Heng from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Strategically located”
Location. Cleanliness. Comfort.
Reviewed January 02, 2015
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Rini from Indonesia
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Nice Hotel, Good location”
Very close with train station
Reviewed December 16, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
LUCAS from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Nice Hotel”
Great location
Stay for 1 night. Nice hotel and great location. Nearby Amsterdam central.
Reviewed October 20, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
3.3
Kerry from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Unprofessional Staff, Room was Dirty and Old”
The only thing good about this hotel is the location
Prior to arriving, we wrote to the hotel asking to reserve a parking space as we were driving to Amsterdam. Upon arriving, I went to the concierge to check on where to park our car while my husband waited in the car (there was no place to stop by the road btw). The concierge told us to check with his other colleague - which in the end just shook his head and walked away. In the end, we parked our car at a valid space by the road side further from the hotel (which resulted in our car windows being broken into the next day) - we did not leave any valuebles in the car. Anyway, while checking in the staff asked for my credit card for authorization purposes. I mentioned to him about the carpark not being available even though we requested earlier and he just shook his head! I guess that's the standard answer from the hotel staff here. We also asked if he could help with changing some small notes and he said no even without checking if they have any. Once we got into our room - we were in for a surprise! It was old, dirty and dark - looks more like a storeroom. The ceiling was starting to fall apart with paint chipping off and cracks everywhere. Defintely not worth the price we were paying for. It was also noisy as we were located on the 2nd floor. Our room was just right next to the busy street (They did provide earplugs) I received a message from the credit card bank notifying me of an authorization charge of 501 Euros! So i went again to the staff, this time requesting to speak to someone else and she informed me that it was a mistake by her colleague. Usually they would only authorize 101 Euros. I had them cancel out the previous transaction. All in, I would never stay in this hotel again. And if it's location that you're looking for, there are many other better hotels in the vicinity.
Reviewed October 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
catherine from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Fantastic location”
Location, size of rooms, friendly staff
Awesome stay, staff were lovely and helpful and went out of their way to help. Rooms were clean and quite spacious, location of the hotel is perfect, walking distance to the heart of everything. Tour buses etc leave from the front of Centraal station which is literally opposite the hotel. Can highly recommend staying here!
Reviewed September 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
carl from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
gooood”
gooood
gooood
Reviewed August 17, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
10.0
carl from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
goood”
gooodd
Goood
Reviewed August 17, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
7.3
Hsu from Taiwan
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
NH Barbizon Palace”
near train station
nice
Reviewed July 19, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.0
Anna from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Amsterdam is beautiful! Would visit again any day!”
Best thing was the infused water in the lobby!
Horrible noisy, dirty, rude staff, far from 5 star
Reviewed July 18, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.7
Cheryl from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Spacious and convenient”
Size of room, Internet access, central location
Staff were extremely polite and helpful. The room was very spacious and comfortable. I highly recommend staying here as it is close to the train station and tourist attractions. This is definitely value for money. There is also a focus on catering to the needs of solo female travellers with special pamper packs.
Reviewed July 08, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
4.7
tero from Finland
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
nice easy fine place whit friends”
city, close everything, easy to go
easy
Reviewed June 23, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
Bjorn from Norway
Group
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
good location but to expensive”
Close to nightlife scene , ok room
i liked the location, but rooms way to expensive, nothing amazing
Reviewed June 22, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.0
Muhamad from Indonesia
Group
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014
only 5 minutes walk from amsterdamcentral station ”
big room, nice lobby and helpfull staff
we stay for 4 night and during our travel around Europe we don't want to bring 1 of our luggage. so we decide to leave 1 of our luggage in this hotel. the manager on duty so very helpful, she said we can leave our luggage. Thank you NH Barbizon Hotel
Reviewed May 12, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.0
Rudy from Indonesia
Group
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
decent hotel close to central station”
location, value of money, room size
old hotel, good location-close to central station, good size room.
Reviewed April 23, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
9.0
Francisca from Denmark
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Excellent”
Lovely staff, great location, smokers room :-)
As a good hotel should be for city vacations. Everything works smoothly and the staff is helpful, in order for you to relax and focus on what you want to see and where you want to go.
Reviewed April 17, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
6.3
MohdZulIzzi from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in March 2014
Affordable and Good Service”
Affordable, Strategic, Good Service
just OK. Premium internet is separately charged and hence basic internet provided to travellers.
Reviewed April 14, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |
8.3
Ziad from Lebanon
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
I would surely come back”
Great location, welcoming staff, comfortable room
Reviewed March 14, 2014
Did you find this review helpful? |

1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: