Book Now: Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel

Excellent
From 640 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
/
10
Recommended by 89% of guests

Reviews of Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (640)Booking.com Reviews (627)
8.2
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.7
Facilities8.0
Location8.2
Room comfort and quality8.3
Service8.4
Value for money7.9
All languages
All guests (640)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 440 verified guest comments
6.0
Melissa from Australia
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

We were really disappointed with this hotel”

Having travelled in Vietnam for 2 weeks in 4 different boutique hotels, we decided to end our stay at Novotel. We came to Vietnam for our 1 year wedding anniversary. This hotel is the biggest disappointment we have experienced and were shocked with it coming from the Accor group which are usually great. It has actually put us off with ever staying at a Novotel. We had no acknowledgement for our anniversary at all, we requested a high floor with a quiet room. Breakfast lacked flavour and was a huge disappointment. There was also little flies all on and around the bread and cheese area. At breakfast when we walked in they asked for our room number. Later my husband was at the egg station and asked him for the room number again. They then later also asked me again when I was sitting down eating. This hotel was only a quarter to half full. They decided to put us at the end of 1 floor with a family/friends group with 3 rooms and 7 kids who would run up and down the hallways banging doors as they left the top latch open so they could move freely from room to room. From 10pm to 11pm, the kids were running a muck and playing as well as the fathers making loud noises and disrupting guests. As these were kids and we were awake watching a movie we just left it alone. However, when they went to bed, the fathers who may have been drunk were yelling at each other and still banging doors in the hallway after 11pm. We were trying to sleep and had to call reception who called up security to ask them to lower their noise. However, these ugly feral fathers (I feel sorry for their children) started arguing with security but quietened down. But they then became loud again and yelling outside our door and we heard one of them stand outside our door and spit on it. This hotel is a disgrace and i was shocked and disappointed with this stay and would never return.

Reviewed May 05, 2019
6.8
Good
Hubert from Singapore
Couple
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Bathroom facilities should be improved”

Check in was a breeze. Lobby , walk way were all clean and neat and smell good. However once we arrive to our room there is this weird stench from bath room. Looks clean but just that weird smell. Request for room change, but was told I had to top up $ in order for a room change. The hose connecting the shower head was defective too and not replaced. Staff were polite and friendly too during our stay. Overall facilities should be looked into and improved on.

Reviewed March 04, 2019
6.8
Good
Siew from Malaysia
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Customer service is good”

Location so far so good. Upgraded my room to sea view but end up only can see a little bit of sea. Most of the view is under construction. Wasted. But room is really big! Customer service is good, they able to suggest us some restaurant, attraction and arrange for bike and taxi.

Reviewed January 29, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Rick from United States
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017

Excellent room.”

The facilities were brilliant - from the food (breakfast and diner) to the room (especially the sea view) to the friendly and helpful staff. The only downside is the groups of Korean tourists that forget - or do not care - that they are not in South Korea. From spitting on the pool deck, touching the food with their hands and then putting it back at the breakfast buffet, vomiting in the lobby, pushing customers in the elevators, etc. Typical Korean culture - "Sparkling!"

Reviewed October 11, 2017

Dear Rick, Thank you for choosing Novotel Ha Long Bay as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Ha Long Bay. We are delighted to learn that you liked our room facilities, breakfast and dinner. Your appreciation on the friendliness and assistance of our staff will serve as an encouragement for us to keep up the good work. Besides that, we are sorry for any inconvenience caused to you as you mentioned above. We are trying the best to minimize the affection to individual guest. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, The Novotel Ha Long Bay team

Responded December 28, 2017
Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel
9.2
Exceptional
Danielle from Thailand
Group
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2016

Clean, spacious, quiet”

The only hotel around that has a reputable name under it. In this derelict & dead city, you'd want to at least have a nice hotel where you'll probably end up spending most if not all of your time in. The pool was a sad container of water overlooking debris, but the room was pretty neat with ample space for both bedroom & bathroom areas. Particularly impressed with the duo-framed door & swivel TV stand. Also the coconut ice coffee was the bomb diggity 10/10 would stay again for that

Reviewed October 28, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
YEO from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

Nice stay ”

Good location, food & amenities

I'm very happy with this hotel. Good to stay here before setting off to halong bay unesco heritage site. Service is good. Amenities commensurate with price paid. Would definitely stay here again if I were to come back to halong bay.

Reviewed March 10, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Chris from South Africa
Couple
Executive King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

Excellent hotel”

Seaview from room

We stayed for two nights in the Novotel Hotel during December and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel room was spacious with a lovely balcony overlooking the ocean. Hotel staff was efficient and very helpful and friendly. We dined in the hotel a couple of times and enjoyed the Vietnamese buffet. Breakfast offered a wide variety of well prepared food.

Reviewed January 02, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Chan from Hong Kong
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012

Beautiful 5 star hotel with wonderful view”

Friendly staff, beautiful hotel, great service

最少50個字It is best hotel in Halong Bay (of coz also the most expensive one). It's no doubt that it is a 5-star hotel: with polite and friendly staff, great service, nice room ...etc We were first arranged to stay in room 901, the room is just above the kitchen and the view is blocked. It is noisy and smelly, therefore, we asked the staff to give us another room. Then we were arranged to stay in room 905 which is much much better. With beautiful view on Halong Bay and quiet. I like that room! The hotel is next to the beach so you can just walk there and enjoy the sea. Although the price is pretty high compared with other hotels in halong bay, if you would like to stay in the best hotel in Halong Bay, that must be the one.

Reviewed April 17, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Michael from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Executive King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in March 2012

Probably the best hotel in Ha Long Bay”

Good location

This is probably the best hotel in Ha Long Bay and as far as i can see the only international brand. Ha Long bay is a place people pass through so anyone staying more than 2 nights seems very unusual. The staff are attentive but are daling with lots of people on short visits. Rooms are of a good standard, size and well furnished. Be aware that all Exective rooms have adjoining doors (one of my personal pet hates) but the standard rooms are not much smaller and have balconies so a good option (I actually downgraded in preference for non-adjoining). Nice pool, one restaurant with good food, one bar which also serves food. Comfortable retreat, coudl get noisy if large groups in at breakfast and dinner but day time quiet as everyone goes out. I would stay here if visiting again. Easy walk to piers as well for boat trips.

Reviewed April 07, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Dhunyanon from Thailand
Group
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2011

Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel”

Nice view good room and reasonable services

this review is for novotel ha long bay hotel. we booked superior king room on early breaks with a few conditions. it has nice view, good rooms and reasonable services. everything was great. the town is quite small and quiet as most people stayed on the junk. there is nothing negative in particular. novotel ha long bay hotel is indeed a recommendable place to stay.

Reviewed February 24, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Toru from Japan
Couple
Executive King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2010

Huge room with best view of Ha long Bay”

The best view, huge room with huge bathroom, very modern
None

our room was facing ha long bay and it was the best view of the bay all day. the sunset that we saw was very romantic. the room was really big and modern, and has huge bathroom with separate tab. the variety kind of food served for breakfast and it was so tasty. the only concern that i have to make is that there is not many place to eat or see around the hotel or even town.

Reviewed January 05, 2011
8.7
Excellent
WATCHARAPHOL from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2010

Good hotel ..”

- Nice, clean and good size room - Near city (walking distance) - Good Tiramisu cake :) - Quick check-in / check-out
- No gym - No bell boy - Standard room no good view - No good cheap food around hotel

This hotel is good for both family and couple. The room (standard) has nice decoration (combine of modern and nature styles). The officers are good at English. The hotel is near to city (walking distance). The breakfast is normal food but the Tiramisu cake is superb (smooth and tasteful). The pool looks nice but no gym. I will return to stay this hotel if I have chance to go back there.

Reviewed May 07, 2010
10.0
Exceptional
Gwynne from United States
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018

Lovely Halong Hotel”

Great stay, friendly staff, good location walking distance from the downtown area. Quite a bit of construction going on around the hotel, but seems that there is quite a bit of construction taking place everywhere in Halong. Overall would definitely stay here again if going back to Halong.

Reviewed October 13, 2018
2.4
Danielle from Australia
Family with young children
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Horrible location ”

Don’t bother staying in this town. It is the worst place I’ve been to in the world.

Reviewed April 05, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Hasmet from Turkey
Solo traveler
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Great hotel”

The hotel was clean, at a good location, the staff was polite and friendly, everyone spoke English, all the facilities at the hotel and their tours were very good.

Reviewed February 05, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Camilee from Malaysia
Group
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Value for the price”

Located at the Tourist Area where you can find lots of seafood and local delicacies around your hotel. There is also a coffee house right infront the hotel.

Reviewed January 15, 2019

Dear Camilee, Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a wonderful review ! We are particularly happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay when it comes to our location as well as the ambience. The coffee shop which is situated in front of our proper is really a remarkable point so as to make our place more beautiful and sparkling. Your satisfaction is our best reward to continuously offer the best quality of service to each traveler. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again ! Warm regards, Pham Viet Anh Guest Experience Executive Novotel Ha Long Bay

Responded February 13, 2019
Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel
8.8
Excellent
NGUYEN from Vietnam
Family with teens
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Excellent”

Image quality of in-room cable TV, and wifi signal strength should be improved.

Reviewed January 14, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Yu from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Twin bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Exceptional”

All the staff were very friendly!

Reviewed December 06, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Sally from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Safe for solo traveler ”

View from my room was perfect You can see halong bay

Reviewed November 25, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Hung from Vietnam
Group
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

One of the best hotel in Halong bay”

I love this hotel because of the high standard service quality as well as the friendly staff. Food is also delicious.

Reviewed October 01, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Chan from Vietnam
Couple
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Very nice hotel”

Clean, nice hotel

Reviewed August 26, 2018

Dear Chan, Thank you for sharing your feeling regarding your recent stay at Novotel Ha Long Bay. It is our great pleasure to read your lovely compliments to our hotel. This will serve as an encouragement to us as we always strive to provide superior service to every client. Many thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to be of service to you very soon. Sincerely, The Hotel Management Team

Responded September 06, 2018
Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
Jan from Vietnam
Family with teens
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

A good hotel for a good holiday”

Happy with everything at Novotel, will be back later

Reviewed August 16, 2018

Dear Jan, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your experience at Novotel Ha Long Bay. We are glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is our pleasure to welcome you back very soon. Sincerely, The hotel management team

Responded August 19, 2018
Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
Katherine from Kuwait
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

We loved the service at this hotel. We had a beautiful room that had a lovely view.”

The hotel itself, staff and location was good. The drawback was the construction that was happening across the street. Developing a gigantic water park across the street was not a good decision by the community of Ha Long Bay. The Novatel is in the middle of this development. Everything else that the hotel had to offer was great. We would stay there again.

Reviewed April 08, 2018

Dear Katherine, We thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking time to share your feedback here. It is great to learn that our service, staff delighted you. Besides that, we are sorry for any inconvenience caused to you by the construction. Your kind understanding that Novotel is in the middle of development is much appreciated. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back and be of service to you again soon. Sincerely and wish you safe travels, The Hotel Management Team

Responded June 08, 2018
Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel
8.8
Excellent
Javed from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

Excellent”

Excellent hotel and a very comfortable stay. We were only there for one night after touring Halong Bay and had a pleasant stay. The hotel was very good value for money. There is extensive construction works being undertaken in the sourounding areas which unfortunately ruined what otherwise would have been a phenomenal view of the bay and pool. Excellent breakfast and staff.

Reviewed March 31, 2018

Dear Javed, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ha Long Bay. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Besides that we apologize for any inconvenience caused by construction works as it is granted in the area for tourism development. We hope to have your kind understanding on this. Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property. Best regards, The Hotel Management Team

Responded June 09, 2018
Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel
9.6
Exceptional
Terry from New Zealand
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Exceptional”

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the Novotel Ha Long Bay after an overnight cruise on Halong Bay. Compared to the congestion of Hanoi it was wonderful. Lots of changes there, I expect we won't recognize Ha Long when we return in a couple of years.

Reviewed February 23, 2017

Dear Terry, Thank you for taking the valuable time to post a review of Novotel Ha Long Bay here. We appreciated your kind understanding on the ongoing changes in Ha Long. We would be delighted to host you again in the future. Warn regards, For and on behalf of the management Novotel Ha Long Bay

Responded April 14, 2017
Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel
2.8
Brendan from Australia
Couple
Executive King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016

Middle of nowhere, dreadful customer service”

There is nothing around to do or see here. The staff are next to useless and speak little English. They treated us rather poorly until we showed our Gold Accor member card. The hotel appears geared only for Chinese visitors. I can't remember ever leaving a bad review on Agoda but this place is pathetic.

Reviewed October 26, 2016
4.8
Hana from South Korea
Business traveler
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2016

Noisy and chaotic lobby”

The lobby was always full of tourists (mostly Korean and Chinese) and because of these tourists, the lobby was always noisy and chaotic. Also, these tourists made so much noise at their rooms so I could not get much sleep because they were roaming the floors and each others room until late at night. I made a few complaint to the front desk and also to the tourists to quite down however it did not help much. I don't know if the hotel had poor sound proofing or the tourists where loud but either way, it was such a pain every night. (I stayed two night on a weekday and I suffered, so imagine on weekends.) On top of that, during evening time, there was a live band playing at the bar on the lobby floor and they turned the volume to its max which almost deafened me. I could not carry out a conversation with the front desk because of this. Other than that, the staff was reasonably nice and hotel rooms were clean and decent. Overall, I don't know if my stay at the Novotel was horrible because it was Tourist season at Ha Long Bay during my visit there (which was October), but I definitely will NOT stay there during my next visit.

Reviewed October 24, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Sarah from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2016

Lovely hotel, great staff, but very loud party in evening”

This is a lovely hotel to stay in and the staff were excellent. We were treated to a free upgrade to a better room with a bay view (yes there is construction work, but it's not noisy and you can still see the bay), and they brought us a free fruit basket for our anniversary. We enjoyed a lovely massage in the spa and the pool was great for a swim - also the guy behind the bar made excellent cocktails! It would have been a perfect and relaxing stay however, the area beside the pool was being hired out for some kind of pool party (on a Monday - presumably for a company but not sure), and it was very, very, loud with heavy bass dance music and a guy with a microphone. This ruined our evening somewhat as we struggled to hear each other in the restaurant and instead of heading back to the bar for an after dinner drink we decided to escape to our room where it was more quiet (though we could still clearly hear it - 8 floors up and on another side of the building!). Fortunately it finished 11-11.30pm before we headed to bed. This is a lovely hotel to book with and the staff are brilliant, but if you want a relaxing stay, I would check with staff before you book that there aren't going to be any loud events/parties - I wish I had thought to do this.

Reviewed October 23, 2016
8.0
Excellent
yvonne from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

Good hotel”

Now that they have moved port for cruise day trips it is a good 20min to transfer from hotel to boat so because of that the location for us not good. The room,staff , pool all very good but we went for access to cruise

Reviewed June 08, 2016
8.4
Excellent
tran from Vietnam
Business traveler
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016

Great”

Up: amazing bathroom, nice bedding, great furniture, lot of space and storage, modern restaurant decoration and bar, friendly and helpful staff Down: not so may choices of breakfast, opposite the construction side so it's quite dirty, there're only about 20 tv channels

Reviewed April 14, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Walter from United States
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

good hotel bad view”

good food nice room attentive staff

We stayed here because we did not know that the Ha Long Bay cruises offer pick up in Hanoi The hotel was very nice and the food very good but there was not much of interest in town. The room had a view of the bay but it was ruined by major construction over several km of beach area

Reviewed January 10, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Jean-Baptiste from France
Family with young children
Standard King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015

3 Days in the middle of nowhere”

Hotel Condition/Cleanliness, Room Comfort/Standard, Staff Performance

The stay was nice, the staff helpful, but the location awful. It's just in the middle of nowhere, either you stay at the hotel and enjoy the pool, or you stay at the hotel and enjoy the pool, there's like nothing interesting around. Just in front of the hotel you have a building site, where you can see trucks and so on, blowing dusts everywhere. And if you want to move away from this place, you must take a taxi to go to Halong city, or the island nearby, it's too far away to go on foot over there. All together, the impression is average, because of the location.

Reviewed October 12, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
AU from China
Solo traveler
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015

Nice food and excellent services”

Nice food, excellent services, great facilities

The stay was great. Although there were not many things to see in Ha Long bay and our boat trip was cancelled due to the heavy storm, we still managed to enjoy our stay as the hotel has offered wide varieties of local and international cuisines. Also, the room was superb with great view. Overall it was a really pleasant stay

Reviewed August 02, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Alexander from United Kingdom
Couple
Executive King Bed
Stayed 7 nights in May 2015

SandyBe”

Breakfast, hotel staff, hotel cleanliness

Good , but would not recommend booking more than 3 nights( we booked 7). Not because of hotel but because of Ha Long Bay as nothing go do outside of hotel once you have seen the islands. Very , very quiet resort but hotel was good. Expensive for Vietnam as well. Staff very friendly and helpful . Nice view from balcony but balcony no furtniture and quite small.

Reviewed May 23, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
jade from Australia
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in May 2015

relaxing”

food, staff, room

We had a great time. Stayed in the executive room. Worth the upgrade. Although the superior room was still nice. We just wanted ocean front views. We ate there a lot. Food great, service great. Prices great. Can't complain at all

Reviewed May 21, 2015
7.3
Very good
Amanda from Australia
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

Stunning hotel ”

Room, food and cleanliness

Beautiful rooms, spacious and comfortable. Very welcoming people, close to halong bay. Unfortunately our view was of the hideous hotel next door and the pool overlooks the main road which made it hard to relax with all the chaos. Other than that, beautiful place and worth staying there.

Reviewed April 28, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Marie from Australia
Couple
Executive King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in March 2015

Extend your Ha Long Bay trip”

Staff, location and balconies

The hotel needs to make some city maps and tour information readily available to guests. There are things to see in the city other than Ha Long Bay itself. There is a magnificent new museum and a fishing village right in the middle of town. Unfortunately we found it difficult to obtain information even from the tour desk. There is an extraordinary amount of development going on everywhere.

Reviewed April 03, 2015
6.0
V from India
Family with young children
Executive King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2014

worst food I've ever eaten!”

the rooms were well designed though they could be bigger.

the only thing we hated was their food! bland and tasteless!! so different from what we ate for the rest of our trip in Vietnam. the staff spoke very little english and explaining to them what a plain cheese pizza was a task they kept asking that were we expecting a pizza without tomato sauce or the base sauce!!! quite ridiculous! the pizza that finally arrived was tasteless too! complete disappointment. even the buffet had limited options and tasteless food! so was the breakfast! the kids refused to even accept that what they were serving were pancakes!

Reviewed January 06, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
William from Singapore
Family with teens
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2014

Clean and comfortable hotel. Walk to tourist wharf”

Clean, comfortable, near to tourist wharf

Was very satisfied with my 1 night stay at the Novotel. It had a great decor, rooms that are very clean and was about 15 min walk from tourist wharf where you could take a day cruise. Good spread for breakfast. Has outdoor swimming pool but didn’t try as it was cold in winter!

Reviewed January 02, 2015
7.7
Very good
Sonny from Malaysia
Family with young children
Executive King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2013

Nice view of halong”

Clean, well maintained, and near nice view of the ocean.

We stayed a seaview room which is great view from the balcony. The room was big and clean. Bathroom is big as well. Breakfast was ok. Overall it is a recommended hotel for those who wanna spend a night in halong city.

Reviewed December 30, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Matthew from Australia
Family with young children
Executive King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013

Decent Choice. Probably best in Ha Long”

Distance to Boats leaving for Ha Long Bay, View of Ha Long Bay, Breakfast

Probably the nicest hotel in Ha Long, still it is aging slightly. We booked an Executive suite on a high floor which had great views, from the Very small balcony, which was half the size of smaller rooms balconies. Unfortunately there was constant late arrivals to 1am much banging which made for a poor sleep, waking up our baby late. Room service food was Good Value and the restaurant was very nice food. The breakfast was very full, many options. The Bar was over priced but made top quality cocktails and good coffee. The major poor point was the management and their policies of which they openly flaunted. For example there is a sign on the wall stating there top promises to customers, which they could not keep and where quite rude about. They also charge a holding fee on the room to your credit card without asking even thought the room was fully paid for, when I asked a reason the manager said "the deposit is in-case you take towels". How RUDE ! The major GOOD point was the service of the other lovely staff in the hotel. The young man in the bar was great and so where the girl at breakfast. They could not do enough to help. Also the bell boys gave good info on local places. If the management learnt some manners, perhaps this hotel could score better.

Reviewed August 22, 2013
6.3
Good
staale from Norway
Solo traveler
Superior King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013

Nice hotel but noise and no swimmingpool”

The view and nice room balconey

The view Halong bay was great, also Nice balconey and good room. Bad no swimmingpool, nothing to do, noise from other room and renovation hotel. Not all staff ok, special lady for check out night time. The hotel car great but everthing expensive buy hotel.

Reviewed May 25, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Xuan from Vietnam
Family with young children
Standard King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013

Greet holiday with good room, comfortable staying.”

Service, International Standard hotel

I have a nice and comfortable holiday with my family at the Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel. I will come back to Novotel Hotel when I have a chance to ha Logn Bay in near future. I also recommend this hotel to my friends.

Reviewed May 13, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Tracy from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Great hotel, great views.”

The views

I chose to stay at the Novatel because I had become very ill and wanted assurance of room service and clean comfortable space. Unfortuanately the room service food was not that good and I had to pay extra for breakfast... which was good. the views from the room were spectacular through out the day when the cloud cover would eventually dispense by mid/ late arvo. The day bed was softer than the bed which was on the too firm side... I was surprised that Novatel would succumb to the usual Vietnamese bedding standard of rock hard.

Reviewed February 03, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Michael from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Just what we wanted.”

Lovely room.

We stayed at the Novotel just for one night, before a one night Bay trip. Although part of a chain, this hotel has been thoughtfully decorated; very light and bright, but very much 'of the place'. Our room was lovely; large, well equipped, fantastic shower, balcony overlooking the bay. As the weather was cold and the hotel is situated a bit out of the town, we ate in the restaurant; perhaps a little lacking in atmosphere, with most customers sort of bunched up together, despite the size of the outlet. Service was a little slow, but our meal was delicious, and as we were in no hurry, that was fine. We enjoyed nightcaps in the lounge bar (live singer); again the service was a bit slow, despite there being few customers, however we had a very pleasant stay. After and early start (up for sunrise), we had not booked breakfast (knowing we were to be well fed at lunchtime), so cannot comment on that.

Reviewed January 26, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
wan from Singapore
Business traveler
Executive King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Good hotel experience”

The spa was very good, room was spacious

Enjoyed the experience staying at Novotel Ha Long Bay. Especially enjoyed the Spa Massage service, except that it could have extended its service hours beyond 10pm since we normally finish dinner at around 9pm. The fruits in the rooms were not too delicious (dragon fruit was not riped). Overall, good experience. Nothing too much to complain about.

Reviewed January 03, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Andrew from Australia
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

Very good hotel, great views and good locatoni”

Clean rooms and location is great

good location with friendly staff who can speak english. rooms are clean, comfortable and views of Halong Bay from Balcony are very nice. A little bit pricey for the breakfast given the options available.

Reviewed December 10, 2012
8.3
Excellent
tam from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

cool place”

beauty. warm welcome. excellent location

i like to stay in Novotel everytime i travel to halong. i always book the room facing out to the sea so every morning i can be thrilled with the magnificient view of the rising sun over the bay. the food is delicious. However the spa is a bit dull.

Reviewed November 08, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Mandy from Netherlands
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

Very comfortable hotel”

Nice spa

It's a nice hotel, very comfortable rooms, great bed! Nice pool and spa! Furthermore, not much to do near the hotel. Many people go directly on a boat trip. For us it was a nice stop in a nice hotel, after travelling from Sapa - Hanoi -Halong Bay.

Reviewed November 03, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Yip from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012

nice hotel with great service”

a nice sea view

a nice hotel and service with a smile. stylish room with great cleanliness and with a good sea view. A 8 minutes walk to harbour which is convenience enough for me to take a good look on Ha Long Bay. Great room service with variety of choices. Friendly and helpful staffs

Reviewed November 03, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
jeff from United States
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012

4.5 Stars Hotel with Fantastic View”

Nice Clean Room, Good Bedding, Fantastic View

I've stayed at other Novotel hotels in Vietnam and this one is as good as the rest. Upon arrival, the staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful, the bell boy took out luggage to our room. First impression was everything at this hotel has the 4.5-5 stars feel to it. This place is definitely on par with western standards of a high end 5 star hotel. Since it was off season, we got a free upgrade to a room on a higher floor with the ocean view. Let me tell you, this room was phenomenon! The bathroom itself was probably as large as a room at a 3 star hotel. As for the rest of the room, the king bed was very comfortable, there's a balcony where you can just sit , relax, and gaze out at the ha long bay water. There's even a small lounging area with a mini couch and coffee table. Just below, you can see the swimming pool. We even had wifi internet issues, so they brought up a dedicated wifi router just for us to use! Very nice! Overall, this is probably one of the best hotels in ha long bay and I highly recommend it.

Reviewed October 29, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Choon from Singapore
Couple
Executive King Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2012

Nice Hotel with panaramic facing Halong Bay”

room very spacious and clean!

Booked a King Room which got me a panaramic seaview facing Halong Bay. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Very good value for the price. Staff very helpful and friendly. Love the hotel infinity swimming pool. Overall I would rate it as very good and had everything I needed for a comfortable stay, especially the location (10mins walk to the night market) and Plenty of restaurants within a walking distance.

Reviewed October 03, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
murry from United States
Solo traveler
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

great location, lovely hotel”

location, view and pool

we spent one night at the novotel before departing on a ha long bay cruise the next day. this hotel is lovely in all aspects. the location is near to the public beach, plenty of restaurants and tourist shopping (night market) all within a short walk. if i were staying for a week in ha long i think there are likely less expensive options in the same area, but if youre looking for the premier 4 star hotel of the area this is definately the one. would stay again and do recommend. the staff was all smiles and very helpful, enjoyed chatting with 'long' the bartender at the pool area.

Reviewed July 12, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Richard from Australia
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

The best hotel in Halong Bay”

Affordable, Food excellent, Pool is excellent, Great for Families, Quiet, and close to everything.

ok... i have tried every single hotel in halong bai bai chai and halong city. i know everything about the hsitory of novotel here and hows its managed. it was built to be a 5 star, but they couldnt in the end so its a 4 star. as ive said before, you can call it a 4.5 star hotel. the price is great and the rooms are comftable with good internet connection. the views are nice and staff are helpful. you are only about dong away from halong city, and minutes walking to the bai chai beach and market area. having stayed at every hotel this is the best hotel in the area. the only other 2 hotels that are comparable in comfort and price that i would reccomend is saigon halong hotel and halong plaza hotel. make sure you ask for a sea view room when you check in, normally you always do anyway. dont stay in hotels on a boat, why would you want to do that and be stuck on it unless your doing nothing else but relax and happy to eat from the floating seafood market. novotel is just simply "comftable" for everything you want to do in halong bay. key feature - the bathroom. its difficult to find decent showers in vietnam, here you will feel like home :)

Reviewed July 06, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Richard from Australia
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Stay at Novotel, dont get conned at other hotels”

location - awesome pool

ok... i have tried every single hotel in halong bai bai chai and halong city. i know everything about the hsitory of novotel here and hows its managed. it was built to be a 5 star, but they couldnt in the end so its a 4 star. as ive said before, you can call it a 4.5 star hotel. the price is great and the rooms are comftable with good internet connection. the views are nice and staff are helpful. you are only about dong away from halong city, and minutes walking to the bai chai beach and market area. having stayed at every hotel this is the best hotel in the area. the only other 2 hotels that are comparable in comfort and price that i would reccomend is saigon halong hotel and halong plaza hotel. make sure you ask for a sea view room when you check in, normally you always do anyway. dont stay in hotels on a boat, why would you want to do that and be stuck on it unless your doing nothing else but relax and happy to eat from the floating seafood market. novotel is just simply "comftable" for everything you want to do in halong bay. key feature - the bathroom. its difficult to find decent showers in vietnam, here you will feel like home :)

Reviewed July 06, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Richard from Australia
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Freedom, Comfort, Affordable”

Try the Saturday Night BBG

ok... i have tried every single hotel in halong bai bai chai and halong city. i know everything about the hsitory of novotel here and hows its managed. it was built to be a 5 star, but they couldnt in the end so its a 4 star. as ive said before, you can call it a 4.5 star hotel. the price is great and the rooms are comftable with good internet connection. the views are nice and staff are helpful. you are only about dong away from halong city, and minutes walking to the bai chai beach and market area. having stayed at every hotel this is the best hotel in the area. the only other 2 hotels that are comparable in comfort and price that i would reccomend is saigon halong hotel and halong plaza hotel. make sure you ask for a sea view room when you check in, normally you always do anyway. dont stay in hotels on a boat, why would you want to do that and be stuck on it unless your doing nothing else but relax and happy to eat from the floating seafood market. novotel is just simply "comftable" for everything you want to do in halong bay. key feature - the bathroom. its difficult to find decent showers in vietnam, here you will feel like home :)

Reviewed July 06, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Richard from Australia
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Nice Sized Rooms, Greath Bathroom,exceptional View”

Pool and Bathroom

ok... i have tried every single hotel in halong bai bai chai and halong city. i know everything about the hsitory of novotel here and hows its managed. it was built to be a 5 star, but they couldnt in the end so its a 4 star. as ive said before, you can call it a 4.5 star hotel. the price is great and the rooms are comftable with good internet connection. the views are nice and staff are helpful. you are only about 200,000 dong away from halong city, and minutes walking to the bai chai beach and market area. having stayed at every hotel this is the best hotel in the area. the only other 2 hotels that are comparable in comfort and price that i would reccomend is saigon halong hotel and halong plaza hotel. make sure you ask for a sea view room when you check in, normally you always do anyway. dont stay in hotels on a boat, why would you want to do that and be stuck on it unless your doing nothing else but relax and happy to eat from the floating seafood market. novotel is just simply "comftable" for everything you want to do in halong bay. key feature - the bathroom. its difficult to find decent showers in vietnam, here you will feel like home

Reviewed July 06, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Richard from Australia
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

best hotel in ha long bay”

Has all the facilities youd expect from a western hotel!

checked into the "the star" hotel in ha long, it was so bad, i check out immediately and came to novatel again. a 5 star vietnamese run hotel is comparable to a 2 star western hotel. so the 4 star novotel is a huge level up from any hotel in the bay area. in fact this hotel was meant to be a 5 star hotel, but they couldnt do it, so you can say its a 4.5 star hotel. in room menu is affordable also!

Reviewed April 03, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Megan from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2011

Beautiful rooms and lovely staff”

Location and views are sensational

we stayed here for one night before our ha long bay cruise. the rooms are magnificent and the staff are very helpful. the hard wood floors and the warm colours, the big comfortable bed and spacious room, the fantastic bathroom, and waking up to the views of a misty ha long bay was brilliant. the bathrobes were very comfortable. the location is great, it's right across the road from a ferry terminal. our ferry terminal was on the other side of the peninsula, but we knew that, so that was fine. we checked in late and discovered that there was not a lot of food options closeby, so we ate in the bar downstairs which was great. the pizza is wonderful. great hotel, great location, great room, throughly enjoyable experience.

