Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 216 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Room comfort and quality 5.9
  • Service 6.5
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food and dining 4.9
Sort by

Kipp from United States
Solo travelers
Single
Stayed one night in May 2016
EXPECT BETTER FROM YMCA!
The young woman who checked me in was great. Also at the front desk was Leroy who was shaky at best and who seemed unprofessional and incompetent. This was mostly due to the so called "Voucher" via Agoda mess that needs to be handled much better. Will not purchase with that again. No one seemed to be clear about how to reconcile. It was horrible. Came back downstairs and Leroy said room key was not activated and actually confiscated it. Uh? Although payment was confirmed. Then a supervisor had to be called. When I was escorted back to the assigned room. THE AC WAS ON. UH , huh?! Why was that if the room key was not working. Looking into why persons were engaging in some very shady goings on during the night like banging on my door shit was all-round SHADY..
Reviewed May 30, 2016

Watjaneekan from Thailand
Solo travelers
Premium Bunk
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Location
Location
Reviewed January 17, 2016

Novia from Malaysia
Groups
Bunk Bed Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed one night in December 2015
Comfortable stay
Cleanliness, flexibility, location,
Good short stay, near to central park and related to it. To use the shared bathroom conveniently bring slipper.
Reviewed December 28, 2015

Joni from Finland
Solo travelers
Single
Stayed 7 nights in December 2015
Hostel is a hostel
Location is good. Gym and swimming facilities are good.
Small room without toilet. Shabby inside. Location quite nice : Central park is right on the corner. Not worth at all!
Reviewed December 22, 2015

Lorraine from Australia
Solo travelers
Premium Single
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
Location rooms tiny not enough showers to accomod
Staff location
I would not recommend noisy
Reviewed December 19, 2015

H from United States
Solo travelers
Bunk
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
A little iffy
Price, location, availability of workout facilities
Somewhat Uncomfortable. Room was reserved as double with 2 single bunk beds, instead was a double bed against a wall. Not enough blankets before heat was turned on, then with it tuned on the room was Overheated. Mattress was like a futon, beware if you don't like that, and it's rather noisy. Thank heavens for the private bath, I don't know if that's always the case. Staff was friendly. Overall, not bad for the price, but would have been obnoxious to have 2 people crammed into the room. I didn't use the meal plan so cannot comment on that. Very nice location next to Central Park and near subway.
Reviewed October 19, 2015

玫君 from Taiwan
Solo travelers
Single
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
The best location
nice location, pool, good price
The house keepers were not very nice. They knocked my room before my check out time and even I hanged out the "don't disturb" card they ignored it. The youth customers maked big sounds at midnight, so I couldn't sleep well while I stayed there.
Reviewed October 19, 2015

Ekaterina from Russia
Solo travelers
Single
Stayed one night in July 2015
Sleepless night
location, free wifi
I stayed at the West Side YMCA Hostel for only one night, but it was the worst night ever.The staff was not rude but whenever I was approaching them with basic questions(I had to because they didn't explain anything when I was checking in), the facial expressions of the ladies at the reception were not friendly, rather highly annoyed and bored.The hostel is very big and crowded.My room was located at the 9th floor.The noise coming from the ventilation outside was unbearable.The moment I entered the room I realized immediately that the night was going to be sleepless and requested to be moved elsewhere.They did move me, however, the new room was at the same floor, same noisy.I haven't slept the whole night.The location is good, so if you are not planning to sleep but prefer to explore the night life of NY instead, this offer might suite you.Otherwise, you may be too tired to enjoy the sights a step away.
Reviewed September 07, 2015

Khaled from Australia
Solo travelers
Single
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
solo travler
location, cleaning and the comfort
Reviewed August 08, 2015

Raymund from Philippines
Solo travelers
Single
Stayed 6 nights in June 2015
Great value
Accessibility, price, facilities
Very convenient
Reviewed July 03, 2015


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: