Book Now: Nostalgia Hotel

Excellent
From 1124 reviewsSee what guests said
8.0
Recommended by 88% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1124)Booking.com Reviews (480)
8.0
Excellent
From 1124 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.4
Facilities7.6
Location8.0
Room comfort and quality7.9
Service8.4
Value for money7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
Deutsch
简体中文
more
Room type
Superior
Deluxe
Balcony
Exclusive
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 828 verified guest comments
5.6
Charles from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Above average”
Did not get good information from staff at hotel. Felt like they were pushing us into a tour company, when we wanted to use pubic transportation, they told us everything was too far. Restaurant recommendations, not good. Pushed for us to eat at their restaurant.
Reviewed April 29, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Stuart from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
A well situated hotel... but room was cramped... very small. Easy access to all Singapore. ”
Most staff friendly and helpful. Good bteakfast
Reviewed April 20, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
amy from Thailand
Solo traveler
Mystery Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Exceptional”
Great boutique hotel - friendly staff, clean rooms, and in a central location! Highly recommend!
Reviewed April 16, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Pearl
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Dennis was really helpful, food & market in corner”
Bus stop also in the corner. I will come back again,
Reviewed April 15, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Tan from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Mystery Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2018
nice hotel”
nice & clean room , quite convinent to get around , 10 min fm mrt station
Reviewed April 15, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Mohamed from Bahrain
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Excellent”
The hotel was great, clean well maintained and good location. Didn’t face any problems with it .
Reviewed April 14, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Yah from Brunei Darussalam
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Friendly neighborhood hotel ”
I really love this small boutique hotel, staff are very friendly, breakfast comes with a fee but big portion and reasonable. Room is very small but if only for sleep and couple of nights is fine. Tiong Bharu is a very nice neighborhood, with lots of good bakery shop and very clean market. I can bird watching the locals and so good to walk around and explore. Of course, go to the back of the hotel where Tiong Bharu Bakery is, try the pastry ... yummy.
Reviewed April 14, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Ming-Li from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Pleasant Stay”
The hotel is between Outram Park and Tiong Bahru station. If you dont want to walk to the statioin, the bus stop is very near the hotel. There are restaurants and convenience store nearby. Staff were friendly and provided great service. Highly recommended hotel.
Reviewed April 10, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Chris from United Kingdom
Couple
Exclusive
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Exceptional”
Great hotel in a quiet area but close to the centre.
Reviewed April 06, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Blair from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018
Comfortable hotel needs to amazing foodie area”
Highly recommend this area to stay. The room was small for me but adequate. Clean and value for money.
Reviewed April 03, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Michelle from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Fantastic and well priced!”
Really fantastic hotel, with a really reasonable price. Pool was lovely, breakfast of great quality. Room a little small but well taken care of!
Reviewed April 03, 2018
7.6
Very good
Pitanu from Thailand
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Very good”
The hotel is approximately a kilometer from the nearest MRT station, though that will change in 2020 when the new station hub opens nearby. There are buses serving the area, plus you will always find bicycle sharing bikes parked nearby, so getting around is easy. The hotel is well maintained, staff are friendly and this is very important in my point of view, housekeeping did a good job of keeping the rooms & public areas cleaned. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and will most likely return here on my next trip.
Reviewed April 03, 2018
7.6
Very good
Roy from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Great Value”
This hotel is very good. Staff could not have been more helpful. 10 minute walk to China Town. Plenty of buses outside hotel Bathroom small for a Westerner but for the price you put up with it. Highly recommend.
Reviewed April 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Michelle from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in March 2018
Fantastic location”
This hotel is in a fantastic area in Singapore. It is opposite the Tiong Bahru market which has fabulous food options and open to late at night. There are lots of restaurants and cafes in close proximity to the hotel. The MRT is a short walk from the hotel or you can get there by bus with a stop right outside the hotel. While the rooms are quite small, they are very clean and the beds are super comfy. The pool is an added bonus. The staff are all lovely and helpful.
Reviewed March 21, 2018
7.2
Very good
Graham from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Great little hitel a good price”
The Nostalgia is a good little hotel not very far from Chinatown - 20 minutes walk. Local market & hawker food stalls 50m away. MRT stations about 10 minutes walk away & has a tiny pool.
Reviewed March 18, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Dominic from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Nice Hotel and Good Location”
A decent hotel located near a hawker market and other good restaurants as well. Bus stops are also just a walk, so it's easy to tour Singapore from the hotel. The staff are nice and the place is well kept.
Reviewed March 16, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Muhammad from Singapore
Couple
Mystery Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Exceptional”
They mystery room is fairly small but comfortable. The location of the hotel was very convenient as the neighbourhood has plenty of cafes / restaurants and is within a stone's throw of the Tiong Bahru Wet Market and Food Centre, with plenty of local food to try out. Try out the rooftop pool when you are there.
Reviewed March 11, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Jane from United Kingdom
Group
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in March 2018
Excellent value and great service”
The hotel is small and friendly in an up and coming area (Tiong Bahru) that has great bars, restaurants and market. The staff are brilliant and exceptionally helpful adding a personal touch to ensure guests needs are met. The rooms are small but very comfortable and complementary toiletries and bottled water was replenished everyday. Guests also get 20% discount on meals in the restaurant and happy hour drinks buy 1 get 1 free until 7pm. I really enjoyed my 6 night stay.
Reviewed March 09, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Denise from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in February 2018
Wonderful stay...”
We travel a lot and have been in SE Asia now for 12 months. This is the cleanest and most comfortable room we have stayed in. The staff couldn’t be more professional and helpful. The room was small which is apparently quite normal for Singapore. Our room did not have a window which was strange at 1st but I can honestly say the quality of everything else completely made up for it. The booking in procedure was efficient and we were even given great advice and tips for travelling around the city. The restaurant is also popular with non residents. The eggs benedict were fabulous. The location is 5 minutes to outram Park mrt, which opens up the whole city. Alternatively a 20 minute walk to the heart of China town. I cannot rate this place highly enough. I would definitely stay stay here again.
Reviewed March 08, 2018
7.6
Very good
Lin from Myanmar
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Good food around the hotel”
A wet market is near the hotel but mrt is around 15 mind walk.
Reviewed February 28, 2018
6.8
Good
yifat from Israel
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in February 2018
Great staff and shower but that's all”
+ great service + great pressure and hot water - thin walls. Heard the couple next door fighting as well as making love... Couldn't sleep - bed mattress bad and not clean sheets. Got bed bugs. -room a bit small
Reviewed February 25, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Brigitte from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in February 2018
Charming”
My husband and I enjoyed our stay at this charming hotel. The management and staff were excellent and were always very happy to help us with anything we needed. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would be happy to stay here again. Brigitte and Trevor James
Reviewed February 22, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Mike from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Excellent boutique hotel well positioned to see Singapore highlights”
Pool is very small but we didn’t use it anyway over the 3 days we stayed
Reviewed February 18, 2018
7.6
Very good
Nicholas from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in February 2018
Nice but very tiny room. ”
The staff are well trained and very helpful. The room is nicely arrange but very tiny. I wish it could have just a bit more space between the bed & the table. I felt cramped! But overall, the staff made my stay very pleasant — five solid stars for staff & customer relation!
Reviewed February 14, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Tara from New Zealand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in February 2018
Great stay!”
We stayed here for four nights and had a great stay. All staff - reception/cook/concierge were amazing very lovely and helpful people. Very considerate of your needs. When we arrived we had been upgraded to slightly bigger room with window as the room we had booked was quite small. We really appreciated this. They have a nice restaurant/bar and a rooftop pool to offer. Hotel maybe a little dated, but overall was a very comfy and enjoyable stay. Thank you to all the staff at Nostalgia.
Reviewed February 13, 2018
7.2
Very good
Chuen from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Nice Boutique Hotel”
I very much enjoyed my stay there . The room was of decent size and clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly. There are lots of restaurants and cafes in the area. The location is very central. The only downside is that it's not that near to the MRT station, but there is a bus station right outside of that hotel where you can take a bus to get to the MRT station if you know your way around.
Reviewed February 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Todd from Singapore
Solo traveler
Mystery Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Unexpectedly surprised by awesome neighborhood!”
I've lived in Singapore for over a year now and decided to stay here one night for a weekend in town. I've ridden my bike through most parts of the island but never saw some of the side streets around Tiong Bahru with their quaint restaurants and weekend flower market. Tourists might want to be closer to an MRT but if you can get beyond that, you might find yourself enamored with the architecture along the Tiong Bahru heritage trail. Consider this place if you want something that's atypical Singapore. And if you are looking for dinner, stop by the House of Peranakan. It's great nonya food..
Reviewed February 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Carolyn from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Nice comfy hotel in a great location”
Very comfortable bed, close to buses and restaurants. Excellent spot
Reviewed February 02, 2018
7.6
Very good
Michelle from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Very good”
Happy to recommend it to other travellers. Handy to everything. Only problem I encountered was that Taxi Drivers didn't seem to know where it is because it's not a big hotel. Andrew, Australia
Reviewed January 30, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Katherine from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Great boutique hotel at the right price”
I had an excellent stay at Nostalgia Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was small as other reviews state, but this is common for Singapore. I had no problems with the size and was very comfortable (the bed especially!) The rooms and overall facilities were very well kept. And best of all, the neighborhood where this hotel is located is fantastic! Great local food in the Tiong Bahru Market and amazing baked goods at Tiong Bahru Bakery and Plain Vanilla Bakery. You won't be sorry to stay here!
Reviewed January 28, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
lee from Singapore
Couple
Mystery Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
fantastic place”
the bed was comfy... the toilet is fluffy.. even the whole room feel so cosy. not to mention the helpful and friendly counter staff. thank you.
Reviewed January 22, 2018
8.8
Excellent
David from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Peace and confort ”
Rooms are abit small, but perfect for a couple. Excellent atmosphere, superb bed, most comfortable I have ever slept on. Hot showers and great food. Overall an excellent experience.
Reviewed January 02, 2018
6.4
Good
Michael from Sweden
Couple
Mystery Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Good”
Hotell is fine as long as its booked with someone else but Agode. They cant handle reservations and is not helping customers
Reviewed January 01, 2018
7.6
Very good
Gonzague from France
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in August 2017
Short Business Travel”
Room was small, but I kept a good souvenir of the hotel. Service was good and it was near my business meeting. I would go back there.
Reviewed December 30, 2017
7.6
Very good
Steve from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Very good”
Very nice smaller hotel in a good location with two MRT stations 12 minutes walk away. The staff were always on hand and helpful. The only negative is the room sizes which are small, actually they are tiny but clean and the bed was very comfortable. Will definitely stay again.
Reviewed December 26, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Lim from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
breakfast”
when booking I noticed it come with free breakfast but when check in, the staff said it don't come with free breakfast.
Reviewed December 26, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Jun from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Good and value for money!”
I would definitely recommend it the others!
Reviewed December 19, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
meefung from Malaysia
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Strategic location ”
Nice and good place to stay. Dry marlet just behind .
Reviewed December 18, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Jeanette from United Kingdom
Couple
Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
excellent value, good location ”
Friendly staff, small but nice, worth paying the extra to have a balcony, easy to get to places, definitely visit again
Reviewed December 16, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Parag from India
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
Everything was good except they asked for a SGD 200 deposit at the time of check in which wasn't...”
Everything was good except they asked for a SGD 200 deposit at the time of check in which wasn't mentioned at the time of booking. But they were prompt at refunding it at the time of check out.
Reviewed December 14, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
steven from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Great place to stay”
Love the staff..very helpful. .beds are very comfortable.
Reviewed December 02, 2017
8.4
Excellent
steven from Australia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in November 2017
Great place ”
The rooms very nice..small but good,same every where in singapore ,food was good.
Reviewed November 26, 2017
8.4
Excellent
steven from Australia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in November 2017
very helpful”
The owners and staff are very helpful. Breakfast was good
Reviewed November 26, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
J from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Exceptional”
The complimentary upgrade was unexpectedly pleasant but the upgraded room was still small.
Reviewed November 11, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Shreya
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Value for money”
Cosy room, with a nice large bathroom. It had all the amenities and free wifi. Room service was not particularly expensive so that was a surprise. the location is nice, with a few restaurants, bars and the tiong bahru market very close by.
Reviewed November 07, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017
Excellent”
Hotel has good bus access to town. MRT involves a walk. Go for the exclusive rooms as the superior & lux rooms are rather small. Staff are helpful and responsive. Market/food centre & restaurants close by.
Reviewed November 07, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Robert
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
A Pleasant Stay”
Nothing fancy about this hotel. It feels a bit old however its clean and functional with friendly attentive staff. It's in a residentital neighbourhood technically still in Chiantown however far enough to be outide of the main tourist area (unfortuately including many of the great bars and restaurants in Chinatown). However the market is pretty much across the street and there are lots of great international eats for every preference. The room was a perfect size for what I needed. The bed was comfortable. I had a nice double window which offered me privacy but allowed in natural light and fresh air when I didn't want the recycled stuff pumped through the A/C. The glassed-in shower had a clever design to prevent water from leaking throughout the bathroom which I encounter everywhere I travel in Asia. Housekeeeping did a great job and were very pleasant and respected my wishes not to clean my rom when I asked but they still topped-up my water. I didn't realize the hote had a small pool at time of booking but it was a nice option had I had the time to enjoy it. Overall if you want a stay in a fairly quiet residential neighbourhood with delcious food and character and great character and don't mind being a 15-20 minute walk/or 5-10mn car ride away from the heart of Chinatown then I would highly recommend this hotel.
Reviewed November 06, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Hue from Vietnam
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Good”
Wonderful ,new hotel Room: small but very clean,nice smell Staff: friendly Near bus station,tiongbaru MRT station. Well recommended for couple (or with 1 infant )
Reviewed November 06, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
David from Australia
Business traveler
Mystery Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Great stay for a short trip”
I find Chinatown to be the most interesting part of Singapore. Nostalgia is well located and you can get there by train from the airport. Tiong Bahru market is just around the corner. Fabulous food stalls. Hotel has great service. Excellent staff. And a swimming pool that overlooks the main road! Recommended.
Reviewed November 02, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Sherylle from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Exceptional”
Excellent boutique hotel lovely change from the big hotels.
Reviewed October 31, 2017