Reviewed February 08, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
SIN from Singapore
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2011

Lovely Hotel”

Nice view from balcony

Hotel was excellent but the swimming pool was small. Me and my wife had a HOT night there as it was very romantic. You will not regret staying there. However, the restaurants are not open in the day time. You will have to take a short taxi ride to the post office where you can find local food if you are looking for lunch. However, you can give the food there a miss if you are concern of the hygiene, otherwise, just eat at the hotel or buy your instant noodles for lunch. Seafood at night are just great for value! Night market down the streets were BIG, but mostly selling the same stuffs.

Reviewed December 02, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Jackson from New Zealand
Couple
Executive King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011

New hotel in good location with great view”

Great view, centrally located and good breakfast

Friendly servivce from start to finish. Our room was spacious, new looking and spotlessly clean with great bathroom facilities and we had a great view of Halong Bay. Centrally located to the many boats available for hire to tour the famous Halong Bay area or to stroll along the promenade and not so far from Halong Town where the local market is located. Free internet services available in the lobby area and taxi's easily arranged by the hotel staff as required.

Reviewed October 02, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Heidi from Australia
Couple
Executive King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in August 2011

Gorgeous Hotel”

Great Hotel, Friendly staff, Wonderful View!

we really enjoyed our stay here. the view from our balcony was amazing! staff are friendly. rooms are beautiful. buffet breakfasts and dinners were great! we stayed 5 nights. proberly would recommend to stay 2 or 3 nights. it is a bit of a walk into town but is ok if you are up for a walk. we decided to pay a bit more money and do a private junk boat trip for the day. would highly recommend it.

Reviewed September 23, 2011
7.7
Very good
Siane from Indonesia
Family with young children
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2011

Lovely hotel and service with a smile”

From the balcony can see the bay view n nice room too

i love to stay here with my family, the management very pleasant they are not thinking a lot for the money but our comfortable to staying there especially for the room but not for tour or transport service..but the location so far from the central city.the sight seeing is just only see hotel and bay..the restaurant is very expensive too.

Reviewed September 06, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Kim from Australia
Family with young children
Superior King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in July 2011

Great location with fantastic views”

Make sure you get a ocean view room

this hotel was in a great spot with fantastic views of ha long bay. be sure not to miss the free vietnamese dancing at 6.00pm right across the road. we were very gald we chose to stay here rather than do the overnight boat stay. for very little money you can hire a private boat and see the bay and the wonderful caves.

Reviewed August 01, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
nigel from New Zealand
Couple
Executive King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in June 2011

Top class”

Helpful staff, lovely view and balcony, great food that was reasonably priced, Tours easy to organise.

We had some trouble with our taxi driver on the way from Hanoi airport to Halong Bay. The manager from the hotel came down when we arrived and on our behalf sorted the driver out and was more helpful to us than our own embassy. We are very grateful. The Novotel Halong is rated as the number one hotel in the bay and I can quite honestly say it lives up to this standard. The spa was one of the best I went to and the manicure and pedicure I had were a1 standard. There is no where else I would have stayed compared to the Novotel.

Reviewed July 14, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
ELISABETH from Indonesia
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2011

Great location, great service and fantastic room”

Location and hotel quality

i would highly recommend this hotel. the location is great, the staff was very helpful (we asked for a change of room and the staff was very helpful in accommodating our request), the room was nicely decorated, and the breakfast was of good quality. very close to the night market and the restaurants along the promenade.

Reviewed June 02, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Natalia from United States
Group
Superior Twin bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011

Lovely hotel and very helpful staff”

excellent room layout and fixtures

The hotel staff were very helpful in helping us organize a tour of Halong Bay. More importantly, they helped us solve a big problem we had when I temporarily lost my ability to access cash. They were terrific.

Reviewed May 29, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Steve from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2011

Great quality hotel”

Great price for the standards

we only had one night here, but the room was great (clean and very comfortable), the staff were helpful, the food in the restaurant was great (i'm not usually a fan of hotel restaurants) and breakfast was lovely too. great value for money - i was very impressed. unfortunately it wasn't warm enough to use the pool.

Reviewed May 16, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
Daniel from Singapore
Couple
Standard King Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2011

Lovely hotel and service with a smile”

Its a two and a half years hotel.

stayed there for a night after visiting halong bay. hotel has international buffet dinner with great varieties of food. basically nothing for us to complain about the room, best thing is all their staffs speaks english.

Reviewed May 10, 2011
10.0
Exceptional
GOH from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior Twin bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2011

Great location, excellent view and facilities”

clean and comfortable rooms and beds

Having stayed and been disappointed at other so-called 5-star hotels prior to this in Hanoi and Haiphong, Novotel Ha Long Bay definitely outshines its competitors in Vietnam in terms of facilities and service. It lives up to its 5-star rating globally and here at Ha Long Bay, it is even more important to stay in a comfortable hotel to fully enjoy our getaway from urban cities.

Reviewed May 07, 2011