Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 39 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 7.2
Sort by

noah from Israel
Business travelers
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
started with a stinky room and got a bit better
close to center, close to transportation, easy to get to from airport
For the price I paid MODA I could have chosen several other similar hotels. i chose it because there was a large gap between 'market price' and the price i was offered (making it sound like a great deal) and for the few photos on the site. well, the location is ok. it's off the main road of downtown, a bit like a side alley but ok. But as soon as i entered i got a bit suspicious. the reception area is small, dark and gloomy and the lady wasn't very kind. They take pride in the hotel being a historic building, but this apparently comes with price. it got worse when i reached my room (2nd floor) - which was awfully smelly. it was either on top of some restaurants or very badly cleaned. i asked for a change, which i got, although not very kindly. the next room (3rd floor) was indeed better, yet still dark and not very cheerful. it was though clean and the bathroom was good. the next morning i was disappointed to get no room service even for a cup of coffee(no breakfast included) but i did realize there was a coffee machine stowed away. this was my least enjoyable night in a 10-day business trip, it did the job but made me very happy to leave.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Rondy from Canada
Business travelers
Deluxe King Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
Could have been better
comfortable bed, good channel access, location
This was obviously a building from mid 20th century which now has to come up to the 21st century hotel expectations. The internet was poor and it kicked off frequently though not during a session, just if you took a break. There are sadly limited electrical outlets with the majority used for lighting. You need to decide if you want to see or charge your phone. The bathroom was clean and updated except the tub. The shower could have been stronger if a little plummers tape was used. The TV needs the light switch to be on to work. Same with the bathroom outlet. The light needs to be on for the outlet to work. There are long distance phonecalls for free which I didn't need. The restaurant/bars looked ok but I didn't eat there. I did have a "pint" that was small and expensive at the sports bar.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hemant from India
Business travelers
Deluxe King Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Impressed with the hotel and will stay again
Comfortable Room, Easy Check in and Check Out
With exception to slow internet, everything else was good. The Hotel is value for money.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Hemant from India
Business travelers
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Comfortable and close to shopping and eating place
Location, Room was comfortable, Close to shopping areas.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Atta from United States
Couples
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
quality price, comfort and location
location quality price
Stay was great. Loved the location and look of the hotel. Will stay there again.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Andrew from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
its ok, nothing special
location of the hotel is outstanding, except for the traffic noise
the hotel is ok, the rooms are dated and the reception has been looked after more than other areas of the hotel. the age of the hotel is a little over rated, but i am European, so old in Canada is modern where i live.. dont be sucked in by the age beauty, the rest of Vancouver for out strips paying to see an average looking 100 year tiled floor and an original lift in the building. the lift is original and therefore terrible, but that is a minor point
Reviewed February 15, 2013

James from United States
Couples
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Would have been great, except the loud music
Location, restaurant, decor
Loved this hotel... until it was time to go to sleep! With a room on the second floor, the wine bar below played music every night until 2:30am. And mind you, it was not just "playing music", the floor was shaking so badly that earplugs would have done very little. The odd thing is that the wine bar and hotel are owned by the same person, and when I called the front desk to ask them when I would be able to sleep, they said that they would ask the bar manager to turn off the music. Not surprisingly, that never happened. I'm assuming the 2nd floor rooms are cheaper, but over $100 probably isn't worth it if you're planning on sleeping before 2:30.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Michael from United States
Solo travelers
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
retro modern hotel in downtown vancouver
retro lobby, historic tile floor in lobby, helpful staff, great location for downtown Vancouver
I enjoyed this hotel. The price is reasonable and the room was comfortable. My room faced out back so not really sunny nor good view. However, the room was incredibly quiet and I slept like a prince. The location is great for exploring downtown and you can buy water, bread, fruit etc at a corner shop a few doors down.
Reviewed October 05, 2012

Hee from South Korea
Solo travelers
Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
room was very clean and modern
The location was good, very near from downtown
The location was very convenient and service was great. The room was not that big than i expected, but overally it was cozy, modern and clean.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Sally from Australia
Solo travelers
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Good location
Beds were comfortable and pillows great
Good helpful welcome at check in. Location easy to walk to centre of city with easy Access to granville island. Handy having bar downstairs.
Reviewed July 20, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: