Book Now: North Zen Hotel

Very good
From 1178 reviewsSee what guests said
7.6
/
10
Recommended by 84% of guests

Reviews of North Zen Hotel Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (1178)Booking.com Reviews (41)
7.6
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.9
Facilities6.9
Location7.7
Room comfort and quality7.7
Service7.8
Value for money8.2
Rating
9+ Exceptional (118)
8-9 Excellent (187)
7-8 Very Good (249)
6-7 Good (125)
<6 Below Expectation (163)
Time of the year
Mar - May (161)
Jun - Aug (243)
Sep - Nov (240)
Dec - Feb (198)
All guests (1178)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 842 verified guest comments
8.4
Excellent
Adrian from Ireland
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018

Excellent Choice”

Great place to stay in Davao. Close to downtown and GMall. Great price and the room was very nice. Wi-Fi wasn't great though which let the hotel down.

Reviewed January 30, 2019
6.8
Good
Arvin from Philippines
Family with teens
Family Suite
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Ok for a quick stop in Davao”

Ok for a quick stop in Davao

Reviewed January 23, 2019
8.4
Excellent
John from Philippines
Solo traveler
Matrimonial
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Comfy!”

Staff is friendly and accommodating. Rooms are clean.

Reviewed January 22, 2019
5.2
Ryann from Philippines
Family with young children
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Above average”

Ordinary

Reviewed January 14, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Mary from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Must have room service foods”

Staffs are really friendly and helpful

Reviewed January 04, 2019
6.4
Good
Abigail from Philippines
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Accesible but dirty”

Good location but needs to improve cleanliness specially the CR. Aircon not working good as well

Reviewed December 03, 2018
6.8
Good
Archie from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

no sleeper can use in room”

Its better have a sleeper that can use in room..

Reviewed November 29, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Carmelita from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Good value for money”

The hotel is relatively cheaper than others. Though I was not really able to get around except to take a taxi to and from my conference venue, it seemed to be in a good location based on the map, to nearby malls. It was easy and quite fast to have the guard flag a taxi.

Reviewed November 14, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
JOY from Philippines
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 4 nights in October 2018

will be back here...”

This hotel is small but spacious. I like the area where you can have a sip of coffee or to have a small chat with friends. Near to a mall (GMall), fast food chains and the like...

Reviewed November 05, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Larve from Philippines
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

Best Value”

Excellent hotel with excellent location located at the city center,extremely clean & comfortable . Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the friendly reception staff. She makes our trip more interesting with her tips about the city ,supermarket ,shops,restaurants bars are within walking distance. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody! It's a true sample of excellent hospitality. Thank you again North Zen for going just that little step extra for the guests!!!

Reviewed October 23, 2018
4.8
Ana from Philippines
Group
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

T r a g e d y”

We booked two deluxe twin room. I wrote on special requests that we will be arriving late and I explicitly stated to have two single beds in each room. Upon arrival, around 9PM, we checked-in and they said that the staff who reserved our room made a mistake. So instead of two twin deluxe rooms we were offered one twin deluxe room and another room with one bed. Hello! We chose a room with two single beds for a reason. Imagine our agony from long travel and we just wanted to take same rest and to our surprise we have to deal with this incident. They offered to help us get refund from agoda and to help us find another hotel! What?! at this hour?! We decided to just go out and eat some dinner while they settle this problem. Clearly, the staff made a mistake and the guests have to suffer because of what? You obviously gave our room to someone else. So tired and we are not willing to checked-in on another hotel at our expense so we just accepted what is available. Pissed and total dismay

Reviewed October 07, 2018
8.4
Excellent
MARIE from Philippines
Group
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2018

Ok for a short stay”

They have helpful staff and a restaurant at the ground floor which offers affordable meals. Price of the room is ok for a short stay, you'll be out all day anyway.

Reviewed September 29, 2018
4.4
Leong from Malaysia
Business traveler
ZEN Suite
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Budget motel”

No pro.. Cons: 1) aircond noisy 2) basic room. 3) bad location 4) staff went in to my room when I'm not in the room and without informing me.

Reviewed September 28, 2018
2.4
Nestor from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

The room assigned to agoda was stinky. Ill prepared. Smelled like mold. ”

This was the only hotel room that made me wanna check out the moment i entered the room

Reviewed September 23, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Cindy from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Will definitely come back”

After a very disappointing stay in another Davao hotel, North Zen is a good "redemption". Room on Agoda photo is same with actual room, all staff were accommodating and the rooms are clean. Wi-fi is also available.

Reviewed August 30, 2018
8.4
Excellent
EDUARDO from Philippines
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018

It was very enjoyable with friendly staff from security guard to desk personnel. ”

Except for the location, it's a home away from home. Resto, however, needs improvement insofar as the variety of food it serves.

Reviewed August 23, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Keith from Philippines
Family with young children
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Exceptional”

Room is clean, hotel staff were very accommodating and location is accessible to Malls.

Reviewed August 23, 2018
3.6
Herman from Philippines
Solo traveler
ZEN Suite
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

Superior room is located on the main floor close to the garbage area”

Room smells

Reviewed August 22, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Alberto from Philippines
Family with teens
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

good location, above average facilities and value for money.”

the staff are great, no problem at all during check in and out. it would have been better if they have a restaurant or cafe inside the hotel. the room should have a small study table and chair.

Reviewed August 21, 2018
6.4
Good
Brent from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 4 nights in August 2018

Small rooms. Small beds that were the worst most uncomfortable I have ever slept in. Not near any”

Staff were very helpful and they had a convenient laundry service. Transportation was easy but it was out of the way.

Reviewed August 12, 2018
8.0
Excellent
charisma from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Very good”

My friend reserved her room for only Php995. She paid it when we arrived at the hotel.

Reviewed August 11, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Paul from United States
Business traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Very accommodating”

Staff was exceptionally nice and helpful with checking in and informational on local points of interest. The staff made sure that everything was perfect during my stay. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Will definitely steady there again when I return.

Reviewed August 09, 2018
6.8
Good
Prima from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 5 nights in July 2018

Good location, helpful staff”

From the guard at the entrance to the receptionists to the housekeeping staff, all were quick to help. Location is good. A convenient store and eating places are within walking distance. A mall and coffee shops are also close by.

Reviewed August 04, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
JUSTINE from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2017

My Home ”

The hotel is within my comfort zone, just like home.

Reviewed July 27, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Mylene from Philippines
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

Exceptional”

no bidet

Reviewed July 22, 2018
6.8
Good
Patrick from Philippines
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

I was expecting better for the price”

I was expecting better for the price. It was the shorter bed I had in 8 months, there was only one plug in the room, a very small windows that doesn't close properly, hence hearing a bit the traffic, small room, light straight in the face, finally quite basic room but clean and good mattress (but short). The personnel was helpful though.

Reviewed July 11, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Sharyn from Philippines
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

Very nice and the staffs are very accommodating. ”

The hotel is great.. But the only problem that we encountered here was the air con. I think they need to check or repair it. I slept the whole night sweating.. But all in all it's very nice and clean.. Thank you!

Reviewed July 11, 2018
6.8
Good
Tim from Canada
Solo traveler
ZEN Suite
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018

Nice little hotel”

Cleaner than most, not particularly cheap, but very helpful staff in a city with low transport costs.

Reviewed July 11, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Eduardo from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

Good clean no-fuss hotel”

For less than $20 a night, you get your own room with good amenities: hot shower with good pressure, toilet, towels, soap, air-conditioning, comfortable bed. Pity about the pillow as it did nothing (they certainly need to improve this air-pillow and add another one while they're on it). There is no elevator but I didn't mind the walk at it's sturdy stairs with ambience employing industrial design. It was a bit hot on the lounge and common space but you can get good wi-fi here (tested around 2-3Mbps). And it's too bad that the signal could not reach the room where even the wifi extender was unusable. The 4G mobile signal also suffers. Apart from that, this is good budget hotel that will offer convenience (close to Gmall and other shops) and comfort. I will definitely stay again!

Reviewed July 03, 2018
6.0
Johnrey from Philippines
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY”

Just an average hotel. What makes it stand out is the free breakfast included.

Reviewed June 29, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Glenn from Philippines
Family with young children
ZEN Suite
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Good”

it was my first time to book online and i am a bit of hesitant a bit fearful of what could be the outcome. but overall experience was good. the hotel staff is accommodating, it was clean and it has a nice ambiance.

Reviewed June 24, 2018
8.0
Excellent
John
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 4 nights in June 2018

Very good”

Nice place for couples or solo traveler. Staff was great from desk to housekeeping.

Reviewed June 19, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Stephen from Thailand
Couple
Matrimonial
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Very clean and welcoming”

Hotel rooms are spacious, clean and very welcoming staff. There is a quiet workspace outside the rooms to work. Will stay here only, next time I go to Davao

Reviewed June 12, 2018
6.4
Good
aprilaine from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Facility is ok and booked through agoda very cheap but the cleanliness of the room is very poor”

Facility is ok and booked through agoda very cheap but the cleanliness of the room is very poor, my nose get itchy after I woke up

Reviewed June 10, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Jupiter from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Great location”

The room I was in was nice. It was just enough for me. AC was working really well, Cable TV, the bed was nice, hotel staff very accommodating. The location is still walking distance to the nearest mall and other basic facilities. There is a lot of construction of public infrastructure in the area but doesnt really bother you. They also have wifi but in the room I stayed it was not connecting well.

Reviewed June 05, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Pearl from Philippines
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Good value for money”

The place is new and clean. Free breakfast is great. Good place to start your samal island hopping tour.

Reviewed May 28, 2018
6.4
Good
SHARON from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

Good”

just fine. its clean, but the staff didnt let me in when i wrote in my booking the time of my arrival.

Reviewed May 23, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Arvin from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Good Budget Hotel but feels a bit outdated”

Its a bit outdated but for a budget hotel, still good for me :)

Reviewed May 03, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Joseph from Philippines
Solo traveler
Family Suite
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018

Alright ”

good for passing the night and watching stray dogs make out on the streets

Reviewed May 02, 2018
7.6
Very good
Joseph from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

Nothing special but close to the heart of the city”

Good value for the business conscious traveller. It's like SOGO

Reviewed May 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
David from United States
Couple
Standard Queen
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018

Great hotel in Davao city ”

The staff was what stood out for me....every single staff member was always pleasant and helpful, any hour og the day or night. Everyone strived to please. Their restaurant was closed for renovation so they ordered out a breakfast for every guest to meet their continental breakfast promise. Great people and i would definitely choose North Zen again!

Reviewed April 30, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Jerikka from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

Great place”

Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Room is not that big but enough to for a night stay. Food, kinda disappointed since it took too long to serve and serving was small. If you want to eat somewhere, there are restaurants, cafes near the area, you can take a tricycle or walk around. Signal on our room was weak, so if you want to have a good signal on your mobile and internet, ask for a room near the road (i think it will be better, haven't tried staying near). Location to other places like malls may be far from the hotel. But still worth it.

Reviewed April 24, 2018
2.4
Cornelio from Philippines
Business traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Poor services”

Fake ang rating na 7.6

Reviewed April 18, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Alberto from Philippines
Family with teens
Standard Queen
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Nice hotel with above average customer service”

I would like to recommend this hotel to business travellers as it is in central location of the city's business hub. It is clean, relatively new, some part of this hotel are not yet finished but comfortably livable (despite of the small size of each room). Breakfast is delicious but a small table is needed as it was served inside our room. Overall, I was satisfied with the service of the staff. Recommended to my friends and relatives.

Reviewed April 18, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Mark from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Queen
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Best Value”

Booked Rm 105 (Deluxe Queen) overnight. Pros: - Room smelled clean and looked tidy and well maintained. - Shower area is spacious. - Newly laundered linens and crisp towels - Located near food strips, a convenience store, and McDonalds (24hrs) - Staff and guards are really friendly. Great customer service. Can do better: - Weak wifi in room. Cellular data is spotty to unusable. However, WiFi in lobby is blazingly fast. - Not too many active channels in Cable TV. (But I didnt go here for TV) - Clattering GI sheets (yero/sin) when raining. (Not annoying but noticeable) - Power outlet behind bed headboard (who puts one there)

Reviewed April 18, 2018
8.0
Excellent
JUDITH from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Highly recommended”

Cleanliness

Reviewed April 17, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jervine from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

Davao Solo Travel”

All in all I felt safe during my stay. There were friendly staff who you can contact for any inquiries such as where to buy foods for dinner, etc. They even helped me to buy or contact fast food chains for the delivery of my dinner. This is a great place to stay. Must try for travelers!

Reviewed April 13, 2018
6.4
Good
Joan from Philippines
Group
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Clean but no toiletries”

The place is clean and quiet but the toilet is so small and no toiletries so you have to bring your own soap, etc. blankets are small and thin. A/c is noisy. There is a big box of charcoal in cabinet, no fridge or complimentary water.

Reviewed April 08, 2018
6.8
Good
Arthur from Canada
Family with teens
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

Arthur ,Canada”

Value for money and location good . Cleanliness and facilities needs improvement. Staff and security personnel are hospitable and pleasant.

Reviewed March 29, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Agripino from Belgium
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017

Staff are great! Location is perfect.”

Staff are great, friendly and accommodating. They will help you with your needs. Location is also perfect. Near to establishments within the city.

Reviewed March 28, 2018