Book Now: North Zen Hotel

Very good
From 867 reviewsSee what guests said
7.5
86% would recommend to a friend

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (867)
7.5
Very good
From 867 reviews
Filter by guest type:
Cleanliness8.0
Facilities6.7
Location7.6
Room comfort and quality7.7
Service7.7
Value for money8.2
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
한국어
简体中文
more
Room type
Standard Single
Deluxe Twin
Standard Queen
Superior Twin
more
Sort guest comments by:
Showing 759 verified guest comments
4.4
Marillo from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Acceptable
Very poor location, no restaurant with the vicinity.
Reviewed December 24, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.6
Melanie from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Needs to improve their rooms
It's my first time to stay in this hotel. The lobby & hallways looks impressive, nice & seems new, but inside the hotel room feels like staying in an old hotel with that slihtly itchy linens. They might have a problem with their room maintenance & how they wash their linens. Plus the air conditioner doesn't seems to work well. My stay was not comfortable at all. But I hope they can improve those areas of concerns. God bless! :)
Reviewed December 06, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.6
Carmelita from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Good location
The hotel has a good location because it is near to several shopping malls in Davao City. It has a neighboring 24-hour cafe so that getting food anytime is not a problem. It is also near to other fast food places. However, the bathroom is not cleaned everyday. The hotel staff are nice and friendly.
Reviewed December 06, 2017
2 travelers found this review helpful. Did you?|
6.8
Vernon from Philippines
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Staycation
The tv has limited channels. And even most channels are not functioning well. But the staff are nice and accomodatinng. Thanks
Reviewed November 13, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.8
John from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
great location fair price
the cheapest and smallest rooms are really small, go for something a bit bigger or you may feel very cramped
Reviewed November 06, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Amparo from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 6 nights in October 2017
LOVE IT❤👍😊✈🐝
'spent 6 nights here. Love the place and the facilities. The staff are friendly, smiling and accommodating. Clean, I just love it I can recommend it to my friends who love also travelling.. Thank you to all the staff. Job well done. Hope the management could sustain such a comfortable place at a reasonable price.
Reviewed November 05, 2017
3 travelers found this review helpful. Did you?|
6.8
John from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
good value for the money, smart location
when you need just a clean, safe and comfortable place to sleep this one fits the bill. it is not meant to impress. but it is modern, pleasing and scores weekly on all accounts.
Reviewed October 31, 2017
2 travelers found this review helpful. Did you?|
8.0
Edmond from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Affordable for a solo traveler
Suggest to have towel readily available in the room. All others are very okay.
Reviewed October 29, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
3.6
grecel from Philippines
Family with young children
ZEN Suite
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Acceptable
the aircon is broken and dusty.. the place is gloomy and spooky. small bed. unfriendly staff. worst place to stay... its cheap yah thats it. i will never book this hotel again ever.
Reviewed October 20, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Michelle from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Pocket Friendly Neat Hotel
I love how the room doesn't have a lot of stuff in it. I stayed in a single-bed room and it was spacious enough even for two people. It was quiet and neat. I recommend for old people to request beforehand a room that's located on the lower floor since there is no elevator in this hotel. I would definitely come back!
Reviewed September 09, 2017
3 travelers found this review helpful. Did you?|
7.6
Kenneth from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Cheap, Clean, Creative
North Zen is cheaper compared to its counterparts in the city. Their partner resto also offers a cheap but delectable meals. The hotel is clean and well maintained by the management. Its staff is accommodating and responds immediately when needed. The fun facts about exercise posted on the walls of the hotel are creative and encouraging for me.
Reviewed September 04, 2017
2 travelers found this review helpful. Did you?|
2.0
Michelle from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
stay away in this place
stay away in this place, i stayed at 3rd floor #320 no elevator, you have to walk to get in your room, bathroom is filthy,small, shower head ew dirty,rusty everywhere, bed is too small,walls are dirty, i woke up with lizard on my pillow ew, ac to loud, the good thing about is i got a free breakfast its located next door so me and my cousin went not too much option and while we eating we saw a mouse running around omg we did not finish our breakfast i booked right away other hotel.lucky us there's a room since all hotel are full due to a kadayawan festival, i ask front desk see if they can help me cancel my room since i paid it already they told me i have to call agoda dot com since i booked with them, so i dont have a choice but just leave we cant stand with all those lil peste.
Reviewed August 31, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Rey from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
hotel is excellent
My experience in this hotel is great where the staffs are polite and professional, the service is excellent with wifi, room is fine, toilet and bath is clean, ambiance is good. location is near to the church and city. there are parking spaces for your vehicle.
Reviewed August 29, 2017
3 travelers found this review helpful. Did you?|
5.2
Khairene from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Great price but hard time to look for a cab.
Good price but the it's hard to grab a cab. Waiting time is 30-45 minutes for a cab, even if you use the grab app for a cab there's no taxi on the loctaion.
Reviewed August 26, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
Romeo from Philippines
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 4 nights in August 2017
Very good
The staffs are friendly and accomodating
Reviewed August 23, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
6.4
Humber from Philippines
Business traveler
ZEN Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Good
Just within the city proper. Very accessible.
Reviewed August 20, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
8.4
Gerald from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Excellent
Meals are affordable and good
Reviewed August 08, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
9.6
JEONG-WON from South Korea
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Good value
It is close to Gaisano mall. Also,very clean and easy access to town centre. Nearby,there are convenience store.and MCdo.
Reviewed July 07, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
4.4
Mark from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Acceptable
The bathroom had used tissue in a corner behind the door. Aircon not well placed. Breakfast portion is very small.
Reviewed July 06, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Maria from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
It was a nice stay.
I would love to book here again.
Reviewed June 14, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Ryan from Philippines
Family with young children
Family Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
one of our go to accomodations!
basic accomodation at its best.
Reviewed June 05, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
6.0
Stephanie from Philippines
Solo traveler
ZEN Suite
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Ok location, bad wifi signal and cellphone reception
Staff are nice and helpful but for the 3 nights I've stayed in this place not once did they sweep the floor of my room. Wifi signal does not reach inside their rooms. Cellphone reception inside the room is not good either.
Reviewed June 01, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
Anna from Japan
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Very good
The restaurant where we eat our breakfast, their facilities are old and not so clean. The smell of the place is not good. I think they need update or change some stuff specially their chairs...
Reviewed May 19, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.2
Jessery from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Hard to locate. Room needs thorough cleaning
Pictures can be really deceiving on this case. No elevators and wifi is only reachable at the common area. There's a different smell when you get in the room. Shower curtain smells like it hasn't been replaced for 2 months.
Reviewed April 27, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Khristopher from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Nice location!
Location is good, very near the city center. The staff are helpful and friendly.. We were given a larger room than what we originally booked because initially we were given a room fronting the street and it was kinda noisy so we requested for change of room and so that's how it happened. Overall, a very good stay.
Reviewed April 27, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Mark from Philippines
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Very Near to everything
The hotel is very accessible to malls and schools and to nearby establishments
Reviewed April 27, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Yolwin from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Okay for budget!
It's near Gaisano mall and they also have an affordable restaurant.
Reviewed April 12, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Adrian from Philippines
Family with young children
Standard Queen
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Great Location
in the heart of the city, very near to tourist spots. Comfy and clean enough. Recommended for budget travelers.
Reviewed April 11, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
Andrie from Indonesia
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
decent hotel for budget travel
location near port if u are going for island hopping. one or two cafe around. wifi strong at lobby but not in room. shower was ok
Reviewed March 18, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Ariane from Philippines
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
sulit
I would like to mention the cafe super sarap ng food at super mura , madami ang serving at they deliver sa room kahit wala elevator. Sana lang maimprove ung signal ng tv cable malabo kasi, malinaw lang pag tulog na ang lahat hehe. Yun lang naman ang AFI and nga pala sana may bidet din sa cr
Reviewed March 12, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Bench from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Good
Slow wifi connection. We weren't able to use wifi during our entire 3-day stay. Our room was facing the sunlight so it's better if they use thick and heavy curtains to dim the room. Apart from these, everything went fine. Receptionists were very helpful in giving us directions around the city and the room was clean.
Reviewed March 07, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Donald from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Exceptional
I booked this hotel for my father because he needed to be in Davao City the night before his flight. He said the hotel is conveniently located at downtown area and have an easy access for taxi. He likes the hotel and would choose the same hotel when he will come back to Davao.
Reviewed March 02, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
leah from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Very cheap
Just cheap hotel
Reviewed February 19, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
David from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Lovely little place. No frills, but friendly welcome and super value
As above
Reviewed February 18, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
Cindy from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Good place, slow wifi
North Zen has most of the basic necessities you need, except wifi inside the room. Location is good, a cab ride away from main malls and Davao chinatown.
Reviewed February 11, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
2.8
Rollen from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Na
Na
Reviewed February 09, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.8
Terry from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
good position for our business.
good location was the reason for picking North Zen.
Reviewed February 02, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.8
Xavier from Philippines
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017
Relatively okay stay
The staff are friendly. Room was okay.
Reviewed January 26, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Michelle from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Recommended
Clean, comfy and cheap
Reviewed January 26, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Terry from Australia
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Very happy all round
I booked this hotel for my Pastor's wife to attend a seminar, she was very happy with the way she was looked after and the hotel.
Reviewed November 20, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
3.6
Fe from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
"Inn Hotel"
its more of a inn rather than a hotel
Reviewed November 15, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
2.8
ALLAN from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Will not definitely not coming back
I am very disappointed with this hotel. The room is not that clean. There are still dust on the table. The bed sheets are not tidy. The AC is not capable of cooling the room. The comfort/shower room doesnt have complimentary toiletries. The wall of the shower room is dirty. I asked the receptionist to change our room but still not really comfortable with the new room. Cannot recommend this to others.
Reviewed November 12, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Sittie from Philippines
Group
Family Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Acceptable facilities for a no frills hotel. I like the minimalist and green approach
Acceptable facilities for a no frills hotel. I like the minimalist and green approach. Ideal for those who just needs to book for a place where they can rest or sleep. AC was good, low cool is still cold.
Reviewed November 06, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.4
Maria from Philippines
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Basic place
The place is basic, worth what you paid for, nothing fancy. Good for a one night stay, not for a staycation; or maybe more than one night if you plan to be out the whole day for tours and just stay at night to sleep. There were ants in the room and the cabinet was dusty. They don't provide soaps/shampoos, just towels.Towels and blankets don't smell good. Lavatory and bathroom sinks don't drain fast. Wifi is almost none. Pro: staff are friendly. For me, good customer service almost always compensates negative things I see.
Reviewed October 30, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
RICHARD from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Budget Hotel
Budget Hotel.. value for money
Reviewed October 29, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
Terry from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
pleasant stay
only thing was wifi did not work in the room had to go to common area. The security guard was very helpful and looked after us fantastic.
Reviewed October 27, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.8
Jennifer from Philippines
Business traveler
Family Suite
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Great value hotel
Nice place, comfy enough.
Reviewed October 25, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.6
clyde from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
the place was great... will surely come back!!!
i like the place for the price, its all worth it.. the only concern i got was the comfort room, a little space to move from the door... that is something that probably needs imrpovement.... but overall it was great to stay here...
Reviewed October 24, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Lian from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
superb
it's clean and very comfortable. staff are accommodating too.
Reviewed October 18, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
edgar from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Single
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Value for money
Near the airport and center davao
Reviewed October 18, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|