Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 87 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Room comfort and quality 8.1
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 8.0
  • Food and dining 6.6
Sort by

Nasser from United Arab Emirates
Family with young children
Standard Room Non - Smoking
Stayed one night in December 2012
Good hotel
Comfort - good location - nice staff
Reviewed September 11, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

kalim from South Korea
Couple
Deluxe Queen Suite - Non- Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Good Location
Near by Korean town, Clean, Large Room
We enjoyed our staying at the avalon hotel. Since we were trying to eat Korean food majority of the time. It was literally right next to Korean Town and two blocks away from hotel. Room was Large and It was good for family. Consider it's at near by down town area, hotel was quite clean. However, hotel doesn't have ice machine to public like any other hotel. you have to ask staff every time you want ice. Also, They don't provide in room coffee machine and guest refrigerator was not cold enough to keep my water and other drinks. other than those two things, I would recommend to my friends and families.
Reviewed September 10, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

yuh from Taiwan
Business traveler
Family Room Non Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
good
location, room, service
Reviewed August 19, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Sanghynn from South Korea
Business traveler
Family Room Non Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
location design comport
location design comport
location design comport
Reviewed August 03, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

rachel from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room Non - Smoking
Stayed one night in July 2015
Not up to standard at all - not a 4 star!
cant think of one
Not good. Room was tiny really dated and unclean. Skirting boards and wallpaper filthy. Bed was barely a double. Room was right next to the lift which was so noisy and there is work going on all night outside the front of the hotel. Did not sleep at all. Not my idea of an nyc hotel baring in mind the price!
Reviewed July 31, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

PAULINE from Singapore
Family with teens
Junior Suite Non Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
A Pleasant Hotel in the heart of New York City
Staff helpfulness, Cleanliness, Location
We had a very pleasant stay at the Avalon, NYC. What struck me was the helpfulness of the staff. In particular, when I had left my pair of pearl earrings after checking out on 14 July 2015. Upon my realisation, I asked the front desk staff if there was any possibility of finding my earrings. She took the trouble to check with housekeeping and came back to me soon with the earrings. I was absolutely impressed and certainly appreciative. However, there were a couple of other concerns which I thought the management at Avalon can improve on. One is the condition of the "ageing" elevators which stop unpredictably at different floors for different lift passengers. The other is the provision of essential bathroom amenities eg. toothbrushes, toothpaste & comb. These were not listed on the hotel's website and we were caught offguard. But it would be a nice gesture to provide a set at least. On the whole, I would say that I would like to return to this hotel in my future visit to NYC.
Reviewed July 20, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Kunal from India
Family with young children
Family Room Non Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Avalon, New York City
Room size. Location, efficiency of the staff.
Reviewed July 07, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

MAKIKO from Japan
Business traveler
Junior Suite Non Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Great hotel
Hospitality is so good
Convenient location, near Korean town, Macy's & subway.
Reviewed June 02, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Mohd from Malaysia
Family with teens
Family Room Non Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Stay in a lively place!
Location, Staff and unlimited use of Wifi in room
Very good and really enjoyed the stay. The staff were so pleasant and helpful. Perhaps breakfast could offer different varieties on different day.
Reviewed May 21, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Anita from Australia
Solo traveler
Family Room Non Smoking
Stayed 9 nights in April 2015
Great location, friendly hotel
Being on the corner of 5th and 32nd the location was amazing . Loved the size of the room. Coffee machine in foyer/lounge was terrific.
We had a lovely stay of 9 nights in the 40sq junior suite with two double beds. There is a building site behind the hotel which was very noisy and we had problems with the heating not working but an oil heater fixed that. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. It was nice to stay in a small boutique hotel in a great location in NY. Lots of casual eating places nearby. Walking distance to so many places and subway stops. Beds very comfortable . Bath was a nice luxury too. I would stay here again, especially as it felt so central to everything and it had a nice, intimate feel to it.
Reviewed May 05, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: